The following was posted to his Facebook page by former Attorney General and member of parliament for St. Joseph Dale Marshall
roadsafetyassociation
Road Safety Association personnel staking flags next tp potholes to warn motorists

The Ministry (read Minister) of Public Works is demanding that the Road Safety Association remove the fluorescent flags which that association has installed to give warning of potholes. The Ministry (Minister) asserts that it is contrary to law.

No matter how laudable their effort, no matter how good the cause, if the installation of the flags is contrary to law, the association must move them, or face the penalty stipulated in the statute. Plain and simple.

But the chickens do sometimes come home to roost.

In the General Election of 2008, the DLP unlawfully erected a large number of billboards, displaying campaign messages. The Chief Town Planner went public and demanded that the DLP remove the billboards, since their erection was contrary to the Laws of Barbados.

Michael Lashley was smirking as the DLP’s then leader, David Thompson, announced that they would be doing no such thing! He went further to say that by the time anything could be done about it, the DLP would have won the Government!!

In 2008, Michael Lashley was fully in support of a flagrant violation of the laws of Barbados, since at that time it suited him. Now, he wants to cry foul.

Mr. Lashley, what about the other flagrant violations of the laws of Barbados at Coverley? Do they also suit your purposes?

Did the Chief Town Planner not issue an enforcement notice for the structure in the road outside Coverley, which your Ministry, responsible for roads and road safety, has conveniently chosen not to demolish, as per the Chief Town Planner’s directions? What about your part in that violation of our laws?

All people must obey all the laws. That is the rule of law.

If installing the warning flags is contrary to law, then they must be removed.

But as a user of the road, if a flag placed alongside the road could warn me of the presence of a pothole, I would consider that to be helping to preserve life and limb.

I salute the Association for its efforts to save lives. And those efforts might well see justice being tempered with mercy if any charges are brought against these fine individuals.

St. Augustine said “An unjust law is no law at all.”

I say that Mr. Lashley and his government are now feeling the backlash of their flouting the laws only 8 years ago. But this time, in a far more noble cause.

112 responses to “Michael Lashley: Lawmaker Lawbreaker”

1. I happened to be watching the DLPTV news the night the Road Safety President said that they would be laying down these warning flags.

We had a friend over and I said to my friend…….I hope they have permission because by tomorrow the minister will say that the flags are illegal. I also told my friend …….he, Lashley of all people should not be opposing the putting down of the flags bearing in mind what the DLP did in 2008.

And right on cue…..there he was on the VOB 6.30 news saying the flags would be a distraction and they are illegal.

The hypocrisy of these dems is priceless!

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s a public service, warning the public of the danger to their life, limb and vehicles, the wild beasts in government dont care if the public gets injured in these potholes…..not one seat for them….vote them out…, Fruendel the Fiend and his dishonest, hypocritical, bribetaking ministers.

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

To the Former Attorney General, and parliamentary member for St Joseph, Dale Marshall, as is customary for people of your ilk, you are speaking to this subject and understandably not speaking “the truth the whole truth and nothing but the truth”.

In fact, an uninformed public that you now seek to mislead with these emotive comments, would be well surprised to know that you have illegally? erected a sign of some size which is conspicuously noticeable (to those bold enough to look upon it)

If de ole man memory served him correctly said sign, of some dimensions, albeit not those that the DLP used, for the 30 days permissible by law, can be seen on the way down Horse Hill.

As former Attorney General one would be led to wonder if, said sign adorned with your visage, does indeed comply with any Town and Country Planning regulations and if, given that thou art now the defender of the underdog, you would be so kind to provide a copy of said permission for law biding citizens, among whom you supposedly number, to view.

Now, one wonders if you, cognisant of the the fact that the enforcement statute has a 30 day period within which time the structure(s) can remain in place, might advise members of the Road Safety Association to leave the structured there for 29 days and remove them on that day prior to breaking the statute?

One wonders further, given that the breach speaks to 30 contiguous days, whether you would advise the RSA to return to the site and install the flags for another 29 days

One wonders if you are only indirectly encouraging this sedition (that is what Verla DepPiecuh suck up tp Fumbles would call it) a seeming support? of the “breaking of the law”, notwithstanding your former position as the Attorney General of Barbados, just because it is simple “contra DLP”.

This is probably a topic that you should have remained quiet about and spent some time telling the public whether you were finally able to determine if the currency in which the quotation for the building of the Barbados Replacement prison was Bajan Currency or US Greenbacks

Both you BLP and DLP representatives are no different, you do the same thing to we the people, ef us “with no grease” while whispering “de other party did it to you, why cant I?” Whu sort of car you had when you was Attorney General again???

4. Is what it is dat de ole man was drinking? He carry long my boy Teets Marshall scruffy enough. I was wondering how comes he didn’t bother to remind he about de speedometer rolling back thing wid he buddies. Or about de $5000.00 that changed hands supposedly for citizenship….dat didn’t crime to? One can’t tell de next one come back.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Mr Hill

When it comes to doint the right ting for one’s country we cant have no friends cause that friendship is going to be the death of all of us

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David Commissiong

de ole man expects that, as we get closer to the General Elections, a specific trend will appear and, as is evidenced by John Boyce’s predictive comment about social media, we are seeing the way that the Democratic Labour Party proposes to fight this general election.

By closing down the internet (and a nex feller let slip dat dem planning to “duplicate de ballot boxes.

Maybe Mr Caswell Franklyn might be able to comment on how then cud get that do. I mean like if (a) all during the election polls I keep a count pun de voters and (b) transmit that information to the place where the duplicate ballot boxes is (c) if de same number dat vote is de number in the replacement ballot boxes, albeit dat dem is favouring de DLP den (d) effing de real real boxes get switch with de duplicate boxes, between de time dat dem lef de polling station and get to the counting stations, effing Mia and she peeples ent watching de boxes dem, WHILE IN DE ACTUAL VEHICLES, effing de number of those who voted and those ballots counted tally dere would not be any need to validate the ballots against the stub would there?

hmmmmmmm, de ole man jes wondering bout dese tings dem but Mr Franklyn can comment

But de ole man digressing.

This excerpt below from Freedom House best speaks to the nature of the perspective that (repressive) governments see social media commentary

“The battle over internet freedom comes at a time when nearly one third of the world’s population has used the internet.”

“Governments are responding to the increased influence of the new medium by seeking to control online activity, restricting the free flow of information, and otherwise infringing on the rights of users.”

“The methods of control are becoming more sophisticated, and tactics previously evident in only the most repressive environments—such as governments instigating deliberate connection disruptions or hiring armies of paid commentators to manipulate online discussions—are appearing in a wider set of countries.”

John “Whisper” Boyce goes on to say while speaking to members of his Christ Church South constituency branch at the St Lawrence Primary School recently that “officials in his ministry had been discussing, very seriously. a counter strategy that would go beyond health promotion…”

Now wunna gots to tell de ole man, whu “counter strategy” people in the Ministry of Health, a ministry which should be concerned with finding toilet paper to wipe the botsies of patients at the QEH or finding food for the patients of the Mental Hospital in Balck Rock, instead of giving them Dog food, why “counter strategy” could they be looking at that would go beyond health promotion?

He is speaking of the soon-to-be-legislated” suppression of the opinions of the people or more specifically the proactive negative trajectory of the DLP as it relates to their anti-social media stance and increasing “outreach” against “internet freedom”

You need to note that they propose to effect this clampdown prior to the General Election.

So David Come-Along, your services are going to be required again, soon when, instead of any Integrity Legislation or Freedom of Information which they promised in 2008, when the now dead King was alive, these, the most inept politicians that this cuntry has known, will seek to enforce martial law on the internet airwaves.

It is a thing most interesting that they have made this mad rush to change the leading officers of the Barbados Defence Force to avowed DLPites.

We seem to be going into a state of military law, certainly all the elements are in place, a Chief Justice who is DLP, a Chief of Police who is DLP, a Defence Force that is DLP, hmmmmmmmm….

New Riot Gear for the Police, Military Aid from the Chinese, specifically aid to facilitate internet subjugation/suppression

Yet, Mia Mugabe Mottley and Dale Teets Marshall and all the rest of these so called representatives of the party in the offing, are quiet as church mice ….

Come leh we all go and wuk up and have a good time nuh…

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

So de ole man gine contine dis thread with some “key trends” for your active consideration.

Please note that this is plagiarized from Freedom House and have been modified in part but any similarity to local situations is purely coincidental

“Key Trends

New laws restrict free speech: Could a parallel be drawn with what is happening in the CGI/Naked Underground ongoing verbal battle to suggest that new laws or tacit directives are being effected to either (a) restrict online speech, (b) violate user privacy, or (c) reach across borders to punish individuals who post content deemed objectionable or undesirable.
    Bloggers and ordinary users seem of late to face arrest for political speech or speech directed against politicians on the web: can any similarities be drawn to the fact that one blogger Omar something or the other, somebody’s son, was recently arrested for content posted online against one Lashes?
    Attacks against government critics are intensifying: recently they were persecuting Roy Morris and Vivianne Gittens for lascivious postings in the newspaper/internet media, the fellow from the Union Akanni McDowall was demoted for his criticism of the DLP government albeit not primarily online, and demoted. We soon may have circumstances where bloggers are tortured, disappeared, beaten, or brutally assaulted as a result of their online posts.
    As an aside the transparency International reports about barbados would always be favourable sine the very agency that the TI people go to, is led by the very man whose existence depends on Lil Caesar so in that regard we can be assured that there will be no posting of information that exposes any type of human rights abuses.
    Paid commentators, hijacking attacks are proliferating: Well if we do not have mention here up front and centre of the Paling Yard Fowls of one AC and Alvin Cummins who represent that “the phenomenon of paid pro-government commentators” a practice that has been ongoing here on BU for 8 years.
    What is to be soon expected will be the soon to commence politically motivated cyberattacks against Barbados Underground.
    And of course the final fronteir. “Surveillance is increasing, (check wunna cell phones and how dem turning on in de night or how wunna hearing de voices of the dispatchers at District A police Station. and, given that the RBPB feature centrally in this survelllance fiasco, there continues to be “no checks on abuse.
    De old man still ent hear whu happen wid Nazzim Blackett and de Commissioner of Police Tyronne Griffith still telling de recruits tuh “uphold de law” he and de nex feller who teeling de Immigration Officers who got 5 houses and ting “not to tek bribes”
    De ole man tell wunn dat wunn can expect “a new law or directive disproportionately enhanced surveillance” More specifically wunna will note that one Carl Moore Aussie more nephew is now pursuing this campaign per the removal of ” user anonymity”.

We can only expect that the enhanced “surveillance will target (all uh wunna) government critics, particularly since “safeguards for user rights and oversight procedures are severely lagging or administered by dufuses like de Intellectual Property woman and she cohort of technical cretins who incredibly, lead government outreaches and, once crossed use (read abuse) the constitution and the legal system read denial of a speedy trial

Come leh we wuk up and have a good time….

8. Mr Lashley was recently in London with a team of advisers discussing transport matters with Transport for London, the successor body to |London Transport.
    Since he was born in London, he is obviously familiar with the number of Barbadians recruited in the 1950s and 60s to work on London Transport, many of them now retired back to Barbados.
    Has he ever talked to any of these people? Why did he not have a public meeting at the high commission, as was the custom, so people can come in and offer advice for nothing? |Has he reported back to parliament?
    Is it arrogance or stupidity?

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Someone should tell John Boyce that if another freak storm hits Barbados before they get those diffusers in place, there will be another shit bomb released in the streets and in the sea, he will have to go swimming in more poop to massage the tourists….the roads need repairs, the QEH needs an upgrade, etc, etc, dont he have anything better to do…

…… according to social media, the female died, for the time the video was rolling, there were no Doctors in attendance to attempt to save her life, so whose fault is that with a hospital filled with hundreds of doctors on any given day….how long was she lying there after attempts were made to get doctors to come outside, she was not a dog or a cat, she was human.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So Fruendel the Fiend and his bunch of wannabe dictators have caused the island to be downgraded AGAIN……..cant blame social media for that…..lol maybe if they would all focus more on their JOBS and less about what is being said about them on social media….there would be no more downgrades for the island and they can get the JOB of stabilizing the country done.

All it is the retarded dimwitted yardfowls ACs, Alvins etc wasted years on BU trying to spread their lies, mindwash and idiocy on the blogs and it failed, they were ignored, there are many more intelligent black bajan people out there than they thought….we are not our parents and grandparents in intellect…..not easily brainwashed, fooled and accepting of the ministers and politicians ruthless and dangerous lies and disdain for their own black people because they believe titles make them a cut above us….and they hate that….well too bad.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vit6e them all out…so that John Boyce can sit his ass at home and read social media.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

VOTE them all out.., ALL OF THEM.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92356/pothole-blamed-accident

I happen to know this mother and child quite well she is a US citizen, I would sue Fruendel the Fiend fir nit fixing the roads and ignoring the danger to pedestrians, because he dont think potholes are serious and can cause injuries and death, he said so himself to impress white tourists and to denigrate his own black people….idiot.

14. Wait, do the people of Barbados, pervasively, suffer from dementia.

Seems to us that one serial law-breaker is complaining about another.

15. Voting out this DLP government may be granted , but what are we going to do with the top Civil Servants , who breach their duty, and then victimize person who complain, for instance, the CTO of MTW Mr. Frank Thornhill have refused to adress a dangerous flooding situation in Clarke’s Road St. James

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They have short memories about everything Pacha, particularly each others, welfare and wellbeing…..except for when it pertains to each others progress or personal business to destroy.

Marshall is a known jackass….had a flag been erected in that pothole yesterday, the driver would have avoided the pothole and the Archer child would not be suffering injuries today.

Why is the government not erecting beacons to warn drivers of the dangerous potholes they are neglecting to fix,

17. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

“Well Well “what is wrong with you? you are sounding like Me , We , Us, ,, You may again Make David of BU think we are the same person AGAIN

We have been saying for year that they are all crooks and the people and lawyer crook on BU run to their aid with mouth shut, They are crooks and we have the proof and we speak it , But when you buy votes and sell votes you cant talk too loud or not at all,

By they time others agree with us, we, me , It maybe too late again for another 5 years , So FUmble can raise his hand with Leroy Parris and say 5 More Years we fool those stupid Niggers Bajans again,

What they could not do in the last 8 years they can not do in the next 5 years without truth,

How many times can shoot yourself in the FOOT before you RUN out of FEET?Maybe these other crook need to save one for their HEAD, VOTE CUP for a new and better World in Barbados .. If you have a better Truth Bring it , We taking all Questions because we have the Answers that are missing , removed or hidden,

18. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Hal Austin January 11, 2017 at 3:56 AM #

Mr Lashley was recently in London with a team of advisers discussing transport matters with Transport for London, the successor body to |London Transport.@@@

Hall ,toooo late for that crook lawyer fool

19. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Watchman January 11, 2017 at 8:05 AM #
    Voting out this DLP government may be granted , but what are we going to do with the top Civil Servants , who breach their duty, and then victimize

Or untouchable, notorious teefs like Mark Cummings, surely the biggest snivel servant crook in Bajan history after Randolf Straughn.

20. Well Well,
    Pot calling Kettle Black? Potholes being patched. Diffusers on order (we cannot manufacture them here, and to be shipped soon; they can’t fly on their own. Caw’mere problem fixed. Rain fall and the water problem well on the way to being solved; new top brass. The signs were removed after the objection from the Town Planning office. (that was in 2008) The Minister “was in London” trying to get assistance in solving the Transport Problem. He really should have gone to Toronto to learn how to run an efficient system, and he should send some of the supervisors and drivers there to train in efficiency, courtesy, and punctuality.We got to get away from this England dependency. He should also consult with Bombardier in Montreal to see about changing the busses, so that we could obtain “Kneeling busses” for the disabled or partially disabled, and those who are aged.

21. By the way, I have to do like Trump, this supposed downgrade from a so called rating agency could have been done using a computer in somebody’s bedroom. This so called rating agency (never heard of before; regional rating agency) said: “… the action was taken based on available public information, as the Freundel Stuart administration had failed to meet its requests for its regular onsite annual surveillance meetings…”. It is obvious that this “agency ” HAS BEEN RIGHTFULLY IGNORED”. Who are they? Their request for information, and this so called “public information” could be any source, with any type of information. What do these downgrades mean anyhow? It only means that if you want to borrow on a market the interest rates charged still have to be negotiated.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin….prevention would have been better than now trying to cure…if potholes were fixed 5 years ago by Fruendel the Fiend and his clowns, the Archer child could not have been injured on Prospect Road yesterday morning at a bus stop waiting for a schoolbus, going North..

Preventation would have averted the shitbomb flooding the roads and the sea if fixed 5 years ago by the same above idiots….how do you fix rainfall and water problens without building dams to capture run off water.

Why did you not tell Lashley about the Toronto bus system 5 years ago, Dumbville and Fruendel travel to Canada all the time, they know the effeciency of the Canadian transport system and refuse to adopt it but allow the corrupt system of Simpson Motors not fixing buses properly to continue and whatever other scam they all have in place to rob taxpayers, importing mediocre buses from Brazil that are not fit for roads and fall apart easily, bells not working, doors not closing and allowing Peter Harris and CGI insurance to continue destroying all equity in the transport board with decades old personal injury cases piled up in the supreme court.

How will all of that now get fixed with little to no money which have all been wasted for 9 years….they wasted taxpayer’s money….they had 9 years to get it right and did not, time to get rid of their and your idiocy Alvin.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Frustrated…the top civil servants will be there under any government……if the government is not corrupt, they could rein in the civil servants or fire them…..if the governments continue to be corrupt, things will remain as is….wholesale corruption throughout givernment and the civil service.

Violet…trust me, the blogmaster is well aware of what is happening.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin….again, I am the ass that will continue to telll you, if the government changes nothing……nothing will ever change.

…….you have at least 8 decades on this earth and you still dont know that……wasted taxpayer’s education money.

26. Alvin

Chuckle…..Standard&Poors,does the name ring a bell……..how many people do you need to tell you that we are at junk status???

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin….with his small, disrespectful mind thinks because it is a Caribbean agency, they are not credible, smallminded black man Alvin.

28. What really is the purpose of an Ombudsman? when this office do not even respond to the complains, especially the black lower working class who don’t have the wherewithal and are unjustly disadvantage by the inaction of PS in Ministries , for instance , what is the duty of the PS in MTW, other than to join corrupted like minded people in the Ministry, that official disregarded all letters sent him,

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The ombudsman is always drunk, a post given to him after being removed as a nonfunctioning magistrate, do not expect anything more, he is enjoying free taxpayers money…for doing absolutely nothing.

30. You talking bout Valton Benn Watchman?

A nex waste foop!!

31. The problem is that many of these legislated positions function as creatures of the political directorate.

32. How can the government devalue BEFORE the next general election?

On Wednesday, 11 January 2017, Barbados Underground wrote:

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins January 11, 2017 at 9:21 AM
    “The Minister “was in London” trying to get assistance in solving the Transport Problem. He really should have gone to Toronto to learn how to run an efficient system, and he should send some of the supervisors and drivers there to train in efficiency, courtesy, and punctuality. We got to get away from this England dependency. He should also consult with Bombardier in Montreal to see about changing the busses, so that we could obtain “Kneeling busses” for the disabled or partially disabled, and those who are aged.”

Alvin the mule, you stupid son of a jackass! What the heck do you know about England and its bus service?

Why don’t you also advise the Minister of Tourism ‘to get away from this “England” dependency” where over 50% of your tourist arrivals are from the UK? Why not argue for a cutback in flights by BA and Virgin Atlantic and see what would happen to your GAIA?
    The original public transport system of Barbados was based on the London transport system. And it is to the motherland of all public transportation that many Bajans gravitated in the 1950’s and 60’s.

It is only because a bunch of black incompetent bastards (and asinine yard-fowls like you from both sides of the political fence) took control of the wheel of management that the system has fallen into a pothole of crass operational performance so much so as to threaten the level of productivity among low-income workers and to undermine the very economic and social existence of the country.

Alvin, you will soon have the ‘royal’ opportunity to ditch everything “England” in the coming months.

Her Majesty will not be around and you can use that as the perfect excuse to literally bury the broken trident instead of the recent ceremonial display in some satanic ritual involving a pitchfork of political hypocrisy.
    Why not turn Barbados into a fully-fledged banana republic and see if Canada, O Canada, would follow suit instead of hanging onto Charlie or Willie royal apron strings.

“Ô Canada!
    Terre de nos aïeux,
    Ton front est ceint de fleurons glorieux!
    Car ton bras sait porter l’épée,
    Il sait porter la croix!
    Ton histoire est une epopee
    Des plus brillants exploits.
    Et ta valeur, de foi trempée,
    Protégera nos foyers et nos droits.
    Protégera nos foyers et nos droits.”

34. But didn’t BU support the billboards and the Executive Director at BWA and the unlawful dismissals?

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 11, 2017 at 12:34 PM
    “How can the government devalue BEFORE the next general election?”

Your fortuneteller’s ball is being rubbed by some genie who escaped from the bottle floated in the sea of circumlocution and obfuscation by the garden gnome-like doctor called DW the economist dimwit.

There is no way can Barbados endure another 6 months of economic survival without a large forex fix pumped right into its veins like heroin to an addict and no methadone around and the IMF pharmacy open to supply. But there is one condition that the patented drug dealer requires.

Let the bell ring before embarking on such a ‘mission’ of no return.

It seems the ‘quacking’ doctor of financial and economic propaganda is unable to ‘plug’ the circular error caused by that $300 million in foreign reserves missing since 2013.
    It’s a strange oversight that the Janus-like payment in forex for the Dodds prisons no longer features in the Guv’s reasons for the drop in foreign reserves.

The evil that men do (including dead ones), ‘lives’ after them. But the good is always ‘interred’ at the Garrison.

36. “BARBADOS NATIONAL OIL Company Ltd. (BNOCL) has confirmed that it has signed an agreement with the SOL Group for the sale of the shares of its subsidiary, Barbados National Terminal Company Limited (BNTCL).

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92359/bntcl-sold-sol#sthash.ZmSz6d8X.dpuf

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller…..Pour les non français, ceux qui ne parlent pas la langue….

“O Canada!
    Land of our ancestors,
    Your brow is girded with glorious florets!
    For your arm knows how to carry the sword,
    He can carry the cross!
    Your story is an epic
    Most brilliant exploits.
    And your worth, of toughened faith,
    Will protect our homes and our rights.
    Will protect our homes and our rights

38. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Hants January 11, 2017 at 1:45 PM #
    “BARBADOS NATIONAL OIL Company Ltd. (BNOCL) has confirmed that it has signed an agreement with the SOL Group for the sale of the shares of its subsidiary, Barbados National Terminal Company Limited (BNTCL).

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92359/bntcl-sold-sol#sthash.ZmSz6d8X.dpuf

They have no choice. Sir Kyf has been propping up his DLP gov’ts for decades, this one more than any other with fuel credits, Transport Board credit on labour/parts (for shit busses they never should have bought) and BWA equipment leases.

Who pays the piper calls the tune.

So, where in all this is the Fair Trading Commission? One fuel supplier for the entire island? Will it stand the same Committee scrutiny that BL&P does?

Teefin everywhere on this little rock.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants January 11, 2017 at 1:45 PM
    “Consumers will continue to access product at their regular sources as before. Prices at the pumps will only change in accordance with the price of imported products as is currently done,” the statement said. ”

Hants, why don’t you make a call to your boss man in Bim and ‘demand’ he rings the bell?

This is not the mandate under which Bajans returned in 2013 his now proven hypocritical administration.

The current administration has neither political nor moral authority to privatize or outsource any State-owned entity or function without seeking a fresh mandate from the country’s eligible shareholders, i.e. eligible voters.

Which capitalist investor- whether ungodly or godly in his moral propaganda- would invest tens of millions of growingly scarce foreign exchange and operating in a sunset petroleum industry within a growing alternative energy competitive environment?
    Which investor would feel confident operating with a political overlord setting ‘fickle’ prices already determined by exogenous factors and not seek to ‘inviolably’ establish ‘agreed’ commitments to a guaranteed rate of return much, much higher than the 1% the taxpayers of Barbados can expect from their acquiescence to succumb to their political servants?

It seems that ‘what goes around with the economy certainly comes around with different DLP administrations. Mobil Oil was guaranteed 23% with Sandie. What is it now with Lord Fumble? Must be nothing less than 20%,to Sol, for sure.

The question to be asked is if this is the end for BNOCL.

Without its cash cow BNTCL (and the NPC already pledged to SOL) there is no way the aging parent company can survive in a modern costly world of growing environmental concerns.

Quo Vadis , Rubis!

40. Sir Kyffin has been allowed to corner the market on gas and diesel distribution read SOL and ESSO so what is the difference by acquiring the profitable BNTCL?

41. @ PIECE

That name person I know is a drunker long ago ,I used to see the man up by Andrew Boyce Garage, I am sure Boyce used to carry him home or where he sleep, his behavior was shot then, how can this impaired person hold Office, JHC, Barbados is managed by impaired actors, from the PM down

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 11, 2017 at 3:02 PM

Finished petroleum products are saleable consumer items and not a utility.

Why should there be a monopoly of supplier? Why not a duopoly as Rubis has been arguing for?

A very strong case has now been created for the finished petroleum products distribution and retailing business be taken from the ‘compromised’ arm of the government and put under the more ‘open’ ambit of the FTC.

43. @ millertheanunnaki,

All I did was copy and paste the article.

You can call the boss man and demand he “rings the bell”……. before October 16th 2017. lol

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

An unverified, unfolding story, but funny as hell…lol, haha.

“Gordon
    You called it Trump. You told the Russians to hack Hillary and they also hacked you, and now they’ve got a video of you.

What is it? You sowed the wind, you reap…”

45. Clico, Baico payout coming

46. Yes it was coming for the last 5 years, many of the policyholders have died waiting for the P-day. And they are still waiting until it is paid.

47. In the last few days gasoline prices in Guyana increased from BD$1.78 to Bd$1.90 per litre.In Barbados at the same time prices decreased from $2.91 to $2.78 per litre.Why this great disparity in cost at the pump.The government of Barbados has for years been over pricing the cost of petrol,using their hidden formulae to befuddle the citizens of this country.But what the hell you expect from somebody like Darcy Boyce whom Owen Arthur termed a quisling or traitor who sold out OSA to the King of St John who notoriously proclaimed…I will not lie.cheat or steal……then sotte voce…except from Clico.

48. David
    Yes it was coming for the last 5 years, many of the policyholders have died waiting for the P-day. And they are still waiting until it is paid.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

would be interesting if you can verify how “many ” have died ? or is that a preamble to your dissemination of fake news

Leave a Reply to Well Well & ConsequencesCancel reply