Garbage in the canal at Graeme Hall wetland and Ramsar site

The MANGROVE ECOSYSTEM ASSESSMENT GRAEME HALL NATURE SANCTUARYย  report was prepared by the Environmental Engineering Consultants, Inc for Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary in 2010. The findings in the report demand an immediate statement from the authorities regarding how the Graeme Hall wetland is being managed -importantly, the release of raw sewage into the wetland.

159 responses to “Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary Assessment Report and the South Coast Sewage Plant Connection”

1. Thanks John for reintroducing the BU family to the report.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The government has so neglected the swamp, the sluice gate, the raw sewage, it’s just plain filthy.

While those noncompoops are standing around wrapped up in blankets…steuppsss.

3. I see on Loop Barbados news that the test result have come back CLEAN. Not that I don’t trust the TESTERS but I’d like to see the exact results in hard numbers for E Coli and enterococci, protocol used for the tests, the number of samples taken and the date of sampling.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/08/worthing-beach-reopens/

Ya can also see the fraud ministers claiming thst they swam in the water at Worthing, although I can’t identify either of them in the water photo, let’s hooe they swallowed some of the water as proof, that should tell the tale, if they did go in, they do tell a lot of lies you know.

5. Chuckle….Sealy and Lashley..damage control mode.

6. Nothing wrong with Sealy and Boyce doing their best to protray confidence to the different publics. This blog seeks though to focus on the design of the sewage plant and it’s release of raw sewage into the wetland during an emergency. Also the value of using the Sluice Gate to maitain the ecosystem in the wetland.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91215/sealy-wrong-worthing-beach

Nothing wrong with instilling confidence, blatantly lying is a whole nother animal…as ya can see the Liars from Parliament are well on their way to convincing the weak, that the sewage leak never even happened in the first place.

Besides, it’s been years that they were ALL warned about that sluice gate at the swamp…even before the case with Allard.

8. The dems are so predictable.

Right after the news on Tuesday night (or Monday night) I told my spouse watch and see that as soon as the results of the tests are back, some of the ministers will go swimming in the waters to reassure the population that nothing is wrong with the water…………and duh dah……right on cue!

Poor dems…………..but I am glad that the water is now safe. Now find the money to fix the problem as outlined in Pat Inniss’ report.

Life is not meant to be so difficult, problems arise but there are always solutions. The dems are given the solutions but they refuse to act……they suffer from implemention disorder.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As long as you know that telling lies runs through their blood streams, you can predict politicians, the hardest thing is to know.

10. Just had a good heavy down pour here … 93 parts almost an inch.

We might wake up tomorrow to find a turd or three floating in the sea so better be prepared to test again.

I swam in the sea off the yacht club when I was a boy with turds in the water but just kept my distance.

The sewage plant at the hotel was leaking!!

That was before the South Coast Sewage Project.

It didn’t kill me and I didn’t get tropical ear but I would not do it again!!

Turds won’t kill you … but they might!!

11. I can hear the rain now about 2 miles away as it comes from the south coast moving north.

Just reaching here.

Tonight might be a real wet night.

Hope the roof don’t leak too bad!!

Lightning like day an hour or so ago.

12. Green Monkey like he did right!!

13. The test results came back clean. Maybe the pathogens found in sewerage cant survive in saltwater thereby allowing the ocean to ‘clean’ itself. One of the major cause for concerns in the report is the runoff from the land into the Graeme Hall swamp. All the pesticides, and other harmful substances found on land eventually flows into the swamp during periods of rainfall. This is contributing to the slow ‘death’ of the swamp. I think the government should discontinue with the dam (sluice gate) for a while and allow the natural flow of the sea and swamp water to intermingle with each other. This will allow the oxygen rich waters of the ocean to breathe life back into the swamp. Just an idea.

14. Prodigal do you realise that under your govt because of a system failure at the sewage plant the BWA authorized a major dump of raw sewage into the wetlands.
    Now here you come frolicking across the pages of Bu in your holier than thou pretentious way of being a Pontius Pilate.
    Have you and your cohorts have no conscience one that would shed light on a problem that was exaggerated through your govt inefficiencies and disregard to enviromental issues like over development of lands for commercial use for building sites close to the sanctuary resulting in a series of disaster unleashed on a vulnerable society with potent harm and damage to the wetlands producing toxin and pollutants into the wetlands and out to sea
    Have u prodigal got no shame to even put pen to paper to talk about solutions on same problems done over a period of time causing negative effects which has been visibly seen and experienced by those living in close proximity to the wetlands
    Mostly a lot of the construction done under your govt v close to the sanctuary is delivering a toxic effect to the enviroment with a cause to produce heavy blockage to the sewer system during torrential downpours
    As a result the many connections to the sea have been reduced to a single channeled controlled by a single sluice gate to regulate flow and daily exchange between the ocean and the wetlands
    Yes Prodigal another problem where the placing of blame should be rightfully placed .
    In the meanwhile at short notice given the dastardly turn of events over the past week govt must find quick and easy solutions to an inherited problem borne under a blp administration

15. David December 8, 2016 at 4:29 PM #
    Thanks John for reintroducing the BU family to the report.

You need to thank Peter Allard!!

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Kevin December 8, 2016 at 8:20 PM
    โ€œThe test results came back clean. Maybe the pathogens found in sewerage cant survive in saltwater thereby allowing the ocean to โ€˜cleanโ€™ itself. One of the major cause for concerns in the report is the runoff from the land into the Graeme Hall swamp. All the pesticides, and other harmful substances found on land eventually flows into the swamp during periods of rainfall. This is contributing to the slow โ€˜deathโ€™ of the swamp. I think the government should discontinue with the dam (sluice gate) for a while and allow the natural flow of the sea and swamp water to intermingle with each other. This will allow the oxygen rich waters of the ocean to breathe life back into the swamp. Just an idea.โ€

Very good analysis, Kevin! But donโ€™t see it as your idea. Itโ€™s environmental commonsense. It would be in keeping with Mother Natureโ€™s way of maintaining a symbiotic relationship between the swamp and the sea. One (the wetlands) provides a source of nutrients to the sea to feed the coral reefs and the fish and the other (the sea) supplies medicine to the land and acts as a natural cleansing agent.

Now go and tell the jackasses in charge to use their common sense and stop dumping human generated toxic waste into the swamp disturbing the natural equilibrium between the land and the sea.

Itโ€™s time the current administration take responsibility for their actions (even those acts of commission and omission by previous administrations). That is why they were elected and reelected to clean up the mess; not to moan and complain for the past 8 years.

While you are at it you can quote the following passage from their political bible:

โ€œWhy environmentally sound? We all have to live, move and have our being in the protection of the environment. Daily, as we interact with one another we also interact with nature. The contest with nature which characterized manโ€™s relationship in earlier times, has now become a contract with nature in our times. A degraded and unhealthy environment is a threat to manโ€™s very existence on this planet; and this Manifesto recognizes that important fact.โ€

17. One of the any feuds between Allard and the BLP govt was a real concern by Allard to the environment and the potential for disaster to the surrounding environs and the wetlands. These past events proves he was right

18. @Kevin

From a layman’s view your suggestion seems a sensible one.

19. My idea will be hard to sell because the brackish brownish natural swamp water flowing naturally on the white sandy beach into the blue turquoise sea will be frowned upon by locals, tourist and business owners in the area. Everytime swamp water is released into Worthing beach its an uproar. But the authorities will have to make a decision on that or things might not improve. I also remember a swamp just below Divi Southwinds hotel and St. Lawrence Gap. Is that still there or has it been drained?

20. Looks like the Lord has been merciful.

An inch and twenty eight parts.

If the channel is still open then the level will not rise in the swamp much as water will find its way out naturally.

It will take any thing floating in the swamp close to the channel with it.

It might not be a good idea to bathe close to the outfall for a while, results or no results!!

If like the ministers of Her Majesty’s Government you are comfortable swimming in sh!t then tomorrow you can go and splash in the shallows with them!!

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This is why the Liars of Parliament should never be believed or trusted by intelligent people on the island ever again.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91239/beach-shouldn-closed

Liars..

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91238/businesses-worry-sewage-leak-return

Not that the liars in parliament care….Vote them all out.

22. Duty manager at Lucky Horseshoe Saloon and Steakhouse, Kerry Sawh, told the WEEKEND NATION she was fearful that whenever the island was hit by heavy rains again, the sewage problem they had been battling for the past month would recur. (RB) – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91238/businesses-worry-sewage-leak-return#sthash.BdbZ9WsL.dpuf

If the ossifers responsible leave the sleuth gate open, then the swamp will cleanse itself and its level won’t rise enough to bring the results of any sewage dump or leak, past or future to businesses in the area.

All will go into the sea where our ministers can splash in the surf with anyone who wants to swim with the turds!!

… there may however be an issue with the smell!!

23. John
    You would have noticed that no ladies swam in that contaminated water with those 2 liars.Sealy and Boyce can fool the catholic Dems but not a discerning public.How come neither one is shown diving or swallowing water.Why John Boyce didn’t carry his madam to swim with him?She is no idyut.She went to QC.Sealy ain’t got a madam yet!Shame on him.He is no defender of women.Never was and some say,never will be.

24. @ Prodigal

The ac yard-fowls will also find some way to blame the BLP for the passengers waiting 4 hours in the Fairchild Street Bus Terminal on Transport Board buses.

These inept DLP politicians would not accept responsibility for their failures.

And BTW ac, manipulating the “like” on your comments won’t save the DEMS come the next general elections.

25. Really? How many antibiotics and steroids you all took, Minister Sealy and friends, before you went running into that water? Did you wash off in Clorox when you came out too? Look this is turning out to be such a sham. All of it. When will it stop? The people are not believing this crap so stop the shyte do. When will you believe the health hazards of raw sewage? When you break out in boils up your arse? Tiring lot.

Word is ‘they’ are about to attack Mia Mottley in a fierce way in the hallowed halls ofd Parliament because of her “immoral sexual behaviour” – really? Men who sleep with men? Men who sleep with prostitutes? Men who have women on de side? You will be talking about immoral sexual behaviour in the people’s Parliament? You want to knock the most intelligent woman there is this side of the world with what would be considered by the Human Rights Activists and Committees around the world to be almost a criminal act? You want to bring further disgrace to our island? Man! Mind ya manners and go drown in sewage waters.

Painful lot you are. Fingers pointed in the wrong direction at all times. Understand this fully – people are exhausted and you will be voted out! You will. An act that cannot happen soon enough.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They will be voted out, I hope they are marking off their calendars because they HAVE TO call elections…or be unseated.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Kevin December 8, 2016 at 11:11 PM
    โ€œMy idea will be hard to sell because the brackish brownish natural swamp water flowing naturally on the white sandy beach into the blue turquoise sea will be frowned upon by locals, tourist and business owners in the area.โ€

We keep pointing out to you that it is not your idea. It is what prevailed years ago (even before OSA regime) when the natural environment and the built infrastructure of Barbados was properly managed even by 7th Standard educated people who used their commonsense instead of their arrogant bullheadedness sharpened by some paper-based certification in stupidity.

it is not the discoloured water from the swamp caused by decaying organic matter (which makes good food for marine creatures) that poses a threat to users of the beach and the sea but the range of bacteria dangerous to both human and other animal health and the accompanying awful stench caused by the careless disposal of toxic chemicals and human body waste in the same wetlands.

Why not come up with another “idea” for the proper disposal of the dangerous waste matter instead of dumping it in the GHS?

28. We have the MoT Richard Sealy quoted in today’s press that some bad decisions were made and if it had been left to him the Worthing beach would have remained open.

We had the MoH John Boyce quoted in the press that the government is working to procure the equipment to fix the problem.

We have the Acting General Manager of the BWA quoted in the press that someone has sabotaged the sewer covers.

Can anybody thread these issues to provide a clearer understanding of what is the problem?

29. The blp built the god dam sewer plant therfore it is theirs to own warts and all.
    If the serwer plant was not causing problems and every technicality was running and in outstanding order the Blp would be taking full credit for initiating the idea and its progress
    However it seems that any project design towards the progress of barbados implemented under the blp falls apart after a short period of time and then it is left up to the new govt via millions of taxpayers dollars to repair or Fix
    Yes Mottley Fix IT

30. @Miller, We would all love to hear some practical ideas from you. Not just moaning and groaning.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ IDIOTSABOUND December 9, 2016 at 8:55 AM
    Word is โ€˜theyโ€™ are about to attack Mia Mottley in a fierce way in the hallowed halls ofd Parliament because of her โ€œimmoral sexual behaviourโ€ โ€“ really? Men who sleep with men? Men who sleep with prostitutes? Men who have women on de side? You will be talking about immoral sexual behaviour in the peopleโ€™s Parliament?

We shall see if such a debate is allowed by the speaker of all people.
    Stealing is not immoral, benefiting from the lucre inherited from the CLICO scam is nothing to be ashamed of, lying is not immoral, brandishing a gun to shoot an โ€˜opposingโ€™ colleague is not immoral, failure to turn up before the PAC to explain the use of the taxpayersโ€™ money is not immoral.

But sexual behaviour is immoral.

It seems that august chamber is full of eunuchs since some of them who behave like unmarried sanctimonious hypocrites have taken the oath of celibacy but with women only.
    This whole charade to distract the people from the real problems confronting the country in order to bring the IMF though the backdoor really makes for great comedy to make God laugh and the Devil very angry with those who are trying their very best to depose him from the throne of wickedness in high places.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Kevin December 9, 2016 at 9:20 AM

Call elections and let the people decide!

What a great idea, don’t you think?

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They are all lying, including the carrion birds the ACs. Carrion birds love raw sewage.

Before the election day, they will bring themselves to their knees weighted down with lies and raw sewage.

Don’t be surprised if they tell the ultimate lie that there was no flood last eeek, that is what precipitated the rush of raw sewage into the sea water, it had nowhere else to go, so to be denying the raw sewage existed, which was posted online worlwide, they have to deny the flood, but all those lies will bring them down.

Sealy is fooling himself, he cant fool the tourists, none of them and he can only fool the weakest people on the island…not much longer now before election, that time will evaporate quickly.

34. Have we hear from Minister Estwick AND Minister Denis Lowe?

35. @ Approx 8.26 am (9.26 Bim time) I watched a commercial for Sandals Barbados on my idiot box, when I saw the azure waters and the pristine sand I wished I was there but my tickets have a date for the not too distant future.

However, if a discerning prospective visitor saw the same commercial and was moved to consider Bim for his/her getaway and googled the island what would they see?

That explains the importance of getting ahead of the issue instead we had politicians denying and a mandarin making accusations of sabotage while business people and ordinary folk were screaming for help. As AC explained in one of her posts the Govโ€™t couldnโ€™t immediately respond because the rain and bad weather occurred on the 50th anniversary and plans were in the works for these people to attend the various celebrations so attention to the concerns was put on the backburner (my word) which is an apt way of saying โ€œNero was fiddling while Rome was burningโ€.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“As AC explained in one of her posts the Govโ€™t couldnโ€™t immediately respond”

That means no one in the government can walk and chew gum at the same time, what are they doing in the people’s parliament.

Replace a raw sewage leak into the sea due to neglect which is a health hazard and a crisis, with a massive earthquake last Tuesday, which is a catastrophic and deadly event and the government would be still too busy with a useless money wasting celebration and burying a pitch fork to give the earthquake any of their attention…..

……that is their mental weakness, priorities out of whack and screwed up…they figured the raw sewage leak could wait while they impressed Harry and fooled the nation with nonsense.

But it backfired, now they are a laughing stock to most, but no laughing matter to those who are outright angry.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

With Hurricane Katrina, FEMA agencies funded by the federal government were too slow to respond to save people and their homes, the head of FEMA and all those responsible for that cockup and deaths, the final amount is still unknown….were fired.

…..any crisis, hazard or disasters requires an immediate and competent response…when lives, health, businesses etc are at risk…of course the liars in parliament will have it assbackwards.

38. Hi guys Ho Ho Ho Mia asked for the problem to be fixed and it was Fixed what is the problem now.The horse is already dead nothing more left of the horse to beat.
    The pristine waters abounds a plenty for all and sundry to wade back and forth
    All that is left are the frothing mouths of doom and gloom to correctly say that the govt fix the problem in less than a week
    Right Mottley.

39. EXTRA EXTRA READ ALL ABOUT IT

The rains were caused by the BLP who wanted to sabotage the happiness of the people during the celebration of the 50th Anniversary of Independence.
    The construction of the horror story at The Garrison that included the wrong spelling of the name Rihanna has to be blamed on the BLP – whoever came up with the whole idea was probably a secret member of that party.
    The flooding because of bad and dirty drains was the BLP’s fault and the sewage system breakdown was the BLP’s fault even though both these things have sat unattended for eight years by the present government but that is also the BLP’s fault for not ensuring this government did their work. Same goes for the potholes, the buses, the QEH, the sanitation department, the water department and any other department under this present government. It is all the BLP’s fault.
    The fact that people are suffering, the BLP’s fault. If the BLP were to die today all its previous and present Minister will to go to hell because they have caused uproar in the land.
    Thank you DLP for pointing all of this out to us.

WE STILL WILL VOTE YOU OUT SO SAVE YA BREATH AND GIVE YA FINGERS A REST – holding them in one position for so long must be tiring to the muscle. Of course, you know what to do with them once they have stopped pointing. Not nice to point this out here.

Again in case it was not heard the last time. OUT YOU GO, FINGERS AND ALL.

You could have been the best government ever if only, just if only, but you have failed the country, lied to it, festered it, sewaged it, laughed at it, broken it and that is what most call being traitors. Punishable too.

40. Every issue / problem turns into a blame game. It is always the BLP or DLP fault.

There are rivers and swamps on the west coast and they all run into the sea after heavy rain.
    The sea turns brown for a few days.

A sewage treatment plant requires MAINTENANCE and an emergency plan.

Seems the ” emergency plan ” was wait till the sea wash away the ” overflow “.

41. Oh dear poor IDIOTS ABOUND having a nervous melt down bro tek it easy life too short.
    The govt fix the problem now go get a sea bath to calm uh nerves down all that hootering and hollering is bad fuh yuh health

42. Sandals in Maxwell Coast Road is “far” from the Sewage Plant.

Once the plant is accepting sewage, then the Sandals coastal area will not be impacted by sewage from the hotel itself.

The problem will have been transported to other parts, either the swamp or far out to sea.

That’s the benefit of a functioning south coast sewage system.

It must work!!

But if it doesn’t function then there will be a problem and depending where the failure occurs, Sandals in Maxwell Coast Road can have a problem.

That’s why I raised my concern about the Hyatt development.

That is a concentration of sewage on a beautiful beach which can’t get to Graeme Hall if the South Coast Sewage System is not working.

It is obviously better to spend resources fixing the problem than to rush and build a multi story hotel which will depend on a failing sewage system.

Of course the developers can put in their own sewage system and outfall but I have seen how sewage plants and outfalls at individual hotels work or don’t work and what happens when the various plant managers need to solve the problem!!

Fix the ffing system!!

43. …. maybe the Hyatt will go to the Bridgetown Sewage System, but either way, that one has been known to malfunction too and run people out of the neighbourhood!!

44. After there is track record of functioning systems, then come with grandiose schemes.

Water supply as we have seen is a problem too!!

All the same, if there is no water supply there can be no sewage floating about the roads!!

45. …. and explain how the existing systems will accommodate those schemes

If they can’t don’t waste your breath and our time!!

46. @ John,

Do you know if the Sewage system is combined ?

” In a combined sewer, there is only one pipe which carries both sanitary and storm drainage. During dry weather, combined sewers carry all contents to treatment plants. However, during wet weather, the volume of water may exceed the system’s capacity and some of the water overflows untreated into the lake: this is called a combined sewer overflow.”

http://www1.toronto.ca/wps/portal/contentonly?vgnextoid=fc8807ceb6f8e310VgnVCM10000071d60f89RCRD

47. When that sewage plant was brand new the dam thing broke down resulting in tons of raw sewage dumped into the ocean
    The blp has a history of taking short cuts when financing projects which creates long term problems in the effeciency of the project sustainability towards heavy work load
    in the long run parts that are broken cannot be fix or parts to fix the problem are outdated an
    Maybe shoddy planning procedure is cause why the dam plant is still leaking and the unavailabilty of matching parts to correct the problem all accountable for proper maintaenance
    So there u have a plant built with poor financing creates havoc and mayhem
    once again society suffers while taxpayers money goes down the sewer drain chasing leaks that are unmanageable and hard to fix for long term sustainability

48. @ac you think that I would put my body in that sea just because the Minister put his in dey? Dumb is when you believe that in order to be affected by raw sewage, you have to see it. Lord come for your people, or change them out. When the first visitor (we know locals do not count in the book of what matters) is riddles in sores and speaks to the world press. Well ac we done know that is when you and your party will all know. By the way, I cool hey watching the foolishness that some try to pull over the eyes that watching it all. Retire ac because the excuses are not working. Reality has set in, in Preconco too. Hard as you would have us believe.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs..the plant is still leaking cause yall never fied it effectively in 8 years.

Yall like to keep each other’s dirty secrets too much, the reason why we are now hearing about “tons of raw sewage being dumped in the ocean when the plant was new”…

…..so why didnt you expose it in the newspapers and tell the people on the island and tourists, who were responsible for the incompetence back then, years ago, we know it’s yall responsible for the incompetence now…your jobs were to fix it, I bet if anyone can dig up yall 2 lying election manifestos. ..that promise would be in both…8 years and not one minister can get it done, useless and incompetent. ..what parts what…too busy taking bribes and selling out their own people and treasury to minorities.

No one believes lying Sealy or Boyce…as long as they continue to lie, we will continue to beat those demons back.

50. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/environment/sweden-s-recycling-is-so-revolutionary-the-country-has-run-out-of-rubbish-a7462976.html

Maybe the retards in parliament can copy something innovative and progressive for once in their lying lives.