Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur (l) Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (r)

The following was posted to Facebook by Minister Denis Kellman who acted as Minister of the Environment for a short period.

Denis Kellman

1 hr ·

As Minister Of the Environment I toured the plant and the swamp and what I was told about he plant and its capacity to function perfectly . I was told that a plant was built that was not suited for us and they have to dump . The most affected person is the lady by the corner by the swamp , who had problems from the inception. MIA AND HER GROUP must take blame for building an outdated plant and now blaming the DLP. We will clean up your mess again. Buses, sanitation trucks, windmill and Sewerage Plant all new to Barbados to old to the world

Sewage Alert!

The revelation in recent weeks that sewage (raw) is spewing into the sea on the South coast should be of concern to all Barbadians. Along with the health concern there is the potential to dent the …

165 responses to “Former BLP Government Blamed for Sewage Problem”

1. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

I am willing to bet that when the elections are held, losers of the ruling party will quietly leave the island for Northern shores.

There is no way that you can screw up so many things in a place that you plan to live

2. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Unless you are genuinely stupid and don’t know better.

3. CMZU’s position back in 2005

4.1 Concerns of the Coastal Zone Management Unit

Of primary concern to the Coastal Zone Management Unit (CZMU) is the inevitable discharge from the swamp to the sea.

The Unit has previously indicated to the Ministry of Public Works that it is in favour of regular discharges to achieve upstream flushing of the swamp and to improve the water quality in the swamp, hence ultimately improving the quality of the water that enters the nearshore when the sluice gate is opened.

The following guidelines were issued to MPW for the maintenance of the sluice gate in 1994.
    1. The gate should be opened daily at low tide occurring after 3:00 pm;
    2. The gate should be closed before the effects of high tide are experienced;
    3. The optimum time for clearing the channel and the sand berm at the sluice gate would be just prior to the occurrence of low tide.

The Unit conceded that the creation of a channel for drainage would require the use of an excavator and MPW did not have the resources to deploy an excavator for daily use at this site.

The Unit is still in favour of discharges to the beach via a sluice gate, and still holds fast to the opinion that this should be performed regularly, whilst duly noting that the expanse of beach fronting the sluice gate is a hindrance.

The Worthing beach had an accreting trend from 1984, which resulted in a wide beach in front of the sluice gate. Consultants from Delean in a report ‘Littoral Regime Report tor Barbados’ suggested that the most likely cause of this accretion appears to be the construction of the St. Lawrence Apartments groyne in 1975. Although data from 2000 to 2004 suggest that the beach is now experiencing an erosion trend, the average beach width for 2004 was quite wide at 79.65m.

One major objection the CZMU has is to the construction of an outfall across the Worthing beach. This outfall would act as a groyne and hence alter the natural littoral transport along that stretch of coastline. This could result in unfavourable erosion at some points along the stretch of coastline.

4. Of primary concern to the Coastal Zone Management Unit (CZMU) is the inevitable discharge from the swamp to the sea.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Inevitable = Unavoidable

Normal use of English …… and also Government speak …. at least I think so!!

5. What a bunch of blasted monkeys!!!

6. RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE TOURING PARTY

The Graeme Han Swamp over time has become a nuisance to the residents of St. Lawrence and this should have been avoided. Lack of maintenance over time has escalated the situation to present levels. The following recommendations are geared to offer relief to those residents and to enhance the environmental difficulties as they now exist. These recommendations also lend to improved utilization and management of the wetlands:

It is recommended that there be further development of the lands of the eastern section of the swamp to become more than just an unkempt wetland but potentially a recreational area and an attraction to both locals and tourist.
    It is recommended that a berm be built around the southern and eastern sides of the swamp to protect the residential areas from the rising swamp level during rainfall events, thus managing the waterflows exiting the swamp.
    That the berm around and throughout the swamp be used as a track for joggers, bicyclists, walkers and tranquil naturalists.
    That boardwalks be built in a specified area to allow for persons to visit and observe.
    That there is construction of a weir to maintain the water level in the swamp to a maximum acceptable level.
    That the swamp level be allowed to rise – supported by the weir construction – to a level which allows for the fish species to navigate to now inaccessible areas thus controlling the larvae population and eliminating mosquito breeding.
    That the swamp be allowed to have cells, created by berms, which would accommodate vehicular access for agencies’ monitoring of the ecology; also, it can cater for primary, secondary and possibly tertiary treatment for the emergency outfall from the sewage treatment plant.
    That there be the construction of a low flow drain to accommodate the stormwater drainage for the St. Lawrence residents.
    That the sluice gate offer from GHNS be accepted in a form approved by MPW.
    That a secondary sluice gate be erected to support and maintain the development on the western side of the swamp.
    That the management of the entire wetland be a public/private sector marriage.

1O. That a secondary sluice gate be erected to support and maintain the development on the western side of the swamp.

That the management of the entire wetland be a public/private sector marriage.

7. SLUICE GATES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That the sluice gate offer from GHNS be accepted in a form approved by MPW.

That a secondary sluice gate be erected to support and maintain the development on the western side of the swamp.

8. I am reading this report as saying that the CMZU was recommending that the GOB accept the offer of a Sluice Gate from the GHNS and further, that a second one be installed.

9. The Graeme Hall Swamp over time has become a nuisance to the residents of St. Lawrence and this should have been avoided. Lack of maintenance over time has escalated the situation to present levels. The following recommendations are geared to offer relief to those residents and to enhance the environmental difficulties as they now exist.

… and this is being said in 2005!!!

10. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to observe that if GHS is the “fail safe” destination of untreated sewage in an emergency that such emergency was bound to occur, it was an accident waiting to happen. I am just aghast that the general population seemed to be in the dark for so long about the presence of sewage in GHS perhaps visitors to the area thought that any strange smell was just decaying matter that is present in brackish water.

The alarm would surely have been raised in the old days when you could go “sprouting” for sweet potatoes on the old Graham Hall Plantation during the day and armed with a crocus or flour bag, a smut lamp and a search light go crabbing at night. In those conditions one would be acutely aware of the smell emanating from the swamp would be a greater deterrent than a “backbiter” that one was trying to corral.

That probably explains the reluctance to open the sluice gate on a regular basis since the outflow would be noticeably pungent with all the sewage that was present in the water.

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The long short of this entire saga is that both crooked parties neglected to work on the sluice gate Swamp matter. The wo parties continue to believe that once they buiid something looking to improve on it, retrofit it, update it, maintain it and renovate it, is not a necessity or priority issue. They like to build anew because it affords them the opportunity to award the big project contracts to business friends for that all important kickback. That is why every shite in Barbados crumbling. And with tourist piss that they paradise package has been dealt a serious blow, you can bet they are going to highlight more than just shite running in the streets and the awful stench coming from it. They are going bringout all the worms that are currently eating away at Barbados woodwork.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/08/its-a-disgrace/

Those who who consider themselves as having standing jn the society have a responsibility to take government ministers to task publicly for their irresponsible lack of care to the people and environment and their finger pointing blame game when they do not do their jobs and it backfires while they collect a salary every month with perks for work they REFUSE to perform…

…..the government ministers and their lackeys are stealing their salaries from the taxpayers..they should be consistently and publicly exposed for theft.

13. When I was growing up they said , why are chinese yellow…they live above each other…. dont become a joke fix the turd problem.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant December 8, 2016 at 1:20 AM
    “The alarm would surely have been raised in the old days when you could go “sprouting” for sweet potatoes on the old Graham Hall Plantation during the day and armed with a crocus or flour bag, a smut lamp and a search light go crabbing at night. In those conditions one would be acutely aware of the smell emanating from the swamp would be a greater deterrent than a “backbiter” that one was trying to corral.
    That probably explains the reluctance to open the sluice gate on a regular basis since the outflow would be noticeably pungent with all the sewage that was present in the water.”

Sarge, it seems you had some good ole boyhood days. Were you the crab catcher or the bag holder spotting the smut lamp? LoL!!

It clearly shows you know the difference between a backbiter with rather ‘curved petties” and a real Bajan shit crab like our BU ac.

But on a serious note though, your last comment sums up the problem with the GHS and the current overflow of sewage.

There is a good ole Bajan saying: ‘Yuh could hide and buy land but ya can’t hide and wuk it’. You might be able to hide and dump shit but you can’t stop it from smelling.

Instead of accepting the problem as a real public sanitation and health issue which has serious ramifications for the workings of the last engine of economic survival, it is being seen through yellow blue and red partisan political lenses as all part of the 8 year long blame game. Every game of Russian roulette must end in tragedy.

Sorry to say, but this current political administration and its condescending bureaucratic lackeys have been sweeping for too long the dirt (some of it accumulated by the previous administration) under the carpet when it comes to public sanitation and public health. The ongoing garbage collection and its disposal problem is just the tip of the public sanitation iceberg in Bim.

We should not be surprised if the objection raised by the public to the Cahill WTE scam causing is subsequent abandonment is not used as a reason for the sorry state of public sanitation on the little 4×2 island called Bim the paradise now about to be lost for good.

If you can name one other major tourism destination competing for the title of gem of the Caribbean Sea or Atlantic Ocean which has buried its head like the proverbial ostrich in the sands of cover-up and lies about its public sanitation issues then I would teach you how to catch a Canadian backbiter like Alvin Cummins even without a sidewinder approach in the dark of the night.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…Miller..Alvin refuses to peep out to defend Poopgate, he left the ACs on their own to be swallowed up in the Graeme Hall raw sewage with Fruendel and his Liars.

At last they all got their comeuppance fpr 8 years of lies and deception practiced on the people on the island and the decades of lies, deception and corruption practiced by bith governments on the island and people.

Their main briber Bizzy will soon me telling the ministers to “gimme me” the ministries and 100 million dollars so he can manage them and lock up some ministers for all the shame and disgrace they brought to the island….singlehandedly destroying the tourism product and neither of the 2 governments in 50 years, in all those decades, bothered to develop a few back up industries, a plan B.

16. For what it is worth tourism market is booming and there are more positive stories on other social media pages about the island than those of negatives.
    As the saying goes one monkey cannot stop the show.
    The gaggled geese of blp operatives determined for the past eight years to destroy the country one nest basket better be careful of what they wished because one day all this hootering and hollering would come back and bite them in the ar.sss and the blame would certainly be there’s to own because of the messages sent
    The govt has invested plenty resources in the rebuilding of the tourism market and there are investors money as well as taxpayers investment at work
    It is tragic that the leadership of the BLP Mia Mottley would insert her two cents worth of political bile at a time of an unfortunate occurrence bile which distracts and undermines the country best interst
    Some body ought to pull her aside and let her know if she wants to be in the winners circle she ought to have ideas and solution for the country instead of climbing the political tree picking on low hanging fruit.
    Those ideas have long been tested and proven wrong and fails to construct an economy but weakens and divide a nation as a whole

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

For what it’s worth…yall got exposed ACs…the electorate cannot trust yall when you not only lied about the raw sewage, but alsocalled the citizens in Christ Church liars for saying it was poop running in the streets and into the sea.

Even the tourists had to call yall out for your irresponsible behavior and they know you are hiding other things from your employers, the people and lying to your employers …. the people.

No one trusts any of you.

You will never recover from this.

18. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Interesting post. Though one-sided, it was readable and made sense. Seems as if one of the ‘heavy hitters’ has desk duty.

One would hope that while dispensing advice you would tell your team to
    (1) Listen to the voice of the people

(2) Be transparent

(3.1) Address issues as they arise. The excuses and denials appease the ‘acs’ whilst the issue fester and grow out of control.

(3.2) Be proactive. Get out ahead of the problem; Lead from in front. A common feature of many of the problems that we are encountering is that their existence is well known. When you blame the BLP for a problem, you are stating that an issue has been around for 8 years but you lack the sense/technolog/willingness/ to solve it.

(3.3) Grow a pair and take ownership of successes and failures. It is only when you become an owner that you will seek a remedy. Fingerpointing like finger painting will not solve any of these problems.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The juvenile blame game is like a reflex for the ministers, it’s so encoded within them that it’s always their initial reaction to everything, even when it makes them look dumb and petty like Kellman, but they all do it.

Alvin sickened me when he did it on here weeks ago, now he cant show himself.

Blaming others for their own incompetence and inefficiency are the minister’s default setting, it’s very ugly and shameful when viewed from outside of Barbados…ah guess none of them have as yet developed shame.

20. “We certainly want to apologize to those who have been affected by failures of the system from time to time and I hope the point that we have reached in terms of our discussions with the team from the different ministries will see us have this matter corrected for some time,” said Boyce, the Member of Parliament for Christ Church South.

“I am fairly comfortable in my mind that action is being taken in terms of procurement . . . of the equipment required to carry out an immediate repair to the equipment at that South Coast Sewerage Project so that plant can be fully operational,” he added.

21. In civil jurisdictions and first world countries, apologies come with resignations.

You accept responsibility for wrong doing and get out of the way.

At one time in Japan, they preceded hari kari!!

In Barbados, they are empty!!

22. What does the government speak ..”failures of the system” …. mean when translated into plain English?

23. Anonymouse – TheGazer December 8, 2016 at 9:30 AM #

“(3.2) Be proactive. Get out ahead of the problem; Lead from in front. A common feature of many of the problems that we are encountering is that their existence is well known. When you blame the BLP for a problem, you are stating that an issue has been AROUND for 8 years but you LACK the SENSE/TECHNOLOGY/WILLINGNESS/ to SOLVE it.”

@ The Gazer

Your above comments are well stated……………I could not have written it better.

Interestingly, the AC consortium of yard-fowls is always reminding critics of this inept DLP administration and the Opposition that they should “have ideas and solutions for the country.”

However, they CONVENIENTLY prefer to IGNORE the fact that, after being at the helm of government for the past 8 years, if this administration had “IDEAS AND SOLUTIONS FOR THE COUNTRY,” surely Barbadians would not be constantly complaining about issues such as the state of the island’s roads; water outages and garbage collection; irregular and unreliable bus service; the state of the economy and associated credit rating downgrades or the crisis in housing.

Therefore, under the circumstances, it is then obvious the BLP and DLP do not “have ideas and solutions for the country.:

“Failures of the system”….they are translating to mean it’s still not their fault…the dummies are still not aware after 50 years that THEY ARE THE SYSTEM….and are the ones who are responsible for the failing of the sewage system because they knew about the problem for over 10 years, been in control of the system for over 8 years and still did nothing…it’s their failed system to own.

Can you believe the best educated in parliament still do not understand standard english, even when they speak it…they still do not know how and when it should be applied applied.

25. @AC

Your desire to defend the Gov’t is admirable when so many elected officials are ducking and hiding as if they never even heard of Graeme Hall. This has not happened in some isolated corner of Barbados the stretch of highway in that area is one of the most highly travelled corridors in Barbados, it is home to many businesses, hotels and a beach that is widely patronized. There seemed to be some errors when the sewer was conceptualized and built but Gov’t is a continuum and people are going to look to those in power for solutions to the problem.

Thus when a Gov’t Minister writes that the issue is due to the BLP I could only describe him as an “idiot”, the “idiot” description is one that was probably shared by the late DT Thompson as he was the only elected MP who didn’t get a plum assignment when the DLP initially formed the Gov’t in 2008. He only ascended to a Ministry when one of his peers became ill and he was thrust into an acting role, when the Minister assumed his duties the Gov’t managed to carve out a Ministry for him (they gotta keep everyone happy) rather that return him to his position as a bench warmer. He may be a nice man and a barrel of laughs among his friends and associates but having viewed some of his comments and listened to his statements over the years I am more than convinced that the man is out of his depth in his role as a Minister in the Barbados Gov’t.

You can glean from the above that my description as it relates to his political office still holds, away from politics my assessment may be subject to change.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants December 8, 2016 at 9:48 AM
    “I am fairly comfortable in my mind that action is being taken in terms of procurement . . . of the equipment required to carry out an immediate repair to the equipment at that South Coast Sewerage Project so that plant can be fully operational,” he added.

So is the minister agreeing with you, Hants, that the sewage problem on the South Coast is not the result of local people tampering with the sewer manhole covers or even the heavy (and expected) downpour of rain?

If the heavy downpour of rain were the cause of the sewage leak then a similar situation should have prevailed in the city itself.

Just like the build up of garbage all around Barbados for the past few years so too has the sewage problem on the South coast been building up for sometime despite the many warnings of its potential negative impact.

There is no justification whatsoever (fiscal or otherwise) for cutting back on maintenance (especially preventative) when it comes to public sanitation and the health of citizens and indeed visitors.

How can you talk about the people being the country’s greatest resource and tourism being its No. 1 business while at the same time putting people’s health and the same vital business at serious risk?

The old saying of an ounce of prevention being worth a pound of cure is still very relevant today.

27. No ! Sargeant my desire is to protect the country interest from political operatives whose desire has been to whiplashed this tiny island name and reputation without any sense of objectivity .
    Yes there are problems to be corrected however too far east is west especially when all voices of “real” concern should be focused on how these challenges should be met head on with out and intent and instensive purpose of destroying the nations economy
    This kinda of negative action has been going on for eight years with a cause for grave concern by any barbadian who has the economic concerns of barbados heart
    Being opposed to govt policies is not the same as taking a political weed whacker to crush the nations stability into oblivion
    There is where i drawn the line.Call me dumb stupid or what ever but for me there is only one barbados and when it is destroyed but purposeful actions built by political opportunistic actors then the question arises where do we go from here

28. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Hopefully my last comment of the day/

Clearly, It is easier to upgrade an “ac” on BU than to fix real problems.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ya mean tourism being their only business.

Not one person in Christ Church should vote for any of these ministers in the upcoming election, not one vote. They insulted the people in Christ Church, did serious harm to their only livelihood and called them liars…..

,…..it took tourists exposing the ministers and TripAdvisor exposing the minister’s lies to the world to cause them to back off….they refused to listen to their own people who live in Barbados for weeks about the raw sewage, those carrion birds for black ministers.

Why would any local person want to vote for those lying government ministers ever again, why.

It is definitely not admirable to see any yardfowls like the ACs putting lying government ministers before the health and welfare of the people and thevcountry’s environment. ….the ACs are yet another variety of carrion birds, the lowest types of yardfowls.

30. In a normal parliamentary democracy, Governments would fall

A no confidence motion from the opposition would seal their fate or they would resign

Given the indisputable record with a paper trail to kingdom come, how can the BLP bring such a motion?

Kellman’s pronouncement may be just a reminder to the BLP to head off the likelihood of a no confidence motion.

He may be saying “fellas, just lets ride this one out …. it gine pass”!!

The result is that we the people have no confidence in either party to fix the problem.

It is as if Her Majesty’s government and loyal opposition conspired to injure us.

How does a parliamentary democracy solve such a crisis?

This is really the crisis …. not the sh!t!!!!

The sh!t is a symptom.

Trump exists in America because few had any confidence in either party.

Had it not been Trump it would have been Sanders such was the disgust with the two parties.

… but America is different.

For one thing, it is really hard to corrupt institutions.

Even if the political parties manage to corrupt the top by suitably chosen appointments the rank and file are difficult to sway …. and there are a lot of them.

Here the opposite exists.

Every level is corrupt!!

We are in a crisis and I don’t have any idea how it will be solved, or, if indeed it will be!!

Do we ask the Mother Country for help …… like Turks and Caicos?

A trial has been going on there for the entire year with no resolution in sight and some of the witnesses/defendant include the Governor and the Attorney General and various politicians.

Some of the same politicians are running in the upcoming elections and I hear they expect to win!!!

… kind of like Hilary in the USA!!

Maybe it is the world … it has gone completely mad!!

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 8, 2016 at 10:53 AM
    “No ! Sargeant my desire is to protect the country interest from political operatives whose desire has been to whiplashed this tiny island name and reputation without any sense of objectivity .”

Are you saying that the many visitors who expressed their concerns and disgust (both in the local media and on TripAdvisor) about the pile up of garbage and the leaking sewage on the South coast are also political operatives ‘hired’ by the BLP to destabilize your DLP administration?

Are you saying the many downgrades resulting from the inept fiscal and financial management of the country are all concoctions by the international financial institutions to unseat your more than competent administration?

No siree, ac, it’s the plethora of lies and massively poor decision-making which have landed the once proud and well-managed country Barbados into the mess it finds itself.
    For an alcoholic to start his journey on the road of recovery he must first admit he has a problem with alcohol.

It’s time for you ac and your administration begin that journey with the first step. Just ‘man up’ to your problem or call elections to take yourself out of your own misery. It’s time you put Barbados first and not the selfish interests of the fatted calf brigade.

32. “This kinda of negative action, (as a result of this inept DLP administration’s policies), has been going on for eight years with a cause for grave concern by any Barbadian who has the economic concerns of Barbados heart.”

Perfect examples of the above comment:

1) The Transport Board under Michael Lashley’s tenure as Transport Minister. The TB once operated with 230 working units. This number has subsequently been reduced to 80 units. We must take into consideration that units are now being repaired by Trans-Tech Inc., L&N, Simpson Motors and approximately 2 other similar establishments. UCAL is presently given the job of minor repairs to the older units.

When UCAL had responsibility of repairing at least 85% of buses, the TB could boast of approximately 150 buses on the road per day. Now that majority repairs are being undertaken by 4 or 5 other companies, the Board’s can only, at this time, muster 80 units to service over 300 routes.

With Barbadians being stranded in terminals 5 hours waiting for buses to go home, are they not entitled to voice their frustrations “without any sense of objectivity” or without some stupid yard-fowl writing about “divisions?”

If the “voices of “real” concern should be focused on how these challenges should be met head on with out and intent and purpose of destroying the nation’s economy,” why have Michael Lashley and TB, over the past two years, REJECTED any OFFER by APTO and similar organizations to allocate their resources in an effort to assist TB?

As such, the AUTHOR of those comments is being “politically hypocritical,” while ADMITTING Michael Lashley is doing a TERRIBLE JOB, since he has not ADEQUATELY addressed the issue nor has he OFFERED any VIABLE SOLUTIONS; especially taking into consideration people arriving late for work because of a shortage or unavailability of buses AFFECT productivity and the economy.

2) The state of the economy under Sinckler as Finance Minister (he can no longer blame “the worst recession in a hundred years”).

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

In one of the Caribbean islands the UK threw out the corrupt prime minister and government and installed their own because they are still a dependent of UK, they do not have their own constitution.

The UK, even if they wanted to and although telling Barbados they are still owned by buckingham palace would not and cannot remove the present lot of blights and corrupt curses that is this present government, only the people have the power to remove them or to decide from here on going forward, that each of the two governments deserve only 5 years in parliament at a time, they hardly do any work and steal from the taxpayers anyway, so why give them more than one term to grow their roots of corruption, bribery and kickbacks, while collecting a salary for doing nothing.

It’s too easy to be dependent on UK…the people have to grow a backbone, show their strength in numbers and stop the halfassed politicians from their decades old disrespect and abuse of the electorate and misuse of the system.

Iceland has a population a few thousand more people than Barbados, their government pissed them off a couple years ago and in no time they were gone, the people forced them right out…you do not have to accept abuse, theft, corruption and disrespect from any government as aneducated population…….period.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yes ACs…I said this government is abusive and disrespectful to the people of Barbados because they are, they have proved it to the world…. it is now known everywhere.

The ministers are abusive and disrespectful to their own majority black people and only have respect for a 5% minority of thieves, criminals and crooks who bribe them….so there.

35. Sewage is not the crisis, there are ways to deal with it profitably

http://ostara.com/project/how-can-money-be-made-from-sewage/

Sewage is a problem to be solved.

There is water also to be harvested

Sewage is an opportunity

The crisis is with the GOB and the opposition

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

“In civil jurisdictions and first world countries, apologies come with resignations.”

Which dreamworld are you living in? Even an apology…which involves some admission of failure/guilt…is hard to find. Once they get elected, they remain elected come hell nor high water until their term ends. And after, they blame those who came before them, or tag a few civil servants with misdeeds.

37. Dr. NO

I see you are agreeing with me.

Barbados is neither a first world country nor a civil jurisdiction!!

So, what do we do?

The sewage presents an opportunity … the GOB and opposition are in crisis!!

What do we do?

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John December 8, 2016 at 12:17 PM

Sir John the Diviner, do you know what happens to the ‘sludge’ which is produced by the sewage plant in Bim?

Maybe some entrepreneur can make some money from it. But that is dreaming too much given that sugar is dead and agriculture is on its last legs.

Maybe the sludge can be baked into bricks to build houses on the former agricultural lands.
    Are you listening, Mr. Maloney?

39. John, I agree with your 12:23 comment.

40. With this big sewerage problem, Tourism the number 1 business is being taken over by the number 2 business!!!

41. Miller i am saying there is a grass root level at work inside the island whose sole of objective is to down play or erode any positive gains which are necessary for the stabilty of this country all rooted and circumvent to destabilise.
    The test of the people must be a willgness to detect such influences . Not at all saying that relevant criticisms are not necessary but there must be a recognization of productive criticism that are valuable and fits within thosee realities that can help rather than those criticisms whose sole purpose are those that hender and deplete.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

Simple answer….nothing.

You can do as I did many moons ago, get on a plane and come to live in Canada. Guess what? The politicians do exactly the same shit here (no pun intended)

Would you desire to be a politician?(No) Exactly. So you have a bunch of incompetents in all parties, struggling to outdo each other. Unless one is willing to offer oneself for office, then don’t complain.

You have a choice. If you can….DO. If you cannot do, then enter politics. Good pay, excellent side benefits and a secure pension. And hopefully power for a while if that turns your crank. Along with the accompanying abuse.

If this is like most infrastructure projects, it maybe adequately designed initially, but pre construction it gets modified to suit the bidders/public owners (now inadequately designed), is inadequately constructed, and inadequately maintained. And one wonders why it performs inadequately?

Now you see why public bodies like P3 projects. Somebody else has to maintain and run them for 30 years. Something they are generally incapable of doing.

43. NorthernObserver December 8, 2016 at 1:56 PM #

Simple answer….nothing.

You can do as I did many moons ago, get on a plane and come to live in Canada. Guess what? The politicians do exactly the same shit here (no pun intend)
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….

Chuckle……well put and said.

Plus at our age we are only usefull to make noise(Unless we are a Trump or Hillary) to no no avail…..this country belongs to the young wuk up brigade ably led by the politicoes.

When you have ministers making these statements and no one making noise……time to shut shop.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91202/update-garbage-disposal-mcclean
    How much more revisiting is needed……studies abound…..dust one off and implement it…….
    Update garbage disposal, says McClean
    A CALL is being made to revisit the subject of garbage disposal.It is coming from Senator Maxine McClean, Leader of Government Business in the Senate, as she piloted…
    nationnews.com|By Nation News author

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 8, 2016 at 1:45 PM
    “Miller i am saying there is a grass root level at work inside the island whose sole of objective is to down play or erode any positive gains which are necessary for the stabilty of this country all rooted and circumvent to destabilise.”

So what was at work prior to 2008? Not a grass root movement to change the government at that time? Or would you call that organized group of liars, deceivers, quislings and scumbags the DLP brigade?

Based on what was said about the then administration one would have concluded that it was the worst administration to rule Bim and the country was the worst place to live.
    Do you remember your much vaunted 14 years of OSA’s misrule, corruption and squandermania?

Well, people at the other end of the political spectrum are shouting about the 8 years (and counting) of pure confusion, incompetence social and economic downgrades and the list goes on.

At least OSA left some things to show for his stewardship.. What has your administration to show other than a shitty economy and a doubling of the national debt?

You are only getting a dose of your own political medicine. Now go and rest your tired worn-out soul.

45. my wife and kids are going down in jan. and staying near accra what are the chances of this being cleaned up by then and I should say I mean jan. this year

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson, ya mean next month..lol..

…..good luck, keep checking with social media, that’s the only way you will know if the beaces are safe in that area, because the ministers will tell their usual lies about any water testing results and keep pointing fingers at the opposition, that’s all they know.

Miller..what souls, the ACs have none.

McClean is an airhead, always will be, some things and people never change.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91212/statement-ministry-health-worthing-beach

Here Lawson…some people said they were also doing independent testing of the water on the south coast, you may want to wait for them to come out with their results…I would not believe anything this government and their lackeys say….without a second opinion.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91204/bus-rage

More disrespect and neglect.

Lashley assured the public with his misleading statements that the buses were fine and ready for the new school term in September. Just never believe anything those liars for ministers say.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/08/worthing-beach-reopens/

Lol, hahaha, lol…I love it.

Sealy and Boyce both went for a swim in the waters of the contaminated beach to sssure everyone the water is safe…let’s give them week to make sure they dont grow bacteria on their skins and inside their bodies…then we can give them an A fir effort. ..lol.

Were the ACs in the water with them, I did not see a female,,, coward…lol