Walter Blackman - Actuary and Social Commentator
Walter Blackman – Actuary and Social Commentator

In April 2015, I wrote an article captioned โ€œA new agenda for Barbadian workers and their familiesโ€. In that article, I made an attempt to highlight the existence of a struggle between two opposing forces โ€“ Barbadian workers and their families versus the political class.

Writing from Chicago at the time, I tried to capture as much of the perceived negative features and weaknesses of the political class as I could. I then tried to show how these perceived shortcomings of the political class were negatively affecting the economy, and ultimately making life somewhat difficult and challenging for Barbadian workers and their families.

To be thorough, I also highlighted the perceived weaknesses of two very important decision-makers and members of the political class – the Prime Minister and the Minister of Finance.

Having laid out a historical case against the political class, and having highlighted the fact that some members of this class were extremely vulnerable until February 2016, I dared the unions to start fighting on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families, and to exploit the temporary vulnerability of the political class. The next strike called, I challenged them, should be a strike on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families.

Clearly, in April 2015, the cards were heavily stacked in the unionsโ€™ favour. Back then, one would have been heavily inclined to support any widespread industrial action brought by the unions aimed at benefiting Barbadian workers and their families.

Nineteen months later, in November 2016, Barbadians can now see the extent to which my article has exposed the unions for their ineffective and, sometimes, pretentious defense of the interests of Barbadian workers and their families.

Since April 2015, at least three special groups of Barbadian public sector workers needing effective union representation have attracted national attention:

1. Some workers 60 years and older being forced into retirement.

2. Persons working in temporary positions for 3 years or more remaining un-appointed.

3. NCC workers being retrenched.

In November 2016, all fair-minded Barbadians can now hold these truths to be self-evident:

1. As a result of the industrial relations process related to the above-mentioned Barbadian workers and their families, the unions emerged weaker and the government emerged stronger.

2. The temporary period of vulnerability for some members of the political class ended in February 2016. Having secured their pensions, these members now feel less personally threatened by union actions, strategies and tactics.

3. No meaningful, sustained, pressurizing industrial action was taken on behalf of Barbadian workers and their families prior to February 2016, or since.

Now that February 2016 has passed, and now that some members of the political class can no longer suffer personal anguish and pain as a result of being rendered ineligible for state pensions, Barbadian workers, their family, and their country must now become sacrificial lambs in order to achieve a short-sighted, individualistic, and perplexing union objective.

Barbadians (local and foreign), their families, and tourists must now suffer from anger, frustration, and fatigue as they try to pass through, or do business at our two ports of entry. The memory of our nationโ€™s 50th anniversary of independence celebrations must now become marred and tainted, and our local tourism industry must now face a risk of reduced revenue, all because of industrial action started by โ€œirresponsible and recklessโ€ unions.

Mind you, whereas the unions could not find it possible to bring pressure to bear on the political class on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families, they now find it very possible to speedily commence industrial action on behalf of one man. โ€œHurting many, for the benefit of oneโ€ seems to be the new slogan and mantra being adopted by the unions.

By the way, hasnโ€™t a precedent been already set and accepted by the unions for the manner in which the Akanni McDowell case should be handled? Shouldnโ€™t the Personnel Administration Department (PAD) and the NUPW repeatedly meet, if necessary, to negotiate a settlement? If the differences between the goals of the two contending groups prove to be intractable, and all efforts at achieving a settlement fail, shouldnโ€™t the case go to the Employment Rights Tribunal (ERT) which should act as final arbiter? In other words, why should Mr. McDowell be treated differently from the NCC workers?

It is highly likely that the current industrial action and its attendant politics, being pursued on behalf of Mr. McDowell by the unions and the opposition, do not have the support of the majority of Barbadian workers and their families. Consequently, one is now heavily inclined to side with the political class and castigate the unions for attempting to damage the fragile economy of Barbados at a critical time because of narrow, political, singular and individualistic motives.

With respect to effective representation of the rights and benefits of Barbadian workers and their families, the reputation of the unions has wobbled noticeably since April 2015.

The act of effectively representing the interests of many workers and their families, when confronted by the opposing entrenched interests of the powerful few, must be seen as the raison d’รชtre of all unions worldwide. Rather than assume a hostile, confrontational stance against the government and attempt to wreak havoc on a weakened Barbadian economy for one man only, the unions ought to ascertain if there are any major problems that Barbadian workers are beginning to encounter as a result of increasing private sector greed and contempt for our labour regulations in these difficult economic times.

To gain some insights into the new anti-worker practices being embraced and developed by some Barbadian employers, the unions should begin having collaborative discussions with the Ministry of Labour.

246 responses to “Hurting Many for the Benefit of One – the unions exposed”

1. It is highly likely that the current industrial action and its attendant politics, being pursued on behalf of Mr. McDowell by the unions and the opposition, do not have the support of the majority of Barbadian workers and their families. Consequently, one is now heavily inclined to side with the political class and castigate the unions for attempting to damage the fragile economy of Barbados at a critical time because of narrow, political, singular and individualistic motives.

@Walter

How is what you have described different if compared to how we elect political parties to government? Is it likely that the current policies of government and the attendant politics being pursued on the behalf of the people have the support of Barbadian workers and families? Plagiarized a bit from your submission to return the point you made.

2. This is the same union NUPW now trying to bring Barbados economy to its knees that brought a no confidence vote against Mcdowell. There strategic mold of upheaval leaves much to desired screaming for good leadership and understanding for the rules and guidelines defined towards industrial action which is lacking
    Thank God presently that the country is being surrounded by an atmosphere of patriotism sufficient and necessary enough to down wind the stench of division that could have created an atmosphere of political mayhem

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Walter

You should stick to writing about things that you understand.

What Government did to McDowall is a CRIME in Barbados and also contrary to the commitments this country made by signing the ILO convention that sought to protect union leaders from victimisation.

Also, the Employment Rights Tribunal have no jurisdiction to deal with matters in the Public Service. Your DLP slip is showing.

4. The April 2015 article highlighted what happens when the then leadership of the union served two masters at the same time, now leadership has change

5. Walter exposed further!

6. @ Walter
    Perhaps you should now write under a nom de plume if you want to be taken seriously.
    You are only embarrassing yourself when your readers refer back to your previous articles.

7. To gain some insight into the new anti worker practices being embraced and developed by some Barbadian employers……we should examine the honours list. We like it so.

8. Would also be interesting to know those responsible for its composition.

9. What non de plum people and circumstance can attributed to changing of opinions. Only an a.ss would keep a closed mind defined by one opinion . The unions fight on behalf of one man can be defined as an act of self preservation at the countries expense.
    The NUPW membership has dwindled and now country has been caught between the cross hairs of malicious vandalism to suffice a few and the Union intent to remain relevant
    Unfortunately for the NUPW their exuberance exercise in muscle flexing have now cascade into an avalanche of distrust among the ranks which in all probabilty would result in more decline of new membership as public gazes on in wonderment and question their ultetior motives

10. SOCIAL PARTNERSHIP, even in opposing circumstances they are their brothers keepers when affiliated. When not issues arise.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I think the better description for any prime minister, ministers of government and opposition MPs are….employees of the people, servants of their country. ….

………this new label they have given themselves of “political class”…explains why these jackasses now belive themselves a class unto themselves, separate and distinct from the majority whom they are PAID to serve and are now seen as bandits and corrupt, bribetaking thieves because of their negative actions against the majority…and their haste to be aligned and associated with those who bribe them….so they coined this foolish phrase “political class”.

I wonnder which arrogant self-absorbed idiot for a minister came up with the phrase.

12. @HH
    Demanding a certificate of character forcibly making job seekers to submit fingerprints and mug shots.
    Limited Contracts that carries no substance.
    Denying National Holidays with regular pay.
    Penalizing uncertified sick days though being a member of staff.
    Being Blundered by unreasonable rules and regulations.
    Denying your right to associate with any Trade/Workers Unions.
    Stipulating the wearing of Black clothing.
    Denying the right to use telecommunications technology
    and more

feel free to add to the list

13. @Walter

Looking forward to your response to Caswell. How does the ERT play a role in the matter as proposed by you?

14. This article appears to me to be an exercise in doublespeak.

On the face of it the arguments seem to be eminently logical but betray a magician’s sleight of hand in dealing with the topic by first exposing some aspects of the case for championing and upholding the values of Unionism and then jumping on a populist bandwagon that sees no further than the current crisis and condemns the Union for doing what it must do, all in a thinly veined attempt by Walter to promote the interests of his partisan political class. It is not the Union he should be excoriating. It should be his Party for gratuitously starting the war. He should call on Freundel and his minions to de-escalate the skirmishes since they are the ones who unthinkingly started it.

The Union is an institution that has been under threat for sometime now.

Its leaders sold out totally and demonstrably to the Political Class in Power under the last 2 administrations.

The Unions seem now to be seeking to recover from those lapses by seriously fighting for a formerly hard won and universally accepted meme that a Union should not under any circumstances accept the clearly strategic and capricious financial downgrading of any of its members, particularly its executive members, by management because if it condones such activity it could as well shut up shop.

The principle the Union is fighting for is clear to any except those who know nothing about the tenets of Unionism, a gullible public that can see no further than its noses and the purblind. Walter is certainly not a member of any of the classes above, so to take the ultimate position he took in his article, suggests that he has clearly demonstrated that there is some strategic mischief intended in the article.

Caswell’s and Bushtea’s assessments are imho, absolutely correct.

15. “Having laid out a historical case against the political class, and having highlighted the fact that some members of this class were extremely vulnerable until February 2016, I dared the unions to start fighting on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families, and to exploit the temporary vulnerability of the political class. The next strike called, I challenged them, should be a strike on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families.

Clearly, in April 2015, the cards were heavily stacked in the unionsโ€™ favour. Back then, one would have been heavily inclined to support any widespread industrial action brought by the unions aimed at benefiting Barbadian workers and their families.

Nineteen months later, in November 2016, Barbadians can now see the extent to which my article has exposed the unions for their ineffective and, sometimes, pretentious defense of the interests of Barbadian workers and their families.

Since April 2015, at least three special groups of Barbadian public sector workers needing effective union representation have attracted national attention:

Some workers 60 years and older being forced into retirement.
    Persons working in temporary positions for 3 years or more remaining un-appointed.
    NCC workers being retrenched.

In November 2016, all fair-minded Barbadians can now hold these truths to be self-evident:

As a result of the industrial relations process related to the above-mentioned Barbadian workers and their families, the unions emerged weaker and the government emerged stronger.
    The temporary period of vulnerability for some members of the political class ended in February 2016. Having secured their pensions, these members now feel less personally threatened by union actions, strategies and tactics.”

Yet, in spite of all the above so eloquently and cogently and passionately laid out by you purportedly in defence of workers rights you now seek to become seemingly once again a part of that class which tramples on the rights of the defenceless workers. Surely it must boggle my simple mind.

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

To echo @Franklyn and @BushTea this article is reprehensible. ‘Slip showing’, ’embarrassing’ himself or whatever. Mr Blackman has defiled the wonderful, in fact, awesome foundation he previously established.

Words in the hands of a master are like shuriken stars in the hands of a Ninja: deadly. Even when arrayed against multiple more dangerous factual weapons.

How can Walter Blackman make the strong statement assailing the crass self-serving behaviour of his fellow DLP politicians to wit, “The temporary period of vulnerability for some members of the political class ended in February 2016. Having secured their pensions, these members now feel less personally threatened by union actions, strategies and tactics.”

And then pivot so artfully to blame the unions as, “…they now find it very possible to speedily commence industrial action on behalf of one man […] Hurting many, for the benefit of oneโ€.

Pure political theater. His ends justify his means, clearly.

This action is long overdue as he himself powerfully suggested to wage a fight “on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families”. This s not a fight for one, but where ONE is a symbol of the many.

The man is a ninja, clad surreptitiously in stealthy garb and lurking to take our lives.

Yes indeed @Enuff, if we can place ‘personality’ firmly to the side, then politically there is no doubt that ‘Walter [is] exposed further!’

Reprehensible but not surprising in the least!

17. 3.” No meaningful, sustained, pressurizing industrial action was taken on behalf of Barbadian workers and their families prior to February 2016, or since.”

“Mind you, whereas the unions could not find it possible to bring pressure to bear on the political class on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families, they now find it very possible to speedily commence industrial action on behalf of one man. โ€œHurting many, for the benefit of oneโ€ seems to be the new slogan and mantra being adopted by the unions.”:

If I read your article correctly you were flogging the unions for poor representation; for their lack of militancy in the face of disadvantageous positions taken by Government on behalf of its membership- well now the Unions have taken a stand you are singing a different tune and attributing to the NUPW’s response in conjunction with other Unions who are able to see the bigger picture and attributing current industrial action to the support given in response to the ill-advised assault on the office of President of the National Union of Public Workers only.

And even if it takes the bumbling and fumbling of the assault on Mr McDowall to initiate action which will propel all the injustices on the workers highlighted in your article to the front burner then would you not say that justice has been served better late than never or out of the evil you seek to portray cometh good. Take your pick and do not let your slip override your intellect and commonsense.

18. “. As a result of the industrial relations process related to the above-mentioned Barbadian workers and their families, the unions emerged weaker and the government emerged lambs in order to achieve a short-sighted, individualistic, and perplexing union objective.”

“With respect to effective representation of the rights and benefits of Barbadian workers and their families, the reputation of the unions has wobbled noticeably since April 2015.”

If as you imply that the Unions emerged weaker and the Government stronger and I do agree with you but posit only because the Unions in an effort to accommodate the interests of the country at large bent too far over backwards and allowed themselves to be hoodwinked by an untrustworthy class to the detriment of the workers they were representing. That capitulation in the face of the collaborative onslaught by Government and private sector which left the Sanitation workers holding the nasty bag could have destroyed the NUPW had it not have a solid foundation. So I ask again if the Unions are suddenly regaining their strength and flexing their muscles whether through one man or two why the whining now?

“Barbadians (local and foreign), their families, and tourists must now suffer from anger, frustration, and fatigue as they try to pass through, or do business at our two ports of entry. The memory of our nationโ€™s 50th anniversary of independence celebrations must now become marred and tainted, and our local tourism industry must now face a risk of reduced revenue, all because of industrial action started by โ€œirresponsible and recklessโ€ unions.”

The right to strike is one of the essential means through which workers and their organizations may promote and defend their economic and social interests โ€“ILO Committee on Freedom of Association (1985)

Section 7 (1) of the Trade Unions Act, Cap. 361 is clear in its provision-

โ€œAn action against a trade union, whether of workmen or employers, or against any members or officials thereof on behalf of themselves and all other members of the trade union in respect of any tortious act alleged to have been committed by or on behalf of the trade union, shall not be entertained by any courtโ€.

“Mind you, whereas the unions could not find it possible to bring pressure to bear on the political class on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families, they now find it very possible to speedily commence industrial action on behalf of one man. โ€œHurting many, for the benefit of oneโ€ seems to be the new slogan and mantra being adopted by the unions.

By the way, hasnโ€™t a precedent been already set and accepted by the unions for the manner in which the Akanni McDowell case should be handled? Shouldnโ€™t the Personnel Administration Department (PAD) and the NUPW repeatedly meet, if necessary, to negotiate a settlement? If the differences between the goals of the two contending groups prove to be intractable, and all efforts at achieving a settlement fail, shouldnโ€™t the case go to the Employment Rights Tribunal (ERT) which should act as final arbiter? In other words, why should Mr. McDowell be treated differently from the NCC workers?”

With regard to the nonsense above I refer you to Mr Jeff Cumberbatch’s more sobering and thoughtful l analysis and i quote The real issue has been however most clearly articulated by the General Secretary of the Barbados Workersโ€™ Union, Ms Toni Moore, who stated yesterday that she had sought the reason for the decision to revert Mr McDowell and โ€œto ascertain if there had been a breach of the ILOโ€™s Convention which protects union leadersโ€. This identifies precisely the bone of contention between the parties that seems to be lost on most commentators on the issue.

It is not whether it is within the managerial prerogative of the employer to revert Mr McDowell. This is beyond dispute so long as there is no conflict with a contractual provision to the contrary. Rather, as I wrote two columns ago, it is whether the actions of the employer in this instance amount to an act of anti-union discrimination prohibited by Article 1 of the Right to Organize and Collective Bargaining Convention 1949, an instrument that Barbados ratified on May 8 1967. According the ILOโ€™s Committee on Freedom of Association โ€“

โ€œOne of the fundamental principles of freedom of association is that workers should enjoy adequate protection against all acts of anti-union discrimination in respect of their employment such as dismissal, demotion, transfer or other prejudicial measures. This protection is particularly desirable in the case of trade union officials because, in order to be able to perform their trade union duties in full confidence, they should have a guarantee that they will not be prejudiced on account of the mandate which they hold from their trade unions. The Committee has considered that the guarantee of such protection in the case of trade union officials is also necessary in order to ensure that effect is given to the fundamental principle that workersโ€™ organizations shall have the right to elect their representatives in full freedomโ€

The dispute has not so far been joined in the public domain on this narrow issue. I submit, however, that this is the heart of the matter and that while some are content to exercise their partisan preconceptions as to the patriotism, moral legitimacy or otherwise of the NUPW action and its likely consequences for the governing administration, a more focused debate should be on whether the reversion of Mr McDowell did in fact constitute an act of anti-union discrimination.

19. “…shouldnโ€™t the case go to the Employment Rights Tribunal (ERT) which should act as final arbiter? In other words, why should Mr. McDowell be treated differently from the NCC workers?”

Walter the ERT is merely a creature of statute and therefore has no jurisdiction in this matter unless it is granted ed in the constitutive Employment Rights Act. It is not!

20. Well now the Unions have taken a stance against govt
    But why haven’t Unions show of display industrial actions which is being seen as indiscriminately served not be heaped on to the private sector where there are known violatios and violators of labour law are these employees worthy of full representation or is all about the status quo is this new brand of unionism

21. Cuh dear Charles….
    Yuh going kill ‘ee?
    You have made the point clearly and sharply….
    If yuh keep jucking Walter he may not make it yuh….!!

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman:

You have used your own pen to not only commit political hara-kiri but also to sign your own intellectual and moral death warrant.

Now that you have decided to protect the political class under the DLP army what do you have to say, now, about the same political class given your past severe criticism of similar protection awarded to Leroy Greenverbs of CLICO infamy?

Is Leroy still a pariah and tax cheat in your books of moral accounting or have you in true DLP Pontificate style brought him in from his sinful โ€˜coldโ€™ and granted him full remission of his financial sins? Is Leroi the king of scam and great friend of the morally naked Emperor of Barbados now your bosom pal, too? Is it now a case of Unus pro omnibus, omnes pro uno?

Are you now one of the devilish musketeers who have morally usurp EWBโ€™s dream of black enfranchisement- both political and economic?
    Where would Barbados be without the pivotal role played by the trade union movement?

The local virus of greed and corruption decimating the moral body of the local political class seems to have spread to you, Walter.

You will never be seen as the d’Artagnan of BU.

Oh how the greed of politics and the thirst for power can easily destroy the soul of a man of now questionable intellect and brittle morality!

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Walter…you need to clean up your act, ya cannot be speaking out of both sides of ya mouth, should you ever hold a ministerial portfolio, it’s the same aggrieved union workers will be paying your salary through their hardearned taxes, whether you are of the “political class” of asses or not…,…

……you see now how very stupid that phrase sounds, when the ministers have to rely on taxpayer’s money to pay their salaries and take care of their families and keep those pretentious titles and positions….it’s all coming from the union workers and thousands of taxpayers, but why am I even telling you this….you should know, ya lived in the US.

Don’t become like deceitful Alvin, enjoying all the basic human rights available to citizens in North America, but don’t want to see bajans or people in the Caribbean, his people, enjoying those same human rights.

24. Walter

These people haven’t the sightest notion of what constitutes the pros and cons of an argument. As you have heard Mr. Caswell Franklyn imploring you to stick to what you know with his egotistical and condescending tone, as though you’re not at liberty to express an opinion wthether rightfully conceived or wrongfully interpreted.

25. David November 29, 2016 at 6:05 AM #
    It is highly likely that the current industrial action and its attendant politics, being pursued on behalf of Mr. McDowell by the unions and the opposition, do not have the support of the majority of Barbadian workers and their families. Consequently, one is now heavily inclined to side with the political class and castigate the unions for attempting to damage the fragile economy of Barbados at a critical time because of narrow, political, singular and individualistic motives.
    “@Walter
    How is what you have described different if compared to how we elect political parties to government? Is it likely that the current policies of government and the attendant politics being pursued on the behalf of the people have the support of Barbadian workers and families? Plagiarized a bit from your submission to return the point you made”

Governmental policies and the attendant politics might not have the support of Barbadian workers and their families at all points in time. However, we use a critical snapshot date (election time) to determine which party has the majority of electoral support. Despite any perceived dip, that support is presumed to last 5 years, generally.
    With respect to popular attitudes towards the unions and their efficacy, support and criticism can ebb and flow regularly based on the issues in play. However, in this case, there is no snapshot date to determine anything, and every individualโ€™s viewpoint is as valid as any other manโ€™s.

26. Caswell Franklyn November 29, 2016 at 7:29 AM #
    โ€œWalter
    the Employment Rights Tribunal have no jurisdiction to deal with matters in the Public Service. Your DLP slip is showing.โ€
    jeff Cumberbatch November 29, 2016 at 11:37 AM #
    โ€œWalter the ERT is merely a creature of statute and therefore has no jurisdiction in this matter unless it is granted ed in the constitutive Employment Rights Act. It is not!โ€

Caswell & Jeff,
    Thanks very much for the enlightenment.

Given the complex and technical nature of some of the subject matter, I thought it would have been a good idea to raise some of the questions that would be instinctively going through the mind of the man on the street, and the retrenched NCC worker. Public education can accommodate many different approaches.

The point I wanted to make is that the manner in which the case of the NCC workers was handled reflected conflict emergence, negotiation, arbitration, conflict resolution, and acceptance of the decision handed down. It took some time before the final decision was handed down, so the NCC workers had to exhibit patience and self-restraint.

The man in the street can legitimately ask: “Isnโ€™t there a similar process that can be applied to deal with matters in the Public Service? If there is, why hasnโ€™t it been embraced and followed?”

I apologize in advance if this process was laid out and I missed it.

27. Its what my grandmother used to say and not the class 7 primary school education that enable the watchman to spot Walter Blackman motives from the start , his actions is an embarrassment to his much talk about qualifications

28. are-we-there-yet November 29, 2016 at 10:30 AM #
    โ€œOn the face of it the arguments seem to be eminently logicalโ€ฆ..
    โ€ฆa thinly veined attempt by Walter to promote the interests of his partisan political classโ€ฆ..
    Walter is certainly not a member of any of the classes above, so to take the ultimate position he took in his article, suggests that he has clearly demonstrated that there is some strategic mischief intended in the article.โ€

are-we-there-yet,
    It is amazing how you have tried to suffocate eminently logical arguments with irrational pronouncements.

29. Well if the Union wants to flex muscle there must be a principle attached and all the agruments bodes well in favour of govt stance/ point being that Annaki being a public servant is subjected to all the same rules and actions applied to all civil servants.
    Annaki being a head of the Union does not void or remove or give him any special or preferential treatment.
    Annaki was placed in a temporary role which negates necessary qualifications the govt action to remove him is not in violation of rules or standards that depletes him of International labour laws and the UNION Knows that much/ so much so that they have not pursue a path of Annaki being unfaired or wronfully removed but have pursued a path of victimisation shown through a political lense

30. Walter Blackman is generally right.

As readers would know we have no brief for him. But the general trajectory of his thinking on this issue is CORRECT. And if people have a modicum of honesty or really care about Barbados they should bow to Blackman’s thinking.

This DLP government maybe wrong about a lot of things, but even a clock that has stopped is right twice daily. Maybe it is that time!

We have to give Blackman some credit for not taking the overt positions of the party loyalists, the yard-fowls.

This nonsense about derailing a country on behalf of one individual has a long history in this country, is vicious, anti-developmental, and must stop.

What about all the other workers, maybe in their tens of thousands, whose rights, over decades have been similarly ‘infringed’? Is the country to be shut down all times as well?

And beyond the employer-employee setting, what about rights in the court system that are variously abridged. Are these not workers too, not citizens?

Unions cannot continue to believe that a single of their blue-eyed boys is to always have an exclusive access to the maximum reaction a union has.

Blackman was right that we should have reached the stage where unions should care no more about their members than they should about other citizens.

In fact, it was the Great John Cumberbatch, who suggested there should be a ‘union of the UNemployed’.

Instead of weakening trade unionism by surrendering their power to social formations they should have been, 30 years ago, doing what Blackman and Cumberbatch, much earlier, have suggested.

31. The unions have no choice but to fight this issue to the bitter end or else forever consign themselves to the backwaters of history.

32. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Pachamama;

Walter Blackman is not generally right.

Walter Blackman’s introductory remarks and the setting up of his initial arguments might be right but the essential conclusions are far off base.

You say “Blackman was right that we should have reached the stage where unions should care no more about their members than they should about other citizens.”.

That is arrant nonsense as it suggests that, at that nebulous stage, the Unions can discern no difference between the needs of the general population that are amenable to Union action and the needs of the Union members who pay their dues and therefore enable and justify their raison d’etre. Surely at that point there would be no need for Unions.

Unions have to care about their membership first and foremost. It is the politicians who must care about the rest of us. They are the ones mainly responsible for the hurting of many for their own ultimate benefits. They have the capacity to end this matter forthwith.

…. and therein lies the crux of this matter. The Government, by its actions re. the relegation of MacDowall, must have known that they were setting up a situation that inexorably called for a counter action by the NUPW and they must also have known what were the likely parameters of such reactions. They chose the time for taking their initial action. They should have known that the Union’s likely reaction would impinge on the dissatisfied workers, the beneficial users of the ports of entry and the extent of commerce at the height of the 50th anniversary celebrations. They must have known all this and yet they went ahead to set up the taking down of a Union President and doubled down in that matter when the Union telegraphed that they could not take the matter lying down.

The Government has to take all the blame for the current situation, not the Union.

But of course the Government cannot be seen as losing face or backing down so all hands are called to be on deck to assist in disproportionately allocating blame away from Government. That is why we see such normally sensible and reasonable people as Minister Inniss, and now Walter Blackman, taking stances that cannot stand even handed scrutiny.

33. are-we-there-yet Avatar

…. and Pachamama;

You are correct in a number of the positions you posit and there is a need for the Unions to significantly adjust their strategies to suit the needs of the 21st Century but I think that they cannot back down from defending the job of their president from spurious action by an employer. To do so would only hasten the arrival of the time when they become totally irrelevant.

34. Are we there…. what proof t u have that govt has used spurious actions against Annaki. All the Union fighting is driven out of speculation. It is not unusal or any form of irregularties within the legal frame work of govt policy to regulate job positions
    Annaki is a public servant bind by a legal framework which gives the govt a right of determination in job placement and requirement which the Union conviently forgets

35. LOL @ Pacha
    Boss you have aligned with the wrong side of this issue.
    Your fundamental philosophical error is in following Walter’s political line of referencing NUMBERS affected ….rather than the PRINCIPLE involved.

The most basic of offensive strategies is to ‘kill off’ the leadership of the enemy.
    If the union allows the government to succeed in targeting its leadership, then they may as well pack up and all go home…
    No one with ANY sense will seek leadership, and then issues relating to the ‘many’ would not even get raised – far less discussed.

This is battle theory 101.

…and what the unions should REALLY have done …was to have pushed for worker’s time on the job to be ENTITLED to annual share ownership which could NOT be exchanged for cash. (else the short-sighted brass bowls would sell THAT out for a bowl of soup or a few pieces of silver)

After 50 years of labour, union members should be shareholders and directors of the major businesses in Barbados, a RIGHT earned by their labour.

36. Someone has whispered in Pachamama’s ear.

37. charles skeete November 29, 2016 at 11:28 AM #
    โ€ฆ.โ€I refer you to Mr Jeff Cumberbatchโ€™s more sobering and thoughtful l analysis and i quote The real issue has been however most clearly articulated by the General Secretary of the Barbados Workersโ€™ Union, Ms Toni Moore, who stated yesterday that she had sought the reason for the decision to revert Mr McDowell and โ€œto ascertain if there had been a breach of the ILOโ€™s Convention which protects union leadersโ€. This identifies precisely the bone of contention between the parties that seems to be lost on most commentators on the issue.โ€

charles skeete,
    I read Jeff Cumberbatchโ€™s article. To date, neither political victimization nor anti-union practices against Akanni McDowell have been established.
    In order to ascertain whether or not there hasโ€ been a breach of the ILOโ€™s Convention which protects union leadersโ€, the unions must carry out their investigations. The investigative process ought to include a dialogue with the PAD. Has this process been activated yet? Why not?

I deem it prudent to make a disclaimer at this point. I have not seen any evidence in the public domain to suggest that Akanniโ€™s father, John Broome violated any civil service trust or regulation. Mr. Broome, therefore, should be viewed by all readers as being innocent, until proven guilty.
    That being said, Mr. Caswell Franklyn has suggested that fraudulent and deceitful moves were employed to secure an unwarranted and unearned appointment of Akanni McDonald to the Civil Service:

Caswell Franklyn June 8, 2016 at 12:01 PM #
    โ€œOver six years ago, when I was working at NUPW, I instructed a lawyer in a case against the Government where Akanniโ€™s appointment was at issue.
    Akanniโ€™s father, John Broome, is a senior officer at Personnel Administration Division. His job included forwarding the list of persons, who are to be appointed, to the Public Service Commission. The Ministry of Health sent a list of names of persons to be appointed to the post of Environmental Health Assistant. That list did not contain Akanniโ€™s name but when the list got into his fatherโ€™s hands for forwarding to the Commission, Akanniโ€™s name somehow appeared on the list and the rightful personโ€™s name was deleted. The wrong man got appointed instead through fraud.
    The young lady who was disadvantaged referred the matter to the Union, and we in turn carried the case to court. The file at Personnel Administration Division went missing and when they went to the Ministry of Health to get copies from their file, that too went missing. CORRUPTION.โ€

This is Mr. Franklynโ€™s area of experience and expertise so we cannot dismiss his charges lightly. I readily give way to him.

Is it possible that the Ministry of Health is investigating Mr. Franklynโ€™s assertions and accusations with a sense of due diligence and seriousness? Information reaching me has indicated that the politicians had nothing to do with the cessation of Mr. McDowellโ€™s acting allowance. The action, according to my sources, was initiated internally by the civil service.
    At this stage, most Barbadians will not accept any attempt by the unions to try to destroy the economy of this country for a man that Caswell Franklyn has portrayed as a civil servant who fraudulently came in โ€œthrough the backdoorโ€.

Let the PAD and the unions resolve this matter.

38. Pachamama November 29, 2016 at 2:06 PM #
    โ€œWalter Blackman is generally right.
    As readers would know we have no brief for him. But the general trajectory of his thinking on this issue is CORRECT. And if people have a modicum of honesty or really care about Barbados they should bow to Blackmanโ€™s thinking.
    This DLP government maybe wrong about a lot of things, but even a clock that has stopped is right twice daily. Maybe it is that time!
    We have to give Blackman some credit for not taking the overt positions of the party loyalists, the yard-fowls.
    This nonsense about derailing a country on behalf of one individual has a long history in this country, is vicious, anti-developmental, and must stopโ€ฆโ€ฆ.โ€

Pachamamum,
    We hardly ever see eye-to-eye on any issue.
    You take your position and I take mine, and we let the chips fall where they may.

Your comments thus represent a potent and powerful example of two usually adversarial individuals willing to put their necks on the chopping block to defend the interests of Barbados, and what they consider to be fair and just. Mature debates will continue to make BU stronger.
    Your support on this issue is greatly appreciated.

39. Bush Tea November 29, 2016 at 3:38 PM #

Agree with this post……yuh does talk sense at times.

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Dems who made comments on this post know better but out of blind partisan loyalty, they continue to attempt to mislead with crass political nonsense.

I would be the first one to say that Akanni should not have been placed in the acting position but since he was temporarily given the job by the Governor-General, acting on the advice of the Public Service Commission, he was entitled to all the benefits, privileges, rights and protections that such an appointment bestow.

As far as I am aware, he was entitled to hold that position unmolested until November 30, 2016. The only ways that he could have been properly removed from that position prior to that date are if he had committed an offence and was tried and punished as a result, or if he had fraudulently misrepresented his qualifications. None of those two scenarios occurred, he was therefore entitled to remain in that position until Independence Day.

Instead, he was removed from that position and so far, the authorities have been unable to adequately explain the reason for their actions. They have not, so far as I know, relied on any rule of law or public service procedure that allowed them to act in the manner that they have done. I can only conclude that Akanni was victimised for speaking out for union members, particularly Sanitation workers.

His speaking out prevented the Government from issuing a contract to the owner(s) of those fifteen garbage trucks that were imported and waiting for the demise of the Sanitation Service Authority. It would appear that he angered some very powerful people who had to take him out.

When the authorities had every reason to remove Akanni because of the way he was initially appointed, they mounted a spirited in the court and conveniently misplaced two files dealing with the matter. He was a Dem then and they pulled out all stops to represent him.

Again I say that the DLP does not know how to function without the unions on their side.

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Walter

Your comment at 4:20 referred to one of mine dated June 8, 2016.

That comment is absolutely true but it does not help your case. That matter is in court and so far the Government has vigorously defended the action. You must remember, at that time Akanni was a loyal Dem and you know that politicians break the rules for their friends. Even appointing him to act did not accord with the rules but the political minions moved swiftly to move him when he started to oppose their bad behaviour.

I told Akanni to his face that I am only supporting him because I firmly believe that his removal was an attack on a trade union leader who was acting as such. Nothing so far points in any other direction. I am putting out the fire at my neighbour’s house before it spreads to mine.

Oh by the way Walter, the DLP has not forgiven you and they will not no matter how hard you try. They expect blind loyalty and at one stage, you raised your sights for a while. The Dems view you and Akanni as traitors, so stop wasting your time. They don’t want you mu friend.

42. This “numbers vs principle” argument is the same one being trotted about all over social media by government apologists. Walter is just attempting to paint it with an intellectual brush, which clearly needs soaking in turpentine. It would be interesting to know who was appointed to the post.

43. The most disappointing thing about Walter is the ease with which he has allowed himself to be neutralised.
    After publicly criticising the DLP’s CLICO and other positions, and recalling how he dealt with Sandie, the man actually joined the same gang (turned himself in without a lawyer) and is now being used to spout pro-DLP propaganda – just like was done to POWs in Vietnam…..

One fears that when his usefulness to the DEMs is exhausted, he will be discarded like the expended munitions that he essentially is…

What a pity…
    ..he could have been SUCH a great BUPper…… ๐Ÿ™‚

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You said,

The most disappointing thing about Walter is the ease with which he has allowed himself to be neutralised.

I think you misspelt the word, “neutered”. I suspect that is what happens when you have autocorrect. LOL!

45. @Walter

How can the NUPW and the PAD discuss the issue based on the finality of Gail Akins pronouncement on the matter?

Please explain what conclusion is a reasonable onlooker to draw based on the revocation of Akanni’s appointment before his contract end date?

46. Bushie

Well, that is our side, as determined by you.

It seems like 50 years or so that unions have been threatening or conducting mass industrial action in many similar circumstances.

When they had a chance, circa early 1990’s, to negotiate a grande bargain for workers it was more convenient to behave similarly.

David Giles and the Telephone company of the late 70s or early 80’s immediately comes to mind.

These are nothing more than dictatorial attempts to maintain the personal power of people near to the leadership. A form of usury of the ‘workers’ which is well-rooted but no less authoritarian.

As far as we are concerned the leadership should be the last people so defended. If we’re talking about a real workers’ union. They are the most powerful. The least powerful workers should be granted such power, if it to be granted to anyone at all. Not in a real union!

But this writer would not want a whole country to be shut down in these circumstances, regardless of grievance.

If the man at the centre of this dispute had any conscious he would demure from such action on his behalf.

This tells about the nature of these people who drive unions into these ‘nuclear’ confrontation, with the whole country. They are essentially dictatorial. One man is more important than the country, they say.

Is this not a conflict of interests, at least?

We also remember that workers, from all unions, could be hauled out in the early 1990’s by the Grande Ole Duke of York, to join with White capitalists, to bring down the Sandiford administration.

Now it must be the turn of FJS, and another DLP regime, as the opposition BLP supports their actions.

That is too much for us to endure. We will never join these forces as they weave a golden carpet to transport themselves to government. Not on this basis!

Not to mention the possible shenanigans between union elites and party bosses within the BLP that maybe at play. Certainly, these unions must be mature enough by now to avoid these dangerous, worthless, political entanglements.

Unions which have no interest in broader issues like a national unity government, for example. And the extent to which such a discourse could have been helpful for the whole country.

We have been here before. None of these actions have made the kinds of advancements of workers and their unions so why keep doing the same sorts of things for the next half of a century.

47. Caswell Franklyn

It really demonstrates your lack of intellectual maturity, when you resort to disparaging remarks to compensate for your tunnel vision focused regarding the ruling party. Boy you mention anything about the DLP that is positive and Caswell Franklyn behaves like a female in estrous.

48. @ Bush Tea

From day one , the watchman saw the need of protection for Walter and granted him the Walther PPK, he shoot out the little balls he had, and now as Caswell said, he is neutered

49. @ Caswell
    What is wrong with a person changing his or her position
    There is s a deeper philosophical argument here.
    I think that Pachamama has analyzed Walter’s
    position.
    Whether the BLP/ DLP or any group wants
    to jettison a person for thinking for themselves
    is irrelevant.
    I have heard Walter take progressive

positions as a talk show host that are now
    being understood.
    This discussion is not about how the BLP/DLP
    feels. This is about Barbados and the future
    of the workers.