Today’s Barbados Advocate Editorial addresses feedback from some Barbadians that they will not be participating in the 50th Independence celebrations – Barbados Underground

50One of the incidents of the democratic system of governance is that decisions touching on matters of state are rarely unanimous. So it is quite unsurprising that more than a few Barbadians, for various reasons, have publicly declared their intentions not to participate in the national celebrations planned for the fiftieth anniversary of our Independence that will be attained on November 30. To these naysayers or “rabat-joies” as the French would have it, we say that we respect your decision and concede that it is your democratic right not to participate. We shall treat you nevertheless as fellow citizens, but we implore that you do nothing to hinder the celebrations of those who find the attainment of this milestone to be just cause for celebration.

This sentiment is not new. In Shakespeare’s history, King Henry V, the king is faced with some of his men who are unwilling to fight at the Battle of Agincourt. The king does not have them shot as he might have done, but rather allows them to leave the scene. He suggests subtly however that these abstainers will be henceforth unable to experience the pride of victory felt by the participants in future-

Rather proclaim it, Westmoreland, through my host,

That he which hath no stomach to this fight,

Let him depart. His passport shall be made,

And crowns for convoy put into his purse.

We would not die in that man’s company

That fears his fellowship to die with us.

This day is called the feast of Crispian.

He that outlives this day and comes safe home,

Will stand o’ tiptoe when the day is named

And rouse him at the name of Crispian

Most of the reasons for abstention publicly aired so far appear to be founded in the current state of affairs in the country. Permit us too, dear reader, to express our disgruntlement at the fact that not every citizen enjoys a frequent supply of potable water or water for sanitation purposes in his or her home and we were as alarmed as others at the unhygienic state of the country a few weeks ago before officialdom made a concerted effort to remove the unsightly piles of garbage and other household waste.

We are of the view, nonetheless, that the celebration of a milestone is not conditional upon the achievement of utopia as many of us would have accepted in the celebration of our popular milestone personal anniversaries.

At the risk of being accused of taking in the washing of others for our subsistence, we are compelled to comment on a column in another section of the press that has been drawn to our attention. There, the writer, in sarcastic tones, asserts that she would “dance in the streets if there was a freeze on taxes, especially with annoying names…” We would too, (indeed who wouldn’t?), but here we are referring to a nation that has managed to provide taxpayer-funded education (to tertiary level and beyond) and public health services for most of the fifty years of its sovereignty and yet we quibble about the appropriateness of the names of these civic contributions.

The greatest bone of contention in the entire affair seems to be the cost of the celebration. Officially, it is reputed to be seven million dollars, a paltry sum for a celebration of this nature, which equates to a mere $28 or less per Barbadian citizen. Of course, the dissenters contest the veracity of this figure, but even a trifling gift of $100 (less than the entrance fee for some all-inclusive parties during Crop-Over), by each citizen to the nation that we are so proud at convenient times to call our own would raise the princely sum of $25 million…at least!

62 responses to “Cause for Celebration”

1. Perhaps the journalist never read 1 Corinthians 13 Verse 11. “When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.” (KJV) Barbados at 50 should not be reminiscent of Barbados in the 1960’s. I don think that this person fully understands the magnitude of the problems facing the island. It is not just water, it is not just garbage disposal, it is a culmination of 8 years where everything that one can possibly imagine has gone wrong.
    Is the writer suggesting that there should be no freedom of expression expecially on the when the nation as a whole can claim that they are independent. Freedom of expression is part of that package.
    If some wish to protest instead of celebrate they have a right to do just that.

2. If a couple is having a challenge in their relationship and a significant anniversary is to be celebrated should they ignore it and allow whatever the disappointment is to take centre attention?

3. @ David
    What is there to celebrate about TIME passing?

Bushie can understand the celebration of ACHIEVEMENT….. or of reaching developmental milestones, but what is this business of celebrating ‘birth dates’ per se?

This sound like something one would expect from those with slave-mentalities, …where their mere survival for another year is to be celebrated….

4. Well I for one WILL NOT BE CELEBRATING ANYTHING.

IT IS NOT FOR ME, NOR IS IT FOR MY BRETHREN AND SISTERS WHO ARE IN THE TRENCHES OF BARBADOS.

WE ARE FIGHTING EACH DAY TO LIVE while these charlatans suck the life out of this country but, in the classic mentality of Minister of Wuk Ups – Stephen Lil Caesar lashley – we jes want to wuk up and have a good time.

Define for me what this independence means?

Anyone tell me what it is supposed to signify and i will detail shame and suffering a veritable “suck well” where options for the poor man in this country are nil.

In fact options for the middle class are equally nil for they now have become part of the poor, our “working poor”. who on the 26 of each month, pray that nothing untoward comes to dislodge their salaries, for they will be then on the bread line as well.

8 Years at the hands of these Doufuses and waste foops, aided and abetted by 14 years of a team or equal paucity of vision and talent before them.

And, let us be absolutely honest as well, even with the total whitewash the DLP will recieve what will this new BLP tribe bring?

Steupseeee

5. The question is really: What is there to celebrate? We now have the QEH in such a state that it is begging philanthropists to help it with its programme, after we are being fleeced by the tax collector! The Minister says that they are not going cap-in-hand begging for donations, but what else is it? Our taxes were given to people like Clare Cowan of Cahill Energy, “Butch” Stewart, and the Del Mastro cousins who will be allowed to set up a solar plant here, thereby endangering the existence of indigenous businesses, and with the consequence that more people will be on the breadline next year! It is obvious that Sandals will bring in the majority of tourists, because they don’t have to pay any taxes, and won’t do so for years to come whereas other hotels are being taxed heavily.

6. One has to ponder the mentality of those who say that in a fifty year history of living in barbados they have nothing to celebrate either they are bold faced liars or just plain ungrateful antagonist.
    How about free education i will bet that those who are saying there is nothing to celebrate are enjoying a fruitful life from being sole benefactors from the advantage of having a free education
    At least for a moment and time one should reflect on such a necessary and important initiative putting all political differences aside and thanking God for all the many blessings that this little island and people have benefited in its fifty years of existence

7. What has Tanzania’s Magufuli done during his year in office? – BBC News
    1-dot
    bbc.co.uk · Social media president http://bbc.in/2fBp2GN · Yesterday

8. David

You can delete the previous one….it was on Magufuli as well showing you his cancellation of independence celebrations and how he proceeded to tackle garbage and corruption.

As we love to hail all things African,possibly our brothers and sisters will follow suit and cancel all wuk ups,stop the monstrocity at the Garrison(will it be the Pelican in flight resurrected?) and spend this month beautifying our island…..road works,garbage removal,fields back into production after removing cow itch,clean up public buildings,start the Empire,sort out QEH and the list goes on.

We have had 10 hours of rain so far has the BWA or the Ministry of environment put out anything to catch this water on its way to the sea?

9. We have had so much reason to celebrate in the last 8 hours -more showers than Storm Matthew. Must be flooding across Barbados.

#waitingondem
    #willshopsopen?

10. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Should the US not have celebrated its Bicentennial of Independence because there were homeless people on the streets of most cities?

Should England not have celebrated the 800th anniversary of the Magna Carta because of the existence of rampant rights abuses against black people in the 60s and after?

“For ye have the poor always with you…” -Matthew 26:11

11. Note BU’s Masthead was uploaded for months now. Let no one accuse BU of not being patriotic!

12. Jeff Cumberbatch November 5, 2016 at 8:22 AM #

Are you saying that our brother African leader Magufuli was wrong and that the europeans in America and the UK were correct?

13. @ AC

There is a word in the English language, you should look it up if you have time

It is regress.

Any Bajan who finds themselves participating in this mockery which your clowns have the gall to call progress and to seek via manipulation to fool Bajans to believe that the 8year vortex that your dead King started and which, thankfully, will come to and end with this Baboon King, deserves to be tossed into the Constitution river with Nelson s statue attached to their ankles

Wunna is the biggest set of waste fools this country has ever seen.

But, not to worry, the longest day, whether mine, yours or Fumbles, gots an end…

14. Why destroy local art work and in the same breath have a year long celebration of things Barbadiana?

For shame Mr Neblett of the NCC. Truly.
    I have just been told that Mr Neblett of NCC has ordered that Philip King’s coral stone installations at Batts Rock be knocked down??!!

Does Mr Neblett not realise that these iconic coral stone sculptures have become a landmark? Photographed by both locals and visitors?
    People travel to Batts Rock just to see them…

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85026/heather-lynns-habitat-balancing-act

15. @Jeff

The other side of the debate -which has merit- the DLP/government is milking the 50th anniversary celebration to accrue any benefit to build momentum with a general election on the horizon. There is the bad smell the partisan bent to how the celebration has been organized.

16. The king does not have them shot as he might have done, but rather allows them to leave the scene.
    At the risk of being labelled “whatever” I would like to point out the literary anachronism in the above extract, modern usage of “shot” is used for those harmed by the business end of a hand gun/shotgun etc., those weapons were not in existence in the period of the Battle of Agincourt. The author should issue some clarification but he/she could mean that they could have been “shot” by longbow.

17. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@Vincent, there is really no right or wrong in these matters, -“To each his own”.

It is a matter of perceived priorities. Mr Magufuli prioritized the eradication of garbage and corruption;Mugabe did not for his personal birthday milestone of 90, as did not the imperialists cited for their national milestones!

I take it that you are of the view that we should act as Mr Magufuli did and forget celebration?

Sed quaere:Should we ever celebrate anything until that perfect day is reached?

@ David, Agreed, And that is indeed unfortunate. Do you think that the situation would be any different were the shoe on the other foot? That, my friend is the nature of realpolitik!

18. Bushie is trying to decipher the point of Jeff’s intervention here.

Is his point that ‘what the white people do’ is the measure of common sense?
    Is it that he actually is willing to quote the bible even though he does not believe it?
    Or is he saying that the specific circumstances in Barbados does not warrant a unique barbadian response?

One celebrates the achievement of GOALS.
    It doen NOT take any kind of creativity, hard work, intelligence or wisdom to cause TIME TO PASS….

If we were celebrating the enfranchisement of Barbadians to the targeted point, where 90% of Bajans owned 90% of the island’s assets….

…or where or average student was rated in the top 25 of the world….

…or where our medical facilities and health statistics placed us in the top 50 countries of the world…

….or where our legal system actually performed a meaningful role…

…or some shiite like THAT….

WELL THEN….

But to be celebrating the fact that 50 years passed – while the statistical trends are all DOWN… and we where have AC in charge….

…and to be doing it at a cost of MILLIONS of dollars ….while potholes pock our main roads, and citizens use stand pipes, and garbage management is in shambles, and health care and education are regressing…..

Give Bushie a damn break….!!!

Then to add insult to injury, the jackasses are building a monument to Satan – complete with his pitchfork, …ON THE GARRISON SAVANNAH….

19. Jeff

I personally am not one for celebrations,statues/idols,worship or things of that ilk.

I agree with you….to each their own…..my caveat would be like Magufuli’s who decided that the celebration money could be better spent on doing things for the country as a whole as opposed to a feel good factor for a few.

20. @Jeff

Possibly not BUT with human beings involved HOWEVER it is all about the degree of separation. It is the tension life creates that informs our reality.

21. Some body should tell the blp opposition that they are showing their political vitriol by engaging in wasted political propaganda trying to be anarchist in their frenzy of disregard of the 5Oth.
    Their profound ignorance cast a dark shadow over those past leaders whose has played a signifcant role in the development of barbados progress. Such actions also displays a selfishness to an uncouth arrogance that spits in the face of patriotism
    The country development towards progress did not start six. seven or fourteen years ago and therfore it is within a fifty year time span that most patriotic bajans would reflect and celebrate on all leaders for their stellar performace in the progress of barbados

22. @ Jeff

You are clearly coming across as political.

Not that we would like to interfere with your rights so to

But we were always minded that your intelligence would better avail you of wider factors within the social environment

Barbados is certainly in a dire state of affairs. It has been clear that the political class lacks adequate responses.

In light of chronic societal dysfunction there is a clear attempt to employ the propaganda value about notions of independence as a panacea, though futile and short-term.

Maybe you have determined that this Government, which you are a part of, requires ‘all hands on deck’ in this national project. That this is a safe way to serve two masters.

But to further align yourself with the regime cannot achieve these divergent interests.

You can’t, on one hand, show support to the regime, and be seen to be so doing, as would be required.

And on the next hand, survive the scrutiny of the critics who rightly see this as a bald faced attempt to ignore all the failures of this DLP.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 5, 2016 at 6:19 AM
    “One has to ponder the mentality of those who say that in a fifty year history of living in barbados they have nothing to celebrate either they are bold faced liars or just plain ungrateful antagonist.”
    How about free education i will bet that those who are saying there is nothing to celebrate are enjoying a fruitful life from being sole benefactors from the advantage of having a free education
    At least for a moment and time one should reflect on such a necessary and important initiative putting all political differences aside and thanking God for all the many blessings that this little island and people have benefited in its fifty years of existence.”

What do you mean by “…in its fifty years of existence”? Barbados has been a self-administered country not dependent on any ‘grant-in-aid’ fiscal financing since 1652 or thereabouts.

Much of “this little island’s” social and economic infrastructure was conceived and built before 1966.
    Just think of the ports, the QEH and the many so-called great schools like HC, Cawmere and Foundation that produced your so-called great leaders.

From time immemorial Barbados aka Little England has always been punching above its social and economic development weight and from very early since the 1950’s was considered the No. 1 so-called developing country and at one time registering just behind Israel on the UN Human development Index.

You behave as if Barbados had to ‘fight’ for its “Independence” from Britain.
    Stop fooling the young people with a pack of lies. Did Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago or Guyana also ‘had to fight’ Britain for their own Independence?

EWB was just the courier sent by the Governor Sir John Stow to collect the official documents from Whitehall and which had been ‘approved and left on the table ready for collection’ since the so-called break-up of the W I Federation.

Just check your history and see how many ‘British’ Commonwealth states were given Independence in the 1960’s as part of the Labour government’s policy of shedding numbers in Whitehall. The days of providing cushy and costly overseas government jobs for the toffs were coming to an end.

In the heat of your celebration, it would be most interesting if you ac -along with the other AC the accredited clown Alvin and your despicably lying party -who find it nauseatingly convenient to blame all of the current problems on OSA’s 14 years of misrule, corruption and squandermania, would now be prepared to forgive and forget those 14 years of abject hardship, socio-economic regression and dictatorship.

Are you prepared to celebrate also those XIV anni horribili?

24. Agree or not there must be some sympathy for these people.

BARBADOS INVESTORS & POLICYHOLDERS ALLIANCE

STATEMENT

4TH NOVEMBER 2016

It is with little sense of joy that thousands of CLICO and British American policyholders are looking forward to this month of celebrating Barbados’ 50th Anniversary of Independence. For them, it will be the 7th consecutive year of Independence, and the 7th Christmas and New Year they have faced with endless unfulfilled promises of the return of their savings and investments.

Despite there being a plan in place for British American policies to be transferred to Sagicor, final approval and execution awaits the outcome of a court case being brought by an individual corporate policyholder, whose class of policy in BAICO is to be discarded with no value, unlike similar corporate policies in CLICO which will receive shares in the new company.

For individual CLICO policyholders, there was a flicker of hope on September 13th 2016, when the Minister of Finance announced, himself seeming frustrated at the delay in the execution of last year’s Court Order approving the CLICO reconstruction plan, "I can assure you in a couple of weeks I will be issuing a statement indicating the timeline we have now determined and with it, the resumption of payment of the various awards and premiums that are due to policyholders."

The Minister added that he was "going to see to it that the transition is completed before the year is out."

Despite his assurance of an announcement "in a couple of weeks time", seven weeks have passed, and it adds insult to injury that policyholders are now expected to try and enjoy the 50th Anniversary celebrations against a background of the anguish, stress and uncertainty this debacle has created for them and their families over the last seven years.

Within this last year alone, four policyholding members of BIPA have died not knowing if their dependents will be taken care of in the manner they had so carefully planned.

Whilst we commend the work being done by the two companies set up to take over the assets and insurance business of CLICO, we ask the Minister of Finance to take, with the utmost urgency, whatever action is necessary to enable him to make, at the earliest possible time, the announcement he seems as keen to make, as are the thousands of policyholders desperate to hear.

Image may contain: text

25. David

The above statement from BIPA,vividly brings home the fact that promisses are not kept…….has Paradise been sold yet as promissed months ago,has VAT been reduced,etc,etc

26. @Vincent

The cause for celebration debate is necessary to gain perspective but is academic. People will not feel pride in a vacuum. Pride comes from a feeling of having achieved. When some Barbadians see their investments wiped out because of inept supervision by the insurance regulator and by extension government or unable to receive potable water to their taps where does the national pride spring from in these cases?

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch November 5, 2016 at 8:22 AM
    “Should the US not have celebrated its Bicentennial of Independence because there were homeless people on the streets of most cities?
    Should England not have celebrated the 800th anniversary of the Magna Carta because of the existence of rampant rights abuses against black people in the 60s and after?”

What about the many on remand at Dodds for years awaiting justice? Should they also be celebrating 50 years in which a government has consistently been breaching their Constitutionally guaranteed right to justice by way of a timely and fair trial or do you think the following Constitutional-provision is so amorphously used that in its legal context it has no relevance to these so-called social undesirables and perceived threats to the society?

“If any person is charged with a criminal offence, then, unless the charge is withdrawn, the case shall be afforded a fair hearing within a reasonable time by an independent and impartial court established by law.”

Now Jeff, if that Constitutionally-enshrined right is awarded to that segment of society then you (along with many of your past tutees many of whom are, in bacchanal style, engaging in the celebration) would have right to make reference to the Magna Carta and the provisions contained in the Charter of ‘American’ Independence.

28. This not about an individual group or organization selfish celebration but a collection of all those efforts that have succeeded in the building of this tiny island from the street hawker the village shopkeeper, the sanitation collector, those who toiled in the cane fields ,the doctor, the nurse , the school teacher, the farmer..the professional and those who sat as willing soldiers as parliamentarians on a political battlefield setting a path and sowing the seeds of success for others to follow all of the above mentioned have played a vibrant role in barbados successs which indeed are many and therefore there recognition should be rightfully recorded with fanfare and jubilant celebration once in a lifetime

29. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

“Maybe you have determined that this Government, which you are a part of, requires ‘all hands on deck’ in this national project. That this is a safe way to serve two masters.

But to further align yourself with the regime cannot achieve these divergent interests.

You can’t, on one hand, show support to the regime, and be seen to be so doing, as would be required.

And on the next hand, survive the scrutiny of the critics who rightly see this as a bald faced attempt to ignore all the failures of this DLP”.

@Pachamama,

A learned judge determined that “Government” in a libel suit in Guyana some years ago that Government meant the Cabinet. I am not clear which rule of construction you use to categorize me as “part of the Government”, but, if so, I might be the one of the few members of the previous administration who did not lose a place in Government since, apart from one notable body, I serve the nation on the same ones i did during the pre-2008 period.

I claim no immunity from the scrutiny of critics, even the faceless and pseudonymous ones as yourself who see every minor difference of opinion as a partisan political battle. That is why I write under my own name.

I have no masters…or mistresses!

30. David

You are quite right and as Miller has pointed out Bim has been doing its own thing since 1652…….we have had our ups and downs over the centuries,presently this is one of our downs……to my mind we can still commemorate our 50th in a dramatic fashion by doing a Magulufi…….lets together hold hands and clean up the place,lets keep the promisses,in other words let us do something constructive for the good of the people of this once fair land.

31. We should factor as well the 40% and growing number of Barbadians who do not participate in the electoral process. They have become so indifferent and disconnected that they could care less about civic responsibility. We must thread all these issues together. Celebrate if we want but let us not the growing signs show there are serious issues to deal.

32. @Vincent

What many in this forum fail to grasp -deliberately so or not- is that to trigger change there must be a disruption to force a different thinking to inform a change of course. Going with the flow takes you where you have no control where you end up. How can you nail the vision if you allow yourself to go with the flow.

33. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

“If any person is charged with a criminal offence, then, unless the charge is withdrawn, the case shall be afforded a fair hearing within a reasonable time by an independent and impartial court established by law.

Now Jeff, if that Constitutionally-enshrined right is awarded to that segment of society then you (along with many of your past tutees many of whom are, in bacchanal style, engaging in the celebration) would have right to make reference to the Magna Carta and the provisions contained in the Charter of ‘American’ Independence.”

@ Miller, The right does indeed exist and if you read further to section 24, I believe, you will see that provision has been made for its enforcement against the State.”

Unfortunately, under our system, rights are not “awarded” as you suggest, they are rather guaranteed for the individual to exploit if he or she believe they have been, are being, or are likely to be, infringed.

34. David

Both parties when in govt. have walked the tight rope of keeping the unions happy…….I see the unions as the catalyst for change.

They must come up with a vision derived from their membership and attempt to convince whichever party forms the govt to accept the vision of the people failing which the disruption that you speak off should come about…..no other entity exists in Bim to effect the change required.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch November 5, 2016 at 11:13 AM
    “Unfortunately, under our system, rights are not “awarded” as you suggest, they are rather guaranteed for the individual to exploit if he or she believe they have been, are being, or are likely to be, infringed.”

So why not show your national colours and with fervent patriotism and love for your fellow man through pro bono service write a column highlighting this glaring paradox of Dionysian celebration on the one hand and blatant abuse of accused people’s rights by the same State on the other?

Why aren’t you in true Christian spirit helping those who are not in a position to help themselves like Leroy Greenverbs?

Should we rephrase that conflicting Christian view of Dives and argue: “The criminals will always be with us, so who cares?”

But you, Jeff, might justified in the position you take. After all, in the same book from which you quote about the poor being perennial as the grass or the air you breathe here is what your Teacher of higher morals had to say about you lot:

Jesus replied, “And you experts in the law, woe to you, because you load people down with burdens they can hardly carry, and you yourselves will not lift one finger to help them.”

36. @ Miller..
    Jesus replied, “And you experts in the law, woe to you, because you load people down with burdens they can hardly carry, and you yourselves will not lift one finger to help them.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Cuhdear Miller …. Yuh going kill ‘e?

37. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

But a Pharisee in the council named Gamaliel, a teacher of the law held in honor by all the people, stood up and gave orders to put the men outside for a little while.

@Miller, Sorry, I see myself as a Gamaliel rather!

38. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

“You shall do no injustice in court. You shall not be partial to the poor or defer to the great, but in righteousness shall you judge your neighbor.

@Bushie, there were no favourites, it seems.

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Jeff Cumberbatch November 5, 2016 at 11:00 AM re “.. I might be the one of the few members of the previous administration who did not lose a place in Government since, apart from one notable body, I serve the nation on the same ones i did during the pre-2008 period […] I have no masters…or mistresses!”

You sir are a truly unique person. I say that with all respect as I have always admired your forthright stance here and in your columns over the years.

But you are true’unicorn’ in that there are not many like yourself who straddle political administrations at the highest levels and withstand the buffeting partisan high winds.

We would be in a much better place if more professionals could boldly make the clams you did above but alas from the prestige of the High Courts to the more mundane statutory corp board rooms politicization is all too rampant.

Kudos to you to stand above the fray!

40. @Piece, and Bushie,
    If for no other reason, the ability of every man woman and child to go to secondary school, at least, without having to pay school fees, and buy books, for fifty years is reason for celebration. Of course, being able to access health care;of extremely high quality; primary secondary and tertiary,without having to pay for it is of no importance to you. And being able to travel freely on, even pot holed roads, on buses, having the freedom to chastise and vilify government without fear, and being able to leave the island and return, is of no importance, and should not give rise to celebration, and of course the fact that we have had no insurrections, and that after fifty years of Independence people can still be able to afford all manner of vehicles, and travel overseas “to shop”, is to be considered a matter of course. Give thanks for even these small mercies. Lots of people today, don’t have half of these things.

41. Miller;
    Fortunately I am old enough to have lived before and after 1966. I am fortunate to have worked in Government before and after 1966, and I know and am prepared to always speak the truth. You say:
    “…in its fifty years of existence”? Barbados has been a self-administered country not dependent on any ‘grant-in-aid’ fiscal financing since 1652 or thereabouts.”
    Your assertion that it was a “self-administered country not dependent on any grant-in-aid fiscal financing since 1652 or thereabouts, gives the wrong impression of the truth. Barbados may have been-self administered; except that the Governor, obeyed the dictates of the Colonial Office.Civil servants had to wait until an officer came down from England to determine how much increase in salaries, if any, Civil Servants could get. The country could not make Independent decisions. For instance, all purchases for the running of government had to be approved by the Colonial Secretary and had to be purchased through the Crown Agents. There was no ministerial government until After Independence. People were kept in such poverty stricken conditions that in 1937 there was a Riot, resulting in the Colonial Office instituting a Commission of Inquiry. Up to 1966 peopled lived on starvation wages. Almost every house had pit toilets and no running water. Each village had a Public Bath where individuals had to go to bathe in running water. What foolishness you are trying to perpetrate. Tell the young people the truth, don’t give them an exalted picture of a time when everything was sugar and roses.Tell them that people starved. Tell them that marasmus was rampant. Tell them that people suffered from Calcium deficiency because they could not obtain butter, milk, or cheese.Tell them the truth about the Independence Debates, and why the Barbados labour Party sent a delegation TO LONDON TO ENCOURAGE THE BRITISH GOVERNMENT NOT TO PASS THE INDEPENDENCE ORDER.
    TELL THEM WHO WERE THE MEMBERS OF THE BLP DELEGATION. Tell Them!!Tell Them!!
    And tell them about the same American Constitution, whose framers; even after they wrote it, and in which the first sentence makes the assertion that “All men are created equal,” were, at the same time; these framers of this same Declaration of Independence, Slave owners.Tell them about the Doctrine of Manifest Destiny, and whose doctrine resonates, even today, within the same country where within a couple of days a new era will descend upon it.
    Look, don’t get me started.
    We have a good country, and your political machinations to get back in power only serve to feed on discontent among the ignorant (not knowing) the disenchanted, the dissatisfied with their condition, and mischief makers.Be happy and thankful with what you have. It is good.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins November 5, 2016 at 5:34 PM

So who do you think is paying for all of this so-called freeness which Bajans ought to celebrate? Do you think the DLP or BLP politicians pull their pockets to finance these goodies enjoyed primarily by the middle-class to which they are logically entitled?
    Where do you think the billions of taxes collected from income Tax, VAT and ‘property’ taxes go other than to provide services to (in your estimation) freeloaders?

Lots of people around the world still do not have access to potable water, to primary far less secondary education or even to basic health care. Bajans have been enjoying these services since the early to mid 20th Century.

Come on Alvin get a grip on reality! Barbados is no better off than most Western European countries (including the UK) which have committed themselves to a cradle to grave social welfare state. Barbados is still miles behind that ideal.

Have you never asked yourself how come Barbados is so great and Bajans are so well educated and socially outstanding yet their so-called economic and fields and cultural hills are owned and controlled by poorly educated foreigners especially Trinidadians and Jamaicans?

Now go and nitpick and find fault with my poor use of ‘English’ instead of the gravamen of the submission!

43. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Allow me to bring the discussion down to my level.
    “Of course, the dissenters contest the veracity of this figure, but even a trifling gift of $100 (less than the entrance fee for some all-inclusive parties during Crop-Over), by each citizen to the nation that we are so proud at convenient times to call our own would raise the princely sum of $25 million…at least!”

This is tantamount to collecting a fee from every existing Barbadian those who are at this moment exiting the womb and those who are in a casket.

More seriously, we should be more careful in our use of statistics and use them to display truths rather than as a plaster for ‘lies’. And that ‘trifling’ gift of $100.00 has made grown men steal food costing less than $10.00; but the again ‘let them eat cake’.

44. Bushy,
    Why don’t you counsel Miller, that the “experts in the law”, to whom Jesus was referring, were the Sadducees; the keepers of the law; the Torah, whose policies over-burdened the followers, from whom they demanded strict adherence to the laws that put money in the pockets of these same Sadducees. These were the ones who kept the money changers in business by demanding that worshipers had to purchase the temple offerings with Temple coins, which made them rich. That is why Jesus was forced to denounce them often, and in the way he did. Can’t put Jeff anywhere near them. Even if; as you require, he does not perform pro bono. Why should he?Does Miller function pro bono? If not, why not?

45. I do not set much score on the report that many Barbadians will stay away from the Independence Celebrations. I was around in 1966 when the two political parties fought tooth and nail over the question of independence for Barbados. I recall the extra long debate in parliament, where one opposing MP, or MCP ,as they were then known, spoke for 6 hours, 2 hours longer than Mr Barrow. On the evening that Mr Barrow returned from England with the independence permit in his pocket, not only was he met at Seawell Airport by thousands of DLP supporters, but in the by -ways , cart roads and nearby woods were also thousands of concealed BLP supporters. The tens of thousands who attended the Independence Ceremony at the Garrison on November 30,1966 were not just DLP supporters.
    And on the 30 November 2016, a similar situation will exist. Bajans love a bram, no matter how hard you might have kicked them up the arse previously. And who knew this better than the Barbados planter class, who at the end of the crop, at what some today like to refer to as Crop Over,used to present their workers with a roast pig head and a glass of Mauby, and they felt that they were in hog heaven, forgetting all the 3 shilling ,or less per week that the Plantation owners will pay them,and their 4/5 year old children , if they are lucky, for their out -of -crop, or Hard Time , labour.
    One plantation owner, even had the workers, and their families celebrating the King’s birth day, the 24 May, a bank holiday of course, with the police band in attendance under Captain Raison, and at the end of it all they walked away smiling to their hearts content, to the tune of Colonel Bogey , in the same fashion that they used to leave the Mobile Cinema after watching Bud and Lou.
    As a people we have not been allowed to move far from the modern plantation yard gaps. The new owners are not white , and are called Ministers rather than Managers, or Massa,and yield bigger whips and sticks than any barefoot Militiaman from College Savannah.

46. Did you know that each member of the Barbados Workers Union was asked in November 1966, to contribute $5.00 towards a Banquet and Ball for the elite , held at the Hilton Hotel ?

47. Miller,
    You are talking Bull!!! “…billions of taxes collected from income Tax, VAT and ‘property’ taxes go other than to provide services to (in your estimation) freeloaders?
    Billions in taxes??? I won’t even be parliamentary and say you are a stranger to the truth. I will just say you are a liar and a hypocrite. What is the size of the annual estimate of Revenue? BILLIONS, in taxes?? I think not.
    And as you said, it (Whatever it is)goes to the very social programmes that enabled the people; whom I never referred to as freeloaders, (including you, who have also profited) to lift themselves up from their shoe straps. It was the same Errol Barrow that you vilify that enabled them to use their own money to do that, and have social services and safety nets superior to other bigger and better off nations. And it is this effort that people like you would like to derail, because you cannot stand the thought of people not having to beg. That is why we will remain Independent, why we will not approach the IMF, and will not devalue our currency, which you so want to happen. We will borrow from ourselves (print money) to finance our development; remaining “friends of all and satellites of none.” Who wants to deal with us on equal terms we will deal with, those who do not, we will not, and tell them to go to hell.
    You ask :…”yet their so-called economic and fields and cultural hills are owned and controlled by poorly educated foreigners especially Trinidadians and Jamaicans…”
    The answer is because you and your ilk; like Fields of BS&T, and your party, when it was in power, sold these fields and hills ” for the highest economic value…” remember those words and who spoke them? Remember who sold our only National Bank; a bank that was built by the labourers’ working in the fields, with their hard owned dollars and shillings, when it was the only bank available to them? I know the history of Barbados. I have lived it, and continue to live it, so you can’t tell me nothing I don’t know about. I have to nit-pick, because you folk are so petty that that is all that can be picked; nits. Come right or I will be on like you like nibbles on a setting hen.

You admit: “Lots of people around the world still do not have access to potable water, to primary far less secondary education or even to basic health care. …” WE DO!!
    “Bajans have been enjoying these services since the early to mid 20th Century.” ESPECIALLY AFTER 1966.
    Many of these countries are older than fifty years.THAT IS WHY WE SHOULD BE CELEBRATING. FOR THIS FACTOR ALONE.

48. BIPA executives are all spineless whimps who have betrayed members

49. I arrived in Bim in 1964 and was faced with an apartheid society,not so much based on melanin content but on whether your origins were from the field or the house/yard and to this day it still bedevils this country……..just look at some of the writings of the contributors on BU……it is a load on the shoulders of many and maybe responsible for the creation of BTs BBs