UWI,Cave HillAgainst the background of numerous political, economic, and social issues grabbing national headlines and our concerned attention, this past weekend was very heartening. As a proud graduate of the University of the West Indies (UWI), I became washed with positive emotion while taking in the two graduation ceremonies. The graduating students were splendidly dressed not only in terms of their apparel, but more poignantly they wore consummate smiles reflecting anticipation, happiness, satisfaction, elation, relief, and that wonderful joy of overcoming.

My sincerest congratulations to the graduating classes of 2016, and to the academic and administrative staff of the UWI for reminding all and sundry that we are collectively โ€˜a light rising from the westโ€™. Worthy acknowledgement is also extended to the several sponsors of students, their projects, and the accompanying events inclusive of the graduation ceremony. Without their cooperative inputs, Saturday could possibly have been somewhat dulling. Fantastic presentation, job well done!

Arguably, the collection of oneโ€™s certificate will tend to remain with the individual for a lifetime. However, I am convinced that the most conscious and awe-inspiring moment at the graduation ceremony came when the Chancellor of the University of the West Indies, Sir George Alleyne, requested the graduates to turn to their loved ones โ€“ parents, guardians, spouses, and friends โ€“ and give them the biggest applause they have ever given to anyone. Profoundly remarkable!

It is precisely this grand act of appreciation for the loved ones and supporters, many themselves may not have graduated from university but were willing to sacrifice their time, financial and other resources, in order to make possible a positive difference in the lives of whom they supported did not go unnoticed. The mere exposure to higher education, inconsequential of class of degree, would bring a tremendous sense of achievement to the graduates.

The graduates will go back into their communities, the workplace (some for the first time), and the society with a โ€˜newnessโ€™ for which all advanced and developing countries strive. Their โ€˜enlightenedโ€™ impact will be very telling for generations to come. Indeed, the recognition of this synthesis presents quite an opportune time for us in the broader society to contemplate: โ€œWhat kind of education do we need in Barbados and the Caribbean?โ€ Attempting to respond to this simple question elicits very complex answers which fittingly encourage us to consider a different question: โ€œWhat kind of society do we want?โ€

According to three academics, higher education exists โ€œto create and disseminate knowledge, and to develop higher order cognitive and communicative skills in [mostly] young people, such as, the ability to think logically, the motivation to challenge the status quo, and the capacity to develop sophisticated values,โ€ and more recently, as โ€œa training ground for advanced vocational and professional skillsโ€. Surely, these composite benchmarks are instrumental for building the type of society we imagine, and achieving the platitudes of investment contributions which are necessary for national development.

Furthermore, another group realising the challenges in the contemporary world assert the view that: โ€œTodayโ€™s knowledge economy requires highly skilled personnel at all levels to deal with rapid technological changes,โ€ in addition to meeting the โ€œcurrent societal needs.โ€ In fact, Barbados and the Caribbean are grappling with issues as these relate to ensuring that higher education institutions are accessible and that wider sections of the population are exposed to programmes which are edifying for the individual and the society on a whole.

In Barbados, numerous arguments have been put to state officials by multiple stakeholders. For starters, there is now an urgent necessity to reconstruct curricula at all stages of the educational construct – inclusive of primary, secondary, and tertiary institutions. Key to this route of reform is the willingness and capabilities for attracting the best yet most cost-effective pedagogy, and the political will for implementation and assessment of policies โ€œto ensure that all students,โ€ by the end of their relevant classes of instruction, have attained the desired attributes and competencies for moving upward to the next level, or for entering the workplace with the enlightened capability to contribute meaningfully to national development.

A closer examination of the competencies required, reveal that subject specific and generic training and practical exposure are vital cogs for the fertilisation of attitudes and aptitudes in order to effectively build capacity in national development. As a developing society, Barbadosโ€™ labour force needs competences in a broad range of disciplines. The broad area of the natural sciences inclusive of the range of new technologies and strands of physics, chemistry, and engineering for example are particularly useful points of take-off.

Notwithstanding emphasis on the natural sciences, there is a real need for the social sciences, the arts and humanities, and importantly, the development of persons with the ability to cooperate across discipline boundaries by putting their choice discipline into a broader context. The reality is that knowledge, understanding, and the ability to act are crucial to the era that we live in.

Accompanying these points of interaction and engagement are the shaping and manifestation of the appropriate attitudes within the framework of national society and international settings. The productive and competitive spaces that characterise todayโ€™s workplace, mean that increased levels of awareness and initiative are likely to increasingly feature with regards to hiring. Research has demonstrated that people consistently identify work in one of two ways โ€“ being primarily about personal fulfilment, and serving others or about status, advancement, and income.

Again, considering higher education in the context of what kind of society do we want in Barbados and in the Caribbean, it is useful to reflect upon an essay first published in 1929 by A.N. Whitehead who wrote:

โ€œThe university imparts information, but it imparts it imaginatively. … This atmosphere of excitement, arising from imaginative consideration, transforms knowledge. A fact is no longer a bare fact: it is invested with all its possibilities. It is no longer a burden on the memory: it is energising as the poet of our dreams, and as the architect of our purposes. Imagination is not to be divorced from the facts: it is a way of illuminating the facts. It works by eliciting the general principles which apply to the facts, as they exist, and then by an intellectual survey of alternative possibilities which are consistent with those principles. โ€ฆ The development of studentsโ€™ intellectual and imaginative powers; their understanding and judgement; their problem-solving skills; their ability to communicate; their ability to see relationships within what they have learned and to perceive their field of study in a broader perspective. [It] must aim to stimulate an enquiring, analytical and creative approach, encouraging independent judgement and critical self-awareness.โ€

In conclusion, the call is for all Barbadian and Caribbean peoples to embrace the value and significance of allowing for as many individuals as possible to have access to higher level education. At 50 years, our work is clearly not done, and realistically, the country and region have both progressed in other stages of development which require belief and delivery in all of our instructional institutions.

In particular, although not a statement of exclusivity blocking out vocational, technical, and professional institutions of instruction, the urge is for us to celebrate the 2016 graduates of the UWI. Let us embrace the pedagogical work and research contributions being made by the UWI on all of its campuses. There is no doubt that the deep and phenomenal significance of higher education to the national and integrated development of the Caribbean region rest with the graduates being produced and their sometimes underestimated contributions to humanity.

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a part-time lecturer in Political Science at the UWI-Cave Hill Campus, a political consultant, and up until recently, he was editor of Caribbean Times (Antigua). Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com )

130 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – What Kind of Society Do WE Want?”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Sage Annunaki.

Hold your horses!!

Do not hit George C Brafwit too hard whu after all, as the Honourable Blogmaster so sweetly put it, “it would be unwise for him to be overly critical of his employers”

In fact, when one examines every and all of his submissions here, I will now hazard and say that, every single one seemed to have been thusly written where the goodly “former researcher, now part-time lecturer and still political scientist” was “singing for his supper” in previous articles.

A euphemism for blowing air up the nether regions

He is ably assisted by his Pooch Sucking colleague one Bernard Codrington who most assuredly must be looking for a similar position at the University of the University of the West Indies.

Oh Sage Annunaki I have been remarking something and I seek you advice on this matter

The Letter “C”

Note that we have one “AC” and then their is Alvin Cummins another “c” then there is Carson C Cadogan, 3 “c’s” and now Bernard Codrington anudder C.

It would appear that as long as the last part of your Moniker or real name end wid a “c” dat you going be a Piece uh C!!!

Anyway in the meanwhile I got my poster portfolio to finish off fuh dat man Bernard Codrington who feel dat he is de Appointed of the King and dat he can talk bout Harry Husbands and ting but dat I brekking down palings by putting up posters bout he

Dere is a ting doah, even heah dem wants to cuntrol we behinds!!

http://imgur.com/a/Lo0yQ

2. @PUDRYR

Bernard is entitled to his view.

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea & chad99999
    Satan is surely lacing up his/her ice skates… I find myself in substantial agreement with both of you ๐Ÿ˜‰

4. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

George Brathwaite man you got to listen to Bush tea, for many know we on this side knows this island is based on fraud and cover up , Audit the History and see what they are paying for in any of the schools, more lawyer and old crook history teachers giving out white lies to black heads and getting a passing grade of lies, Wast of time and money, Better off google and get World Books,
    Barbados is in the dust, History to Banking is lies , The Nation looking like one big CLICO and 4 seasons running behind the national trust lies,supported by the Archives and library .

5. PDYR

Mine is an image where minds that can give something to country are foremost in the fray of economic empowerment and not waste foops like the DLP.

So why dont you start with giving of your mind instead of not wasting your time creating stoopid cartoons which all by themselves are wasted election foops

Mine is an image that in 2016 when Exclaimer goes to Bridgetown to spend a dollar that the GDP that he is supporting in not the $250/week income that existed 40 years which makes whores out of the mothers who come and beg me for a $50 for a wuk fuh wuk that one Codrington enjoys under his vision of the Beautiful Barbados that he is living in cause he went to UWI and he children went to UWI too.

Sir you can change all that by becoming an entrepreneur hiring a couple whores and pay them the kind of big dollar in excess of the minimum wage which in turn when these whores spend would contribute to the GDP

Mine is a mirror image where all men and women have a chance to ply their goods and services based on merit and not on the suck poochism that abounds in this country today that AC and Alvin Cummins and BC are promoting so vociferously.

Ac notice that you have found a way to ply your goods and no body is stopping you altough it might be that you have joined the band of suck poochism

My mirror image is one where honest men and women can walk bout when they please and where they please as opposed to wunna mirror image AND REALITY where druglords and criminals got all uh we put up at night at 7 pm like sheeple.

Sir it just be that u like it so as you and others have made a decision to join the block instead of clean up the block on that score you can take the blame

Mine is a mirror image where men who get paid $17,000 a month dont say to the normal business man โ€œwhere is my Cut?โ€

In that case you can join the field of those who can do for country leading by example

Mine is a mirror image where when a fire alarm goes off a stupid ass woman would not say she gots to put on her eyebrowโ€ฆ

Why insult the woman can.t a person not make a joke about them self

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Walter PPK aka AC

You confuse my campaign to eradicate the DLP and my “mirror image” elements.

The two have one singular overlap insofar as there is one current insidious denominator that bogs down the national expectations of barbados and which, AS LONG AS THE DLP IS IN POWER, cannot be overcome.

The extrapolation from $50 to whores in enterprise is a Walter PPK predisposition.

The fact is that where I live in the gaza strip of bajan existence those 13 year pld trembling botsies proposition hard back menses for daily lunch and mumsie does not look at them at all.

In fact mumsie encourages them.

You would seek to intimate that i am insulting Tammy OneBrowor and her simpleton desire and now viral message. But the reality is that Miss One Eyebrow Tammy, whom you will seek to make an excuse for, is the sort of woman who you and Bernard Codrington dreak your son lying down with to foop and bring her home.

Let us pray that he does not get her pregelent!!

I reiterate, without any excuse to man woman or beast that Tammy, by this act of crass stupidity has shown herself to be nothing more than a walking foopstick without the brains of a blackbird.

No excuses.

Ammmmm “giving of your mind, to swine, for 8 years of the DLP suffering, is an effing waste of time !!!

Ergo the Stoopid Posters to get rid of wunna behind, you piece of slime!!

I have not joined the Suck Poochists, I am collaborating with the Troika, because you, THE DLP, are the enemy of the people, and the BLP are your enemy therefore they are my friend.

That statement bout “my joining the block” is a non sequitur which is surprising for you Walter but, I can understand why you inserted it.

You are under the chapeau of AC now, so you jes testing to see whu gine “goad de ole man” and i dun tell you dat you cant goad me, you ent got de brain matter, individually or collectively.

And Wunna A#s is grass.

All us wunna scvunt goint home

7. what/s wrong with you old man you are freaking out. may the good Lord have mercy on your soul for falsely accusing Walter

8. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@!PUDRYR

Nice try. You still will not get a piece of the rock until you do a course in anger management.. That would be like putting a glock in a five year old hands.

9. Those 40% who voted with their feet last February 2013 will be the key to kicking the fatted calf brigade to the kerb next time out.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

hahahahahahaha

@ BC

Wait who tell you bout de Glock??? hahahahahahaha

A white man or more specifically melanin deficient Bizzy gets up and says something about any situation in barbados to you Codrington, or to the people bout tekking over de SSA and give=ing you and your two sons who been to UWI a sub contract and you walk bout all barbados saying that he is “intense” or “resilient” or “resourceful” of some other such pooch descriptor and that he is correct to want resources for his buckra johnies.

Yes siree, you will be the first of his sycophants to say that Bizzy is “intensely entrepreneurial”

A black man says anything particularly that shows you up to be a skunk and a posturer, one who would seek to have all monopoly on dissent contra the DLP inepts and you say dat we need anger management.

I pity men like you.

You are genuinely seduced by your beliefs and stance and that is what makes you dangerous.

@ AC

I heah searching for inspiration for Irene Sandiford Garner’s poster.

De DLP website got a who set uh lies and ting but I cant find any content in things like

“Throughout her career paths, Senator Garner has been led to pursuits which have enabled her to be a voice for those less able to speak for themselves.”

“Despite not achieving the goal of representing the people of St. Andrew as their Member of Parliament, the Senator has continued to work on the peopleโ€™s behalf in whatever areas which have presented.”

Tell me what you think I should be using to compose her flier

I mean the site is empty, devoid of content, destitute of any substance.

Barring the incident in the Supercentre Carpark with the men robbing her there is nothing in her portfolio that says what she has done for the 8 years that she has been there.

You see why after a while political opponents and campaign managers get stumped and have to resort to telling lies?

Because, like irene ‘s portfolio, there is nothing to include.

All I can do is to put up a picture of her, one of the unflattering ones that the Nation Makes it their business to take of her and Pronville and add that she is one of the Fatted Calf team.

Cant even get copies of her HoA speeches or whatever she does in Senate/Cabinet to see the measure of the woman causing de GoB tek down all de speeches.

Why wunna so frighten doah?

De ole man does only want to pretend to be a de Milo or Laurentis producer whuloss man give a feller a break nuh??

11. PDYR irene would be proud of you for inclining her as part of the A team

12. PDYR irene would be proud of you for including her as part of the A team

13. The university model has failed and has hampered, severely, the development of our nation and our region. We need to analyse our development needs as a country and then look at introducing student quotas to fill the gaps.

Barbados would be better served if it could produce an adequate supply of engineers, scientists, agriculturalists, biologists, skilled technicians, et al. Such a move would raise exponentially the standards of our country.

It is evident to me that Barbados is not a developed nation. It saddens me that we dispose of our human waste through suck-wells. Such a policy is detrimental to the health of our nation. We need to develop micro-digesters. A micro digester is capable of breaking down human waste products by removing the pathogens contained from within the waste. Methane gas can be extracted from the breakdown of this waste product. It also can be used as a form of manure.

Do you know that the UK town of Bristol operates a bus service which is powered by human poo in the form of methane gas?

Another area for development is our very own urine as it is full of nutrients and can be diluted with water and returned to the soil. It has, allegedly, been used as a cure for chilblains. We need to carry out research.

We need to learn how to design and to build roads as the roads in Barbados are notorious: they are the cause of many deaths and injuries on the road.

Barbados has many old buildings. There appears to be a lack of knowledge as to how these buildings should be restored. I have seen some terrible restoration work on too many buildings in this country.

There appears to be a shortfall in knowledge concerning modern agricultural methods.
    What about developing medicinal medicines as we have a vast array of plants, plus we have local knowledge.

I will not even mention the water problem.

This list is not exhaustive. However we can only truly develop our resources if we are prepared to match those resources by investing in human capital and by ruthlessly reducing those numbers of students who are pursuing subjects which do not add to the prosperity of Barbados.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

Be careful what Irene wishes for she will get it (for I fear that she is going to be part of that team that is going to be “Annihilated”

When is the last time that you have been on your DLPBarbados.org site?

And really looked at it?

The site is seriously “dated” rather very much outdated.

What is one supposed to make from this

“During her assignment in the Prime Ministerโ€™s Office she spearheaded the homecoming celebrations of the countryโ€™s World Champion hurdler Ryan Brathwaite and she also directed the National Co-ordinated Haiti Relief Campaign. She is currently Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Health.”

Observe the paucity of accomplishments that accompany all of your achievements

Look at this part under the DLP history

You have a list of some 13 achievements many of which date back 60 years and then you say “The ideals which the Democratic Labour Party stand for remain relevant to Barbados to this day 61 years after. They still guide our decisions which are made by the party in the interest of the people of Barbados.”

How can opening the University of the West Indies or the BCC or the Samuel jackman Prescod guide you today.

In fact, given that you have hobbled the UWI, it would be best if you did not put it there as an achievement dont you think?

[[AC, between you and me, it would appear like if wunna purposely do not have anything up on your site to be used against you “in a court (BU) of law”. Whu wunna frighten from?]]

15. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

There is none so blind as he who does not see. Fortunately for Barbados, there are many who have 20/20 vision. Despite the naysayers Barbados will rise. But we will have to keep at bay those who born with a cane bill in their hands and whose only purpose in life is to cut down.

16. Exclaimer October 18, 2016 at 9:28 PM #

ABOUT 20 YEARS AGO A BAJAN WHO WAS SUCCESSFULLY INVOLVED IN SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT SOMEWHERE IN THE UK OFFERED TO COME HOME TO DO THIS HERE —HE WAS REFUSED

MANY UWI TRAINED CARDIOLOGIT WITH POST GRADUATE TRAINING IN US AND CANADA RETURNED TO BIM AND WERE RUN OFF BY HASSELL

SIMILARLY UWI TRAINED PAEDIATRICIANS WITH POST GRADUATE TRAINING IN US AND CANADA RETURNED TO BIM AND WERE RUN OFF BY THE LATE AC GRAHAM

THE SAME AC GRAHAM STOPPED ME FROM GETTING A ROTARY SCHOLARSHIP TO JOHN HOPKINS TO DO MATERNAL AND CHILD HEALTH CARE IN 1980

WHEN AS AN UNDERGRADUATE I CORRECTED A WHITE BOY ON A MATTER OF BIOCHEMISTRY AND PHARMACOLOGY WHICH THE EMMINENT TEACHER COULD NOT DO…HE SIGNALED ME OUT FOR DESTRUCTION AND WROTE THAT I WOULD HAVE A ROUGH PASSAGE………THAT WAS HENRY FRASER

GO AND ASK RAYMOND MASSEY IF HASELL DID NOT REFUSE TO RECOMMEND HIM WHEN HE SOUGHT TO GO TO THE UK IN 81 TO STUDY CARDIOLOGY

WE ARE IN BARBADOS REAPING THE HARVEST OFSEED SOWN IN THE SEVENTIES
    THERE IS MUCH I HAVE SEEN IN MY SHORT LIFE

17. @ GP,

I’m sorry to hear that but i’m not all together surprised. Alas, it is what it is. Barbados will forever remain a small island with a mentality to match.

I attended a lecture at the UWI last week entitled “Craftsmen of our fate “: The Social Instruments of our Craft. You may have know the speaker – Sir George Alleyne”.

He stated that one in five Bajans were diabetic; and implied that the health of the nation was regressing.

GP, Barbados is in real trouble. Goodnight.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright
    Its not easy to compose a poster on Irene Sandiford-Garner. She is one of the few in this administration, who seems to know how to behave generally in public, in terms of speaking and deportment.

19. Many of us who work(ed) in industry in various technical disciplines, have a very low opinion of many UWI graduates.

20. Exclaimer October 18, 2016 at 9:28 PM #
    Kingsland Landfill in Christ Church, has been closed for almost 30 years . And especially when it rains, there is that smell of burning coming from deep within. As far as I know, no one had made any attempts to harness the methane gas within.

21. Exclaimer October 18, 2016 at 9:28 PM
    As GP pointed out. Do not come back to Barbados from over and away , and try to change the old way of people doing things here. You will be ran out. The only persons who are able to achieve change, almost overnight , are the ex-pats and Canadians, like EMERA’s execs , who drastically cleaned up and changed up the local power companies in the Caribbean, which they now own,in a very short space of time.
    Change could have been effected gradually , if we as a people , over the years, had taken the advice of many of those we like to call Returning Nationals, who possessed many years of experience,and training in a lot of the same disciplines that are still cutting our royal arses.

22. I have spoken to many individuals whom have graduated that UWI and though their are able to write pretty well they critical thinking skills are much to be desired. And why in 2016 the people of Barbados aren’t given more options and diversity in they choice education? If we are serious about improve our standard of living both in Barbados and in the region, we obviously have invest in acedemic institutions which offer a diverse curriculum. We have to invest in acedemic institutions with the liken of MIT, John Hopkins, Yale, Harvard and Brown, if we are serious about improving the lives of the people and stop pumping money into the UWI, an antiquated institution dah ain’t nating tah boast aa bout.

23. @chad99999 “How many UWI students can hold their own against the best and the brightest in the North Atlantic states?”

A Simple response: “The best and the brightest of UWI’s graduates can hold their own with the best and the brightest from anywhere.

@chad99999 “The typical teenager enrolling at the University is a baby in the world of modern science and technology. He has never studied philosophy or sociology or psychology or anthropology either, so his ability to understand and critique the books and papers from Western countries that are suddenly thrust upon him is close to zero.”

A Simple response: The typical UWI teen aged fresher is not any different from university freshmers anywhere. All university freshers are babes in the world of modern science and technology, philosophy, sociology, psychology etc. All freshers everywhere are at university to learn. if they did not need to learn there would be no need for them to be at university.

@chad99999 These are the people expected to blossom into mature scholars in three years?

A Simple response: No they are not expected to blossom into mature scholars in three years. Becoming a mature scholar takes much more than three years whether you are at UWI or whether you are at a university in the “North Atlantic States”

I have had the good fortune to work with UWI’s best and brightest and they are very, very good. I’ve also had the good fortune to work with some of the best and brightest from the “North Atlantic” states, including some of the best and brightest from the Ivy Leagues, who are also very, very good.

And I can tell you that UWI’s best and brightest are just as good as anybody’s best and brightest.

And “no” I am not a UWI graduate nor employee.

And some of my children have graduated from UWI and some have graduated from universities in the “North Atlantic states”, and some have graduated from both UWI and from universities in the “North Atlantic states.”

Simple Simon

Neither “B” nor “D”

24. @Dompey October 19, 2016 at 12:42 AM “I have spoken to many individuals whom have graduated that UWI and though their are able to write pretty well they critical thinking skills are much to be desired. And why in 2016 the people of Barbados arenโ€™t given more options and diversity in they choice education? If we are serious about improve our standard of living both in Barbados and in the region, we obviously have invest in acedemic institutions which offer a diverse curriculum. We have to invest in acedemic institutions with the liken of MIT, John Hopkins, Yale, Harvard and Brown, if we are serious about improving the lives of the people and stop pumping money into the UWI, an antiquated institution dah ainโ€™t nating tah boast aa bout.”

You wrote this and yet you boast about graduating from some place in the United States, and you dare to criticise UWI’s graduates.

“I have spoken to many people who have graduated from UWI and though they are able to write pretty well their critical thinking skills leave much to be desired. And why in 2016 the people of Barbados arenโ€™t given more options and diversity in their choice education? If we are serious about improving our standard of living both in Barbados and in the region, we obviously have to invest in academic institutions which offer a diverse curriculum. We have to invest in academic institutions the likes of MIT, John Hopkins, Yale, Harvard and Brown, if we are serious about improving the lives of the people and stop pumping money into the UWI, an antiquated institution dah ainโ€™t nating tah boast aa bout.”

Twice last week I ran into my first teacher. She began teaching me when I was 4 years old. She would have beaten Dompey for the passage above, except that she never beat anybody. Strangely for 1950’s rural working class teachers she did not believe in beating the people’s children, therefore her class of 4 to 5 year old’s spent their time learning, not crying, not being afraid.

25. Simple

You are another idle boaster showing the flag.

If what you are saying were true (rather than merely a spiteful riposte), the publication records of UWI faculty would be very different, and UWI would actually be taking the initiative in applying a wide variety of technologies to address the staggering array of problems that Barbados is facing.

Faculty members would not be afraid to offer their expertise. Even if they ruffled the feathers of some local big shot, they would not be worried because first rate scholars can find jobs anywhere in the world.

26. Simple

BTW, don’t forget the context of my remarks.

I was rejecting Codrington’s foolish justification of a passive (low budget) approach to student education at UWI. His notion is that you just need to expose teenage students to a few good books, because they are mature enough to learn on their own.

27. @ Dr. GP and Colonel Buggy.

All I have to tell the two of you upstarts is this.

“But we will have to keep at bay those who born with a cane bill in their hands and whose only purpose in life is to cut down…”(credit one Bernard Codrington he whom has sole divine licence to denigrate Harry Husbands or any other Democratic Labour Party inept or for that matter anything Bajan.

By wunna comments wunna show wunna selves as dangerous can bill me who would seek to BREK down Barbados which “he who has a heavenly telephone has been told dat “Barbados going rise again” possibly under Fumbles Fools but he does not say that because Bernard Codrington is a dissembles and does not want to offend the DLP

Love may he live this self appointed President of Pooch Lickers international

Neither of you genuflected to he who went to UWI and have two children who went to UWI and who taught at two universities overseas.

Wunna is real can bill men.

28. An IDB official has commented in a local newspaper today that Barbados’ education system is not up to scratch. She based her conclusion on 2012 research.

29. It cannot be ours to posit that there is no role for public education at the centre of our culture.

It cannot be fair for some to presume that unless poor people are paying for an education it has to be essentially of no merit.

Barbados has had a sizable number of private sector secondary schools in the past and the people produced were no better than from public schools.

It is true that there has long existed a gap between public perceptions of what an education should be and what is actually produced at public and private institutions.

It would be useful for those of us who berate current standards to consider that the perceived gaps between public education and places like Harvard, Yale, Brown and the London School of Economics lie in just that, perceptions, marketing, a reliance of foundation funding largely derived from involvement in slavery

So profits from slavery have the potency to influence perceptions 250 years on.

The bottom line is that there are no gulps in curriculae, just a public perception of such. A misconceived perception that one could be cued into a wealthy network after graduation.

Yes and there are several variables within and outside the school setting which are predictive of ‘achievement’

Are there fundamental changes needed in education? Yes

However we cannot agree with those who seem hell bent in assuming that unless poor people are to pay for education, good standards will always be elusive.

Critiques of public education or perceptions of quality seem to be standing in for a deeper societal malady

The question should then be, are we expecting too much from a system created to educate ‘former’ slaves? And will there be a juncture where another mindset could be made to emerge?

30. Here is the link to the BT article.

> > http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/10/19/low-grade/ >

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/10/19/low-grade/

I did not want anyone to say I was insulting the education system as I said, I am not familiar with the public system lower than the 6th form level, only heard some family members before they left in the 80s complain about the cracks that were appearing then in the primary, high and highers school which am told has deteriorated to extreme levels today…they do need to vet and more properly train some of the teachers, some are gems but there are too many riffraff just looking for a monthly salary.

Then there is the jackass prime minister Fruendel with his slave mold acting as though school is a prison, school is supposed to be enjoyable, no regimental dictatorship should be involved outside of discipline, which should be a well thought out form and program., not via the slave whip.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Who wants to take it as an insult, based on a few degrading high schools, who some believe are exceptional, that is their problem, the eduation system is backward and need a drastic and radical uprade as we been saying on here for years before I came along…maybe now it’s been xpos or the wold to see, the backward government and ministry officials will believe they have been for decades and still are stagnating generations of their children. Again dump, upgrade or modify the stupid common entrance exam, in 10 years it will be even more useless.

“So you have a segregated system by assigning the students who have higher test scores to the better performing schools.

โ€œIt is an assignment mechanism that maintains inequality, and maintains that performance gap that is observed at the entrance in the [secondary] system,โ€ Alfonso argued.

She said while the Ministry of Education was currently seeking grants and other assistance for the 12 underperforming schools, โ€œthere is a lot of work to be done hereโ€.

The IDB official went on to show that the problem was not only one of poor education, but also a lack of preparation for entry into the workforce.

โ€œWeโ€™re seeing that students are not necessarily well prepared to support an economy that is based on knowledge and innovation, because most of the [CXC] passes are not done on, for example in science and technology. There is still a large share of students who are doing, for example, electronic document preparation, office administration,โ€ she said.

Alfonso, who has a PhD in Education, also said, based on a 2012 survey, Barbadian employers shared the same complaint as their Latin American counterparts that school leavers lacked necessary soft skills โ€“ โ€œthe ability to work with other people, the ability to lead, to think critically, to respect authority, to be punctual to work, to be on time for a meetingโ€.

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I went through the Bajan education system in the 60s and 70s. It was crap. The emphasis was on behavioural compliance and rote memorisation. Any attempt at critical thinking was rigourously suppressed.

34. UWI carrying out a โ€˜national values assessmentโ€™
    Added by Marlon Madden on October 19, 2016.

In today’s Barbados Today

A National Values Assessment is currently being carried out to determine, among other things, the views of the population on the islandโ€™s development.

The study is being carried out by the University of the West Indies (UWI), through the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies.

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart made the announcement today at a media conference, at which he announced plans for the remainder of the islandโ€™s 50th anniversary year of celebrations.

โ€œYou may recall that at the launch of the independence celebrations I posed three questions to the nation. Those were: what are those features of Barbadian life that we have lost and that we need to reclaim? What are those features of Barbadian life that we have not lost and need to retain? What are those features of Barbadian life we have not lost but we have to try and discard as quickly as possible?

โ€œI am happy to inform you that those questions have formed the basis for a national values assessment, which is being conducted by the University of the West Indies through the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies. It is entitled Barbados At 50: The Barbados National Values Assessment 2016,โ€ he said.

Stuart did not give details of the study,
    stating that some preliminary results would be made public next month.

โ€œThat primary research study will inform us of the views of the population in relation to where we are as a people at this juncture of our 50th anniversary as an independent nation. It is my hope that this seminal research will be the platform for a series of in depth studies that will inform our policy formulation, development and implementation over the next 50 years and beyond,โ€ Stuart said.

35. Bajan students are EXACTLY like students everywhere else.
    ..A few are as dumb as a rock
    ..Many are barely able to discern that sugar is sweet
    ..The large majority are mediocre brass bowls at best
    ..A small number are above average and can actually do decimals correctly
    ..and a small number are world class brainiacs

It is the NORMAL distribution bell-curve that defines all random occurrences.

The role of a meaningful education system is to bring each of these sectors to the top of their inherent capabilities. The top class braniacs would naturally take up the challenging leadership positions and, based on merit, everyone would seek to operate at peak capacity.

University should PRIMARILY be about refining exclusive, world-class talent to high-quality, world-beating standards…..

What we have done instead, is find ways (by lowering standards) to hand out certification to as many people as possible – including thousands of brass bowl morons, , and then hand CRITICAL positions of responsibilities to jackasses who should really be low rate functionaries. This is why we now have top finance operatives who CANNOT explain decimals, and ‘qualified accountants’ who CANNOT complete audits.

How the hell can someone take 7 years to complete a 3-year degree and still be considered a successful ‘graduate’ …to compete with a true genius for critical jobs?

“Put a fool in charge and you can quickly convert heaven into hell”
    Bushie 2016

36. Bernard Codrington

Could you explain

……why after 50 odd years with the majority of the Primary and secondary school teachers having UWI degrees,the standard of english and mathematics have not improved?

……. the Low grade

Education system not up to mark – IDB spokeswoman
    Added by George Alleyne on October 19, 2016.
    Saved under Local News

Barbadosโ€™ education system has come for severe criticism from a senior official of the Inter American Development Bank (IDB), who has warned that even though the island is considered a leader in Latin America and the Caribbean, its overall level of learning is still way below par.

……….Why the PM requested an assessment and made the following statement…โ€œThat primary research study will inform us of the views of the population in relation to where we are as a people at this juncture of our 50th anniversary as an independent nation. It is my hope that this seminal research will be the platform for a series of in depth studies that will inform our policy formulation, development and implementation over the next 50 years and beyond,โ€ Stuart said.

37. “Can a new sweet potato help tackle child malnutrition?”

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-37684428

38. @ Colonel Buggy,

Don’t worry Sir, i have no intention of living in Barbados. I have toiled and struggled all of my life.

The Barbadian diaspora (especially those coming from the UK) will never be welcomed back in Barbados. Their experiences and beliefs which they would have gained and honed in a competitive and an open foreign environment would be bottled and shelved.

The continent of Africa is where i will be relocating in the near future as i will have more room to develop and execute my ideas.

39. Barbadians are living in a state of denial having high expectations and standards that goes hand in hand with enormous financial support much of which barbadians are not ready to give or cannot afford.
    Our educational system would remain below par as we continue not to accept the realities and the challenges that are all tied into global standards and at high cost
    The medocrity of our education would continually be tested until the realities of those resources which are necessary enabling us to reach our highest goals
    Teachers are at the lower tier of international pay scale yet expected and demanded to achieve at optimum level.
    Govt financial resources can no longer give in a way that is beneficial to all
    Those who have benefit from the system pull only a small percentage of the desired amount for overall success

40. @Vincent Haynes October 19, 2016 at 8:43 AM “the standard of english and mathematics have not improved?”

CORRECTION: You should have written, the standard of English and Mathematics HAS not improved.

41. Simple Simon October 19, 2016 at 10:58 AM #

Chuckle…..thank you for emphasising my point as I am part of the 50 years of schooling and you are not.

42. Exclaimer October 19, 2016 at 8:55 AM #
    โ€œCan a new sweet potato help tackle child malnutrition?โ€

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-37684428

GOOD ARTICLE EXCLAIMER—–A CUT ABOVE THE DAILY BU BS

43. Exclaimer October 19, 2016 at 8:55 AM #
    Could this orange flesh sweet potato, the same as the type commonly available here under the name of ”Carrot Potato,”among others.

44. The same. I had some with my coo-coo today.

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Simple Simon October 19, 2016 at 10:58 AM #
    “@Vincent Haynes October 19, 2016 at 8:43 AM โ€œthe standard of english and mathematics have not improved?โ€
    CORRECTION: You should have written, the standard of English and Mathematics HAS not improved.”

Actually, it should be “the standards of English and Mathematics have not improved” since there cannot exist a single standard of both English and Mathematics.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ah guess yall ain’t getting no Hystt anytime soon, no money, no cement…when swimming with the sharks, ya need a lot of bandaid. ..lol

Hard knock

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/88225/hard-knock

Hahaha. .lol.., now the small time, petty crook that is Mark Maloney will know what it feels like to swim with real sharks, he could only talk down to bajans him and Bizzy, but these bad boys will let him know who is what and what forโ€ฆlol

The locally grown leeches, parasites and welfare rats in the minority community needs to be taught a valuable lesson that bajans are not equipped to teach themโ€ฆ.lol

47. As a secular country we should have reached this stage as advocated by Joseph long ago.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/10/20/mumbo-jumbo/

48. โ€œWe need to teach our citizens, give them the basic tools to give those judgements for themselves, to come to well thought-out ยญpositions which they can then vote on. That gives you the government and ยญdetermines the future trajectory of our country and the world.”

https://inews.co.uk/explainers/iq/brian-cox-jeff-forshaw-universal-guide-to-the-cosmos-space/

Good thinking.

49. Walter Blackman Avatar

pieceuhderockyeahright October 18, 2016 at 7:29 PM #
    โ€œ@ Walter PPK aka AC
    You confuse my campaign to eradicate the DLP and my โ€œmirror imageโ€ elementsโ€ฆโ€ฆ..

The extrapolation from $50 to whores in enterprise is a Walter PPK predispositionโ€ฆ…

You would seek to intimate that i am insulting Tammy OneBrowor and her simpleton desire and now viral message. But the reality is that Miss One Eyebrow Tammy, whom you will seek to make an excuse for, is the sort of woman who you and Bernard Codrington dreak your son lying down with to foop and bring her homeโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

โ€ฆ. you piece of slime!!

That statement bout โ€œmy joining the blockโ€ is a non sequitur which is surprising for you Walter but, I can understand why you inserted it.

You are under the chapeau of AC now, so you jes testing to see whu gine โ€œgoad de ole manโ€ and i dun tell you dat you cant goad me, you ent got de brain matter, individually or collectivelyโ€.

ac October 18, 2016 at 7:39 PM #
    โ€œwhat/s wrong with you old man you are freaking out. may the good Lord have mercy on your soul for falsely accusing Walterโ€

ac,
    How did you manage, with so much ease and simplicity, to extract such a monumental load of idiocy and asininity from the mind of an overrated, presumably educated, experienced, but reckless blogger?

I can only urge you to keep up the good work. Maybe the naked emperor will now see the urgent need to put on a pair of pants, at least.

However, from a political standpoint, I have to tackle this matter carefully and adroitly.

As you are fully aware, two of my biggest detractors on this blog are Watchman and Pieceuhdecockyeahright. These two untrustworthy, unsavoury, and unprincipled characters have demonstrated, time after time, that they hate and love me with equal zeal and vigour. Given the chance, they would kill me and then spend the rest of their miserable lives crying and missing me.

Unsolicited, the two of them have conceptualized and successfully marketed the Walter PPK brand. If they donโ€™t hear me for a couple of weeks, they look for every excuse or false accusation to keep my name alive on the blog. As a result of their actions, the Walter PPK is now being progressively transformed into an icon.

Therefore, I cannot, in all sincerity, raise strenuous objections to the efforts of these two wicked pieces of โ€œgallows bait” who are now inadvertently embedding my name into the consciousness of all BU readers.

50. @Walter

Why are you allowing the guys to provoke you?

Give us an update on how the nomination eexercise is going in your neck of the woods.

What is your view of Glyne Murray whipping up support for Sandra Husbands from behind the Mike today.