Another reaction to the controversial remarks made by the Reverend Lucille Baird posted in todayโ€™s Barbados Advocate reposted for the reading pleasure the BU family.
Reverend  Lucille Baird
Reverend Lucille Baird

For a variety of reasons, the strictures leveled at the so-called local โ€œblock cultureโ€ by female cleric, the reverend Dr Lucille Baird, are not likely to meet with universal agreement locally. Indeed, we observe that most of the related comments to her discourse on social media have been generally unfavourable and condemnatory.

According to a report in Mondayโ€™s edition of the Barbados Advocate, Dr Baird, without reference to any study or other source, agreed with the assertion that many blocks in Barbados are hotbeds of crime. She proceeded further to argue that these congregations should be outlawed, presumably in order to forestall the likelihood of future criminal activity.

She also called on their members to play a critical role in our economic development- โ€œWe are importing food and they are on the blocks sitting down all day long? They can work! Plant potatoes, cassava, yam and eddoesโ€ฆโ€

For one, her recommendation of prohibition is contrary to our constitutional ethos of freedom of assembly and freedom of association, both guaranteed rights readily endorsed and availed of by other segments of society including the members of Dr Bairdโ€™s church.

Second, the link between the block and crime is largely anecdotal and an easy one to make especially by a disgruntled victim looking to ascribe culpability on another person for the loss of their property.

Third, the inherent national penchant for the underdog, what might be termed a โ€œcuddearโ€ (Godโ€™s dear) philosophy, is more likely to provoke sympathy than moral obloquy for these mainly poor, inevitably black, and mostly young individuals that constitute the social subset of the Barbadian block.

Nor did Dr Bairdโ€™s appeal to theocracy assist her case. She related that many young persons, including those on the block presumably, โ€œdid not know God, the Ten Commandments the Lordโ€™s Prayer, Psalm 23 and what the Bible looks like. In a jurisdiction that guarantees freedom of conscience and of religious belief, this might readily be perceived as offensive although, we hasten to add, it appears squarely within the remit of a Christian pastor.

The nascent โ€œbashment cultureโ€ also felt her wrath as being โ€œnot our cultureโ€ and she echoed the sentiments once voiced by a local Minister of Education that โ€œspirits are realโ€ and that their acceptance might be the causa sine qua non of so much crime in Barbados. For her, this phenomenon exists โ€œbecause we endorse the bashment and wuk-up spirit and (thereby) open the door to other spiritsโ€.

For all the likely unpopularity of her homily, it is nevertheless difficult to defend the propagation of the block culture as offering anything of creative or other value to Barbados. This is not to say that there may not have been once on the block some who have gone on to contribute significantly to the islandโ€™s development, but it may also be argued that while these individuals were โ€œon the blockโ€, they were not โ€œof the blockโ€.

We advance the view that these youthful assemblies may indeed be reformed to contribute in a creative way to the nation. They are not all populated by unintelligent neโ€™er do wells and, with proper effective guidance, they may be directed towards such pursuits as art, sculpture and drama to the benefit of their communities and themselves. It is time that the block be called upon to play its part in national development and to no longer see itself as a victim of our social progress that has left behind and ostracized.

175 responses to “Building Blocks of Crime?”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Agajn I say, these reverends, priests, pastors are moochers and collection junkies, they do not serve the society in any useful way and need real jobs serving their people, communities and building the economy, not escaping paying taxes, mooching and talking utter rubbish..

Close the churches, turn them into youth centres with counsellors and life coaches. ..all the churches do at present is corrupt young minds, spread misinformation and lies and keep the black population subjugated with slave like minds……, the churches are part of the problem and have always been….for centuries..

2. Once an idiot, always an idiot. Dr.Baird, Dr.Durant and most of these preaching “Drs” and non-Drs are jokers. No evidence to support their mouthings, just reliance on their interpretation of the scripture to cure all societal ills. #jesustakedewheel

3. She is doing nothing to help the situation that she has identified. Since she believes that she knows what the problems are, she should have an out reach program in those communities that she has identified as the hotspots.
    She has only added to the stigmatization of some neighborhoods. She needs to put herself in some of those people’s shoes and I am positive that she will come away with a different perspective. The real church is Christ would not react this way.

4. Bajans always take long not to see the forest for the trees. Whether one agrees with her position or not it is past time more aggressive efforts are needed in tackling present day block culture. Her position may be extreme but not as extreme as the breeding of a drug and criminal activity that threatens not only the social foundations of a nation but the economical foundations as well activity which thrives within the block culture
    Everyone can look across the water at Jamaica and witnessed the horffic gun and drug violence that is wrecking the nations image. One would have to be living in some distant world not to understand how small pockets of lawlness left unchecked and allowed to breed can become dangerous building blocks casting negative and rippling effects of death and gore across a nation.
    Dr .Baird may be the lone voice sounding a warning but a warning that needs to be told

5. Fifty years ago, most decent Barbadians would have found the pastor’s comments unremarkable.

But with the collapse of moral and ethical standards in this increasingly upside-down culture, we have 100% agreement from the misguided people who have commented so far on this post that the pastor is wrong.

All of you should be ashamed of yourselves. The pastor asked these idle folks to plant vegetables. What is wrong with that? And why is if better for them to do art and sculpture, (presumably on the taxpayers’ dime)?

6. Dr.Baird, any legal theorist would tell you that you cannot attach a presumption of liability to something that hasn’t happened.

7. “ac. October 14, 2016 at 9:57 PM #

Bajans always take long not to see the forest for the trees. Whether one agrees with her position or not it is past time more aggressive efforts are needed in tackling present day block culture. Her position may be extreme but not as extreme as the breeding of a drug and criminal activity that threatens not only the social foundations of a nation but the economical foundations as well activity which thrives within the block culture
    Everyone can look across the water at Jamaica and witnessed the horffic gun and drug violence that is wrecking the nations image. One would have to be living in some distant world not to understand how small pockets of lawlness left unchecked and allowed to breed can become dangerous building blocks casting negative and rippling effects of death and gore across a nation.
    Dr .Baird may be the lone voice sounding a warning but a warning that needs to be told”

Surely not one of your fans but very sound position taken in your contribution I must admit. Not a fan of these jump and wave messengers of God as well but as usual rather than analysing the contribution of Pastor Baird, some of the commentators have resorted to attacking the messenger rather than her poignant message. There was a time in my time when liming on Broad Street was discouraged and the police requested us to keep moving when we gravitated to our usual spot on Broad street to watch the girls at lunch time or on Saturday mornings. The question of freedom of expression and freedom of movement was not an issue then. There is no doubt in my view that ‘the block’ promotes negative culture and the link between the ‘block’ and deviant behaviours though not empirically tested is not anecdotal since it is there for all to see and if we continue to bury our heads in the sand, a lot of our young men and women could be robbed of the opportunity to use their talents to make a positive contribution to society were they encouraged to utilise their time in a more positive environment.

8. Charles Skeetes

I was born and bred in an area of Barbados which was the bed of criminality in the early 1980s, and I could say to you without any ambiguity and equivocation that the police kept up the pressure on those young males who occupted the block in Bush Hall, but to no avail.
    And I can tell again without much exaggeration that Bush Hall in the early 1980s accounted for 90% of the criminal activity in Barbados and bear in mind that District A Police station is located in Bush Hall, but this in of itself proved to be no real deterrent to those young men who hung on the block and Peter Bradshaw as well as Big Michael were amongst them.
    But what I noticed about a lot of these young men who hung on the block in Bush Hall back in the early 80s of whom I knew and whom I attended school with is that many of them were secondary school dropouts with no real positive role models, but the older criminal like Teeca, Bumpy Bridgman, Big Michael, Barabbas and Derek McAllen etc, all notorious criminals in Barbados at the time.

9. Charles Skeete

And the fact that when these young criminals who where about my age at the time were running Barbados red with their criminal activity, I was attended the Skills Training Program at the Barbados Polytechnics. But bear in mind that my role models were some of police at District A were I lived just behind the wall, and the elder criminals were the only role models these young men probably knew have been born and bred in an area which was inundated with criminal activity 24/7.

10. Charles Skeete

And let me end by saying: the block mentality isn’t a new phenomenon in the Barbadian cultural ethos because it has been in places like: Bush Hall, New Orleans, Carrington Village, Silver Sands Christ Church, and many areas in Bridgetown, and these were places you wouldn’t dare to enter unless you knew someone there or you reputation was known throughout the island and within the criminal class.

11. I am glad that Dr. Baird was able to call a spade a spade. What is positive about young men just wasting their time you can call it liming or whatever day after day in one area. The old adage, Satan finds work for idle hands to do is so relevant. These young men have no excuse. People continue to argue about not having any role models. Role models or not, don’t they have any self esteem. What are they contributing to the society. Do their parents give them food, clothing and shelter. Don’t they realise that money has to be paid for these things including electricity and water.

I think political correctness is going to be the undoing of this nation. These young men are are WASTING their time and that is the bottom line. Looking for a job is a job in itself. The same way they sit idly by each day they can learn a skill. Government has resource centres in the various parishes where young people can learn computer skills etc. There is free secondary education for ALL. I am sure that these young people have something to contribute. Everyone may not be academically inclined but I believe that God has given each of us some kind of ability.

If we continue to soft soap this behaviour we are going to regret later. The drug culture has taken hold on this nation and we are seeing the effects ever so often. If people do not want to work what are they thinking about.

In the 40’s and 50’s young people had to go look for work. Times were hard and working at a young age was not an option.

I think that the parents of these young people should be ashamed, giving them lodging, food and clothing and they are not contributing anything in return.

People talk about role models, the greatest role model should be our parents. My older brothers had no father as a role model, my father left my mother to raise three boys, but they were able to learn and work hard. Only one went to secondary school. They still learn skills that enabled them to get a job and eventually raise their families. My mother instilled in them the value of hard work. I think it is time for these young men to stop their nonsense and realise that very soon they will be older. Don’t they have any hopes or dreams. I think block culture is another name for TIME WASTING. It seems that some people do not want to offend them, but the truth will always set men free.

12. Is this the very group political operatives manipulate come election time?

#thehypocrisy

13. David October 15, 2016 at 5:10 AM #

Is this the very group political operatives manipulate come election time?

#thehypocrisy

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Even more of a reason this culture should not be given bigger wings to fly as sooner rather than later their political importance would be one of corrupted mega- influence .
    exuding an importance that is necessary to a political outcome sending out messages of defiance and a forceful disrespect of law.
    This culture should not be allowed to be breed and thrive given all the negative evidence provided but govt should use all the legal arm of the law provided to dispersed of them before the garrison effect take over the minds of those who enters this new wave of lifestyle looking for a way out

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Useless ACs..I hope the boys on the blocks have everyone of you lowlife vote buyers on audio and video real soon, election soon here, soon come…yall hypocrites.

Baird another hypocrite is just looking for collection, free tax money.., there are programs that can be put in place to reduce the block mentality, but will either vote buying governments want to implement such programs…will the churches want to take the tax free money they collect and introduce such programs…they have not done so in the 30 years the problems surfaced…will they do it now….and shut the hell up from talking rubbish…the educated illiterates,.

15. Anne

Where is the opportunity for the young people in Barbados? And all this talk about young people growing they own food is wishful thinking because let us be realistic for one minute though: who young person in this day and age wants to go out into the scorching heat, and subject his or her self to a darker tan to cultivate some food? Listen! We wish the young people find something productive to do with they lives, but as one young friend of mine in Barbados said to me quite recently: “Work is hard to find in Barbados these day and the UWI, the Community College, as wel as the Polytechnic, cannot accommodate for the number of young people leaving school each yearly.” And let me end by saying this: it is easy to run off your mouth as to the reasons why the young are hanging on the block, but have you taken the time to ask one of these individuals why? This disconnected between the young and old will continue to be our Achilles heel, until we seek to be tolerant and inconclusive of the younger generation.

16. Anne

Role models are very important in a young man’s or young woman’s life because had it not been for the police at District as my positive role models, I might have embarked upon a career of crime give the crime infested environment surrounding my neighborhood in Barbados. Do you remember Whitney Houston’s song: everyone is searching for a Hero, everyone needs someone to look up to?

17. So far all we have been having are simplistic observations to a serious problem that has reared its head on our social landscape.

If we are to understand Baird correctly the solution can be found by burying our heads in the sand. Disperse the boys and girls on the block, problem solved. How about the church members leave their properity edifices and implement big brother/sister programs, adopt a block etc. Design outreach programs to win the hearts and minds of these disengaged souls.

Unemployment among our youth is stated to be 20+%. Many of these young people are secondary and tertiary trained.

Is this the very group political operatives manipulate come election time? > > #thehypocrisy > > >

18. The block,like our rumshops&churches,is an indelible part of our culture,it is a microcosm of our society and reflects where we are as a country,it is very usefull as a barometer and can be harnessed.

Instead of condemning it and making clarion calls for its destruction,we should realise where this country is at and come up with solutions to address the ills that we perceive to be emanating from the block.

My recollection tells me that the person who is revered as the example to follow by the xtian community here,had no problem mixing with dissolute individuals in order to offer them another path to better their lives and hence their community.

Time to stop the lotta long talk and start doing by getting on the blocks and lead by example.

19. What is the misunderstand here? , Not one of calling to stop people from congregating on the block but the attacking of the underlying factors and core negative elements that have taken control of the block culture which is indisputable and which clearly indicate the culture and the factors goes hand in hand

20. @Vincent

Well stated.

Do you know many entrepreneurs / businesses will raid the blocks to recruit daily labour? These are ordinary people who have disengaged from the ‘system’ like the middle-class citizen who refuses to vote or otherwise participin our system of democracy.

The smell is aweful!

21. David October 15, 2016 at 7:37 AM #

You have in your post just obliquely touched on the interesting point of individuals leaving the block and moving up the ladder to the middle class enclaves and no longer being involved or coming around to lead by example.

22. AC

Let me ask you this question: isn’t peaceful assembly a tenet of our democracy? And who is to determine whether not one block is assembling peacefully and others are involved in criminality? And if the latter is the case should we have a categorical law to deal with the block mentality in its totality?

23. If someone can tell Bushie of any difference between the ‘block’ and the ‘church’, then the bushman may be interested in this blog….

An assembly of lost, hopeless brass bowls, with no meaning in their lives, no idea of a clear future, and who seek largely to pass their idle time in the company of others of like mindlessness.

Such persons tend to be easily misled by extremist, to be exploited by the albino-centric drug dealers and tithe-takers, and what they have mostly in common is a complete lack of vision, a faulty mirror-image, and a known propensity to be easily led to their destruction.

Bushie’s point;
    In the final analysis, block people, church people – same difference.

24. “Is this the very group political operatives manipulate come election time? > > #thehypocrisy > > >”

While this might be true it has nothing to do with the ugly spectre of the block culture Pastor Baird has been courageous enough to highlight. Should we bury our heads in the sand because the powers that be embrace the culture when they see fit for their own ends. There is nothing positive about block culture and I cannot understand why people who should know better is castigating Pastor Baird for against the odds keeping the issue in focus.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Baird knew about the block culture years befire she went pimping around the blocks for tax free collection money…she is highlighting what ever ones know and one no one, including her has suggested programs to gradually reduce the block culture…she would not want to take her tax free collections money to institute such programs…bittomline.

26. The point not to be lost in the chatter is the lack of a constructive engagement by Baird and by extension the Church. The suggestion to bulldoze the blocks is assinine. In every village in Barbados younsters congregate under breadfruit trees to play dominoes, road tennis, fire a rum, argue politics etc. Like any manmade construct there are the deplorables and those who are up to no good. Why not a similar call to disband the Customs Unit where there is known criminal behaviour or the taxis known to be key players in the drug trade?

Many of us have graduated to the middleclass:and have conveniently forgotten the struggle required to climbout of the ‘village’ life.

#simplisticlifetionwillkillus

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster all that you have said above to reach your conclusion “The smell is awful!” is indisputable. There is no easy remedy to this problem of block culture as there is no one solution. It has its positives along with the negatives.

To be blunt. There are some of the same problems of folks being as profoundlydisengaged in the same religious system from which Dr. Baird pontificates. Many there are bad seeds just as some of those on the block.

In another post a blogger highlighted that the lack of work for skilled artesians was linked to companies like Preconco with their pre-moulded concrete fabrications. That is a profound point from the perspective that unemployment will be almost endemic for those previous masons and related crafts unless skills are modified to suit the new economic needs. (Obviously, right!)

It’s akin to coal miners and skilled craftsmen in Pennsylvania, US and surrounding locals losing job opportunities from mines being shuttered or when manufacturing plants go to Mexico or China. A lot of those folks end on ‘the block’ also; in their cases, it’s a bar, an outback hunting site or even a Sunday church gathering.

There will always be a ‘block culture’. Just as there will always be church leaders whose involvement in politically tinged affairs cloud a true progressive religious vision.

So we have to focus on the positive aspects of both these important cultural aspects, dismiss the bad vibes and hot air palaver and reinvent ourselves and our society to meet tomorrow’s needs. We all know that.

It’s a continuous and painful problem. Protestations like that of Dr. Baird do little as noted above, to actually come to grips with the problem. Frankly she can’t; it’s not a simple fix from a pulpit.

28. Out of being emotional with useless chatter and banter attacking the message and the messager. Those who have chosen the route to ovetlook the burning problem have not given any clear indication of which direction best serves the interest of public safety which is the core of Bairds message where she is asking police and citizens to be proactive rather than be actors or observers in a theatre of recklessness and moral decay
    Is that too much to ask?

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Aha Mr Bush Tea, I see that I repeated your screed. Quite unintentional. Started my post over an hour ago and when I returned didn’t look to see what was new.

Always painful when we agree. LOLLL! As it’s always more fun to battle wid you…I grasp more then!

30. Dompey yes “peaceful” is the ooerative word. No constitutional law would deny those rights to an person on group.
    However when there is clear and convincing evidence that the rule of law is being broken by illegal activities the govt has a right to step in and take necessary legal actions in the interest of public safety and to which no group or individual is exempt

31. @Dee Word

Bushie is an authority on this subject. Unlike others posting here who are nothing more than keyboard warriors, he walks the talk.

#nuffrespectbushie

32. The idea is silly. What is worrying is that people in authority are taking her seriously. How does she define crime: violence, robbery, burglary, fraud, false accounting, driving without insurance, threatening behaviour, et al. Which of these are the products of the so-called block culture.
    What about the people who live in the heights and terraces and gated communities who import guns and drugs?
    How about finding jobs, improved education and housing for the boys on the block? Does the good minister go out in to the highways and hedges and preach the gospel, or does she think they are beyond saving?
    How about the homeless and destitute who steal food in order to survive? We need grown up conversations about crime, but this does not help.

33. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Bush Tea,

I agree with your summation of this discourse on the Block Culture issue. Block culture and church culture, as portrayed by Dr . Baird, is the same difference. Dr. Baird has redefined Block culture to be a den of lawlessness and criminals. That was not the original definition of the Block. So if you set up a straw man you can always lick it down with “rock stones” or ‘brass bowls”.
    My reading of the news, pertaining to the upsurge of crime, suggested to me that the blocks were under siege and that the lawlessness and gun play was harming the peaceful assembly of members on the block. But I may be wrong.

34. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

‘”If two people sit together, break it up”
    Steupse
    What if it is a :
    hhusband and wife
    father and son
    father and daughter
    mother and daughter
    Do I need to go on or do you get my silly point about the silly statement.

35. Dompey “peaceful “being the operative word. No constitutional law would deny those rights to any group or individual
    However when there is clear and convincing evidence that the rule of law is being broken by illegal activities the govt has a right to step in and take necessary legal actions in the interest of public safety and to which no group or individual is exempt.

Bushie mouthings are simply rhetorical nonsense applying the same analogy to a church which is a sacred place of abode to a block culture known for illegal activity is of profound ignorance

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs..which part of programs put in place for the youngsters to reduce the instances of the block mentality you cant understand…and get through your thick skull.., ya just like Chad…you are given the solutions, but still ask the same stupid questions.

Adult programs for those males on the block who are no longer youngsters but grown men in their mid to late 30s can also be adjusted and implemented to suit their skills.

Google anything else ya want to know and stop asking stupid questions…I am sick of yall stupidity.

Both Baird and the useless ministers can also google programs to use instead of talking utter shit and rubbish…nuisances.

37. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Just a few random thoughts. Economics or law is not my training, but I have found that a commonsense approach to a problem accommodates truths often overlooked by those who rely on sheer numbers or on gentle persuasion.

โ€œIf two people sit together, break it upโ€, What is this? Guilt by association? Guilt by social status? Guilt by likely skin color? Guilty before you did any shit?(forgive me)

โ€œLooking for a job is a job in itselfโ€. And if you do not have the skills to do the jobs being offered will looking help? Looking for a job cost money, and if you do not have that money to make yourself presentable or to hop on the bus?

โ€œGovernment has resource centers in the various parishes where young people can learn computer skills etc. โ€œ Are these skill marketable.? Will a person who walked off the street and take one of these computer classes be able to get a good paying job?

What is the unemployment rate in Barbados? Is there a job for everyone? With the government making layoff, it will be inevitable that there will be people sitting on the block.

38. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Edited
    Just a few random thoughts. Economics or law is not my training, but I have found that a commonsense approach to problems often accommodates truths overlooked by those who rely on statistics or on gentle persuasion.

โ€œIf two people sit together, break it upโ€, What is this? Guilt by association? Guilt by social status? Guilt by likely skin color?

โ€œLooking for a job is a job in itselfโ€. And if you do not have the skills to do the jobs being offered will looking help this person? Looking for a job cost money. What if you do not have that money to make yourself presentable or to hop on the bus?

โ€œGovernment has resource centers in the various parishes where young people can learn computer skills etc. โ€œ Are these skills marketable.? Will a person who walked off the street and take one of these computer classes be able to get a good paying job when classes are completed?

What is the unemployment rate in Barbados? Is there a job for everyone? With the government making layoffs, it will be inevitable that there will be people sitting on the block.

39. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

If you love your children, buy them a one way ticket. Later, they will thank you for it.

40. Listen kunckel head. The programs are out there schools have been in an existence in barbados as long as i can remember at no cost. There is no excuse for those who have chosen to a take on a life of block culture not to take greater use of the educational system at any level.
    The truth be known is those who prefer to engage in the block cultural are militant obstructionist of laws which are meant to guide and direct civilty and which they belive are burdensome to their way of life.
    Stating that govt has not done enough although might be of merit should not be a given as an excuse to exclude the block culture from availing themselves to what little govt has offered in a way of progress.Self responsibility is an important ingredient and building blocks for self preservation

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“What is the unemployment rate in Barbados? Is there a job for everyone? With the government making layoffs, it will be inevitable that there will be people sitting on the block.”

It’s all going to hell, bajans are recognizing that the government ministers and politicians are colluding with the 5% minorities to turn them into slaves via low, unlivable slave wages and unfair practices…are having none of it so they created their own block system. ..which is dangerous for so many different reasons at so many levels, but is a result of both the hypocrital governments and leeches for churches…not putting their free money they collect into programs to benefit the black communitues…parents cannot do it alone….

…….and that tax exemption the churches get should have a caveat attached that after school programs for youngsters to magnify their skills…be part of the deal..or no tax freeness for the churches…as it stands, they get free money for doing nothing at all…nothing positive and they are not giving back to the communities they mooch money from.

. ..However, the government turns around and colludes with the 5% minoritues to import slave labor from other islands.., which I sincerely hope results in international arrest warrants for all the government ministers and 5% minorities involved who are bribing government ministers to avoid paying livable wages. ., rid the island of those parasites once and for all.

The government is intensifying the longevity of the block culture by their nasty chain reaction avctions.

42. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Anonymouse 10:02 AM.

Do not be deterred by those of us who are trained in Law or Economics. The training we received in those disciplines were intended to sharpen our application of common sense to real life problems but in a structured fashion. That accounts for some of us not being able to think outside of the boxes of our disciplines.
    The questions that you asked are the same ones that we ask in order to formulate sensible solutions. Keep asking those questions and form your own opinion.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs..that is why no one can discourse with illiterate fools like you, schools and various skills programs are not the same thing…google it.

Look how well the schools only scenario is working out….git ya complaining…

…….my 10 year old grandson will tell ya, most enlightened kids look at school as a prison system, which they have to be taught to navigate..but ya 40 year behind everything mentality cannot fathom such intrinsic thoughts…so I will also let you google that…ignoramuses.

There are schools that do not use textbooks anymore, but I wont expect Barbados to catch up to that innovation for anither 150 years.., generations of yall would have to die out first…at
    least 6 generations….to cleanse ya stupidity.

44. Positions are taken by many of you and defended with the ferocity of a bullheaded bull dog. Here is an extract from the author of the editorial. Unable to demonstrate the capacity to agree to disagree agreeably yet we act surprised at the state of society.

The nascent โ€œbashment cultureโ€ also felt her wrath as being โ€œnot our cultureโ€ and she echoed the sentiments once voiced by a local Minister of Education that โ€œspirits are realโ€ and that their acceptance might be the causa sine qua non of so much crime in Barbados. For her, this phenomenon exists โ€œbecause we endorse the bashment and wuk-up spirit and (thereby) open the door to other spiritsโ€.

45. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.
    has become
    For where two or three are gathered together. take them up

46. I have pasted this from a reply that i gave to PUDRYR from another blog.

@ PUDRYR,

I sense your feeling of disillusionment. The Hilary/Trump blogs have proved popular due to a certain โ€œMBโ€. Do I need to day say more?

I have been on this island these past several weeks and I can confirm that the spirit of revolution will never take root in Barbados. Some of the stories published by the media are jaw-dropping.

I read the story of a Rastafarian family who removed their child from the education system. They did not have faith in the Barbados schooling system and decided that they would self-educate their child. The authorities took the parents to court and were prepared to make the child a ward of court!

The second story revolves around a messenger of God โ€“ Reverend Lucille Baird; who stated and I will paraphrase her words. She implied that those individuals who lived in block neighbourhoods were feral as they lacked God in their lives! Her solution was to send them to work in the fields just as their ancestors did!

The Third story concerns the dire situation concerning the deliberate non-supply of water to the numerous communities inside the country.

All three stories have taken place in a black-led and a black majority country. What does that tell you Piece?

We will soon be celebrating our fiftieth anniversary. Yet, all I can see is a country rooted in a quasi-apartheid system as practised in Australia and until recently South Africa. Piece, just face it we are not YET ready to have a revolution. I recommend that you enjoy your remaining time with your grandchild or doing something that will bring happiness to your life. Barbados is a lost case.

47. David October 15, 2016 at 10:40 AM #

The bastions of our society have always been filled with spirits….church,rumshop&block.

I reiterate learn how to embrace and harness them.

I have also spent decades with our youth in an attempt to assist them with their needs as identified by them.

48. The same energy that the block cuture has taken into building pathways of illegal activity can be better utilised by going to the library acquring knoweldge that can equipped and give them a long term pathway to social and economic progress ..Barbados is no longer living in semi isolation but within a global community where boundless opportuities abound.
    Those that live inside the block culture know why there are there and why they have chosen that path and what are those attractions that they cling which makes it easy for their existence and acceptance.
    Rev Baird have said enough to encourage debate about a culture that govt is finding harder and much difficult to suppress despite all the social funding thrown in its direction.

49. AC

How is hang on the block a threat to public safety? And is there any statistical evidence to indicate that there has been an escalation in criminal activity associated with hang on the block, or is the criminality one sees daily on the block precipitated by the economic vicissitudes of our time?

50. AC

You can’t tell a hungry man who has no mean of employment or eat to go to the library and acquire the knowledge that will equipped him to better his life. His first priority to eat and when there is little or no prospect for employment a hungry man turns to any mean necessary to feed himself and his family.