Submitted by the Secretariat of the PEOPLES  EMPOWERMENT  PARTY
David Comissiong
David Comissiong, President of the Peoples Empowerment Party

The issue of race is ever present in Barbados, and surely underlies the amazing  public furor that has arisen over the recent crowning of a white Miss Barbados beauty queen.

And so, we now take the opportunity to revisit the issue of racism in Barbados, and to share with the public a number of pertinent questions that Mr David Comissiong, President of the Peoples Empowerment Party, posed to the government appointed ‘Committee On National Reconciliation’ way back in the year 1999.

These questions – as relevant today as they were seventeen years ago – are as follows:-

1. To what extent does the false notion of Black or African inferiority still infect Black, White,  and Asiatic Barbadians? If this is the case, how do we correct this state of affairs?
  2. Are there Churches, religious practices and theologies in Barbados which foster and / or perpetuate the false and discredited notions of Black inferiority, subordination and dependence on non-Blacks?
  3. To what extent is the distribution of land in Barbados racially skewed and inequitable? If this is so, are specific governmental corrective measures required? Is there a need for “Alien Landholdings legislation”?
  4. Is the education system doing an adequate job of imparting to our students information about the history and achievements of the various racial and ethnic groups which make up our population? Is the news media of Barbados doing an adequate job of providing the majority Black population with news and information about Africa and peoples of African descent?
  5. To what extent are there racially segregationist regulations and/or practices in place in the clubs, beaches, hotels and social institutions of Barbados? Are governmental corrective measures required?
  6. To what extent do businesses in Barbados indulge in racial discrimination in their employment and procurement policies and practices? To what extent is there evidence of race-based business monopolies and unfair race-based business practices designed to eliminate competition?
  7. What is the precise state of the distribution of wealth in Barbados across race and class lines? Is there a need for new re-distributive policies?
  8. To what extent is there evidence that the lending policies and practices of banks and other financial institutions are based on racial considerations? Is there a need for governmental intervention?
  9. To what extent do the major secular institutions of Barbados – the law courts, police force, office of the Governor General, etc – still retain elements of an institutional culture that is alienating to Black and/or working class Barbadians?
  10. To what extent are the foreign films, videos and music coming into Barbados propagating racially demeaning notions and sensibilities?
  11. To what extent is the racist historical tradition of the stigmatization and criminalization of the business activities of small black business-persons still in evidence?
  12. To what extent do we have a sense of consciousness of the great moral wrong of slavery, and of the inhuman cruelties and disabilities that were inflicted upon Black people? Are we prepared to support a campaign for Reparations?
  13. Is there the need for a conscious effort to rectify the imbalance deliberately built into our national culture by investigating, re-evaluating and re-appropriating aspects of African culture?

If the current storm-in-a-teacup motivates us to address our minds to these vexed yet very relevant questions, then something positive would have been achieved!

270 responses to “The Real Race Issues in Barbados”

1. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

I don’t think they can understand you… this light skinned woman talking like if she black..
    upending their little skin pecking order…

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“The reaction to Bushie’s explanation that ‘whites’ are actually the result of genetic mutations of the original blacks – mainly due to lack of melanin, clearly demonstrated this ingrained misconception of white superiority.”

It’s really a recessive gene found in the black male that caused that lack of melanin…albinism, which is really a genetic fckup…when both male and female carries the gene, it makes for a really big fckup…it’s widespread in Africa…I call them really bad carbon copies of black people….just to piss off friends and family…but it’s true…….when ya really get me going I call them the most evil part of blacks manifesting itself…..then I go iff and tell them that inbreeding did not help the situation.

Of course friends and family dont speak to me for days after…until they get over it…lol

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Your daughter SHOULD be proud of her black heritage but why would you not want her to be proud of her white heritage as well? Why would you want her to be ashamed of it?”

When in any of my post did I say my daughter, my children, did not identify with their European heritage….you are ASS…U…ME..ING…

……..my kids do not have a white heritage.

White heritage does not exist…you need to bring your statistics disproving what I said.

What I told my kids being raised in the US when they asked me certain questions…I told them the truth about the ugly side of European thievery, slavery, murders, rapes, laziness fraud, racism etc….and let them make their own decisions without the brainwashing factor…

…..my kids are very grounded adukts in their near 40s, late 30s etc and do not live in a fantasy, fairytale, world of bullshit and unreality.

Anon…I dont mind these frauds…ya should hear what they say about black people when around their dinner tables….if they were dealing with intelligent blacks…they would fear eating food cooked by blacks they demean and degrade with their nasty tongues.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/23/tide-dancer-joins-jammin-cruise-family/

This is all the slaves in and out of parliament look up to, kowtow to, smile at….

…..they know this dude Harris is fraudulent, they know what many of his businesses entail….but weak politicians cannot do anything, when they have been compromised. …

…..look at the photo of the dude in the dress, Clement Paul….the church is the worse to condone criminality….as long as they get money.

They are 2 faced, untrustworthy. ..I would not turn my back on any of them…they keep the status quo of racism onging for money…the only god they can see and touch.

5. It is clear based on several comments on this blog and elsewhere there is a lot of work to do. Some of the comments are so idiotic.

6. “Bernard Codrington. September 22, 2016 at 7:45 PM #

@ Exclaimer

It was never Barrow’s intention to pull the rug from under any Barbadian, be he white , black or khaki colour.”

Are you sure of this or is bit a feeling? If so, excerpts from Mr Wynter Crawford’s book do not generally support your feeling.

7. “Exclaimer September 22, 2016 at 7:26 PM #

If Barrow had pulled the rug under those whites who were not in favour of independence we would not be having this conversation. Barrow’s poor and feeble decision making and planning has led us to the position that we are now in. The spirit of revolution during our time of indepedence never came to fruition. It was aborted in its enfancy; and never given the opportunity to witness natural daylight.”

I am not one who see Mr Barrow as a God like creature or father of independence or one to be revered but between 1961 to 1971 much progress was made in Barbados socially, educationally and otherwise. True mistakes would have been made but not of sufficient consequence to override the gains made for instance as a result in the expansion of free education. That those who followed did not recognise that adjustments would have had to be made to the way business was done by Mr Barrow to conform with the realities of their time is not Mr Barrow’s fault.

8. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

You are correct that there is a lot of work to be done on these issues local and globally.

If someone were to come to you David and ask you to read and provide a comprehensive interpretation and action plan from The Bible that would be impossible.

If just question 13 were to have been the topic for discussion that might have been more manageable and in fact were there to be “…a conscious effort rectifying the imbalance…” And that it was successful, one might conjecture that several if not all the questions here, would be answered.

The car is traveling and there is a shimmying in the steering which as we go faster develops a speed wobble but we are content to leave it as is.

The results that we wo are invested with Remembrance of Times Aforetimes can look back and Recall that what the younger ones here know as Harbour Lights used to be Banana Boat and was always racist a la Robin Walcott.

What is of passing note is that Robin was canvassed out of that street opposite Shangri La because of the noise to the ears of white people and move to Bay Street where there were only black people cross the street and in his environs (granted that no one lived on his side of the street with Harbour Light like at Banana Boat

9. Anonymouse – TheGazer September 23, 2016 at 10:44 PM #
    @bookworm
    (onl because I realized that you may be cgallenged in some way)
    You disputed WW&C statistics and offered your own though 9t was inexact
    ” Certainly many more than the 5000 figure that you plucked out of the air..”

The only challenge that I have right now is how to politely tell you that this is not a statistic that I offered,it is an opinion. You understand the difference?
    You should not selectively quote in order to support a weak position, you should uase the whole quote:

“I find the term mixed breed just a bit pejorative but would be very surprised if there were many Bajan born who did not have both white and black ancestors. Certainly many more than the 5000 figure that you plucked out of the air”

10. The older generation of blacks understood the way the system worked , they made every effort to make life better for themselves and their children with determined set goals,these goals were simple! work hard !saving money and buying land,
    These simple goals were the basic foundations by which they were able to send their children to school ,build a chattel house, and maintain a few pennies in the bank for a rainy day, for them prosperity meant seeing their young ones become educate and having the financial where withal to do better,
    Many if any were bogged down in the mental grind of race relationship mostly concentrating on there set goals towards success mostly goals locked into a mindset for betterment never diverting or pulled into a tug of war of black or white or those against us.
    The fight for survival was a singularity with a determination to appease one self, Many of the so called intellectuals of the day have lost that same desire as the older generation and has become bogged down in a fight which there forefather had fought and won without being aggressive and feeling victimized. how is it that out of a class of underprivileged older generation of blacks there were small business development children highly educated house built land bought these were an older generation of blacks who were not highly educated but made a living in the fields some being cooks and servant hands in the great houses of the whites
    Maybe if only maybe the so called intellects blacks had taken a page out of the wisdom of the older generations of our forefathers setting simple goals for survival the road map to success would be a lot easier and ones skin color would not really matter
    An island with a predominately black population failed because of not having set goals for betterment simple goals like the older generation relied on for their survival and not because of the color of the skin,

11. @ Hants
    Can some of you post answers to the 13 questions posted by David Comissiong ?
    BU maguffees please step up.
    Actually Bushie can answer all of them ( “he knows everything”. lol lol )
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Perhaps you should read John chapter 4 sometime…. about the Samaritan woman at the well.
    After some exchanges with Jesus at the well, she too, went back to town telling everyone how she had just met a man who ‘knows everything’…

As you know, David’s blog is the modern equivalent of the water fountain; the standpipe; and the original well – places where we all have to go to get water…. and where we hang around and chat.
    LOL David’s blog is even called Barbados UNDERGROUND – from whence we get our water…

What you should consider is that the most likely conclusion to be drawn is that there exists something in common between such people ‘on blogs’ who appear to ‘know everything’.

At one point, Jesus told her ” Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again, But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.”
    Translated to contemporary blogging times, he was saying that “the lotta shiite that we talk here on BU will continue ad infinitum, but the truths that the Spirit brings to us through bushmen – shall answer all our questions (and make us appear as though we ‘know every shiite’…)…”

Check the story and see how many Samaritan men came to believe in him during his two day stay with them….
    Wunna BU bloggers just playing the donkey
    ….playing wunna cussing Bushie fuh 8 years straight now … 🙂

12. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

I did dun wid dis race ting
    got sucked bak in
    dun again
    tink we spinnin top in mud

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bookworm…take a goddamn survery…then you would know the amount of mixed breed/bi-racial/multiracial people on the island…disputing or opine-ing without proof to back it up wont cut it.
    I knoe exactly what to tell my children re the determination that exists from their European heritage to survive at all costs….it is admirable, but tinged with many evils….nothing to be proud of…..since survival can be attained with less greed and with much less cost to others.

I notice when I beat up on the politicians, cuss the majority blacks for their steadfast refusal to understand their reality and make the appropriate changes to benefit themselves, cuss all the ministers cause they know I know Peter Harris got many of them on CCTV…got them figuratively and every other way by their balls amd whatever else they carry……..I notice everyone is happy to hear me cutting up…

But…

When I have to speak more truths about the reality of racism and the weak kneed response to ending it by bith compromised, bribe taking, corrupt governments, the retard and garden variety jackass Alvin, as well as the 2 bit minorities and others crawl out of their holes and take umbrage.

Well too bad…yall aint hear nothing yet.

14. @ Bushie,

You know that I know and every body know that you DO NOT know everything. Only God knows everything.

However, I believe you can answer most of the questions if not all.

Step up Bushie and impart your considerable wisdom for the benefit of BU bloggers.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David September 24, 2016 at 2:25 AM who said “It is clear based on several comments on this blog and elsewhere there is a lot of work to do.” …My dear Mr Blogmaster that is a resounding tautology if I have never heard one since that logic introduction class eons ago. The blogger who Gazes around with his brief cutting notes said the same in basic Bajan: “tink we spinnin top in mud”.

All that to say, yes there is much mud-spinning because all that has been done is crushed under the deep distrust between the various peoples on earth. We are fundamentally all racists and whatever is done either is railed at by us Black racists, our counterpart White racists or any of those in between.

When or how will we ever get the work of race and society done, Mr Blogmaster? Only, when we meet Bushie at his BBE inspection parade. Only then!

Please read the following. And pretend that the protagonist is Errol Walton Barrow. See why 50 years on it is IMPOSSIBLE to change an ethos that was 400 years in the making…lotta, lotta mud spinning or lots of work to be done…pick your verbiage.

—- **** “Now, stop and think about this. Where are we here? We’re in the United States of America. We are in the second term of the presidency of the first African-American president ever elected in this country, a former community organizer — ah –agitator, organizer, same thing, who promised and assured us, via hope and change, that none of this would survive the presidency. This kind of thing was destined for the ash heap.

We aren’t going to have these kinds of divisive squabbles any longer because the election of the first African-American president [OR BLACK PRIME MINISTER AND HIS BLACK CABINET] would finally mean that we had matured and that we had seen the error of our sinful past. The election the first African-American president, not just that act, but the man himself with his promises and his assurances is going to unify us, the country was going to become one, the nation was going to be loved by all the peoples of the world, and, via hope and change, there would be an unbridled optimism that would spread coast to coast, east to west, north to south, all across this country.

And now look where we are. We’re nowhere. In fact, not only are we nowhere near that, we have regressed. We have regressed and we are in the process of regressing, specifically in the area of race relations, but in general throughout our culture. Our culture is being roiled. Our society is being torn asunder. It is happening with happiness on the part of those doing the asundering. They are gleeful and feel like they have an objective to accomplish here by further division, creating angst.” THE WORDS OF RUSH LIMBAUGH.

Everyone here knows that his politics, ‘racist’ identity and general rhetoric echos that of millions of White Americans. So they too seemingly expected some atonement and washing away of sins in 2008 because a Black man was elected President. They too saddled this man with impossible expectations on race relations. And they too are now exacting a price for their asinine and impossible expectation.

Have we done the same thing with our leaders? Do we believe that 50 years is enough time for real racial change of attitudes?

BBE come for your world, do!

16. @Well Well & Consequences

Whatever your issues are you have my sympathy and I wish you a swift recovery.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Thank you Bookworm, my issues are ALL good, many days I forget which day it is, which means I dont have to care….unless I have to venture out, which is becoming mire and more rare.

I have the most loving, supportive family any gal can hope for, it’s envious.

I am truly blessed and the issues I have….I never want to recover from.

Not many females can say that…my life is one of total happiness.

18. @Dee Word

Perhaps one of the most dangerous aspects of the race debate are those who manipulate it to serve to be self serving or divisive. What we have now is that any issue can be squeeze into a race debate. This will be our challenge.

19. I see this life I lead ending upset that I didn’t clean up a mess I didn’t create.
    No money No power No peace

https://youtu.be/djv75Z5ZwTs

20. Bush Tea September 23, 2016 at 10:02 PM #

Chuckle…….Skippah,ah bak in Bim an ah dun see nuffin ain change……cepting yuh loss yuh brains greein wid wwc.

In your above diatribe the only sensible statement was the fact that all tribes were originally melanin rich,then you went down the wrong road as usual comparing albinos who lack melanin with some tribes who are melanin poor…….you sure you went Cawmere.

We in this little 2×3 island are majority Pelaus a mixture predominantly of tribes from Northern Europe and Western Africa and who dont like it tough on them…….our journey starts here and now as we cannot claim either of ancestors birthright.

Your constant confusion with the belief that pigment in a person is responsible for so called good traits or bad ones is a fallacy like your ignorant statement of something called black blood and white blood……..you do know better and just need a good cut arse from Stants to put you right.

21. Very sad to read how this debate has done nothing to uplift for betterment of a people and nation but to create further division and anomosity among the people. Even worse are those of intellectual thought who could have forwarded the debate with a mean of transcending positive goals that could have helped all to survive in a global community. So sad

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ac September 24, 2016 at 7:10 AM # based on an earlier verse of playing the ball and not the unbelievable personality of the man (or woman) I would question how you can make the following remarks with an honest and just heart.

You said “The older generation of blacks understood the way the system worked …to make life better for themselves and their children with determined set goals,these goals were simple! work hard !saving money and buying land …… An island with a predominately black population failed because of not having set goals for betterment simple goals like the older generation relied on for their survival and not because of the color of the skin,”

Black Bajans have failed? Really? The only meaningful comparison between the older generation and the current and recent generations re success is corruption and dishonesty. The corruption that you support here daily.

It’s very simple AC so please don’t attempt to conflate decency and simple hard work with your idea of life in the fast lane.

The fast lane of dishonesty that you supported when the Speaker had to be forced by the courts to fulfill his professional duties. That one-way speed way of corruption that you drove on and supported when a corrupt lawyer got the approval of a complicit and equally corrupt Minister for 10X times the fee for similar work done by another attorney.

That is what permeates our society. Folks are still working with great industry, setting solid goals and looking for their land piece of the rock but too many are cutting the corners on those highways tor success…too many are corrupt. Be honest AC…and be real!

23. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ bookworm September 24, 2016 at 6:02 AM
    “The only challenge that I have right now is how to politely tell you that this is not a statistic that I offered,it is an opinion. You understand the difference?
    You should not selectively quote in order to support a weak position, you should uase the whole quote:”
    “I find the term mixed breed just a bit pejorative but would be very surprised if there were many Bajan born who did not have both white and black ancestors. Certainly many more than the 5000 figure that you plucked out of the air”

Bookworm, you come across as a highly educated person well versed in the many disciplines of sociology, genetics and anthropology, including the specialism of the human race categorization.

But here is a simple question which you should find rather easy to answer: How would you classify Pres. Barack Obama?
    Is he of “mixed breed”, ‘mixed race’, black, white, of dual heritage or what?
    Certainly, many people refer to him as the First ‘Black’ President of the USA. Is he really black? Or is he just a man with a dual heritage of African Muslim and Christian European? Just asking??

24. RIP…To you the ‘Up and On’ members,a well known member of the Weymouth Campus,Glyne Benjamin,former deputy PMG,was called to higher service yesterday,at the QEH.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@millertheannunaki September 24, 2016 at 9:56 AM re “Is he of “mixed breed”, ‘mixed race’, black, white, of dual heritage or what?”

Regardless of Bookworm’s response can you share what difference that makes to his Presidency over these last eight years or what it meant to Blacks of whom 93% – 95% who voted placed their mark for him.

I am amused by these race debates and what exactly they portend when we all know that the concept of one drop of ‘negro blood’ making you 100% negro still resonates with many folks today.

Obama has always identified as a Black man from a white mother but we can think of him however we want; ideally it will always be as a symbol that tells us that we can in fact achieve great dreams and have the Audacity to Hope!

26. @Pedantic how would your describe sucess when with all the education most barbadians are high in debt something which the older generation avoided but rather used their small resources to invest in those things which would have been a benefit to themselves and family
    How would you define success when out of a predominately black educated society their net worth of investment in products or resources that can safeguard a reasonable way of life is almost non existent
    Having a big car or house does not mean success but cutting a path of reliabity by which all those things can be sustained
    I reference the older generation understanding of a system in that they knew the odds were against them for favourable advantage .however many did not surrender to the odds but cut through those barriers by building a comprehensive community spirit of values and building a networkof financial security upon which they could depend on

27. @ Miller

That is an interesting question. He ent white and he ent black. He is just a man who happens to be born of a “mixed race” marriage.
    It is a shame that we even ask this question. His whiteness or his blackness does not affect the man he is and we should not judge him so. By all means judge him as a president and on his policies or on if he is a fun guy down the rum shop. But all should stop judging him as a “black” president.

But to answer your question dual heritage of African (Muslim) and Caucasian (Christian) European would seem to cover it if classification is inevitable.

28. @ Vincent
    Your constant confusion with the belief that pigment in a person is responsible for so called good traits or bad ones is a fallacy like your ignorant statement of something called black blood and white blood……..
    Yuh mean you went England for six months and come back mad?
    Where did you hear Bushie say anything about white blood and black blood? …it was a reference to people like you saying so….
    …and Bushie defined ‘albino-centric’ to be a mind thing as WW&C said….

Steupsss…
    Why those English people didn’t brexit your ass we shall never know…. 🙂

29. @ Miller
    Obama could be either ‘black’ or ‘white’ depending on his centricity….. as is the case for anyone else. There are some pitch black folks who are as albino-centric as snow …and some very pale folks who are not albino-centric.

The ultimate measure, and the REAL critical divide among mankind, is about what is in our hearts. Is it selfish, greed-driven, capitalistic obsession with possessing things?
    ….or is it a community focused, selfless, loving concern for others and for the overall good of the community?

For the last 500 years at least, we know that the greed culture has dominated this world of ours – under the distinguished leadership of those who had the gold …and therefore made the rules.
    We all know what they tended to look like….
    We all know what the ‘oppressed’ tended to look like…

In the complicated period of the last 50 years or so, even though the enslaved have been ‘freed’ physically, for lack of true knowledge, they continue to aspire to the ideals of their former masters .(a mental slavery) … in an environment where those people remain past-masters at the game of ‘greed’.
    …obviously our ‘failure’ in such a game is practically guaranteed.

We are like the Israelis freed from Egypt – who, in the desert on the way to true freedom, rioted and sought to return to the slavery of Egypt – rather than to face a few temporary challenges on the way to blissful freedom….
    …and ended up smelling shiite for 40 long years…

30. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler September 24, 2016 at 11:15 AM #
    “Regardless of Bookworm’s response can you share what difference that makes to his Presidency over these last eight years or what it meant to Blacks of whom 93% – 95% who voted placed their mark for him.”

Not one ‘shit’ of a difference except that if he was a ‘white’ man from a ‘black’ mother he would have been seen as one of the greatest presidents who ever spoke loads high-sounding promises and did diddlysquat like any other great politician before.

Just look what is happening to ‘real’ black-skinned men in America of today?
    What ever happened to “I have a dream” other than MLK (and others) died for nothing, I suppose; just like Jesus.

“The only foes that threaten America are the enemies at home, and these are ignorance, superstition and incompetence.” ~ Elbert Hubbard

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent in his own mind is a bi-racial? or whatever in Barbados where he thinks there are 200,000 more bi-racials like him on the island…he does not live in the real world and believes that a little island in the middle of the Atlantic…the UK….is heaven on earth, because majority whites live there……

Not everyone on Barbados is mixed breed, mixed race, bi-racial, multi-racial etc …those who are definitively of African descent are VISIBLE and are in the MAJORITY…they do not have dark chocolate colored skins outside and fair skins inside…that does not exist….some of them may have mixed ancestry, but there is no way to tell without testing….it ain’t so because a bunch of dumb asses say it’s so….testing must be done….but African amcestry is UNMISTAKEABLE……as ya can see everywhere you turn in Barbados.

Obama knows, accepts and embraces his bi-racial existence and is comfortable in his African skin….as a black man who can live and think in both wirlds…plus he and his eife both have the education and brain power to back it up.

The 2 bit bi-racials and multi-racials on the island are as*holes…they think they are special….they live in la-la land….that is the poison of centuries of classism at play…another ism to eradicate as they die off.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

…”plus he and his wife both have the education and brain power to back it up.

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Miller, agreed “Not one ‘shit’ of a difference…”. However, let’s agree to disagree re “What ever happened to “I have a dream” other than MLK (and others) died for nothing…”.

No sir they did not. – (I’ll let Bushie and others deal with the “just like Jesus” although coming from you who disavows the ‘God element’ that’s beyond strange).

Their deaths were not in vain because a Black president slept for eight years in that White House that Black slaves built.

Because hundreds of thousands of Black folks can go where they want, eat what they like and copulate with whichever man or woman they desire and not be beaten, battered or broken at the neck.

Remember when Dr. King made that eloquent verbal journey through time with his ‘Mountaintop’ oratory and asked the Lord to “… allow me to live just a few years in the second half of the twentieth century”.

Remember he said that although , “… the world is all messed up. The nation is sick. Trouble is in the land. Confusion all around […] But I know, somehow, that only when it is dark enough, can you see the stars.”

I would say to you sir that were he alive today, he might indeed embrace THESE years at the start of the twenty-first century as his special era.

He concluded: “And another reason that I’m happy to live in this period is that we
    have been forced to a point where we’re going to have to grapple with the problems that men have been trying to grapple with through history, but the demand didn’t force them to do it. Survival demands that we grapple with them.”

No one ever said that it would be easy…and it appears that many of us actually thought that the election of President Obama meant we had reached Dr. King’s mountaintop. Absolutely not.

In fact this next push to the top – if we ever get there – will be the hardest yet.

34. black people could paint themselves white to move up

https://youtu.be/J6FThvunZ2c

35. Bush Tea September 24, 2016 at 12:15 PM #

Chuckle…..boy,yuh real hard ears doh…….

You have attributed a whole set of rubbish to me that I know nothing of and worse yet you have your pal wwc following you…….if you or anyone else would like to know my thinking simply ask the question.

What I have said here repeatedly is that we are Pelaus,that this is our home,that we owe no allegiance to anywhere or anyone else,that we have to develop pride in our land and start the process of developing our country/region to be the best in the world from the point of view of creating what the rest of the world needs,that we do not need distractions about pigment or reparations and in the final analysis unless we learn to love each other the dog dead.

36. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler September 24, 2016 at 1:47 PM

Thanks for the clarification on the MLK effect. Frederick Douglass would have been impressed with your altruistic understanding of what it means to be black in a modern enlightened America.

What you failed however to elucidate on is the phenomenon where a person who is the product of a sexual union (conjugal or otherwise) between persons of “pure” European and ‘direct’ African descent is immediately considered Black and not white.

Is the white race by extension- in its albino-centric world view- confirming Bus Tea’s thesis that the Black or African race is indeed superior in all its Royal Black colours of ethnicity?
    Bush Tea, here is your cue!

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent your thinking is just as screwed up as the dude or gal next to you….the human animal does not love absolutely. ..it’s not our nature.

Deal with that reality and then try tp pass on less social problems. …which are of mankind own making…..to your descendants.

That’s all we can hope for.

Again…..humans are animals….mammals, with all that description entails.

Everything else is pretense.

Life is not complicated. ..mankind makes it complicated…trying to reinvent a nonexistent wheel.

38. @ Bush Tea

You said and de ole man quoteth

“The ultimate measure, and the REAL critical divide among mankind, is about what is in our hearts.

Is it selfish, greed-driven, capitalistic obsession with possessing things?

….or is it a community focused, selfless, loving concern for others and for the overall good of the community?”

Sin is an individual thing Brother Bush Tea, it “inhabits” us individually yet, like the Borg, it collectively resides among us, coterminous and gregarious by its nature.

I consider all these manifestations of evil that abound, to be first like an image in us and then like a hologram projection which tries to out do itself e.g. each succession to the US Columbine massacre as each perp tries to outdo the last Malvo or whomever.

It feeds on the collective trough of TV. radio, internet, filth magazines with a self propagating metric that replicates a virus or some amoebic replication.

And since Brother Bush Tea we do not feed the latter fire of selfless loving concern, since that is an anachronism, since that is not the mantra that is projected on CBC Reporting Lies, or VOB, or Chiwawa Dog or Lil Ric, Or Fumbles Stuart or Mugabe Mottley or Owen Seymour, what we have is a practice of sin and deceit and greed and service and pursuit of the gunas of this existence.

“You cannot work at Frizzers and get paid at Content” was what my grandfather used to say all the time or “no man can have two masters for either he loveth the one and hateth the other or hateth the one and loveth the other.”

I bet you that few people here know that the Cuban Volleyball? team 5 or 7 seven of them have been locked up for raping a woman from Helsinki.

Here is the ole mans take on this Bush Tea.

These idiot whose indoctrination into sexual relationship with the other sex was by constant exposure to DEbbie Does Dallas Part 1 & 2 were so incensed by that training in the virtual world that they sought to make it happen in their real world.

I dont think we are understanding what is happening around us with all this visual filth, and how it is eroding the little constraints that we had, so that for these yutes having sex with a horse or dog or snake is “nothing but a thing” and raping a 2 year old is just an experience to be had.

The depth of this problem is lost on these leaders and doufuses that we, ingrunt swine that we are vote for every 5 years and then wonder “How the ef we get here?”

Of course you and I Bush Tea weep long tears when they come and gang rape and kill our family but what the ef, as long as it is someone else’s son or daughter from down the road, or in T&T or Amurica of Brazil or India who gives a flying “ef”?

Come let us go and have a good wuk up until the next tribe of monkeys come in…

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/barack-obama-opens-national-museum-of-african-american-history-and-culture-dedicated-to-history-of-a7328146.html

The progress and education starts when black people know who they are, understand who they are, know their history……start being comfortable in their own skin, love their own skin…then ya can move forward.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Speaking at the ceremony, Mr Obama urged African-Americans to “come here and see the power of your own agency”.”

“Mr Bush said that it was important that a nation that so valued freedom recognised that it was founded on bondage and the work of millions who were kept in chains. A great nation does not hide from its history, he said, “it faces its flaws and corrects them”.

Maybe coming from a white man, Bookworm would believe that you do not run from your history or “move on”….you embrace and understand.

“Inside, museum officials say they have nearly 3,000 items occupying 85,000 square feet of display space, including exhibits like a Tuskegee Airmen training plane and the casket of Emmitt Till, an African-American boy whose murder helped rally the civil rights movement.”

Bajans need to take greater pride in, educate themselves about and get a gretar understanding of their African history.

41. I really dont know why you getting on so WW&C!!

You is a lady and you ent supposed to be castigating we so for our lack of pride in we blackness

Whuloss here you are speaking of these 3,000 items of which “the casket of Emmett Till” numbers and which de ole man will make it he business to see when I return.

De next thing I expect you to do is to speak to the Pride and Joy that our government and its various agencies would have expressed during the fiasco officiated by Sir MySon Get Some

“THE RIGHTS and freedoms enjoyed by millions of people worldwide were made possible through the Magna Carta.

“It is for this reason, says Chief Justice Sir Marston Gibson, that the Magna Carta is important to each and every one of us who now enjoy basic freedoms.”

“Speaking during the launch of an exhibition today at the Supreme Court Complex entitled From Magna Carta to Commonwealth Charter, Sir Marston stated: “Magna Carta is important to us because it is the seed from which all of our rights and liberties that we now take for granted flow.”

The very document by which Britania divided up its domestic serfdoms at Runnymeade and then extrapolate on such divine Britannic privilege of the nobles and privileged to divide up the world is more revered in our national celebrations than Bussa, the poor mishappen mass at Upper Two Mile Hill.

Whu effing de ole man remember good, when the CTP Mark Cummins knock down Baloney House at Lears, Baloney assistant Financial Officer, a black man, went pun de air to advise that Bussa be removed forthwith.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Piece…what Marston is neglecting to say is that 800-1200 years ago had he or his ancestors dared presented their faces on the banks of the Thames, Henry VIII or one of his successors…would have whipped them all until their flesh fell off and then drowned every last one of them in the same Thames and Marston would not be here spouting rubbish today.

I hate when they misinterpret the constitution or magna carta to bullshit people…neither document was meant then or are meant now to free black people..,, they will both need to be amended and upgraded….to achieve that desired result.

I fully expect the slave Alvin to rush out and tell me off. ..just like the Maloney slave jumping out demanding the removal of Bussa on behalf of and in protection of his master Maloney’s lawbreaking activities……weak black males…the weakest link in the black race.

43. @ Piece
    Well said at 5.31 PM
    Hardly anyone understands the impact that mass media has on human behaviors.

As a result, for example, we have low-class, semi-literate DJs on radio stations playing addictive rebel music; promoting all kinds of anti-social nonsense and establishing strong beliefs in the population….especially vulnerable children…

Intelligent leadership would have been quick to recognize the POWER of such influences ..and to ensure that positive, community-centric messages were sent and that loving coexistence was promoted….

Instead,
    Fools just sit back and leave it to the 10-yrear-olds to decide what is best….

Steupsss
    Those clowns are so dense that they are probably yet to grasp the powerful impact that your ‘stoopid cartoons’ will have in their demise…..

44. bush tee

Those clowns are so dense that they are probably yet to grasp the powerful impact that your ‘stoopid cartoons’ will have in their demise…..

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

what powerful impact? even a fart have a powerful impact but sooner or later the stench dissipates and no ever remembers

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://imgur.com/gallery/9hhFq2I

Check out the views, over 4,000 and counting.

46. @Piece and WWC

It is common knowledge not only in the inner circles of history that the Magna Carta of 1215 was a deal between the king and his barons. Ergo: a contract amongst the establishment. Has absolutely nothing to do with human rights. Example: Imagine a deal between the Prime and his Cabinet that nobody is forced to go before 2018. That would be a Barbadian Magna Carta. The masses are irrelevant for such a deal.

You learn that during the first semester/trimester in every proper law school.

And by the way: John Lackland, the unlucky English king in the saga of the Magna Carta, WHY was he forced to sign the treaty?

Exactly, he had raised extensive TAXES on the barons. In other words: He had punished the establishment!

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Tron….that is what angers me when black leaders mislead and misinform the people about a british magna carta…which had nothing to do with black bajans then and has nothing to do with black bajans now. ….

And….

…..a US constitution that was designed to take away the rights of black people back then and with very few amendments that now afford blacks the same rights as everyone else since then.

I have no clue what crap black politicians like to talk in the Caribbean…it makes no sense….they need their own Caribbean Magna Carta and their own Caribbean Constitution, devoid of anyone else’s and stop piggybacking on the crap from UK and US that were never designed for blacks to enjoy any rights and has nothing to do with them…….particularly in these modern times.

Unless they plan to become fulltime dependents again.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman…ya looking handsome…the ACs are jealous…lol