Submitted by DAVID COMISSIONG, Citizen of Barbados
David Comissiong

In the editorial entitled โ€œLetโ€™s be fair with Hyatt objectionsโ€ published in the Weekend Nation of Friday the 2nd of September 2016, the Nation editorial- writer admonishes Barbadians like myself who oppose or have reservations about the proposed 15 storey Hyatt Hotel, to engage in thinking that โ€œrepresents the national interest and not personal or narrow parochial or political motives.โ€

The editorial-writer goes on to acknowledge that vacant or available beachfront land is becoming increasingly scarce in Barbados, but then insinuates that the correct response to this situation is for the โ€œregulatorsโ€ to permit the construction of multi-storey hotels or other buildings (higher than six or seven storeys) on the remaining areas of available beachfront property!

Well, I would like to totally disagree with the position of the editorial-writer, and I would like to suggest that the diametrically opposite position that I hold is actually what in the best long term interest of Barbados!ย 

My position is that there are already too many hotels and other buildings constructed on the beaches of Barbados,and that the time has come for our nation to pause and to seriously rethink this policy of permitting the construction of hotels and other permanent structures on our beaches — particularly on those beaches that qualify as truly the most outstanding and beautiful beaches or beachfront areas of our country .

As we are all aware, Barbadosโ€™ number one industry is tourism, and our number one tourism attraction is the beautiful beaches of our country! Well, isnโ€™t it a fact that we have done serious damage to the natural beauty of a vast number of the most outstanding and prized beaches of our country by permitting the construction of hotels and other buildings on these beaches?

Now, the mile long “Durban beach” in Durban, South Africa is reputed to be one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Do you know how many hotels are built on Durban beach? Not a single one! All of the hotels are located on the land side of the Durban coastal highway!

The same is true of the world famous Copacabana and Ipanema beaches in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil! Indeed, even Miami beach in Florida has a fairly generous setback limitation from the coast, with minimal tourism construction being permitted on the beach side of the coastal highway.

As a matter of fact, manyย  countries have prohibited the construction of hotels on their most prized beaches, and several countries have imposed regulations that severely restrict the height of hotels, whether such hotels are located on the beach or on the land-side of the coastal highway!

Arenโ€™t these policy positions that Barbados would do well to seriously contemplate?

Do we really want to see a Barbados in which our prized beachfront areas are inundated with giant 15 storey hotels?

Are tourists attracted to Barbados because of ultra-modern multi storey American-style hotels? Or isn’t it, rather, that they have an interest in experiencing the unique culture, heritage, social ambience and charm of Barbados and Barbadians? (And in answering this question, please refer to the fact that the single most popular tourist attraction in Barbados is the Oistins Fish Fry!)

I, for one, honestly believe that Barbados has had its fill of hotels on its most prized and popular beaches, and also its fill of foreign-owned hotels!

If it were left up to me, future tourism development in Barbados would feature and be based upon locally owned hotels and guest houses that fit snugly into our environment, and that radiate the unique hospitality, culture and charm of Barbados and Barbadians. That , to me, is what real development is all about– Barbadians doing for self and owning the most precious resources of their own country.

These views might differ from those of the Nationโ€™s editorial-writer, but I can assure him or her that they are not based on a desire to โ€œunfairโ€ anyone, nor on โ€œparochial or political motivesโ€. Rather, they derive form a desire to provoke new thinking on what is in the best long term interest of the one nation that we all share in common.

118 responses to “Comissiong Responds to Nation Newspaper Editorial – TIME TO RE-THINK POLICY OF BUILDING ON OUR BEACHES”

1. Is this the same Boots Cummins who was for Cahill? And Deltro?

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…Hilton did not need permission to huild a 15 storey building…., they just upgraded to a new hotel….you are always willing to accept the mediocre and destructive for your own people in Barbados…while sitting ya tail in Canada, where you cannot do that to Canadians. ….when they are ready to change their government in Canada again, you can only shut up and go with the flow, so shut up now and go with the flow….re Barbados. ..you cannot change the people’s mind.

You were so hot and willing to accept the negative that was the Cahill scam against ya own people, so quit playing all self-righteous now.

The people have a right to say IF a 15 storey hotel should be built on Browne’s beach…it’s not yours or your master’s in parliament decision to make without consulting the people….I don’t know who you and those retards think they are….

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah…the same hypocrite. ….Alvin Cummins who don’t see black bajans like himself as people intelligent enough to be consulted by the idiots in parliament, before decisions that affect the peopleโ€™s lives are made, he see his people as slaves to be robbed, discriminated against, mistreated and left to live in the dark ages in poverty, with no rights while being gagged and unable to speak out or stand up for their rights.

Alvin is the prime example of the educated illiterate brigade….the weakest of the black males.

4. David why don’t you understand that you and the Blp operatives who opposed the WTE project were used by the dark shadows and carpetbaggers who invaded this island in opposition to the plant .Where are there voices now in pitching their beloved environmental issues. Where are they and why haven’t they not join forces as fearless advocates to send their doom and gloom environmental message on the building of the Hyatt site.that is the burning question left behind after the smoke has cleared from the WTE site.Now the smoldering ashes has opened up relevant questions as to whose interest were these environmentalist mostly concerned.
    The truth lies hidden deep with their silent voices saying We never really cared

5. Well well, Cuba owns the majority of shares in all foreign developments there. 51% or no dice! Only the top manager can be foreign after two years. Fidel was no fool. No way was he going to let foreigners rape and pillage his people. Contrary to what ac has said, there are small family run hotels in Holguin and Santiago de Cuba, where many Bajan descendants still live and speak English. Furthermore, Cuba is the largest island in the Caribbean and one should not compare it to 2×2 Barbados with just 275,000 people. steupse

6. @Bush Tea

Did you listen to your man onair today all for the project provided the Town Planning Departmemt approves it? No mention of the lack of transparency, no mention that Inniss assured Barbadians that the project is/will be approved. No mention that multiple conditions were tagged to the approval by the CTP.

7. @bajans

You need to add the word AGAIN after pillage.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bajans…that’s the point many are missing…unlike government ministers in Barbados, the Castros will never allow local or foreign cartels or organized crime groups to rape the island and steal everything……two completely different styles of governance. …Cuba’s style much more successful and effective than Barbados’…as it relates to enriching the country…in 20 years, Cuba will be leading the Caribbean in business.

9. AC

ammmmmmm…

I ent too bright, in fact de oe man is a Neanderthal and Stoopid Poster Boy.

Ammmmmmm…

When did the country get the Bridgetown and its Garrison Designation??

De Nomination Document dat Steve Blackett sign as de den Minister of Community Development & Culture (befo’ de short me crutch Wuk Up Reveller Lil Caesar) is dated 2010.

Ammmmmmm dat wud mean dat David Come Sing a Song would, had the social advocacy initiative that is now being progressed, would have been advocating a stance based on the non-existent premise of a Non Existent UNESCO Designation

But de ole man real stupid doah…

http://imgur.com/a/ABZ85

10. well of course DAvid BU you would not want to believe or even admit to being used by the so called environmentalist carpetbaggers a pack of wolves in sheep clothing who had found good low hanging tree limbs upon which they can hang their hat and protest in their own interest albeit under the banner of the Bajan Lobby against the WTE a group which Heather and her members had endorsed and a group which has abandoned heather like spoil milk
    Yes the truth unlike milk can not spoil or be swept under a carpet where nothing would be seen .
    What is most telling that on the table regarding the hyatt issue there is some environmental concern and not even so much as a sound of a whisper out of the mouths of these environmentalist can be heard S MFH

11. millertheannunaki Avatar
    millertheannunaki

@ ac September 5, 2016 at 2:18 PM
    โ€œDavid why donโ€™t you understand that you and the Blp operatives who opposed the WTE project were used by the dark shadows and carpetbaggers who invaded this island in opposition to the plant .Where are there voices now in pitching their beloved environmental issues. Where are they and why havenโ€™t they not join forces as fearless advocates to send their doom and gloom environmental message on the building of the Hyatt site.that is the burning question left behind after the smoke has cleared from the WTE site.Now the smoldering ashes has opened up relevant questions as to whose interest were these environmentalist mostly concerned.
    The truth lies hidden deep with their silent voices saying We never really caredโ€

Well, well, ac, (both the consortium of asinine cretins and the other accredited clown called Alvin C) we have noticed you are expanding your vocabulary by not only adopting the word โ€œexuberanceโ€ but also with your newly found catchphrase โ€˜dark shadows and carpetbaggerโ€™.

The fact that you have unwittingly conflated the burial of an imaginary WTE project with the erection of a financially flaccid pie-in-the-sky tower located in the cul-de-sac of stupidity of your pea-sized brain could result in only one outcome on the DLP scorecard of performance: C & F (Corruption & Failure).

Where are the benefits which were to accrue from that sine qua non WTE project that was of vital importance to the environmental and economic survival of Bim?
    Have the destructively serious garbage problems facing Barbados disappeared now that the WTE has also done a runner?

Now that the WTE project has imploded and the SSA and the Min of Enviro is left to shell out a few millions in fees including Lowedownโ€™s cut what is going to happen to the millions of tonnes of garbage piling up around the little island? Or is there a plan afoot by your โ€˜damnedโ€™ lying party administration to open up the Greenland hole to dump the waste generated by the dreamtime creation called the Bay Street Tower of Babel?

What will be done with the thousands of dead steel donkeys (abandoned and derelict vehicles) breeding rats and mosquitoes stinking up the environmentally sensitive landscape including the pollution of its precious underground water resources?

We shall never forget Alvin Cummins bold and scientifically boastful assertion that the Cahill WTE would have been used as the inferno to turn these steel corpses into foolโ€™s gold for export to back the Bajan dollar and protect it from its inevitable devaluation.

Why not buy a few barges and โ€˜moorโ€™ them off the Carlisle bay so that the residents of the Hyatt tower can look down at the natives scavenging for plastic bags reminiscent of Alvin Cumminsโ€™ wild boy day diving for coins in the Wharf of ole.

12. Lawd hav merci. When the govt had the answer to all them questions the blp held hand with the carpetbaggers and said Hell No. Now the carpetbaggers have left town with theie tiny bundle all in tack you got nerve to come here talking about waste and what govt should do. Man get lost do yuh and yuh truck load of rubbish you call commentary. Btw the Bajan Lobby has all the answers to your questions i think they hand them to mia for safe keeping.

13. Truth is stranger than fiction who would have thought that soon after the WTE project fell apart some what in part to the high tensity and voluminous attacks carry by the toxic winds of the Bajan Lobby and cohorts splashed across a skyline of doom and gloom hoisted on a enviromental tag the real boggy man. Who would have dreamed that the Hyatt a proposed project would have all but get a passing grade with no opposition by the Bajan lobby and there enviromental friends. Well Well .Truth unlike milk does not spoil.

14. WW
    I hear you on the food and while the mid-upper Income types are more adventrous in terms of eating local and upscale the lower half think McDonalds should be on every corner. Aruba has 900+ Room hotels like Holiday Inn and other big name brands, Bim should have had them all years ago.

15. millertheannunaki Avatar
    millertheannunaki

@ ac September 5, 2016 at 4:35 PM
    โ€œLawd hav merci. When the govt had the answer to all them questions the blp held hand with the carpetbaggers and said Hell No.โ€

Your Lord will have mercy when you stop telling lies and repent.
    So ac, if your deceitful lying party administration had โ€œthe answer to all of them questionsโ€ why do they keep asking for solutions? Why not execute the solutions by implementing the programmes you are good at copying from others? Only goes to prove how ineffectually weak the so-called ruling administration has become.

Ac, when is your administration going to open up the Greenland garbage pond and privatize the SSA?

BTW, the forlorn residents of the West Coast are still wishing and hoping the much promised West Coast Sewage project will get off the ground instead of it being treated as an embryo washed down the drain of empty rhetoric.

16. Artax,

What a good put down of ac…….who sounds very much like Irene! You destroyed her with facts.

To get rid of Mrs Irene…….just mention bandit chaser and she will run like “sick nigger tail”.

But look who we have running this country!

17. Artax
    Your response to my comments makes you sound like a semi-literate millennial.
    Tourism is a serious subject studied continuously by economists, sociologists, and anthropologists, as well as by accounting, marketing and management professionals.
    Hundreds of scholarly articles are published in academic journals every year on the subject, and hundreds of students write graduate theses or doctoral dissertations to earn degrees on the basis of tourism research.
    When I write a statement about American tourist behaviour for this thread, I am not expressing a random thought that has entered my head. I am summarizing research findings published in hundreds of scholarly books and journals. The information is familiar to many people who have studied the vast tourism literature. Only irreverent novices to the subject would ask me to present supporting evidence.
    Do a little reading sometime.

18. It looks like it is not only on the beach side that people are objecting to building, but in today;s Nation we read of the Trinidadian, Elias, who owns Andrews Plantation Great House,an edifice which was born out of sugar production, is reinforcing his objection to the building of a super factory on the old Andrews Sugar Factory site. His claim that the St Joseph area is a water scarce community does not apply to him, and the other big knobs a stone throw away at the upscale Andrews Round Hill Community, where the Central Bank governor resides. As indicated in a previous thread, this privilege lot was connected, by the Ministry of Water Resources / BWA , to the abandoned main from Golden Ridge to the now defunct Andrews Sugar Factory, and probably recently, to the well recently discovered in Sweet Vale. On a visit to St Joseph last week, while my relatives and friends were out of water for days, a BWA employee was seen in the Indian Pond area, at knocking off time, washing his hands from a gushing hydrant, spraying water all across Auburn Road.
    Mr Elias’s peeve may have very little to do with environmental and health issues, but to ensure that the sale price of his multi-million dollar empire is not devalued , due to the erection of a nearby unsightly sugar factory.
    Its a pity that Bajans in the St joseph area would join with Mr Ellis to baulk the building of a super sugar factory, when for many ,many years they stood idly by, while residents ,immediately downwind, in the communities of Fisherpond and Russia in St Thomas, suffered silently. If any objections are to come against the erection of a sugar factory on the old Andrew’s site , these are the people who should mostly given a listening to.

19. @ chad99999

And I guess your response to my highlighting the contradictions in your contributions makes you believe you possess the patent for intelligence.

Why would you find it offensive if you are asked to present supporting evidence to substantiate the shiite you wrote? Unless you are actually โ€œexpressing a random thought that has entered (your) head, or you are of the opinion others are beneath your level of intelligence.

If the latter is the case, perhaps you are reading the โ€œintelligence ratingsโ€ upside down.

You need to grow up and act like a man.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I heard that MoneyB. …

21. Colonel Buggy, does this Elias person know that that factory was there before he bought the house? Why, he is a new comer and want to upset the apple cart? There was always a factory at Andrews, and after they closed Joes River, that is where our canes went to be ground. wuh who he tink he is.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That’s all the minority population on the island do.., cause they are allowed to by the politicians who are so impressed them…they alloe them to say what should happen on the island, allow them to plan the fate and future of the majority without their knowledge or consent…plans that are ALWAYS negative and NEVER benefit the majority. ..this is allowed by the educated illiterates in parliament.

23. Prodigal Son September 5, 2016 at 6:05 PM #

Artax

What a good put down of acโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

Prodigal you need to put down the dam rum bottle you friggin drunkard

24. It is absolutely amazing how some of you abuse an opportunity to discuss serious issues. The idiocy is to observe you doing it as anonymous people.

25. @ Moneybrain, Cuba is 256 times the size of Barbados. It has much more beaches in comparsion to Barbados. One can hardly presume that there is little recreational space. They can build hotels as large as they want. With only 166 square miles one has to property utilise every square inch because land mass is not growing.

26. @ac where is the Hyatt business model working?

27. Heather September 5, 2016 at 9:10 PM #

@ac where is the Hyatt business model working?

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

are you serious? get a read of Hyatt port folio that would be indicator of how and why the hyatt business model has worked over twenty years
    The planning involved is massive which goes beyond a commercial marketing strategy but a unique framework which prioritize and appreciated the importance of human value to its success

28. @ac I am serious. You did not answer the question. WHERE is their business model working? In the Caribbean?

29. This Hyatt project will end up like the Four Seasons, mark my words. I happen to pass down there today and I am sure having stayed in a Four Seasons Resort, they certinly would not be pleased to see their logo on falling down paling.

Why is it that every project Mark Maloney does is on lands belonging to the taxpayers of Barbados? This government would certainly not give up taxpayers’ lands to poor black businessmen to start any project, that’s for sure. Dont we black people have ideas that merit this same sweet treatment?

Coverley……….our land
    Hard Rock……….on our land
    Highway projects…..on our land
    Grotto…………on our land

And now…………..Hyatt, on our land.

When will this nonsense stop?

30. Heather one in jamaica one in Aruba one schedule which most likely will open in St, kitts the possibility of the ST kitts hyatt opening is real and three in mexico

https://stkitts.park.hyatt.com/en/hotel/home.html

31. Prodigal why dont you carry yuh drunken a,ss back to bed talking sh,t all the time nuttin you say in that dumb comment has a solution to the decay of bridgetown Yaddie Yaddie

32. Heather
    I was just troubling DC cause I know how much he loves Cuba’s political leanings. Like I said and will stick to until death—it is all about Profit/ visitor being very high, we dont need more people on this island, we need more $$$$$$$$$$$$$. Bermuda and Aruba are smaller islands and I believe they conduct their Marketing efforts in a more strategic way.

33. @ac Park Hyatt falls under citizenship by investment programme. It is not owned by Hyatt. Probably some rich Russian.

34. @ac this is beginning to sound alot like the Cahill Scam. Was the Hyatt shopping in the Eastern Caribbean for management opportunities? Vision Development ” hear” of this though the government and cooked up this plan?

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85196/prince-harry-coming-independence

What an opportunity for the pimps and yardfowls to fall over trying to out do themselves and each other…kissing ass….lol

What a collossal waste of taxpayer’s money.

36. Good to mention Grotto. I really hope the Hyatt would get a better standard then that crap which is said to be sold for 450,000 BBD each! A tiny third-rate flat for the price of a proper house in Canada or Europe. So, how much is the Hyatt then, provided it should be first-rate quality? A billion BBD? And: how much from the Bimbadim taxpayer?

I should really start my own hardware store … Of course, not selling this third Chinese rate crap. … First, free A/C for AC ;), second the deal ๐Ÿ˜‰

37. Wanted to draw attention to the fact that tiny Aruba, which is less than half the size of Barbados, and has just one-third the population, hosts a million stayover tourists a year. Compare that number to the less than 600,000 stayovers recorded last year in Barbados. Aruba relies on a lot of US-branded hotels.
    Support the Hyatt project.

38. @chad999999

You should explain that Aruba like Bahamas has an agreement with US Homeland Security to do pre clearance of travellers to the US. That helps doesn’t it?

39. Barbados leading realtor has a problem with the proposed height of the Hyatt.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85213/sir-paul-concerned-about-hyatt-height >

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

interesting remark @ David at 4:54 AM but that’s very much a chicken and egg situation. And in this case I would surmise – in the absence of research – that the egg was the large volumes of tourists who flocked there that hatched the relationship between USCIS/Homeland and Aruba.

Aruba pays almost every cent for those officers surely.

And although this is a family friendly site (LOLLLL) I would also quietly add that beautiful, sedate, upscale and exciting Aruba also has the lovely sister island Curacao which ‘quietly’ advertises their ‘Adult Resort Campos’.

Those locales are the perfect example of pristine family based (dare I say, ruling Dutch white) fun and relaxation coupled with just the right mix of naughty!

An acceptable but arguably yet disparate comparison to Bim tourism.

41. Aruba came on to tourism in the 80’s when their oil refining facilities took a hit.They turned to tourism and more importantly CASINO operations.Now if Tom had lived,a certain hotel that is here in Barbados with connections in Aruba,was making moves to establish a casino here with the approval of Tom.Most will recall after Tom’s passing,one of the first things Bree said was there was to be no casino gambling in Barbados because the church had agitated against it.So that the real secret of the success of Aruba,Bermuda and Bahamas tourism rests with the casino attraction and so will Cuba when it gets going again.All this talk about brand name hotels is secondary.Its the casinos that is the drawing card to these locations.
    Bajans need to wake up and smell the coffee.I was in Aruba in the early 80’s and was given the royal treatment when the hotelier heard where I was from.I toured and observed the operation of those casinos.I had no interest in them but the GM of the hotel seem to have thought to impress me was to ‘make straight the way’ for his hotel in Barbados.Hyatt is welcome to Barbados but not at that location on Bay,nor do we need the arrogance of its management dictating outdated employment practices.Sandals is a classic example of loss of foreign earnings from tourism.Butch Stewart is bad news to the Consolidated Fund.

42. Barbados is 40 years behind other Caribbean islands and the rest of the world, when it comes to tourism. The island only offers sand, sun and rum. Nothing else. No gambling, no water park, no theme park. Simply boring for tourists.

So, the church was against a casino. What is the church in Barbados doing to improve this country beside hot air and outdated hollow speeches? Nothing, exactly. The pastors still live in the 1950s.

If this goes on, we end up with 10 all-inclusive-hotels and 50 burger-restaurants where the masses work for 5 dollars the hour after university to pay off their debts. The politicians will call it success, I call it postcolonial misery.

The destruction of this country starts at the airport where tourists come in. Have you ever been at the immigration at airport? Feels like North Korea. Waiting 15 minutes in the line. No warm welcome, but officers obviously pissed off by tourists. Welcome in Barbados!

43. Gabby,
    The real problem is Government DAMAGEMENT!

All problems have solutions waiting to be implemented.
    Church does not like gambling—-place gambling for tourists only ie like Singapore U MUST have your foreign Passport to gain entry! My wife and I tested this on many occasions. Cameras will moitor this just as they do in the casino for “cheaters.”

Tom loved playing Poker, tis true.

44. Anyone who disputes your assertion should check the local media where head of the BTPI is quoted that our product offering is tired.

45. When we have reached the stage where the debate is about how much more of our asse(t)s we should be putting up for sale ….we KNOW that it is already to late for us…

Not satisfied with the ‘sea and sun’ segment of ‘tourism’, and not getting enough of the ‘lonely rich women’ seeking a compliant beach bum..
    We now need to go after the compulsive gamblers..
    How about the growing ‘gay’ travellers?
    How about those who want to do their drugs without fear of the law…
    …and at what stage will we seek out the big money launderers?
    …and wonder what a big-wig underworld target would pay to hide out here..?
    What a straight and wide road to disaster…

It is CERTAINLY easier than the narrow and winding road of having to pool our limited resources, put our most talented people forward, and INNOVATE and CREATE successful products and services to ensure our survival …and to create a legacy for our children.

The problem with getting deeper and deeper into prostitution is that the path back to respectability is increasingly overgrown with massive obstacles…..

46. @ Gabriel

Excellent contribution!!!!!

You have exposed chad99999 as the โ€œsemi-literate millennialโ€ and โ€œirreverent noviceโ€ he is.

And you also provided a perfect example of how an island was able to successfully diversify its economy, moving from oil to tourism.

47. We still have Nude Beaches as an option.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Of course Paul Altman will voice his concern, though it’s not genuine…he wanted to build shite in the sea to accomodate the jews he was planning to flood Barbados with…..to create the same damage and destruction they are allowed to get away with in Palestine….to practice their system of apartheid….racism and nastiness.

Paul Altman and Peter Harris are close business buddies….there is business competition between them and Bizzy and Maloney to see who could rape the island thh most.

All of that flies way above the heads of the educated illiterates sitting in the people’s parliament. ….they are too impressed by the local white collar criminals and want to be too much like them….to even understand the plays.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“โ€ฆand at what stage will we seek out the big money launderers?”

The Bushman…ya already got the medium size money launderers, some named above…..that ain’t enough for you….lol

What “path back to respectability” what….that usually takes over 200 years and even then…..someone would have written it down somewhere, or save the information on a memory stick. …as a lesson learned for the next 6 generstions to read.

The US can tell ya all about that.

50. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“I call it postcolonial misery.”

And that is exactly what it has been for 50 years….it now has nowhere to turn….it has been exposed.

The churches in Barbados started out hypocritical and when they are forced to close their doors one of these centuries….they will close them as hypocrites.