Bridgetown

Barbados, BB11157

robertd.lucas@gmail.com

2nd September, 2018

Barbados Underground

Bridgetown, Barbados

West Indies

Dear Sir/Madam,

Recently, there has been a hue and cry in the local media about the use of Cassava flour

In the manufacture of baked goods Barbadians seem to want to re-invent the wheel. The use of composite flours (wheaten flours plus cassava flour for examples) in the manufacture of bread has been practiced as early as the 1950’s and 1960’s (Kim JC and de Ruiter D. “Bread from non-Wheat Flours”. Food Technology. 1968. 22:7: 767-787 and “Bread from Composite Flour”.1969. FAO Technical Bulletin.. Indeed in the last century, there was much talk about import substitution, the saving of foreign currency and the development of indigenous agricultural and food–processing industries in developing countries. As a result in 1977 when I started my PH.D research at St. Augustine Campus, composite flour was the buzz word in Barbados. The late Professor of Food Technology, George M. Sammy asked me what area of research I was interested in. I told him that composite flour seemed to be a good idea, since I had already done quite a bit of research on fruit juices and wanted to change my research interest. Prof. Sammy laughed and told me that composite flour had been beaten to a frazzle.

All of the baking conditions for bread from composite flours have documented by Kim and de Ruiter and the FAO Technical bulletin and other more recent publications. A perusal of the literature teaches one how to overcome problems with the loaf volume and dough strength. The ratio of Cassava flour to wheaten flours is also documented.

There has also been some talk about the Ministry of Agriculture doing research on Cassava varieties. In the late 1970’s and early 1980’s numerous variety of Cassava were imported from South America for the same purpose that is being talked about today. It seems that we are on a merry go round in this island

Sincerely

Robert D. Lucas, PH.D., CFS.

Food Biotechnologist.

69 responses to “Dr.Robert Lucas’ View on Flours”

1. Thank you for the submissions Dr. Lucas, will update the others within the next 24 hours. Educating those who frequent the social media space is a never ending task.

2. David you deserve a medal for the content and variety of stories.

3. It has been pointed out many times that the Caribbean does not have capable businessmen who can turn relatively new technologies into profitable enterprises. The ingenuity and discipline are not there.
    That is why the government needs to take selected entrepreneurs by the hand and systematically teach them every step of the process of creating and managing new business ventures from scratch.
    Not an easy feat to manage politically. Very hard to pick “winners” anyway.
    Arthur Lewis gave the political class a list of the industries they should be developing. That was 50 years ago. But democracy is a terrible thing. It elevates leaders who are almost always amiable dunces.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Chad 99999

This is possibly your most profound piece posting here on Barbados Underground ever.

Eight lines of “encapsulated genius”

I will create a flier for this.

Our successive Administrations of alternating cretins comprise aimiable dunces.

It is to these characters that the serious job of running a government in our one horse economy falls.

These are they who are tasked, incredibly, with the task of “selectively choosing the million dollar ideas that will drive the economy of the cuntry and consequently this is the substantive and insidious reason that we are doomed to fail.

The indigenously birthed import substitution idea as touted here by Dr. Lucas, it on its surface seemingly a sound concept that would thrive at the Compete Caribbean Innovation fund of the InterAmerican Development Bank as a pan Caribbean symbiotic project where ultimately the product would be augmented by cassava from othe Caricom Member States.

Ph.D. In ’77 place Dr Lucas in his 60’s and would suggest that he is part of the Georgie Porgie Afflicted persons cadre or a man despised because he too bright and definitely is brighter than the amiable dunces and their appointed “decides”

In summary local talent encounters “amiable dunces augmented by a layer of incompetent or grudge full minded or vision less aides, appointed by the same, or previous amiable dunces” which as you know spells repetitive disaster

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The problem with us, as a people, and a people who wants the world to believe that we understand business is that we do not understand the intricacies of running and maintaining business operations and the capitalising on opportunities when they come a calling. If we understood, I am sure that casava and breadfruit flour would be on supermarket shelves since yesteryear with an already establish export niche due to demands. We are well versed at talking business but not doing the business. Fifty years later, square one still remains square.

6. Marketing Opportunities for cassava based products:An Assessment of the Industrial Potential in Kenya

Prof. Edward E. KaruriProf Samuel K. MbuguaDr. Joseph KarugiaKelly WandaJohn Jagwe
    February 2001
    University of Nairobi, Department of Food Science Technology and NutritionFoodnet / International Institute of Tropical Agriculture

http://www.academia.edu/3324126/Marketing_Opportunities_for_cassava_based_products_An_Assessment_of_the_Industrial_Potential_in_Kenya

7. @chad99999

Caribbean government you mean? Governments who have repeatedly demonstrated how inefficient and indiscipline they are? How is this possible? How many guarantee funds we have not fully utilized and at the same time SMEs operate seriously compromised read under capitalized? Then we turn to policy. Policy formation is always heavily influenced by networks relationships and all matters not related to the rubric of creating a relevant business climate.

8. Thanks Kammie, we try with the help of the family.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I gitta agree with the Doc…cassava flour is the way to go, gluten free, high in potassium and votamin C…I know I eat it every chance I get….and an exportable commodity, because it grows so well in Barbados, when the crop thieves are not stealing acres of them…shoot those thieves i say.

This would be a very good export business for the island, lead by the majority, not the greedy, thiefing, jump in front everything…minority business oeople.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

…”a people who wants the world to believe that we understand business is that we do not understand the intricacies of running and maintaining business operations and the capitalising on opportunities when they come a calling.”

Particularly the government ministers, they are as dumb as rocks and always need a white or other minority to point out the obvious to them, when the small businessman or woman, roadside vendor etc are better informed about the dynamics needed to start and maintain a business venture, they are never given the opportunity by government deadheads, because they are seen as nobodies.

11. Cassava and breadfruit are actually on the supermarket shelves. The problem for most is the price. But I think they waste more money on nonsense than it would cost them to buy the cassava flour. I am never without my cassava flour.

12. That should be “cassava and breadfruit flour”.

13. I thought chad9999 was out of his mind writing about thes governments we have in the Caribbean teaching anybody anything other than how to be corrupt.
    I heard a news story on the BBC yesterday indicating Grenada is making strides in the production of high quality cocoa now fetching US$5000.00 a tonne.Why do we not use our land resource to uplift agriculture to a level which adds to our GNP.

14. Let us not forget the sweet potato and what is possible with the by-products. To be fair a few of the restaurants have been offering customers the option of ordering sweet potato meals instead of English potatoes. However, we have the problem of praedial larceny. ARMAG the farm leading on sweet potato production has been hard hit.

15. Bob is right – as usual, but Bushie’s simple question is “What stopped him from exploiting this unlimited potential after completing his impressive education four decades ago?”.

In the Bushman’s humble opinion, there are probably not 10 people in the region more qualified than he, to convert this concept into a major global industry….
    What has Bob been busy doing with his expansive knowledge? …or what has been the barriers?

It does not take a PhD to work out that we in this region have been talking a roll of shiite on a variety of subjects while doing f***-all….. even AC can see this…

But what exactly is it that has prevented a clearly brilliant Bajan from actualising such a clear potentiality (..or any of the dozens of other ideas that come so naturally to a great mind)…?

16. I can confirm that Gabriel is correct with reference to the BBC report on the cocoa industry in Grenada. Apparently we in the caribbean produce the highest quality chocolate in the world. Ghana’s cocoa industry has recently become blighted due to a disease/fungus that has caused major destruction to this industry.

Gabriel, i have been searching for this link by the BBC but i’m unable to locate it. The journalist i believe who reported the above story was a Nick Davis (Jamaican parentage).

Found it! I tried this morning without success. It must have just gone on.

https://www.grenadachocolate.com/grenada-chocolate-featured-on-bbc-radio-4-pm-news-programme/

17. It is up to the University of the West Indies to carry out research that will benefit our region. However we all know but that institute is inept and not fit for purpose.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Like everything else on the island UWI is too political, just 50 years and the island is saturated with political idiots.

Another hardy crop that grows very well on the island as well is Kale…..well known for controlling certain NCDs…,, this should also be promoted, extremely high in well needed vitamins and antioxidants.

Fantastic for export…..if ya had intelligent government ministers and a less self-serving business sector who need to remove their focus from sucking on the taxpayers/local consumers…only.

Burger King and Chefette will end what remains of good health on the island.

19. @ David
    “….however, we have the problem of praedial larceny.”
    Praedial larceny is not a “problem”. It is a simple fact of life – like vehicle accidents, the flu, slipping on wet surfaces and the occasional accidental fart.

The ‘PROBLEM’ is the brass bowl JAs who seem incapable of thinking sensibly.

Don’t we set speed limits, use ABS, enforce traffic rules and insist on good tyres to control traffic accidents?
    Don’t we place signs, and walk carefully – with proper shoes on wet surfaces?

The difference between humans and brass bowl animals is that we are expected to THINK and RESPOND logically to challenges…. not make lame excuses.

Listen the the Shiite-hound (formally referred to as a pit-bull) to see what the ‘problem’ is…
    Listen to the various officials from the Ministry of Agriculture to see the ‘problem’..
    Listen to Froon to see the ULTIMATE problem

…Don’t listen to Adriel the AG though…. he is such a brass bowl female rabbit that you may be tempted to eliminate that particular problem….. JA!!

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Thanks Donna for reminding me…breadfruit, another solid and very healthy food staple, plant more breadfruit trees, one of my too many sons-in-law from Asia, when he visited was so fascinated with the breadfruit and other local foods which are phenomenal.

21. Sweet potato flour is also on the supermarket shelves.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Grenada is said to have the best quality cocoa pods in the world, supplying, exporting the commodity that produces the highest quality chocolates…..

….. some dude from the US had revitalized and rebuilt the industry, but he has since died…I hope the government did not let the industry die with him and kept funding the growers…ya can pick a pod from the side of the road…their soil is so good.

23. @Bush Tea

We are saying the same thing. A system to register producers, certify sellers etc. While it will not eliminate certainly reduce and help to deter.

@Exclaimer

The UWI is not a research university. It calls for funding to do worldclass research. The UWI cannot even pay its teaching staff at the moment.

24. At the rate that we are heading there will be little agricultural land available for us to exploit in food production and all its related activities. But don’t worry we will have houses fit for billionaires complete with swimming pools; and a shoreline decked out with hotels and apartments. That’s the way to go people.

All it takes is for somebody to implement the research work that has been carried out since time and memorial and then to implement the relevant policies for all. Now how difficult should that be?

25. @ David,

Then disband it!

What purpose does it serve if it is not of benefit to the wealth of the country. Develop scholarships whereby the students may study abroad.

26. @ David,

“World class research” what!

27. @ David

This posting is a metaphor of why we have failed as a nation:

We have become a nation of sheep led by donkeys.

28. @ Donna
    You name it …and the flour is available to those who want it.
    That is not the issue.

The issue is related to the MARKETING and promotion of the asset. The issue is the mindset of Bajan brass bowl leaders who continue to import INFERIOR wheat products while barely tolerating LOCAL, superior, (more suitable for our health) products.

The authorities do this by penalising farmers, ignoring issues such as praedial larceny, encouraging IMPORTERS and frustrating manufacturers.

Take a look in your supermarket – EVERY SHIITE contains wheat flour….
    Do you think this is an accident? This is marketing and promotion by OTHERS who don’t give a shiite about our health or wealth…
    Do we grow wheat flour?
    Is celiac disease not a MAJOR issue for many (most) blacks?

Why is there not a HEALTH levy in Barbados on ALL items containing wheat products to offset the additional pressure placed on the QEH by the promotion of such products?
    Do you think all those fat, arthritic, unhealthy Bajans result from some coincidence…?

Why is there not a tax refund for items substituting HEALTHY local alternatives like cassava, sweet potato and yams?

WHY???

Because brass bowls tend to at best reflect what they see around them..and seem UNABLE to promote their own best interests…

29. @ Exclaimer …re UWI
    Then disband it!
    What purpose does it serve if it is not of benefit to the wealth of the country. Develop scholarships whereby the students may study abroad.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Yuh think!!!

Or at the VERY least, RADICALLY restructure it with clear objectives in mind….

But to continue with the expensive and useless 1960’s model ….
    is the very ultimate is brass bowlery…

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

You asked, and I quote “But what exactly is it that has prevented a clearly brilliant Bajan from actualising such a clear potentiality (..or any of the dozens of other ideas that come so naturally to a great mind)…?”

I shall be your Huckleberry…

1.”who de ef is you? Whu is you pedigree? Who you fad dah and mudda scvunt?
    2.”wait…where de ef he get dat idea from?”
    3.”dem doing dat in Amuricans? Whu ef Amuricans ent got dat it cyan wuk!!!”
    4.”where is my cut?”
    5.”can we teif de idea from dat po’ black effers from Marl Hole, Martindales Road?” Can we get he ingrunt scvunt to detail the specifications so I P Harris can copy his document in its entirety and the pn try to teif it or we, the effing board members of this government agency can tek the confidential shyte and replicate it under your nose?
    6.”wait, you mean dat if I give you dis grant dat you gine be a multimillionaire in six months and my black ass gine still be de CEO at EGFL wukking fuh this piece uh chicken salary? Not pun my watch!!!

And the one which cliches it all

7.”What de ef you talking bout? Whu I is de minister AND MORE IMPORTANTLY I IS DE DECIDER, and I don’t understand what you talking bout? Whu dis embarrassing me and you embarrassing me, application denied.

Do you want me to go further?

Should de ole man detail how, when you overseas how them does try to denigrate you cause you as a black man got more smarts Dan dem but dem gots de money???

You want me to detail the succinct racism?

Do you want me to detail the black/black mistrust? The albino centric practices?

Do you want de ole man to talk bout de problems you accent does cause when you talking to other nationalities?

Do you want me to go on?

Do you want me to say that when you move out of the $50k dollar investments to the $5 and $10 million investments that (a) the chicken shit local investors baulk (b) dat dem ent in that category (c) dat is too much money for you?

Dat you tinking too big!!!

You really ent serious this morning though but you doing the “advocate” thing to provoke discussion and to increase the number of hits pun de BU website.

I going and lef dis discussion cause I going cuss and den say too much here and expose who my black ass is a fifth time lololol

WE ARE NOT READY BUSH TEA, WE ARE THE SCOURGE OF THE WORLD, A NATION, RATHER A 95 percentile, CURSED BY GOD FOR SOMETHING AKIN TO KILLING ABEL OR SOMETHING LIKE SINNING AGAINST THE HOLY GHOST.

Cum let uh just go and wuk up and have a good time

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, thank you for your 6:26 AM. I paused after reading Chad45’s post on Dr Lucas’ piece. I was then also taken aback by the BU sage @Piece agreeing with Chad’s utterly counter-intuitive remark. I always understood that private enterprise charts the path for the innovative growth and development soaring upward ever and that governments provide the tarmac for those flights. Although the small markets of our island(s) do require some special dispensation by Governments to get things moving there is no credible industry segment which should (or can) be sustained as he has said.

In his statement, the great minds who have studied law and debating and economics and have never operated even a coconut water stand are charged with the responsibility to “systematically teach them every step of the process of creating and managing new business ventures from scratch.” That is absurd.

Dr. Lucas has bluntly exposed the issue that plague us too often in our small economies: an ample ability of mental acuity to define and research the problem and then talk it to frigging death.

Mr. Bush Tea you know full well that the ambitions and personality attributes that make one a PhD graduate are similar but yet fundamentally different to those that get an entrepreneur energized to develop and grow a business.

The question I would ask coming out of Dr Lucas’ piece is was there no business case for Hill Manufacturing or any other locals to embrace the long ago talk of composite flours and develop the product as a viable ‘cash cow’ as a healthier alternative.

I hear the critiques above but I am not grasping how the critics are conflating academics with entrepreneurship, coupled with small market economies and too the bureaucratic government officialdom and reaching their conclusions.

And how long ago did Carmeta Fraser pass away!!! I recall her advancing sweet potato fries (or chips if you are UK based). Some years back I was most impressed when I was able to get that exact threat at a Burger King (or maybe it was a Wendy’s). Carmeta would be pleased, surely. Took forever to go main stream, but heh as they sorta say: all good things….are on a merry go round in this island.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece….it’s a curse of their own making on themselves, it’s called a nasty, stinking, petty, bad mind.

I have to keep talking about this parent who called Ronald Jones regarding a scholar who was studying a certain advanced,, relatively new.., at that time…. and fail proof discipline at a top university.

Jones response was one for the ages, when told the name of the discipline. …”wuh is that” Jones declares…, and that is from the Minister of Education.

Barbados’ loss….North America’s gain….because of the petty minded idiots ya have for government ministers…, and those posing as professionals in those pits of vipers and crabs for statutory boards, lending agencies.

I would bet my last dollar Jones still does not know the extent of what that student studied, accomplished or the continuing success.

Just dont carry ya business plan to any of them, try finding an outside source of funding, even if ya have to partner with someone outside the island….stay away from those thieves and dream killers.

33. David,

The system was been devised at least ten years ago. No

34. was devised

35. No follow up.

Sorry. Lack of sleep.

36. With Haynesley Benn, James Paul et al in the DLP one would have thought this government would have been able to come up with a coherent policy in the last 8 years. Same old.

37. I know. The average idiot waits for somebody to tell them what’s good for them. And to kick them in the backside to get them to start doing it.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…they are lazy and useless, a white Canadian is finally down there to sell them the use of the sun……but the sun is free….lol

39. We can compare with what obtained in the former Barbados we knew before the ultimate azoles like fumble was chosen by the poor rakey party to be primatus supremus.Think like Wynter Crawford.

40. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Donna

Is this flour really on Barbadians retail shelves? I asked my peeps and they say they did not see it in Supercentre Massi, Pricemart, Shopsmart, Carlton and A1 etc. However, they told me that it can be found in BMC shop on Princess Alice Highway.

41. @Bush Tea
    Why is there not a HEALTH levy in Barbados on ALL items containing wheat products to offset the additional pressure placed on the QEH by the promotion of such products?
    ++++++++++
    Why is there not a shite talk tax in Barbados so that you Croesus can go broke? Doesn’t every item in the supermarket contain sodium or sugar which are more detrimental to Bajans? Why not a health levy on those items? Show me the statistics that show that most blacks are affected with celiac disease? Aren’t many blacks affected by lactose in milk? Let’s ban cows.

For a self-promoting Biblical scholar you should be familiar with Ecclesiastes which has a verse containing the words about “nothing new under the sun” and people have been using some version of cassava flour for millennia the difference here is that Dr. Lucas wrote about the subject and people here want the Gov’t to set up Cassava plantations.

The knee jerk response to articles is overwhelming.

42. Carlton and A one should have it. Emerald City does for sure. They are all side by side on the shelf.

43. @ Sargeant
    Truly…This morning, Bushie just don’t feel like engaging a small-minded NCO who routinely drinks Canadian recycled piss for water….. so get thee behind Bushie’s donkey…

@ Piece
    EXACTLY right in your summary of why our talented people like Lucas are UNDER-UTILISED.
    In REAL countries, people like him are practically CONSCRIPTED and FACILITATED to success that benefits himself…and the whole country.

What is really amazing is that Wynter Crawford, (Bushie’s PERSONAL HERO), an ordinary born and bred Bajan of Cawmere extraction, was able to operate at such a HIGH level at the beginning of our national journey, while here we are, 50 years on …with a pack of monkeys doing shiite – aided and abetted by some overseas lackies who moved to albino-land to lap up their left-overs and imbibe their recycled piss….

However we look at the matter, it HAS to be the collective fault of ordinary Bajans who have allowed ourselves to so obviously REGRESS developmentally …that we are now in imminent danger of being exactly back where we were in the old plantation days….

When we can have persons like Kammie seeing the ‘value’ of encouraging the absentee owners of Hyatt to come and establish their 21st century plantation so that a few hundred room-cleaners, waiters and yard boys can be established on the plantation…. just like back in the days of olde…

Crawford must be pissing himself with rage….
    especially at Kammie (no one expects anything more from the NCO….)

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr. Bush Tea you know full well that the ambitions and personality attributes that make one a PhD graduate are similar but yet fundamentally different to those that energize an entrepreneur to develop and grow a business.

The question I would ask coming out of Dr Lucas’ piece is was there no business case for Hill Manufacturing or any other locals to embrace the long ago talk of composite flours and develop the product (with his expert guidance) as a viable ‘cash cow’ as a healthier alternative.

I hear the critiques above but I am not grasping how the critics are conflating academics with entrepreneurship, coupled with small market economies and too the bureaucratic government officialdom to reach their conclusions.

BTW, you too love to attack when you ‘lost for words’.

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Dr. Lucas has bluntly exposed the issues that plague us too often in our small economies: an ample ability of mental acuity to define and research the problem and then talk it to frigging death.

I paused after reading Chad45. I was then also taken aback by the BU sage @Piece agreeing with Chad’s utterly counter-intuitive remark. It has long been held that private enterprise charts the path for the innovative growth and development of soaring upward ever and that governments provide the tarmac and process for those flights.

Although the small markets of our island(s) do require some special dispensations by Governments to get things moving in some industries there is no credible industry segment which should (or can) be sustained as he has said.

According to the blogger, the ‘great minds’ who have studied law and debating and economics and often have never operated even a coconut-water stand are charged with the responsibility to “systematically teach them every step of the process of creating and managing new business ventures from scratch.”

That befuddles commonsense.

46. @Bush Tea
    That’s the best you can do? Yuh powder wet

How about a health levy on demon rum, think of all the misery it has produced over the years, brek up relationships, abused women and children, absenteeism, loss of production, cirrhosis of the liver and other medical maladies and de list goes on, yuh keep blaming “Brass bowls” yuh certain de culprit ain’t rum?

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

And finally, let’s recall the voice of Ms Fraser! I recall her advancing sweet potato fries (or chips if you are UK based).

Some years back I was most impressed when I was able to get that exact threat at a Burger King no less (or maybe it was a Wendy’s). And of course there are also in the chilled section of the grocery story.

Took forever to go fully main stream, but heh as they sorta say: all good things….are on a merry go round in this island.

Carmeta would still be pleased, surely.

48. Hill Milling was approached years ago by the BADMC. Don’t know what happened to that.

49. Sargeant September 3, 2016 at 10:10 AM #

Yours is an excelent post

1 Why is there not a shite talk tax in Barbados so that you Croesus can go broke?

2 Show me the statistics that show that most blacks are affected with celiac disease? Aren’t many blacks affected by lactose in milk? Let’s ban cows. so we can get lots

3 For a self-promoting Biblical scholar—–well described

4 clesiastes which has a verse containing the words about “nothing new under the sun” and people have been using some version of cassava flour for millennia the difference here is that Dr. Lucas wrote about the subject and people here want the Gov’t to set up Cassava plantations.

5 The knee jerk response to articles is overwhelming.

6 Doesn’t every item in the supermarket contain sodium or sugar which are more detrimental to Bajans? Why not a health levy on those items?

7 Sargeant September 3, 2016 at 11:21 AM #

How about a health levy on demon rum, think of all the misery it has produced over the years, brek up relationships, abused women and children, absenteeism, loss of production, cirrhosis of the liver and other medical maladies and de list goes on

50. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bushie, why so damned negative with the remark: “When we can have persons like Kammie seeing the ‘value’ of encouraging the absentee owners of Hyatt to come and establish their 21st century plantation so that a few hundred room-cleaners, waiters and yard boys can be established on the plantation…. just like back in the days of olde…”

Is the anger to Hyatt based on your “Hyatt to come and establish their 21st century plantation” or is it based on the corrupt process which was allegedly employed to bring the project to its proposed start date and also the suggested incongruity of that plant in a designated heritage area?

Can Barbados develop a viable hotel plant without partnership with the established brands. And why can’t those partnership be on equal footing. Wouldn’t Mr Crawford also forge meaningful -equal – relationship with outsiders???

It is positive and correct to demand that Barbados get some management trainee spots with this Hyatt management contract and other concessions that are certainly within the scope of the negotiators. But to harp on this plantation shtick when there are no monied local investors throwing that sort of money around is rather petty frankly.