Submitted by DAVID  COMISSIONG, Citizen of Barbados

Carlisle_BayIf the people of Barbados were to make an inventory of the national assets of their country, Brownes Beach would be right up there at the top of the list!

Not only is Brownes Beach one of the most physically beautiful beaches in the world, but it is also a place of social beauty– a beach on which one can witness and experience the authentic culture and spirit of the Barbadian people.

Now that– in the spurious name of “progress” – — Brownes Beach is being threatened with destruction, I would like to urge ALL Barbadians to visit this unique beach as a matter of urgency, and to walk the entire length of the beach and absorb the “Brownes Beach experience” for themselves.

They will discover the “poetry” of Brownes Beach, and will come to the realization that we have to fight– to raise our voices, to protest, to agitate– in order to preserve OUR  Brownes Beach!

Kamau Brathwaite is our greatest Bajan poet and actually grew up on Brownes Beach. Here is one of his poetical masterpieces about:-

BROWNES  BEACH

Of all the beaches on the bay

browns beach was the proudest place

big respectable houses of big respectable people

looked onto the beach at browns bay

the pilot live there

mr queen the big able pilot who know

when the big ships came and went far out

in the bay with his tell-tail flag till his boat

went down where you watch

from the shore to only the tall-tail flag

that flow till the big ships came

mr queen was cock of the walk on the beach

for he brought great pride to the place

and his boat in the bay is the where-to-meet

for all the boys on the beach about

they would splash with feathers of foam at their feet

and climb the gunwale of this meetingplace

they look like ants on a piece of cake

and they sit and are happy like birds in a bush

mr queen the pride of the place who doesn’t

like ants nor birds

in his bush

would look from the window of his upstairs

room and call to his man in de yard below

to chase the boys out-a-de boat

his man have a limp and a wave of hand

as he rush down the beach

to do what the beard-

man said

hoi…

he shouted

across the smooth Sunday water where the girls

played shrill

hoiiiiii

he shouted

across the blue wind-whipped water to the boat

where all the boys from the beaches were still

hoiiii…there…you black  #*&##!!! bastards…,

…get out…a de #*&## boat…

and his voice from the shore is a shake

of their cake

a stone in the bush

and

chow

went the water when the beachboys jump

and the water wear wreaths where they disappear

and

wham

went the water when the land-boys jump from the

rocking boat

and they splash-up vines as they reappear

when adam jump he see the akee tree

and the tamarin tree with the man-face seeds

and the coconut tree in the neighbour yard

and the shine on the galvanize roofs

that look at the bay on browns beach

and the men on the beach building pyramids

and the flash of the bat of the boys playin

cricket and the girls playin shrill

in that part of the sea that ended with wish

on the shore

and

the water went

chow

as he close his eyes

117 responses to “The Poetry of BROWNES BEACH”

1. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

I agree . Any Bajan who cannot appreciate the value of this beach to the ordinary citizen knows the value of nothing. It is also of value to visitors and Bajans do not mind sharing it with them but no fifteen storey hotel on the beach side.

2. Mr Bratwaithe’s poem surely could not be depicting what we used to know at that time as Browne’s beach when the water flowed up to his backyard.

3. Sir i grew up on brownes beach when it was a 2×4 never heard any one interested in brownes beach and its enviroment. As a matter of fact the fish market was one of the most digusting sites laid along the shores of brownes beach and everyone seem quite happy to bathe in the water which was polluted with oil and the odor from the stale and left over fish was a part of its decorum
    How is it that back then with all the disgusting smells and oil streaks with children wading in the polluted water and sands of brownes beach no one took notice or even cared about its environs
    Now many years later like lost or never heard cousins all appears on the scence as sole owners.
    Sir i took am an inheritor or part ownerof brownes beach i too must have my sayabout brownes beach and those lost cousins who did not give a shit about the environs but pretends to know all and convince others that there input matters above all else

4. @David Commissiong,
    First of all I hope you got permission to reproduce this copyrighted material from the Author. Second of all are you aware that the BETHEL CIRCUIT OF THE METHODIST CHURCH ARE IN NEGOTIATIONS WITH THE PRINCIPals involved in the building of the hotel for the purchase of the land of which they are the owners. Are you aware of the proposed purchase price for said land, and are you prepared, if you do, to disclose this amount from which the church, and hopefully the congregation they serve ,will benefit? There are many sides to this discussion and we must thus be open to all sides.Should that area be developed the entire country would benefit. Browne’s Beach will be there long after we are gone. None of us can take it with. The important thing is to have full and unfettered access too the beach. The beauty will never leave it. Have you seen the beauty of the Brazilian beaches and the hotels and apartment buildings facing them? Ours can be as beautiful. Think positively for a change.

5. And in case you wondering, me and Kamau were contemporaries, we played and learned together in his home on Browne’s Beach, I eat at his house, and learned words with him, in his cellar, and sword fight with wooden swords, playing Errol Flynn, and I know when your father was the reverend at Bethel, where I grew up and first learned to ride a bicycle in the church yard. I know everything about Bethel, and the Harbour Police station, the site of the proposed hotel, so I can speak as one having authority. You cannot possibly have greater love for that beach and its environs thaw me. But as the headlines in the movie theatres around there used to have as the caption of their newsreels,”Time Marches On.” We have to move on, neither standing still or going back.

6. I learned to swim off the Harbour Police jetty. Mr Lorenzo Best was the instructor. All the young children (and not so young persons) held Mr Best in awe. I remember feeling very fussy that he remembered my name on meeting him many years later. Like a beloved teacher or the postman or policemen that lived down the gap or Sunday school teacher or cricket coach, Mr Best was one of those exemplars in my life. He was a model of a man of character. But I digress.

The Harbour Police station and jetty are no longer there. The site has been cleared and it is the proposed location of this Hyatt hotel.

Those many years ago there was no beach of any significant size there. In fact I remember waves occasionally crashing over the esplanade at high tide. There was a narrow beach in the area of the fish market which is close to Prof Brathwaite’s childhood home. The beach stretching from the yacht club to Bridgetown is of relatively recent occurrence i.e within the last 30 years. When there is change in the maritime conditions that beach will shrink again.

It was also said that the outfall for the QEH waste is in the area of the jetty just north of the old eye hospital building. I don’t know if this was true but many people avoided swimming in that area.

My memory may be faulty but the Browne’s beach of today is a recent feature. That said, I fully support proper planning controls to protect the social and physical environment and to ensure that all Barbadians can enjoy the beach.

7. David really has to get a grip.
    Browne’s Beach is not a great beach. It cannot compete with the great beaches of the Pacific Islands and the Seychelles. It cannot compete with the great beaches of the Mexican Caribbean, Cuba, the Bahamas, Jamaica and the Turks and Caicos Islands. It is not even among the top 10 beaches of the Eastern Caribbean. Just go to Antigua, Anguilla, Barbuda, St.Lucia and Grenada if you have the slightest doubt about what I’m saying.
    As for Kamau’s verse — it doesn’t even qualify as poetry.

8. @chad999999

You always miss the point with these kinds of issues. The value of Browne’s Beach cannot be measured as you describe. It is an open space in a concert city that butt and bound a lower class district. It is common to have this kind of discussion when there is a push of an urban sprawl.

@Alvin

Since the Cahill episode you have no credibility when it comes to these matters.

9. chad99999 August 13, 2016 at 9:27 PM #
    Where are the fancy beaches in Jamaica and St Lucia that can compare with Carlisle Bay (Burke’s & Browne’s beaches combine)?

Clearly you dont understand what poetry is or what the young Brathwaithe was saying about events on the beach where he lived as a child. You dont understand the meter in this simple piece of writing

we Bajans have a great inability to appreciate our special places and people

The catchment area for persons who attend at this beach is vast!

10. David,
    You are dishonest in debate.
    You have made many claims about Brown’s Beach. This post starts off with the claim that the beach is one of the most physically beautiful beaches in the world. Then you go on to say that the beach offers an “authentic Barbadian experience” that is about to be destroyed. The latter claim has some merit although we don’t know the exact contours of the changes planned for the beach.
    But your first claim is utter nonsense. And when I point this out, you have the nerve to say I’m missing the point.
    Rubbish!

11. Yes I remember Brownes Beach
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Yes i remember Brownes beach fisherman plying their trade

Casting their nets to catch for another haul or heading out to sea in the late of night in total darkness

little boats or big boats it did not matter brownes beach welcomed them all

Yes i remember brownes beach

Ole rusted and abandoned boats graced the shore line pushed against some old wooden ramshackle house

Yes i remember Brownes Beach and its polluted environs on
    the left the gas stations with pipe lines headed out to sea buried under neath where no one can see

Yes i remember Brownes Beach poor children riding the rough waves on inner tube tires was all they knew making up for time and play all in a hot summers day

Yes i remember brownes Beach the sights and sounds of the crashing waves and a late afternoon sunset on a beautiful day

Yes i remember Brownes beach not as a fair tale or a story like fantasy but a brownes beach struggling to be in the mainstay

Yes i remember brownes when no one cared about Brownes beach just a small beach shut away behind a stench of foul air and old buildings

but alas time has past and brownes beach has change and new owners have arrived on its shores with issuance and warning to fight with vigilance and a declaration to be the rightful owners of a Beautiful and well developed Brownes Beach

I too am Brownes Beach and i must have my say

12. I would be more concerned about sewage!!!

I understand the sewage “treatment” plants at Bridgetown and Graeme Hall are experiencing problems and some businesses on the south coast face the possibility of closure because the toilets are backing up.

I hear that the turds from the Hilton outfall are appearing at Accra although I understand it is because of uncontrolled building of groynes messing up the currents!!

Looks like the sh!t is really hitting the fan …. the pumps aren’t working!!

Another Hotel … another concentration of sewage …. more sh!t!!.

Another expression of what Barbados has become!!!

If Brazil can do it why not us!!

An ENT friend of mine told me years ago that the numerous ear infections he treats were as a result of contaminated seawater.

His standard advice to patients was not to bathe off the Esplanade.

I stopped going in the sea in the 80’s or 90’s when I figured out how the water cycle works …. the west coast I blanked first, then Miami Beach …. well, Bathsheba/East Coast …. I always gave a pass given my stated aversion/fear to the sea!!

I can’t honestly say I will miss going in the sea at Browne’s beach and would wax poetic about it ….. but I sure would agitate to address the sewage issues long before any crazy politician thought about another hotel.

… and as regards the beauty, tranquility etc etc etc … it was destroyed a long time ago by both tribes of monkeys entrusted with caring for Barbados!!

Another hotel …. more sh!t!!

13. David Comissiong Avatar
    David Comissiong

I don’t know what Brownes Beach looked like in the 1930’s and 40’s when Kamau Brathwaite was a youngster. But that is not the point! It is not the Brownes Beach of the 40’s that I am concerned about. Rather, it is TODAY’S Brownes Beach that I am concerned about– that whole un-interrupted expanse of beach that stretches from the Radisson Hotel right down to what is now known as the Pirates Cove beach facility. And that is one BEAUTIFUL Barbadian beach— not only physically beautiful, but also socially and culturally “beautiful” because of the way in which it is made use of by the people of Barbados.

I have also been reliably informed that TODAY’S Brownes Beach is rated internationally as one of the finest beaches in the world. I am no expert on this, but I can well believe it!

Clearly, those persons who are dismissing and trivializing the beauty and valuableness (to Barbadians) of Brownes Beach don’t really know TODAY’S Brownes Beach. I wish therefore that they would take my advice and simply walk the entire length of this beach and assess its ambience and value for themselves.

Many years ago , Barbados made a serious mistake in permitting inordinate and indiscriminate building of hotels and other structures on our beaches. And as a result we have degraded and sullied many of our beaches, and made them virtually inaccessible (and unwelcome) to our citizens.

Many other countries took a different and more sensible road. The beautiful, world famous beach in Durban, South Africa, for example, has absolutely NO hotels built on it. The hotels are all built on the land side of the coastal highway, thereby preserving the natural beauty , accessibility and ambience of the beach for South Africans and tourists alike.

We may have done a lot of damage already, but it is never too late to pull back, re-think our approach, and adopt a more sensible and constructive approach to the use of our precious beaches.

We should be very careful not to kill the “goose that lays the golden egg”.

We should also remember that many tourists are attracted to Barbados by the social and cultural ambience of our country. You just have to go to Oistins Fish Market any Friday night to see that this is true!

So, let us make sure we keep and preserve this social and cultural ambience. And one of the locations in which it is most magnificently displayed is the said Brownes Beach!

14. “@Alvin

Since the Cahill episode you have no credibility when it comes to these matters.”

Says who? Not a fair view at all. What about the Prime Minister then ? should he vacate or have vacated office after your revelations?

15. ac August 13, 2016 at 10:45 PM #

Yes I remember Brownes Beach
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Yes i remember Brownes beach fisherman plying their trade

Casting their nets to catch for another haul or heading out to sea in the late of night in total darkness

little boats or big boats it did not matter brownes beach welcomed them all

Yes i remember brownes beach

Ole rusted and abandoned boats graced the shore line pushed against some old wooden ramshackle house

Yes i remember Brownes Beach and its polluted environs on
    the left the gas stations with pipe lines headed out to sea buried under neath where no one can see

Yes i remember Brownes Beach poor children riding the rough waves on inner tube tires was all they knew making up for time and play all in a hot summers day

Yes i remember brownes Beach the sights and sounds of the crashing waves and a late afternoon sunset on a beautiful day

Yes i remember Brownes beach not as a fair tale or a story like fantasy but a brownes beach struggling to be in the mainstay

Yes i remember brownes when no one cared about Brownes beach just a small beach shut away behind a stench of foul air and old buildings

but alas time has past and brownes beach has change and new owners have arrived on its shores with issuance and warning to fight with vigilance and a declaration to be the rightful owners of a Beautiful and well developed Brownes Beach

I too am Brownes Beach and i must have my say
    THIS MUST BE THE BEST THING YOU HAVE EVER PUBLISHED ON THIS FORUM. YOU SHOULD STICK TO POETRY. IT SOUND BETTER THAN WHAT THE ESTEEMED KAMAU WROTE BUT THEN AGAIN HE LEFT BAY STREET FOR SO LONG THAT I IN SURE HE EVEN KNOW THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN BROWNES BEACH NOW AND THEN.

16. “Alvin Cummins August 13, 2016 at 9:20 PM #

And in case you wondering, me and Kamau were contemporaries, we played and learned together in his home on Browne’s Beach, I eat at his house, and learned words with him, in his cellar, and sword fight with wooden swords, playing Errol Flynn, and I know when your father was the reverend at Bethel, where I grew up and first learned to ride a bicycle in the church yard. I know everything about Bethel, and the Harbour Police station, the site of the proposed hotel, so I can speak as one having authority. You cannot possibly have greater love for that beach and its environs thaw me. But as the headlines in the movie theatres around there used to have as the caption of their newsreels,”Time Marches On.” We have to move on, neither standing still or going back.”

Alvin you must have been from a negrocrat family in those days because the Brathwaithes were a kind of negrocratic family in mind if not in substance like the Innisss’ from lower down and the average boy from the area would not have been able to cross that the doors of the round house where old man Brathwaite strict old time disciplinarian that he was ruled with an iron fist.

17. Not sure the point Peter Wickham is trying to make in his column. He clearly does not understand the concern. Then it is not surprise because his willingness to always sell off Barbados is a matter of record.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84443/peter-wickham-fuss#

18. No Mr Comissiog no one is trivializing any thing .What you seem not to understand that Brownes Beach does not live in an environment all by itself but is closely surrounded by an inhabitant of home owners , business people who not only see a beach but a decayed and derelict environment and wants to see a change that reflect beautification and prosperity
    A fantasy of Brownes Beach all isolated in present time and place is wishful thinking and one that does not answer the question of bay street :what has happened to Bay Street a place that at one time was robust and alive and indeed give the local business owner much financial support now all lost and abandoned One cannot keep burying their head in the sand in pretense as if Brownes beach alone would be the answer to those questions and that Brownes Beach alone can be the catalyst upon which Bay street can survive but must also take into full consideration that along the coastline of brownes beach there is an unhealthy environment that is old! worn down and decayed that is in much needed help of repair the heart and the soul that was once a part of Brownes Beach
    Mr Comissiong it is time you face reality that Brownes Beach would survive as it have through out the years but the Home owners and the business people that dwell along the highways ways and byways of Brownes beach and who have suffered the indignity of a once beautiful place gone to scorn are looking for answers to the dilapidated area call baystreet,The spotlight also should give relevance to their cause

19. Oh! Mr. Comissiong you asked for those of us to walk along the shoreline of Brownes Beach ,to take a view of that beautiful landscape, in return i ask of you to walk along the area called baystreet and tell if you like what you see

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“but alas time has past and brownes beach has change and new owners have arrived on its shores with issuance and warning to fight with vigilance and a declaration to be the rightful owners of a Beautiful and well developed Brownes Beach”

This says it all about the idiotic pimps and yardfowls who have no problem giving away the island for the myth of “development.”

The stench coming off those hotels on the west and south coast is not development, it’s smelling other people’s shit…there is no development in that, ya can get sick. The stench is always horrific.

I gotta agree with John, when relatives visit the island, they have to wear earplugs to bathe in the sea or they ALWAYS get ear infections, too much shit in the water….from the hotels….where is the development in thst.

21. Those of you with Google Earth can zoom in and have a look at Nassau to understand what planning for development is all about. See how development in on the land side leaving the open vistas to the sea.

Nassau

22. the coastline of brownes beach has never had access to opened window the kind that Comissiong perpetuate it is a bold face lie , The Coastal line of brownes beach east and west has been occupied by business property or home owners property so do bring this bS of unfettered open window u know that is an untruth , access to the scenery of the beach was mostly obscure due to the buildings , the only thing that has change the face of brownes beach is that it got bigger but still in the midst are the houses that have been there for a long time and the various open windows which cannot be changed for building purposes

23. @ AC
    We ALSO had pit toilets in parts of Bridgetown for eons… Does common sense not suggest that this was wrong ..and needs to change…? Jackass…!!
    ..oh Wait!!! …what would you know about common sense…?

When we can have such idiots as AC living in a country which spends so much hard-earned money to provide FREE education as we do – ….THAT FACT ALONE condemns Barbados.

When however, we can have THAT level of idiocy in our PARLIAMENT, then the ONLY possible explanation lies in Isaiah 3 …. where GOD himself is punishing us for doing shiite… by turning away from his ways and endorsing the albino-centric ways of greed, hate and spite.

People like AC, Froon, Stinkliar etc COULD NOT POSSIBLY BE so brass bowl foolish on their own accord – there must be a level of spiritual involvement – of the demonic ilk….

24. THE SEA WALL

Always blasting the old coastland
    From Point Playa to Springland
    Daily taking the beating and all
    Was and is the good old Sea Wall
    Firstly built by the good old Dutch
    And now have some others’ touch
    Like Don Quixote she clasped the waves
    Reminiscent of Guyana Arawak’s braves
    With dirt and concrete so reinforced
    Battling the Atlantic Ocean’s course
    Eight feet below sea level still
    As the foaming froth try to fill
    The land with her muddy salt sea water
    Standing her ground and getting stronger
    Over spill sucked up by waiting crab-grass
    As the sea wall looks upon this as eye-pass
    And the waters shyly ebbs away
    Only to be returned another day
    The old man watching the brackish waters
    Heedless of the local bat and ball cricketers
    Waiting for the right time and tide
    To throw his cast-a-net far and wide
    As a gull flutters nearby as an imp
    For the discarded fish or shrimp
    And life goes on as farmers forge ahead
    Thinking of their crops and homestead
    Not knowing how much pressure it’d take
    Or when and where the sea-wall could break

The sea-wall is alive as day is nearly closing
    Some come for walks others at their choosing
    Lovers holding hands and watch the sunset
    True and even taboo unions try to forget
    What will befall them with their confessions
    For then inter-marriage could cause fractions
    Partly the sea-wall is covered with graffiti
    As trustful hearts keep it out of boundary
    The wall can tell of broken hearts and tears
    Of peers and fears which fell on deaf ears
    And as you follow the sea-wall to the city
    You see lovers smooching in many an alley
    They are on bicycles or just standing
    Looking into one another eyes talking
    As the waters lash the sea-wall with sprays
    Likewise hearts and desires are in a blaze
    Looking across the sea each with dreams
    For life abroad hatching plots or schemes
    Concentrating on emotions so fervent
    Oblivious of all in their environment

Like your Brownes Beach of beautiful Barbados our Sea Wall of Guyana is constantly in danger because we’re 8 feet below sea level.
    Thanks
    Norman

25. Excuse me Bush sh,t what de hell are you talking about comparing business and homeowners property to pit toilets negro too early for you to be hitting the bottle , Furthermore are u now telling govt to go on a runaway expedition of removing those buildings for more open window view and access to a beach while overlooking the necessity for vital financial support to business and property owners
    Are u f..ing nuts dont u understand that local business and property ownership was a key to bay street vitality and environment for many years and which has all disappeared leaving a beach which has done nothing to enhance or compensate for the dwindling financial state of baystreet .. Am i now to believe that more open window view would help to rejuevante bleeding life and bring changes to ugly face of baystreet
    Is that your best economic plan for baystreet allowing more of the same like Castro Cuba who after fifty years have seen the light and renege on his nationalistic plan for the people

26. If we listen to the conversations when issues like this one raises its head the question must be asked, are we committed to the ideals of a Small Island Developing State (SID)?

We repeat, were we not having this same conversation when the BLP was in office? The more things change …

Tourist infrastructure
    In many areas, massive new tourist developments have been built – including airports, marinas, resorts, and golf courses. Overdevelopment for tourism has the same problems as other coastal developments, but often has a greater impact as the tourist developments are located at or near fragile marine ecosystems. For example:

mangrove forests and seagrass meadows have been removed to create open beaches
    tourist developments such as piers and other structures have been built directly on top of coral reefs
    nesting sites for endangered marine turtles have been destroyed and disturbed by large numbers of tourists on the beaches
    Careless resorts, operators, and tourists
    The damage doesn’t end with the construction of tourist facilities.

Some resorts empty their sewage and other wastes directly into water surrounding coral reefs and other sensitive marine habitats.

Recreational activities also have a huge impact. For example, careless boating, diving, snorkeling, and fishing have substantially damaged coral reefs in many parts of the world, through people touching reefs, stirring up sediment, and dropping anchors.

Marine animals such as whale sharks, seals, dugongs, dolphins, whales, and birds are also disturbed by increased numbers of boats, and by people approaching too closely.

http://wwf.panda.org/about_our_earth/blue_planet/problems/tourism/tourism_pressure/

27. @ David,

I still say that Hyatt should be built near Apes Hill or Royal Westmoreland.

28. @Gabriel

Were you able to see the original plan for the area? Are these hotels read Hyatt being built based on the original plan?

CARLISLE BAY DEVELOPMENT

Barbados is positioning itself to capture a greater share of the US$280 billion Meeting & Incentive business by investing heavily in its facilities and room stock in and around its capital city, Bridgetown. The investment of US$1 billion which is in addition to current investments, will add 4,000 rooms to the island’s accommodation sector and enhance the shopping, dining and entertainment experience in Bridgetown, establishing it as a first-world city by 2025. The Carlisle Bay Development which covers over 2 km of beachfront land owned by government and the private sector will include:

• An iconic performing arts/conference facility
    • 5 new hotels (an additional 1,500 rooms)
    • A marina
    • Entertainment facilities

http://www.barbadostourisminvestment.com/investment-opportunities/

29. This Issue is not about Concerns for the Development of Brown’s Beach….

This is about D. Comissong getting his foot into the Political Hierarchy Door!!!

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman. …now you see why I call them all SHITHOUNDS…lol

31. This issue is not even about the usual partisan political motivated positions. It is about the right of Barbadians to protect and advocate to shape the kind of island we want for our children. A development that is sustainable.

32. stop it David! Stop it! rolling my eyes . i am a barbadian too and i have a right as well

33. I fully support all future hotel development in Barbados be on the land side.This is not nuclear science.It is seen in Florida,Rio,France and even Hugo Chavez,considered ‘uncivilized’ by westerners but showing ‘class’ in his thinking,passed laws forbidding any building development on the foreshore of Venezuela,decreeing that any such development must be on the land side and a particular distance from the foreshore.Some of the morons for businessmen and politicians to be found in Barbados appear interested only in the here and now.

34. Barbadians must feel obligated and committed to agitate, ask question, DEMAND answers from those we have elected and others. The days are FINISHED where we will accept unquestionably decisions made by mere mortals. Let the yardfowls elevate these ordinary men and women to pedestals, some of us will remain steeped in the reality that many of the politicians have no special skill or talent to give them unquestionable leeway to make decisions on our behalf that will affect the lives of our children and future genrations.

35. David Comissiong Avatar
    David Comissiong

I don’t know what Brownes Beach looked like in the 1930’s and 40’s when Kamau Brathwaite was a youngster. But that is not the point! It is not the Brownes Beach of the 40’s that I am concerned about. Rather, it is TODAY’S Brownes Beach that I am concerned about– that whole un-interrupted expanse of beach that stretches from the Radisson Hotel right down to what is now known as the Pirates Cove beach facility. And that is one BEAUTIFUL Barbadian beach— not only physically beautiful, but also socially and culturally “beautiful” because of the way in which it is made use of by the people of Barbados.

I have also been reliably informed that TODAY’S Brownes Beach is rated internationally as one of the finest beaches in the world. I am no expert on this, but I can well believe it!

Clearly, those persons who are dismissing and trivializing the beauty and valuableness (to Barbadians) of Brownes Beach don’t really know TODAY’S Brownes Beach. I wish therefore that they would take my advice and simply walk the entire length of this beach and assess its ambience and value for themselves.

Many years ago , Barbados made a serious mistake in permitting inordinate and indiscriminate building of hotels and other structures on our beaches. And as a result we have degraded and sullied many of our beaches, and made them virtually inaccessible (and unwelcome) to our citizens.

Many other countries took a different and more sensible road. The beautiful, world famous beach in Durban, South Africa, for example, has absolutely NO hotels built on it. The hotels are all built on the land side of the coastal highway, thereby preserving the natural beauty , accessibility and ambience of the beach for South Africans and tourists alike.

We may have done a lot of damage already, but it is never too late to pull back, re-think our approach, and adopt a more sensible and constructive approach to the use of our precious beaches.

We should be very careful not to kill the “goose that lays the golden egg”.

We should also remember that many tourists are attracted to Barbados by the social and cultural ambience of our country. You just have to go to Oistins Fish Market any Friday night to see that this is true!

So, let us make sure we keep and preserve this social and cultural ambience. And one of the locations in which it is most magnificently displayed is the said Brownes Beach!

36. David
    I have not yet seen the original concept of the Pierhead Project of the early 90’s but it definitely had no plan for a 12 storey hotel,Hyatt nor any other.

37. OFF TOPIC

Sinckler better don’t do any shite on Tuesday to undermine confidence.
    If investors and other citizens lose confidence in the Barbados economy and the Barbados dollar the situation could rapidly spin out of control. Money is just liitle pieces of coloured paper. People only accept them in return for value because they have confidence. Without confidence the whole thing collapses. Sinckler better realise that we will be scrutinising his every word.

38. @Gabriel

Here is what Peter Hoad stated elsewhere. Not sure if there is credence in the position.

Peter Hoad Neimans Point was messed up by the oil. There just moving it to the other side of the bay. hope we get a big storm and nature will take back the beach.

39. OFF TOPIC

Listening to Brass Tacks
    Can Glyne Murray’s head go any further up John Boyce’s ass?

40. The sewage issue like the water issue are the results of uncontrolled development with no thought as to the consequences.

I would leave well enough alone until we actually get some capable people running things in Barbados …… and those people will come from neither of the tribes of monkeys we have in charge.

For me the issue would be about giving the land and sea time to recover from the rapacious greed that destroys.

Me, I would just leave it alone and spend some time thinking about the problems these inglorious ideas on development have caused.

Come to terms with the real issues and spend money and time fixing them, not creating more.

41. @Peter Hoad. Why would you want that?
    @David, what “credibility ” are you talking about with regard to Cahil? I was never part of the Cahill “experiment”. I defended the decision to construct a Plasma Gasification Plant as the answer to the problem of garbage disposal and Landfill. I was in favour because of the difficulty that will certainly arise in the future because of the pending inability to dispose of garbage, even if recycling is stimulated. I cannot be accused of any lack of credibility just because you say so. Browne’s Beach and the environs were my playgrounds and home for all my childhood and early adulthood.as I said, I was born in Wellington Street and grew up in Jemmotts Lane.
    @Balance,You say:
    “Alvin you must have been from a negrocrat family in those days because the Brathwaithes were a kind of negrocratic family in mind if not in substance like the Innisss’ from lower down and the average boy from the area would not have been able to cross that the doors of the round house where old man Brathwaite strict old time disciplinarian that he was ruled with an iron fist”.
    You are talking foolishness from a position of ignorance. You know NOTHING of the Brathwaites. Mr Brathwaite could never be considered a “Negrocrat”. He was a lowly clerk at one of the BS&T stores. They were a christian family, members of Bethel Methodist Church and maintained a standard of family values that sought to educate all his children and live a quiet life. The type of behaviour you attribute to him does him a grave injustice. I was born poor, and lived a life quietude enhanced by membership in the Bethel Church, so that all the people of my era who attended there, all of whom were poor and from the environs; Jordans Lane, Wellington Street, River Road etc. People who came from those areas could never be considered as Negrocrats.Mr. Brathwaite was a gentleman, above everything and would never have adopted the type of attitude you want to attribute to him.

42. @Alvin Cummins

And the issue for BU was using plasma gasification on the scale that was proposed for Barbados. It was never tested on a SIDs yet you blindly supported. The crux of the issue has nothing to do with waste management at this stage but our officials exercising proper due diligence. Why can’t you two acs get that throw your thick DLP skulls?

43. @ John August 14, 2016 at 12:39 PM
    Well said.

Skippa… this almost makes up for your previous indiscretions here on BU…
    Almost!!! 🙂

44. Agree John’s comment is a good one.

All the more reason we need to have greater discussion supported by the Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) that will inform commentary.

Barbadians are not as sensitive of our environment as we need to be.

45. @ David
    Why can’t you two acs get that through(?) your thick DLP skulls?
    There you go again…

Clearly it is…
    Because we cannot get blood from the first AC’s stone brain,
    and…
    the second AC is an idiot.

Steupsss
    One of these good days those two will start talking sensibly …and then you and Artax will come to rue wunna days of calling for that…
    …cause the end will be HERE…..

46. so lets talk environmental testing an all that good stuff related to brownes beach , Now if i were jac.ass and born yesterday i would take wunna concerns seriously , As i pointed out in one of comments Brownes beach was the home for numerous oil slicks caused by cargo vessels as well as the fishing boats used for fishing added to the fact the were gas stations north and south accompanied by the natural gas company that had several pipes lines underground heading into the sea and such information could have been well known to Comissiong for years
    Here we are in 2016 and now the issue of the environment inclusive of brownes beach and its surrounding becomes an issue only after the news of the building o the hyatt
    My question therefore why was the environment not a burdening issue long before 2016 knowing and seeing business which had occupied the area had dealt with products which can lead to contamination of water in the sea and surrounding areas
    Far from the environment being an issue the people casually took to brownes beach unaware of any health hazard including myself,, where then was all this activism including activist David Comissiong who in his adults years would have known about potential and deadly environmental hazards in the areas of brownes beach.
    Why now in the year 2016 after the damage has already been done does Comissiong care or does he ? from where i sit i get this gnawing feeling that Comissiong voice is not a voice for the people but an attempt to latch on to another volatile issue which can give him an advantage to a full fledged political career

signed
    i too am brownes beach

47. Bush sh,it there is only one ac and you get that through your thick skull ole boar

48. There is a requirement in law thatan EIA be done and shared with the public.

Your hignorance knoweth no bounds.

49. Sir i am in no disagreement with what is law my argument is with plain and bold hypocrisy being played out in broad daylight under a sinister disguise . Point being as i stated that when there should have been voices asking to see any environmental testing that was done or should have been done in the vicinity of brownes beach and its surroundings none was asked ,Again with clarity i state a public beach a place were all frequented and bathe and no one dare asked or speak out publicly to see such tested findings especially knowing of the hazardous dangers which might have unfolded over the years
    Yet now in the year of 2016 the drum majors of doom and gloom are all excited pounding their chest and beating there drums
    And the question is being asked why now?
    Well Sir if you can asked the questions as presented i would no longer say anything on the subject
    Please read with understanding
    signed
    i too am brownes beach