Submitted by Angela Alleyne

chefetteAnother Rally Barbados which was held at the various venues across the island has just concluded.This yearly event continues to prove that there are indeed two Barbados’. Imagine SOL ,CHEFETTE and DIGICEL can sponsor not one, not two, but three cars to be driven by the Mayers brothers, two cars to be driven by Roger Skeete and his son Dane Skeete (who are also sponsored by FLOW) and then there is Rhett Watson and Roger Hill.

Note these are all white Bajans drivers.

BUT these major sponsors cannot see it fit to find any funds to sponsor ONE BLACK Barbadian driver and car. Is it any wonder that a black Bajan driver will find it extremely difficult if not impossible to finish in the top 10 of the rally. BUT maybe this is the plan. Not only that but we have competitors coming in from overseas who are being sponsored by LOCAL companies .Can this be right?

What is also quite ironic is that the overseas winners can be congratulated in FULL PAGE ads by their sponsors in the local media which I am sure cost more than the TOTAL sponsorship money which most of the local drivers get for a whole year. And then Roger Skeete can comment that no one is stepping up to the plate to take over the mantel in local car rallying.

I would like to inform Mr Skeete that if HALF the sponsorship money and suitable cars were available to certain local drivers that this would not be a problem.

On another note the rally marshals (99% of them black),who give of their services year after year, FREE OF COST, and who are said to be indispensable by the Chairman of the rally club, have to stand in the sun and rain doing their job and watch two marshals from overseas (white) get FREE trips and accommodation to watch Rally Barbados but no reciprocal offer is made by the said rally club to the local marshals to witness a rally overseas.

One of these days Bajans will wake up and understand how they are being used and what is really happening in this country.

149 responses to “Car Rallying in Barbados the Playground of the Whites – No Sponsorship for Black Bajan Drivers”

1. Alden Blackman Avatar

@Realist

I can agreed with you to a point because I am a Black-man who suffered by the actions of and then lack of action by a black-man name Frank Thornhill the CTO of MTW, who for the last 12+ years refused to do his duty,

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

i DONT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT WHAT HAPPENS IN LABOUR WARD EITHER NOR DO I UNDERSTAND THE ATIOLOGY OF SPINAL CORD INJURIES EITHER ……………….
    SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED ah lie?

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…you should be ashamed. What did you do to stop that blatant racism, in a black majority country…your country, practiced by a few whites back then.. What are you doing now to stop the blatant racism practiced by a few halfassed, corrupt greedy whites in a black majority country aided by corrupt politicians. …in your country.

You are a disgrace and could never step in the shoes of a Mandela or those freedom fighters of human rights..when your see nothing wrong with your own people’s rights being violated..

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…I have no clue when I told Alvin that I have too much weight, my weight is fine, I have the lowest measured stress level of anyone in the gym….when I said in another post “going to the gym 4 days a week and still putting weight”….I never said I….I seen it happen. Alvin needs to find simething useful to do.

Alvin should right a book about all the human rights violations and racism perpetrated by the minority whites post slavery, of which he is well aware and have himself witnessed and can attest that it’s aided by both political parties and their black governments over the last 50 years….a concerted conspiracy to keep majority blacks on the island in a permanant mental slave like state, enrich all the prrpetrstors and make sure the majority blacks own little or nothing on the island,.

Then maybe he will attain credibility and achieve something positive and worthwhile in life.

The positive that I am blessed with is exposing the evil practices that the likes of Alvin wants to keep hidden in Barbados, away from the world, while calling it good.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…ya need to explain to me when I ever told you I have any difficulties…rest assured I am fine and truly blessed….that should ease your mind about any difficulties your vicious little mind is praying I will have…mine is a truly blessed life.

John….is that the best ya can come up with…ya lucky Bajan blacks are docile or ya would be afraid to spew that nonsense., but it might not be that way forever so be warned.

Read my comment to GP…what look up definition what….read the history books yourself and get the true definition of centuries old practice ff racism as you religiously read the bible and pray that blacks will be slaves again, to appease the evil, vileness and pure wickedness living in your soul….then show me where you see reverse racism practiced or documented…ya better keep quiet.

6. Well Well……….carry on, it only reinforces my comments!………..cheers

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That’s all ya can say John….there is a shift that will become clearer to you as time passes…the jรฌg is up, everything has it’s season and all will be revealed. Evil is not infinite.

8. Well well, I can suggest a psychiatrist to help deal with your…………”issues”

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ha-ha John…is that all ya can suggest when ya world of practicing racism to remain relevant and survive is being systematically destroyed by the passage of time…that’s the same thing yall been telling blacks for decades on the island when they talk about their rights, how they mad…you expect that nonsense to work on a traveled person like me, do you realize when the same practices if lies and deceit are used over and over for centuries and decades, at some point they no longer work, becomes less potent, useless….I suggest you try that talk with one of the young, armed youths in the ghetto in 2016.

I clearly see you needing psychiatric intervention to deal with the changes…you and your ilk…cud dear…lol

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine June 26, 2016 at 12:36 PM #

โ€œI get tired at times commenting. So on this matter, I say the whites are right to continue to marginalize black opportunities. They are not enough whites in Barbados to populate the Chefettes, the SOL, the Digicel and the FLOW.โ€

@ SSS

BRILLIANT!!!!!

One of the reasons why I prefer not become involved in these โ€œblack versus white discussionsโ€ is because we have โ€œnuff talk, but no action.โ€ Take, for example, a situation which occurred in April 2014, where a white manager of ACE H&B Hardware assaulted and insulted a black customer.

What was the outcome?

โ€ข According to Williams, โ€œCUSTOMERS and the PUBLIC in general (COMPRISED of WHOM?), CONTINUED to throw their SUPPORT behind store manager, saying he has given them excellent service over the years.โ€

โ€ข A man โ€œarmedโ€ with a placard decided to picket outside Williams Industries, in protest of the treatment meted out to his โ€œblack brother.โ€ After all the shiite talk we duz put down, the man was there ALONE, not even the guy who was assaulted accompanied him.

As usual, Black Barbadians will find excuses to CONTINUE shopping at that hardware.

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine June 26, 2016 at 12:36 PM #

โ€œI get tired at times commenting. So on this matter, I say the whites are right to continue to marginalize black opportunities. They are not enough whites in Barbados to populate the Chefettes, the SOL, the Digicel and the FLOW.โ€

@ SSS

I remember, as a youngster, there was a lady who lived near my great grandmother that operated a small shop attached to her house. While I was at the shop purchasing a few items for my great grandmother, I overheard the lady telling another customer her children, who resided overseas, sent money for her to refurbish the house into a wall structure.

A few days after I walking behind two women on my way to my great grandmotherโ€™s home and their comments remained with me until this day. One lady looked the shop-keeperโ€™s house and told the other, โ€œLook, you see she building wall? Wuh daz all uh we money. I DUN BUYING from she.โ€ The other woman agreed.

This type of thinking and attitude is characteristics of many black people, today.

SSS, compare the above situation, as simple as it is, with the ACE Hardware scenario, and tell me with we duz be really serious.

12. Well Well & Consequences June 25, 2016 at 6:21 PM #

โ€œWhen the 90% black spectators stop going to watch the races and keep their hard earned money in the pockets instead, after 2 years ya will see the difference, bajans need to face reality, these half assed idiots on the island would be nothing without the majority blacks and their money.โ€

@WW&C

Excellent point!!

You donโ€™t need a town hall meeting to make a collective decision as you have suggested in your above comment.

I remember going into Abeds to buy a shirt. As O was about to pay the cashier, one of Abedsโ€™ sons interrupted the transaction as he shouted loudly at a young sales clerk.

I left the shirt on the cashierโ€™s counter and walked out the store.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art….and that’s all bajans have to do, withhold their money, it’s theirs….they will find themselves having more money in their pockets….ya need to eat 3 meals a day, you dont not need to buy clothes and cloth every year….I have clothes older than some of my grandchildren. …they keep enriching these merchants and are the ones who end up with nothing….withhold your money…let the merchants and government go scratch with their selfishness and greed.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“A few days after I walking behind two women on my way to my great grandmotherโ€™s home and their comments remained with me until this day. One lady looked the shop-keeperโ€™s house and told the other, โ€œLook, you see she building wall? Wuh daz all uh we money. I DUN BUYING from she.โ€ The other woman agreed.”

Art…that’s the nasty mind of the nigga…they would spend all their money at cave shepherd and not dare utter that nonsense. ..but the jealous nigga mind…dictates they do it to each other, everytime without self- control…the blight and downfall of black people.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well Well & Consequences June 27, 2016 at 7:43 AM #
    SOUND TRUTHS THAT CANNOT BE REFUTED

16. Realist >>>> Still waiting on those names

17. SMH. Sponsorship is not charity, you are trying to promote your brand so you will sponsor who will give you the most market exposure for your buck.

And if you get the most sponsorship money you obviously have a better chance at winning because you can spend more.

It really isn’t a race issue but then the question is how do you break in?

Black drivers just need to get creative, create a brand and use social media to push that brand. Give sponsors a reason to spend their money on you.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah GP…I beat up on blacks equally as I whale away on whites…but am still called racist, no one likes the truth or face reality….lol

19. @Thinker

Your comment has merit.

20. @thinker …. I know some who have tried that before after having done exceedingly well for years only to be still told NO But your comment is a catch 22 situation.If you do not have the sponsorship to begin with how can you do well ?

21. @gentlejim

Look at it this way, the Whites have a head start, how can Blacks disrupt the current system to benefit. We cannot expect an affirmative action approach.๐Ÿ˜€

22. I am querying the level of participation of the Indian,Syrian and the other Non-White & Non- Black groups in Barbados in car racing. To me it seems miniscule or non-existent.
    I am totally convinced and have come to the conclusion that the Black population in Barbados is in a hopeless state with little or no chance for redemption.
    Barbados in the year 2016 a Black jack ass could allowed himself to be used by a white racist and a damn little boy – Mark Maloney, and that unmitigated jack ass could make such a stupid statement that if Bussa Statute is impeding the sight of drivers and could still be allowed to remain,then he sees no reason why the illegal hut at Lears should be taken down.That is confirmation that Blacks in Barbados are totally lost.
    Blacks Barbadians love white people so much that whatever they do and wherever they go we want to participate and be around them.
    If only a few Blacks could operate like this proud Black Barbadian and seek out Black businesses to support in every sphere of activity. Do like me and not support or go to Non-Black owned night clubs and restaurants and maintain only professional relationships with the Non – Black communities,then hope and redemption are possible.But knowing the mindset of the Black community that is an effort in futility.
    Blacks in Barbados are the most comfortable domesticated slaves in the world.We are in enslaved and we do not even know or want to acknowledged it.
    Blacks in Barbados could learn a lot from the Asiatic community in Barbados.

23. Heeeeere’s Johnny!

24. Artax,

Yuh sister here!

We need to stop bothering about these white people and start changing ourselves. There’s more of us than of them and that alone means we are not helpless. If we focus on developing ourselves and supporting each other instead of trying to cozy up to the white people they will become irrelevant. The problem is too many black people are wannabe whites and if one white man says “Good morning!” to them they feel they have arrived and no longer wish to speak to their own brother.

Mentally enslaved people who don’t know their own worth and want other people to recognize it!

Dear John,

That does not mean I don’t know how racist your white people are. Neither does it mean I have forgotten your immorally seized advantage. It just means that I recognize that we don’t need your people to change. If we change you will have no choice.

25. Pointing out a racist system and crying out for equal treatment for all is not racist. We are identifying a problem, defining it, verbalizing it and seeking justice for all. We don’t wish to oppress white people. We just want oppression to end. That kind of stupid talk about reverse racism only fools the wannabe whites who will parrot anything you say so you will throw them a cracker.

26. David,

1000×1=1000

1000×1=1000

Who needs them?

27. @Donna

It is a spectator sport, very popular too. The reason it is popular is partly because of the equipment obviously related to performance. Who controls the money on Barbados?

28. The difference between nlacks and whutes are two fold. Blacks have a high level of distrust of their own and have been their worst enemies since emancipation.Whites have a high level of trust of their own hence they have the correct formula to outsmart blacks at every turn
    How many blacks would risk their finances polling their monies to own a big name investment . none. They are many whites who have reached high levels of financial success because whites understand the arithmetic of 1 +1 =2. But for blacks me !myself and I adds up to many

29. List of ‘persons of colour’ who were drivers in Rally Barbados 2016 and their sponsors.
    NB. Some are not Bajan.

Simon Jean-Joseph โ€“ FRA/Jack Boyere – FRA (WRC-1 Sol/Marina du Marin/Easydrift/Long Horn/La Martinique/Intercontinental Shipping Ford Focus WRC08

Avinash Chatrani/Andrew Skeete (GpA Lenovo/PowerBass/Gunk/iShop/Electric Avenue/Copocabana/Unlabeled Society Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI)

Daryl Clarke/Russell Brancker (M2 Roberts Manufacturing/Amirโ€™s Chicken/Valvoline/MQI Collision Repair Honda Civic)

Mark Thompson/Kurt Seabra – GUY (GpN Rock Hard Cement/Stag Beer/Automotive Art/NKM Clothing/Bio-Beauty Day Spa/Valvoline/Slam 101.1FM/Versatile Construction/Glassesco Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX)

Jamal Brathwaite/Dario Hoyte (M2 Platinum Motors Collision Repair/Valvoline/Automotive Art/Consumers Guarantee Insurance/Sunoco Fuels/JSB Motorsport/Ellesmere Quarries Honda Civic Type-R)

Kurt Thompson/Adam Straker (M2 Glassesco/NKM Clothing/Bio-Beauty Day Spa/Beacon Insurance/R A Mapp/Slam 101.1FM/Versatile Construction Honda Civic)

David St Hill/Ian Grimes (SM3 Solar Wind & Energy Solutions/Liqui Moly/Bimmer Specialist BMW M3)

Norman Catwell/Kyle Catwell (M2 Chicken Pen Racing/Ellesmere Quarries/John Hardman Engineering/Jenvey/Elite Transmissions Volkswagen Golf GTI)

Justin Campbell/Juan Watts (SM3 Republic Bank/Five Star Fast Track/Hilton Barbados/Dream Solutions/Castrol/Itstaboo.com/Campbell Racing Team BMW M3)

Pierre Clarke/Ezra Gibbs (C1 SDRR Hydraulics & Industrial Spares Honda Civic)

Jermin Pope/Adam Cox (C1 Glassesco/Good time Snacks/NKM/UFO/Niccolls & Edghill Construction/Bio Beauty Day Spa/Tile Express/Slam 101.1FM Honda Civic)

Shareef Walcott/Jan-Yves Hinds (SM1 Melwaniโ€™s/Novus Tech/Castrol/Caribbean Pleasures/Mianect Toyota Corolla)

Paul Inniss/Selena Kirton (C2 Durex Barbados/Caribbean Villa Chefs/Hugh Auto Body/Drive-A-Matic Car Rentals/Sun General Insurance/JJ Racing Team/East Point Grill/Terasu Restaurant/The Chicken Shop Inc/Rallymaxx Honda Civic)

Winston Thompson/Scott Bentham (SM1 Toyota Starlet)

Calvin Briggs/Michael Best (GpB2 Lucas Oil/Massy Realty Ford Sierra)

Trevor Mapp/Allister Nurse (C1 JSB Motorsport/A S Autostop/Chicken Pen Racing/Valvoline Mitsubishi Colt Mivec RS)

Rommell Martin/Rashid Phillips (C1 Winston Enterprise/Kola Kick/Slam Condoms/VV&K Rentals Ltd/Castrol/Premium Seafood/Fusion Boutique/B3 Imaging/Candy Lane Toyota Starlet)

Kevin-Jon Manning/Chazelle Cumberbatch (C1 KY/Flat 4s Barbados/Sunshade Tinting Studio/Pinder IT Peugeot 106 Rallye)

Fabien Clarke/Arlington Hoyte (C1 RCR Tours/King Auto Repair/Barbados Business Listings/Bovell Auto Repair Suzuki Ignis Sport)

30. How can you include non Bajans? Also not you need to remove Avinish Chatrani who sponsored himself. We know that he owns Electric Avenue.

31. Also to support comparison you need to list all White racers and their sponsors.

How can you include non Bajans? Also not you need to remove Avinish > Chatrani who sponsored himself. We know that he owns Electric Avenue. > > >

32. @farmz

You are wasting your time, these folks have an agenda and no amount of facts will deter them

33. David,

Maybe I should have expressed my equation in dollars.

1 x $1000 = $1000

1000 x $1 = $1000

If we pooled our meager resources we could sponsor our own boy. We have black businesses and communities. Who needs them? It all comes back to us.

Artax,

My hairdresser bought a car several years ago. Her salon soon cleared of neighbours and has never refilled since then. Only the faithful few like myself remained. Just Saturday I told my son the story of how the neighbours were incensed that she had bought a car “with their money.” So proud was I when he replied that it was no longer theirs since they had received a service. Poor boy was flabbergasted!

Bad-minded black people! I have to admit that we are our own worst enemy. If we could sort ourselves out the white man would have to look for holes.

34. Donna June 27, 2016 at 12:49 PM #

โ€œPointing out a racist system and crying out for equal treatment for all is not racist. We are identifying a problem, defining it, verbalizing it and seeking justice for all. We donโ€™t wish to oppress white people. We just want oppression to end. That kind of stupid talk about reverse racism only fools the wannabe whites who will parrot anything you say so you will throw them a cracker.โ€

I agree with your above comments 100%.

However, sometimes โ€œwe are our own worst enemy.โ€ The vendors are a perfect example.

35. @steeldonkey

The agenda is to establish the number of black BARBADIAN drivers who have significant sponsorship and compare with the Whites. Thereafter informing the discussion.

36. @Donna

Not sure if it is as simple as you suggest. It is about perceived benefits and available budget. Several of the big companies can easily allocate hundreds of thousands of dollars to create and drive market awareness. The first thing you have to consider is how many Black cars do we have in competitions.

37. @david

Without knowing the dollar value of all the sponsorships of all the people you will never know which are major and which are minor therefore rendering this post absofuckinglutely useless. And also if you or anyone thinks that sponsorship covers 100% running of any competition car yall are sadly mistaken.

38. Donna June 27, 2016 at 3:46 PM #

โ€œMy hairdresser bought a car several years ago. Her salon soon cleared of neighbours and has never refilled since then.โ€

That is the norm with us.

However, Iโ€™ll bet you when Haloute opened Chefette #15, rather than remarking he opened 15 outlets โ€œwith their money,โ€ they did not waste any time in patronizing the restaurant.

39. @david

Unless you know dollar value of each sponsorship how exactly are you going differeciate major from minor? It’s just speculation (which I admit Bajan society thrives on)
    But the fact remains, that if you or anyone else believes that sponsorship alone covers 100% owning,operating and maintaining a competition vehicle you might wanna come again….

40. @steeldonkey

This is not the point, let us agree Black drivers operate at a disadvantage. From where you sir how can you add to an earlier comment by Thinker.

41. Steel Donkey and Farmz
    Sparrow sang…..”if you en like it,get the hell out a hey”….

42. @steeldonkey… So what is the point of Farmz post ? If you add ALL the sponsors that he mentioned of the black drivers ,I am sure it comes nowhere near to what SOL ,CHEFETTE ,DIGICEL and FLOW give the big boys

43. A white person goes to a financial institution with a proposal everything looks great and promising the follow up questions from the instituion how mmuch collateral does the individual have on hand credit rating standing the answers are negative from the nidividual ,, the white person leaves the financial institution mad and very disappointed after hedgeing bets that the proposal is a slam dunk
    Three months later the white persons has started a business the natives rattled their spears wondering how come him and NOT US
    the truth of the matter lies in a formula which has worked very well . Friends and relatives step up in any way possible collateral becomes network by a way by funding from various sources who i turn becomes partners or associates with the business
    Not so for the black man the financial institution gives a reject out comes the high horse he gets on it cuss and swear and does absolutely nothing beyond that point hoping that next time the financial institution would be less lenient
    Friends and family only support of encouragement is to apply a formula steeped in shame and blame trowards the financial instituion .
    Reason why i make these analogies because they are true

44. @david

I cannot and will not agree to that.

45. @ Steeldonkey …..You and Farmz should have come up with different aliases as your post with curse words indicates exactly who you are.

46. @gentlejim

Sorry if you thought I was trying to hide anything.

Next time feel free to ask…..

47. David June 27, 2016 at 4:22 PM #

This is not the point, let us agree Black drivers operate at a disadvantage. and what is or those disadvantage/s

48. Lindsay Farmer Avatar
    Lindsay Farmer

@David, you asked for a list of black competitors and their sponsors.
    I provided a list of what I consider to be non-white competitors, sorry if it doesn’t fit your agenda.

@Gentle Jim, I wasn’t trying to hide anything, and where in my single post, did I curse anyone?

49. Lindsay Farmer Avatar
    Lindsay Farmer

@David, I will not admit that any race is at a disadvantage compared to another.
    Possibly one class over others, but not race.
    According to some posts here, I must be black as the road the tyres used on the cars.
    For over a decade I stood in the hot sun, pouring rain, dust and hail of gravel, as I marshaled during rally events.
    When I decided to compete, it was to share the expense of running a 10yr old pugga pugga car, and when we needed tyres to race, you would find us in the dump salvaging tyres we could use.
    Outside sponsorship was virtually nil. 99% of our rally budget came from our pockets, or family members who were able to lend some funds.
    So I WILL NOT admit that colour has any frame of reference to this discussion.

50. Donna June 27, 2016 at 3:46 PM #

If we pooled our meager resources we could sponsor our own boy. We have black businesses and communities. Who needs them? It all comes back to us.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Perhaps ac has given us the answer.

ac June 27, 2016 at 1:10 PM #
    Blacks have a high level of distrust of their own and have been their worst enemies since emancipation.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    In the Brittons Hill area are two mini marts, which were previously operated by Bajans , but had to be closed down due to a lack of business. Today those two businesses under new “offshore ” management are thriving concerns, thanks to mostly Bajans.