Another essay in the ongoing series during our fiftieth year of sovereign nationhood.

#bajanswantchange

However [political parties] may now and then answer popular ends, they are likely in the course of time and things, to become potent engines, by which cunning, ambitious, and unprincipled men will be enabled to subvert the power of the people and to usurp for themselves the reins of government, destroying afterwards the very engines which have lifted them to unjust dominion. –George Washington, Farewell Address, September 19, 1796

There is, unarguably, a near palpable air of “partisan politicking” in Barbados. With the next general election constitutionally due more than two years from now, I am nonplussed as to the reason (s) for this.

Perhaps it is owed to the bizarre developments in the US Presidential run-offs where, in a jurisdiction that guarantees equality, and whose version of the Colossus, Lady Liberty, proclaims a welcome to the “tired, poor, huddled masses yearning to breathe free”, the presumptive nominee for one of the major parties has managed to achieve this status in spite, or by virtue, of his enunciation of an intended policy that would exclude even natural born United States citizens from the country on the basis of their heritage or religion. What is even more remarkable is that he has done so without the total loss of support from the leadership of his party, whose minds are fixated rather on having their nominee in the White House next January.

It may be owed too, to the recent round of general elections in the region where the electorates seem most unforgiving of an administration’s failure to provide instant economic gratification and thus unwilling to accord it more terms than one. It has happened so far in Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica and, on Monday last week, with the St Lucia Labour Party in St Lucia.

So the outgone People’s National Movement administration in Jamaica seeks now for reasons why it suffered electoral misfortune, ascribing it variously to snubbing political debates, initiating a brouhaha over the palatial home of the Opposition Leader, low worker morale, unresolved candidate election issues and in-fighting within the party. No consideration appears to have been given to the actuality that it might simply have been the electorate’s way of inquiring and answering, “What have you done for me lately?”

As for my friend and former Faculty of Law colleague, the Prime Minister of St Lucia, one suspects that he himself had seen the writing on the wall when he publicly expressed discomfiture at the presence in St Lucia of non-national political operatives aligned against his party, a phenomenon that has seemingly become par for the course in successive regional election campaigns.

It may be both or neither of these. It may even be the local preoccupation with being perceived to have been on the right side of history and that there is too a general feeling that we are in for a humdinger of a general election campaign in 2018 where there is likely to be regime change.

But I got the clearest indication of this sentiment last week when my column on the legal issues surrounding the killing of the handsome silverback gorilla, Harambe, and the possible liability in criminal negligence of the mother of the boy who fell into Harambe’s enclosure at the Cincinnati zoo caused some consternation in another forum in that it had nothing to do with current affairs in Barbados. Some even suggested that it was intended to be a distraction from more serious (sc. partisan political) issues.

While this was by no means an overwhelmingly popular opinion, it establishes that, for some, little else matters beyond the state of current local political play and that they will not be distracted by anything even remotely unconnected.

What we fail to realize is that if there is to be significant change, it will not come through the mere exchange of one grouping of personalities from the so-called political class for another. This game of “political tag” is scarcely the way for the citizen to play a greater role in his or her democratic destiny beyond the quinquennial (five yearly) placement of an X against a faceless and, in our case, symbol-less, name.

There is a memorable quotation by the comic strip character, Pogo, used to commemorate the very first Earth Day in 1970. Pogo is trying to pick up the litter strewn by humans near a swamp. It is, “We have met the enemy and he is us”, signifying that so far as the preservation of the environment is concerned, mankind is his own enemy.

The question begs asking, “Who or what is the enemy of the people, preventing their acquisition of more sovereignty over their own affairs?

Too besides, the Honorable Prime Minister is fond of urging the nation to reflect on three items during our fiftieth year –(i) those things that have been beneficial to our development that we would wish to keep; (ii) those similar that we have lost and need to reclaim; and (iii) those that we should wish to discard as quickly as possible? To this paraphrase, I would respectfully add a fourth consideration for reflection –those things that would be helpful to our future development to better governance and that we need to acquire as quickly as possible.

It is submitted that the answer is similar in both cases. The enemy, as Pogo suggested, may be us (and our narrow focus on political partisanship). And that which we might each do well to acquire quickly is the ability to think for ourselves and not to be mere “useful idiots” of any partisan political dictate.

To be continued…

227 responses to “The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – On Nearing Fifty (v)”

1. Coke or Pepsi, Trump or Clinton. It will make little difference to 99% of people anywhere.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Well said Pacha.
    If we had the needed eyes to see, and ears to hear, it would be clear to us that what we are facing is VERY much bigger than Clinton and Trump….or even Froon and MAM.
    The REAL choice was never between idiotic politicians, but between spiritual realities. We all chose the albino-centric way of money and materialism …and we fight about which albino-centric system works best to facilitate our selfishness…..

A clear case of the blind leading the blind.. and there is no shortages of cliffs and wells about.

The fight (life) is NOT against flesh and blood …and material possessions. It is really a choice to be made about principalities and powers….. and about spiritual wickedness in high places.
    Jill Stein and Bernie Sanders can offer no hope….The ONLY defence against “the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places”…. is the armour of BBE.

…and that armour…?
    the utility belt of truth buckled around your waist,
    the breastplate of righteousness,
    the shoes of the Good News of peace
    the shield of faith
    the helmet of salvation
    the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God;
    ……praying at all seasons in the Spirit, and watching thereunto in all perseverance and supplication for all the saints.

Truth and righteousness are strangers to us as we pursue our albino-centric ways; and therefore peace eludes our feet; we can have no faith; and the sword of the spirit has been withheld from us…leaving us defenceless against the powers of darkness.

Best advice from Bushie….
    Make a will ….for your prized material possessions…..

2. @DPD
    Donald Trump is an educated, savvy businessman who in the consummate salesman and deal maker that as business-men we all strive to be.
    +++++
    He may be all these things but did you read the NYT exposé that someone posted a link to earlier? The story of how he made millions while his Casinos, the bondholders and Banks lost their shirts? How he skirted on the edge of legality in some of his actions at the time? He may not be as savvy as you think, a good way to test his boast would be the release of his tax returns but he has refused to do so and this is the same man who pilloried Romney when Romney hesitated to release his.

Bookmark the date Nov.28, that is the date Trump will go on trial re the Civil case against Trump University, the charges against him include those drawn under the RICO statute (RICO is what is used against mobsters). It could be the first time that a President Elect could be on the witness stand in a Court of law or by then he could be a defeated candidate who is lashing out at all and sundry.

We will be able to observe how “savvy” he is……..

3. Hey BT
    Good to see you back after that cryptic observation on the other thread which caused me to think that the Grim Reaper had requested your presence in the Celestial Choir. Now you write about a Will…. What’s going on? Good advice about Wills, I did mine more than 20 years ago, time to add a codicil.

I know we can count on you for the Jeremiads but your brother from another mother (GP) has been filling in quite admirably in your absence. It’s amazing to think that you are sworn enemies on the blog but your ideas on “end times” fit together so comfortably like yin and yang.

Life is really too short……

4. @ GP

This is a thing most strange

You come here and espouse “the last days of the last days” and wars and rumors of wars and you ent no candidate for lithium and anticonvulsants and antipsychotic drugs but de ole man comes and speaks to factual evidence of configurations of wars, in front of ones eyes and am labelled thusly

ammmmmm, as that stuttering Customs Officer would preface his comments, I will leave you with your sole authorship and pronouncements of your Christ, which is rapidly becoming no different from the religious radicalism of the jihadists.

Thank You Jesus

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Piece
    re @ GP

This is a thing most strange

You come here and espouse “the last days of the last days” and wars and rumors of wars and you ent no candidate for lithium and anticonvulsants and antipsychotic drugs but de ole man comes and speaks to factual evidence of configurations of wars, in front of ones eyes and am labelled thusly

if THEY LIKE YA PUN BU THEY LIKE YA AND YA CAN TALK ALL KINDS OF SHIT
    SOME TRY TO SOUND LIKE THEY BRIGHT

SARGEANT………LIFE IS NOT ONLY SHORT BUT TIME IS SHORT TOO

TO ALL TRUMP HATERS WUNNA CAN SAY WHAT WUNNA LIKE BOUT HE BUT IF HE IS TO BE PRESIDENT HE WILL BE PRESIDENT

GOD RAISED UP THE MELCHISEDEK-OID ONE TO DESTROY AMURIKA AND BRING TINGS TO THE BRINK FOR THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST

MAYBE TRUMP WILL BE A KING JOSIAH TO STAVE OFF THE INEVITABLE FOR A SHORT WHILE

6. Why all the emotionalism and criticisms of The Donald..The Donald was able to confound and dumbfound his critics having them asking what happened

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces (rhetorical)…were for example the Knights Templar jihadists or soldiers of a just God.

Was the General under Bush the son who was quoted to the effect that he (the military) were fighting in the name of God against these infidels (my words of his surprising comments for an active flag officer) a jihadist himself or a soldier for truth and light.

All that to ask has it is only now dawned upon you that there is this “… sole authorship and pronouncements of your Christ, which is rapidly becoming no different from the religious radicalism of the jihadists”.

Or is it that today was a good day to give voice to that but we will surely accept the Soldier of Christ as a decent son of the soil and revert to a shrug of the shoulders at his commentary.

At least we know that he will never use a AR-15 on innocents here in Bim or even effect a doctor-of-death persona and leave a carnage of patients dead by his hand.

He is a truly decent fellow in that regard. He just craves attention and something to occupy that superior brain power he has, it seems.

8. Black people cheering for Trump is like chickens cheering for the Colonel, after the Mexicans and Muslims he will be coming for us with his secret herbs and spices.

I don’t even want to touch the “small hands” issue.

9. Black people cheering for Hillary is like women begging for licks from their boyfriends.
    Hillary and Bill achieved electoral success in the 1990s by publicly insulting black leaders and activists (Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton, Sister Souljah). They locked up hundreds of thousands of black men through special anti-drug campaigns (the War on Drugs), and threw hundreds of thousands of black women off the welfare rolls (welfare reform). Hillary’s first political activities in the 1960s were in support of Republican Barry Goldwater, who fought against the Civil Rights Act of 1964 because he said no businessman should have to serve black customers if he didn’t want to.
    Black women voting for Hillary have an excuse: they are blinded by feminism and proud to see a woman take power in Washington. But all the male clowns supporting this woman should be made to wear dunce caps. You are so dumb you’d try to drown a fish.

10. Amazing how we line behind mere mortals who ostensibly are figureheads.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

why are you surprised David?
    if folk will not believe CHRIST the TRUTH:they will believe the LIE, as clearly taught in 2 These 2

12. Tessa Yearwood Avatar
    Tessa Yearwood

Much more amazing, surely, are those dullards who get onto their knees for mere fictional ‘immortals’ and regard them as figureheads. The capacity of dullards for self-deceit is much more than amazing.

13. chad99999 June 14, 2016 at 12:37 PM #

“Black people cheering for Hillary is like women begging for licks from their boyfriends.
    Hillary and Bill achieved electoral success in the 1990s by publicly insulting black leaders and activists (Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton, Sister Souljah).”

@ chad99999

Are you an American that you are so deeply entrenched in American politics? Personally, I don’t care who becomes president of the USA, I have never visited there nor do I have any intensions of doing so. It seems as though many of you thought that Obama, being African American, was going to be the “savior” for Negroes worldwide.

The American visa requirements and application process have blatant underlying examples of segregation. Yet we feel proud to apply for visas, while complaining about the applications fees and crying if we are not granted one.

Many contributors are mentioning America’s right of protecting its borders from acts of terrorism, which I support as well, since it’s the right of every sovereign nation. But have any of you ever thought about why so much HATE is DIRECTED towards the USA?

The first immigrant settlers to the USA PERPETRATED acts of TERRORISM, GENOCIDE and other ATROCITIES against the NATIVE AMERICANS they found living there. These groups, such as the Sioux, Cherokee, Apache, Cheyenne, Chickasaw, Choctaw and Shawnee were displaced from their homelands and subsequently forced into reservations because the early American settlers wanted their lands and had superior fire-power to achieve that objective.

I bet many of you older folk used to feel proud going to the weekly cinema movies at 12:30pm, 4:30pm, 8:30pm and 12:00am to watch your favourite “westerns” or “cow-boy pictures,” many of which demonized and categorized the Native Americans as SAVAGES, placing a particular emphasis on them killing “innocent” white men, women and children who came to America looking for a home and to improve their livelihood. However, you bought into the propaganda, never once taking into consideration how the Native Americans probably felt being forcibly driven from lands, which were, for centuries, occupied by their fore-fathers.

Just take moment and think….. supposed the Native Americans had EQUAL ACCESS to ammunition, under those circumstances, don’t you think they would have defended their lives and properties similarly to the Viet Cong? Many of them went on “suicide missions” to confront their enemies. How else would you describe the act of an Indian armed only with a bow and arrow, confronting a man armed with a Colt 45 or rifle?

Perhaps if Trump becomes the US president, Negroes will have equal opportunities and white policemen will not see the need of shooting them at random.

14. Why is it that a man can be remanded in prison suspected of murder, is later released because of a lack of evidence. Yet when he sues the government under habeas corpus for $2m, and the judge calls the Guyana-born DPP to give evidence, this obnoxious man pretends to be angry?
    Why is this human rights case not widely reported in the Barbados papers? Why is the incompetent attorney general not asking for the papers on the case? Why is our buffoon of a prime minister, a lawyer and former attorney general, not condemning this abuse, yet is publicly undermining magistrates and judges by condemning the bail system?
    Why do we allow insignificant party politics to dominate public space and allow the abuse of the criminal justice system to be ignored? Is this what we have for our 50th anniversary? Is this what Barbadian journalism has come to?

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hal…ya think that is bad, wait until I unleash what I know about how defense attorneys can make up falsehoods and file in the court, the judges know and can do nothing….the whole system is a mockery…I have never seen anything like that before…no wonder the CCJ is concerned about how justice id dispensed in Barbados….it’s a very dangerous practice and needs to be exposed.

What do you expect from a DPP who is known to collude with wealthy criminals and enable them in their criminality.

Hal…why are you not publishing these clear violations of human rights happening on the island in the UK….they are part of public record….no violations of secrets or slander or defamation or any of the other crap those small island jackasses for authorities like to use to cover up their criminal activities. .., expose them internationally.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/14/i-object-2/

Look Hal…the same snitch of a DPP who was colluding with the Justice Department to have 3 black males illegally extradited to the US on drug charges, the same DPP who has now caused the Barbados Government and the US government to be sued and have to answer a huge lawsuit for that nasty attempt….while he allows his indian partner Peter Harris to commit all kinds of crimes on the island and against the black people in Barbados.

The same scum…this needs to be exposed internationally.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Just note how nasty and disrespectful DPP Leacock is to Justice Beckles….this is what Fruendel and Adriel Brathwaite allow in the supreme court….total disrespect of judges by lawyers and crooked business people.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

…………total disrespect of judges by lawyers, crooked business people and their criminal insurance executive friends..

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

WW&C

I worked in the Ministry of Legal Affairs around the time Leacock was promoted to the post of Director of Public Prosecutions. Word around the chambers back then was that he had expressed a desire to become the youngest judge in Barbados. Miss Beckles was probably in secondary school at the time. That might have some bearing on how he views that lady. She caught up with him and passed him like a full bus. But then again I could have misread the situation.

I have followed Miss Beckles’ career from the time when she first joined the Public Service and cannot recall a single instance where her name was mentioned in any unsavoury behaviour. That cannot be said for all of the persons who administer justice in this country, can it?

20. Sidebar: You saw how that mass killer was snacking on the side.
    Whenever I see a homophobic rant, I just shake my head and go “Hmmmm! Time will tell”,

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Gazer

The guy might have been Looking for halal meat.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Is this the same country that lost all its colonies after the nonsense with the Balfour Declaration?

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The Jihad will soon start over there too….then they will be talking more.

24. Chad 9’s

Why don’t you change your name to CLOWN, only a CLOWN would infer that the political activity of a high School student seeking to find her political footing is in any way related to what this person is today when all the evidence supports a different conclusion. Didn’t you get the memo that shortly after she worked for Eugene McCarthy?

How old was Trump when he was sued by the US Justice Dept. for discriminating against Blacks who wanted to rent homes from his Real Estate Company?

How old was Trump when he took full page ads out in NYC newspapers asking for a return of the death penalty after the rape of the Central Park jogger (after four black youths were charged). Incidentally they were exonerated years later when someone else confessed.

BTW you seem to have an issue with women, I suggest a visit to your local Mental Health Centre, they can recommend the appropriate therapy.

25. Seven minutes, that’s how long it took for this reporter to buy the “gun of the week” the day after someone used the same type of gun to murder 49 people.

http://www.philly.com/philly/columnists/helen_ubinas/20160614_Ubinas__I_bought_an_AR-15_semi-automatic_rifle_in_Philly_in_7_minutes.html

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Caswelll…you are on point with Justice Beckles.

Leacock cannot make the grade because he exudes slime. Even standing next to him my skin crawls. He knows he is corrupt, the prime minister and attorney general both know he is corrupt, yet he remains as DPP for the island, they refuse to remove him……I can’t believe he wanted to be a judge, just imagine what the judiciary woukd be like with him as a judge or chief justice.

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, your 5:55 Am post reflects the interesting and profound aspects of this presidential campaign. Reasonable people can accept that Clinton is as duplicitous and nasty as the smiling, charming Bush the son was…and could wrought as much pain. They are cut of the same cloth and use the same tailors figuratively speaking.

The problem though is that Trump is no McCain. That is a grave problem for the US and world.

Thus if these revelations do not result in an indictment but stain her so much that becoming President is insanely impossible then that 12 point lead she has built will obviously disappear into space….those super-delegates will then HAVE to switch allegiance to Sanders.

Now when/if that happens we will see if all the Sanders socialist palaver at primary can properly pivot to win a general election.

Sanders et Warren is perhaps too scary for most Americans but who knows.

So are Clinton’s days numbered? Are the super-delegates ready to end the historical first-female for President feel-good narrative? Can Bernie really win a US general election?

We shall see.

Incidentally, how do the optics of a Homosexual Muslim Terrorists actually work? How scandalous. As it stands right now it’s quite likely that ISIS will dispatch acolytes (other home grown of course) to destroy this man’s family for the absolute perfidy that he has brought on them.

A gay Muslim terrorist.

That can probably become a new dictionary example of contradiction or dichotomy or maybe even for the urban dictionary definition of egg-on-face!

28. @David
    Your video @ 6.09 am is a prime example of why the policy of banning Muslims from entering the US as espoused by Trump is so asinine. There are Muslims residing in all countries that are major allies of the USA including Canada, Britain, France, Australia et al. Is he suggesting an additional Visa requirement of declaring your religion or be denied entry? (BTW Canadians do not need Visas to enter the USA). A policy of denying entry by Muslims would be welcomed by ISIL, they will frame it as an attack of the faith rather than an attempt to stop terrorists and drive up their recruitment numbers.

Sooner or later people are going to have to talk to each other, the war in Vietnam wasn’t won on the ground or in the air and this war will continue no matter if ISIL is subjugated on the battlefield.

I suggest that the US use the Saudis as an intermediary of sorts to establish some sort of dialogue, they have friends in both camps.

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Wikileaks To Divulge Enough Evidence To Indict Hillary Clinton
    WHY DOESNT HE LEAK THE INFO WITHOUT ALL DE LONG TALK?

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant June 15, 2016 at 8:44 AM
    “I suggest that the US use the Saudis as an intermediary of sorts to establish some sort of dialogue, they have friends in both camps.”

That’s like cutting off your nose to spite your face.

From where do you think ISIL and its many offshoots get the funding for its many jihadist operations? Who do you think finance the purchase of arms and other warmongering material including food for the same ISIL?
    Do you think it comes from Warren Buffet or Rupert Murdoch or even Bill Gates?

There is no ISIL without rich Muslim supporters with worldwide contacts? Now where would you find the richest and most influential Muslims? Certainly not in Indonesia or Trinidad?

31. @Miller etc.

That why the Saudis make sense because sooner or later ISIL will devour them too, that Wahhabism that they export will turn inward, those “ascetic” Muslim clerics are already unhappy at the thought of Saudi Princes blowing their wad figuratively as well as literally in the fleshpots of London, Paris, Cologne, and Las Vegas etc.

Saudi Arabia better act soon or it will find itself in the Belly of the Beast that it created.

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

KEEP GOING ALL MOVE ON TOWARDS THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST

33. @GP

If the Wikileak emails are thought to cause real damage to Hilary then the effective strategy will be to give her minimum time to do PR work.

34. hehehe, so wouldn’t JUST releasing the emails give the least amount of time for any PR work. You sure you ain’t trying to say that he WANT to give her time to do PR work.

I think Mr Wiki is a cool fellow and ting so he mussee already gave the Hil and her team a sneak preview of what he gine unload in their tails.

Dis bro got really large balls tho. He know that this shiitte could not have happened back in de day. His number would have been punched long time now. But the day he really piss off Vlad then he gone.

May he prosper and live long and not go after Vlad. hehehe.

35. Vincent Haynes Avatar

This post on the 50th has been hijacked like so many others…….why is it that we cannot stay focussed on achieving solutions to the ills that plague Bim?

Is it possible to have a seperate space for misogynists,homophobes,chauvanists,racists,mythologists,pigmentologists and secularists to have their respective rants?

36. @Vincent

This is the Internet.

You intervened with you solutions and therefore help to guide the discussion, that is all you can do.

37. @ Vincent Haynes.

There is, as the Honourable Blogmaster pointed out, a certain unpredictability about the internet that cannot be corralled and you just have to go with the flow of thing

I addition there are certain topics that are so unimportant or so huge that to even begin to wrap your mind around them presents difficulty to most of us posters.

Take for example – economic theories or legal matters.

When them big guns start talking I may, or may not, read their topics, simply because I am not in their league.

Men like Jeff Cumberbatch, whether he is talking about a Silver Back Gorilla or Independence or “change” elicit that type of discourse where people just stand outside and watch or, like me, a feller who wants people TO FEEL DAT HE KNOW A TING OR TWO, will come and post a beriffle uh pup.

Look at this Jeff Cumberbatch question Mr Haynes

““Who or what is the enemy of the people, preventing their acquisition of more sovereignty over their own affairs?

How are going to begin to start to answer that?

Will you speak of the lack of self actuation in a nation and an inability to create the environment within which the people collectively start to thing about the issues AND, MORE PERTINENT TO THAT QUESTION, start to do something tha gets us where we need to be?

And then, WHERE DO WE NEED TO ? that is an abstract statement which is so cliche that after a while it starts to become a seemingly useless rant.

Where does such “sovereignty” commence? At home? at school? at church? in parliament?

What do you implement that creates the stage for such?

Jeff does ask some hard questions and what you see here is just a manifestation of the fact that “none of us dont really know how to begin to start to (purposely appended) to answer what he asks”

THis is precisely the reason that certain Lectures DO NOT GET any significant audience, because the invitees are out of their depth and will. like water settle in a area where we are comfortable, ad hominems, talking about American politics, cussing each other, blaming the DBLP, or like ole menses like me, posting “stupid cartoons”

38. When I read the Gleaner last night,I came the conclusion also,that the US Embassy in Jamaica is out of place and is insulting to the Jamaican people.If they want to fly the rainbow,feel free to do so in the USA and stop trying to force your ‘ values’ on others who do not share them in totality.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/news20160615/why-school-or-military-flags-werent-raised-after-other-us-shootings-lobby#V2F3wQE4MSQ.mailto

39. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Pieceuhderockyeahright June 15, 2016 at 12:13 PM #

““Who or what is the enemy of the people, preventing their acquisition of more sovereignty over their own affairs?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

The answer is………we the people.

What is so hard about that?

40. @ Vincent Haynes

ahmmmmmmm, I am going to take it that you are being purposely facetious.

@ 10.17 a.m. you stated that the post had been highjacked and I supported what the Honourable Blogmaster said about this being the dynamics of the internet and then countered with 3 or four possible things that were responsible for that highjacking.

I concurred that the topic had been hijacked and wondered if you, in the wisdom of so stating, could un-highjack it, not be stating the obvious, as in we the people, but was hopeful that another here, in recognising the problem, might, suggest a workable solution.

I seem to have been wrong unless, unless you are saying get rid of the people…?

41. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Pieceuhderockyeahright June 15, 2016 at 1:24 PM #

Ahhh…….the coin has dropped……..get rid of the peoples thinking.

This is how we start…..so let us continue and expand the workable solutions

42. @Vincent

Is it practical to ask ordinary citizens to put solutions on the table? We can make suggestions and offer opinions.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

why hurt your head when the situation is obvious?

44. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David June 15, 2016 at 1:55 PM #

Oh yes,that is what has been lacking for too long…….too much dependence on academics who have never run a food stall.

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

do you know how difficult it is for an academic to run a food stall in barbados?
    the niggas tink it is below your standing and you should leave it for others
    they want to know what you want now

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/gs7X301iY1K

Here is where Disney will be hit with a hell of a lawsuit, no signs placed that alligators were in the water…an extension of Jeff’s gorilla and the boy article.