Another essay in the ongoing series during our fiftieth year of sovereign nationhood.

#bajanswantchange

However [political parties] may now and then answer popular ends, they are likely in the course of time and things, to become potent engines, by which cunning, ambitious, and unprincipled men will be enabled to subvert the power of the people and to usurp for themselves the reins of government, destroying afterwards the very engines which have lifted them to unjust dominion. โ€“George Washington, Farewell Address, September 19, 1796

There is, unarguably, a near palpable air of โ€œpartisan politickingโ€ in Barbados. With the next general election constitutionally due more than two years from now, I am nonplussed as to the reason (s) for this.

Perhaps it is owed to the bizarre developments in the US Presidential run-offs where, in a jurisdiction that guarantees equality, and whose version of the Colossus, Lady Liberty, proclaims a welcome to the โ€œtired, poor, huddled masses yearning to breathe freeโ€, the presumptive nominee for one of the major parties has managed to achieve this status in spite, or by virtue, of his enunciation of an intended policy that would exclude even natural born United States citizens from the country on the basis of their heritage or religion. What is even more remarkable is that he has done so without the total loss of support from the leadership of his party, whose minds are fixated rather on having their nominee in the White House next January.

It may be owed too, to the recent round of general elections in the region where the electorates seem most unforgiving of an administrationโ€™s failure to provide instant economic gratification and thus unwilling to accord it more terms than one. It has happened so far in Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica and, on Monday last week, with the St Lucia Labour Party in St Lucia.

So the outgone Peopleโ€™s National Movement administration in Jamaica seeks now for reasons why it suffered electoral misfortune, ascribing it variously to snubbing political debates, initiating a brouhaha over the palatial home of the Opposition Leader, low worker morale, unresolved candidate election issues and in-fighting within the party. No consideration appears to have been given to the actuality that it might simply have been the electorateโ€™s way of inquiring and answering, โ€œWhat have you done for me lately?โ€

As for my friend and former Faculty of Law colleague, the Prime Minister of St Lucia, one suspects that he himself had seen the writing on the wall when he publicly expressed discomfiture at the presence in St Lucia of non-national political operatives aligned against his party, a phenomenon that has seemingly become par for the course in successive regional election campaigns.

It may be both or neither of these. It may even be the local preoccupation with being perceived to have been on the right side of history and that there is too a general feeling that we are in for a humdinger of a general election campaign in 2018 where there is likely to be regime change.

But I got the clearest indication of this sentiment last week when my column on the legal issues surrounding the killing of the handsome silverback gorilla, Harambe, and the possible liability in criminal negligence of the mother of the boy who fell into Harambeโ€™s enclosure at the Cincinnati zoo caused some consternation in another forum in that it had nothing to do with current affairs in Barbados. Some even suggested that it was intended to be a distraction from more serious (sc. partisan political) issues.

While this was by no means an overwhelmingly popular opinion, it establishes that, for some, little else matters beyond the state of current local political play and that they will not be distracted by anything even remotely unconnected.

What we fail to realize is that if there is to be significant change, it will not come through the mere exchange of one grouping of personalities from the so-called political class for another. This game of โ€œpolitical tagโ€ is scarcely the way for the citizen to play a greater role in his or her democratic destiny beyond the quinquennial (five yearly) placement of an X against a faceless and, in our case, symbol-less, name.

There is a memorable quotation by the comic strip character, Pogo, used to commemorate the very first Earth Day in 1970. Pogo is trying to pick up the litter strewn by humans near a swamp. It is, โ€œWe have met the enemy and he is usโ€, signifying that so far as the preservation of the environment is concerned, mankind is his own enemy.

The question begs asking, โ€œWho or what is the enemy of the people, preventing their acquisition of more sovereignty over their own affairs?

Too besides, the Honorable Prime Minister is fond of urging the nation to reflect on three items during our fiftieth year โ€“(i) those things that have been beneficial to our development that we would wish to keep; (ii) those similar that we have lost and need to reclaim; and (iii) those that we should wish to discard as quickly as possible? To this paraphrase, I would respectfully add a fourth consideration for reflection โ€“those things that would be helpful to our future development to better governance and that we need to acquire as quickly as possible.

It is submitted that the answer is similar in both cases. The enemy, as Pogo suggested, may be us (and our narrow focus on political partisanship). And that which we might each do well to acquire quickly is the ability to think for ourselves and not to be mere โ€œuseful idiotsโ€ of any partisan political dictate.

To be continuedโ€ฆ

227 responses to “The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – On Nearing Fifty (v)”

1. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

de pedantic Dribbler June 12, 2016 at 1:06 PM #

Canโ€™t we really understand why our society is the way it is: Indifferent, prejudiced, hypocritical and corrupt.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

As I have stated before looking in the mirror is not a Bimmers past time……..you will note that no one other than David commented on my mirror post…..we live in denial.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

rE just try to enjoy your Sunday lunch, secured in the knowledge that the God you serve cannot be the same that some others speak so glowingly about.

In Genesis 18/19 the God that I speak so glowingly about DESTROYED THE CITIES OF SODOM AND GOMORRAH

Apparently a man saw two men kissing in a place where he was shopping with his little boy. This incensed him so much that he left his abode many miles away and traveelld to the PREMIER CLUB for BULLERS AND BULLEES and WICKERS AND WICKEES and HE USED BULLETS. 5O DEAD AND COUNTING.

I GOT UP THIS MORNING AND CAME DOWN STAIRS WHERE THE STORY OF THE BULLERS VS THE BULLETS WAS ON ALL FIVE LOCAL STATIONS. ALL I DID WAS REPORTED THE STORY

AND YOU ARE RIGHT AC
    If one reads GP comments on the Alis Non Sibi blog .one would understand GP comments here and recognized his mischievous activity for doing so. GP is not a fool he is trying to make a point and those who have fell into the trap of answering or responding to his comments negatively has given confirmation to what GP says is BU sheep disdain for those who do not tow the line

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn June 12, 2016 at 1:07 PM

Thanks, fellow “Up and On” graduate!

The miller was initiated by the late great Harold Wharton who baptized the then novice in the โ€˜imageryโ€™ world of Literature similar to what John the Baptist did to the legendary Yeshua (your sweet Roman friend Iesus).

4. @Chad999 and caps only Georgie Porgie… It may just be a coincidence but I have noticed that some of the most stringent opposers to the LGBT community and its most severe critics in the USA are eventually exposed as closet perverts – children, young boys etc. I am sure your motivation is entirely pure.

5. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Apology accepted, SSS. We are both on the same side of searching for a more participatory democracy and thus improved governance!

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

de pedantic Dribbler June 12, 2016 at 1:06 PM #
    RE Guys this is real.

YOU BET ITS REAL A MAN FROM PORT LUCIE DROVE UP TO ORLANDO WELL EQUIPPED AND KILL SOME BULLERS AND BULLEES SOME WICKERS AND WICKEES

YOU BETPeople died today because of hate PEOPLE DIE EVERY DAY ALL OVER THE WORLD BECAUSE OF HATE AND BIOGOTRY THIS HAS BEEN HAPENING SINCE CAIN SLEW ABEL ah lie

re For a Bajan who journeyed for some years at one of our best school and was heralded as one of our best and brightest and is a doctor to boot to come here and act in such a hateful and crass way is very painful.
    WHAT A NON SEQUITUR BEING A BAJAN WHO WENT TO YOUR BEST SCHOOL IS HATEFUL CRASS BECAUSE HE REPORTS WHAT IS HAPPENING VIRTUALLY IN HIS BACKYARD…CAUSING A STATE OF EMERGENCY TO BE DECLARED AND THE HEAD —————TO SPEAK SOON.

RE โ€ฆthIS is now the worst mass shooting in the USA but regardless an educated Bajan acts in this way. WHAT WAY I ONLY SAY SOME BULLERS GET KILLED.. OK LETS CALLL BOTSY MECHANICS THEN LOL

RE Canโ€™t we really understand why our society is the way it is: Indifferent, prejudiced, hypocritical and corrupt. THE STATE OF BAJAN SOCIETY HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH ME SIR

BOY YOU CATCHING AT STRAWS LOL

RE Donโ€™t we all embrace and acclaim this man here on this site? YOU GETTING ON AS IF I WAS FIRING THE BULLETS AT THE BULLERS AND BULLEES AND THE WICKERS AND WICKEES

RE How then can we be so surprised by the political behaviour and the citizenry which elects them. BIRD BRAIN I HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH the political behaviour IN BIM NOTHING LOL

RE Sorry all but in the persona and interface with this blogger BU is a clear and definitive microcosm of society. ANOTHER NONSEQUITUR

Anyhow enough of this for today and all.

7. If only we were as passionate about governance and food security issues. It makes BU question the oft repeated Hant’s saying, are we able to talk and chew gum at the same time? BU adds the saying from the old fold – manners maketh man.

8. Regarding lying Hillary as labeled by the Honorable Mr Trump, have a look at this extensive article regarding his honest accumulation of his vast wealth estimated to be in the billions – http://mobile.nytimes.com/2016/06/12/nyregion/donald-trump-atlantic-city.html?referer=https://news.google.com/

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

FearPlay June 12, 2016 at 1:37 PM #
    @Chad999 and caps only Georgie Porgieโ€ฆ It may just be a coincidence but I have noticed that some of the most stringent opposers to the LGBT community and its most severe critics in the USA are eventually exposed as closet perverts โ€“ children, young boys etc. I am sure your motivation is entirely pure.

SIR I CAN ASSURE YOU THAT I HAVE NEVER BULLED OR BEEN BULLED
    BUT SOME ON BU WOULD LOVE TO BULLY ME……….LOL

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Reports coming out states this shooter, new yprk born of Afghan descent, parents born there decided to call 911 before he started shooting and told the cops, he pledged allegiance to ISIS…he was a wife beater and arrogant…no role model for his son….licensed to carry weapons…certified security guard…..home grown nut.

11. @ GP 1:41PM

Don’t kill us ……………………………………. with laughter!

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David June 12, 2016 at 1:39 PM #

You can see for your self how easy Bimmers are distracted.

I think you mean broughtupsy……something which is lacking more and more in Bim.

13. What are people talking about………….. about being distracted. All things are connected to each other.

We are to make those critical connections.

What is the point/s at which the incident in Florida connects with the article written by Jeff?

An obvious point is the gender of MAM. The sexuality of MAM.

Does anybody want to make that connection/s? Or is this part of the unspeakable in Bim?

And how will a MAM administration see these issues in relationship to Jeff’s article.

You still killing us. The police coming to arrest you for murder, by laughter! LOL

14. Georgie, if AC has your number you should really keep it a secret! Oh Lawd, muh belly! Wuhlaus! Ah gon fall! Waaaah ha ha!

15. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Brilliant stream of consciousness analysis, Pacha…

16. GP Never mentioned the word RIGHT in an association to ac on BU if not you would be Hung to tne BU cross

17. We live in a world today where any issue can be intellectualized. It is what it is.

18. If these reports are true. That the alleged assassin pledged allegiance to Daesh (ISIS).

We know that the US government has been also supporting Daesh to destroy MENA countries. What are the implications for governance when the government and common criminals support the same people? The GOB has also been shown to support corporate criminals.

We could also examine how the rights Jeff talks about are hindered or exerted by the gun culture in Barbados.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

pacha
    i had no intention of distracting the BU INTELLIGENTIA
    ALL I SOUGHT TO DO WAS SHARE THE NEWS IN MY VIRTUAL BACKYARD
    hOWEVER YOUR THOUGHTS WHICH I HAVE COPIED BELOW IS OF SERIOUS MERIT, AS WE MIGHT UNLESS GOD INTERVENES, END UP WITH A NATIONAL HEAD WICKER
    What is the point/s at which the incident in Florida connects with the article written by Jeff?

An obvious point is the gender of MAM. The sexuality of MAM.

Does anybody want to make that connection/s? Or is this part of the unspeakable in Bim?

And how will a MAM administration see these issues in relationship to Jeffโ€™s article.

20. We discuss MAM’s sexual inclination on BU all the time on BU, this is a non point. We currently have homosexuals/bisexuals in parliament,

Hell, we had Cammie!

21. For all the clueless folks supporting Hillary over The Donald, some points to consider:
    (1) Hillary has boasted in a personal memoir about rounding up votes for her husband’s “welfare reform” legislation in the 1990s that threw hundreds of thousands of blacks off the welfare rolls.
    (2) She supported the changes that increased the numbers of black men incarcerated for drug crimes during Bill’s administration.
    (3) She will continue policies that facilitate mass immigration of Mexicans to the US. Black employment and wage rates have been significantly reduced by Mexicans competing for the available jobs.
    I lived in Chicago for nine years. By the time I left there were as many Mexicans in town as blacks, and white businessmen preferred to hire Mexicans. A Mexican elected as the top local prosecutor helped Chicago police cover up the killings of nearly 50 black men in street shootings.
    Hillary is bad news for black people and especially for black men. Go Trump.

22. @chad99999

They both come to the table with nasty hands so what is your point? Is it a big sin lil sin argument then?

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David June 12, 2016 at 2:29 PM #
    We discuss MAMโ€™s sexual inclination on BU all the time on BU, this is a non point. We currently have homosexuals/bisexuals in parliament,

Hell, we had Cammie!

TRUE TRUE DAVID
    BUT NONE OF THESE WERE FULLY COMMITED TO THAT CAUSE, LIKE THE HEAD HOMOOVER HERE
    FROM THE TIME OF SODOM AND GOMORRAH THESE DEVIANTS EVEN WHEN MADE BLIND BY THE LORD WAS STILL SCRATCHING AROUND TO GET A HIT OFF THE VISITORS TO TOWN

TODAY THEY DONT STAY BY THEMSELVES..THEY FEEL THAT THEY MUST GET ALL AND SUNDRY INVOLVED IN THIER DEVIATIONS AS REPORTED IN ROMANS 1:25 ET SECQ

Wherefore God also gave them up to uncleanness through the lusts of their own hearts, to dishonour their own bodies between themselves:
    25 Who changed the truth of God into a lie, and worshipped and served the creature more than the Creator, who is blessed for ever. Amen.
    26 For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature:
    27 And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.
    28 And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient;
    29 Being filled with all unrighteousness, fornication, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, debate, deceit, malignity; whisperers,
    30 Backbiters, haters of God, despiteful, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents,
    31 Without understanding, covenantbreakers, without natural affection, implacable, unmerciful:
    32 Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them.

24. @ David

Do the people of Barbados know who these people are? People you described as not following the general habits of ‘most’ and sitting in our Parliament. Do we have any rights in this matter? How can the constitution be preserved in circumstances where common law has emerging different meanings?

Have we considered how MAMs proclivities, as alleged, could influence her thinking in the specific circumstance Jeff spoke about?

What are the implications for rights as popularly understood?

How could MAM’s sexuality be a non-point when this matter cannot be brought before the people, openly, on main stream media?

Is there a measure as to how governance is influenced by external incidences and are our rights in a state of being changed in ways we are not in control of?

Jeff’s article gives much room to reinterpret past conversations, to lift them to another level. A level of seriousness that may be of much benefit.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE
    David June 12, 2016 at 2:38 PM #
    @chad99999

They both come to the table with nasty hands so what is your point? Is it a big sin lil sin argument then?

NO IT IS A FACT THAT THE DEMOCRATS HAVE DONE NOTHING FOR BLACKS WHO TEND TO VOTE FOR THEM IN MASS—-WELL DOCUMENTED

26. @GP

Wheel and come again, start from JFK period and the growth and achievements of the civil rights movement, not to forget Affirmative Action.

27. Any point to consider based on Jeff’s lament is the 24/7 news cycle which is heavily laced with political palaver. It exposes the extent to which we are slaves to US media servings .

@GP > > Wheel and come again, start from JFK period and the growth and > achievements of the civil rights movement, not to forget Affirmative Action. > >>

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DAVID
    I WILL NOT APOLOGIZE TO THE BU MORONS BUT IT HAS JUST BEEN REPORTED THAT POLICE IN CALIFORNIA HAS INTERCEPTED A MAN WHO WAS PLANNING A SIMILAR ASSAULT ON A “HAPPY” PARADE IN THAT STATE

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DAVID IT IS A FACT THAT IN ALL STATES THE BLACKS ARE WORSE OFF. E.G BALTIMORE CHICAGO
    IT IS A FACT THAT IN THE LAST 8 YEARS THE BLACKS ARE WORSE OFF THAN THEY WERE

30. Agree Blacks are struggling on the shitty end of the social and economic pole but is it fair to blame the president? We are talking federal states here.

31. @GP

We were writing an article about a (some) september/october surprise/s.

We were estimating that such incidences will be helpful to the Trump’s candidature.

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I DONT KNOW PACHA
    MY UNDERSTANDING IS THAT EVEN IF TRUMP WINS THERE ARE PLANS TO SEE THAT THE BAMA HAVE A THIRD TERM

NO DAVID
    THE PRESIDENT IS NOT TO BE BLAMED FOR ANYTHING
    NOT EVEN TO THE CRUSHING BLOWS THE “AFFORDABLE CARE ACT” DID TO THE ECONOMY
    SOME EVEN THINK THAT THE PRESIDENT IS MORE PERFECT THAN THE LORD HIMSELF

33. We wonder how these people could determine which incident is ‘terrorism’ and can’t get past racism or official and active involvement by authorities.

When a man walked into a church and killed about 10 people praying there was NEVER a generalized claim of terrorism in the media. For us there is to be any clearer incident of real terrorism. A terrorism which is more than 500 years and counting.

He was a White, Christian terrorist, you see, and the media was very reluctant to make that claim. And months after the incident there has still not been a generalized claim of terrorism. The case is not even discussed as such.

Within 12 hours, all the media and officialdom are claiming terrorism today, about the Florida incident.

These are special people, you see, who are to be protected by ‘maximum law’, including civil rights laws.

Civil rights laws which White women benefited from more that former slaves are now to be used in the service of this new group of special people, affirmative action, you say? For all other this is a bad thing.

It also does not help when foolish Black people, the relatives of people killed in the church,
    down South, even before the racist killer of their families could be arraigned, they were willing to forgive him. There were no charges, no proof of guilt, no acceptance of guilt but forgiveness, Obama style, was the order of the day.

We believe if White people and their system were killing the last Black man anywhere foolish Christians will be waiting for God to help, while forgive their killers to the end.

When this kind of nonsense comes from a church which was a centre for one of the largest rebellions in American history we should know the state of play.

34. @ GP

I must say that when you posted the item I went and immediately googled it to see if it was (a) and act of retribution (b) a madman on the loose or (c) a terrorist act.

I saw the comment as your reporting an incident while reading Jeff’s column and, being accustomed to your style of writing, I took no offence against your words, but saw it in the light of an avowed believer who believes that a man shall not lie down with a man, nor a woman with a woman.

Being similarly churched and socially indoctrinated as a homophobe, (in fact I am a lesbian, I like woman bad) it presents some difficulties with reconciling some good friends who are “thusly persuaded”

About 3 days ago an article caught my eye regarding a man in Amsterdam who was seeking 3 doctors to concur with his request for euthanasia which is permitted by their law for people who suffer such psychological suffering by their medical condition, e.g. pedophilles and murderers that they asked to be put to death by these means.

I think he is muslim, ironically, and what he described as “his aberration” caused him such psychological self condemnation that all he wants is death. And this is after 17 years of undergoing every possible treatment for what he calls his sickness.

To read it was to glean, if only darkly, what a male feels like, as he explains his conflicting self while living the lifestyle that we are taught to hate.

Please do not misunderstand me to be saying that I condone or endorse the lifestyle and for those ladies here who are thusly “suaded” I retract my earlier derogatory term, but how can I actively hate a person who, by some quirk of nature, is attracted to their own sex?

I wonder at times, on a few occasions, when I hear a feller “who is a she-she talking”, I wonder “if they have sinned in utero”, because without a doubt, many state that they were born that way. Nowadays, he who once actively decried these men, not the women, (Male Chauvanist Pig that I am) now watch, smile to myself, yet pass no judgement but say “as for me, it is not my choice.”

It is truly a test for you, I am sure, who are from a different generation, and GP, you have all rights to be unrelenting in your words, why after all, people should realize by now that for you Muhammad Ali is Cassius Clay, and you will not budge from that.

I will say this, BEFORE I GO BACK TO JOUST WITH JEFF’s SUBSTANTIVE TOPIC, if you were in the hospital where they were sent to be treated for wounds, would you, mindful of your Hippocratic Oath, refuse to treat a “buller” or a “lesbian” on the grounds of religious/Sodom & Gomorrah based objections?

I go back to Jeff now

35. It’s nothing short of incredible that every where blacks are found they are at the bottom of the ladder.Everywhere,including their homeland Africa.What a strikingly peculiar people.

36. @ Jeff

I have to watch you cause I notice that my gf say one thing and den you you you …man looka you like man man I like I shoulda not say nuffin steupseeee.

Anywayyyyyy.

You said “if there is to be significant change, it will not come through the mere exchange of one grouping of personalities from the so-called political class for another….”

See why i does try to come here and read tings and try to understand dem and den copy dem and paste dem? like if they are mine?

Me ingrunt self would have said Fumbles got to go, but Mia and she “covenant of hope” is de same hogwash

And becausing I dont believe that we are in practice going to get any real change me ingrunt self would launch a foolish cartoon campaign to say, “”5 Years to do “x” or wunna as* is grass” knowing full well that bajans cant remember harambe name past 9 days!!

Jeff, you actually saying that we cant really bargain with these “exchanged personalities” cause dem is all the same.

So what you are saying is that Donald Sutherland, Eddie Hinkson, Bostic, Smiley Teets Dale Marshall, Ronald Toppin is really jes Fumbles in Waiting and dat Mia de Despot, is jes 6 uh one and half dozen uh de udder?

And here de ole man was hoping that telling them that we gine interrupt dem pension in 5 years might have been a starting point for enabling change.

I hope that you are not suggesting genetic modification or something like that cause you now got de ole man thinking about what is the answer to that question that you posed

I going have to start a campaign to get you banned caused you asking to many hard questions and most uh we here pun BU like Simple Tings like Vote DLP or BLP.

You and Pachamama does lef fellahs in deep psychological despair, and aided by De Ingrunt Word, Gazer and Are We there Yet, i does doan really feel heartened after wunna fellers shed a light pun what we faced with.

Thank goodness for Hants and his enlightening submissions about the “Rose” and now that you got SSS talking nice tings dem, I even mo’ depressed..

Well you would notice that I ent mention BBE Bush Tea name.

I still here recovering from a belly searcher that i get yesterday bout some dining arrangements between he and a certain body.

My comrade refusing to answer me doah.

As long as AC doan say dat he was did carried she out and whuloss the very thought Jeff, the very thought…. well as long as that dont get add to the news. I still tink dat I could survive it though.

37. Another point to ponder.As George Lamming posits …whenever they hear the word black,they tremble…..

38. Once upon a time in this country Barbados,the powerful and the well connected were members of and were to be found within the ‘hallowed’ walls of the Bridgetown Club.Now Adult Suffrage has brought about a change.The powerful(foolish)and the well connected(the Fatted Calf)are to be found in George Street especially on Fridays where they now lecture to the citizens…..you can like it or lump it!.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gabriel…and is it not beyond the realm of the imagination that even in a black majority country like Barbados. …260,000 plus blacks and less than 10,000 of everyone else, that blacks allow themselves headed by black leaders, to be treated as though the are still at the bottom of the ladder….what does that say….to me, weak black leaders, weak males.

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Fellas. We are now learning that a man was arrested with guns and explosives near West Hollywood at a Gay Parade.
    We are now learning too, that today’s assailant was on FBI radar since 2013. Seems they did a very poor job.

That “big mout idiot Trump” always saying that if the FBI and the authorities in the USA can not properly vet folk coming into the USA HOW CAN THEY ALLOW LOADS OF REFUGES INTO THE USA WITHOUT PROPER DOCUMENTATION.

Piece

If you were in the hospital where they were sent to be treated for wounds, would you, mindful of your Hippocratic Oath, refuse to treat a โ€œbullerโ€ or a โ€œlesbianโ€ on the grounds of religious/Sodom & Gomorrah based objections?

IN MY HEYDAY I CERTAINLY TREATED SEVERAL WHO BOWLED FROM THE BACK OF THE ARM.

41. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well Well & Consequences June 12, 2016 at 6:19 PM #
    YOU ARE CORRECT……AND SADLY SO
    WERE WE NOT MORE MILITANT IN THE EARLY 70’S?

42. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@PUDRYR, you have such an admirable facility with the language!

Note however, that even if “our ass is grass”, as you put it, we a still have Bushie with the weed-whacker. So we should be back to being a smooth-swept lawn in next to no time!

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THIS QUOTATION BY OUR LEGAL LUMINARY IS VERY INTERESTING FROM THE POINT OF VIEW THAT WE HAVE IN OUR LIFE TIME PROVED THAT ITS TENETS ARE SOUND.

However [political parties] may now and then answer popular ends, they are likely in the course of time and things, to become potent engines, FOR GOOD IN THE CASE OF THE DLP AND BARROW FROM 1962 UNTIL THE EARLY 70’S

to become potent engines by which cunning, ambitious, and unprincipled men will be enabled to subvert the power of the people and to usurp for themselves the reins of government, destroying afterwards the very engines which have lifted them to unjust dominion. FOR ILL IN THE CASE OF FORBES BURNHAM IN GUYANA AND BY THE CURRENT DLP REGIME

THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED OR DENIED
    IT IS NOTEWORTHY THAT THE WORDS ARE CAREFULLY CHOSEN AND VERY ACCURATE.
    AGAIN READ SLOWLY……………
    cunning, ambitious, and unprincipled men will be enabled to subvert the power of the people and to usurp for themselves the reins of government, destroying afterwards the very engines which have lifted them to unjust dominion

44. Thomas L Friedman writing in the NY Times is pissing on Trump and the GOP parade.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/06/08/opinion/dump-the-gop-for-a-grand-new-party.html?

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel June 12, 2016 at 7:20 PM

ISIL has just claimed ownership of the Orlando massacre. This can only add fuel to the anti-Muslim fire that is raging in America. This has put a big feather in Trump’s presidential hat.

Can’t see Hillary trying to handle this one. What next would go off in America or Europe? A dirty nuclear bomb made in Russia? Time for the days of the Crusades to return.
    Who will be the modern-day Saladin and who will be the reincarnated King Richard?

Abraham, forget about Yahweh, this is Melchizedek speaking to you: Time to rein in your two sons of war.

46. We will hold our collective breath for when the idiot that is Trump trumpets his shiiite tomorrow.

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, actually he has already tweeted a 14 word set of piffle. And @Miller the issue of ISIS claiming ownership should not be as evocative as you make it to be (in my view).

ISIS as you know have a call out to all and sundry to initiate lone-wolf attacks. Apparently this guy was first and foremost an angry Muslim male who got pushed to his limit of personal tolerance of deviant western practices and decided this was his moment to meet his virgins.

He did his ISIS call sign thing to punch that ticket by phoning the cops and off to the killing spree he went.

Not being callous about the deaths but simply stating that any person of Muslim heritage who is unhinged can be a ‘radical’ terror threat.

This does not make Donald Trump smarter or more able to combat such terror attacks in the US. If his concentration camps/investigate every Muslim were to be followed I would suggest to you that the number of attacks would likely increase in the short term rather than decrease.

The US or your adopted UK obviously cannot keep tabs on the millions of Muslim men and women within their borders at the intensive intelligence levels that would be needed.

For all practical purposes if I were Muslim and was tracked because I visited an ISIS site initially for kicks. Can the FBI or MI5 track me forever simply because I visited a site? I think not. I could pop a nerve any time.

Trump will talk his talk, so what.

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE SHOOTING IN ORLANDO TODAY WAS ALL THAT IDIOT TRUMP’S FAULT
    AS I PREDICTED THE HEAD BULEE HAD HIS LIKKLE SAY

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler June 12, 2016 at 8:57 PM

What really pisses me off (peeves, to use a more dialectically neutral word) with these ISIS guys is their most cowardly modus operandi.

They only look for soft targets. Ordinary people are their targets; not politicians, not royalty or the elite; or even the decadent owners of Western capitalism. But you would understand why since the same ISIS relies on these sources for financial and materiel support to wage jihad.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie June 12, 2016 at 9:10 PM

Was 9/11 “THAT IDIOT TRUMPโ€™S FAULT” too? Trump is the President or a Prime Minister. He is just another loud mouth egotistical rich politician whose ultimate ambition is to sit in the Oval office as the King or Alpha male and push around โ€˜yesโ€™ people like pieces on a chess board in the age old power game called politics.

What about the bombings in Britain and the shootings in Paris?
    Why not the fault of Bush Blair Obama and Cameron for invading Iraq and Libya?