Another essay in the ongoing series during our fiftieth year of sovereign nationhood.

#bajanswantchange

However [political parties] may now and then answer popular ends, they are likely in the course of time and things, to become potent engines, by which cunning, ambitious, and unprincipled men will be enabled to subvert the power of the people and to usurp for themselves the reins of government, destroying afterwards the very engines which have lifted them to unjust dominion. โ€“George Washington, Farewell Address, September 19, 1796

There is, unarguably, a near palpable air of โ€œpartisan politickingโ€ in Barbados. With the next general election constitutionally due more than two years from now, I am nonplussed as to the reason (s) for this.

Perhaps it is owed to the bizarre developments in the US Presidential run-offs where, in a jurisdiction that guarantees equality, and whose version of the Colossus, Lady Liberty, proclaims a welcome to the โ€œtired, poor, huddled masses yearning to breathe freeโ€, the presumptive nominee for one of the major parties has managed to achieve this status in spite, or by virtue, of his enunciation of an intended policy that would exclude even natural born United States citizens from the country on the basis of their heritage or religion. What is even more remarkable is that he has done so without the total loss of support from the leadership of his party, whose minds are fixated rather on having their nominee in the White House next January.

It may be owed too, to the recent round of general elections in the region where the electorates seem most unforgiving of an administrationโ€™s failure to provide instant economic gratification and thus unwilling to accord it more terms than one. It has happened so far in Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica and, on Monday last week, with the St Lucia Labour Party in St Lucia.

So the outgone Peopleโ€™s National Movement administration in Jamaica seeks now for reasons why it suffered electoral misfortune, ascribing it variously to snubbing political debates, initiating a brouhaha over the palatial home of the Opposition Leader, low worker morale, unresolved candidate election issues and in-fighting within the party. No consideration appears to have been given to the actuality that it might simply have been the electorateโ€™s way of inquiring and answering, โ€œWhat have you done for me lately?โ€

As for my friend and former Faculty of Law colleague, the Prime Minister of St Lucia, one suspects that he himself had seen the writing on the wall when he publicly expressed discomfiture at the presence in St Lucia of non-national political operatives aligned against his party, a phenomenon that has seemingly become par for the course in successive regional election campaigns.

It may be both or neither of these. It may even be the local preoccupation with being perceived to have been on the right side of history and that there is too a general feeling that we are in for a humdinger of a general election campaign in 2018 where there is likely to be regime change.

But I got the clearest indication of this sentiment last week when my column on the legal issues surrounding the killing of the handsome silverback gorilla, Harambe, and the possible liability in criminal negligence of the mother of the boy who fell into Harambeโ€™s enclosure at the Cincinnati zoo caused some consternation in another forum in that it had nothing to do with current affairs in Barbados. Some even suggested that it was intended to be a distraction from more serious (sc. partisan political) issues.

While this was by no means an overwhelmingly popular opinion, it establishes that, for some, little else matters beyond the state of current local political play and that they will not be distracted by anything even remotely unconnected.

What we fail to realize is that if there is to be significant change, it will not come through the mere exchange of one grouping of personalities from the so-called political class for another. This game of โ€œpolitical tagโ€ is scarcely the way for the citizen to play a greater role in his or her democratic destiny beyond the quinquennial (five yearly) placement of an X against a faceless and, in our case, symbol-less, name.

There is a memorable quotation by the comic strip character, Pogo, used to commemorate the very first Earth Day in 1970. Pogo is trying to pick up the litter strewn by humans near a swamp. It is, โ€œWe have met the enemy and he is usโ€, signifying that so far as the preservation of the environment is concerned, mankind is his own enemy.

The question begs asking, โ€œWho or what is the enemy of the people, preventing their acquisition of more sovereignty over their own affairs?

Too besides, the Honorable Prime Minister is fond of urging the nation to reflect on three items during our fiftieth year โ€“(i) those things that have been beneficial to our development that we would wish to keep; (ii) those similar that we have lost and need to reclaim; and (iii) those that we should wish to discard as quickly as possible? To this paraphrase, I would respectfully add a fourth consideration for reflection โ€“those things that would be helpful to our future development to better governance and that we need to acquire as quickly as possible.

It is submitted that the answer is similar in both cases. The enemy, as Pogo suggested, may be us (and our narrow focus on political partisanship). And that which we might each do well to acquire quickly is the ability to think for ourselves and not to be mere โ€œuseful idiotsโ€ of any partisan political dictate.

To be continuedโ€ฆ

227 responses to “The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – On Nearing Fifty (v)”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David June 12, 2016 at 8:03 PM #

We will hold our collective breath for when the idiot that is Trump trumpets his shiiite tomorrow.

GUESS WHAT? WHEN HE DOES ALL THE NEWS OUTLETS WILL RUSH TO HEAR WHAT HE HAS TO SAY EVEN THOUGH IF THEY SPEAK OUT OF TURN HE WILL CUSS THEIR LIKKLE PUNY NON CONSEQUENTIAL BEHINDS. ah lie?

I WANT TO BE AN IDIOT THAT TALKS SHITE IN FRONT OF MY OWN JET OR FROM MY TOWERING BUILDING IN NY CITY

2. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Power begets power @Miller.

Here is a stupid concept. The NRA or Trump as he said after the last French terror attack will suggest that if more people in the club were packing then the gunman would not have killed and wounded so many.

More guns are bought and more money made by those industry power brokers. If Trump gets in even more attempts to relax gun protocols.

It is practical to offer that ISIS is better off with Trump in White House rather than Clinton because he will attempt to be so hawkish and in the short term he will be a great recruiter for ISIS.

3. Sure GP, we all measure personal achievement in different ways whether things or things spiritual.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

lol David Actually my current goals as an old man are to be found in Phil 3: thus

7 But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ.
    8 Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,
    9 And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith:
    10 That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death;
    11 If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead.
    12 Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.
    13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,
    14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

20 For our conversation is in heaven; from whence also we look for the Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ:
    21 Who shall change our vile body, that it may be fashioned like unto his glorious body, according to the working whereby he is able even to subdue all things unto himself.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

millertheanunnaki June 12, 2016 at 9:27 PM #
    @ Georgie Porgie June 12, 2016 at 9:10 PM
    that statement was an example of SARCASM

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler June 12, 2016 at 9:30 PM
    โ€œIt is practical to offer that ISIS is better off with Trump in White House rather than Clinton because he will attempt to be so hawkish and in the short term he will be a great recruiter for ISIS.โ€

That’s a chicken and the egg argument. Which comes first? Egg Trump or chicken ISIS?
    ISIS already has its perfect recruiting attraction: spending your life in paradise with vestal virgins at your beck and call.

Hitler did not need a Trump around to recruit people to his concept of Aryan superiority and Germany’s manifest destiny to be God’s chosen people. Neither does Trump have to blow his trumpet of Muslim hate to mean a hill of beans to the fundamentalist of the Taliban in Afghanistan or even Trinidad.

Religion is the antithesis to love and peace (the manifestation of good [God] itself).

7. Yesterday I wrote how the course of history would have been changed if GW Bush had lost the Presidential Election. The chicken hawks in Washington had the perfect vassal to manipulate into starting a war and the vassal wanted to teach Saddam a lesson because in his words โ€œhe tried to kill daddyโ€. That war served as the catalyst for everything that is happening today. Bush disturbed the hornetsโ€™ nest and the hornets are attacking people all over the world- Interesting fact about hornets when one stings a subject they can sting repeatedly and release a pheromone which alerts the others to come and join the attack.

Bush also said of terrorism โ€œWeโ€™re fighting them there so we donโ€™t have to fight them hereโ€, it seems that he was never briefed on the power of the Internet, self-radicalized terrorist and home grown terrorism.

There are two winners in this kind of attack, ISIL and Trump, this plays into the hands of Trump as he can continue to double down on his rhetoric against all Muslims and may drum up more support. ISIL wins if Trump wins as they know he is unpredictable and would likely launch all out attacks on โ€˜terroristsโ€ which they can use as a recruiting tool.

In that case look for more hornets.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/GwUZ301bSgR

GP…this should ignite the rastafarian community…lol

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What Trump is not telling anyone is how many shares of stock he has in the arms industry….how he too is helping to arm home grown nuts and foreign terrorists….scum like Trump never divulge these important pieces of information and then their followers. …. follow them into their graves…while people like him….jump out.

http://ow.ly/s8Lw301bTzd

The politicians are creating a world where you will never live comfortably, while they enrich themselves at your expense….. while feeding you lies.

10. @ GP

Christ the Son, GOD THE FATHER AND THE HOLY SPIRIT is (purposely used) a very personal thing.

In its most simplistic form GP, I liken it to fingernails, some of us like ours short/nonexistent and others like them long.

I cannot impress upon you what Christ has done for me, nor can you impress upon me what He has done for you even though we both claim to worship the One and True GOD.

This is a personal thing.

That man in Orlando for IS is a jihadist warrior. For me, he is a terrorist, for you or another person he may be The Hand of GOD reaching out to strike aberrations.

I go back to the IRA who were once guerillas and terrorists but for whom there is now a place in UK history as “freedom fighters”

There is a small file that is growing on the old man in certain places that is being appended on the ole man, not because of my anti autocratic rants here which Mia Mottley “the Despot”, OSA’s term, not mine, considers anti authority, seeking to undermine the Laws of the land” and which Verla Depeiza calls treason.

But then again GP, you are a “guerilla” in the Army of the Lord, and when the AntiChrist Comes, you will be hunted to the farthrest ends of the earth, even more feverently than IS, and we will be executed.

It is that Spirit my man that permeates your every breath and makes you “opinionated” to the max.

The reason that there is a file on me is because de ole man predicted this in 2006, and wrote it, so in similar vein to what De Ingrunt Work has said about people who visit aljazeera sites, the combination of “out-spokeness” , anti-authority, a certain training, an innate non-quantifiable “vision”, a disposition to fight against perceived OR IMAGINED wrongs, this makes one a candidate for observation

All of us “getting there” in the Police State that the world is becoming.

What is interesting about this Orleans interjection is its uncanny “convergence” with Jeff’s substantive topic and what your interjection of what was initially hailed as “a crude uncaring distraction” has done to the discourse.

It has show that “to each other, so interlinked are, that thou cans’t not pluck a flwer, without troubling a star”

Peeple’s we HAVE TO ENGAGE, else WE WILL IMPLODE

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Piece
    RE But then again GP, you are a โ€œguerillaโ€ in the Army of the Lord, and when the AntiChrist Comes, you will be hunted to the farthrest ends of the earth, even more feverently than IS, and we will be executed.

WE DISAGREE HERE SIR
    2 THES 2 EXPRESSLY TEACHES THAT THE CHURCH /BELIEVERS WILL BE REMOVED FROM THE EARTH BEFORE THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST

IN REV 4 AND 5 WE SEE THE CHURCH ALREADY IN HEAVEN
    ANTICHRIST IS NOT REVEALED UNTIL REV 11 AND 13

12. After a mass shooting in Dunblaine Scotland the Brits changed their gun laws restricting access to guns, after a mass shooting in Australia the Aussies changed their gun laws and there hasnโ€™t been mass shootings in either country since.

Does anyone know how many mass shootings there have been in the USA? After every mass shooting in the US there is a brief period of introspection, then life goes on as normal or some semblance of normality. There was an Assault weapons ban which was lasted for 10 years and it hasnโ€™t been renewed, the behemoth that is the NRA has those spineless politicians running so scared that they couldnโ€™t be moved to pass a bill limiting access to guns after Newton Conn. when 28 children were murdered. Nothing will happen after Orlando when the Party that holds the majority in Congress considers those murdered to be sexual degenerates and it is an Election year to boot.

The issue about Assault weapons is that they are not designed to protect oneโ€™s life or property, they are not designed to hunt for game, they are designed as weapons of war capable of killing or maiming as many humans as possible. In the wake of mass shootings gun sales increase but an increase in gun ownership does not equate to an increase in safety as the guns typically killed more people accidentally than are killed by armed intruders.

13. @Sargeant

President Obama has had to respond 11 times during his presidency to mass murder incidents.

14. Now see that post at 10:49 says all the right things bout assault weapons and ting. And it also points out how England and Australia ban some guns after mass killings. Lovely stuff.

But what does that have to do wid the USA.

Yahoo would tell me exactly the billion dollar sales number of the gun industry annually. And it would tell me too that neither England or de Aussies pon dat cricket field re gun manufacture and sales, Forget dat. They ain’t pon dat baseball field. Totally different game.

We cud talk to the cows come home and then they will go back out to pasture again and we cud talk more till they come back again, but there will still be no federal ban of assault weapons, multi-magazines, nor nutting so in all US states.

And if there was a miracle. What would be done with all those already in hand.

Buckle down and be ready for more killings.

The only saviour is Trump. He has all the answers. He will make Amerikkka great again.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

iS THIS THE SAME DONKEY WHO SOME MONTHS AGO SAID THAT ISIS WAS A JV TEAM INSTEAD OF DOING SOMETHING TO STAMP THEM OUT BEFORE THEY GAINED THE ASCENDENCY.

THE SAME IGNORANT PEOPLE THAT ELECTED THIS MAN TWICE IS THE SAME FOLK WHO DOES WALK DOWN THE STREET AND KILL A FEW PEOPLE NOW AND AGAIN

AND WHO CAN BLAME THEM? THE DIFFICULTIES THAT FOLK EXPERIENCE HERE TO MAKE A LIVING WOULD ENTICE ANY ONE TO DO EVIL.

GUNS CAN BE BOUGHT IN GUN SHOPS AND THEY ARE BEING BROUGHT ACROSS FROM MEXICO DAILY. WHEN CAUGHT THE PERPETRATORS ARE RELEASED IN THE CITIES OF REFUGE OR SANCTUARY CITIES

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BRATH
    RE The only saviour is Trump. He has all the answers. He will make Amerikkka great again.
    THERE IS ONLY ONE SAVIOUR AND IT AINT TRUMP
    HE MAY HAVE MORE GUTS THAN CHIEF SITTING BULLA BUT HE AINT GOT ALL DE ANSWERS MAN
    HE MIGHT IMPROVE THINGS FOR A LITTLE WHILE AS KING JOSIAH BUT HE WONT MAKE AMURIKA GREAT AGAIN LONG TERM………….TOO MANY INFLUENTIAL FOLK DONT WANT THAT. THEY WANT TO CARRY ON WITH WHAT THEY DOING IN WASHINGTON
    SAME THING IN BARBADOS DLP OR BLP WITH THE SAME WHITE SHADOW “LOBBYISTS” OR ECONOMIC CONTROLLERS

17. Georgie, you really don’t like Barack do you. hehehe. De man was quite right bout the JV league school-yard talk, yah know. Dem ent shoot down none a de US jets or even threaten dem aircraft carriers dem dat bombing dem conyeys. They are JV fah real.

But dat don’t mek dem any less dangerous of course as any good JV league team can bully dey way into dese outskirt towns wid pappy-show police and half-dead military posts and cut-off heads and ting so. hehehe.

Yah cud give him nuff stick for handcuffing the police and FBI dem in searching and keeping tabs on possible terrorists tho.

Dis fellow who kill all dem Pulse people went into a gun shop and wanted to buy some real first-class body armour. De sorta thing that a top-gun Seal or Ranger wears pon de job. And not an effing alert or note had to be sent to police or FBI for something like dat.

Tell me Georgie what does a civilian need to do wid body armour unless they hunting other civilians. Now see that is the shittee about privacy that is really effed up de wrong way.

Oh lawd at least the gun store didn’t shoot he backside on the spot. Because if it did my store and an Arab looking fella come in and want to buy body armour den I might just tek he out right there. hehehe. I does profile real bad.

Imagine that no automatic ping to FBI or local police was generated with that purchase request otherwise some immediate followup would be done and dese killings may have been avoided.

But de fellas ain’t want nah type of background checks to buy a gun so a check to buy body armour must be ok too. That is real coneyism.

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BRATH
    YOU MUST NOT TALK DE TRUTE ABOUT CHIEF SITTING BULLA handcuffing the police and FBI dem in searching and keeping tabs on possible terrorists

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Somehow these homegrown nutcases like Matten are always on an FBI or someone else’s watch list, but still manage to commit mass muder with assault rifles…makes ya wonder exactly who or what these agencies are really watching…steupps

20. The fear exhibited by the whites of America finds refuge and solace within the bosom of Congress which will never touch those gun laws.American whites know only too well what fate awaits them if they cannot have the weapon of choice to stop the descendant of the blacks whom they terrorized on their plantations and for which crime their day in the court of black consciousness is overdue and owing.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah…well ya can run but ya can’t hide….it’s their own people who have access to and licenses for assault rifles will be turning those same rifles them. Karma is a bitch Gabriel.

22. You could bet that if de fellow was black attempting to buy dat sort of ammunition he a,ss would have been scorched by police before he left de gun shop which brings to mind de black fellow trying to buy a packet of cigarettes and had he a,ss scorched by the police for theft

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Same dumb shit happens in majority black Barbados AC…, so explain that stupidity.

Besides Mateen was a certified and licensed to carry security guard who would not have any problem purchasing such a weapon.

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Brath
    leh me wake up de blog hey man

re Dis fellow who kill all dem Pulse people went into a gun shop and wanted to buy some real first-class body armour.

what Pulse people you talking bout?
    dese people were certified bullers and bulees and wickers and wickees- everyone
    they had the approval of chief sitting bulla and his co-bulla
    you dont see how de colors on display today
    they were “trooping the colors” in another state yesterday but they got off because the assasin ova dey get catch

25. WW&C so what is your point are you saying that when innocent black man is gunned down for being black and suspicion is brought to the police for stealing a packet of ciggarettes that is ok and shit happens .and when a man of fairer complexion buys an unusual amount of fire arms that he can get a pass without even having a glare of suspicion brought to the attention of the police

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel June 13, 2016 at 3:21 PM #
    โ€œThe fear exhibited by the whites of America finds refuge and solace within the bosom of Congress which will never touch those gun laws.American whites know only too well what fate awaits them if they cannot have the weapon of choice to stop the descendant of the blacks whom they terrorized on their plantations and for which crime their day in the court of black consciousness is overdue and owing.โ€

No, no, Gabriel! That is one message that you can’t deliver from the gods to the more ‘enlightened’.
    White people afraid of blacks? Not in another 500 years.

Do you understand the extent of the psychological control and power whites have over blacks in the Diaspora? White people know the love for their white Jesus by blacks is so pure and unconditional that not even the Jews can persuade them to take a black Barabbas instead.

Black Americans just like black Bajans are some of the most God-fearing church-going Christian-minded people in the world and would never kill the people who showed them the way to white Jesus in the sweet bye and bye where milk and honey will be flowing with the blacks being the cooks in the kitchen and waiters to their white masters sitting at the right hand of a whiter Jesus.

How come black Bajans, whose ancestors were brutally exploited and treated just as harshly as black Americans (if not worse, if we were to go by the Willie Lynch chronicles), have not risen up in rebellion? Just look at how Maloney and COW can operate and cock a snook at the black politicians and their lackeys?

Who do you think betrayed Bussa and his gang of โ€œrevolutionaries? White Bajans spying on the man or a white woman acting like the biblical Delilah?
    No, the same house niggas who would kill their black brethren for any white man that gave him a pair of tattered hand-me-down breeches or threadbare jacket after screwing his mulatto sister sired by the previous Massa of Bayleys clan. Just like the American-brand of the loyal house nigga in the movie โ€œDjango Unchainedโ€, played by Samuel L. Jackson.

Gabriel, the liberation of the black man lies not in his hands but in the mind and bosom o f the black woman.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC….try explaining that one again with a little more clarity.

And remember whose backsides you like to kiss without caring if your people eat or not, die at the hands of the same people through illegally built structures or robbed of all their taxpayer funded contracts/money…..

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You are just one of the best examples of what Miller posted @6:51

Read his post again…read all about yourself…..AC.

29. $13.5 billion

Annual revenue of gun and ammunition manufacturing industry, with a $1.5 billion profit. (IBIS World)
    $3.1 billion

Annual revenue of gun and ammunition stores, with a $478.4 million profit. (IBIS World)

The number of pistols, revolvers, rifles, shotguns and miscellaneous firearms manufactured in the U.S. in 2013, the latest full year available. That’s 4,441,726 pistols, 725,282 revolvers, 3,979,570 rifles, 1,203,072 shotguns, and 495,142 miscellaneous firearms. (ATF)

Mass shootings: There were 372 mass shootings in the US in 2015, killing 475 people and wounding 1,870, according to the Mass Shooting Tracker, which catalogues such incidents. A mass shooting is defined as a single shooting incident which kills or injures four or more people, including the assailant.

All shootings: Some 13,286 people were killed in the US by firearms in 2015, according to the Gun Violence Archive, and 26,819 people were injured [those figures exclude suicide].

The GUN industry is PROFITABLE.

WHO GIVES A PUCK ABOUT A FEW THOUSAND LIVES LOST…..

30. IF this comment attributed to Trump is true then JA galore!

Trump: If club-goers had guns, Orlando tragedy wouldn’t have been as bad

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David be real. That was as predictable as night follows day. I was but one of many JAs who said he would say that because that’s his spiel. Politicians have a script and mantra- just like us bloggers really- that drives their narrative on key topics. Two things were clear following this massacre:

— The Democrats would spout again on the question of gun control and having stricter legislation to prevent such attacks.

— The Republicans would crow that calls for gun-control legislation are a mistaken narrative.

And coupled with the latter Trump would make his wild-west (NRA) spiel about “If you had some guns in that club the night that this took place … you wouldn’t have had the tragedy that you had.โ€

That is the mantra of the gun advocates. And why it is so wrong is drawn from this tragedy.

There was an off-duty cop who confronted the shooter immediately he started his rampage but because he had a pea-shooter by comparison to the guy’s cannon that was a short-lived confrontation as the guy was able to regroup and take hostages.

As the days progress and the commonsense spills out bit by bit with the obvious realization that if not for being over-powered by a weapon of war – that has no place in a peaceful community -` that the off-duty cop may have in fact killed or possibly wounded the shooter there will be more asinine comments by the NRA and Trump.

They will see that as a valid reason that in fact more people (and police) should have more powerful handguns or access to more AR-15. Profitable logic really.

Nothing truly idiotic abut Trump although everything is when you break it down; it’s all about that dog-whistle as Sargeant calls it! LOLLL

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hants….collateral damage dont count as a loss to gun manufacturers, whats the use of manufacturing and selling guns, if they are not used. There is no war right now, but ya dont need a war to manufacture mischief to kill….and kill….and kill.

More people will now buy guns out of fear so there will be more killing….and killing and killing….until the next war is manufactured by Trump or Killary to create more sales of harder artillery.

Both of whom am sure have shares in gun factories….read Trump and the only thing he saw missing in the Pulse nightclub was more guns.

The hardest thing is to know.

Mankind has been evil for thousands of years, why would people now be dumb enough to think man has changed for the better….especially politicians.

33. Let me make the following observation if I may as it relates to this 9/11 myth and extension of the Norwood Conspiracy that now has all of America up in righteous arms.

George Bush and the US machinery of War brought a situation to the doorsteps of the Might US where, because of a government seeking (a) an economic stimulus (b) a reason to wage war in the middle east and (c) a means to put its own people in power in the ME this machiavellian plot was composed to bring craft into the airspace of the United States of America, where none but this self inflicted Trojan Horse could do it harm.

President Obama and certain elements in Washington know where this movement started but those anarchists that started it created a monster that they have no effing idea how to crush.

Here is something that one would well be watchful of.

The fact is that the Iron Shield that the US has, will not permit an easy incursion by foreign artillery of non nuclear grade munitions.

So it is critical for this Trojan Horse to be orchestrated this way because the only fear the US has is from nuclear content.

And now, because of this Bush and Cheney game they have placed the mighty United States of America, at risk from the faceless enemy, drawn from its idiotic population, enboldened by an idiot who thinks that this is another, aptly named, Trump reality Show – The Apprentice.

Unbeknownst to the rest of the world the United States of America, Canada and the UK and some of the trusted allies within the EU are at one of the highest states of War preparedness that it has known since the Cuban Missile Crisis.

Bush bred this home grown terrorism and wannabe US jihadists crimes but none would wish to put him on trial for treason.

And the thing is that even so called supporters of the Bush Administration, in the know, have nothing but disdain for the man.

The Battle that is being fought in the USA is not between Hilary and Trump, it is the battle that the succession hiatus that this waffle between Democrat and Republican presents for and America at its weakest.

I often smile at these Clear and Present Dangers because what is at stake here is not the idiocy of the people having “A Man in Washington that they can trust, it is the country of the United States of America having a succession mechanism that will not, based on bringing a looney to 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, put the country and the entire free world at risk during that change over from President Obama (whom detractors here call derogatory names as if we were speaking of WeJonesing) to Hilary or to a looney bin.

They cannot come on camera and speak of these military concerns but if we watch the US pleas to UK/Brexit, their outreaches to their Allies, their visits to Japan some of you will see what is at stake here and it is not motor mouth Donald Trump

What we face here is cohesion at a critical point and an absolute trust and confidence in the thinking powers of the President of the United States while we teeter on the brink of carefully orchestrated wars.

THis is not going to be the last of these incidents.

I have said this before, here in the streets of Barbados and I have said so before for the United States.

It is right in front their eyes and yet they have eyes but see not.

What were the types of planes that Russia Deployed in Syria?

SU-35Ses yet we come here and discuss piddling thins e.g. call Obama buller and his wife a tranny while the world around us festers about to burn.

I will tell you clowns one more thing, because I love you more.

It is encapsulated in the old bajan saying of “you can hide and buy land, but you cannot hide and work it”

“Water and Food” it is possible to hide food, but you can’t hide water, for those that have ears to hear let them hear.

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, to belabor the point of Trump’s logical process (illogical in my mind) here is the same remarks repeated twice before.

—- Donald Trump said Saturday that the terrorist attacks in Paris “would’ve been a much different situation” if the city had looser gun laws.

“When you look at Paris — you know the toughest gun laws in the world, Paris — nobody had guns but the bad guys. Nobody had guns. Nobody,” Trump said at a rally here. “They were just shooting them one by one and then they (security forces) broke in and had a big shootout and ultimately killed the terrorists.”

“You can say what you want, but if they had guns, if our people had guns, if they were allowed to carry –” Trump said, pausing as the crowd erupted into raucous applause, “– it would’ve been a much, much different situation.”

Trump made a similar comment earlier this year on the heels of the terrorist attack in Paris that targeted the headquarters of the satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo and a Jewish market.

“Isn’t it interesting that the tragedy in Paris took place in one of the toughest gun control countries in the world?” Trump tweeted in January.—-

Sargeant’s dog-whistle was answered “as the crowd erupted into raucous applause”.

This is however not a simple solution issue because terrorists intent on doing harm will find a way to get their weaponry of choice regardless.

And there are already millions of guns in the hands of US citizens.

Both presidential candidates need to stop pandering to their side of the aisle but realistically that will not happen so the endless argument will continue.

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Piece wrote
    yet we come here and discuss piddling thins e.g. call Obama buller and his wife a tranny while the world around us festers about to burn
    Piece you are a church man and a Bible man and you dont know that the Word teaches that the world is going to burn?
    2 peter 3 clearly teaches that
    1 the world that was, was destroyed by water
    2 the world that is will be destroyed by fire
    3 the world that is to be will never be destroyed

3 Knowing this first, that there shall come in the last days scoffers, walking after their own lusts,
    4 And saying, Where is the promise of his coming? for since the fathers fell asleep, all things continue as they were from the beginning of the creation.
    5 For this they willingly are ignorant of, that by the word of God the heavens were of old, and the earth standing out of the water and in the water:
    6 Whereby the world that then was, being overflowed with water, perished:
    7 But the heavens and the earth, which are now, by the same word are kept in store, reserved unto fire against the day of judgment and perdition of ungodly men.
    8 But, beloved, be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.
    9 The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.
    10 But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.
    11 Seeing then that all these things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought ye to be in all holy conversation and godliness,
    12 Looking for and hasting unto the coming of the day of God, wherein the heavens being on fire shall be dissolved, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat?
    13 Nevertheless we, according to his promise, look for new heavens and a new earth, wherein dwelleth righteousness.

36. @DPD
    Itโ€™s not a โ€˜dog whistleโ€™ anymore itโ€™s a megaphone and a bull horn, there is no more coded language, today Trump didnโ€™t mince any words when he said “He doesn’t get it or he gets it better than anybody understands. It’s one or the other, and either one is unacceptableโ€. Everyone has interpreted this to mean that he is hinting that Obama is a Muslim and thatโ€™s why he is reluctant to use โ€œradical Islamic terrorismโ€ Trump was the one of the architects of the โ€œBirtherโ€ movement so this is just an expansion pf that agenda.

Its simplistic to speak about guns stopping people from committing acts of terror, the London Bombers didnโ€™t use guns neither did those folks in Boston. Everybody and their brother can get a gun to stop people but when the weapon of choice changes does Trump have an answer?

37. “At least four patrons have said they saw the gunman Omar Mateen drinking at the Pulse bar several times before the shooting. Ty Smith said he saw Mateen inside at least a dozen times.”

38. Trump Jacasss style has given him political leverage whether one agrees with him or not and millions of people who has endorse and believe his every word

39. WW&C not unlike You to back away from your own words when cornered maybe what miller said in his comment best fits your personality to a “T”

40. @Hants
    โ€œAt least four patrons have said they saw the gunman Omar Mateen drinking at the Pulse bar several times before the shooting. Ty Smith said he saw Mateen inside at least a dozen times.โ€

The psychologists will have a field day with this revelation, if you hate gays why frequent a gay bar? People who express extreme hatred of gays are sometimes unsure of their own sexuality and he could be in the โ€œclosetโ€ for religious and family reasons. This could lead to mental anguish and murder and mayhem could result.

Just speculating

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Speculation will be the order of the day…two wives who are beaten and harassed. Repressed issues with his sexuality…who knows.

So either he was an extremely well organized killer or the personality issues he had as a teenager had morphed into some serious psychiatric problems…

Take those prior visits to the club either as pre-attack scouting or link it below and let speculation go wild.

“…Kevin West said he was in the parking lot at the Pulse nightclub at 1 a.m. Sunday when he recognized Omar Mateen walking in.

“The men had met more than a year ago when Mateen reached out to West on Jackโ€™d, a dating app for men. (PLAY THAT BACK SELECTOR…THE MAN FREQUENTED MALE DATING SITES)

“They then lost touch until three months ago, when Mateen made contact again, mentioned that he would be in Orlando soon and suggested meeting for a drink…”

Either a stone-cold killer who plans well or a man killing his raging-hot ‘dark’ desires.

42. Well Well & Consequences June 13, 2016 at 5:28 PM #
    Same dumb shit happens in majority black Barbados ACโ€ฆ, so explain that stupidity
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Just like a fellow a couple of years ago, a tourists, who walked off the street and into the exclusive gun club in St Philip, was given a gun and ammunition as requested to shoot on the range. He turned the gun on himself. When the police arrived on the scene, the Club had no record of the dead man’s name. As David Seale ,Sir, would have put it, his required form of identity was this,……….. pointing to the hue of his arm.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Sargeant June 13, 2016 at 10:15 PM #

Trump- THE BIG MOUT IDIOT- is wrong again man and the Melchizekesque man who said that ISIS IS CONTAINED IS RIGHT ah lie?

Can someone offer professor betzpaenic a job at a PSEUDO-psychiAtric residency?

I WILL WRITE THE FOREWORD TO HIS TEXT BOOK–A BEST SELLER -= ENTITLED THE BULLERS AND THE BULLETS IN THE LAND OF CONTAINED ISIS…….LOL

LISTEN FOR THE EFFLUX OF BOVINE PATTIES IN MANE NOW

44. @GP
    Trump- THE BIG MOUT IDIOT-
    +++++++
    Yuh got that right he has a big mouth, are all the facts in? What are we seeing here? Is he a self-radicalized terrorist influenced by ISIS? Or just a demented killer with repressed desires?

Trumpโ€™s used his big mouth to say that the killerโ€™s parents shouldnโ€™t have been allowed into the US but someone should have reminded Trump that when they immigrated there was no ISIS, or wars in Iraq or Afghanistan. If Trump feels this way, he should advocate Internment for all US citizens and residents of the Muslim faith. There are still remnants of camps where the Japanese were held.

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant, Donald Trump is an educated, savvy businessman who in the consummate salesman and deal maker that as business-men we all strive to be. He is dashing and has all the qualities to ‘get the girl’ which again the average heterosexual man strives to achieve.

He also is a fabulist and piss-poor politician who is not fit to lead the USA. He creates his own truth and will grandly lead the gullible to believe that what he says and proposes is the gospel according to proven facts (Trump U). In short he is the worst type of political liar possible and is thus very, very dangerous.

The details evolving clearly show a practicing homosexual or a virgin homosexual planning to practice who became deeply hateful of himself or was in some way religiously reawakened and sought to atone for his ‘sinful ways’ by bringing an end to all those who shared his evil.

Trump has deliberately attempted to boost his cred by making all sorts of claims that provide a composite with one fact and two lies to create a soundbite sentence.

“Remember this, radical Islam is anti-woman, anti-gay and anti- American.”

A bunch of red-necks across the US are described with the last part of that sentence. They are just sexist, psychopathic killers.

“She wants to take away Americans’ guns and then admit the very people who want to slaughter us,”

That’s your megaphone (I prefer the dog whistle however). A stupid statement that conjures a half truth – taking away assault weapons- with nonsense

He wants to win badly and will say anything…the truth be damned. I do hope his tongue finally sinks him to the bottom with this episode. As it is not the least what it appears to be.

And that is the problem in US or anywhere else. How can you watch such a large population when there are so many motivators or triggers that can cause a person to ‘attack’ and at that moment become the ‘radical terrorist’.

46. Most Barbadians are lost. Easily manipulated by the liberal-secular Western mainstream media with their pagan-feminist agendas.The irrational hatred of Donald Trump is particularly ludicrous because Trump’s proposal to temporarily ban Muslim foreigners from entering the US is a common sense idea.
    Suppose some racist Hindus started murdering blacks with cutlasses in Guyana (as they did during racial clashes in the 1960s), and then some of these Hindus started traveling as visitors to Barbados to kill people here, I should hope our politicians would temporarily shut down the flights from Georgetown, or at least ban Hindus from entering the island for a while.
    Go Trump. Hillary is a corrupt, racist warmonger.

47. Why can’t we all share and respect different opinions? Guess this is too much to ask.

48. The USA, not unlike most countries, always seem to have to choose between the lesser of two or more evils.

Trump is all the bad things that everybody, including us, has said about him ………… and more, much more!

However, Clinton is just as bad, if not worse.

If she is not indicted we will see the continuation of the Bill Clinton, George Bush number 2, and Obama regimes.

More wars and rumours of wars. The consolidation of bulling as a central political plank – no pun intended. The specter of the use of nuclear weapons, just to show her balls are as big as any man’s. Trump could too, just because he is a qualified idiot.

What will soon surface in this election are the ongoing illegalities of the Clintons and the Clinton Foundation and how the email-gate is really about how Hillary has used the SoS offices to enrich her family business. A business which is basically a agency for money laundering and more.

At the end of the day there are no real choices, unless one is inclined to vote for Jill Stein or if Bernie Sanders grows a pair and becomes the Green Party’s presidential candidate. These have been made political impossibilities in a highly rigged system.

Coke or Pepsi, Trump or Clinton. It will make little difference to 99% of people anywhere.

49. We are not minded that Trump wants to win ‘badly’ as stated by one Dribbler.

Our reading is that initially this was merely a PR stunt by Trump to promote his brand/s.

The person who needs to win badly is Clinton and her retinue. She could be in jail without presidential protections or we maybe seeing an administration immersed in criminal investigations, again. And they will not escape this time.

For Trump not to win he may very well be in a better position than to be saddled with all this campaign rhetoric, false promises, grandiosity etc

Trump has no commitment to anything other than himself. Not the the people. not to the presidency, He has no empathy.