Akanni Mcdowall, Pre

The NUPW posted the message in the newspapers last week inviting members to a meeting to vote on a No Confidence Motion in President Akanni McDowall triggered by the garnering of 50 members who met the criteria. BU will NOT insert itself into the internal squabble of our largest pubic sector union except to share a letter from the First Vice President of NUPW Joy-Ann Inniss to the General Secretary.  Note Appendix E which conflicts with assertions made by Akanni McDowall in today’s Sunday Sun.

173 responses to “President Akanni McDowall Under Pressure,with documents”

1. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

Hmmm interesting what is outlined in these here documents.

2. Question is — “IS THE SHIT FLOWING UP OR DOWNHILL” ?

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Wily Coyote

It is not flowing anymore; it has hit the FAN.

4. Neville Springer Avatar
    Neville Springer

Dem out ta get you. Um is a quagmire of epic proportions. Wuhloss.. Joyann you aint easy. The Job is your when De No Confidence Motion is over. LMAO

5. Neville Springer Avatar
    Neville Springer

@Caswell,who telling de trute? Ah wonder wha money gine pass

6. If McDowall loses the No Confidence Motion the 1st Vice President is elevated until the next general elections?

On Sun, Jun 5, 2016 at 9:16 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

7. But if ye bite and devour one another take heed that ye be not consumed one of another…….Galatians 5:15

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If Akanni loses the vote, the First Vice President will act for a maximum of 28 days. A by-election must be called within 28 days.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

Your bite and consume quotation is in the wrong post; it more properly belong in the post about No-confidence motion.

10. @Caswell Franklyn, cannot you offer your help to save NUPW. Its so damn sad.

11. It seems a few people are interested in this post.

12. @ Caswell

I want to know something sir.

When a fellah get elected in a Union to a post does he or she get a rules book or something that spells out what your roles and responsibilities

The reason that i am asking is because it seems like if whu going on bout here is dat a fellah, once he/she get elect does jes go wild and foolish and tink dat dem is a bogolord and that they are able to do what dem like fuh as long as dem like.

Whether you are a policemans (COP and Wiretapping) Priest and parson (tiefing de congregation money and flying bout in style Creflo Dollar and de Senators bout here) or politicians (too many to name) every body jes like “Gals and Fellas gone Wild”

Explain it to me cause i lost.

13. don’t understand what you wrote above. Are you getting “hits” without comments?

14. @ David

15. Yes Hants, it is bouncing around Twitter and FB.

16. Hamilton Hill Avatar

More than a few people have interest in this blog. The person whose ears are best positioned ….to the ground I believe, ain’t forthcoming. I entirely understand the stance taken, but like a true Bajan I malicious…..and not knowing killing ma slowly.

17. @Pieceuhderockyeahright,

Caswell is the only one who has demonstrated to us that he reads rules, regulations and laws.

Akanni has the looks and persona of a “star boy”.

18. Hamilton Hill Avatar

The road dat tek ya dey, is dat same road does bring ya back. That’s what my old granny used to tell me. She also tell me dat to trust a politician is to do a deal wid de devil. The sword upon which Akanni shall be impaled, though wiped clean will not be put away.

19. Methinks Pres and Vice Pres doth not see eye to eye.

opportunism? cronyism? patriotism?

What a tangled web we weave…..

@Caswell
    Any idea of how far and wide the fecal spatter will go when the fan is finished spinning?

Has there been any recent precedent for such a motion, successful or not? I was told of one in another union but I’m not aware of NUPW.

Just observing.

20. Kammie Holder Avatar

Just read thru the documents. Mind boggling, just don`t know who conveyed to the members of the NUPW Medicare Plan that Guardian Group does not cover or did not provide a quote for person over 67.

Unfortunately, someone misrepresented as Guardian Life does provide coverage up to age 99 and beyond.

21. truth to power Avatar
    truth to power

Who is the 1st Vice President trying to fool with all that documentation not me that is a member of the plan and have all the facts.

I smelling a rat here or the power hungry, hard core not so bright DLP member think she can hoodwink the underground or the Public.

Where is the Sagicor Logo or Letterhead
    It does not speak about Akani sending any correspondence after May 05th to Sagicor.

The letter was written on May 06th.

We know that the rates presented by the new board to the members at the first meeting was negotiated by the previous chair.

All of your documentation says nothing about the No confidence motion and has not proved Mcdowell to be a liar so what is the point of the documentation.

I know to confuse the issue to the Poor Public or members who really aint following all the BS.

You are not that Credible a person anyway so what is your point.

22. truth to power Avatar
    truth to power

I now get it…….You want to be President LMAO
    Did you chair the meeting without listening to all the facts?
    Do not kill me and Want to be President LMAO

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

You have identified a very worrying trend. People seek and achieve office for the wrong reasons. Politicians of yesteryear made something of themselves and then offer themselves to serve the country. Now, politicians seek elective office without first grounding themselves in any particular discipline. Acquiring office is no longer motivated by a desire to serve; they seek office to see how the country can serve them. That is why there is so much anecdotal evidence of corruption these days.

The same holds true for people who seek and acquire office in trade unions. In many cases when persons achieve office in the unions and start to make the right noises, the employers, in this case the Government, promote them to weaken the unions. Being aware of this trend, a lot of ill-prepared people find their way on executives of trade unions. The BUT has mastered that scam that is why there have been and continue to be so many incompetent administrators in this nation’s schools.

The members of NUPW have caught on to this method of achieving promotion in the Public Service and a lot of talentless people do everything to be elected on its executive and council. As a recent example, the immediate past president moved from a clerical job to a senior manager, without qualifications or training. This new fellow is among the most junior people in the Public Service. No doubt he believes that if he keep the right noises his promotion would be assured.

Observing,

There have been other no-confidence motions in NUPW, but the persons who were subject to such motions did not run to the press to seeking public sympathy and thereby further bring the union into disrepute.

The first I knew of in the early 1980s saw the removal of three executive. Another one years later was avoided when the president resigned.

24. truth to power Avatar
    truth to power

Not correct observing

The former General Secretary went to the press when there was a no confidence motion against him.

I do not think it is a case of Public sympathy – observing

The no confidence motion was place in the Public domain and the President had to respond in kind.

The Old Guard brought the Union into disrepute and he is right to let the Public of Barbados knows the Truth.

So do not go blaming him for the wickedness of a Political few.

NUPW is a Political CEST POOL

25. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

CROOKS ARE ALWAYS UNDER PRESSURE INSIDE AND OUT

26. @Caswell

Thanks!

Instructive point there about “not further bringing the union into disrepute”

Tis sad that “elevation” has taken priority over “education”

Even if Akanni survives the motion, all and sundry will know that he doesn’t have substantial support AND that the executive is clearly fractured and/or are engaged in political agendas rather than that of the workers.

While Nero fiddled….

Just observing

27. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

It would appear that this young man’s attitude has a lot to do with the current situation that he now finds himself in.It is clear that he and the general secretary seem not to see eye to eye, he does not seem to know what he is about and has a lust for absolute power.I totally agree with Caswell that he is now seeking public sympathy in an effort to save his skin,i am constantly hearing of operatives of the DLP,yet this same young man has behaved in a manner that suggest he openly favors the opposition and the impression was clearly given by his actions when he was exerting pressure on the government by the silly calls to strike of certain sectors during the early part of this year, his record is dismal and his impending demise is clearly of his own construction.

28. @truth to power
    Don’t blame me for caswell’s comments.
    Even if i fully agree with them, lol.

AND, McDowall and his team have only added to the cess oool. 6 really is half dozen.

Just observing

29. Truth to power Avatar
    Truth to power

From my time in the Union – I cannot recall a President having full support of the Executive or Council.
    Even the Prime Minister do not have full support of His Cabinrt.

30. A good cut a.ss is what he needs and please somebody do not forget to buy him some training wheels next time around..good grief

31. Truth to power Avatar
    Truth to power

All of my years as a Union member – I do not recall a President having the full support of the Executive or Council.
    Even the Prime Minister do not have full support of His Cabinet.

What is your point

32. Truth to power Avatar
    Truth to power

It appears to me that you all want a President to maintain the status quo. Can you define his attitude (Horatio).what was Goddard, Clarke , Drakes and skeete attitude when a no confidence was filed against them.

33. Truth to power Avatar
    Truth to power

Yes Horatio, NUPW is not use to a President representing the workers….so you would find is active representation Political.

34. Truth to power Avatar
    Truth to power

You all really think that the President will be removed. You all just as silly as the person or persons that brought the motion.

He will be President after Thursday.

35. @Truth to power

Can you address the point that the president, incumbent and predecessors have functioned outside of the authority of NUPW policy?

36. Politics has changed; Unionism has changed; Parenting has changed; Marriage has changed and so on…..However, what we are seeing is two young turks given a mandate by members to perform, yet vintage union leaders and political humbugs pressurizing these leaders using inside sources to remove them. When Comrade Trotman was at the helm, he was the only driver with no interference. When Clarke was leader he was the driver. Who can you trust nowadays when your own people looking you it the face with that big smile and punching holes in your tail when you turn your back. Who will be the losers – Union Members.

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Tell me Why

You made a very good point for the people who oppose Akanni. You made reference to when Trotman was at the helm and when Clarke was the driver. You see, the president is never at the helm or the driver. The two you mentioned were general secretaries. The problem is that Akanni is trying to drive from the passenger seat.

38. LT.HORATIO CAINE June 6, 2016 at 6:19 AM #

“I am constantly HEARING of OPERATIVES of the DLP, yet this same young man has behaved in a manner that suggest he OPENLY FAVORS the OPPOSITION and the IMPRESSION was CLEARLY GIVEN by his ACTIONS when he was exerting pressure on the government by the silly calls to strike of certain sectors during the early part of this year, his record is dismal and his impending demise is clearly of his own construction.

@ LT. HORATIO CAINE

Perhaps you would be happy if the environment at the NUPW was similar to the status quo after Walter Maloney was elected as NUPW president again in 2013.

The following contributions may “jog your memory.”:

“Fractured BLP April 3, 2013 at 10:13 PM #: Team Maloney wishes to extend a big “thank you” to all DLP MPs, members of the Constituency Councils, public officers who are members/non members of NUPW who worked tirelessly to ensure that the NUPW remains under the astute leadership of individuals who care.
    Especial thanks are extended to David of BU for providing a forum for a healthy debate on Union matters to be discussed. My only regret tonight is that Lemuel and Miller lost another battle at the hands of the DLP juggernaut.”

“Caswell Franklyn April 3, 2013 at 10:55 PM #:The DLP was PROUD to claim MALONEY’S VICTORY AS THEIRS: they claimed that it is as a result of the DLP juggernaut. They really have no shame.”

“Caswell Franklyn April 4, 2013 at 5:29 PM #: David: This is YET ANOTHER ELECTION STOLEN BY THE DLP. This coupled with apathy have ensured that the governing party would remain in control of the workers movement. I understand that six persons voted in Speightstown. The election was poorly organised with approximately 800 persons voting: I am not counting the number of votes cast, just the number of people that voted. Imagine at the GPO there was no voters’ list of the members who were supposed to vote at that station. As a result, people voted two and three times.”

The LT probably supported Maloney because “The DLP was proud to claim Maloney’s victory as theirs,” but he seems to have a problem with McDowall, because “this same young man behaved in a manner that suggest he openly favors the OPPOSITION.”

BEWARE OF YARD-FOWLS!!!!!!!

39. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

Is that,why someone I suspect to be him is calling brasstacks with a voice that impersonates that of a woman speaking of what a great job he is doing, well if he is doing such a great job then he should have no fear,but I found it very hilarious I hope if he is ousted that he handles it well.

40. the use of an official letter head without permission is fraud

41. tell us of the letter you wrote to the insurance company instructing them not to give information or deal with the union broker -this has been an major disgrace to the Medicare members whose premium has increase as a result of your fraud letter

42. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

Asskani what nonsense are you doing you are definitely making yourself look like a desperado it appears that you are very afraid now and resorting to the nonsense as per the video above if you are so innocent you do not need the help of members to shore up your case,you are pathetic fight your case on your own merit or get an attorney it is clear you are guilty as hell from your silly actions and if the above is true about you being the author of such a letter then the matter should be passed to relevant authorities who deal with matters of fraud.

43. NOT IF IT IS TRUE ? It is as true as you as we are here blogging
    his best bet is to throw in the White Towel before the Bell Rings on Thursday
    just remember that when you are found guilty of using the UNION Letter head without permission that there are plans to refer the matter to the Public Service Commission for further action -to be warn and be advice .

44. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

Eric so his calls to the members to support him is his only saving grace?

45. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

The boy says he has evidence to refute the charges,maybe Caswell can shed some light on the way these matters are handled,one thing i know for sure is that he seems to scared out of his wits and is now like a drowning man clutching at straws.When you start wrong expect to end wrong, i remember the call out of the sanitation workers and the call by him that no burials would be taking place,this was to me the height of his ignorance and for me the last straw. It was then that i predicted that unless he was reigned in he would be the shortest serving president of that union and it appears that those words might very well come to pass.

46. persons who help him in the elections are leaving him
    very soon he shall be Missing In Action

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

By now everyone would realise that I am not one of Akanni’s fans but please let me caution you about your proposed action of referring his conduct to the Public Service Commission.

If this matter is referred to the PSC, you must still remember that he is a member of the NUPW and he would be entitled to call upon the union to defend him. NUPW would find itself in a very awkward position being the the complainant and also his defence council.

These matters must be handled within the union. Unfortunately for the union, the president rushes to the press every opportunity he gets but the rest of the union must not follow his lead and conduct your business in the press or through the PSC. There should be enough experienced people in the union that can pull this back even after the meeting on Thursday.

NUPW spent thousands of dollars and sent me for training in arbitration, mediation and conciliation locally and internationally. I would be willing to mediate as a way of repaying the NUPW for educating me.

48. battle lines are drawn -he has to feel the full weight -lets see how his father will say -he can represent him @the P S C as he did years ago with the appointment