Submitted by David Comissiong

After reading the damning revelations contained in Auditor General Leigh Trotmanโ€™s report about the outrageously preferential taxpayer-funded contracts granted to a coterie of elite white business-people by the Government Ministers of our country, I am forced to come to the conclusion that the โ€œOld Colonial Systemโ€ is still very much alive and well in supposedly independent Barbados!

Similarly, after digesting Mr. Mark Maloneyโ€™s defiant assertion that his Rock Hard Cement company will be (and is) forging ahead with its construction at Spring Garden highway in spite of the fact that some six months ago the Chief Town Planner had served the company with an order to cease construction, I am compelled to recognize that the same old colonial power elite continues to exist and to call the shots in our supposedly independent country!

Clearly, some 50 years after we hauled down the British โ€œunion jackโ€ flag, Barbadosโ€™ primary purpose as a society still continues to be the colonial-style facilitation of a lifestyle of opulence and comfort for a privileged few at the expense and on the backs of the masses of ordinary Barbadians !

Take, for example, the case of one Bizzy Williams, who, when asked to comment on the fact that Governmentโ€™s imposition of a โ€œtipping feeโ€ for refuse delivered to the landfill had brought about a substantial reduction in the garbage processed by his Sustainable Barbados Recycling Centre Inc. (SBRC), boasted that whether his company processed the garbage or not, it still had to be paid by our Government.

Bizzy Williamsโ€™ exact words (as reported in the Nation Newspaper of 3rd May 2016) were as follows:-

Financially, though, it is not hurting us. It does not make a bit of a difference to us because we have signed on a contract with the Government that we have to provide the facility to process 1,000 tons a day minimum. So whether the material comes or it does not come, that is what we signed on to.

For those citizens and taxpayers who may not be aware, let me bringย  the following to your attention: in June 2009, the current Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Administration entered into a so-called โ€œTake or Pay Contractโ€ with Mr. Bizzy Williamsโ€™ Sustainable (Barbados) Recycling Centre Inc. (SBRC), and under that contract, we, the taxpayers of Barbados, are obliged to underwrite a guaranteed minimum payment of $22.6 Million per year to SBRC over a 20 year period for the processing of solid waste, whether or not the company is actually called upon to carry out work of the requisite minimum quantity!

Thus, under this contract alone, we Barbadian taxpayers are saddled with a โ€œminimumโ€ payment of some $452 Million dollars to Bizzy Willliamsโ€™ SBRC over a 20 year period!

But this is not the only such Government contract that the several companies associated with Mr. Bizzy Williams enjoy !

Under the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) administration of Mr. Owen Arthur, another Bizzy Williams associated company known as Ionics Freshwater Ltd was granted a contract by virtue ofย  which they were mandated by our Barbados Government to construct a desalination facility at Spring Garden, St. Michael; to operate and maintain the facility; and to be paid forย  supplyingย  the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) with a minimum of 27,000 cubic metres of desalinated water every day over a 15 year period.

When, however, several years later, the Auditor Generalโ€™s department carried out a special investigation into the workings of this outrageously preferential contract, they discovered that:-

1. The BWA had agreed to pay a price for the desalinated water that was substantially higher than was merited ;
  2. The BWA had contracted to secure more water per day than it had the capacity to receive, and therefore had to pay the company โ€“ on an ongoing basis โ€“ for work that the company did not have to do; and
  3. The BWA had entered into a contract that virtually guaranteed the company a massive 18 per cent return on its investment !

So here again, we Barbadian taxpayers ended up underwriting tremendous benefits for a private company– benefits that were contractually affixed for an extensive fifteen year period !

The sad truth is that successive BLP and DLP administrations have placed our nation in a deep financial hole by entering into unjustified, outrageously privileged contracts that oblige us โ€“ the citizens and taxpayers of Barbados โ€“ to make annual payments of hundred of millions of dollars for decades into the future.

Let us look at another example! There is the April 2013 so-called storage tank lease contract entered into by our Government with the Mark Maloney and Bjorn Bjerkham owned and/or managed company known as Storage Solutions Limited.

Under this contract, our Government-owned (and taxpayer-funded) Barbados Agricultural Management Co. Ltd (BAMC) is obligated to pay Storage Solutions Limited the sum of $2, 150,000.00 plus VAT every year for 20 years for the privilege of using three molasses storage tanks at the Bridgetown Port. Thus, under this contract, our Government (and ultimately the taxpayers of Barbados) are saddled with a payment of some $50 million over the 20 year period!

Yet another such contract is the so-called housing construction contract entered into between this current DLP administration and the corporate entity known as Housing Concepts SRL โ€“ also owned and/or managed by the said Mark Maloney and Bjorn Bjerkham.

Under this contract, Housing Concepts SRL was leased a massive parcel of Government land at Coverley, Christ Church at a pepper-corn rent for the purpose of constructing houses for sale to the Barbadian people at prices ranging between $289,000.00 and $396,000.00!

But what makes this contract truly remarkable is that our taxpayer-funded Government has entered into a legally binding contractual obligation to purchase from Housing Concepts SRL any house that the company is unable to sell to members of the public! Thus, once again, we taxpayers are left holding the bag!

There is also the outrageously privileged contract that the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) entered into with Innotech Services Ltd for the design, financing and construction of the new BWA headquarters, and the lease of the premises to the BWA for 13 years. Our Auditor General, Mr. Leigh Trotman, recently detailed so many deficiencies with this outrageously preferential contract that we would require a separate article to list and discuss them!

And โ€“ truth be told โ€“ I could go on and on listing many other similarly outrageously preferential contracts that our compliant political directorate has conferred on a small group of elite white Barbadian business-people. It is no wonder therefore that our country now possesses a national debt that is as large as our entire Gross National Product!

Face the truth Bajans : the โ€œOld Colonial Systemโ€ is alive and well in our country, and will continue to remain alive and well so long as you continue to elect hollow, pride-less, self serving men and women to the House of Assembly and ultimately to ministerial and prime ministerial office!

And so our first order of business must be to vote out the self-serving charlatans ! But that alone will not be enough. We will also have to go onย  to reform the Constitutionย  of our nation in order to establish structures andย  mechanisms that we โ€“ the people โ€“ can use to hold our MPโ€™s and Ministers accountable in the future.

Are you prepared to take on this crucial battle, or are you content to continue to be used and exploited for the benefit of a privileged few?

237 responses to “What Fifty years of “Independence” is Barbados Really Celebrating?”

1. But then again, these politicians may be smarter than we what we think. Some (not all) of these rich businessmen may just be fronts for corrupt politicians.

2. Heather BU is read by many especially via the social media platforms. We have tried in the past to reach the traditional audience who are happy to listen to the radio or access their news via the paper. How have we tried? Through others we ask them to contact the popular e-blasters like Clasimax, Telebarbados for example. We were told that their feedback was by promoting BU it would have scared their customers. Even the traditional media has put a blackout on information posted on BU by whistleblowers. Does not matter if we post documents to support positions the traditional media prefers to cite stories from foreign sources. It will be a struggle but those with a just cause will overcome eventually.

3. I am surprised at how insecure David Ellis and Roy Morris are in their refusal to mention BU even when critical documents are leaked on BU.

Do they see BU as competition or are they doing someone’s bidding?

4. @ Caswell

You refuse to comment on my suggestion re: Transparency International. Is the idea without merit or is it that it does not fit into your plans?

You will ask why I don’t run with it myself. Simple. I prefer to remain anonymous on BU. (I would still attend a meeting if one was called) You, on the other hand are known and respected.

Please give it some thought.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Old Baje

I never really gave it much though since they were scoring Barbados high on their index. I did not think that they were credible in those circumstances.

6. Caswell,

We scored high because we do not have a chapter here feeding them information. I understand they were very instumental in assisting the Trinidad chapter in pushing for and getting a freedom of information act and various pieces of integrity legislation.

Please look into it.

7. @David

We were told that their feedback was by promoting BU it would have scared their customers.
    +++++++
    I canโ€™t claim to be shocked and appalled, this is Barbados which at its core is still a very conservative place and the powers that be who are in charge of making those decisions have you in the same camp as ND.

I donโ€™t think that the customers are โ€œscaredโ€ but one or more of the exposรฉs on BU must have made some of them uncomfortable or embarrassed so naturally they wonโ€™t do anything to enhance your brand.

8. TheGazer wrote:

Lawdyโ€ฆ At one time we could run to the Queen for help with these monsters. But now we have to live with these guys dreams of enrichment; our worst nightmare. Waiting every four or five years to swap batteries will not really help us.

If HRH wanted to fight corruption, she could start a cleanup in her own back yard – providing she was willing to take on the banksters.

From The Belfast Telegraph:

When mafia expert Roberto Saviano tells us Britain is the most corrupt country in the world, it’s time to start listening
    By Joel Benjamin

Mafia expert Roberto Saviano was right this week when he said that itโ€™s Britain, rather than Afghanistan, the South of Italy or Nigeria, which is the most corrupt country in the world.

The fact of the matter is that the British public think they are detached from the mafia problem and corruption, yet London is the drug money laundering capital of the world, and 90 per cent of drug cash ends up in the US and Europe via London.

In Saviano’s native Italy, the Naples based Camorra have a warrant out for Roberto’s life, after he exposed the inner workings of members of the mafia in his book Gomorrah. He is a man willing to risk his own life for truth โ€“ and we should listen.

In London, the financial mafia don’t take out death warrants on truth tellers, but powerful financial firms will destroy the lives and reputations of whistleblowers without a momentโ€™s hesitation, ensuring they never work in the financial services sector again.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/when-mafia-expert-roberto-saviano-tells-us-britain-is-the-most-corrupt-country-in-the-world-its-time-to-start-listening-34761490.html

9. @Sargeant

Maybe so but the responsibility of the media is to report news, period.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bajans do have short memories. Just a couple months ago the parasite Bizzy was up in arms because Cherry was building some waste facility, without Town Planning permission….Bizzy jumped in the newspapers as though he is owner of the island telling Cherry he cannot break Town Planning laws, there are laws there for a reason…I guess now that Bizxy is openly bribing the police, Mark Maloney can break Town Planning laws, the law does not apply to the island’s parasites.

I….we all will…watch those same parasites destroy the whole island as Bjerkham did to the farm in St. Lucy when he could not get his way….and it would be the fault of the weak, greedy, useless black politicians.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/01/out-of-work-4/

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Money Brain May 31, 2016 at 7:57 PM #
    What is really hypocritical is that the Pols pretend they hat Whitey. (But dem loves de blendser!)

MoneyB. ..they both….whitey and black politicians, hate each other, but they both are practical in facilitating and initiation the contracts that steals money from the taxpayers, it’s their mutual love of money…on that they both agree and can work together…the guillotine can cure of them of that mutual greed.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/81830/bl-workers-protest

Can any black person go into Canada as a guest and kick a Canadian citizen without being deported…well this Canadian needs to be kicked out of Barbados.

Because black government ministers are colluding with business parasites to kick around the taxpayers…does not mean it’s a party, get this kicker out, he will do it again.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Englsnd started as the most corrupt and greedy coubtry in the world, it has to end as the most corrupt country in the world, do not look to them for help. Get rid of your greedy, corrupt ministers and parasitic business people yourselves…it’s worth fighting for your own country and financial freedom.

14. Allegedly, Barbadian BL&P worker kicked by non-national???? Excuse me? If true, Airport, NOW!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/81830/bl-workers-protest

You think a Bajan could do that in US or Canada?

15. Well Well & Consequences June 1, 2016 at 5:02 AM #

You beat me to it, I came here and posted, out of vexation. Then I read above. Exactly. No doubt, no how, no way.

Airport, NOW.

16. Or , if nothing is done, there is always facebook, for someone to post his photo. Make sure you have the evidence to support your claim, written testaments etc.

Is not libel if fact. So, base the claim and post.

I am sure the average bajan would like to know who he is.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Exactly Crusoe…I can’t understand why he is still even in Barbafos….they should have all they need as it’s said he apologized, …well…apology excepted and have a nice flight back to Canada…go kick a Canadian.

18. Venezuala has the second largest deposit of oil in the world. It has one river that can if properly managed generate all of the electricity needed to power the entire caribbean. Yet leaders who are David Comisong’s heroes have managed to destroy the economy so completely that the masses of the population who were promised a utopia in which everyone would be looked after by the state are now starving. If anyone who is reading this believes the rubbish that David Comising has written to insite my countrymen to hate me and decide to elect him to run this country God help us all. Barbados under his leadership will become a wasteland of suffering starving people. He does not understand even the simpelest and most basic rules of managing an economy or a business.

I have absolutely nothing to hide from my countrymen and women. That is why I told the truth to the Nations reporter at the SBRC open day. Of course true to form she reported nothing about the praises that 900+ visitors to SBRC expressed when they saw what we were doing there. No she only picked the one thing that she thought would stirr up business ignorant people like David Comisong to hate me. The truth is that only a person like him who understand nothing about repaying bank loans would sign a contract that requires them to invest over $50,000,000 in a business and have on the ready all the man power and equipment required to process a minimum of 1000 tons of garbage a day without being guaranteed payment enough to repay the bank and pay all the staff etc. SBRC responded to a publicly advertised request for compative tenders to do what SBRC does. The company won the contract fair and square totally above board and it is carrying out the contract it signed with Government. David Comisong and others like him could have tendered and won the contract. Why didn’t he? He will say its because he couldnt finance it. No bank would back him and he would be telling the truth. Would you finance someone with no track record of having run a successfull business? To lend him money to build a business would be like betting on a cripple to win a race against Usain Bolt. The man hasent a clue.

19. @ac et al,

Once you all know that if a Bajan worker had kicked that fellow, the Bajan worker would now be at NIS headquarters on Culloden Road with a slip a paper.

Once you all know that.

20. @ac, I know we agree on this, just adding a point.

21. @Bizzy Williams

We will alert David Commisiong to respond to you if he has not picked up on your comment.

In the interest of supporting transparency calls in the aftermath of another damning report by the Auditor General are you prepared to share the SBRC contract with the public or is it protected by an NDA clause.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bizzy…the visitors who patted you on the back do not live in Barabados and their politicians did not sign multiple multi-million dollar contracts with you, your brother, your business partner Bjorn Bjerkham of Cahill fame and your frontman Mark Maloney, which has disenfranchised Bajans for decades.

The visitors do not have to watch your frontman Mark Maloney breaking the countries Town Planning laws in their countries….. which you had so much mouth for Cherry from Jose y Jose where you claimed he was breaking laws in Barbados……everyone knows your contracts with the politicians are always onesided scam contracts to benefit you only…what visitors what….talk about the scam contracts and Maloney breaking the law….causing the death of a child…talk about that.

I am more than willing to engage you…..

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What Bizzy is not telling us is why he does not want to partner with Cherry to end the garbage problems seeing as taxpayers are paying millions to him….as he volunteered recently, whether he manages the garbage or not….bad contracting by corrupt politicians.

What Bizzy is not seeing is that corruption helped end the life of Venezuela…after 18 years.

What Bizzy is seeing…is Commissong being a threat…since his employees, the politicians, are all now exposed.

What Bizzy should be grateful for are all those onesided scam contracts allowing him and his business associates to use them as collateral to buy all those expensive equipment over the decades…..so that they can continue to make millions.

But some people are ungrateful from the womb to the tomb….and that includes the black politicians.

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Well Well and Crusoe

fear is the key.

Do you think that if a white man hah done that in Jamaica or Uganda that we would be here discussing that action and responding by union walks?

Unless and until you and gine dead tuh protect we blackness, that shyte and white menses killings dem son and ecky becky men putting islands in the road and killing our nigger as*es, that gine continue.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bizzy Williams

Every Bajan be you nigga (me) ecky Becky (you) coolie (Peter Harris) sand nigger/Syrian (June Naime) and the assorted unsure of ethnicity (Maloney) HAS A RIGHT TO EARN A LIVING IN BARBADOS.

your point about the business sense and acumen is accepted, in fact I believe that unless the candidates who we are voting for have such skills as commensurate with running a country they should not be voted in.

My problem with you and your brother and Bjerkham and the rest ent a colour thing it is the fact that you practice corruption under the chapeau of business acumen and more importantly you proudly announce it on TV and has no shame when you say it.

You said on tv that you bribe both political parties and you brother said that he clothed the niggers on his apes hill plantation.

Come Sing a Song does talk shyte all thetime cause he imagine heself tuh be clement Payne reincarnated but my question tuh you is do you think that a man like yourself who so proudly is killing Bajans through your business acumen actions is any different to the fellahs that killing on annuder in Baxters Road and West bury dat you tell the graduation recruits dat dem gots tuh arrest?

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…what they need to do is put a photo of the Canadian dude in cyberspace…and work on getting his racist ass out of Barbados.

And Bizzy Williams needs to answer me, he does not have, but then i will know we have all been right about him and his ilk being self-serving all along, neither of them or the politicians caring abiut the people on the island, but only about the millions they and the corrupt politicians can make off the backs of the taxpayers..

Bizzy by his own admission bribes both political parties with illegal campaign financing….he makes millions a month off onesided contracts whether he supplies the service or not = scam contracts…yet Bizzy is so goddamn greedy, he can’t subcontract to Cherry…a black man….a couple hundred thousand of dollars a year and spread the money around to the other garbage haulers, he perfers see them all park their trucks and suffer….it’s a 95% black country and the black politicians prefer see this too, all their people out of work.

And that other stinking scum Bjerkham would destroy the whole place rsther than see black people in business, him and the other scum Tempro. …and the black politicians encourage this on their own people.

Black people are just supposed to sit still and work for that lotta corrupt bitches for subpar wages to enrich them.

And black politicians encourage this for their own people.

27. True to form David Comisong has replied to me by writing what he wants to believe not what is the truth. He is so blinded with hate for the colour of my skin and the success of the businesses that God blessed me with brilliant people to run them that he never visited SBRC to see for himself what is done there. His statement that the 900+ visitors who attended the open day don’t live in Barbados is a blatent lie. There were but a few foreigners among the vast majority of Bajans from all races and all walks of life who visited and loved what they saw. I and the 300+ other Bajan shareholders of Williams Industries Inc. Are proud of and thankfull for the excellent staff and Workers who run SBRC. To a man and woman they are dedicated to protecting the environment and to keeping Barbados as clean as they can. We all regret that unscruplus waste hawlers have decided to dump garbage all over the island to avoid paying the tipping fee which their clients are paying them but we can do nothing about that but try our best to persuade them to bring the garbage to SBRC.

Mr Comisong, you are attacking me because you despise my skin and my ability to lead successfull businesses. Let me remind you that liars will never prosper so if you want success in your life start speaking the truth and also try hard as you may find it to build for the benefit of out island instead of trying to tear down everything that is working well. And by the way in the unlikely event that you succeed at something follow my example and share the benefits of your successful business with those who help you to be successful.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The only business acumen Bizzy, Cow, Bjerkham et al possess…is controlling the politicians to get their scam contracts , lord it over the people and then pretend they are business magnates…the little dudes selling their marijuana and cocaine for the indians and same whites are better business people, they have to multitask under dangerous, stressful conditions and still survive….all Bizzy and his gang of crooks have to do is scream at a corrupt politician to get what they want….that does not require business acumen….any idiot can do that to other idiots.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Since it was mentioned that Come Sing a Song returns to his vomit periodically i would wish to ask him this question

Would he be prepared to bring a court case against the government of Barbados for its reckless pending?

You can insist on having a trial with jurors can’t you?

Put you money where your mouth is.

Do something instead of talk Sing Song

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ah told yall Commissing is seen as a threat. Newsfash Bizzy, outside of Barbados ya are a black man…Commissong knows this, or he should, the only people who dont seem to know it are the ignorant politicians on the island amd we know the population tend to follow the ignorant politicians…there goes ya argument.

Wont it be nice if this is someone stealing Bizzy’s name instead of Bizzy on here showing the whole island and the world….how uninformed, insular and corrupt he really is….and what jacasses the politicians really are…….nice but I doubt it, this is Bizzy with all his stupidity…lol

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

We know that Jack Bauer aka Austin Halll is a nutcase, particularly when of his meds and would pull a stupid stunt like this…lol

But Bizzy…ya really backward ya know that…lol

32. @ Bizzy Williams

We have never been convinced that baccra people like you had much sense. And yet the best slaves in the world, Bajans, allow your ilk to continue to run Barbados and the world.

The failures of Venezuela is a testimony to the dead-endedness of policies White people, and pretend Whites like you, insist should be inflicted on Pachamama.

Barbados has always been a wasteland of suffering. It’s just that the Baccra boys like you have always been able to get a wicked Parliament to legislate resources for them and maintain a racist social order, as the UN determined 15 years ago.

White people or their policies have been running Barbados for centuries, a country built on slave labour, and yet all your efforts have delivered us into a cul-de-sac

Nobody hates you personally. We all hate what you represent. You represent a modern day plantation overseer with the ability to bribe politicians and maintain senior civil servant on your payroll. Is this the kind of democracy you want?

If contracts in Barbados could be won ‘fair and square’ then tell us how is it that the same 3 or 4 people keep winning all the time? To believe this marketing propaganda will require a suspension of common sense and known criminal activity by you and your co-conspirators as detailed in AG’s reports.

The truth is that neither you nor your brother could mek a cent in Barbados without government support. That is why we have suggested that the credit union movement should be given all these so-called contracts that are used as a basis of privatizing public assets.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pacha…that’s why I posted some years ago that the credit unions ought not to let government ministers have access to or touch a dime of that money in the unions….Bizzy and that crowd of useless parasites calling themselves business magnates…but are just business maggots…would finish the people’s money in one go, just like the NIS money and 4 seasons scam….Bizzy and that gang of thieves live to be parasites, that’s the only skills they have.

What tender what…the politicians rarely tender contracts….the BWA contract to DaSilva..Innotech…was not tendered, millions of tax dollars down the drain and unaccounted for.

All Bizzy et al have to do is call up the politicians and demand a contract and that it be worded to their specifications…to benefit them…again….the Cahill contract is living proo ..and that crook woman Cowan is from Canada, not Barbados, so just imagine what those beasts Bjerkham et al demand they get for themselves in those contracts….and the politicians gladly give them what they want…. the goddamn sellouts.

34. BU encourage those of you in the many to share your views on the subject matter.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And just so Bizzy will stop with this skin color nonsense and playing the race card in a black nation…my daughter looks more European than you and considers herself of African descent, even though the bloodlines are varied, so it would do you well to stop using race to continue stealing from the black taxpayers on the island….if they hated you, you would never have been able to corrupt both governments for decades and get away with it…..and bring in your partners to reinforce the corruption.

Yes…more people need to comment on this matter, because this parasite is trying to portray himself as a victim while destroying black businesses, corrupting the governments and stealing from taxpayers simultaneously. ..with the help of politicians.

Where is the Bushman and SSS and all the other commenters…Bizzy thinks he is talking to his little boys and girls in the political parties and within the government…he needs to know he is interacting with adults who are grateful enough to put their taxpayer funded education to good use and not condone or enable him stealing from taxpayers…him and his gang.

AC…why you dont open your deceitful mouth to Bizzy, ya always have your stench with mouth wide open for us about the minorities bad business practices…open ya lying mouth for Bizzy…ya coward.

36. The BWA headquarters project went thru a pre-qualification, a competitive tender, a negotiation over 12 months and has the full weight and authority of the Cabinet which had the benefit private legal counsel and the blessing of the Office of the Attorney General.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bizzy Williams June 1, 2016 at 6:10 AM
    โ€œWould you finance someone with no track record of having run a successfull business? To lend him money to build a business would be like betting on a cripple to win a race against Usain Bolt. The man hasent a clue.โ€

Bizzy, what you are trying to impugn to David Come-sing-alongโ€™s business acumen and failed track record in achieving political top-dog status might have some appeal to it.
    But you are making a general charge that implies no one without a โ€˜track record of having run a successful businessโ€™ should be finance in any potential business venture.

Is that what you want to convey to the public, Bizzy? If so the question could be asked of you how did you get started in business in the first instance having allegedly descended from a poor white family background.
    Did your โ€˜superiorโ€™ colour in the Bajan context propel you to the front of the bankerโ€™s queue with little or no deeply searching questions asked because of the highly favourable recommendations from your well-heeled contacts in the incestuous Bajan world of business or did you get lucky and had easy access to other family membersโ€™ financial fortunes?

Let us give you the benefit of the doubt and conclude you did not really mean to suggest that every poor young Bajan (black, white, brown or yellow) with an enterprising spirit should be denied access to start-up capital just because he or she lacks a successful business track record.

BTW, Bizzy, I would like you to reconsider that gift you promised to the RBPF.
    It doesnโ€™t look good in small socially incestuous Barbados.
    Why not find a different โ€˜willingโ€™ and โ€˜more-in-needโ€™ recipient for your patriotic display of kindness? Why not to the Anglican Church badly in need of a โ€˜facialโ€™ uplift to rekindle its presence in the sight of your God? Why not to the Salvation Army to feed the many vagrants marching daily on the streets of World Heritage site Bridgetown?

Why not, in association with your other โ€˜successful-in-businessโ€™ brother build two toilet facilities in Bridgetown as a show of recognition of your appreciation of the aging population of Barbados.
    Remember, these are the people who supported you through the years as you were โ€˜movingโ€™ the earth to please (and electrify). I am sure your fellow Bajans (of all colours and social classes) would be proud of such a worthy donation devoid of any foul odour or perception of any attempt to unduly influence any arm of the law enforcement body in the country.

In return, the vital and well maintained facilities could have the following inscription of gratitude on a plaque โ€˜convenientlyโ€™ unveiled by The Hon. Minister of Culture & Long Talk:

โ€œDonated by the Williams Brothers to the City of Bridgetown & Dedicated in the Interest of Preserving Vital Public Sanitation to avoid any plague and Preserving Old Bridgetown as a Hygienically Acceptable World Heritage Site (especially to Visitors)โ€.

38. David, your posting of the article about Inniss taking a swipe at Town & Country Planning reminds us that, as Minister of Commerce, it was he who persuaded Cabinet to reduce the duties on imported cement to accommodate Maloney and his cement from Portugal. So why wouldn’t he be supporting Maloney against TCP? Be sure that Maloney has been given the nod and the wink to proceed against the instructions of the TCP. Suddenly D’Arcy Boyce has been appointed “facilitator”. Will he now bulldoze this matter past TCP, and doesn’t Maloney know that?

39. @Peltdownman

You are in the ball.

40. @ Bizzy

Please bring proof that the SBRC contract, the desal plants, the molasses storage tanks and the BWA building were put out for tender.

I know that you were part of a group that was on the losing end of the Dodds contract although your price was much lower. I guess it suits your purposes to keep quiet about that.

41. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Another nail in this govts coffin……….but we Bimmers love it so.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/05/31/governments-austerity-under-serious-question/

42. Wunna looking to make Bizzy cry on BU now?

43. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle………Simple so……no lotta long talk

http://999wefm.com/politics/newly-passed-bill-no-more-swearing-of-allegiance-to-the-queen-3/

44. @ Vincent

We need austerity to protect the peg. And we need growth to avoid a debt crisis. But austerity leads to contraction not growth. In other words, we are in duck’s guts.

45. Bizzy and his ilk still believe that people should genuflect when they appear on the scene. But nobody here gives one Brassbowl ’bout them.

In fact, we so disrespect them that we have suggested that the guillotine be made familiar with their necks. This is the ONLY way left to root out the endemic corruption that the local oligarchs suborn.

46. Re: Vincent’s 8:45 AM post

Nice one, Ralphy.

47. Pacha

They understand the fact that real democracy is nothing but a fallacy whereby idiots are elected into power, and these idiots then have to cater to the morons that elected them in the first place. Thus, a perfectly prosperous country gradually becomes nothing but one huge welfare state.

This results in the impoverishment of the entire Nation because the politicians are buying votes and not providing true leadership to help the populace in a very efficient, effective and disciplined method.

Democracy is an elegant theory that works only where Politicians are strictly controlled and not permitted to Buy Votes by stealing from the successful in order to give the money to LazyAsses, ad nauseum, without proper efficient, effective and disciplined planning, monitoring and controls. Severely penalising success will never make sense, just as not providing proper Education, Health Care and Opportunity in general bound to prove a failure.

Venezuela has been a mess from Day 1 and the clowns running the country have failed miserably because their policy approach is wrong. I agree that right of centre Ven Govts have not conducted themselves acceptably either BUT life has been better than now for far more people. The ex Spanish colonies are high on the corruption list. How can such a country, so rich in natural resources, be so messed up by humans, this must be a global record!

Pacha wrote, White people or their policies have been running Barbados for centuries.

Probably why a country with virtually no resources has performed better over the last 100 years than many countries like Guyana and Jamaica that were blessed with so much until Leftist jokers like Teeeefing Burnham (one of the “richest ” black men on Earth by Teeefing the”peoples” money) and stupid, over educated Manley who never understood that Jamaicans are gifted business people not Commies. They should be thanked by the US, Canada and the UK for providing their best people as migrants.

All Lefties and Wasteful fools should be permitted to migrate to Leftie run countries where they think they would be happy. Let people who know that Incentive based economies are the way to go move to the UK, US, Canada, Aus and Bim.

Ven is a failed state but naturally this will be cast as Whitey, Capitalists, the US’s FAULT! Who stopped Maduro from exporting Oil to the max? Bloody fools cant manage but do Damage .

48. Prime Minister Stuart I in record as saying that the focus of his government was a stabilizing economic policy. The thing is the economy is not being reposition for growth. There is no confidence, no trust, no entrepreneurial fire rampaging through the country.

49. @ David,

BU will be electric this morning. Wait till wunna read de Nation. Waiting fuh de ” man eff it did me I wudda!”