Submitted by Heather Cole
Independence, 1966

We all know the story of what happened on November 30th 1966 in Barbados. The island became independent. The Union Jack, the flag of Great Britain was lowered and a Barbadian flag was raised as a symbol of national independence. However, some of the relics of colonialism were not folded up and tucked away like the British flag.

The Bible says that a man must leave an inheritance for his children’s children. Therefore whatever we store up in wealth is to be left for our grandchildren who are our second generation. The vast majority of Barbadians do not have enough for themselves to live comfortably on, far less have savings to set aside for their grandchildren. A generational inheritance is a blessing that allows young men and women to start their early adult life with less difficulty than their grandfathers. This inheritance could be used to pay for university tuition, build a house or even start a business. We have a generational inheritance problem in Barbados.

There was no inheritance to be left during slavery. At Emancipation, the British government compensated the planters for their loss. Nothing was given to the former slaves to start a new life. The British Government did not put any mechanisms in place for the economic, social and political development of the ex-slaves and they became second class citizens in their own country. However, a very small percentage of the black population, mainly the early entrepreneurs like the fishermen and blacksmiths were able to buy land which they were able to pass down to their children.

The harsh social and economic reality of the early 1900’s stalled the process of generational inheritance. The Moyne Commission recommended reforms to alleviate poverty after the Riots but did not address the lack of wealth or changes in government. It only pacified the people by recommending that they be allowed to vote. The Planter/Upper Class still owned the means of production and maintained a tight control over the legislature. This meant that the masses had no power to solve their economic, social or political problems.

It took an entire generation to witness change after the reforms that were recommended by the Moyne Commission. It came as Independence in most territories. What was meant to be freedom from outside control, freedom to make political decisions that were beneficial to the people, freedom to respond to the needs of the people, freedom to allow the people to acquire wealth, now appears to have been an illusion. All of the people should have benefitted economically from independence. The poor have not benefitted; indeed only a select few in Barbados have. One of its main goals should have been the creation of generational wealth for the masses.

The poor have not benefited politically from independence either. The Upper class still maintains control of the government. They now finance political campaigns and some of their funds are used to buy votes. Lack of governmental reform as a recommendation of the Moyne Commission has led to the creation of a self-servient Political Class in Barbados whose intent is to get rich serving the Upper Class while they pacifying the masses

Even Errol Walton Barrow, the father of Independence, great as he was has perhaps done to us the greatest disservice in the modern history of Barbados. Perhaps he thought that the conditions that led up to the riots of 1930’s era would never occur again. However hind sight is not foresight. He has lived and died not knowing of his greatest misgiving. It is that the Constitution of Barbados does not contain a single clause that allows for the empowerment of the masses if they were ever faced with the social, economic and political turmoil again that existed in the 1930’s. There is nothing in the Constitution that allows redress for ills when they are created by those that govern the people.

No thought was given to the meaning of the 1930’s riots that occurred only one generation earlier. There is no grandfather clause in the Constitution to protect the people. His independence did not create a government for the people or by the people; it was government of the people. It was as though our owners changed from the planter class to the political class. Even the role of the Governor General does not serve a meaningful purpose. That role should be one of a mediator between the ruling government and the people. At present the Governor can only take the side of the ruling government and is absolutely no help to the people. Had it been contained in the Constitution that the people can appeal to the Governor General with good cause that the government be removed, that position would be relevant today. The Constitution needs to be re written.

The tenure of this present government has exposed all that is wrong in Barbados. Political corruption, poor governance, lack of confidence in the political system, lack of justice, a floundering economy, continuous down-grades by international rating agencies, high inflation, high unemployment, , the escalating activity of trade unions fighting to preserve the rights of a dwindling labour force, rising crime levels, an increase in poverty, sub-standard levels of health care, an education system now in turmoil both at the tertiary and secondary levels and the inability of the masses to acquire wealth.

Realistically all the evidence that is before us supports the point of view that the Constitution created at Independence is flawed with more rights to the government than the people. The entire country is at risk of systemic failure which can lead to a total collapse because the ruling party has failed to meet its obligations socially, politically and economically and the people can do nothing about it except wait until their term is up or engage in protest action. There is no power of the people to recall.

The country needs change, revolutionary change. Almost two generations after Independence there is no generational wealth for the vast majority of Barbadians to pass down. Yet the present government is bent on securing generational wealth only for their children’s children. Why else would they be seeking to restore a 10% salary increase at this time when they have already fattened their pockets and the treasury is bare?

In the final analysis the two biggest failures of independence are staring us right in our face. It has not created wealth for the masses; if it did no man or woman in Barbados would be inclined to sell their vote. It did not empower the people to have a voice in the decisions that affect this country. We no longer need masters, or to be allowed to speak with a vote once every five years. We can think for ourselves. The Internet has given us a collective voice to partner with government to seek solutions for Barbados. We as a people must come together to rewrite the wrongs and correct the errors and create a new Constitution that is of the people, by the people and for the people. Seventy Nine years after the 1937 Riots and fifty years after Independence we are challenged with the same problems. How can we be celebrating 50 years of failure? Since we now have the ability, it is high time we resolve the problems and not pass them on to the next generation; leaving them to wonder why this present generation did nothing to prevent the country’s demise.

233 responses to “Independence: A Blessing or a Curse?”

1. …and bernard…
    Bushie resents your accusation that the Bushman “abuses politicians and other miscreants ‘every day’ …..” suggesting that approximately once each day, Bushie cusses some lawyer or the other…

BOSS…

The records will show that Bushie makes a deliberate effort to do so MULTIPLE times a day….
    If therefore you are missing some of the action, please feel free to check in on BU a bit more often….
    Murder!!!

2. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Well Well & Consequences May 18, 2016 at 12:46 PM #
    As soon as Fruendel and Donville lose those diplomatic passports, both should be the first former ministers fingerprinted leaving and re-entering the island.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Leaving the island maybe ! There is no guarantee that these corrupt bastards will re-enter the island if Washington has anything to do with it.

3. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

“What Cave Hill does, is create hoards of semi-literate bowls with a strong sense of entitlement…”

Surely you are not among those hordes, Bushie?

4. Heather started a petition!

Petition update – CAHILL ENERGY AGREEMENTS EXPOSE PRIME MINISTER STUART AS WITHHOLDING THE TRUTH FROM… https://t.co/oLYIPUw0AC via @Change

CAHILL ENERGY AGREEMENTS EXPOSE PRIME MINISTER STUART AS WITHHOLDING THE TRUTH FROM BARBADIANS

change.org/p/3648613/u/16…

5. Cut out the diatribe and answer Ms Cole question Bushie- Is independence a blessing or a curse?

6. @ Jeff
    Surely you are not among those hordes, Bushie?
    Among them, but not ‘of them’.

Seriously though, when you reflect on where we are educationally as a Nation,
    ..are you proud of Cave Hill’s achievements?
    When you survey the landscape of ‘local’ business ownership; of banking; of utilities; of sport …. are you proud of Cave Hill’s contribution.. after 60 years of painful public funding?
    When you reflect of the quality of persons represented in our highest court – are you proud of the Cave Hill impact?
    When you review our quality of national justice and jurisprudence …does it give you goose pimples …or chills?

It must be quite challenging for you to balance your natural loyalty with the reality of our dismal situation….
    But is is easy to be brutally honest and frank once you get your hands on a whacker….

7. @ balance
    INDEPENDENCE IS A BLESSING….of course.

We just don’t have it.

How the hell can we be independent and other people are keeping our money, producing our electricity, running our phones, selling our food and owning our hotels?

How are you ‘independent’ and indebted nearly 150% of your annual salary to lenders who have rated you at junk level?

Boss, Independence is about standing on your OWN TWO FEET like a damn man….not about standing up in parliament talking shiite …and firing off expensive fireworks.
    And it is NOT about running up and down the world begging for loans like a damn parro…

8. Bush Tea May 18, 2016 at 10:01 PM #

“Boss, Independence is about standing on your OWN TWO FEET like a damn man….not about standing up in parliament talking shiite …and firing off expensive fireworks.”

@ Bush Tea

Excellent, Bushie…. well “said.”

9. @Well Well,
    Gone where? A march does not a government make.
    This proposed march is the height of stupidity, and people see it for what it will be. A march!!, Whether “for justice”, against injustice ; which is the correct designation that should be used; ( see the stupidity), or whaTEVER, it will still be a march. Why did Mottley bring Trevor Pressed out of his sick bed, to participate in the vote; that is all he came for, that she knew in advance (said so herself) she could not win? “Its not the numbers”, she said, it was not even close. She could have let the poor man get the rest he needed. So she, and you and Bushie, and Miller, and Piece, and such like, will march.
    Do all of you think Hon. Freundel will panic, or that members of the Cabinet, will leave the Cabinet meeting and come outside and demonstrate?
    And you, and your cohorts, get in the house and talk and prance up, about Productivity? How many man-hours will be lost to productive pursuits through that march? For what purpose? Do you think that will make the PEOPLE more sympathetic to your cause? You spent a whole day in putting forward your case; SO!!!
    As far as I know a march will not cause the PM to visit Government House and request that parliament be dissolved? If he does then an election would have to be held, and the votes counted, and after that the RESULTS would show who gone. We shall see. What happen last election?

Miller,
    I wont waste time to answer your question except to say, when the DLP were defeated in 1994, and the BLP assumed office, the DLP had two seats. When they Contested the next election they won 7 seats, the next election they (the DLP) won was in 2008, and even then they did not command a 2/3 majority, and the mood of the BLP was so petulant it would have been senseless to try to get any sort of co-operation from them. Even now after the defeat in 2013, from which they (the BLP) have not yet recovered, any discussion on constitutional changes would be bound to be rebuffed, and in any case with a two seat majority it would be a complete waste. So you see, you had 14 years to make any proposals for constitutional changes. Too late now. 2018 looks like the earliest time. Not sure you will win it then, but I don’t fore see a 2/3 majority on either side.
    See, Well Well, changing the constitution; legally, is not so easily done, never mind who wants to do it.

10. Bushy and foolish, follow pattern Artax.
    Is the United States Independent, by your definition? What is their National Debt like? What is their trade deficit on a monthly and annual basis? Are they independent of other countries? How much do they owe the Chinese?
    Stop talking shite about standing on your own two feet.All countries invest in other countries, and seek loans from other countries. Why do you think the U.S left the Gold Standard?

11. And is the US of A pleased with their situation? Is this considered satisfactory?

12. @DONNA,
    WHETHER they are pleased or not, that is the way it is. We have nothing to be ashamed about, nor do we have to feel less than anyone.

13. Alvin Cummins May 18, 2016 at 11:08 PM #

“Do all of you think Hon. Freundel will panic…..”

@ Alvin Cummins

Man, Cummins, after seeing the increased regularity of contributions from you, the AC yard-fowls and Bajanfuhlife and hearing the shiite George Pilgrim talking, I dun know that not only Is Stuart panicking, but the entire DLP and its supporters.

“Even now after the defeat in 2013, from which they (the BLP) have not yet recovered……….”

Shiite, Alvin, yuh must sympathize with the BLP, it is only 3 years after the 2013 defeat. Wuh Alvin, after the 1994 defeat, it en tek wunnuh almost 14 years to recover? It did “cat piss and pepper” in the DLP……….. wid Thompson and Kellman, Thompson and Brandford, Thompson and Mascoll……..

Look, during the first two years after the DLP was elected to office in 2008, wunnuh did still behaving as though wunnuh was still the Opposition.

Am, uh still waiting pun yuh ‘bout that Richard Byer issue. You en even had the common decency to admit yuh did wrong and apologize.

But I guess that by doing that, you may be deeded as being “foolish and follow pattern.”

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…in case you missed it, the march is for all the stealing and dishonest acts by DLP politicians for the last 8 years…..from buying votes, to selling taxpayer’s contracts to minotity business people…………..to Cahill scam, to their inability to reduce unemployment to 6%……to their self-serving greedy antics…..to lying to the taxpayers about everything…..to believing themselves masters and not servants of the people…..to installing Parris’ stolen policyholders and now laundered money into the central bank…to their inability to lock up white colllar criminals because they too are criminals colluding with same….to trying to restore their own salaries without restoring any jobs of people who have non or raises to public servants…to installing a crook like Bjerkham in the central bank with no explanation to the people….another Cahill scam artist.

Is that not enough for you…..well too bad, cause it’s enough for the electorate.

Alvin….your days of being a jackass on BU are numbered, you and AC both….yall will both be reduced to cackling yardfowls instead of braying jackasses.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Only an idiot like you would think that adding amendments to a constitution is some gigantic task, it’s done by INTELLIGENT law makers around the world every day….by INTELLIGENT lawmakers who know how to CORRECTLY interpret legislation in their parliament….not like the current idiots for lawyers you have who misinterpret the most basic pieces of legislation..

You see Alvin…I read the first and last sentences of your post cause I know all the rest is crap.

16. The members and supporters of this piss poor DLP administration have been suggesting and trying to convince Barbadians that NUPW president Akanni McDowall is a member of the BLP and had expressed an interest to represent that political party as a candidate in the 2018 general elections.

Recently, rumors surfaced that McDowall was facing a “no confidence motion” in an attempt to remove him from the helm of the NUPW.

Fortunately for him, the motioned failed since “it did not have enough signatures. It requires 50 signatures and many of the signatures could not be validated, some of them might not have been members, some of them might not have been financial, so it did not get the signatures required to bring a no confidence motion.”

It is interesting to note that rumors have also surfaced suggesting that, DLP member, fomer Deputy General Secretary of the NUPW, former DLP candidate for St. Michael West Central; and now Director of the Urban Development Commission (UDC), DEREK ALLYENE, is said the be the individual who INSTIGATED the no confidence motion.

And duh accuse Akanni uh playing politics.

17. Well Well,
    Where? When last was an amendment made to the U>S Constitution? What was it?
    I am never offended by anything you write; whether or not you read my contribution thoroughly. Your loss.
    The March, and its purpose is crap. You can only talk about success AFTER the event. The electorate make their decision on election. Until then events like the march is not reflexive of THE ELECTORATE, it is reflective of PART of the electorate. My question is, why after the hollering in Parliament, would the electorate need a march to further inform them? You have been at it since 2013. Obviously you have not been convincing in your endeavours.
    “Alvin….your days of being a jackass on BU are numbered, you and AC both….yall will both be reduced to cackling yardfowls instead of braying jackasses.” Are you saying that IF you win the next election (2018) you will ban me from writing? I will just find another forum to continue my “idiocy.”

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

No Alvin…your deceitfulness will be reduced, you will not be able to lie for DLP…they will be in the shadows…and so will you, just like cockroaches, ya know like the minority business people I talk about waiting for the next scam…you will be regulated to a mini cockroach in waiting…..clear enough for you.

Instead of coming on BU with misinformation and lies, ya will actually be useful in pointing out all Mia’s and her minister’s corrupt actions. dishonest and corrupt actions…think ya for it?

Google the latest legislation passed by Obama 2 days ago…make yourself useful.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Look Alvin….every politician knows that thrir jobs are to create news laws to benefit the people and upgrade and modernize old laws to keep the country flowing smoothly….except for the crooks for politicians in Barbados….the below is a potential state law, have you found the legislation Obama passed just days ago that benefits ALL Americans.?

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/gov-cuomo-pushes-liquor-law-reform-ignores-child-sex-abuse-vics-article-1.2641982

That’s what politicians are supposed to do and when they dont because they are either ignoring what’s important or too busy trying to enrich themselves….ya get rid of them.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin the jackass.

21. LOL
    Alvin thinks just like Fumble…
    He don’t….

22. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

These two articles coming on the eve of our 50th Independence celebrations should be a must read as they encapsulate what the BU household has been saying for months on the state of this our once progressive country.

https://shar.es/1dtl0M

https://shar.es/1dsKPf

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/05/18/a-royal-mess-in-this-our-50th-year/

One would have thought that the editor would have also mentioned the blatant misuse and abuse of the judiciary by insurance companies over many decades and their deliberate clogging of and wasting the cour’s time with personal injury matters that can easily be settled, all in their bid to maliciously avoid paying compensation….since the newspapers dont think it’s important enough to mention, although that too affects and impacts the courts and claimants negatively…..the claimants affected by this nasty practice by insurance companies must now make it very public.

By Frances Chandler….

“NOTHING SHOULD SURPRISE us nowadays, but I couldn’t believe my ears when I heard that the reduction in MPs’ salaries is to be reinstated. Isn’t that a boldfaced insult to Barbadians – especially when, over the last few days we’ve been reminded at length of these MPs’ dismal record?.

In contrast to the lyrics of Biggie Irie’s song, that definitely wouldn’t be “money well spent.” On the other hand the Opposition seems to be taking the honourable position and refusing the reinstatement at this time.

Added to all the woes the Opposition Leader outlined, is the ongoing deterioration of our justice system. This was brought home forcefully in the recently published book by Philip Nicholls, entitled: More Binding than Marriage.
    Having read it, I certainly think it should be compulsory reading for all Barbadians, particularly those in schools and the law faculty of the University of the West Indies. Maybe some bright young minds might be inspired to bring about change once and for all.

We see evidence almost every day of the poor performance of this system in spite of all the highly paid individuals overseeing it, but Nicholls’ book is a real eye-opener. In addition to the inordinate delays (in this case 13 years) how can we have judgements and injunctions from the High Court seemingly totally ignored, and to make matters worse, those concerned allowed to leave the country? Shouldn’t travel documents be withheld in such circumstances? The severe impact which all these inefficiencies and obstructions have had on the author’s life is clearly detailed in the book. I usually read in bed at night, but had to change this routine as the contents of the book prevented me from sleeping.

It’s scary to realise that any one of us could suffer that fate for one reason or another. How can we accept this state of affairs even after the Caribbean Court of Justice has criticised it? No wonder the Rt Excellent Errol Barrow is reported to have said that If you want justice, stay far from the law courts.

I seem to recall it being mentioned in the book that lawyers aren’t good business people. This is supported by the seemingly poor financial management and office systems common to many law firms. No doubt this is why we frequently see lawyers accused of “withholding” clients’ funds.
    It would seem sensible to keep clients’ funds completely separate from operational funds and have both the client and the attorney sign any cheques drawn from the client account. Actually the Rt Excellent Errol Barrow also had his say on this in a speech to the graduating class of the Hugh Wooding Law School in 1986.

Another thing I gleaned from the book is that the so called “legal fraternity” is anything but a fraternity if the meaning of fraternity is taken as “brotherhood, fellowship or kinship”. Where are we going in this country?

Bearing all this in mind, I would say that if ever there was a time when we Barbadians needed hope it is now. So I commend Ms Mottley for her “Covenant of Hope”. While we may not support all the content, I’m sure none would deny that we must “return to the values that sustained and distinguished us as Barbadians” and that we are badly in need of “good transparent governance”; governance that involves talking to the people, and recognising that government is to serve the people and not the other way around.

Although she voted against the no-confidence motion, Dr Maria Agard made some excellent recommendations during the debate: introduce measures to weed out the bad politicians, introduce legislation to deal with electoral reform and campaign financing, establish an independent commission with powers to force political parties to have audited accounts open to public scrutiny, publish and expose big-name political donors to make known what privileges and contracts they enjoyed when the party of their choice was elected to government.
    In short, we Barbadians want our Barbados back.

See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/81345/-worth#sthash.xY800dpR.tCcvIPhG.dpuf

25. Simply be honest:

Around 1800 there were a few slaveholders, the white establishment and the black masses.

Today we have a few politicians, judges, pastors, consultants etc. pp., the white establishment and the black masses.

Any change? Yes, the masses think they are free. They are not.

26. Well Well,
    The discussion was on changes (amendments) to the CONSTITUTION, not just changes in legislation or introduction of new legislation. We do it almost every week when new Bills are debated in the House and the Senate. Isn’t this true?

27. Well Well,
    You had your march:another failure, now what? The DLP end gone nowhere. I know however where Mia is going.Nowhere, not even as a shadow.

28. Dear All, I will respond to your queries tomorrow. I have been very busy.

29. It is amazing that the reluctance of Barbadians to jump out of the frying pan into the fire is seen as a cause for celebration by some people. But I guess everybody all over the world is trapped in the same position and so we should not expect better neither should we feel any less than any other country, eh Alvin? Whether we are pleased or not, that’s just the way it is, eh? After all, the electorate US of A will probably have to choose between Hilary’s frying pan and Trump’s raging inferno.

Sooooo… three cheers for Barbados. Hip hip……and nuff nuff expensive fireworks!

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…ya still missing the point….have the jobs of laid off workers been restored….no….have BWA workers money been restored…no……have civil servants gotten a raise since 2008…no….and you are worried about Mia’s march….she is just setting the stage for what will follow.

Of course you are unable to project, so you will only see it when it hits you. Instead of thinking you won some prize, ya better tell ya masters not to let the economy fall off the cliff IMF said it’s balancing on….the imbalance Alvin, same imbalance I keep talking about.

Bajans handled it properly and with maturity, instead of being led out, they will know the right time to show their numbers…if your masters still continue to take them for idiots.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna…Alvin, being a certified yardfowl, cannot see that yesterdays march was a win, win for the people, politics has rotted the few brain cells he has left.

Some of us were blessed with the skills and gifts of our ancestors, because we listen to our ancestors….yardfowls have no such skills…frontal lobe dysfunction.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And Alvin…ya say the parliamentarians legislate bills every week, I will not answer on the constitution cause it’s clear that’s way above your knowledge to articulate, just like your master’s…..

.so where is the legislation for elder abuse, rape and abuse of children and teenagers, how is it that a man can rape a cut open cow and get 10 years, but rape a 6 month to 4 year to 6 year child and up and only get a year in prison….so what is legislated weekly, the 10% pay cut restoration and only that which benefits the politicians…like Cahill scam, 6 cents an acre of land to a crooked Canadian, exactly what is legislated weekly to benefit the people, where is freedom of information legislation, anti corruption legislation, freeing up the land to citizens, poor citizens to elimate squatting.

Talk to me again when the idiots in parliament learn what it means to legislate things of importance.

Exactly what good is legislating weekly, never tableing adequately and never enforcing important legislation, how does that help the people.

You continue to make your DLP masters look dumber with every comment.

33. You hear that Alvin is an Idiot!!!
    Why beat up on such a person…?

An enlightened government, EVEN WITH INSUFFICIENT NUMBERS TO EFFECT CONSTITUTIONAL CHANGE, would be constantly looking for opportunities to strengthen and improve the constitutional framework upon which the country operates.
    This would be possible by championing such intrinsically positive changes that only suicidal opposition members would fail to support the initiatives.

Such strengthening would include for example, Integrity legislation and transparency laws; Guaranteed rights of protest for citizens against perceived government injustices; Recall of elected officials in certain circumstances;… etc

The low minded and dim witted morons that we have tended to elect however, have shown ZERO ability to think at such a level…. and have therefore endeared themselves to the likes of Alvin and AC…. since birds of a feather tend to shiite together….

34. Not only is Alvin Cummins an Idiot but he is a celebrated liar too.

Did he not come to BU just a few days ago and say that the video showing the maltreatment of the woman at the Elderly Home was in fact fraudulent and that he knew the place and was on his way there that same day?

My girlfriend SSS always telling us about your lied scvnt Alvin but you have shown that you have no effing shame and are a boldfaced liar.

35. @Bushie, Well Well, Artax, Donna, sss, et al;

“……since birds of a feather tend to shiite together….” ” Isn’t this more applicable to your pen of yard ducks? Ever thought YOU are the ones talking shite?

You (all of you) never vary in your diatribe, and never think that persons who differ from you are right. You all have a low opinion of the persons ELECTED by the people who want their representation, and demonstrate this in a free election. Why do you think that your opinion, only, is the one the people should have? The failure of the march, again, is a demonstration that the people think differently from you and are satisfied with the way the government is functioning. Your greatest disappointment today would be the IMF report that says the country has turned the corner, that projects further growth, and concludes that the Government is on the right path. The evidence is there and there is not the need for all the agitation you try to foment. And this report is given by YOUOR own masters, the ones from a different country and a different ethnic origin; thus your faith in them. Well THEY have said it now, not the Governor of the Central Bank, not the Prime Minister, or the much vilified MOF.

You talk about, “…protest for citizens against perceived government injustices; Recall of elected officials in certain circumstances;… etc. When you talk about protest against PERCEIVED injustice, isn’t this what happened yesterday? and isn’t the evidence obvious that only your ilk are protesting against this perception?

36. I am not satisfied with the way things are being run and yet I DID NOT MARCH. I know many people who feel as I do. Yet THEY DID NOT MARCH! The reasons why we all did not march are varied. My reason was that as dissatisfied as I am with the “Sleeping Giant” I find it impossible to march behind a “demon.”

I don’t pay much attention to the reports of “the Masters” whether positive or negative. You have never seen me make reference to them here or anywhere else. My dissatisfaction comes from being on the ground in Barbados, knowing a little about economics and financial affairs (and decimal points) and A LOT about being a decent human being. Lying to the electorate, ignoring the promises you made at election time, ignoring the opinions of those who elected you, disrespecting, insulting and threatening the people who elected you, behaving as though the people have no right to speak against those actions which cause them concern, these are the main reasons for my dissatisfaction. AND CORRUPTION Alvin, out of control CORRUPTION! And the determination that the integrity legislation which they promised to enact is now conveniently unnecessary. Then of course there is CAHILL which all Bajans with half a brain were against. But your “brainiacs” in government were adamant that we would have “a fight on our hands to stop it.” That is until the situation with the technology unfolded just the way we said it would saving our collective asses.

I want you to remember, Alvin, that I voted DLP from 1981 until now. Why would I change now for no reason? And why despite my “diatribe” am I unwilling to vote Bee?

Why? Because I am not satisfied with what IS when I know there is better that can be done. Being caught between a rock and a hard place, between the devil and the deep blue sea, having to choose between the frying pan and the fire is not MY IDEA of success!

And when they are enjoying their expensive fireworks I would want them to remember the man who made them popular around here. Mr. GUY FAWKES!

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As the Bushman said….Alvin is an idiot.

Speak to people who marched in 91′ re DLP fck up and they will tell you it took them 2 years under BLP times of plenty, to get back their money….Alvin still dont get that it’s no longer about party affiliations and yardfolwism and sucking up tp politicians. …that’s all he and AC knows.

The intelligent electorate has moved beyond that and to a higher level of consciousness that neither Alvin, AC, yardfowls of both political parties nor their politicals masters can reach or understand…this is what happens when idiots listen to politicians and not their inner spiritual intelligent voice..

In talking to some bajans this morning….they definitely know what time it is and that is as it should be.

38. @Donna,
    I will not question your decision to change your political allegiance, because of your perception of wrongdoing. That is your decision and I respect you for it. I am much older than you, and I know that everything takes time. Solutions always take time for implementing, especially political decisions and solutions. I am a patient person and am prepARED TO WAIT.
    You said:
    ” I would want them to remember the man who made them popular around here. Mr. GUY FAWKES!” Guy Fawkes was a person who had a beef against the British Parliament and endeavoured to blow up the houses of Parliament. When we celebrated Guy Fawkes day, in the past, it was a holdover from the Colonial days. It was abolished at that time and instead the celebration was for the attainment of Independence.
    All national celebrations; in whichever country, is accompanied by fireworks. American Independence, Canada Day are always accompanied by Fireworks. I see nothing wrong with the government celebrating the 50th year of Independence with Fireworks. Don’t you think there should be celebrations? What form should they take?

39. @Piece;

I DID visit the place day before yesterday. I never said the photo was fraudulent.
    I said it was not as it appears. These were my exact words: “The portrayal in the video are not as it appears to be; abuse.”. Not only did I visit the home, I spoke with the owner. The case is now sub judicae,> I will say that the acts of the nurse helper were more a case of insensitivity to the appearance, than cruelty and abuse. I met the young lady when I first visited the home and have spoken to them (She and some of the other helpers) a number of times prior to this incident and never felt they did not have the interests of the patients at heart. I won’t discuss this further, but I KNOW.
    And Piece, I am never judgemental (like you) and rush to endorse others’ opinions without examination and verification of the facts. That is why a lot of people may not like me. I don’t jump on bandwagons, especially ones which are moving, and just for the sake of jumping on one.
    One can get hurt that way.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/xntl300q4v0

Trinidad has changed it’s age of sexual consent to 18…it’s only in Barbados no constitutional changes or amendments can be made….says the idiots.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Now the Act also seeks to put into effect certain obligations which are listed into convention regarding the rights of the child. That convention would have established international standards for treatment of children and Trinidad and Tobago would have ratified to those standards in the early 90s. So in layman’s terms, the Act is putting into effect what we agreed to in this convention,” she explained.”

Chapman noted that one of the key changes was increasing the age of the definition of a child because this would have been one of the international standards that this country agreed to.”

And am sure as these are international conventions and standards….Barbados also signed on to them.

42. @Alvin

Are you serious ? How can anyone, especially an octogenarian like you not see abuse on the video?

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin does not see politicians stealing from taxpayers..he does not think that is stealing or corruption, he does not see the thiefing speaker of the house Michael Carrington stealing from a wheelchair bound octogenarian who was his client…to Alvin that is not stealing, he does not see Leroy Parris stealing Clico policyholders money..to Alvin that is not stealing, he does not see the Cahill scam since he was endorsing it with everything in him, he could not see the danger to Bajans…over 2 million people worldwide saw the video and labeled it elder abuse. The owner of the nursing home labeled it abuse.

Given Alvin’s track record of not caring for his own people and consistently pimping for and behind politicians. ..is anyone really surprised.

44. Colonel Buggy Avatar

The Parish of St Philip, birth place of the Prime Minister, Home to (at least one of )the Attorney-General, the Minister of Transport, the Minister of Agriculture and Water Resources, the Minister of Finance, Hoodies ,etc…and Dodds Prisons .
    Only one hundred and fifty something days before our 50 th anniversary independence celebrations.
    http://i.imgur.com/XPeCXIi.jpg?1

45. Colonel Buggy Avatar

And not a rock stone throw away from Government House
    http://i.imgur.com/o1n2oB7.jpg?2

46. @ Colonel Buggy,

What is the solution to the littering problem in Barbados?

47. Gosh, Alvin,

Telling a patient you are going to burst their ass is not abuse? You spoke to the ladies? And from that you can determine what? But Alvin, I know the ‘caretaker’ and her mother and now I’m shocked on seeing the name of the cook to realize that I know her also. (The video was not clear.) Known both girls from their childhood. But the evidence of my eyes and ears cannot be ignored.

You are at least consistent in your cockeyed perspective. That is the most that can be said for you.

48. Silly Alvin,

You think I don’t know who Guy Fawkes was, what he did, where he did it and why? That was exactly the point. Did you say you used to be smart many years ago?

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Obviously Alvin never heard about verbal abuse, I suppose he thinks rape is being loving and caring, since beating is not abuse.

50. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Exclaimer May 20, 2016 at 6:44 PM #

One of the major causes leading to indiscriminate dumping and pile up of garbage.
    http://i.imgur.com/FXU6A7N.jpg?1