An interesting and provocative editorial found in The BarbadosAdvocate 29.04.2016.

black-and-white“If you open that Pandora’s box, you never know what Trojan ‘orses will jump out…” –Ernest Bevin (1949)

While Barbados does not proclaim it as poetically as Trinidad & Tobago’s national anthem does, our constitutional ethos implies that here also “every creed and race finds an equal place”. However, there are many Barbadians who, for one reason or another, will justifiably question whether this tenet obtains in practice as opposed to subsisting merely in theory.

As witness recently when there were objections to the description of Barbados as the freest black nation on earth: where the voiced disagreement, surprisingly, was not over the comparative degree of freedom enjoyed locally, but rather over the shade ascribed to the nation. It has ever been thus. Local discussions pertaining to race and colour have always been fraught with tension; a reality owed as much to the sensitive nature of the issue as to the difficulty of determining, among our blackish and whitish citizens, who fits (or should fit) precisely where.

The Ambassador to CARICOM, His Excellency Robert “Bobby” Morris may therefore inadvertently have opened a hornet’s nest with his recent call for an apology by the “descendants of white Barbadian slave owners” to the local “descendants of slaves”’; a vicarious mea culpa that, he counsels, should be accepted by the offerees.

First, Mr Morris, who we have no doubt is well meaning and conciliatory in his call, may have miscalculated the degree of miscegenation that would have occurred in a small concentrated slave society, so that neither his categorization of blackish Barbadians as the descendants of slaves, nor, indeed that of whitish Barbadians as the descendants of white Barbadian slave owners is entirely accurate even at a superficial level.

And it would not be incorrect to assert that the blackish Barbadian, more so than his or her white counterpart, tends to regards this racial mixing as a badge of pride. One expects therefore that some of these individuals would take umbrage at being categorized simply as a member of one category merely by virtue of their current outward appearance. More over, there are many Barbadians, both blackish and whitish, who appear to be frankly bored with any discussion about slavery and who consider that it is high time that we move on with the current global arrangements.

This is not to say that the whitish individuals among us might not have benefited from being thus complected, although we also consider that this phenomenon might have been owed rather to overarching societal norms that place a higher value on the degree of absence of melanin and proceed to confer commercial and social benefits accordingly.

It may be for these reasons that Mr Morris’s call has failed to attract much popular support. Indeed, one prominent local blackish businessman in a letter to the Barbados Advocate earlier this week reminded, “nobody owes us a living. It’s a brave new world…”

They may also account for the similarly lukewarm reception that has greeted the call for reparations for slavery to be paid by European nations to regional countries and their inhabitants. It has always puzzled us how the individual beneficiaries of these reparations should be identified. Will there be a requirement to trace one’s lineage back to an identifiable slave? Or will entitlement be based simply on current phenotype, disregarding the happenstance of any historical irregularity in the bloodline?

The truth is that while there may be a substantial degree of moral justification for an apology and reparations, the years since the dark night of slavery have fundamentally altered the stark racial divisions that then prevailed. To base current events on this same division seems to us unjustified.

570 responses to “Of Apologies and Compensation”

1. Bushie,

I will give as much personal information as needed to illustrate my point. You got a whacker. I got my stories. Deal with it.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John May 2, 2016 at 3:56 PM
    “Instead of moping about being miserable looking for a handout give thanks and praise and try to understand how God’s Hand freed your ancestors.”

Now how “God” get into the debate?
    Your ‘God’ had every responsibility for freeing the slaves since he, she or it allowed them to be enslaved in the first place. If your god was that loving of blacks he, she or it should have created a Damascene event for the first European that set foot in Africa trying to ‘buy’ slaves.

How do you explain your God allowing the white slave owners to benefit financially from the abolition of slavery? How come the sins of the fathers (white slave owners) have not visited the third and fourth generation of their descendants?

BTW, you have not yet said whether that 12 million figure (either Beckles’s or the BBC’s) include those thrown overboard for whatever reason. In other words, does that figure represent FOB at point of loading or offloading the cargo?

As I told you before, the mere fact the white slave owners were compensated for the loss of their ‘property, (with their descendants still benefiting there from) so too should the descendants of those whose blood, sweat and tears were extracted by force.

The question to be debated is in what way must that compensation (reparations) be met by the modern beneficiaries of that ‘dark’ period in the black and white relationship.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John..short answer, are all Germans Nazis……that should answer both your questions.

The Bushes are in a class by themselves, so are the buckingham palace crowd, not to be trusted or respected, but stupid people still do, they are not people I would want leading me, my family or future generations and they have had generations to perfect hatred, racism and discrimination against others…like I said, in a class all by themselves.

Trump is also in a lower class than the above mentioned but the same applies, since he is not a quarter as wealthy as he says, just another fraud and windbag, no one of great consequences and no one I would want to emulate…but dangerous just the same.

That is our downfall, we look up to emulate and respect those who are not worth it, to our own detriment. Despite what these same blood, flesh and bone people think, while thinking so highly of themselves and the idiots who think too highly of them, they are nothing more than people.

No matter how many pretentious titles they adorn themselves with, to fool the most weak and stupid in the socities….they are just people, they have to stoop to shit, just like the other 7 billion people on earth.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And John…there were 180 million blacks taken as slaves out of Africa over centuries, well documented, easy to check, anyone can…you can check yourself.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“The ruins of the Commonwealth are a warning for all would-be empire builders. Remember Ozymandias, “king of kings: Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!”

The Nigerian historian said it best Exclaimer, why do you think they call the UK….Old Blightey..lol

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller..I cant remember the name of the little shithound dude in the UK, I think he is connected to the education system, might be the head, but the turd wanted to rewrite history and claim there was no slave trade, but an apprenticeship system, the brutality, the nerve of these savage animals and 2 legged beasts…trying to rewrite history in this day and age.

Some other white wild animal in Texas was also trying to do the same thing, they been trying to fudge the numbers of slaves for decades, but their ancestors were boastful of their savagery against others, documented everything and made it available, they took pride in being savages and using their documentation to intimidate, but times have changed, another era kicked in.

John…what god what, ya coming with the same damn old story, his-tory, it cannot fly in 2016..3016…or…4016…the jig is up.

7. BTW, you have not yet said whether that 12 million figure (either Beckles’s or the BBC’s) include those thrown overboard for whatever reason. In other words, does that figure represent FOB at point of loading or offloading the cargo?

Sir Hilary would have erred on the side of overstatement so you can depend the 5.5 million is on the high side and comprehends everything!!

The BBC bases its figures on ship manifests so I reckon their 12.5 million overall is reasonably accurate.

One great thing about academia, the experts take delight in getting it as right as they can because they know other experts are chomping at the bit to correct them.

… that’s how names are made in academia!!

The 180 million …. well, it gets wilder and wilder unless of course you go back to Biblical days to start counting!!

8. LOL
    …trying to rewrite history in this day and age.
    Why wunna don’t leave John nuh!!
    Obviously he is working on the local rewrite… He and Watson would have succeeded too…
    …arriving at the Quakers as the superheroes coming to the rescue of the poor blacks…
    That is …but for the gorillaphant called ‘Sir Cave..’

Bushie keep telling wunna that as a history manipulator (historian), Sir Cave has no equal. After hearing the man pontificate on local history (before his Mutual days), bushie had him in a Farrakhan class…
    Which is probably why Bushie is so pissed at his ‘mis-impact’ in tertiary education at the Hill, where he concentrated instead on empire and career building…..aided and abetted by no less allies than COW, Sagicor and the original albino suspects….
    Steupsss…

Seems that yuh can’t trust a boy to be true to the cause ..and to fart on the albino-centric distractions.

Wunna have any idea how many GOOD people have been destroyed by albino-centricity…?
    ALL DAMN ACs ARE DISTRACTIONS… best ignored and used purely for light entertainment…
    Especially the BU pest 🙂

9. Think of the times slavery has been challenged and beaten.

I put forward twice, Moses and then the few white people about 180 years ago.

I don’t think God’s Hand can be disputed in the case of Moses after all we only know of the story from the Bible.

Didn’t you know that William Wilberforce was an evangelical Christian?

You should read how God used him in the fight against the slave trade and finally slavery itself.

Did you know that he was against the abolition of slavery?

Again, you should read how God used his people to get the job done and brought Wilberforce onto His team.

Then we can discuss!!

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna no fight with you whatever. As I said I find your rhetoric mind-blowing (good and bad). I also find that we (all of us here) can get a tad thin-skinned from benign and (from me anyhow) well meaning comments …. Generally so not referring specifically to your response above.

Because of net identity issues and all that goes with that I am wary of too much personal info so my remark was based on that concern first and foremost. I think we all appreciate the ability of a well tuned anecdote to illustrate and amplify a broader issue.

Look, we go through this BS personal folly continually on BU so come to grips with the fact that an individual will only share a thought on a blogger’s style because they enjoy or appreciate their commentary …. Is that too much play, play psychologist for yah!

Now after all this time you must understand that Bush Tea is an instigator, a seer, a devil advocate, a thought leader et al….

And good heavens you surely must doubly know that I have called the gentleman a misogynist (deservedly so), a superb dissembler (of the Dr. Goebbles caliber) and a man who loves to mek sport pon de blog with often the same diatribe dressed in different words….and he in turn has called me a few choice words.

But the man is absolutely acutely perceptive when he wants to be. He is sharp. So I give him his due when deserved. What is so difficult about that!

That is the nature of blogging, Donna. Agreement on the up…wash way in subject matter cuss on the downside.

So yes there is a lot of ‘bovine excrement’ but a lot of first rate tenderloin, too… With a brew of Bush Tea; sometimes bitter other times smooth, to wash it all down.

Let’s all enjoy the steaks from this BU cow and not have a cow!

11. Well Well & Consequences May 2, 2016 at 5:19 PM #

And John…there were 180 million blacks taken as slaves out of Africa over centuries, well documented, easy to check, anyone can…you can check yourself.

Check the estimates of the world population over time.

My guess is 180 million is way out of proportion to the overall estimates of world population.

I guess if you count the Israelites that Moses took out of Africa … but you can’t because they were being emancipated from slavery

12. John,
    U can’t suggest that Africans owned Israelite slaves, dont u know that Slavery is only a White condition!

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John…you know as soon as you start in on the bible, I am running for the hills..lol

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Looka some days de ole man doan be so good, and dis was a week of them.

But let we do something heah bout this ownership of the blog foolishness dat seeming tuh raise it ugly head heah time and time again.

Donna, we dun ben through this shyte already when you first came here!!

I remember this foolishness well while you sought to recalibrate the order of this pecking kingdom where there were sages and men and women to be respected, irrespective of the grammar used, they were just profound.

Then there were seekers, people who genuinely came to read and, AND, essayed to blog and either were hardened by the fire of this blog, or carried their famous Duguid term home.

They they were those humble people like me who, feasted at the feet of the masters and pundits, the luminaries, the straight to the people, seeking to graft osmotically, rather parasitically, the wisdom of these giants.

That category of nincompoop i number first among, the gleaners who, once armed with information here, rush to the church, (of which you are a congreant() and there try to mek myself sound big while quoting rules and Regulations that Caswell provided or Laws that the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch (said while clasping palms and bowing head) while mekking it seeem like ef i know sumting.

But Donna, you are in a class all by yourself. One which cal only be called “Alzheimer’s Recall, you did this “recalibration” already!! And here you are in 2016 doing it again. I sat here these many days and watched you do the very same thing with Pedantic.

It is like if you got this thing bout men who assertive, seriously!! go back and look at your remarks. Wow. Incroyable!!

I am going to ask the blogmaster to give all here the link where we went through this SAME FREAKING EXERCISE, when you forst started blogging here, so that we can see your comments for the same week period, of you asserting who you were, your son, your spiritual path, your whuloss, YOUR, YOUR , YOUR, Lord Jesus, I thought that when Jesus comes into your life the ID leaves us??

AT ANY RATE, AFTER THAT TEETHING TIME BUSHIE (THE SAME BUSHIE DAT YOU PUN AGAIN) GAVE YOU A PASS because we thought you to be a genuine Christian girl!!

I remember dat de fellahs even said dat we ent gine cuss when you blogging heah cause you is a Christian girl and ting.

Now you gone back pun the same shy**e getting your panties in a knot bout “so called christian” and all that blarney which, DPD is soft stepping around, but frankly Donna, you are returning to the vomit of Codrington College tooo frequently.

You need to let that go cause while the rest gine soft step bout you, I’ll be you Huckleberry

You were given your pass when you shared that “as a sinner who, having sinned, and would, not being perfect, still sin,” said that “you do not want to sin anymore”,

We got that.

Let that recalibration styling go.

@ AC

I am confused by your postings.

50% of the time you post common sense like if you only gave the idiot Irene half the password.

It is disturbing me because I find myself clicking on what you posted more regularly and then you surprise me BOTH WAYS. As long as it is an apolitical topic you speak sense, though you incredibly can still make a shooting in the US about Fumbles policies

@ Simple

When 11 o’clock come pun a night and you posting about ONE SINGLE TOPIC DONT go through the topic and respond to each body in a separate thread cause when de morning come only you name does be in de “recent Comment” a kerzillion times.

Blog protocol suggest that bloggers should condense all remarks on a topic. to one post, not 25 single lines to each person in the blog.

I will now expect that, in the mechanism of how a homing missile zooms in on its target my comments, like the “x” of a target, will bring an onslaught of remarks.

What is this blog’s topic again?

Ohhhhh, ammmm when wunna dun cuss me cud wunna be so kind as to comment on something

As opposed to Bizzy and Cow and de other bukkra Johnies apologizing, i referring to all de Bajan Whites who refuse to take a DNA test lest fellers like Karl Watson de udder fellahs find out dat dem great great great grandpa and Sir Kyffin Grandpa was in fact Oloyoye from Ashanti) I was wondering if instead of empty apologies whether Sir Cave who got a white man nose, I was wondering if wunna got any thoughts about hime suggesting to Sir Kfyin with a small group of sharp ass black boys/girls and axeing Sir Kyffin for $5m cash for a special purpose Heritage Endowment fund which would see 25 proposals from 25 black menses and wummens being funded with the caveat that they must generate $5M!!

Sir Kyffin MUST HAVE HIS PEOPLE vet the proposal so that Sir Hilary ent skimming tuh pay UWI lecturer fees and ting.

I past this ting bout apologies and “compensation” doah so I want tuh hear wuh wunna tink bout something that is not another group of CARICOM citizens doing their begging exercises

15. @ De Dribbler
    “….and he in turn has called me a few choice words.”
    LOL….Nothing worse than lukewarm…
    …although Bushie was tempted to ‘do the dog’ the other day when, left a few measly runs to knock off, you leggo two big swipes and quickly retired to the bar…

@ John
    Do you have ANY idea how insulting and condescending it comes across? ..your ridiculous nitpicking about exactly how many millions of blacks were enslaved, murdered, raped, whipped, lynched, forced laboured, and exploited by persons of your ilk, FOR FOUR CENTURIES?
    Do you realise that most other whites just shut their donkeys …out of shame…?

Have you ANY idea of the kinds of emotions that flow through a young black man when details of what people like you, did to people like him ….for FOUR HUNDRED YEARS?

Instead of persisting with these shiite theses of yours about how ‘white people ain’t so bad after all’ and how Blacks were ‘bad too’ …why don’t you meet Sir Cave face to face on the subject … and see if he don’t eat your red ass raw?

Even coming out of multiple generations of slavery, once blacks held the power to do as they liked .. can you give ANY example of revenge being taken… Or of the ‘bad blacks’ exacting their due…

Shiite man … your ilk are now RICHER that they were as enslavers… mainly because Blacks DO NOT generally worship the shiite money to the same euphoric extent that your kind does…(a level of brass bowlery, …but it is complicated)

This trend is not unique to Barbados either… even South Africa, with its ‘Truth commission’ demonstrated a level of humanity and forgiveness that is UNHEARD of in the white world…
    …while many of your local family ran off to Australia and Canada in misguided anticipation that Barrow would have been acting as they would in his place….

It REALLY is about time you took your shiite talk elsewhere… again…

16. Bushie, are U telling me John is white? I thought he was a black gent.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB….you playing you dont know that John is a white dude, just like yourself, not that I mind I dont discriminate and not a racist bone in my body.

He does try to balance things, except for when he tries to justify white wickedness, so I would see where you would get confused…lol.

But John should also know the history of after whites were enslaved by the Arabs, he left out great amounts of information, how they positioned themselves to be bombing them in retaliation to this day.

John should also take note, that all the murderous things his ancestors did to blacks during and after slavery, I am talking about the indentured servants and their descendants, they are not only allowed by the majority blacks to live in peace on the island, but by the greedy, corrupt politicians to continue to enrich themselves, riches they dont deserve.

So John….tell me, who do you think should be thanking your god.

Feel better….. Piece.

18. Pieces,

You could be as hard or as soft as you want because you just proved my point. Here on BU it is all about the pecking order! No different from the politicians and the others you criticize. If you had to form the government most of us (especially women) would have our opinions ignored. Don’t have a hope of changing that, not even trying, but just thought I’d be a gadfly and point it out.

And no I do not have problems with assertive men. But Bushie has a problem with women. He doesn’t even think most of us are worth arguing with. He also has a problem with women in leadership positions. But I guess since it is Bushie I should not answer to that. After all it is his kingdom. But here he is berating whitey for racism while exulting in his own SEXISM! “Do you understand how insulting and condescending it comes across….”

The link you need is the one to your own brain.

As for the Circular Dribbler, he quoted me the Desiderata that all people need to be heard because everybody has a story. Even Bushie! Not realizing that Bushie had just said that Brass Bowls of which most people are the majority have nothing to offer and should not therefore be listened to. My argument was that everybody deserves a voice because sometimes they have one pearl of wisdom and if we don’t listen we will miss it.

And he also wants to stop me from telling my story. I use stories from my life to illustrate my points. If you check you will see that they are all relevant to my main point. Therefore it is really not about me but is just my way of substantiating my position.

Please forgive me! I thought that this was a forum for the people. I did not know it was a closed cabinet meeting with Bushie as Prime Minister. So much for your lofty ideals, David!

19. Please do not attack me further. It will only prolong the focus on me which really was never my intention. If I wanted attention I would take selfies and post on instagram and facebook.

20. Sorry Dribbler,

Just caught your last comment. All good!

21. Now John, it is my worthless opinion that Bushie is correct. Just recently I allowed MY SON a glimpse into what slavery really entailed and it profoundly affected him until he nearly burst a blood vessel. Just like he feels every blow meted out to Jesus in the Crucifixion and cannot bear to watch, he winced as though every blow that fell on that black man’s back was actually on his own. I had to remind him of his white friend who lives next door to bring him back to sanity.

Hey Dribbler, was my story an illustration substantiating the point or was it all about me?

22. Donna @7.04am

Sweeeett lashes delivered!!!

These fellas forget that we were encouraged to always give relevant examples at good schools.

23. WW,
    I went to school with John, but given his former info there was confusion because there were 2 John’s in his year, both somewhat devout Christians, but he did say he was of Slave ancestry ( could be just a flick of the tar brush). It does not matter to me as I know both of them are excellent well meaning humans, highly educated and kind. If most Bajans were like them we would be a better Nation.

24. Donna,
    I trust U will also tell him of the African vagabonds that Damage many Nation’s people in the Cbean and Africa. Full true and plain disclosure!

It did not hurt me that my first close black friends were my neighbours from age 4.

25. MoneyBrain,

He hears me cuss them daily. It hurts even more when it is your own people.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The name is insignificant, the idiosyncrasies, which we all have, are also insignificant.

We are engaged in a discussion which always elicits the raw emotions that are well entrenched in us all and which talking about, however voluminously, does not seem to move one hair’s width.

I have found that men like Sir Hilary and our Ambassador, both of whom possess sonorous voices, equivalent to the Sirens of Homer’s Odyssey, have lived by the atavistic instinct of emotive topics which, as you would well appreciate, emote responses among one’s audience or anger, fear, hatred AND, if we are talking about Bajans, static “brassbowlery”

If tomorrow comes and zika, a tsunami or some catastrophic happening were to arrive, one which we knew of today, and knew the solution for today, I put it to you Donna that, we Bajans would do nothing about it today.

This, as simplistic as that statement might seem, sums up what Bush Tea, Georgie Porgie, and other seeming “doom and gloom” chanters say here regarding the Bajan psyche.

We are caught in a time tunnel of “so it was in our past, so it is now, Selah” to use the term which you so regularly would have read in the Bible that we Bajans “hold so dear”

We who come here, including you, are among the few who have “the balls” to voice our opinions.

Some come because it is a place to sharpen their wit for their political careers soon to begin, some come to sound off purely because we think we are “bright”, some come because even though we are not “bright” we believe that we are bring, and a few come because we genuinely believe, contrary to all that we see, that it is possible to make a difference, while we have ministers like Patrick Todd and similarly intellectually challenged leaders.

What we do here is not a “singular undertaking” Donna, all over the face of the world people are standing up for their rights and “rebelling” in words and in deeds.

We all have issues where, unbeknownst to you, people poisioning your guard dogs and monitoring your house and all the rest of it, BUT does that stop us Donna?

NO. cause you done know that we are caterpillar food, but it does not make you break off from “fighting the good fight with all your might” for if you do that we could as well import an AK 47 have them dropped offshore in a waterproof container with a self powered transponder for retrieval by the local Unofficial “constabulary”.

Joh, Money Brain, Sir Hilary, Ambassador Morris, you, me we all have our perspective and our objectives but as it relates to “apologies” and “compensation”, the reality of that is if tomorrow an apology was made by John, Kyffin, COW and Bizzy and all the whites in Barbados signed it, like Bushie intimates, nay, specifically details, IT WOULD NOT MEAN ANYTHING TO THE 95% of us here on the island, NOTHING.

As to “compensation” even if (i) you were to calculate what was due (ii) find a party which was legally/morally responsible to pay it (iii) find a mechanism to determine what each person with “nigger DNA” (including COW, Kyffin and John) was entitled to that compensation even if you did all of that, I put it to you that the system in which we Bajans live would place such compensation back into the hands of the “HAVES” within a year.

What is the purpose of compensation when those to be compensated HAVE NOT ONE IOTA OF UNDERSTANDING REGARDING HOW TO APPLY THAT COMPENSATION?

Are you feeling me Donna? In the abundance of water the fool is thirsty

We have a serious problem across the entire spectrum of social, economic, political and certainly spiritual endeavour.

You are too bright a woman, and one who is too committed to Our Lord, to get tied up in the courtship talk.

I have seen Bushie defer to many females here based on one single rule of thumb “if you talking sense, the Bushman is going to listen” if you doing the bipolar, PMS stuff, of the male menopause, small dogie shy*te that many of us males are driven by, Bushie does put his wacker pun that too.

We are not the enemy Donna, reapply yourself to the solutions part of this matter so that after we talk here we can put them into action, or having put them into action and seen them work, we can talk here and share it, try to improve it but certainly not let the Brassbowlery that abounds around us, overcome us.

27. Sometimes you guys, just like everybody else, need to step back and look at what you have morphed into. Humans have a tendency to need a gadfly up their nose to disturb them. I am that annoying gadfly.

28. @Donna

Make your points, all perspectives are welcomed by the BU household.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB…. got it, I can tell he is good at heart.

30. Thank you, David.

31. MoneyBrain May 3, 2016 at 8:47 AM #

WW,
    I went to school with John, but given his former info there was confusion because there were 2 John’s in his year, both somewhat devout Christians, but he did say he was of Slave ancestry ( could be just a flick of the tar brush). It does not matter to me as I know both of them are excellent well meaning humans, highly educated and kind. If most Bajans were like them we would be a better Nation.

I am de fellah you bowled first ball swiping at an off break on the big field … I think it was in first form!!

The other John was a bad boy until probably fourth form. He planted a rotten breadfruit in my back in second form and got the whole form put in detention in 3.1 by “Socks” Ashby because he would not own up to a minor transgression.

… and then one day he confessed all his sins and received forgiveness from God.

After he got his soul saved he went and apologized to Tank for giving him so much trouble and broke down crying.

He told my sister so years ago.

He was a mover in the ISCF.

I never attained these heights.

I always believed in God but the older I get the more I realize and give thanks for the gift of Grace given me by Him.

At school I don’t think I did anything to make anybody believe I was a devout Christian.

I excelled at book work, got a scholarship or three to prove it but so what.

32. So MB, lets use the example of the other John to illustrate how utterly ridiculous the call for reparations is.

John got his soul saved.

God forgave him all his sins, major and minor, …. even planting the rotten breadfruit in my back in 2.1 when John should have known the Golden Rule … do unto others as you would have others do unto you.

John recognized he had done wrongs to Tank and went and apologized.

He could do that because both he and Tank were alive and in his eyes, the wrong was real and needed righting.

Planting a rotten breadfruit in my back was a trivial wrong, except it violated the Golden Rule …. in any case I saw enough of John after his redemption to realize he was a changed person and I rejoiced at the change not only.

I could have insisted that he apologise to me for doing the deed but how could I knowing that God had forgiven all of his sins, including the breadfruit thing … breach of the Golden Rule!!

It would be like saying God’s forgiveness is not perfect in my eyes.

Now, fast forward a couple of generations.

Suppose I had offspring or got offspring in my old age.

Would my descendants be able to go to John’s descendants and ask for reparations because he planted a rotten breadfruit in my back?

Of course not …. it would be flying in the face of God!!

The persons calling for reparations have entirely missed the message of the Gospel.

All of the former slave owners have long gone, most if not all of them have received God’s unimaginable gift of Grace.

33. … unfortunately, God’s gift of Grace is unimaginable, and the more highly educated you are the harder it is to imagine it. far less accept it although it is free.

34. New day, …new roll of jobby from John….

A classmate hitting you in the back with a SOFT breadfruit can be compared with GENERATIONS of white people systematically enslaving, exploiting, torturing, humiliating and murdering blacks…?
    What the hell is wrong with you skippa?

The damn fellow was probably just trying to knock some sense into your head …and missed.
    What the hell!!

…and what golden rule what?!!?
    The one that says ‘He who has the gold, makes the rules’?

Boss, Bushie DO NOT WANT any apology from you either….

However, if the Bushman was of albino stock, such apology ..and indeed REPENTANCE, would be TOP PRIORITY. In fact, like Naaman, Bushie would find some prophet of God and ask…. nay… BEG …to be delivered of the genetic malady that could have enabled multiple GENERATIONS of my ancestors to have exhibited such barbaric characteristics.

Instead, you on here talking more shiite about soft breadfruit….

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…..I wonder if slave owners and their descendants past and present ever ask god for forgiveness, also the present day thieves in Barbados now disenfranching a whole island while pretending superiority and self aggrandizement ever ask god forgiveness for their daily lies, fraud and stealing.

36. Religion like it turn John foolish!

37. I am indeed flabbergasted!

38. The point is that God has forgiven most if not all of the former slave owners long long ago.

Why would anybody want to waste their time second guessing Him?

The lesson of the soft breadfruit is perfectly true and valid, but it is inserted merely to be a red herring!!

It achieved its intended result!!

39. ….. and coming soon …….!!

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So John…exactly how did your god forgive slave owners and their descendants, was it by giving them knowledge to come up with new scams and the ability to steal more…refine slavery and exploit more millions of people, is that what you would call blessings and forgiveness for being criminals.

And what about the people being exploited by descendants of slave owners, are they being blessed with exploitation and the patience to endure it, what is their role.

Are you listening to yourself, this has nothing to do with your god, this is about the strong exploiting the weak through centuries of orchestrated, resident evil….got it.

You sound like a mad man…lol

41. The thing about John is that …apart from this particular topic, he is lucid, well informed, logical and a pleasure to tussle with…
    The man knows about water, science, geography…. you name it…
    But then he always falls back to this theme of how blessed black people are …that those wonderful whites – especially the Quakers…. sent of course by God…. freed us from that wicked slavery thingie – which by the way – was equally caused by blacks….

Look…
    Man David, in John’s own interest – can you moderate him whenever he mentions words like ‘race’ , ‘slavery’, ‘reparations’, ‘Africa’ etc…? LOL
    As an added bonus, Bushie promises to behave…… 🙂

@ John
    What the hell!!!
    You tossing red herrings at Bushie…?
    Fail!!!
    Put some yams wid dat and Bushie in heaven Boss….

42. Well Well & Consequences May 4, 2016 at 4:54 PM #

So John…exactly how did your god forgive slave owners and their descendants

Go check the Bible!!

43. … or if you don’t like reading a book, just google it!!

44. @MB & John
    I am here hurting my head to figure out the Johns. I recall a JR (not Ewing) and a JG.
    @PUDRYR
    “I’m your Huckleberry”. Favorite quote from one of my favorite movies.
    @Donna
    Roar like a lion.

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Re “I excelled at book work, got a scholarship or three to prove it but so what.” Wow. How complex is this thing called humanity. You @John here as a humble opinion-giver who just happens to be a Bim scholar. With your words indicating that the older you became the more you have embraced a tone of grace.

There are others here who delve deeper in understanding God’s word, the eschatology of it all, yet are so full of hubris and invective despite their supposed depth. Always interesting on BU.

On this matter of God, slave owners, redemption and reparations I have to ‘chuckle’ like blogger Vincent. Clearly one can invoke the grace and forgiving embrace of God in all instances so how can one dispute your argument.

I compare it to the Messr Cruz Sr and Mr Kasich. The former invoked the might and power of the Lord to implore voters that his son was the good son deserving of their votes…despite his scheming, his lack of truthfulness and other clear foibles.

Mr Kasich deemed that his presidential run was ordained and directed by the Lord and as he bowed out he noted that he will continue to be guided on next steps by the Almighty.

All good and acceptable really as how can one fault their ‘faith’.

Just waiting now for Trump to have his epiphany and affirm that his entire journey for the Presidency has been guided by Melania’s conviction fueled by God’s will.

Maybe Clinton will seek an audience with the Pope, too,

46. Just waiting now for Trump to have his epiphany and affirm that his entire journey for the Presidency has been guided by Melania’s conviction fueled by God’s will.

You will not get it!!

Trump believes in an eye for an eye and considers himself a good Christian ….. I’ve never heard any Christian describe themselves as being good!!

Still, if I could I would vote for him on what I have seen so far!!

…. now I come to think of it there was a third John in the form I was in …. one of a twin!!

If I had to think about the three Johns I would have to say the other John more clearly demonstrated what I think it means to be a Christian of the three Johns I remember, myself ….. and the one of a twin …… included!!

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John May 4, 2016 at 4:29 PM #
    “The point is that God has forgiven most if not all of the former slave owners long long ago.
    Why would anybody want to waste their time second guessing Him?”

So Disciple John, your white male god (He) not only forgave the white slave masters but also allowed them to walk away with millions of pounds sterling in compensation.
    What a wonderful god he must be.
    So what did He give to the black slaves? The right to learn to read the Bible?

When you die and go to your paradise in the sky would you be seeing those black slaves who toiled for their white masters still making and serving milk and honey to the born again Christian white angels.

Just for the record John, please tell us if the descendants of the former slave owners reincarnated as white supremacists- and who practised apartheid (segregation) even late into the 20th Century in some countries- have also been forgiven by your god and can be expected to sing in the same heavenly choir with blacks while drinking from the same golden cup of racial equality.

48. I still thing the show down in the Good the Bad and the Ugly trumps all show down scenes in Westerns!!

No words are spoken!!

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John….sorry, you got a real long wait if you think I will waste my precious time with dumb shit like that…lol