Submitted by Beresford
 Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader

Barbados is now in its most absurd position, of having to pay a much greater price for the garbage out of the mouth of its Prime Minister and DLP government than dealing with the literal garbage that is a plague on the nation.

At the bullseye of the economic disaster everyone and his mother has warned about with yet another downgrade, the words of Stuart, Sinckler, the Governor of the Central Bank and the apologists for incompetence and financial mismanagement on a level unimaginable are particularly haunting.

Recall the words of Stuart in June 2014, when Moody’s issued a three-notch downgrade from Ba3 to B3.

In what is now the media’s favourite phrase, in “rubbishing” the stunning lack of confidence in the DLP’s economic management, Stuart declared: “What they say is only relevant if we want to embark on an orgy of foreign borrowing in which people should know how much we should have to borrow, how much our money should cost.

“But if we are not intending in the short or medium term to go to the capital markets to borrow money, what they say has as much value as what you see in any garbage dump collected by the Sanitation Services Authority.”

Incidentally, the funny thing was that at the same time as the Moody’s announcement, Government was about to debate an amendment raising borrowing limit from Bds$1.5 billion to 2.5 billion.

The six plus downgrades from Moody’s, Standard and Poor’s and CARChris has moved Barbados from solid B in 2009 to now Caa1.

With each downgrade, the DLP’s posturing is exposed. Spiralling debt, Central Bank borrowings and the gap between DLP promises and reality are consistently referenced with comments such as “economic fundamentals weak,” “structural shortcomings” “lack of competitiveness” and economic performance “below expectations” and “low growth, high debt, and large fiscal deficit.”

With each, Barbados falls further down the greasy pole in terms of attracting investments while paying higher costs for borrowings and making it much more difficult to borrow internationally. The already excessive terms of the Credit Suisse loan will now attract higher interest payments.

With each, the spectre looms of the dreaded Ds – default and devaluation.

The time bomb is the Government’s behaviour in all of this. Like a spoilt and petulant child who believes it is always right, regardless of the evidence to the contrary, and blames everything and everyone for its illogical actions, including the circumstances of its birth, the DLP steadfastly refuses to accept the facts of fundamental flaws in its mishandling of Barbados.

Previously, we have been treated in this theatre of the bizarre to comments in response from Sinckler et al such as “highly negative conclusions,” “unfair,” “illogical”  “drastic.”

From the matchless Stuart, after the 2014 S&P downgrade and a threat from Sagicor to move its headquarters as its rating and borrowing costs were being affected by Barbados’ downgrades, a declaration of such a move as “not a loss of confidence.”

And this gem, after a warning about possible devaluation in the face of continuing high debt which he dismissed, “this will serve neither as a deterrent nor a discouragement to that small coterie of alarmists who continue to believe in economic witchcraft and are therefore preoccupied with, and intrigued by, this brand of necromancy.”

Of note, too, the latest downgrade, like others before it, comes right after the DLP indulges in one of its regular parades of fantasy – this time after the Estimates.

In that debate, Sinckler, supported by all, maintained the fallacy that the economy is getting better, that projects are on their way, that the reserves are well and the rest of the figments of his fertile imagination.

Clearly, the more in denial of reality the DLP becomes entrench, and the more arrogant its response to the announcements of downgrades, as they rubbish Moody’s and S&P, the more the economic garbage piles up, the more rancid it becomes, the less the DLP’s willingness – not ability, that boat sailed long ago – to deal with it.

There is no covering up the junk of 0.5 per cent growth. In reality, no growth. The fall in the reserves to $500 million despite borrowings and especially lower foreign exchange spending as a result of the lowest oil prices in years. The lack of economic traction despite a rise in tourism arrivals. The 180 per cent to GDP debt ratio. The non-stop printing of money and borrowing from the NIS. No investment to speak of. You must know you have a problem when, for the first time, real estate prices are falling.

Even at this stage, the denials and lashing out continues. Charlie Skeete did say we are not behaving like adults. There has been no squeak from Stuart or Sinckler or Worrell about the latest downgrade. But out trots some faceless DLP yardfowl “official” to speak more rubbish.

Once more, the downgrade is “illogical”. And the only balance sheet the DLP is interested in is “the social balance sheet.”

The social balance sheet that under the DLP is littered with frightening rising poverty. Escalating crime. Rising unemployment. Hopeless youth, the majority of whom have ‘done the right thing’ and left forgotten with one, two and three degrees and many other qualifications. A QEH and health service that is a mess.

The so-called DLP “official” operative resorts to calling our candidate for Christ Church East Central, Ryan Straughn, a “Junior Opposition Spokesman.”

We take the compliment. For the “junior” is a highly respected economist who makes his living on the strength of his performance as a private practitioner and not as a failure merely appointed to a position without qualifications and getting a fat salary; and more pointedly, whose comments now and over the years are in line with Barbados’ reality and not failed projections.

The BLP will take Straughn any day over Sinckler, Jepter Ince, Central Bank Governor Worrell. In fact, over all of the DLP put together.

As for the “typical criticize everything disease plaguing the Opposition” the BLP will remain steadfast in its role to hold the DLP to account for its myriad foolishness and to alert the public to its arrogance and shenanigans.

We are reaffirmed by the gains our resolve have brought to Barbadians whether the abandonment of the solid waste tax or the exposure of Cahill. Most of all, the BLP will remain informed by the harsh, unfortunate reality of Barbados and the truth of our actions.

The failure of another plasma gasification plant may luckily put paid to the rubbish that is Cahill.

Time will also put paid to the rubbish emanating from the mouths of the DLP. Hopefully, Barbados will be more than just junk.

HAPPENING THIS SUNDAY, APRIL  10, 2016

The St Michael Central branch of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) will meet on Sunday, April 10, 2016 to nominate its candidate for the next general election.

Opposition Leader Hon Mia Amor Mottley will be the main speaker at the meeting which starts at 4.30 p.m at the George Lamming Primary School, Flint Hall, St Michael.
UPCOMING BLP EVENTS
⊙     The  Annual Founders’ Day Service will be held on Sunday, April 17, 2016,  at the St Patrick’s Roman Catholic Cathedral,  Jemmotts Lane, Bridgetown at 11.00 a.m.
⊙   Founders’ Day Luncheon at BLP Headquarters on Sunday, April 17, 2016 at 1.00 p.m.  Tickets on sale at $50.00 from BLP Headquarters.
⊙        The BLP’s annual Family Day & Picnic will be held on National Heroes Day, Thursday, April 28, 2016 at Barclays Park, Ermie Bourne Highway, (East Coast Road) St Andrew.   

151 responses to “The Cost to the Country of DLP Garbage”

1. Sir you are propagating a hypothesis using a conclusion of which you are not privilege to be aware rather the MOF did or did not a take into consideration Estwick recommendations You are an agent provocateur releasing asine political bombs without showing evidence towards what You do not Know as the truth
    Be that as it may in lite of having no evidence to support yea or Nay i would give benefit of the doubt to cabinet towards imploring Estwick suggestion concluding by saying since it was a Estwick Proposal he had a right to present evidence to the public supporting your conclusion and to which he has not

2. Smooth Road to the EDGE Avatar
    Smooth Road to the EDGE

Artax
    The conclusion reached in your contribution above are precise and very fitting.
    The people know we are being fiscally guided by a clown for a MOF, an outpatient for a GOCB and a dozer for a PM. What do we expect, miracles?

Barbados is deep underwater and the MOF is telling us not to worry, all the while he is busy buying scuba gear and taking PADI diving classes. STUPSE.

3. Smooth Road to the EDGE Avatar
    Smooth Road to the EDGE

So if Estwick didn’t produce the evidence why the hell did the PM and the Cabinet despatch him to Dubai yesterday to beg for a loan to help Barbados with the foreign exchange account??

4. Why did Sinckler and the government sit on the imf report leading up to the last Budget? To much deception!

On 10 April 2016 at 14:33, Barbados Underground wrote:

5. @ Smooth road if what you say is true then in fact what Artax concludes in his analysis via his conclusion with an attempt to attack MOF and stating that cabinet did not look or engage Estwick propsal is an untruth One should resist the attempt for being analytical in our conclusions without profound evidence
    But then again everything said by the BLP operatives is directed through an alliance of disruptive influence

6. The “economic illiterates” are browsing the halls of BU spewing rhetorical political diatribe, in usual yard-fowl modus operandi.

What nonsense is this about “heavy penalties” and “possibilities of law suits brought against government by these privatized corporations?”

What gibberish is this jackass yard-fowl trying to spew?

The Transport Board, for example, was not privatized, yet as a result of the global economic recession, the Board retrenched and retired several employees, so too was NHC, NCC, the Drainage Unit and Beautify Barbados.

Mark Maloney’s “Adopt a Mile” concept, which has more or less taken over the operations of Beautify Barbados, is an example of privatization.

A section of Barbados’ public transport system is operated by the private sector. In the absence of duty free concessions, subsidies, operating with bus fare below market prices and in the current economic recession, operators of private public service vehicles have been able to maintain their fleet of aging vehicles, employment and provide a reasonably reliable service (in a highly competitive environment) when compared with the public owned Transport Board.

This sector is mainly driven by productivity, whereby the driver and conductor are paid according to their level of productivity. The TB drivers on the other hand are paid a weekly wage.

As Frustrated Businessman correctly opined: “the purpose of gov’t is to legislate, regulate and facilitate, not operate.” Government should formulate the necessary legislation to regulate the transport system in Barbados

The onus is upon government to enact and enforce legislation necessary to curb the unruly driving practices as exhibited by many of the PSV drivers. The government, law enforcement agencies and owners and operators of PSVs must find a solution to these problems.

7. Trouble always seems to bring out this particular AC of the consortium of DLP yard-fowls. My friend, using “big words,” certain phrases or regurgitate what your political masters say to impress upon BU that you knowledgeable about what you write, does not denote a sense of intelligence. It proves beyond reasonable doubt that you are a political yard-fowl jackass.

Thinking rationally and being able to transfer that rationale to paper, is a big challenge for you.

After Estwick made a “power point presentation” of his alternative solutions, did the CABINET of Barbados ACCEPT any of his PROPOSALS? If so, present the evidence to BU.

During his speech at the “Board of Governors’ Forty-Fifth Annual Meeting” held at St. Kitts Marriott Resort on May 20 and 21, 2015, Sinckler mentioned the “BARBADOS HOME GROWN 19 MONTH ADJUSTMENT PROGRAMME,” which commenced in August 2013. He said the adjustment programme formed the first tranche of the four-tiered, eight-year MEDIUM-TERM GROWTH AND DEVELOPMENT STRATEGY [2013 – 2020].

Against the background of criticisms leveled at Barbados’ declining rate of economic growth, high level of debt to GDP ratio, high unemployment to mention a few, Sinckler is on record as saying that government is MAINTAINING its COMMITMENT to the 2013 – 2020 Development Strategy and the Home Grown 19 Month Adjustment Programme.

There isn’t any EVIDENCE to SUGGEST that this DLP administration REVISED the Development Strategy to REFLECT the FACT that SOME or ALL of Estwick’s POLICIES were INCLUDED, since NONE of them were ARTICULATED in the document.

And of course, since this DLP administration has expressed its confidence in the Home Grown 19 Month Adjustment Programme, there isn’t any evidence which would suggest that government REVISED the programme to INCLUDE Estwick’s ALTERNATIVE economic solutions.

Additionally, there isn’t any evidence which would suggest that government FORMULIZED any new economic policy document, which INCLUDED Estwick’s ALTERNATIVE economic solutions.

Perhaps you can point BU in the direction where this information could be perused, lest you RETAKE your TITLE of being “an agent provocateur releasing (asinine) political bombs without showing evidence towards what You do not Know as the truth.”

But as usual, when asked to present evidence, you respond by “saying” you are not going to do such, use a lot of generalized rhetoric, or you “move the goal posts.”

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Smooth Road to the EDGE April 10, 2016 at 10:33 AM
    “ ac So if Estwick didn’t produce the evidence why the hell did the PM and the Cabinet despatch him to Dubai yesterday to beg for a loan to help Barbados with the foreign exchange account??”

You are so smart my intuitively gifted friend! Are you, by way of code, telling us there is a Cabinet reshuffle in the making?

Come on now, the country’s loan negotiation is the province of the substantive MoF the Stinkliar with the mop-stick Guv of the CBB in tow; not that of a lowly Minister of Bush and Drought aka the castrated pit-bull.

Has Stinkliar finally come to his senses and is about to throw in the towel after being faced with the threat of an imminent devaluation under his watch?
    How can that Stin(K)ing Liar return to the HoA as the substantive minister of Finance after being exposed as the biggest liar Barbados ever produced?
    Graydon Sealy must be totally ashamed of his output. One big crook called Lashes and a King of Lies called Chris.

Les belles de nuit about 400 metres away can conduct national business at a more competent level than the ‘monkeyism’ passing for cabinet decisions.
    One is left to wonder if Lord Fumble has a clue as to what is going on around him. Poor guy, he is just a total square of a misfit in a round hole of contiguous problems.

9. the blp operatives have yet to realise that any information given by them and their leader is consider rubbish and hauled on to the garbage pile
    Now here comes some nitwit stating that Estwick is in Dubai begging for a loan which begs the question when barbados debt was much higher and the reserves were very low why did not the govt panic and take advantage of Eswick proposal
    Why would govt now do the out of ordinary and take a loan at high interest solely to pay down the deficit which is already in decline and which according to Moodys report the outlook on the economy has been upgraded from negative to stable

10. Smooth Road to the EDGE Avatar
    Smooth Road to the EDGE

You down understand the difference between deficit and debt, it makes not sense talking with you, you are an IDIOT.

11. @ smooth talking liar of course since i called you out as a bloody nit wit you change the focus with your ignorant attacks deficit debt call it what you may in the end it is called money and to which you stated a loan is currently in progress being made by DR Estwick through dubai to fiance the debt either or deficit which is a blatant untruth you bloody liar in any case who needs to talk to a two bit foot soldier and a lying one at that Now go bring the evidence to support your lies coward

12. Unbelievable!

13. Smooth Road to the EDGE Avatar
    Smooth Road to the EDGE

Where is Estwick?

14. @ Smooth liar just to call you out once again as a blatant liar Dr. Estwick is not the MOF or PM and all final or on going negotiations in accordance with good governance pertaining to loans can only be singed and agreed by the MOF or the PM , fuh god sake Eswick is the minister of agriculture and if he had such authority he would have made good with his proposal whether or not the Mof or PM had agreed or not So what good is him going to get a loan thousands of miles away when he can do nothing but do exactly what he did before
    you are one low cast jackass

15. Smooth Road to the EDGE Avatar
    Smooth Road to the EDGE

Is he on official business, if no, then why is it being paid for by the GOB and why is he having meetings there on financial matters?

16. Smooth Road to the EDGE Avatar
    Smooth Road to the EDGE

Did the PM sanction his trip, cause we all know that the only person who can give a Minister permission to travel is the PM followed by confirmation by Cabinet.

17. listen negro i have had it with you if you do not know the fundamentals of governance i can.t help you . you seem to be fishing in shallow water, byeeeeeeeeeeeee

18. Smooth Road to the EDGE Avatar
    Smooth Road to the EDGE

Don’t get so hot under the collar, its not good for your blood pressure. Still:-
    (a) Where is Estwick?
    (b) If he is Dubai, did the PM sanction?
    (c) If yes, was cabinet consulted?
    (d) If no, why not?

19. @ Artax April 10, 2016 at 9:55 AM #

“We all know that Estwick experienced great difficulty in seeking an audience with PM Stuart and by extension the Cabinet, when he sought to present his alternative economic policies. He was eventually given an audience to make his presentation; unfortunately for him, almost two years after, Estwick’s administration did not consider any of his policies were IMPORTANT ENOUGH to NECESSITATE IMPLEMENTATION.

Pray tell me WHY SHOULD ANYONE, including the BLP, OFFER SOLUTIONS to this incompetent DLP administration, especially against the background that their own Dr. David Estwick’s ALTERNATIVE SOLUTIONS were UNCEREMONIOUSLY REJECTED”
    …………………..

Great post as per usual, Artax.

We cannot let the ac’s ever forget Donville’s retort to Mia…..shouting across the floor of Parliament……..”we aint want to hear anything from wunnah, wunnah had wunnah time, wunnah had 14 years, now is we time, any ideas wunnah got, keep to wunnah selves, we gine do things we way!

Let them do things their way……….if it now sucks, they do not care. Woe is we!

20. @ David

“ac April 10, 2016 at 6:20 PM #
    listen negro i have had it with you if you do not know the fundamentals of governance i can.t help you . you seem to be fishing in shallow water, byeeeeeeeeeeeee”

listen negro, what kind of statement is that? Does that mean ac is better than any of us? That type of language, or inference has no business on BU. Let ac run his own blog……….

21. @ racehrse
    Boss…
    AC is an idiot. So special rules apply to her …in the name of being all-embracing.

22. Oh piss off! bush shit.

23. and to you race horse you are one illiterate johnnie , go read dr martin Luther King Speech I have a dream

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac April 10, 2016 at 11:51 PM

Ac, it seems you have lost your No.1 spot for the title of “illiterate johnnie”.
    BU will certainly cry for your loss.

But knowing you people from St. John (like your true ‘negro’ Niggaman) you will not give up that easily. Right, johnnie, the comeback kid?

25. PM reveals the sinster hat trick behind Mia attempted no confidence vote.

26. @ac

Better than being an illiterate yard fowl for the BLP.

27. @ac

Sorry typo DLP. We know the BLP would not condone your illiteracy!

28. Now we know why it is better for the Froon to keep sleeping………….he is delusional and afraid.

He would do well to watch his own back…….the gang who plotted against him is still at it. The April 2016 date has passed so they are all pensionable…….so no longer do they have to toe his line.

The knives are out for him, they are not afraid of him and his threat to take away ministries from them, they curse him to his face. No wonder he only enters the cabinet meetings when they are all gathered!

People who live in glass houses should not throw stones. He does not have OSA to help him out this time!

29. Well……..the Motion of No Confidence filed/to be filed by Mia has already worked, it has gotten the sleeping goon to respond.
    Only a nitwit of a PM would let Sinckler and Lashley put him in the position where NHC units at the Grotto (aka Dalkeith Woods) would only be affordable to those persons who have an income of BDS$6,000.00 to $7,000.00 per month.

Remember the primary reason for NHC is to promote low-cost houses, construct low-cost housing, stimulate the building industry and encourage and assist housing research.

IT IS NOT TO STIMULATE TIEFING.

30. Arthur Holder St Michael Central for BLP forward to victory, keep the momentum

31. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

Small Dwarf April 11, 2016 at 10:08 AM #
    Well……..the Motion of No Confidence filed/to be filed by Mia has already worked, it has gotten the sleeping goon to respond.
    Only a nitwit of a PM would let Sinckler and Lashley put him in the position where NHC units at the Grotto (aka Dalkeith Woods) would only be affordable to those persons who have an income of BDS$6,000.00 to $7,000.00 per month.

Remember the primary reason for NHC is to promote low-cost houses, construct low-cost housing, stimulate the building industry and encourage and assist housing research.

IT IS NOT TO STIMULATE TIEFING.

This is why all gov’t contracts must be put out to public tender and tenders publicly heard. That land could have been sold to the private sector for alternate development and the moneys put towards building low-income housing on cheap gov’t land somewhere else.

There are always ‘undercover’ reasons these gov’t projects result in disaster and none of the reasons ever make sense to reasonable people.

There are reasonable people all over BDS that would contribute to our national good by serving on committees and boards if invited to do so by honourable people but the vast majority will not stand for election nor be tainted by civil service affiliation.

32. @Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass

I agree totally, we must not have a repeat of the shenanigans like what obtained when IONICS was given the sweetheart deal that is the Spring Garden Desalination project.

33. @Chaucer

Another lawyer.

34. Mottley better becareful how she rattled the PM cage because her skeltons are more than she can ever imagine and just in case sahe forgets her LEC

35. Arthur Holder is also a professional social worker and an educator

36. @ac
    You don’t think Mia got her information? It has been 8 years of shenanigans, she is a former attorney general and deputy PM. She appointed the former COP, you don’t feel she got enough to bury this lot?

37. @ac
    Wait for the No Confidence Motion…………..you familiar with Blitzkrieg?

CAHILL budget day was but a dress rehearsal.

38. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar

Small Dwarf April 11, 2016 at 12:13 PM #
    @Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass

I agree totally, we must not have a repeat of the shenanigans like what obtained when IONICS was given the sweetheart deal that is the Spring Garden Desalination project.

Indeed. But here is the contradiction: we all negotiate from a position of strength when we have a choice and when we don’t have a choice the opposite obtains.

Our current choices are very, VERY limited. The word has been out internationally on Barbados for a number of years; no facilitation, corrupt ministers, inept civil service, bad place to do business. It will take years an major effort by new players to reverse that.

For the same reasons Bajan business people have turtled (pulled in assets until the gov’t changes, most of us have nowhere to go like foreign business people do). That leaves a very limited number of developers for Bajan gov’t to deal with on any projects we so badly need.

I don’t think most people (including on this forum) understand what drives our economy. The business driver is gone and will take years of effort to be brought back.

39. Recall too the words of Stuart in January 2013, when he said “the best is yet to come”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/01/30/im-sorry/

I’m sorry

Added by Emmanuel Joseph on January 30, 2013.
    Saved under Local News, Slider
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart this afternoon told Barbadians he was sorry for not being able to provide more employment for them, especially young people, during his Government’s term in office.

On the eve a full-fledged general election campaign, Stuart conceded that his single regret was that his DLP administration had not been able to fulfill all its commitments, because it came to power at a time, when the world was about to embark on its most serious downturn in 100 years.

Addressing a full house of business leaders at the first monthly luncheon for the year of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry at Hilton Barbados, the Prime Minister lamented that “all of our great expectations of meeting a lot of the commitments we had at the start of the term, were hobbled as a result of the constraints imposed by this still continuing economic downturn”.

“We had to walk by sight rather than by faith, because the resources available to us, have always been very limited and we’ve had to husband our resources with consummate care,” he added.

“I would hope that when there is another term that things would have so eased up that we would be able to show the people of Barbados the real mettle of our pasture… We’ve done quite, quite well, unbelievably well, in very stringent circumstances.”

However, the Prime Minister promised the island that “the best is yet to come”.

He argued that that “best” would come when the Government was able to spend a little more and be a lot less cautious than it had been in meeting the expectations of the people of Barbados.

“I personally have felt saddened that as a result of this economic downturn, we’ve not been able to make that dent in the unemployment problem that we would have wanted to make.

“I think it is a source of painful and acute frustration for a significant number of young people who leave school or leave the university or leave the Community College looking forward to being absorbed into the workforce and being frustrated because of the constraints under which we have had to operate,” he lamented.

This, the Government leader conceded, was a source of great distress for him, adding that he hoped the country could overcome this hurdle if re-elected to run the island for another five years.

“The first term has not been easy for us,” Stuart admitted.

He said he hoped, if given power once more, that the DLP would not have to govern under the type of constrained circumstance as during the past five years. He reported though that despite the difficult challenges faced by his Cabinet ministers, they had “shone brightly”.

The Prime Minister also unveiled what he described as a sketch of the party’s plans to restore economic growth to Barbados, if re-elected to office at the polls on February 21.

“Our plans and expectations for growth are based on four underpinnigs,” he said.

These include, the promotion of foreign exchange earning and saving sectors much more vigorously, while increasing economic capacity to achieve higher and more balanced growth and continued, but prudent spending by Government in the domestic economy.

Stuart revealed that the others were the upgrading and expanding infrastructure, carrying out the necessary restructuring across various sectors and maintaining the social safety net and other essential investments in the island’s social capital.

In the area of tourism, a returned DLP would increase promotion in each of the country’s source markets.

“We will sponsor increased airlift, more especially from Western Canada and the USA, and the Scandinavian countries; and we will seek to achieve more airlift with Latin America through inaugurating direct air links with Panama,” the Prime Minister promised.

He also pledged support for several major construction projects in the tourism sector by offering incentives through the Tourism Development Act. Stuart said, too, that these would include the revitalised Four Seasons project, further expansion of the Crane Beach Resort, rebuilding and expanding of Almond Beach Village, Beachlands, Regency, continuation of Port Ferdinand and rebuilding of Sam Lord’s Castle.

A new DLP Government also has plans to upgrade the international business and financial services sector, promote Barbados as a place to invest, offer speedier responses to foreign investors wanting to do business here, and carry out infrastructural development.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Frustrated
    “most of us have nowhere to go like foreign business people do”…I don’t agree. You can go anywhere you want. It seems most Bajan companies are investing, just not in Barbados. And not only the big firms.

Otherwise, there is no debt solution which is “politically palatable”. Hence all we get is the blame game between politicians.

41. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar

NorthernObserver April 11, 2016 at 3:22 PM #
    @Frustrated
    “most of us have nowhere to go like foreign business people do”…I don’t agree. You can go anywhere you want. It seems most Bajan companies are investing, just not in Barbados. And not only the big firms.

Otherwise, there is no debt solution which is “politically palatable”. Hence all we get is the blame game between politicians.

You fail to understand the level of debt Bajan businesses have undertaken in order to keep doors open and people employed. Debt secured by personally owned property, sometimes as second mortgages or ‘friends & family’ financing. Jamaican, Trini and Guyanese business people ran as soon as their gov’ts hinted at ineptitude, we have stuck it out in true Bajan ‘hope for the best’ fashion.

No, Bajan business people have nowhere to run to. The best we can do is ‘turtle’ to minimise losses until these jokers are run out of office.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Frustrated
    What you are saying is that Bajan businesses have acted just like their government?

I will suggest to you, given the public finance situation, even when “these jokers are run out of office”, their replacements face the same shit. A huge debtload and a massive annual deficit, which don’t disappear with a ruling party? Neither will individual business debtloads vanish.

I don’t know what business you are in, but I would reassess my model. Any significant public financing is going to come with caveats, which will be painful. And whether guilty or merely associated, expect foreign governments to clamp down, or at least threaten to do so, which will hurt the IBC community.

43. @Chaucer

Are you rebutting the fact Arthur Holder is a lawyer?

44. hope Mia has an escape plan when this no confidence hat trick fizzles
    here advisers must be smoking dope

45. One thing we must be thankful of, is that we can critique the Government of the country. While backlash may be done discreetly, or not, we can at least be thankful that we do not follow the laws of some other countries.

http://www.msn.com/en-us/news/world/us-woman-jailed-for-insulting-united-arab-emirates/ar-BBrCCM3?ocid=spartanntp

For a country normally looked upon as ‘Western’ as compared to other Middle East countries, this is an example that we must be careful of whom we seek to ally ourselves with and we must truly understand, who are our allies in this world, warts and all, that they may come with.

46. the PM responded to the Moody’s down grade and not a peep out of David mouth
    Did any one listen to the PM remarks as he instilled confidence in the barbadian people reassuring them that the downgrades is not an indication of our failure but a indicator for which faster measures are necessary to bring down the deficit, however he also reassured them that as a small society or sociological health and well being was also important as to our financial well being
    He said the measures that are being asked can devastate our social environment at the high cost of bringing down the deficit .

A simple message that would resonate in any household who have had to make difficult financial decisions
    In other words it makes no sense throwing out the baby in order to keep the bathe tub

47. @ AC
    Your PM is a simple-minded moron….. sociological health and well being Bushies donkey..!!

Does he actually think that he can continue spending $1.6Billion more than he is getting in income every year …AS A MEANS OF MAINTAINING SOCIAL STABILITY?

What the ratings are saying is that anyone in such a financial position is really just a slave – owned lock, stock and barrel by the agencies whose money they have been spending.
    The man has taken us back to 1700.

The ratings go like this:
    AAA – a REAL man who owe no one and can walk with his head high
    AA – a man who can manage his debts and support a family
    A – a man
    BBB – a boy, with potential for manhood.
    BB – a boy, with potential for manhood, …but needs to grow some balls
    B – a boy, needs some balls to grow
    CCC – a brass bowl, but harmless enough to ignore
    CC – a brass bowl female rabbit – one step away from being literally enslaved
    C – AC material.

48. And professor brassbowl what are you solutions ,the PM made his point clear and salient one which would resonate in any struggling household that have to make ends meet That is the point Professor Bowl, not your physio analysis of what a b c or d rating means analysis which most bajans would very not pay attention
    Professor brass bowl whether you agree or not the stability of this country is still in tact a fact which you Professor cannot refute and neither can Moodys

49. Yes, the INEPT Prime Minister Stuart RESPONDED to the latest Moody’s downgrade, NOT by ADDRESSING the nation, as any competent and caring PM would have done, so he could be QUESTIONED by the public, media and social interest groups.

He responded in the COMFORT and SAFETY of the St. Michael South Branch meeting, which was held on Sunday, April 10, 2016, at the Bay Primary School, where he would be UNCHALLENGED by the DLP supporters and yard-fowls who attended.

And as such, Stuart DID NOT INSTILL CONFIDENCE in the Barbadian people,” which he ought to have done as PM. Instead, “he instilled confidence in the” members and supporters of the DLP.

It seems as though the members of the piss poor DLP administration prefer to discuss or address matters concerning Barbados at constituency branch meetings among the DLP faithful.

50. Yes, of course “the PM made his point clear and salient one which would RESONATE in any STRUGGLING HOUSEHOLD that have to MAKE ENDS MEET..…”

“Clear and salient point” being that come 2018 THEY WILL VOTE his big nosed backside out of Government Headquarters.