Submitted by Heather Cole
Caribbean Court of Justice

In the game of cricket, there is no victory without a challenge. In athletics no race is won without a challenge and in the court of law, no precedent can ever be set without a challenge.

Two recent occurrences prompted me to write this article. The first was a call from a lawyer in Barbados about two weeks ago informing me that a sixteen years old case was finally set to be heard. It was one of two cases and there is no light yet at the end of the tunnel for the second case. The second occurrence was the revelation of the court documents relating to the death of Marcelle Smith in an article on the Barbados Underground. The documents in my opinion pointed to a motive for her murder and the persons responsible.

At present the system for the delivery of justice in Barbados leaves a lot to be desired and that is putting it mildly. No one should have to wait 16 years for a case to be heard. There has been enough time for those responsible for the administration of the system to over haul it and come up with a creative and transparent process for cases to be heard. It leads one to question the management of the system from which justice for the entire population is to be delivered. Are there checks and balances to ensure that all cases are heard in a timely manner? Are there cases lying around in or on some desks catching dusk? Is there a prevailing corruption in the system that warrants the need for a regulator whose duty it is to ensure that all cases are heard in a timely manner? One can also question the effectiveness of the position of the Ombudsman. By now the Attorney General should have created an instrument to define the period within which a case must be heard. I am positive that this would help reduce the backlog in the system. Are there enough Judges, magistrates and cases managers and do they work 8 hours per day? The time has come for a person to be able to track the movement of their case on line that way they will be in a better position to seek a resolution to any bottlenecks that that are inherently in the system. They must be penalties, fines and disbarment to practice for anyone circumventing the process of justice regardless to who they are.

With regards to the emails sent by Mrs. Smith to her Attorney, I was shocked to read the contents and I queried why Vernon Smith and Hal Gollop had entered the deceased property and interrogating a man with dementia. It was a house not a court or a law office or a police station. They had no right being there to conduct legal matters uninvited and that it was most unconventional to bring the police to add credibility to their deed. Protocol should have dictated these learned lawyers to schedule a meeting with her attorney present since she had responsibility for her husband. This case in itself raises many issues highlighted above and it makes one wonder if it will ever be heard since two high profile member of the legal community are involved. However, one also wonders how the revelation of their meeting with Mrs. Smith will impact their credibility with the public of Barbados and if this case is not heard will it justify that some people are above the law or that there is in fact no law.

The above are just two examples but I am sure that there are many more cases out there. Every right thinking Barbadian and those who the judicial system has failed must come together to challenge the system. We are in an era to have a Class Action Suit against the Attorney General, the Chief Justice and the Ombudsman with regards to the administration of justice. Is there any attorney out there who is up to this task?

Paradoxically, two of the reasons set forth to end the jurisdiction of the British Privy Council over the former colonies of the British West Indies can now be put forth regarding the legal system in Barbados. There are the unpopularity of the decisions and the perception that the system has too much power. Can it be that the deeply entrenched partiality now makes the legal system inadequate? It sets forth an argument for the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) to expand its scope to become a local court of the jurisdiction.

One hopes that we the citizens of Barbados can petition to amend its constitution to allow local cases of Barbados or the region to be heard and be not only limited to CARICOM matters or act as an Appellate Court. The petition to the CCJ can also request that it includes the practice of law in its disadvantaged sector and amend that sector include lawyers. Or, by some other measure allow all lawyers to practice across its jurisdiction in any member state. This is intended to create one Bar Association within the jurisdiction that will allow a lawyer in Jamaica or Trinidad to accept a case in Barbados or vice versa without fear of victimization. Therefore one should seek to find out if this problem of Barbados is being experienced in Jamaica, Belize and Trinidad and Tobago.

Another outlook is that since the present judicial system is not serving the best interest of the masses, one wonders if the people of Barbados can by way of referendum be given an option to have their cases heard locally or by the CCJ by-passing the present court system.

The question that we must all ask ourselves is if Barbadians have to die awaiting justice or should they be assured of justice in Barbados or allowed to have their cases heard by the CCJ. In the final analysis, our problem can be resolved by competition and the establishment of a regional local court. To this end it is my intent to find out what is happening in the other islands for which the CCJ has jurisdiction. However, with or without the other territories, seek dialogue with the CCJ and petition them and the Government of Barbados from the Barbados Lobby to extend the scope and services of the CCJ to hear local cases of the people of Barbados. I hope that all who have been disadvantaged by the court system will join in this effort. Your comments and or assistance are welcomed.

242 responses to “Justice Must Be Served”

1. You have to understand that the Latin king’s, Los Solidos and the Twenty Love gangs run the streets of America without impunity, and the concerned public demanded action from the Clinton Administration.

2. Perhaps we need a foreign broadcaster to highlight corruption in Barbados. Take a look at this fascinating documentry

” Corruption in Kenya has caught the attention of a major US public broadcaster, PBS, which aired a 10 mini-documentary series titled “How widespread corruption is hurting Kenya” at prime time on Monday night.

PBS is the most prominent provider of television programmes to public television stations in the United States and its programmes are transmitted to tens of millions of homes every day.

The documentary is part of a mini-series “Inside Kenya,” and tells of how ubiquitous grand graft has become.

Many of the interviewees painted a grim picture, even claiming that it is, more than ever before, threatening the future generations.” (BMJ MURIITHI)

http://www.pbs.org/newshour/bb/how-widespread-corruption-is-hurting-kenya/

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear Suzanne,

You must ignore some detractors who being ignorant of the effect of “campaign ads”, the effect of a single drop of water on the forehead, CANNOT SEE WHAT that campaign will do.

Later today when the effect of the tablets wears off, I will see if I can place one or two of your messages on the shirt of a lass with some proportions and we will see if he who is marooned in his understanding of what Goebbels and the Japanese armies and the USofA employed in Panama to get Noriega to leave a safe haven.

Imagine the effect of 1000 TShirt dresses on 1000 females where the dress had an excerpt of the contents of say the letter from Chris Sinclair to the NIS authorizing the 300% increase of the board member payments?

Imaging if instead of publishing that or other similarly salacious content here in the quiet of these cyberspace walls, one were to move to stage two of the “revolution” and push it into mainstream Barbados right up in the faces of the people? With shirts that had said letters placed around the body of that dress?

Suzanne you must forgive us small men who, while seeing the effect that scantily clad women have on us at a promotion at Berts Bar at a Banks, Guiness or Hennessy promotion, refuse, rather, cannot see what such ads do in such a relentless campaign and will tell you that red tshirts on Election Day, DO NOT MEAN ANYTHING!

Crusoe indeed is right my dear, for where ignorance is bliss, it is folly to be wise

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Exclaimer

That is an excellent idea!!

The BBC just launched an initiative in India which features issues of similar concern a kaleidoscope of people’s opinion in video.

Every bajan has a camera in their phone so all one needs is an equivalent to PBS

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Maybe you could reach out to Robyn Fenty Rihanna to fund “Barbados – through Ri Ri’s Eyes” where a similar type concept, promoted by a woman who loves her country, or is purported to loved Bim, would provide the popularity to fuel such a window to our woes and the money to support this island she is so proud of.

By their works shall ye know them…

An excellent idea Exclaimer so you can be assured that it will be stolen in a heartbeat very soon

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Bush Tea

If you can find suitable words to provide a decent acronym for SHAME, feel free. I use SAME because it reflects the same behaviours that are responsible for no change in Barbados judicial practices after two political selections for the CJ post. These two persons were Selected At My Expense (S.A.M.E) since the taxpayers are responsible for the fluffy salaries they make for doing nothing. And SAME, because under the Simmons And Marston Effect (S.A.M.E) not one shite has changed.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey…you keep making excuses for Clinton, all those same gangs ran the streets before Clinton and more new deadly gangs run the streets now, nothing has changed, if anything the newer generation are better at what they do.

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

I am not phased by the operatives. I am bounded by my love for the island that educated me, and the principles of several good role models who inspired me to be the best that I can be. After all the hard work, the custodians responsible for the system that is causing Barbados to buckle at knees, believe that what is/was best for Barbados is recruitment by familiarity, promotion by a little pokey jobs base on votes, and ignoring of qualifications to get the job done in the right way. I decided to become an advocate for change moreso now, because of the nasty things I know of former and present BLP pigs and the current ignorance of a DLP party that I once believe in but not anymore. We have to campaign for change through poster protest.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright April 13, at 8:23 AM re “An excellent idea Exclaimer so you can be assured that it will be stolen in a heartbeat very soon” ————-

Is that really a fair assessment of reality? How can you define Exclaimer’s comment as an ‘idea’ that if adopted has been stolen when he is actually suggesting a replication to the Bajan context of something already being done…and which is done by PBS and others daily!

As a man who speaks so knowledgeably on business matters like the Export Agency issues, for example, you know only too well that ideas bounce around all over the place and that there is often a very fine line that separates concepts that are in wide circulation but then only monetized or made popular by one person who finds the right pathway to tap that money stream or to generate the public awareness that leads to popular appeal.

Within that dynamic there are surely many instances where ideas may in fact be hijacked as you note, but just as surely investigative documentary features as a concept can’t be such an instance!

Just saying!

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear SSS.

What about Same Hustle In Tricking The Electorate? ooops sorry, that does not spell S.H.A.M.E does it? I did not go to school too long and was not there the day they taught acronyms

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And never stop SSS. ..the blight of “yuh cahn do nutting” will fade away under the pressure of “something will be done”.

Excellent idea Exclaimer….time for something drastic, enough has been said, let’s watch the results of their corruption on international broadcasts, the nastiness at the supreme court, the insurance fraud, the lying corrupt politicians, let it all hang out.

11. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My sweet piece

We must start something. I am not interested in the detractors. I am just as educated as there are or even more, but I am not compromised in any way to keep my mouth shut. I want Barbados to prosper and in the words of the good books that says:

”if my people, who are called by my name,
    will humble themselves and pray
    and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways,
    then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin
    and will heal their land.”

We know that there will be no genuine repentance to humble themselves and turn from their wicked ways so the only action necessary to effect change, is protest action. Sometimes you just have to create chaos because out of chaos comes order. And you and I know that Barbados drastically out of order and out of sorts.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

LOLOLOL, hahaha you got me here dying. I think we can use that too. Most appropriate. Some poster depictions of that and any other ideas posted on BU would be a good start. We just place all the facts on them and leave it up to Barbadians to decide if they are going to let two wayward parties continue to make decisions in their best interest and not the interest of the society as a whole. We can also advocate for a Supervisory Committee, as Bush Tea suggested, to make sure that government spending is according to approved accounting procedures that cannot be influenced by any minister or operative of government without complete oversight for approval.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear Suzanne,

If you are game then I am game, I am tired of the mouth servants and being short of patience with the slow and contented slothful am at the same point of commitment to this piece of rock which, slow as it is, is the place where I incarnated this time around.

I will drop a note to the Blogmaster with the hope that he will pass my email to you. (My real email lolol)

A change gonna come.

@ Pedantic Dribbler

You are not your usual self today for you missed the substantive part of my submission which was not solely to advocate a social advocacy online network as Exclaimer suggested but, and here is what you missed, since one was seeking some popularity and commensurate driver, it might be useful to solicit the support of the normally vocal Rihanna Fenty to see if her love of Barbados might manifest itself in something other than a logo of Barbados in the top of her videos, IF THE CAUSE SO MERITED IT!!

I do hope that you are not succumbing to the onslaught of the BU commentary which I realize can, under circumstances of pain medication, cause one to loose focus

Concept in Brief.

Online Social Commentary Channel
    45 seconds on Issue with suggested Solution (if there is no solution item WILL NOT BE POSTED)
    Format of Video/Slides
    Like BBC Pop Up Recently launched in India take a look at http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-35931366 in case you wanted to see what the concept involved
    Name of Site? I have a suggestion but if I put it up here we can expect it to be stolen. I hope I don’t have to explain that to Dribbler as well

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Of course, I am game. Even if this campaign does not produce the desired results i.e. for Barbadians to press for a change in the modus operandi of political governance, at least it will bring the entire world to look at Barbados, and hopefully, have some influence on the pressing issues that is making the island and its people the spot light for ridicule and negative commentary. So I am all to start this poster awareness protest.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, no I didn’t miss the “substantive part of [the] submission”. I had absolutely no issue with that in the slightest. Frankly and for all practical purposes the ‘disagreement’ was on a rather incidental point.

I suspect your other point is apropos however, viz : “I do hope that you are not succumbing to the onslaught of the BU commentary which I realize can, under circumstances of pain medication, cause one to loose focus”. Absolutely I vegetate sometimes re some of the commentary, fah sure!

Some blogs in the past you spoke of Transparency International type intrepid action and exposure. On that I completely agree as far as saving this little island from the cesspool in which it has fallen.

So finding funds via grants, begging or whatever to support and expand a BU site, for example, to be able to actually delve with stealth and confidentiality to find the ‘goods’ on dirty politicians, officials and businessmen. The type of dirt that can cause you to lose or badly hurt your election efforts, your profession or business.

A chill that makes people scared that when they do shiiiite it will cost them dearly…of course we are a long way from there but at moments when my thoughts go there unchecked my writing may be less than sane, I presume.

And undoubtedly the things that you and your compadre SSS are suggesting above are along that serious path of action….so no problem whatever.

16. @ Piece,

Who would have thought that your skills extended to the field of marketing and advertising? Your idea of advertising a slogan using the assistance of an athletic female could appeal to the masses. This form of advertising / marketing is now considered to be “en arrierre” in the UK but it is an idea worth adopting. Doing something is a better alternative than doing nothing. Good luck!

Yesterday, I sent a clip of the Trinidadian, Stokely Carmichael. This was a man who honed his skills in the civil rights movement; and a man who has spent a number of years living in Africa. What of Shirley Chisolm (Bajan decent) who became the first Negro lady to run for the Democratic nomination in 1972? http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=95828537

I could continue to quote examples but I will not. How could the Caribbean have exported so many important and serious political thinkers? These people were not passive; they took to the streets and fought to improve their lot in society. Where was their equivalent in the Caribbean? And more to the point, why did this diaspora refuse to return to the Caribbean region in order to shake up the political platform? Perhaps they believed that it was a futile exercise. Can you blame them?

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Doing something is a better alternative than doing nothing.”

Exclaimer….Exactly

You asked about the brain drain and strong voices for change re Stokely Carmichael et el, as you can see from just on this forum, there are those who would want to put down such notions as acts of sedition, treason…..those with the small island power to do so would mobilize police and defense force to “crack heads and shoot some people”….read Ronald “jackass” Jones, just so as not to threaten or disrupt their comfort zone of deceit, lies and corruption.

Many intelligent people in the diaspora know this and stay well away, but, there is a time stamp on all such activities and their sell by dates have all expired.

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC. My Sweet Piece, Pedantic Dribbler, and the et al extension

Why did David create BU?

Was it to be a place to spread gossip?
    A means to provide news the mainstream media refuses to report?
    The chance for bajans to vent their frustrations and provide their proofs under anonymity?
    A place where old retired men and women can occupy their time and keep their brains sharp?
    To show off our writing ability or simply discuss issues
    A means to bring about change.
    Our simply to talk shite
    A forum where the knows can inform the know-nots why it is so and why it will always remain so?

BU was credited as the forum that made itself available for exposing the Cahill WtE scam. From BU efforts, the spotlight was placed on the government and the shady character that was the Cahill Cowan and the ministers involved in the secret signing. As a result, the adamancy of the Stuart-led-decision to force this unknown technology on Barbadians was successfully halted for the time being.

That was a triumph and an all out effort to correct a decision that could have placed Barbados in jeopardy. It was also supported by relevant documentation and facts that could not be disputed by the players in this scam, thus the reasons for the exit and stage right dodging of a shady DLP administration operating in a number of different wrongs.

I am thus adamant that if a poster protest condenses the issues discuss on BU in a format that is easy to read and comprehend, the awareness level of the issues affecting Barbados could push its citizenry to express themselves for change.

We need changes that would see state agencies enforcing the laws against any wrongdoers at any level of society without fear, favouritism or influence.

We need changes that would force the practice of the judiciary to be accountable for their malpractices and at times puzzling decisions where a murder accused can be granted bail and person aggravatingly assaulting a tourist gets none.

We need changes in the constitution that amend the secret secrecy act and restrictions of the press.

We need changes that create distances between judiciary and politics so judges and magistrates can arbitrate without worrying about who is who.

We need changes that will restrict the powers of the Prime Minister and government ministers, and make them more accountable to the people by amendments of the constitution that speak to public disclosure issues, transparency issues and referendums on multimillion dollar projects. These are just a few among a multitude of other reasons as we no longer:

-Trust the politics of the Ds and Bs to make certain decisions on our behalf since those decisions involve some benefit going towards them in the form of striking a deal or making special arrangements.

-Trust the politics of the Ds and Bs to operate in a non-transparent and non-accountability environment when ministers and key government officials are known to make decisions in the name of finances that involves inflating figures so share requests can be met.

We can no longer allow the Ds and Bs to decide on what laws they can enact to suit their whims and fancies while finding all sorts of excuses and reasons why another set, that seeks to put checks and balances in the way of how they do things, are skillfully articulated towards creating frustrations and eventually prolong times so that it can whiter up and be forgotten resulting in an outcome that was intended always to be no.

Discussing all that we have is all fine and dandy. We can be happy with the Cahill outcome, so far, because of the efforts and documentation that detailed the nonsense exposing the truth of a bad decision a few irate politicians was trying to convince us all was all right.

I believe that further actions in the form of this poster protest can be used to change what we know needs correcting; so that Barbados, the island we all love, can get back to a place of strength, provide the mechanisms for creating jobs, improve the structures to make our people employable, restructure our education system towards creative and innovative learning for invention and industry development, and to improve upon the successes that are responsible for bringing us this far.

The outcome of all of this is for a better functioning Barbados with services that do not frustrate but pleases.

19. We need more whistleblowers and others to speak out and do.

On 14 April 2016 at 10:14, Barbados Underground wrote:

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Yes, David we need whistleblowers. In the mean time, we can highlight the pertinent issues in our online protest. Maybe that might encourage those who might be afraid to talk to come forward.

21. @SSS

Let us continue to do so and encourage others to blog as well. The blogosphere is as strong as the many.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…I was commenting to you on another thread and then something odd happened, the text disappeared, so obviously that comment was meant for this thread, as I have just seen.

During the course of the few years I been on here, I learned that BU has been around for 9 years, I used to hear about it but it took a while before I got curious enough to check it out…I was amazed that someone actually got the courage to inform Bajans about the level they have been fooled by politicians for 5 decades.

AC, Alvin and Carson Cadogan, heard it’s Michael Lashley, were apparently on here from inception spreading lies, misinformation and the usual yardfowl, numbskull nonsense….without fail, every damn day….but it can’t work, because people are better informed, the information age works. A new generation who saw how their grandparents and parents were maliciously and deliberately lied to and fooled by politicians have the guts to say enough….no more.

BTW…that does not only apply to politicians, but lawyers, doctors, business people who were free to take advantage of the island and people, without scrutiny…it’s3 now out there that CGI Insurance bribes police who are so inclined to disappear accident reports……so you get my drift…..the situation is unsustainable and something has to give. I cant speak for others, but there are quite a few like minded individuals who see the same decay and would like it to end before the younger generation explode.

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

What type of numbers is contributing the BU forum?

WWC

Barbados has the highest levels of awareness thanks to the blogs and other forms of social media than it ever had before. I would admit that I was a little feisty with certain people. I realise that AC and Alvin Cummins were pooch lickers. Yes, I lambasted both of them, but these days I just do not bother. There is a greater cause here. And, ever since BU was instrumental in bringing the level of awareness to alert Barbadians to the Cahill project, I am convinced that this medium now serves a useful purpose and much can be achieved by it. I decided to write differently but without all the big fancy words and sweet-sounding phrases. Not here to impress and talk shite about educational levels and who is a columnist. That is one the reasons why I do not read Jeff Cumberbatch articles, not that there is anything wrong with them I just find it to be saying a lot and doing very little.

SSS….after all has been said that could be said, there has to be action so we can all say, there has been a shift. It cannot be business as usual, as they like to give lip service and say.

Imagine you are in an accident, either your insurer or the insurer for the other party bribes a cop to disappear your accident report, either you or the other party in the accident died, or was paralyzed, severely disabled or injured….and that accident report disappears, you or the other party have a family to feed, children to send to school and a host of responsibilities, but wait, if you manage to get the matter to court, without the accident report, you still have to go up against the doctors and lawyers, so inclined, who will take bribes to lie on either the medical report, the doctor, or omit to file that medical report with the court.

So the money that should be paid to you or the other party as the injured parties, is being paid to the police to disappear the accident report, the doctor, to lie on the medical report amd your lawyer to omit your medical report from the judge or keep delaying your case so you get very little or no money….15 years later.

This has been happening for at least 2 decades with the tacit collusion of the former chief justice, the police know, so does the DPP, all the politicians from Prime Mijister to the last idiot, BAMP, Bar Aasociation, disciplinary committee and not one of them would lift a finger to put and end to this type of vicious corruption.

Then they are those idiots on here acting like it’s a sport, aint nothing wrong with that….until one disenfranchised person damages one of them, then you will hear that hapless person got locked up….and that is just one instance of their collusion into the most horrific instances of corruption I have ever heard or seen, because there is no regulation, no monitoring, no locking up the corrupt.

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

I have heard that as long as you have a friend in the police force, particularly a Sargeant, any road traffic violation you commit can easily be canceled by a mere phone call. I am also told to that some police hardly investigate thoroughly the scene of an accident as well. How true ,I do not know.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

No big surprise SSS, but what is horrifying is the damage, misery amd overall destruction to human lives, which is a domino effect caused by the callousness and viciousness practiced by those beasts who still have the nerve to call themselves professionals…..in the above insurance scam.

If they can be so uncaring and cruel to people who are injured and in wheelchairs, taking a bribe to fix traffic violations or making sure relatives dont have to answer for their actions is nothing…do you remember when Donville’s wife was stopped for a traffic violation he called up the police and acted as if the officer had committed a crime against his wife by stopping her…they are all corrupt.

27. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

SSS i see you getting the picture with many things here, i keep to what i know to be true , no matter what others think ,many are on this blog to side stack people and make long talk, If lawyers are so smart why they keep doing stupid things for money , and to defraud people and think its a game, Many of these lawyers need to do law in American and see how many will see jail in six months or less , Dam blood suckers of all things.
    The lawyer can make more money helping with the Massive land Fraud issue , More money to be made in doing things right, and there is a lot to set right,

trust me there is more i can say , but why bother, they just be looking to block me from this site also , and it will not be the first time for telling true.

Barbados and the lawyers have a lot to pay for and they will , if not them their children for the crimes and sins of the fathers and mothers.

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

When I use to live in Barbados, I got into an accident on my way to Warrens. A car ran into the back of my family’s car forcing me to hit the back of the car that was in front of me. The long short of the matter is my problems did not arise from the police report. I found the particular officer to be very professional and thorough in writing the details of what happen. I received his report the very same night that the CGI accident response team took me to the station. The problem I had was the driver who ran into me. He did not report the accident to his insurance. CGI informed his insurance of the accident requesting that they contact the given car registration and the name provided but they stated that the person involved in the accident is responsible for reporting it to them. When the accident was finally reported it was only after several threats and loss of use expenses piling up that the man’s insurance contacted him inquiring resulting in him finally reporting the accident. What can I say I must have ran into the right policeman and had a good insurance company. They acted very professionally but the other insurance company wanted to give the run around.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…. it depends how long ago that was and how large the claims, I know lawyers who are fighting this insurance company, ten years later to get paid claims for damages to their cars, taxi men as well. Try getting large amounts in compensation and it’s a different fight.

30. The Caribbean has certainly taking to Facebook in a most decisive manner. The adoption levels are certainly impressive and more importantly if they were any detractors to whether social media was a waste on time this might turn a few heads but then again.. I’m using Facebook to broadcast it…hahah

Steven Williams's photo.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Social media is exceedingly powerful, used correctly it can cause that paradigm shift.

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dear Sunshine

http://imgur.com/HFN069k

I had posted this item above of Jeff Cumberbatch’s site with a more exhaustive response to why I feel, like Gazed does, that Mr. Cumberbatch is very much part of the struggle towards a solution.

If time permits give it a read.

I have borrowed liberally from your 6.14 a.m. post.

Ad, posters, fliers, email, 30 second skits, comedy, factual documents, our version of an Indigenous “Pop Up” to mirror BBC’s product, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, all are powerful tools in today’s digital arsenal

@ Hants

You noted that Rihanna is doing a Documentary so the idea of coopting a local hero/champion for this ” Let us Change Bim Before It is Too Late” campaign is not so outlandish after all

It is just a-waiting to be birthed with the right person and managed by committed people

33. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

Rihanna loves Barbados. She is a “global ” superstar with kazillions of fans around the world.

I hope she will be part of the 50th celebrations.

http://wwd.com/beauty-industry-news/color-cosmetics/lvmh-rihanna-makeup-brand-10409670/

34. @David, re your 6:52 PM # post, that’s some very interesting data. Where can I find a copy?

35. @Alicia

Reach out to Steven Williams on Facebook. He is an IT specialist.

36. @David, thanks!

37. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My sweet piece

This is what I am talking about. Have not seen your email yet. Did you send it to the email starting with S?

Just loving it. Condense information for all to see. How you do that.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sunshine

http://imgur.com/Ny4Opds

You have easily provided “food” for 150 posters, T Shirts and Fliers in your 6.14 a.m. post and a previous one

http://imgur.com/191bqLt

What next?

I had sent my email info to the blogmaster to be on sent to you as a confidential exchange, I guess he hasn’t seen it yet

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

Your post of 9.07 p.m. ??? Extremely strange and concerning.

Tetelestai

40. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece…I have a poster but do not know how to get on here

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

42. @ David, I will Lobby Mia on the Constitutional changes.

@ Jeff , it may not be “easy ” to change the Constitution but it can be done. There is a fear that the people will agree and rightly so to a referendum only if it contains the right to recall by the people.

@ Dribbler the most important amendment that I want to see is the power of recall but they are others. Since Jeff will not take the lead, time permitting I will do it.

@ SSS, I agree with the method choosing of the Chief Justice.

@ Dribbler, 20 years down the road the DLP may not be like the one we are witnessing now. There is absolutely nothing wrong with my Facebook page. It is up to the people to demand change from their leaders. It is also up to the people to let the next government know that it will not be business as usual. Where is the third Party on the issue?

43. Dear ALL: It is my intention to start to draft the petition a regarding this matter over the weekend. The plan is to get it out to Government, Opposition, the people of Barbados, all the islands, CARICOM Secretariat, the CCJ and the news papers in the region and have people sign the petition on Change.Org. We have to start somewhere.

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear Sunshine

I am in love with you, Niceeeeeeee!!!

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mrs Heather Cole

I am concerned about your response to our Blogmaster’s lead.

The way it floated off your tongue ” I will lobby Mia on the Constitutional Change”

How many of you play draughts and chess? the reason that you eat a King Rook with a queen is that unless the King castles on the other side you can eat everything up to the king barring the bishop!

Had you said all of the above, and left out (a) i would have been less suspicious of the fact that, as part of your proposed solution for Barbados, you would go to the very fox that counts the chickens.

Then it is not even an after thought but it is the first of your proposals/actions!!

What has happened here?

Suddenly we seem to be in a developing trilogy of “unspoken consortium interests”.

What is so feared??

What is it one the horizon brewing that brings this urgency?

Why is the faction accelerating the interest levels towards the Mottley Clan, even in the face of obvious push back to Mottley for various reasons.

What is being championed here?

More of the same?

Under the guise of the Power of Recall? to get the populace to believe that there will be some move towards enfranchisement?

Yet, incredibly, there is no document upon which said fallacy of Recall is being proposed!!

But people are supposed to go on Change dot org and sign that they support this so called change?

WTF!!

Forgive my french but are we bajans so stupid that you can telegraph this punch to us and we just stand here motionless??

You said “Dear ALL: It is my intention to start to draft the petition a regarding this matter over the weekend…

What you should have written is “Dear All: we have already drafted the petition regarding our direction per the outcome of this matter AND, because we are fearful of the tangent of thought that Mr. Jeff Cumberbatch is floating here, albeit subliminally, he is someone that we need to deflate his readership on this blog and in the newspapers because he is making people look too closely”

So my subliminal post is as follows “since Jeff will not take the lead….!!!”

Incredible, since Jeff Cumberbatch, the man who is simplifying the constitution in terms that we ingrunt bajans can unnerstan Cricket “will not take the lead…”

Indeed this is a Martin Niemoller moment in reverse

First they came for the Communists and I did not speak out because I was not a Communist Then they came for the Socialists, And I did not speak out, Because I was not a Socialist
    Then they came for the trade unionists, And I did not speak out, Because I was not a trade unionist
    Then they came for the Jews, And I did not speak out, Because I was not a Jew
    Then they came for me, And there was no one left, To speak out for me

In your inverted version “Jeff Cumberbatch, one of the most knowledgeable men per the Constitution anywhere in the Caribbean, is in your words, “not speaking out” so Heather Cole spurred on by the mandate of the people, having like Joan of Arc, had a vision, at 11.43 where “the plan”, a revealed by the Mottley Clan “is to get it out to Government, Opposition, the people of Barbados, all the islands..” and share with them what again??

Unlike the rest of the rabble Mrs Cole, you need to stop stating that it can be done and share with us, how you, contrary to the viewpoint given by Jeff as to its process, if not difficulty, explain how you are going to do it, other than this fancy pen pal letter that people, not knowing what they are signing up for, and not having discussed whatever it is, in the least instance, will sign, with the Quixotic hope that 50K signatures, will make Mia Mottley or any government, adhere to a Recall Law.

Just as an administrative detail, how do you propose to confirm that each online signee is who they say they are?

Certainly you guys even armed with the electoral dbf have no means to validate any name at the point of signing?

Here is what Change .org display when you use a VPN to trick the site.

Error 1005 Ray ID: ******** • 2016-04-15 04:54:18 UTC Access denied

The owner of this website (www.change.org) has banned the autonomous system number (ASN) your IP address is in (15003) from accessing this website.

So I have shown you what the site does when firewalls and VPN are used just to highlight this point to the readers who may be inclined to do your, I am looking for a word, other than chicanery…..help me please.

How Does Steve propose to stop abuse if signers do not use their own names? Does he/the BLP propose, in addition to harvesting the names and email address and phone numbers of petitioners, thereafter use that dbf to run your secondary campaigns with the potential voters?

Oh yes, will you be telling the users that when a person signs “a petition regarding this matter” according to you and they clicks the “submit,”button that if the user, does or does not use the check box that says “Keep me updated on this campaign” that Charge org, for a fee, will then send your and my e-mails directly to the person, in this case the BLP, organising this national Advocacy Campaign??

You “principals” are tainted with the “Blood of the Christ” and irrespective of what you do, you cannot wash your hands like Pilate did.

46. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Violet Beckles

I am not sure what you mean by ”getting the picture here.” I have done a lot of talking. Some nice, some not so nice, some cussy, some not so cussy. What is consistent with me is that I am not interested in the politics of the DLP or BLP, but in the politics that intends to serve the entire island of Barbados and not the pockets of a few at the expense of the many. If there is land fraud that you have the facts on, then start your poster protest in simple language and catchy phrases to sensitive all to these developments that really needs a deeper investigation. This can be done without any slanderous or negative material. And Yes, I have referred to the Ds and Bs in the most unflattering language from my four words bad words vocabulary. That is only because such descriptions are fitting to their behaviour. if you are serious about seeing Barbados change its bipartisan governance that is more interested in serving and looking after loyalties rather than developing a system of governance that is respectable, well organized and systematic, timely and evolving to the beat of a changing environment, then voice your cry for change is a poster protest.

My Sweet Piece

I did not do that. I asked a good friend in IT if he can put together something for me and he said no problem. Just give him the hints, do not want nothing fancy and he came up with that. He is very good. Will ask him to show me how to use this CS6 thingie. He is working on about three more, unfortunately, nothing comes without a price so he wants me to go to dinner with him as long as it is not a date and he do not expect me afterwards to come to his place or he mine for what he thinks would be after dinner dessert.

Heather

Unfortunately, I have to agree with some of what piece has said. The first thing that stood out was your excitement to indicate what you are about to do. I am not sure if the posters cause you to feel a sudden urge or boost, but I started to wonder about that lobby Mia thing. It is clear that you are not supporting the D’s if not you would have said, I will seek to lobby the current PM and hope that he responds. I can only assume from that statement that you are closer to Mia and probably a supporter of her, more than you have led on here. You told me you are a supporter of the people. Mia and Freundel Stuart are people two, but I am not in support of their style of politics nor the manner in which both have executed it. You can serve whoever you like, but if you are not serving any real cause but your own or the interest of some political party, please do so without trying to rope what we are trying to do here, so it can serve you and your interests. That would be selfish as it would be deceitfully wicked. I like what you stand for, I hope its for a worthy cause and not a camouflage one.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Heather…here is one problem at the judiciary. The government absolutely refuse to appoint more judges, as I understand it, parliament should be the one giving the chief justice the tools he needs to prevent backlogs, too many adjournments and the appointment of many more judges. ..here is where yhe people need to take a serious stand.

In saying that, people are wondering why Justice Randall Worrell’s cases seem to have no end, his cases are adjourned for years on end and people have a problem with him not seeming to be able to move a case forward.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/04/15/over-30-on-bail/

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And Heather, since I been on here, I have seen many pretenders…Mia Mottley is part of the problem.

If you gcan et her to become part of the solutions for the judiciary, the corruption, the insurance scams, the disenfranchisement of the people for self-enrichment. …that would indeed be THE significant change.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

*get her…to instead become part of the solutions.

50. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

Here is my second poster. I have three that he did for me but will put them up at different intervals.

https://imgur.com/9HPUWi5

Remember SAME also means— Selected At My Expense…and you know the My means all of us. Where under two CJ’s all that has been done is to keep the practice of the judiciary the same.