Solutions_BarbadosManaging our national economy is the most important job in Barbados. It also carries the greatest risk for us since failure at this job can send most of us into poverty. Remarkably, managing our national economy requires no qualification of competence.

Most of us are too busy working and managing our family and business affairs to pay much attention to how well our managers are performing. We have grown accustomed to the party in opposition accusing the party in government of mismanaging the economy, and the government’s response that they are doing a good job. We have learnt to treat it like a game, and approximately every 5 years, we get to decide whether to switch their roles and give the other party a turn at the top.

Both parties are similarly competent. They may have differing priorities on where to spend our money, but they both manage to over-spend it and accumulate massive debts in our name. We rarely check the books to see how they are performing, and most of us do not bother to understand terms like GDP and Deficits. We just want to believe that they know what they are doing, while we try to live our lives as best as we can.

After repeated IMF warnings and repeated downgrades by international rating agencies, perhaps the time has come for us to examine our books. Perhaps we should pay attention to the Caribbean examples of Guyana and Jamaica, who were recently the most prosperous Caribbean countries, but who over-spent and accumulated a debt pattern similar to our own. Much of the populations of these countries were reduced to poverty because of their leaders’ failures. If Barbados’ economy is not better managed very soon, then our children may be destined to read this part of our history with disgust.

There is another job that requires no qualification of competence, namely, the business owner. Successful business owners can confirm that they may experience years of failure before they attract enough customers to afford to employ more than one person. Employers are forced to learn from their many and inevitable failures because they are risking their own money.

Successful political candidates have to manage the nation’s business, including over 20,000 employees and over 2 billion dollars in revenues. However, 50 years of evidence reveals that the managers of our national economy have not learnt from their failures. The likely reason is that they did not have to, because they were not risking their money, but ours. The public is invited to a free public lecture on whether a case can be made for a third established political party in Barbados to properly manage the nation’s business. The lecture is scheduled for Thursday 7th April 2016 at 6:00 pm in the Combermere School Hall. All are welcomed.

Grenville Phillips II
Founder, Solutions Barbados
www.SolutionsBarbados.com

53 responses to “Solutions Barbados, Come Hear us on Thursday 7th April 2016”

1. Both the economies of Guyana and Jamaica were in shambles eons ago. Their currencies are still devalued. They are not following Barbados it is the other way around. Barbados is going down the road to economic disaster as they did decades ago

2. The following is an excerpt taken from the Monday, January 15, 2007 edition of the Barbados Advocate:

There is a crisis in the middle class of Barbados. That is the charge from Chris Sinckler, Democratic Labour Party candidate for St. Michael North West, as he addressed a meeting of the St. Philip North branch at the St. Philip Primary School last evening.

“There is a crisis in the middle class of Barbados. The middle class in Barbados is under siege. They are under siege from high fuel prices, they are under siege from increasing mortgage interests, they are under siege from increases in inflation, and they are under siege because they real income is low. I am telling you as a middle class person, that they are middle class people in Barbados living on credit,” he said.

He further contended that contrary to popular belief, black Barbadians are not controlling the economy of Barbados. What has been happening in Barbados is a reconstitution of economic wealth in the hands of a few and he added they are, through their mismanagement, also losing their command on society.

The above was stated in 2007 by Sinckler when he was a DLP candidate for the 2008 general elections. If it were under other circumstances, some people would assume the goodly gentleman is a prophet. Because in 2016, with Sinckler as Minister of Finance, the same still holds true, ceteris paribus.

I wonder how Sinckler would react if similar sentiments were mentioned to Sinckler

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art…when politicians are elected, they forget all their previous soothing words pre election and strictly focus on honing their skills of lying….to maintain their new found status.

It’s a given when governments screw up an economy, the backbone of that economy, the middle class, will be wiped out and reduced to poverty.

Mistakes to learn from…big mistakes…below, but will they.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/79799/plasma-blow

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

More mistakes to learn from…the young people want the bribers and bribe takers in government and the business community GONE from Barbados…get lost criminals.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/79788/corruption-innovation

5. Well Well & Consequences April 6, 2016 at 5:23 AM #

“Art…when politicians are elected, they forget all their previous soothing words pre- election and strictly focus on honing their skills of lying….to maintain their new found status.”

@ WW&C

Yes, WW&C, the specific reason why I posted that contribution, was to indicate to Grenville that politicians, (according to leader of the Chihuicahui Indians, Cochise) “speak with forked tongue.”

I hope Grenville remembers this fact and that he or members of his party should not ARTICULATE promises to the populace, they do not have any INTENSION of FULFILLING.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Definitely Art…the mistakes to learn from are numerous and huge.

Here is a blow by blow of Del Mastros incarceration, future 4 months of house arrest and 18 months of probation, no waltzing around the island with air of superior ity and bullshit pretense. Will the politicians learn now, I think not….very good reading material, for the pokiticians.

http://ow.ly/10m21e

NEXT….Panama Leaks.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Oh and the comment in the posted Del Mastros article, at the bottom….are fantastic…lol

8. @ WW&C

Speaking with “forked tongues” also extends to political party members and supporters. Take former DLP candidate and “king maker” Hartley Henry for example. Recall prior to the 2008 general elections, he was a resident columnist for the Daily Nation and wrote a weekly column entitled: “Under the Microscope.” I hope NationBLPnewspaper remembers as well.

The following is an excerpt from Henry’s column in the Thursday, January 11, 2007 edition of the Daily Nation:

“I have no interest in creating enemies for Barbados. But I must reiterate that despite S&P’s ratings, the ordinary Barbadian faces high costs of living, poor public transportation, lack of access to land and housing and a deterioration of public services like the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

If you were to read Henry’s article in its entirety, he was suggesting that S&P favourable outlook on Barbados’ economy at that time was erroneous, since LIFE in Barbados was MUCH “HARDER” than the rating agency would want Barbadians to BELIEVE.

Now the DLP forms the government, they have taken a similar position in “rating” S&P’s analyses, to wit: S&P (or any other rating agency) are NOT being TRUTHFUL or ACCURATE in its ANALYSES and APPLICATION of credit ratings between 2008 and 2016.

This is evidenced by Stuart’s response re: “……what they say HAS as MUCH value as what you would see in any GARBAGE DUMP collected by the Sanitation Services Authority,” when, in June 2014, Moody’s downgraded Barbados’ credit ratings.

However, it is interesting to note the variables Henry listed (“the ordinary Barbadian faces high costs of living, poor public transportation, lack of access to land and housing and a deterioration of public services like the Queen Elizabeth Hospital”) remain the same in 2016, ceteris paribus.

Yet this DLP administration is now saying that, despite these VARIABLES REMAINING the SAME, (and in some cases becoming worse), life in Barbados is NOW MUCH BETTER than S&P would want Barbadians to BELIEVE.

Henry also wrote:

“It is a pity that the powers that be DID NOT have GENUINE TWO-WAY CONVERSATIONS with the PEOPLE of Barbados. Had they attempted this, they would have discovered that beyond the CLIQUE of “fat cats” with whom they ASSOCIATE, life in Barbados is not what it seems.”

When I read the above, the “first thing that came to mind” was a noticeably silent Freundel Stuart who, along with parliamentarians, prefer to speak to the DLP faithful within the comfort of constituency branch meetings, rather than address the Barbadian populace.

The “clique of fat cats” REMAINS, but the new MEMBERS now wear yellow. Leroy Parris, Hal Gollop, Mark Maloney, Bjorn Bjerkhamn, Bizzy, C.O Williams readily comes to mind.

Grenville, you gine gots to stay clear uh dese type uh t’ings, lest you be characterized under the same column as the BLP and DLP.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art…..but karma will get them all for speaking with forked tongues, the usual named suspects are all enemies of the people….the same thing and worse happened under Henry’s tutelage of DLP.

We just have to wait patiently going forward for justice to go through those 11 million Panama Leaks documents and find any links or laundered money passing through any US corresponding banks and Karma will be delivering arrest warrants to the Eastern Caribbean

The politicians, their yardfowls and pimps are forktongued beasts, but Karma has the remedy.

10. Why does Solutions Barbados need to hold a town hall meeting to justify their presence on the political scene ?Should just get on the road and do the work.This meeting cannot substitute for footwork.

11. Dear Heather:

That is my point – we are following Guyana and Jamaica to ruin.

Dear Artax:

We recognise the risk of some candidates not doing what they promise. To address this risk, each candidate should sign a contract with some agency to pay, say, $5M if they do not vote in accordance with Solutions Barbados’ published platform. Therefore, they either vote as they had promised us or they go bankrupt. You may suggest a reputable agency that will enforce the contracts.

Dear Suck:

The footwork will only come if we can justify an established 3rd party. Tomorrow, the case justifying a third established political party in Barbados will be made in its entirety, without the time constraints of a radio interview, or the space constraints of a newspaper article. If the case cannot be successfully made to those present, then that may be fatal to any potential third party in Barbados.

Clearly, the bar for establishing additional political parties in small countries should be set high, in order to avoid mass confusion during election time.

Best regards,
    Grenville

12. Besides social media how have you publicized the meeting in traditional media? Call the talk shows etc.

13. Solutuions,

I think you need not justify anything.Taking your hat and throwing it in the ring is justification enough.Sir , the problem with current politics is that form outweighs function.You need not prove your form sir, just to perform is sufficient.

14. Just heard Corey read your email Grenville keep it going. You should call tomorrow and reinforce.

15. I have no beef with politicians who speak with forked tongues, it is reserved for the masses who too often forget that politicians are …politicians. Nothing more, nothing less.

Is it not sad that after all that has happened since we began swapping Twiddle Dee for Twiddle Bee, there has to be a lecture seeking to justify the formation of a third party. If that is not self evident after all this time, why bother now?

Does the present circumstances indicate that one or two, eloquent scholars or astute businessmen, could easily hop the next gravy train to Trafalgar?

Call me cynical but I strongly believe that there is no saviour to be found in politics.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Raw Bake….I believe people are very tired of the same old tired faces of politicians attached to the same old tired looking corrupt business prople attached to the same old lies and corruption.

A third party of politicians, while still being politicians, would be extreme asses to come with the same old tired lies and corruption, in this newly enlightened environment, where most people hate and distrust politicians.

17. Why has the BCA schedule a BCA meeting to clash with Grenville’s meeting? Perhaps the new CEO Barney Lynch does not think the SB meeting is of sufficient significance.

18. Bajan Sunshine Avatar
    Bajan Sunshine

Great, just what Barbados needs, A third party made up of flunkies with a law background from UWI. Central planning just doesn’t work. Barbados needs to invent something that the rest of the work wants, The worlds 1% have already been there done that for Barbados, and the 99% are going to Cuba next..

19. Believe me when I say that they is a particular measure if is put in place can:- reduce crime – increase business opportunity-decrease- increase production. Why can’t leaders think of it.
    Will say more later

20. Kammie Holder Avatar

Looking forward to your meeting. Hope you can take the many suggestions that will be made by those in attendance. Sometimes, those who have the vision to start the project just don’t have the tact or tenacity to grow the idea and may need to set aside. Grenville, hope you can deal with the aforementioned!

21. Kammie Holder Avatar

Heard BIM launches tonite on Facebook.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

Come hear “US” speak?
    It isn’t clear to me who “US” is?

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

Puerto Rico Governor Alejandro Garcia Padilla has signed an emergency bill allowing the government to halt debt payments until January 2017, throwing into doubt broader restructuring plans to stave off a financial collapse of the U.S. territory.

24. @NorthernObserver

Refer to the Cuba blog, Cuba is a pitching star, PR is falling.

The information about is that Grenville will speak.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

I spent too many years working in Cuba. Their lack of infrastructure, both physical and operational will limit them for now.
    My point on PR was a ‘debt solution’…just pull the plug and phuck everybody. Bloggers are frequently reviewing ‘debt options’.

Mr.Phillips remains a Lone Wolf. To be serious, time has come for him to present an image of support beyond himself. Sounding like come-sing-a-song.

26. The problem of debt in Puerto Rico is the same as for Barbados, conspicuous consumption. below average productivity and lack of innovation.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

LOL…the problem of debt is spending consistently more than you collect in revenue. You can choose to explain those expenditures however you wish? Or the collection shortfalls however you wish?

28. Correct NorthernObserver was drilling down to key causal factors.

29. I just read the BIM Facebook page. It is made clear that he will be ruling with the hand of God.
    I also notice that Solution’s “lecture” is hosted by Walbrent College. You just can’t make this up.

30. Did anyone attened Solutions Lecture? Is there any feedback?

31. @ Enuff I could not find BIM on facebook. Could you please post the link.

32. So weh de updates and reports, milord?

33. The case for a 3rd established political party has been made
    8 April 2016 nextparty246

Dear All:

Thank you to all who attended last night’s lecture (7 April 2016) hosted by Walbrent College. No one appeared to disagree that the case for a third established political party in Barbados had not been made. With that issue settled, we now move forward to directly engaging the public.

For those overseas who missed the event, the presentation is linked below. As usual, we are available to respond to any queries.

Best regards,

Grenville Phillips II

Solutions Barbados Presentation 7 Apr 2016

34. Kammie Holder Avatar

FROM THE FACEBOOK PAGE OF LISA ELCOCK:

So last night I went to the launch of the Solutions Barbados Party. Here is my assessment:

The session was poorly attended generally but given the general culture of Barbados that wasn’t terribly out of the ordinary.

I found that the Presenter Mr. Grenville Phillips was heavy on substance, shared a great deal of information and attempted to be analytical. I appreciated that. We are in short supply of that often times.

But, he was short on analysis but strong on assumptions. His attempts to cross correlate the economies of Jamaica and Guyana to the current situation in Barbados was on one hand useful, but on the other based on fundamentally flawed assumptions. The only variable he used in his analysis were debt to GDP ratios. He attempted to show how over the post independence period in Barbados both Administrations had added increasingly spiraling debt and we are now at the tipping point. All those things may be true at face value and can be agreed with.

But again, he offered no additional variables into his analysis. Was the debt for consumption; was there an increase in social welfare expenditure that wasn’t supported by economic expansion? Was any of the debt directed towards capital infrastructure which in turn would have resulted in a need for some kind of input-output analysis? What was the value of economic diversification and investments in expanding the size of the economy which was absorbed initially as debt but converted into revenue later? He offered just absolute figures. I thought he needed to dig deeper and offer greater analysis.

He continues to focus heavily on the economy and the need to treat it as a business. He presented a number of areas he felt should be priority. These included, family based businesses, lover tax rates (income and corporation), investment in agriculture etc. He also proposed changes to the criminal justice system in terms of penalties. He proposed treating crime as a revenue generating mechanism except in cases of serious offenders.

I didn’t have a fundamental difficulty with many of his proposals – in principle.

But, what I did notice was that I every single issue he raised, and every solution he proposed was in some way a reflection of the media headlines of issues which somewhere along the way, were raised as issues. I have no doubt that many of these things are issues, but I put it on the table that the innovation and creative vision of a nation must be broader than the scope of the media reporting of dialogue. I was looking for solutions that seemed innovative and discourse on issues that had been treated with superficially in the media and national dialogue being presented with much greater depth. So the national dialogue on our debt situation has been focused on investment attraction, fiscal consolidation and a couple other things. For a new party, let me see more than that which has been said already as part of the Solution. Show me that you are digging deeper, and further. Demonstrate to me that you have both breadth and depth. That you are looking at the broad scope of the issue but also digger into its multiple layers. Show me issues that we haven’t heard discussed at all, because we are committed to the traditional way of thinking but you have gone beyond that.

I didn’t see that from the presentation last night.

The room wasn’t full – far from it. But the Presenter did not command the room. Not even remotely so. Even with the amplification presented by the mic, he did not compel you to listen by any sense of intensity, earnestness or commanding aura to listen. His tone was low, projection weak and his presentation reminded me of that of a young geeky economist presenting at the Grand Salle for the first time – fairly comfortable with his material but nervous in s geeky way so he compensated by laughing at his own jokes…but no one else laughed with him.

When the question and answer stage rolled around, he had absolutely zero command of the room. One person threatened to hijack the meeting with a consistent barrage of questions. Phillips couldn’t get a word in edgewise. He had absolutely no presence. It was the audience who ultimately took control of the room and brought that person’s intervention to a close. That was a glaring indictment – for me- of a person aspiring to lead a nation.

He also did something that I likened to Donald Trump. No matter what people asked him, legalisation of marijuana, social policy, community development, CARICOM relations – he had the same answer; The country needs to be run like a business and the national debt was like the titantic and needed to be turned around. You could have asked him about the moon and stars, and his answer would have been the same. I found that unfortunate and a level of linear thinking that was as unattractive as no thinking at all.

Overall, by the time I left, I wasn’t enarmoured. I like him as a person immensely. I think he is incredibly qualified professionally. But, what he lacked in charisma, what he didn’t offer as an inspirational leader which said to a room wherever he stood – follow me – he did not, last night at least, make up for in substance or vision.

I left uninspired and still wanting more and better.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Kammie Holder

De ole man thanks you for your sound definitively unbiased evaluation of the session which, as I read the powerpoint presentation, conveyed to me very little by way of the ambiance that you have been able to put in words.

You have said it all really, Grenville the II his heart is in the right place but…

We are not to be disheartened by this seeming disconnect of sorts.

In fact the mere fact that he went there, irrespective of his “depth” in certain matters, speaks in such a quiet corner of a few people in the audience, to the burning desire of the Bajan Public for change.

And not change for the same thing either.

People just plain tired and disillusioned with “more of the same”, be it BLP or DLP.

We tired of changing names for thieves and arrogant illiterates and square pegs in round holes.

THere is no silver bullet of that we can be sure but we need a refreshing and a hope which does not come from the infected bowels of the DLP and the BLP.

I will even put this to you that even the established community of white businesses which traditionally have done the cross pollination and incest you know, Bizzy supporting the DEMS and COW the BLP, even they are afraid and want solutions.

When white people get old and the melanin starts to dissipate out of their skin, they do not want to be in America or England or Australia forging new lives as non whites, tek it from de ole man, it destroys their images of themselves.

So they want to preserve Barbados for completely different yet valid reasons.

Who is next?

Walter, Caswell and Jeff C. want nothing to do with it so where do we go from here?

36. Hi Kammie:

I appreciate and will work on the criticisms for the next public event. For completion, please note the following.

It was a lecture, not a political speech. The aim was deliberately not to convince anyone through persuasive rhetoric. Rather, they were to be convinced by the simple presentation of the evidence.
    The economic indicators presented were limited to the critical indicators used by Moody’s to downgrade our economy, and by the IMF to warn us that our economy was not being well managed.
    The IMF recommends a debt ceiling of 40% GDP for emerging economies like ours. We are now over 135% GDP, following Guyana and Jamaica which were ‘wrung out’ by the IMF. Neither Moody’s, S&P, or the IMF care about the why. They are concerned that we exceeded the specified ceiling.
    We exceeded the 40% debt ceiling after the Sandiford administration not because we had to because of hurricane damage. But because we wanted to ‘punch above our weight’. We wanted to grow faster than we could afford to – which was both unnecessary and reckless. Now we are at the brink of facing the consequences.
    I was thinking about limiting persons’ time at the mike, but people, including yourself and the unemployed woman, wanted to unburden themselves. I let all speak. I formally closed the event after 2 hours so that those who wanted to leave could do so without disruption. I then remained for a further 3 hours until all discussion had been exhausted.
    Some wanted us to represent their issues on: removing ‘royal’ from the RBPF, legalizing marijuana, non-residents voting, etc. On these and similar issues that were not hindering Barbados’ development, we did note that what was important at this time was to turn the ship of state around by growing the national economy, and the most prepared people to grow a national economy are those who have grown a local economy.
    It is not the national debt that is the Titanic, it is Barbados – the ship of state. The inability of Barbados to pay its debts is the iceberg, and the IMF’s stabilization programme is the consequence. Neither party has shown that they can get positive returns on deficit investments (and spending borrowed money that gets added to the national debt is illusory growth – or structurally deficient, according to Moody’s).

Best regards,
    Grenville

37. Bajans do not want change as long as they have a big house a car or SUV food on the table nuff nuff entertainment and the occasional vacation/shopping spree to Miami ,They are absolutely HAPPy
    the rest of wunna that needs change can save wunna breath. The closest wunna gonna ever get to change in the ole age is the diaper and denture

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Grenville II

No one doubts that you are committed to the change that is needed.

None have at any point even hinted at any personal indiscretions or made any ad hominem remarks about if you beat women and anything other yet!!

I say yet because, as soon as the bell rings, the incident where you might have told a saleslady at Roberts that she gave you the wrong change will be converted to “Grenvill has an outside woman wukking at Roberts who is his outside woman and has 3 baby fuh he. And he was quarrelling with her at her work place the other day over $300 in cock tax)

Everyone including Bacca and La knows generally that we are spending more that we earn and while we dont know how to disaggregate that info like you and your gurus, what we want to see is not all the talk about IMF and what that will mean.

We want solutions, concrete solutions.

What have you ever done to show that you can not only decrease expenditure in the customary way, but by way of generating growth and new industries and new income?

Give us an example Grenville

Right now, today, armed with nothing other than your ideas, show us that you can take pure ideas and nice talk and mek a ting wuk!!

You have two years.

Show an ole man like me how you, without nuffin but you ideas can mek employment fuh 100 people in de nex year, outta de air.

Dat is whu we talking bout Grenville menses and wumens dat without any resources are able to show that they can do something and not just talk bout it.

We need action men and women, not has beens like 30 years of Mia Mottley 16? in power and 14 out of power and whu has she got to show that she innovative?

You feeling de ole man?

Faith without works is dead.

And befo you start dis initiative tell we whu you plan to do give us a blue print so that we know what your objectives are and when you achieve them we know that this was planned and if you fail partially we know why that happened and if you fail completely we also know that you have a plan Grenville II

Other than that get out the way (I nearly said a cusss word but Pieter Pieper tell me dat I vulgar so i gine try not to effing cuss and show how vex I am wid de jobby.

39. Granville is from ole school,the same political rhetoric something like bush tea until reality stares them in the face and all the sweet sounding ideas and practicalities become sounding brass and tinkling cymbals

40. Hi Piece:

I also train people to start and grow businesses without significant start-up capital. You may observe the results of the upcoming workshops as noted in the presentation.

Best regards,
    Grenville

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

Three times for April already? Three times and you are right?

As long as the majority of us have the vestiges of “comfort” the car, the house, the food, the trip twice a year to Murica, we do not want any change

It is a funny thing that even though the guts of so many people might be full tonight that, in a few months, with devaluation, all of our collective guts are going to be empty, through the ineptitude of your peoples.

I have been noticing something in your manner of speech though.

Barring your contention with Artaxerxes and Bush Tea, you are less bombastic with other bloggers and, in a few of your posts are agreeing grudgingly with what even you are seeing to be an inability of your George Street Colleagues to get things moving into the Black.

Such a shame AC when we love our country that it is only in pestilence and famine and plague that we grudgingly band around to stabilize it.

Sometimes you gotta loose to win again (Fantasia).

Neither the BLP nor the BLP have ever had Joseph’s we however laud our equivalents to Moses as in Barrow leading us out of British rule sort of.

Joseph ‘s equivalent would be the person(s) who would store up for the days of famine WHICH ALWAYS COME and both of you lack that vision and capacity, and have spent like there is no tomorrow.

I know that it is hard for you to do this but pause a while to discuss the Cahill fiasco with me in light of the failed international reports.

Imagine if the clowns Denis Kellman, Darcy Boyce, DownLowe and Stinkliar had been allowed to commit our finances to this fiasco?

Look at the Del Mastro shenanigan followed closely by this Overstock BittCom accident waiting to happen.

http://news.nationalpost.com/news/canada/canadian-politics/dean-del-mastro-charged-under-the-canada-elections-act

Look at what pops up on Del Mastro

“OTTAWA – Conservative MP Dean Del Mastro has resigned from the Conservative caucus after he and a campaign worker were charged with filing a false document and failing to report $21,000 in expenses from the 2008 election. The charges follow a two-year investigation by the Commissioner of Canada Elections.”

Tell me what is wrong with the cuntputers of we bajans, especially those of the DLP ministers that they are incapable of doing this type of google search where all you do is put in the persons name, followed by lawsuit?

Look at what popped up on Overstock

“White Collar Fraud

There is a saying, “It takes one to know one.” I am a convicted felon, former CPA, and former criminal CFO of Crazy Eddie. Today, I teach law enforcement agencies and professionals how to identify fraud and train them to catch the crooks. This blog investigates white-collar crime, securities fraud, accounting irregularities, corruption, and other related topics. Accounting irregularities investigated by me are referred to appropriate government agencies as a whistleblower.”

“t’s now official: Overstock.com (NASDAQ: OSTK) defrauded consumers. Late Friday afternoon, a California Judge issued a tentative ruling in favor of district attorneys from eight California Counties who had sued Overstock.com for engaging in fraudulent comparative pricing practices. The Judge imposed a civil penalty in the amount of $6.819 million and approved issuance of an injunction to prevent Overstock.com from continuing its deceptive practices. To make matters worse, Overstock.com will have to reimburse the State of California possibly millions of dollars for legal fees, investigative costs, and other costs”

http://whitecollarfraud.blogspot.co.at/2014/01/california-judge-rules-slaps.html

and here is the Ruling

https://www.scribd.com/doc/195875655/People-of-the-State-of-California-vs-Overstock-com-Tentative-Ruling-and-Proposed-Statement-of-Decision

AC, i want you to be honest with me and answer me this question.

If either of these fellows were to come to you and say just for example “divorce your husband (the one who your arch enemy said ran off to Arizona) and marry them”, would you entertain their offer?

Then pray tell me, why everyone of these people who the DLP say are going to “change the FOREX fortunes of Barbados overnight”, why when every one of them is shown to be a crook, and their criminal records are online, for even the blindest man to see, why is it that your George Street pals does swallow up the jobby so easily?

42. Granville Sir tell joe and Mary Q public how would you manage barbados debt problem and create growth
    What areas of the economy would be on the chopping block if necessary to control the debt
    Would you be in favour of Privitization
    What about transparency legislation.
    As barbados heavily relies on Tourism as its main source of revenue. How and if possible would solutions initiate policies that would be designed to diversify the economy

Sir your response to those questions would be appreciated

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Grenville II

You seem to have missed my point.

I am not really interested in who you train informally.

De ole man used was to train young peeple in Sunday School studies befo’ my fall from the seats of the Saints but that does not translate in “Go out into the highways and hedges, and compel them to come in, that my house may be filled…”

What you are talking about is playing it safe in the protected environment of your office and home and places where the theory sounds good.

Not Grenville, I am not talking about hiding the candle under a bushel.

I talking bout you going to the newspaper next week monday and putting your money where your mouth is.

I Grenville the 2nd being of sound mind do hereby pledge to the people of barbados that i will take 100 small business entrepreneurs on board AND, because of my superior skills and ability to deliver, I will transform these men/women into viable business in a year.

Furthermore, i will so craft this programme that it will include and impact on every significant sector of the Barbados economy that my pretty presentation at Cawmere hath spoken to, so help me GOD.

In fact any one uh wunna who say so and, show how wunna kin do dat instead of talking bout it like Donville Inniss and Short me Crutch Caesar, and Mottley too, any one uh wunna who can do that, with common menses and wummens, got my vote.

Unfortunately Grenville you and the rest of them CANT GET IT DONE, because you dont operate at that level you are a books and ideas man, who cant operationalize these programs and do not know how to mobilize to make it happen either

Kind regards
    De Ole Man Piece uh whatever wunna wants to call me tonight

44. Hi Piece:

I did not miss your point. Did you not read the presentation? I offered to do more than what you are requesting.

Best regards,
    Grenville

45. Hi AC:

Please review the presentation. I identified the emergency measures needed to turn the ship-of-state away from the current course of danger.

Best regards,
    Grenville

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Grenville, you are adopting a seemingly counter-intuitive approach to the ting called politics….What exactly are you trying to achieve.

The issue is obviously not your talent and intelligence as so ably noted by others who have listened to you or read your submissions. The issue is that politics is not played by your moral rules and well coordinated presentation re ‘Case for a 3rd Established Party’ .

What exactly are you trying to achieve…Are you being an activist and bringing these important issues to the forefront in a strong and insightful lecture series?

Who are you trying to convince of a need for a 3rd party…and what are they to do if you are successful?…. What is the time-line for you to make your decision on this 3rd party matter?

You approach this as you approach other issues in your life…conceptualize, frame it, plan and execute…but this involves thousands of other people not just you. Do they have your sense of purpose, focus and dedication to completion?

The Bajan electorate is sophisticated sir. At this point if your question is about the choice for a 3rd Party then you are obviously marking time awaiting some other dynamic.,,

It is clear that the NEED is there but do you have the skills, support and team to incite the enthusiasm and conviction to get thousands of the electorate to accept and embrace that need.. how will you show us that a new party will chart a different course.

This looks absolutely good for social activism and inciting change on issues for which you are passionate but in your current posture it has limited to zero chance of success as a political venture whose objectives would be all about winning seats in our House of Assembly far less running the government.

I ask again sir, what EXACTLY are you trying to achieve?

47. Sir i read your emergency measures but they are not being specific in addressing the issues I asked in my query what is your position on Privatization and to which i will now added do you /solutions believe that Privatization is a necessary or crucial remedy to bringing down the debt ?Yes or NO
    Sir i would appreciate a straightforward and honest answer exempt of any other ideas

48. Hi DPD:

Since I went on Brass Tacks Sunday over one month ago, the issue of whether a 3rd party was necessary has been in the news and publicly commented on by academics, political scientists, politicians, radio moderators, editorial pages, and newspaper columnists, most of whom thought that another party was not necessary. It was necessary to resolve that issue.

Walbrent College hosted a free public lecture and discussion on the topic. I lectured and the audience listened. The audience then spoke and I listened and engaged them in discussion. With that issue put to bed, it is now time to engage the public.

Hi AC:

In the emergency measures, I noted that we should privatize the transportation and sugar industries – which the Government sort of nationalized and has been unable to run profitably.

Best regards,
    Grenville

49. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

OK Grenville my error…or maybe your style…not sure….I am not concerned, never was or confused about the need for a 3rd party.

After reading your presentation and the detailed commentary from one of the attendees at your April 7th lecture I was still left unclear of exactly what you accomplished and more important what you are trying to accomplish.

But you explained. You needed to validate the need for a 3rd party via the lecture. Mission accomplished. And now you move on to stage two: engage the public.

Redundant and pedantic but… I am still left unclear of exactly what you are trying to accomplish.

But as is said Rome was not built in a day!