PRESSย  RELEASE Issued by the PEOPLESย  EMPOWERMENTย  PARTY, DAVIDย  COMISSIONG, President, Peoples Empowerment Party
David Comissiong, President, Clement Payne Movement

If Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has his way, Barbadians will be virtuallyย  the only people on the face of the earth who are obligated to be fingerprinted by their own Government every time they attempt to leave their own country or to return to their own country!

No American citizen is fingerprinted by the US Government when he or she attempts to leave or return to the USA! No British citizen is fingerprinted! No Canadian citizen! No Trinidadian, Jamaican, Cuban, Venezuelan, Chinese or Indian citizen is fingerprinted by their Government when they attempt to leave or to return to Trinidad, Jamaica, Cuba, Venezuela, China or India!

So why does Mr. Freundel Stuart and his Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Administration wish to fingerprint Barbadians every time they travel, and who do they propose to give those collected fingerprints to?

If it hasnโ€™t been said before, let me be the first to declare it:- Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s so-called โ€œImmigration (Biometrics) Regulations, 2015โ€ are a national disgrace!

Every conceivable thing that could be wrong with and about these Regulations that Mr. Stuart has purported to make is wrong!

To begin with, the โ€œpoliticsโ€ of the so-called โ€œRegulationsโ€ are wrong! In a supposedly free and democratic society, Stuart chose to foist these โ€œRegulationsโ€ on an unsuspecting populace without any advance notice or public discussion! Just imagine โ€“ โ€œRegulationsโ€ that purport to denude the citizenship rights of Barbadians and to substantially infringe Barbadiansโ€™ constitutionally guaranteed right of โ€œfreedom of movementโ€ are made in secret and without any reference to the Barbadian public!

Secondly, Mr. Stuart and his legal advisors are so inept that the โ€œRegulationsโ€ are also procedurally wrong! Apparently, Stuart and company were so intent on shrouding these โ€œRegulationsโ€ in secrecy that they failed to follow the clearly stipulated legal procedure for making such Regulations!

The โ€œRegulationsโ€ are also in breach of both the Constitution of Barbados and of fundamental principles of International Law that frown upon any measure that has the effect of prohibiting a person from being able to return to his or her native country.

It should be noted that the long established โ€œrightsโ€ of the Barbadian people in relation to this matter of their freedom to leave and return to their native country are as follows:-

ยทย ย ย ย ย  “Section 4 of the Immigration Act

1. A citizen has the right to enter Barbados.

2. A Permanent resident shall, so long as he continues to be a permanent resident, be permitted to enter Barbados.

3. The Minister (responsible for Immigration) may prohibit the entry into Barbados of any person other than a citizen or a permanent resident.”

ยทย ย ย ย ย  “Section 22 of the Constitution of Barbados

1. No person shall be deprived of his freedom of movement, that is to sayโ€ฆthe right to enter Barbados, the right to leave Barbadosโ€ฆ

3.ย ย ย  Nothing contained in or done under the authority of any law shall be held toย ย ย ย ย  be inconsistent with or in contravention of this section to the extent that the law in question makes provision โ€“

a) for the imposition of restrictions on โ€ฆ any personโ€™s right to leave Barbados that are reasonably required in the interests of defence, public safety or public order;”

(Note:- It should be noted from the foregoing that the Constitutional right of citizens of Barbados to enter Barbados is absolute and unfettered, while the right of citizens to leave Barbados may be restricted in the interest of defence, public safety or public order.)

Now, let us consider the details of and the circumstances surrounding the so-called Immigration (Biometrics) Regulations 2015. The facts pertaining to these Regulations are as follows:-

1) On the 17th of April 2015 Prime Minister Stuart โ€“ in his capacity as Minister Responsible for Immigration โ€“ formulated or โ€œmadeโ€ the so-called โ€œImmigration (Biometrics) Regulations, 2015โ€. (Please note that formulating or โ€œmakingโ€ regulations is just the initial step in the process of โ€œenactingโ€ regulations โ€“ they also have to be laid in Parliament and published in the Official Gazette.)

2) According to the text of the said Regulations, Stuart claimed to be acting under the power granted to him by Section 31 (g) and (h) of the Immigration Act to make regulations for โ€œprescribing the means to be taken for identifying persons suspected of being in Barbados contrary to the (Immigration) Actโ€ and for โ€œprescribing anything that is by this (Immigration) Act authorized or required to be prescribedโ€

(How fingerprinting Barbadian citizens can be a measure for โ€œidentifying persons suspected of being in Barbados contrary to the Immigration Actโ€ is anybodyโ€™s guess! Furthermore, none of the things that the Immigration Act authorizes or requires the Minister responsible for Immigration to prescribe appertain to fingerprinting Barbadians citizens whenever they attempt to leave or return to Barbados!)

3) The effect of Stuartโ€™s โ€œRegulationsโ€ as they pertain to citizens of Barbados traveling to and from Barbados is as follows:-

a) Where any person seeks to enter or depart from a port in Barbados, that person shall provide an immigration officer with biometric data (fingerprints, facial photographs, scan of the retina of the eye etc.) through the use of a biometric system.

b) The Chief Immigration Officer shall specify the type of biometric data that a person shall provide. (Note: The Chief Immigration Officer has already specified that Citizens of Barbados will be fingerprinted from 1st April 2016)

c) A citizen of Barbados who refuses to provide an immigration Officer with the specified biometric data (fingerprints) may be restrained from leaving the island.

d) A citizen of Barbados who complies with the request to provide the specified biometric data (fingerprints) when he leaves Barbados, but who refuses to comply with the request to provide the specified biometric data when he seeks to return to Barbados, shall be refused re-entry into Barbados.

e) A citizen of Barbados who, having refused to comply with the request to provide the specified biometric data (fingerprint) when he attempts to leave Barbados,ย  is still permitted by an Immigration Officer to leave the island, shall not be refused re-entry into Barbados.

(It is clear therefore that these Regulations BREACH the Constitutional right of Barbadian citizens to ENTER Barbados, and severely restrict our right to LEAVE Barbados!)

4) But that is not all there is to note about the Immigration (Biometrics) Regulations 2015! These Regulations, that Stuart formulated or โ€œmadeโ€ on 17th April 2015 , contain a total of 18 sections. No less than 12 of these 18 sections deal with storing the biometric data of Barbadian citizens (and non-Citizens), and with the conditions for making such data available to foreign and domestic state agencies and / or private agencies!

(This can only lead the citizens of Barbados to have serious doubts and reservations about the purpose of collecting their fingerprints whenever they leave and return to their country, and also about whose agenda the Stuart Administration is carrying out.)

5) So far as the procedural irregularities of the Regulations are concerned, it should be noted that the โ€œRegulationsโ€ that Stuart formulated or โ€œmadeโ€ on the 17th of April 2015 were โ€œmadeโ€ under the Immigration Act Chapter 190 of the laws of Barbados, and that Section 31 (3) of the said Immigration Act stipulates that all regulations made by the Minister responsible for Immigration โ€œshall be subject to negative resolution.โ€

The legal procedure for enacting โ€œregulationsโ€ that are โ€œsubject to negative resolutionโ€ is outlined in Section 41 of the Interpretation Act Chapter 1 of the Laws of Barbados as follows:-

โ€œ(2) โ€ฆthe expression โ€œstatutory periodโ€โ€ฆ shall mean a period of forty daysโ€ฆโ€

โ€œ(7) The expression โ€œsubject to negative resolutionโ€ when used in relation to any statutory instruments (such as regulations made under a Statute or Act of Parliament) shall mean that such instruments shall, as soon as may be after they are made, be laid before each House (of Parliament), and if either House, within the statutory period (of 40 days) next after such instrument has been so laid, resolves that the instrument shall be annulled, the instrument shall be VOID as from the date of the resolution โ€ฆโ€

And Section 16 (1) โ€“ โ€œEvery enactment (such as Regulations made under an Act of Parliament) shall be published in the Gazette and, unless the enactment otherwise provides, shall take effect and come into operation on the date of such publication,โ€

Thus, having “made” the Regulations on 17th April 2015, Mr Stuart was — BYย  LAW — obligated to lay them before the House of Assembly and the Senate, and to give the members of those two Houses of Parliament a period of forty (40) days to consider whether they wanted to bring and pass a Resolution to annul the said Regulations ! Mr Stuart was obligated to go through this procedure BEFORE he could publish the Regulations in the Official Gazette as the law of the land!

What Mr Stuart, in fact, did was to publish the Regulations in the Official Gazette of the 23rd of April 2015— a mere six (6) days after he “made” the Regulations! He thus breached the law by failing to lay the Regulations in Parliament and giving Parliament 40 days to consider whether to annul them! Indeed, he was only entitled to publish them in the Gazette as the law of the land IF they had been before Parliament for 40 days ANDย  Parliament had not passed a resolution annulling them!

Mr Stuart did not, in fact, “lay” the Regulations until the 15th of June 2015— some 53 days after he had already wrongfully published them in the Official Gazette as the law of the land. Once again, this was totally wrong, and in breach of the legal procedure outlined in the Interpretation Act !

On a procedural basis alone, therefore, the Immigration (Biometrics) Regulations 2015 are null and void and of no legal effect !

It should also be noted that the Regulations were laid so quietly and unobtrusively in Parliament on the 15th of June 2015 that not one of the several Opposition Parliamentarians that I have spoken to about this matter were aware that the Regulations had been laid in Parliament!

This entire matter is a total disgrace, and confirms that standards of governance and respect for the rights of the citizens of Barbados have plummeted significantly under the current DLP Administration.

In light of the fore-going, I now hereby call upon Prime Minister Freundel Stuart to — within the next seven (7) days — publicly affirm that the so-called Immigration (Biometrics) Regulations 2015 are a nullity and are of no legal effect !

Failure to do so will result in the instituting ofย  legal proceeding in the Supreme Court against the Government of Barbados in respect of this matter.

(A copy of the first page of the Gazette and of a number of the relevant sections of the Regulations is attached hereto โ€“ Click HERE)

139 responses to “The IMMIGRATION (BIOMETRICS) REGULATIONS 2015 are NULL, VOID and Un-Constitutional”

1. A government committed to being transparent would/should have canvassed this proposed law widely to the citizenry/civil society. The fact it proceeded as it did exposed the DNA of this government. One of secrecy.

2. ” No American citizen is fingerprinted by the US Government when he or she attempts to leave or return to the USA! No British citizen is fingerprinted! No Canadian citizen! No Trinidadian, Jamaican, Cuban, Venezuelan, Chinese or Indian citizen is fingerprinted by their Government when they attempt to leave or to return to Trinidad, Jamaica, Cuba, Venezuela, China or India!”

WHY BARBADOS ?

3. GREEN CARD HOLDERS ARE FINGER PRINTED ON RETURN TO THE US
    DONT KNOW ABOUT NATIONALS

4. Everytime I think about the way information from the file of one Lisa Marshall which would have been labeled CONFIDENTIAL wended its way into the pages of social media, all because she chose to take a stand, I shudder to think that Bajans seem not to recognize the damage that the tentacles of retaliation, especially when politically driven can do. This furore over time (like nine days or so) will go away, and some database will be created….only to be breached like the files of the transport board or those of the QEH.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“Failure to do so will result in the instituting of legal proceeding in the Supreme Court against the Government of Barbados in respect of this matter.” Hear ye, hear ye…let those among us of sane, rational mind stand up.

But, even if the legislation is annulled to be laid again properly we are yet still back to the original dilemma from Jeff C’s discussion 2 weeks ago: what will be the real action by the Stuart authorities if a Bajan refuses this privacy invasion? Both attorneys have clearly noted that citizens can refuse, so what happens: are people still going to have their rights trampled with arrest or threat of same?

Obviously its nonsensical and illegal to ‘deny’ re-entry to a resident citizen but why suggest this if it’s so glaringly wrong constitutionally! So will the government simply back down to avoid embarrassment during this period of Independence self-adulation …and how LOST are we re the gov’t actions…Is this governance not ‘BI-POLAR’…rather than Bi Democracy…

How can you herald the 50 year anniversary of INDEPENDENCE yet so boldly strip away that very freedom of choice with a proclamation of abject DEPENDENCE to new colonial international masters.

I paraphrase Ron Fournier in The Atlantic who said : “…I do know ..what comes next: A ๏ฌnal plunge into the abyss, or re-circling and renewal. The latter only comes if the [Bajan] public stops settling for demagogues like [Stuart] and half-measures like [Mottley]….

“Institutional disruption doesnโ€™t happen until more people vote and all voters demand major reforms. More competitive [constituency voting], transparency in campaign spending, and the elimination of election laws that allow two stale parties to operate without fear of competitionโ€”these and scores of other status-quo-busters are attainable if [Bajans] wake up and realize theyโ€™ve got the POWER.

6. US citizens biometrics are reviewed on return to the US. It is simply done by placing fingers on a scanner(compared to a national database) , photo taken and printed , then cleared by an Immigration Officer.

7. Does this fingerprint policy only apply when travelling to certain countries? Methinks that this is a โ€œgung hoโ€ approach meant to placate a certain country to the North of Barbados. Some bureaucrat or Govโ€™t Minister must have the wrong interpretation on the requirements as its not the norm for countries to finger print their own citizens when they depart or return to their own country.

Meanwhile this is whatโ€™s happening in our โ€œsunnyโ€ North

http://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2016/03/13/trudeau-quietly-agrees-to-share-info-on-canadians-with-us-walkom.html

8. You don’t want to be taking any fingerprints in case they match up to the ones on the govt cookie jar

9. It would appear to me that Barbadians because of our docile demure (not questioning our gender), are being targeted by this administration to impose every rule, regulation, mandate and behavioral control possible to curtails our freedom. Just check the amount of legislation that has gone to parliament in order to whip us into further docility. And meanwhile, not a murmur from the sheep.

10. Currently to be issued a Bdos passport , a photo is required ; going forward finger prints will be taken . Later E passports will be issued , all the aboved to improved security at ports of entry.

11. Sounds like just another little slide down the “problem-reaction-solution” provided slippery slope towards the globalists end goal of bringing Orwell’s 1984 vision to life.

12. I have no problem whatsoever of being finger printed when I leave and return to Barbados.I have nothing to hide.
    When these same Barbadians visit other countries,they must subject themselves to all type of body searches,finger printing,photo taking and must answer some of the most insinuating and embarrassing questions from foreign immigration and custom officers.
    I went to England a few years ago, I had to endure a series of searches of my luggage,photo being taken, finger printed as well as to answer some of the most insinuating and personal questions possible.In short,total humiliation a person must endured if that person wants to visit England and especially if you are Black or Non European.
    Anything that is being done to secure the borders of Barbados from undesirables this Black Barbadian will support.
    I will reiterate I have no problem whatsoever in being finger printed when I leave and return to Barbados.
    I hope this government does not back down from its intentions.

13. Is the issue about not having something to hide? This is simplistic reasoning. Are we concerned about the issue of civil liberty and invasion of property? What about how the database will be managed and shared with other players thus the implications.

14. @ Negroman

You must agree that every sovereign nation is within its rights to institute measures it sees fit in an effort to protect its borders from FOREIGNERS like us (this is what we become when we visit other countries).

As a result, we โ€œmust subject ourselves to all type of body searches, finger printing, photo taking and must answer some of the most insinuating and embarrassing questions.

When you visited England you had to endure such treatment because you were a foreigner, (yuh daon belong to de peeple place), and they were trying to protect their border โ€œfrom undesirablesโ€ like you. But, it would be interesting to know if, in your presence, Englandโ€™s border agents extended similar treatment to its citizens or citizens of the EU.

I understand and share similar sentiments relative to your comment: โ€œAnything that is being done to secure the borders of Barbados from undesirables this Black Barbadian will support.โ€ However, by your other comments, you seem to be suggesting that Barbadosโ€™ border agents should not only protect Barbados from foreigners, but from Barbadians as well.

In other words, you are essentially saying, the treatment you were given by Englandโ€™s โ€œimmigration and custom officers,โ€ while trying to enter England, should be similarly applied by Barbadosโ€™ โ€œimmigration and custom officersโ€ when you, as a Barbadian, are in the process of RE-ENTERING Barbados.

And as such, what you had to accept it in England, you are willing to accept in Barbados, even if such action violates your constitutional right as a Barbadian.

My friend, that is shiite thinking.

Remember, Shanique Myrie and the Caribbean Court of Justice made sure Caribbean nationals could freely travel inter-regionally without fear of being subjected to the treatment you ascribed to the โ€œforeign immigration and custom officers.โ€

15. Negroman, as you have nothing to hide, does that mean that the police, customs, immigration and whoever wishes can come into your home or your car and have a look around as they wish? Like you say, you have nothing to hide. I too have nothing to hide but THAT’S MY BUSINESS! and not the business of some government authority. People like you are the ones who encourage this government to continue on its merry way removing rights and privileges that citizens of this country have taken for granted from time immemorial.

16. David of BU it might be simplistic reasoning.Do you know what is done to your finger prints,photograph when you are fingerprinted and photograph when applying for a police certificate of character?
    Barbadians put all type of personal information of facebook and other social sites disregarding the implications having that information expose to the whole world.
    I believe for the greater good,personal rights and liberties should play second and third fiddle.These are dangerous times we are living in and all possible measures must be put in place to safeguard the nation of Barbados and its people.
    The same set of people who is lambasting this policy will be the first set to criticize and cuss the government if an international terrorist was to come into Barbados and carry out an act that threaten our security.
    We cannot have our cake and eat it too.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They should give a valid reason why it’s necessary to fingerprint citizens going and coming. Adriel Brathwaite came with a half explanation about fighting international terrorism with taxpayer’s money, is the fingerprinting tied to the Bajan born muslims on the islands who he believes are suspects, but it would be discriminatory to single them out only for printing so therefore all Bajan citizens are now targets to be printed…..give some explanation and make sure it’s a good one……who does these half assed government ministers believe they are….they owe the people an explanation.

Whose idea was it and why….what’s so hard about, all that silence makes it look like it’s a retaliatory tactic by the government, but who is it aimed at, we know it’s not aimed at the politicians orvtheir criminal friends and business part ners…so who iscreally being targeted…

More importantly, I noticed no one else is asking, but is any other Caribbean island doing this also and if not, then we will know it’s some half baked idea by another idiot politician and has nothing to do with the US, who gets bamed for all the bad things everywhere, whether they are behind them or not.

18. @Hants March 15, 2016 at 9:37 AM “No American citizen is fingerprinted by the US Government when he or she attempts to leave or return to the USA! No British citizen is fingerprinted! No Canadian citizen! No Trinidadian, Jamaican, Cuban, Venezuelan, Chinese or Indian citizen is fingerprinted by their Government when they attempt to leave or to return to Trinidad, Jamaica, Cuba, Venezuela, China or India!โ€ WHY BARBADOS ?

Because Hants some person or person or persons unknown believes that Barbados is a hotbed of ISIS and non-ISIS terrorism.

The same Bajans who are otherwise accused of being passive.

Passive terrorists.

Lolll!!!

19. The following excerpt can be found on page 47 of the DLPโ€™s 2008 election manifesto:

The DLP administrationโ€™s attitude to ACCOUNTABILITY will be based on the UNDERSTANDING that as SERVANTS and REPRESENTATIVES of the people THERE CAN BE NO SECRETS or MATTERS TO BE HIDDEN FROM THE POPULATION. Consequently, a DLP administration will be ACCOUNTABLE for its ACTIONS and POLICIES and TAKE the PUBLIC into its CONFIDENCE.

Under a DLP government, the people will be kept informed of what the government is doing on their behalf through:

โ€ข Press briefings by Ministries/Departments to inform Barbadians of major developments and changes

If this DLP administration were to live up to their promises as articulated in their 2008 election manifesto, then there will not be any need for Barbadians to become suspicious.

20. Based on what happened when tax returns were computerised, what are the chances of the 1st April launch of what is a complex IT related project going smoothly? How long is it likely to take to fingerprint the 1500+ air passengers who all arrive around the same time every Saturday afternoon? Hopefully there will be no problems but the last thing Barbados needs is keeping tourist arrivals hanging around for hours at the start of their holiday.

Apart from the US, I’m struggling to think of any other country which fingerprints visitors and returning residents on arrival and departure (and I’ve personally visited over 70) so tourists will be even more baffled by the process if it doesn’t go to plan.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Negroman

Let me disavow you of your blatant misinformed concept that you have regarding this myth of fingerprints.

Someone trying to gain entry into the cuntry Barbados, by illegal means, like a terrorist would have no problem using a non Bajan passport and one of several over the shelf tricks, to fool the biometric scanners at the airport and Humpty Dumpty from the Immigration department.

So say I falsify my Guyanese passport and I then use the classic “Gelatin (aka Gummi finger)
    or Silicon Gel I can fool the Immigration fingerprint scanner and gotten access to the island and by extension, I am able to leave BECAUSE YOUR FAITHFUL DUFUS HUMPTY DUMPTY FROM HARSUN COLLEGE DOES NOT HAVE ANY VALIDATING MECHANISM WITH GUYANASE AUTHORITIES!!

Arising from this hypothesis what would be the purpose of fingerprinting me IF THERE ARE NO BASELINE RECORDS TO VALIDATE MY NON BAJAN PASSPORT AGAINST.

Now let me just entertain your disturbing sense of nationalism euphemism for puerile reasoning, yours and that of the Dimwit Attorney General.

Let us suppose that I do want a Bajan passport badly enough. I scan the newpapers for a recently departed outstanding Bajan citizen and find whey dem buried, amputate dem hands and lift dem prints in sewing thimles, acquire “negatives”, transfer to “positives” which i place on my fingers using Loctite.

I am that dead man and unless the horpital records and death information does go to de Immigration department, I gine be dat dead man for as long as I decide to no longer use he fingers or I dead wid dem on.

Of course now dat wunna ingrunt fellers know bout de dead man’s bluff wunna shud add, dem names in wunna database. WHE WUNNA GET DE BILL PASS PROPERLY.

So all like now, me Bin Laden Cousin wukking pun de fingers ting and wunna, causing wunna got only dufuses up deah in de Ministry uh Home Affairs, and did not think this stupidness through, now have broadcast all wunna plans to de true enemies uh de United States.

Dat is why de Economic Officer and his staff of operative does call all uh wunna backwoods cvnts.

Now I wants you to answer me dis one Negroman, “he who so nationalistic” bout dese fingerprints en ting.

Whu is you thoughts bout “existing collusion”? Say dat we gots instances wif a Justice of the Peace and Humpty Dumpty for the $30,000 passport, dont dat get me a passport, and den de US Visa pun dem false fingerprints?

And Negroman, depending pun which type uh consumable gelatin I use, you do know dat my forged fingerprints may even fool de US fingerprint readers? I only gots to get into US Caymans or Puerto Rico

Doan mind me Negroman, I watch dat pun a replay uh CSI Miami last night, de ole man does mek up dese tings my man…

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Negroman March 15, 2016 at 11:16 AM
    โ€œI went to England a few years ago, I had to endure a series of searches of my luggage,photo being taken, finger printed as well as to answer some of the most insinuating and personal questions possible.In short,total humiliation a person must endured if that person wants to visit England and especially if you are Black or Non European.โ€

Aren’t you โ€˜niggardlyโ€™ ashamed of your own bold admission of visiting England?
    Why would you, niggaman, want to visit a country full of white people?
    You are the same negro who cusses the same white people in the most despicably racist language. You are on record as cussing not only whites but also East Indians and Chinese. Your viral fingerprints smudged with racist vilification are imprinted all over cyberspace.

You are just one sick MF with absolutely no shame and with a hypocritical set of double standards. Why cuss and denigrate white people and still want to visit their country? Why not stay in your black Barbados and avoid the ignominy and personal embarrassment you can expect given your racist views and behaviour?

You ought to thank your lucky stars that you were not held in a โ€˜blackenedโ€™ cell at Gatwick and sent back to your 2×3 monkey paradise on the next available flight on an aircraft owned by the white man with white men and women in the cockpit and cabin.

23. @Negroman
    “The same set of people who is lambasting this policy will be the first set to criticize and cuss the government if an international terrorist was to come into Barbados and carry out an act that threaten(ed) our security.”

Negroman, we are talking about citizens of Barbados, NOT international terrorists. It is possible, of course, that you know some terrorists that are Barbadian citizens, but if you do, then so do the authorities, believe me. Here are the MoF and The Minister of Tourism boasting about record levels of visitor arrivals, and then this! We sure do know how to shoot ourselves in the foot. It’s like we should feel guilty and punish ourselves – the modern equivalent of a hair shirt. Meantime, though I have never been a Commisiong fan, kudos to him for taking this on.

24. Miller you f–cking idiot this proud Negroman visited musty England with the musty,awful smelling white stinks to attend a gathering of progressive young Black leaders conference.I did no go there for any other reason you fuc cun.
    That was the first and last time England or any other European country will ever be graced with the royalty of this Negroman.
    I told the immigration,customs & security officers in England that England has nothing to offer me.I let them know in no uncertain terms that I I am not interested in their musty,unshaped,half make smelly women.Neither am I a political or economic refugee seeking asylum. I am only there to attend a conference
    England & Europe have nothing to offer this proud Black Negroman.I am financially stable with a decent income that adequately support me and my family.
    Down with stinking England and the musty stinks

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Peltdownman

You said “Meantime, though I have never been a Commisiong fan, kudos to him for taking this on…”

You can, like I will openly admit, continue to have no respect for Come-and-Sing-A-Song since, as you can see here by this “warmed over soup” that Sing A Song did not bring this idea to the fore, did not contribute to Jeff’s Article, but having heard Mia Mottley make mention of this issue of fingerprinting, first on Sunday evening and then yesterday in her response to the Estimates, all that this posturer has done is, after realizing the emotiveness of this subject, jumped on the band wagon, as is his wont.

Mileage seeker that David is, as usual, “full of hot air and signifying nothing”

The day that he champions something by virtue of self-actuation, is the day that another star will pitch in the east. similar to the one that the Wise Magis followed to the Manger of The Christ, until then, expect nothing less from Sing a Song

26. CHAUCER March 15, 2016 at 10:57 AM #
    Currently to be issued a Bdos passport , a photo is required ; going forward finger prints will be taken . Later E passports will be issued , all the aboved to improved security at ports of entry.

Going forward Barbadians may not need a Passport or any other form of ID to re-enter Barbados.

27. @PUDRYR

To be fair to Comissiong he was on a VoB panel on Sunday and he spoke to the issue and promised to take it to Court if the government does not declare the law a nulity.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

I agree with Negroman, this is a non-issue.

The government is simply trying to find a few more jobs for Barbadians, and in the process hire a few consultants to advise of the type of equipment and its subsequent purchase. Another few maybe hired to provide training, and we can also create a maintenance staff, cause we know all equipment breaks down from time to time. Plus they should also have a new secure server and data infrastructure to ensure the security of this collected information.

29. @ Negroman March 15, 2016 at 11:16 AM
    โ€œI went to England a few years ago, I had to endure a series of searches of my luggage,photo being taken, finger printed as well as to answer some of the most insinuating and personal questions possible.In short,total humiliation a person must endured if that person wants to visit England and especially if you are Black or Non European.โ€
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    You are not alone sir, some Bajan whites who traveled to the UK and Europe adopt a similar attitude to you, when they discovered that in the eyes of the Brits and Euros, they are not really true true whites.
    How could you refer to Brits as musty, etc, when in recent times Barbados has seen a resurgence of Chinks in the island.

30. The government is known to have the most vulnerable IT infrastructure in Barbados.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Negroman March 15, 2016 at 4:01 PM #
    โ€œMiller you fโ€“cking idiot this proud Negroman visited musty England with the musty,awful smelling white stinks to attend a gathering of progressive young Black leaders conference.I did no go there for any other reason you fuc cun.โ€

So Negroman why hold a โ€˜blackโ€™ conference in musty smelling cold white England? Why not in some African or Caribbean country?

Those same coconut โ€œprogressive Black leadersโ€ have a biding admiration for England and its democratic values and improving race relations; and certainly don’t behave like you or use offensively racist language because they would end up in the Brixton Prisons.
    Where are these so-called black progressive leaders today other than enjoying the material benefits of corruption and exploitation of their own people?

If you are a truly proud negro man you would respect not only yourself but also people of other races because as you quite rightly know they are all made in the image of the same god you believe in.

Proud people respect themselves and others. They also promote their own race with decorum and intellectual aplomb.
    You display little, if any, genuine recognition of your African ancestry. True Africans are not racist like you. They are the real โ€˜first nationโ€™ people who see themselves as the โ€œfatherโ€™ of mankind. Not the insecure footstool used by black jokers like you to attack people because of the melanin quotient and racial profile.

You are no damn different from the stupid white supremacists; just the obverse side of the KKK. Just go and read a book and travel a bit more. You might just broaden your mind enough to see the world other than from the backward side of St. John.

32. I am not yet retired and don’t have the time to spend a few nights at the airport but if I did I would refuse to be fingerprinted on my return to Barbados, file a writ of habeas corpus and test the issue in court. Where could they send me? Jeff please help us out here.

33. So far no mention of the biometrics law mentioned? Has the AG contributed to the debate?

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

To correct the comment in my earlier post re”…Both attorneys have clearly noted that citizens can refuse”. Actually Jeff in response to a query said that refusal on re-entry: “…will depend on the provisions of the law … I doubt that โ€œdenial of entryโ€ would be legal though.”

He had earlier noted in his piece that “Lay opinion might trend towards it being an unjustifiable invasion of privacy, but it should be noted that the express constitutionally guaranteed right to privacy in section 17 of the supreme law is itself substantially limited,”

So in fact in his view it is not constitutionally constricted as noted above by attorney Commissiong…(Sec17 speaks to dynamic of personal freedom).

Both attorneys are ‘correct’…. It is those shades of legal grey that cause our lives to get so calcified and discombobulated

The operative words (caps) are “โ€ฆ any personโ€™s right to leave Barbados that are REASONABLY REQUIRED IN THE INTERESTS OF DEFENCE, PUBLIC SAFETY OR PUBLIC ORDERโ€

So protest we must to get clarification and also to ensure a valid legislative process for the implementation, but then we have to submit … because the government has deemed there are interests of defense and related that are reasonably required to justify impinging our rights!

35. David,
    The whole world changed with 9/11. To expect the same levels and freedoms we enjoyed before that date is to live in a La,La land. Accept the reality of the world as it is, and not one that we would like.
    We can jump up and down, and talk about abrogation of constitutional rights and freedoms, as much as we like, launch as many law-suits as we want, the end result will still be the same.
    Any government, can do whatever it wants in the interests, and name of National Security.
    When the students in Jamaica at U.W.I. shut down the campus; after the government refused to let Walter Rodney reenter the country, the Jamaican Government simply stationed soldiers all around the campus virtually imprisoning all the students. No one could get in or out.
    The country did not fall apart, the students capitulated, and life continued apace. Gonzales, became Prime Minister of St. Vincent later, Manning became Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, eventually, Barbados passed laws regarding restrictions on freedoms, and all those who protested resumed their normal lives and functions. This too shall pass.
    As I said before, be realistic and accept that despite all the chest thumping, by would be martyrs and heroes, the elephant to the North of us gets what it wants.

36. @Alvin

Not sure if you have taken the time to grab the salient points of the debate. Are you in Canada? Why did the government brought this matter to parliament in the way it did? How about giving Bajans an explanation why it wants to fingerprint its citizens.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Pedantic Dribbler

Have you tavelled recently from Barbados?

Have you seen the equipment being used at the GAIA?

It is purported that the equipment came from the same supplier of the US based equipment

Immediately on being scanned, if you are going to the US, your fingerprints are transmitted to the USofA and when you arrive and are scanned again, whereas prior to the previous fiasco when your fingerprints were scanned and sent no where, with your biometric on file, the US knows that you are you.

Previously Siad bin Muhammed who was wanted in the United States for terrorism crimes would have travelled to Trinidad from India and on leaving Tninidad, travel on to Barbados On the 7.30 flight with a connecting flight to Antigua for 1.30 pm

Ahmud Patel, sympathizer to the ISIS movement would come to the airport for a 3 oclock flight to Miami AND enter the departure lounge with his 1 foot long beard, which was the same lenth of Siad, and the two of them switch identities in the washroom at the airport and Siad would travel to Miami as Ahmud while Ahmud would travel on to Antigua as Siad and return to Barbados as Siad, declare his passport lost, reapply to Humpty Dumpty for a replacement passport, go back to the embassy for a replacement visa and de dog dead.

The governmet of the United states keeps a track on all anomalies and unlike our bajan counterparts who cant tell the difference between any two faces, utilize facial recognition scans on Persons of Interest and realised that Barbados has had an inordinate amount of replacement of visas for the past few years.

In addition they have been monitoring Humpty Dumpty’s car movements via GPS and see that he has been frequenting a specific place.

Additionally, unbeknownst to most Bajans, the US Embassy has a liaison Officer at all of the Local Banks with who they “consult” regarding accounts that they monitor and would be aware of Humpty’s inordinately sized bank account which his Immigration Salary does not afford.

Hardware and software, rather software as a service which, when installed on the Chief Immigrations Officer’s cuntputer makes him feel good that he has cutting edge software from Murica but the jackass does not know that said software, since it is on his machine, de facto makes a hole in the GoB Immigration Network and lets them see all the files on his machine.

Since the Bajan Head of IT at Immigration also has been granted “administrative privileges” to the US software, all of his passwords to the Immigration’s main server are now compromised, as are all of the systems that are linked to this Trojan Horse

“But DPD, enough of this, to each his sufferings: all are men, Condemned alike to groan; The tender for another’s pain, The unfeeling for his own. Yet ah! why should they know their fate? Since sorrow never comes too late, And happiness too swiftly flies. Thought would destroy their paradise. No more; where ignorance is bliss, ‘Tis folly to be wise…”

38. So explain for this simpleton. If a Bajan returns home after April 1st and refuses to be fingerprinted what happens then? Will he be refused entry? Will he be arrested? Will he be tried and jailed? And if so where will they jail him? In Barbados? Elsewhere?

Remember this Bajan has only one citizenship and no other country in the world has to accept him.

And what happens if three or four plane loads of Bajans refuse to be fingerprinted? Since we have room for only about 1,000 at Dodds where will we jail them?

Or will the courts grant them bail? And if they are granted bail then can they go home?

And won’t the whole purpose of the law be defeated?

As I said I am only a simpleton and I don’t understand these big things.

David please forgive my late, much lamented parents for not giving me a much bigger much better brain.

39. @pieceuhderockyeahright March 15, 2016 at 7:11 PM “Additionally, unbeknownst to most Bajans, the US Embassy has a liaison Officer at all of the Local Banks with who they โ€œconsultโ€ ”

True. Has happened to me. I was told we checked and found that you are in a lot of debt (true enough although nobody seemed to know or care how or why the debt was contracted)

And then they seemed surprised “but you pay your debts each month” (true again)

The line of questioning seemed to be leading to “You must be tiefin” “you must be selling drugs” “you must be prostituting” “you must be trafficking in people” “you must be doing something wrong”

All wrong, wrong, wrong.

40. I was quite willing to discuss the matter at length and depth.

But truly oftentimes people do not want to hear the truth.

Because the truth is often too boring, too mundane.

41. And of course the banks know very well that they ought not to be sharing their customers information with others.

Especially when such customers typically maintain balance of $7.89

42. Dompey, is back on underground because Facebook has proven to be to toxic for me. Now with regards to your question about the fingerprinting of American citizens on arrival to America. It hasn’t happen as of yet, but I know enough to inform you that I wouldn’t put it pass the government these days. The government is known for overreaching on the pretext of national security, but you would have to be a fool to trade what little freedom you have,for what little security you’re made to believe you have.

43. I think David C is bang on with his statements. Mr FS simply can’t do what he wants… He has to follow the law and be guided always by our constitution . Otherwise, we are worse than any Banana Republic.

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, you and dat grandson of yours! …Wunnu too smart wid dis software & security stuff! …all very scary really so you can’t blame de US.

Your example wid Ahmud Patel and Siad ‘Straight outta Compton’…so to speak. That is an ISIL 101 training class there. As an old fella you shouldn’t be handling that sorta thing in de noggin…so be careful if you see any new fresh faced fellows coming to your Sat morn food giveaways seeking charity, fah real! LOLL.

Say one ting tho, that fprint uplink to US and/or Interpol (and too the facial recog) will make us and dem too a tad bit safer despite the privacy intrusions. As you know only too well the US trampled a lot of privacy rights wid dat Patriot Act ting…it get scaled back and upended in parts after the various legal challenges but it still there.

This is not an issue that equates to the pervasive Patriot Act of course but still I don’t see Bajans being as comparatively over-wrought on this supposed invasion of their rights.

@SS, Jeff answered that question (you didn’t have all those parts to it) for you back on Mar 7 or thereabouts. He surmised that it would be illegal to bar reentry.

After the first person is ‘unlawfully’ placed in handcuffs you think all the other Bajan passengers pun de place will put their hands forward and say ‘you is a ras_role or what, handcuff and arrest all ay we den too, nah’ or will they say ‘wait, how long dis fingerprint foolishness gen be den, I gotta get home’.

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

**pun de PLANE”. Not place……de plane boss, de plane…

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple Simon

We have got to be family cause de ole man jes as foolish or even more foolish.

The collection and collation of Intelligence Information.

One of the basic elements of being an (US or other government) Intelligence Officer is that you are not to draw attention to yourself rather, what i should have said is that, intelligent Intelligence Officers make it their business NOT TO DRAW ATTENTION TO THEMSELVES.

Americans are a loud people normally so when you see a gumshoe who is not blustery and loquacious and LOUD, is an anomaly and where there is an anomaly in an Americans behaviour, one should be wary.

Now here is the counter to that matter of secrecy.

The loquacious counterparts of the mostly secretive operatives constantly have to fill out Contact Reports (Form DS-1887 for those in the know) and document contact with their non US gardeners, local doctors, non US enablers, “facilitators” and access agents.

It is here that, as secretive as the operatives should be, and would want to be, their uncontrollable local counterparts cause these leakages.

When you gots a Bajan who, empowered that the fact that an US Embassy Official calling them to ask for information pun you secret matters, the Bajans does feel so pow’ful, and giddy, that they quickly telecast all the interaction and queries that they are asked over the course of their snitching, sorry resourcing of information.

“Friends of all, satellites of none” adversely informs on this matter since the US government operatives would love to employ a “friends of none’ satellites of none” policywith these blabber mmouts.

Simple you may not know theis, and neither do I, but the blabber mouth nature of their Bajan sources makes them despise having to interface with these “on the ground resources” because “when two rums get in dem belly” (or things getting into other parts depending on who is your source) all their operations get exposed to evey Bajan causing dem want evey body to know how pow’ful dem is.

I gone doah causing when nex I gine thru into Merica I hope dat dem doan stop me fuh “irridation” or sumting like dat

47. @Yatink…,
    Are you calling the U.S.A. a BananaRepublic? Can’t you people understand that they make the rules for the whole world? They just finished a new Aircraft Carrier…can’t count how many they already have, what you think they make it for? Can’t remember how many billions it cost. Barbados can’t even raise a few hundred million. You think you can go up against them? If they say jump, you have to say Yes sir, how high sir. All this talk about freedom and wanting to do as you like ent worth what paddy shot at. As I said before, the government can do anything if it is in the interest of Defence and National Security. If you want to know something, Google Homeland Security legislation and read it. rather study it. You will be surprised how little freedom Americans have, and how it is restricted by that legislation.

48. @David,
    I am back in Canada.
    And Bushie,
    With regard to riding bicycle…you shoulda get lick down. You almost as old as me, wha right you got on bicycle? When dose dry bones break day down heal back or mend back. Catch bus, not even ZR, cause day rate at which den fellows drive; except the Rendezvous drivers who real cool, yuh liable to get in a accident at any time.
    somehow or other a lot of people here like they don’t know, or remember there was a time when all we has were bikes. All the fellows used to ride to work, and even play. The fellows, and girls too had no other means of transport. Fellows would ride far distances to see the girl friend.You should know that, you are from that era. Right?

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Pedantic Dribbler

Doan get de ole man wrong.

I like Merica whu after all some uh me chilrun deah.

Whu I doan like is de way dat we does do tings as a so called sovereign nation, botsie lickers.

If you trample on an American’s rights dem real quick tuh send dem Special Forces fuh you scvnt but dere ent no equity when dem trample you foot.

I am all for retribution, IF THE actions against the US, on 9/11, was non US instigated, but to effect your Norwood Scenarios on US soil just to engage in a Middle East War something is wrong with that construct.

We ar jes sell outs, really “for a fistful of dollars”? You see dat movie?

Observe how Bush and Cheney’s actions like the ripple on the surface of a pond, has brussels on stakeout?

It is not what you do, it is how you do it.

Right now none of them know how to stave off this onslaught.

And wid Donald Johnie Trump deah waiting to press a nuke off, Whuloss, dem real scared

50. @Alvin Cummins , you have completely missed the point I was trying to make . Even if the Barbados Government is “forced” or pressured to change our Immigration Regulations to include fingerprinting of its Citizens, the Prime Minister is legally bound to follow the laws of Barbados. He is not a Dictator as far as I know, so he can not simply change the regulations and rules of entry and exit of Citizens without bringing it to Parliament, getting approval, and only then having it published in the official Gazette. I never called the US a Banana Rebublic , and the freedom of American Citizens is not the issue here, it’s the respect for Barbados’s Laws by our own Government.