Submitted by Alden Blackman
Clarke's Road, Derricks, St.James
Clarke’s Road, Derricks, St.James

February 15, 2016

Mr. Frank Thornhill

Chief Technical Officer (CTO)

Ministry Of Transport and Works (MTW)

After months of leaving several messages, I finally got the opportunity to have a conversation with you on Wednesday 3rd February 2016, during which you acknowledge there is an illegal private road obstructing the watercourse at Clarke’s Road, Derricks, St. James. And that the infringement of the law occurred from 2004 based on my initial complaint.

I asserted that the illegal road was allowed to exist despite my persistent pleas for corrective work to be done. My protestations were ignored by you and other MTW officials as well as the Drainage Unit. You conceded that because the road remains untouched that my pleading were ignored.  You also revealed that you as the CTO of MTW, will not commit MTW/ Government resources to perform remedial work on said watercourse.

With respect Sir, you the CTO of MTW have in this case abused your authority in 2004 and proceeded to ignore and ordinary Black man (and a Barbadian) who beseeched you to discharge your duty and effectively address the illegal road built by a foreign white land owner -“a yard-garden  cum road in and along a watercourse”, causing flood water to be redirected and to damage part of my home and surroundings. Sir, you as CTO and other officials of MTW have already committed an egregious act. You have not only allowed an illegal road to remain but leading up to the 2013 general election, MTW workers were employed on said road, not to correct but to maintain the road to appease the request of former MP for St. James Central, Mr. George Hutson thereby making a bad situation worse. Further, after the paving the land owner constructed humps on road – MTW workers removed said humps.

With all respect Sir, your behaviour since the matter was brought to your attention is no different to that of the perpetrator of the illegal and callous act.  Sir I am certain like the majority of Barbadians that I – who you already perceived to be a low status black working class man “due to the way you treated this situation – “could not have built that road in a watercourse to put your household or for that matter any of your colleagues  or any foreign white land owner household at risk of getting flooded out. Why the discrimination against me, Sir, a Black man. As the CTO of MTW you are totally responsible for the damaged and suffering I have to endured endured to date.

As a Black man and a taxpaying Barbadian I appeal to your sense of reasonableness. I await your response .

Alden Blackman

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

118 responses to “Alden BLACKman Continues the Fight Against Government for Justice: Chief Technical Officer of MTW Abuse of Authority”

1. How does one prove an injustice when there is no proof of criminality committed or actions resulting or related to claim has done or caused bodily or emotional harm to person or in an instance destructive to ones personal belongings
    Until Blackman can provide proof that the water course has be a danger to him personally and risk to his life or property he has no case
    Another thirteen years and he would still be barking up the wrong tree
    However if he has money to waste he can find a bogus lawyer who would take his money for another thirteenth years while his case sits in limbo in the court docket

2. Why don’t you loosen your weave. And change your FB pic while you are at it.

3. @ Dee word
    Where did Bushie suggest that Blackman ‘dynamite’ the road, fence or any shiite…?

Bushie simply asked if he knew any old well diggers….and advised that he remember to be ‘shocked’ since he would have been unaware of any possible booms…

Next you will be accusing Bushie of suggesting that he invite AC to have a first hand look at the site at the zero hour…..

4. @ Alden Blackman,

Keep this fight on BU. Do not waste any money on lawyers or do anything foolish.

5. @ Bush Tea,

How can we help Alden Blackman ?

6. Speckled fowl are u admitting to be a face book stalker.Well Well Welll well i/ll be damn..poor soul looking for evidrnce in all the wrong directions.What a feeble response..stalker

7. LOL @ David
    The weave is not toe only problem, the damn underwear are three sizes too small…
    …and perhaps we should leave bad enough alone with the FB pic…
    ha ha ha LOL

8. @ Hants
    How can we help Alden Blackman ?
    Why?

What is special about Alden bozie…? The government bout here squeezing thousands of Black men in dozens of ways, …and you worrying about a single Blackman?
    You can’t see that Alden can handle himself?

Talk bout a man sweet….!!!
    Check this…

“”Mr. Frank Thornhill the CTO of MTW made his position very clear in our conversation he is on his way to retirement, I take it to mean if I did not care about you 10+years ago why should I now””
    ha ha ha LOL ….wuh loss…!!
    That is a classic.

Boss, when Alden finish with these people’s asses they will be indistinguishable from grass…

The question you should be asking is “How can we help the OTHER brass bowl Blackmen bout Buhbados to grow some balls and follow Alden’s lead….” ๐Ÿ™‚

9. Every letter that was sent to Ministry of Environment and Drainage was sent to The Ministry of Transport And Works, MTW never reply,The question is why it took so long, Mr. Weeks the then PS in the Ministry of the Environment and Drainage, Mr. Barrow the then Director and Mr. Dawe an official visited the watercourse, Mr. Weeks, Mr. Barrow confirm what Mr. Dawe said years before, it is illegal and promised to do something, nothing was done, the only official from Drainage unit to do something in the watercourse after seeing the danger it posed, was Mr. Inniss he commissioned his friend, that he look out for, to dig a well in the wrong place, at a cost to taxpayers, with respect, if Mr. Frank Thornhill the CTO of MTW had get up of his lackadaisical ass years early and used the prevention of flood Act Cap 235 , it would not have cost taxpayers,

10. @ Bush tea

That letter David Posted was hand delivered to me, and I keep asking myself why, long after the messenger left , then a bird on the wire in front my house tell me if you go any letter to the Minister Call Me I will make sure it on his desk, when the boss “my wife” got home and open the letter a small paper big enough to hold 7# fly out ,

11. @ Alden Blackman,

Has anyone ever given a reason why boulders were put to block half a NATURAL watercourse and a paved road built?

It was certainly NOT to alleviate flooding.

12. @ Alden Blackman
    Skippa, you is a boss…
    Your approach is EXACTLY what we need to see Barbadians do in the face of the lotta UNRIGHTEOUSNESS…… mercilessly attack the wicked and evil devils bout here who are either doing shiite, or failing to do anything at all…

If a few dozen of the bowls whose money was BRAZENLY stolen by Parris via CLICO had half your balls, THEY TOO would be hot on the tails of the SPECIFIC INDIVIDUALS who thief their damn money….

If a few of the mock men who have allowed the crooked lawyers to steal their properties by deceit and fraud were real MEN and not brass bowl MICE …they TOO would be putting the grig into the asses of the wicked and vile $#^#ers…. (sinners)…

Looka …. after David(BU) you are quickly becoming a role model for how NOT to be a brass bowl bout here….

@ Hants
    Boss, why don’t you go and fish or something constructive nuh…?

You REALLY think Alden wants a reason why the blocks were put there in the watercourse?
    This man sound like a helpless brass bowl to you? – or like who needs some doltish thieving lawyer to represent him…?
    Like Moses, this Blackman fella is leading the way for the lotta brass bowls bout the place to freedom from Froon, Stinkliar and the other Egyptian oppressors…

Moses had to ‘part the Red Sea’ to get the people out of Egypt…. Alden may have to block (pun intended) the damn watercourse in order to get bajan bowls moving bout this hopeless place…

…and perhaps a piece of C7H5N3O6 would get THAT job done real fast….

13. @Hants

Apparently the foreign land owner purchase the land blindfolded thinking the whole lot was hers, the families of the seller, said nothing when she cleared the lot, at the start of construction the heavy equipment could not pass from Chapel Gap the only way was from Appleby across an open lot then watercourse so the ridges were removed from the north and south after house near complete she started to rebuild with the boulders and backfill the ridge on her south but extended farther in the watercourse than it originally was,to make a yard /garden cum road, a family then appear, after allowing the lot to be cleared freely and claim lot with a road, Said foreign land owner realized her mistake, and decided to pull back from the center line boundary she built in watercourse 8+feet for road she then refused to rebuild the ridge on other side to Appleby thereby making it a road to cross over the watercourse, to Appleby

14. When the BWA was laying pipe from Appleby across an open lot, to the watercourse I informed a Mr. Blades about the situation with the watercourse he too saw the danger and agreed to seek advice from the then official in charge of Drainage Unit, Mr. Yearwood agreed, but was a no show that morning, Mr. Arthur of Arthur Construction drop the pipe in the deep part on my side of the watercourse that the redirected floodwater dug out elevating the only place to water had to pass in the watercourse, Mr. Arthur then told he will ask BWA, to build a short wall to stop the water from coming to my house

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…they chased you from the page, you need to stop trying to destroy your fellow black people who are not your fellow yardfowl. ..lol

16. Ignoramuses like the ACs, who seem to be thinkers but are only shite-talkers, will never understand why I persistently entreat the mighty CTO of MTW Mr. Thornhill to redress the illegal obstruction that is unjustified in the watercourse, why should I give up? if Mr. Thornhill knowingly misused his authority 12+years ago to discriminate against a black-man, yet he continued from pot holes, to white hill, maybe he has Clarke’s Road in sight,
    perhaps he enjoy hearing about the suffering people have to endured,

17. Could not careless if you give up.however eventually you might give in

18. @Blackman

You have been advised to stay focused on the price and ignore paling cocks. Remember if the cause is just not many can prevent a winning outcome.

19. @ACs

You should make an effort to used I in front of CARE you my feel good about yourself, then arouse and motivate your PM by telling him how good it FEEL to CARE
    Did you get someone to explain the letter that was posted

20. @ David
    Ok Bro

21. @ Alden Blackman,

Most of us on BU support your cause. Ignore those get fed scratch grain.

Some of us have an understanding of Town Planning permissions and regulations.

22. @Hants

Thanks you ,

23. hire caswell he knows how to make heads roll

24. To show the inexcusable behavior of CTO Mr. Thornhill who all along never met me, only in conversation, but in our 3 Feb 2016 conversation after stating he will not commit MTW / Government, I got a call that said, he Mr. Thornhill seeking to get an Official from T&CP to accompany him to the watercourse site, will call to inform me when,

25. @ David/ BU
    After all these years it appear Mr. Thornhill is playing the victim

26. Mr. Thornhill is going to use taxpayers resources to take a look at a watercourse with three or four boulders .wonder for what purpose ?

27. @ Alden B
    Mr. Thornhill is playing the victim
    So what did you expect Skippa…?
    He IS a victim..
    …you squeezing de man balls.

28. @ Bush Tea

I have never seen Mr. Thornhill , only in conversation , I know the power he has ,to do or not to do as he like, I am the victim of his misused responsibility,

29. @ Alden
    Bushie once had a cat that was a big bully bout the house too – used to victimise all the other pets and yardfowls… tek way their food ..and do as he like….
    Then this young turkey turned up….. and Mr Cat parade pun he tail for months…. run he bout the yard, eat he food, embarrassed him in front of the yardfowls … Until one Sunday morning bout 4.30 a.m. when the whole household was awakened to murderous screams – to find Mr. Cat cowering and cornered by the new yard bully …who seemed somehow to have discovered the cat’s Achilles balls……

30. @ bush Tea

The pathway was never to be a road, that is why I was further disadvantage my side of the watercourse when Arthur construction was laying the BWA pipes the road only had the boulders on the outside in the watercourse forming about 3-4 feet of a 8-9 feet wide road, the center to fencing has rubble foundation ,so the pipes were place in the deep part on my side that the redirected floodwater dug out, at that stage the boulders were removed waiting for advice from MTW and Drainage Unit, Mr. Thornhill, Mr. Yearwood who was responsible as heads of department did not offer timely advice, Mr. Blades Of BWA, told me he have to returned the boulders where he found them in that process the watercourse was made worse , it should never be a matter of timely advice because Mr. Thornhill pass of responsibility to Mr.Yearwood who used excuses, his favorite was Mr Blackman, we gone move then, but we have to borrow MTW equipment , at present some of the boulders moved away push by vehicles farther enter what left the watercourse,on my side, some heavy rain,

31. @ Bush Tea
    As the saying , do good , a few heavy rain fall on the botch road and the boulders will fall in watercourse , what will be Mr. Thornhill committment when the watercourse is completely block and the flood water come , a repeat of “Carew flood ” cause by who and why , ask Frank Thornhill the CTO of M T W

32. Really this is a story about two boulders and a flood that has not occurred in thirteen years amm

33. AC…

You are such an idiot and ass licker that you probably even believe the shiite that you write for money on the DLP’s behalf….

The story is about INEFFECTIVE GOVERNMENT and it’s consequences…
    It is about FED UP people…
    It says that if government officials are unable to enforce obvious environmental laws about flooding, how the hell will they enforce environmental laws on Plasma plants?

How long do you think before people figure out that if the shiite government can’t enforce blatant infringements like this …they is nothing to stop them from taking matters into their own hands…? Think only MTW can move boulders?

What happens when Joe Citizen decides to walk into his lawyer’s office (with more than a cellphone in his pocket) to get his money…or his papers back?

It is jackasses such as you, that lead gullible brass bowls to their destruction….review the history of our new Massa’s home country (T&T) and see if you can see what Bushie is trying to say…

34. Good to see Barbadians signing petitions to support a cause. Latest 100 residents in Christ Church

35. @ Bushie
    You know why I am say , Thank you Bushie.

36. What flooding? When did the flood happen? How many people were affected in that area?

37. To further show the discrimination against Black People in Barbados by Government Official, I shall speak about this inequitable situation confronted my family and I, no yard-fowl-ism can slow, far-less stop me, All of the Managers from the MTW, Drainage Unit and BWA that were involved with this callous situation clearly showed a lack of concern for this Barbadian Black -man cause but put great effort to appease the foreign white land owner, she is the only person that I know of up here to get her land marks replace by BWA.

38. See what i mean all this raccus is nothing more than having to do with a black man angst with a white woman.nothing having to do with floods or boulders

39. The person that did the job, the person, or persons at MT W that abetted the foreign land owner to callously build a boulders well backfill yard-garden cum road in and along to enable the crossing of a watercourse, should know, that the said land owner is ailing,
    to the stage where confession make her feel better, in the conversation last August I felt sorry for her, even though she was callous with her action, maybe still is, she knew where BWA pipes would pass years before pipe laying started, who told her? I will keep that info for now, why the CTO of MTW for the pass12+ years can not enforce the law? who authorized the paving? Black Barbadian can see what is happening, they should also know who are the person doing the discrimination against them

40. I mean boulders wall not well

41. I was long of the opinion that the common yard fowl had a brain. Whilst there is strong and accumulating evidence against this opinion, it is clear that they have no conscience.

Perhaps, I may be too harsh. They may have to play for their supper, and so it becomes not a matter of right or wrong, but of doing their job. It may not be a lack of conscience but rather their survival instincts drives them to collect their 30 pieces of silver.

42. @GAZER

I understand Why this AC yard-fowl come on BU to browbeat Alden Blackman, so since this post is about the damage flood water can leave behind, the ignoramus AC she/he enter this world after water and land on head , look what development can bring

43. At what stage does govt have a personnel stake in an ongoing 13 year battle berween two neighbours?

44. What are you saying ac,,, Forget about the proper channels (which are taking a long time to work) and take matters into his own hands??

45. Not at all except Mr blackman case for govt intervention is built on assumptions and not iron clad evidence to support his theories of catastrophic disaster
    His meanderings of bias and racist rantings associating govt is ludicriuos and without merit.
    He seems to be pelting big rocks which bomerrangs in his face.

46. NO BLACK AND WHITE BATTLE

The government “right thinking people ” long ago realized that flooding can be ruinous, there is a highway Act that includes watercourses with the prevention of flooding Act Cap 235, section 6B &7, relate/support my cause for correction to this obstructed watercourse if it look like a battle, it is with the CTO of MTW Mr. Frank Thornhill who warp his responsibilities to correct an illegal obstruction. what I am doing here is not about a Black-Man and White Woman, I denounced her callous action, that don’t mean I hate White people in fact I can proudly say that an old truck, hard work and CO Williams Quarry give me the opportunity to work for money to repair the Damaged done to my home and surrounding because a Black-Man Frank Thornhill used discrimination in the performance of his duty

47. Government have already intervene by the actions of Mr. Frank Thornhill the CTO of MTW who misused his duty to the situation, he indiscriminately allowed the bad situation to remain then maintain it and made it worse

48. keep at it , this Ac, is surely helping me to put forward some points, she don’t even understand how she is doing it

49. Bush Tea , ask the question” what happens when a man walk in a lawyer office with more than a cellphone in his pocket to get back his money or papers ” Bushie not only lawyers Barbados has been made into a powder keg by certain people behavior in public office when a person can sit in an office and decide to ignored not only a complain, but his/her duty and proceeded with a clear bias action, he/she know there is no rule of accountability