Leroy Parris declared he has a 5 million dollar deposit with the Central Bank of Barbados

There is the feeling of déjà vu. To use the Bajan vernacular, the more things change, the more they remain the same. A brief article in the Nation newspaper yesterday [18 December 2016] must have jolted many who read it. In response to a journalist Maxine McClean, Minister of foreign affairs responded, “I have nothing to say to the Nation newspaper”.  The import of the statement …

Her statement followed that of Ambassador to the United Nations Tony Marshall a few days earlier who offered a similar curt “no comment” to the Nation newspaper in response to a question about why he has occupied the official residence in a plush area in New York.

BU is always concerned when a fissure appears in the relationship between key government players and the media. The BU household was motivated to launch this blog when VoB agreed to separate Adrian Loveridge from Minister of Tourism Barney Lynch in order to facilitate an interview at Lynch’s request. It is obvious the ‘government’ has an issue with the Nation newspaper although it has not been publicly expressed. When Delisle Worrell, Governor of the Central Bank had an issue with the Nation newspaper he displayed the courage to declare the reason, ignorant though it was.

The media plays a critical role in any society as a purveyor of news – the purpose of journalism is thus to provide citizens with the information they need to make the best possible decisions about their lives, their communities, their societies, and their governments. If key players in the government trivialize the role of the media it means the citizenry will be the poorer for it. Could it be that our political leaders do not care about educating the people? Now perish that thought!

What is scary is that we are shackled with the most taciturn government since Independence in 1966. It is therefore ‘interesting’ that the government has decided to champion all year activities to celebrate our 50th year of achieving Independence. The government does see the value in communicating with Barbadians about being an Independent nation, to educate the nation. It is fair to conclude therefore that the government’s  reluctance to share information about Cahill waste-to-energy, the CLICO Heist, Leroy Parris’ deposit of 5 million dollars with the Central Bank of Barbados, hold regular press conferences etc. is a careful manipulation of information to achieve a less than honourable outcome.

The challenge for the citizenry is to discover ways to pushback against obvious wicked practices by sons and daughters of the soil who hold high office. We have a situation playing out where our brothers and sisters have sold us up the river motivated by greed, power and a lot of ignorance.  The educated class we reasonably expected to lead the charge – having invested billions in education – have retreated to the comfortable life with its underpinnings supported by popular values and conspicuous consumption.  There is no appetite to defend and grow the Bajan identity. We have prostrated ourselves to embrace anything that is foreign.

We have no credible media to represent the people. What we have is a media easily manipulated by others.   What we have is a government who is upset when it experiences difficulty manipulating players in the media fraternity a al The BarbadosAdvocate.

What change what! It is  déjà vu.

154 responses to ““I Have Nothing to Say to the Nation Newspaper””

1. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

I totally agree with the senator the Nation news paper is consistent in being erroneous on numerous occasions and when they get a story completely wrong retractions are very slow in coming as far as i am aware a story carried about a gentleman being evicted from some where in St James,which at this time i cannot recall in terms of the exact location, however it was reported that this gentleman was the owner of the company island projects and this was a total falsehood and even though contacted by officials of the said company no retraction was made even though the story caused the company a measure of embarrassment, and the list can go on and on,and it does not take a rocket scientist to determine that the Nation news paper is an extended arm of the Barbados Labor Party, so that is why these individuals as named in this article are very reluctant in having anything to say to them and i totally agree with them.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

When you are open for bid to the highest buyer you can expect a manipulation and complete ignoring of credible information. You can also expect a lot of surface wishy-washy journalism as well. The nationnews paper is not interested in news. They are only interested in making it sound like news. It is the reason why they are into sensationalizing certain poo paw facts and leaving out certain information that they should dig deep into rather than publishing mere surface level crap. This media house is no different than how the politicians in Barbados operate. All cloak and grab. Compromise is the name of the game in Barbados.

3. @ LT.HORATIO CAINE

Yours is a stupid argument.

Prior to 2008, BLP supporters were accusing the Nation of exactly the same thing DLP supporters are accusing the paper of today.

If we were to go by your logic, since the Advocate publishes articles that are pro DLP, can we safely assume that “it does not take a rocket scientist to determine that the ADVOCATE news paper is an extended arm of the Democratic Labor Party?”

Was not Tony Marshall and Maxine McClean not rewarded for the yoeman service they provided for the DLP when they were moderators of the Nation’s sister company’s call-in-programs, “Brass Tacks” and ”Tell it like it is?”

Supporters of both BLP and DLP are indeed a special breed of individuals.

4. @Horacio Caine

Deja vu!

5. The Nation Newspaper is anti-BARBADOS …period.
    It belongs to OCM, which is a Trinidadian concern, with Trinidadian interests…and Trinidadian priorities. Sometimes these do coincide with BLP /DLP interests….

Harold Hoyte and Fred G. sold out to OCM and thereby facilitated the mass sell-off of Bajan Assets ..aided by idiot ‘journalists’ who kept telling Bajans that it is OK to be owned by foreigners… David Ellis, Peter Wicker, Enuff….

6. When compared to the media in other regional or international jurisdictions, the media in Barbados is very WEAK. Many reporters ask “probing questions” to anyone except politicians, the few that do are alienated.

There was a situation, for example, when David Thompson held his first two press conferences after he became prime minister in 2008. David Ellis asked him a few questions, which Thompson and his supporters interpreted to be inappropriate. This resulted in supporters calling Brass Tacks the next day to cuss Ellis, with one supporter saying he “went with a whip to beat the PM,” and Ellis subsequently admitting, after another press conference, that VOB was not invited to participate.

I also recall former CBC manager Claude Graham saying during a program, (which was televised last month) focusing on the establishment of CBC, that Carl Moore asked Errol Barrow a question which prompted Barrow to respond angrily by ordering the cameras to be turned off and telling Moore he could not ask him that question since he (Barrow) owned CBC.

There are also reports of former prime minister Owen Arthur venting his anger towards VOB and the Nation as well. And this was during a time when the Advocate was considered to be pro BLP.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

DBLP politicians should have to deal with real journalists from NYDN, New York Times etc, then they will stop playing pimps and prostitutes with the media. They need to get it through their heads that they do not own the people, therefore they cannot do and say whatever they like including keeping vital information to themselves, neither do politicians own any state, taxpayer funded entities, those are owned by the people.

As long as they can get rid of the little hitler and little napoleon dictatorial mentalities, it should get better…they are way too vicious.

The ookitical pimping should be removed from media.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Should read: the political pimping should be removed from media.

The Bushman is right, what do the Trinis care re their interests in the Nation Newspapers, it’s not like any politician got the balls to do anything to them givne that they too are aware of what the politicians get up to….that’s what happens when you are weak and make yourself vulnerable.

9. Don’t want to give the Gov’t or any Bajan politician any ideas but the Somalia Gov’t recently enacted a law that all journalists in the country must have a University degree in journalism and Uganda also has a law on the books that journalists without degrees can’t cover Parliament.

Time for Bim to root out the riff raff: All journalists must have a PHD (that’s not Pine Hill Dairy) 🙂

10. one caribbean Media is a company owned by persons in trinidad and barbados. it is a public company with anyone in the caribbean or world free to buy shares. OCM is not interested in being pro trinidad or pro barbados as it is a company that is interseted in its reputation, its customers and thus translating into large following, profits and dividends for its shareholders. the reason media companies challenge governments is to persue their reputation and profits. the reason media companies do not challenge governments is because of fear of repriasals from powerful governments governments

11. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Not this one Bowsie. Too hot to handle.

12. Come on Bajans, you cannot have it both ways. How do you see it as good in the morning, and although nothing has changed it is bad in the evening? For as long as I can remember journalism in Barbados has mimicked the nightime activities of Bush Hill. If your son or daughter finds themselves before the law courts you need to only know the right person, and one telephone call gets that news item, although ready for publication suppressed. How long Trans-Tech big rides were traversing the lengths and breadths of this country in an obvious conflict of interest, burning up the pages of social media, engaging the delete button of every call in program, before any mainstream journalist caught on to it? He who pays the piper calls the tune so the journalistic prostitution remains a staple of the Bajan landscape.

13. Speaking of Phd’s,there was a measure of mirth when Mitch said to Hal,words to the effect that he is a Phd candidate.Besides giving him the benefit of the doubt,Gollop enquired of relevance.I say the NCC got Colombo on their side and we the public got a scene from Seinfeld’s Cramer wid piles.I am looking forward to the next episode on Jan 26th.

14. Elections were held in 2013. This is 2016. On five fingers you can count the number of times the leader of this country saw it fit to address this nation, despite the myriad of troubling issues that popped up. The members of the bloated but terribly disjointed cabinet choose to speak only to party faithful so policy statements are made on Sundays at branch meetings. Still so called journalists act like pimps and follow them all about Barbados. Michael Lashley finds time to tell them about a cricket match…….Motor mout Donville shows his prowess in line dancing. The Minister of Everything talks about everything except housing, and with one thousand so called journalists in their midst where substance and pertinence is concerned what did we get? NOT ONE ASS!

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The media houses are bought. Bought entities do not call the shots. They are directed in accordance and restricted in accordance. When you are bought and paid for you have no credibility. The nationnews is not a credible source. They cannot go after anyone with big money because the connections stretch far and wide, hence the fear of repercussions. These media houses in Barbados are bare jokers. It is the very reason why corruption has a large footprint running rampant in Bim.

16. Sargeant, then no one at the Advocate would have a job

17. It is clear to all but the Fatted Calf brigade that any change in Barbados will only come at a very high price…….In our hemisphere,Castro brought about change.So has Obama.

18. David

Should you second paragraph read?

Her statement followed that of Ambassador to the United Nations Tony Marshall a few days earlier who offered a similar curt “no comment” to the Nation newspaper in response to a question about why he has NOT occupied the official residence in a plush area in New York.

Imagine the response if a journalist had asked the question “Why does a country with a population ranking 171 of 193 require a property, located in the tree-lined and sedate high-income community of Forest Hills in Queens, then goes begging for concessionary financing?”

19. @ Tedd January 19, 2016 at 10:23 AM #
    “……. as it is a company that is interseted in its reputation, ……”

Not much to disagree with on your comment except the above. Anyone see the story in the Nation on Saturday or Sunday reporting that a Canadian man received the first successful horse penis transplant? Common sense alone and a quick internet search will show that this is clearly a hoax but the Nation published it.

20. @Nostradamus, why would that story be a hoax? Maybe the fellow just decided that a smaller one could be put to better use.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gabriel…unfortunately, there is no Castro or Obama in Barbados.

22. @David “a careful manipulation of information…”

No David.

It is not a careful manipulation.

It is a series of “big foot” moves.

23. @Artaxerxes January 19, 2016 at 5:08 AM “Supporters of both BLP and DLP are indeed a special breed of individuals.”

Why are you being so polite?

Special breed of individuals what?

Stupssseee!!!

They are 2 packs of jackass yardfowls.

Due….another question the journalisst should ask the politicians is why the government of the day took US $2 million of taxpayers money, bought the hoi poloi diplomat residence in Forest Hills and told the people on the island nothing, never told the people about the fire, never told the people whether the residence was insured. Of course DBLP will say its the fault of DBLP….HA HA.

Insurance companies in the US as a rule, pay claims for fire damage asap, the question the journalists should be asking is, did the insurance company pay out the claim and if not, why not.

Journalists in Barbados are too weak for anything other than bowing and scraping, so they can never ask the right questions…..too afraid of retaliation.

25. @Bush Tea January 19, 2016 at 7:19 AM “Harold Hoyte and Fred G. sold out…”

Have you ever sold anything?

26. Thanks Alicia, have not ha time to read but a scan confirms what we know, we are a one leg economy benefiting from increase global travel. Net financial inflow and international reserves remain flat line.

27. We have no credible media to represent the people. What we have is a media easily manipulated by others.

So why are we picking up fire rage?
    We should be telling salespeople from the sake media houses; no thank you!
    That is if we were really not satisfied with the current standards. I mean why buy shyte so that others can boast that they are #1 in order to generate more business from others trying to sell their shat to uunsuspecting and gullible people?

Um jus end mekking nun sense.

28. Yardfowls and the licorish who have sold us out to corruption should be ashamed and tried for treason!

29. We have allowed the brothers and sisters among us to do untold shite at the expense of the treasury https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1lH0AaXvJU8

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

Bottom line…Senator McClean should know better.
    A simple “no comment” would suffice. Whether being interpreted as “curt” or not, by extending her response to include “to the Nation Newspaper” she was either targeting the person asking the question or the organization which employs said person.
    In either case, such responses are below the minimum standards acceptable for any Minister.

31. Having not faced the polls and landing a plum pick at taxpayers’ expense; knowing better is not a requirement in retaining said plum pick.

32. @NorthernObserver
    Totally agree with you. Maxine should know better. Similar kind of ignorant response from her when the Myrie case first broke. Mout open words jump out.

33. Once upon a time when I knew not any better, I used to get my news from the National Enquirer; then I discovered the Nation Newspaper and switched. Years later, I can understand why someone would not have anything to say to the Nation, especially when they have CBC TV in their arsenal.

34. I have nothing to say to Bush tea. Hahaaa

35. Given the opinions of the print and audio media in Barbados I don’t hold out anything earthshattering if we had aTV station to compete with GIS aka DLPTV,aka CBC TV the home of the Fat Ass Brigade,sworn to protect the Fatted Calf incompetents.Gaul bline all ‘o dem.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/76860/nigerian-minister-usd68-billion-public-funds-stolen-seven

How is it the nation newspaper can regurgitate news about corrupt politians in every country, but cannot gave any breaking news about corruption in Barbados, they cannot tell everyone they don’t know, wuh if people living outside can tell you everyone’s business on the island, off the island, the politician’s dirty dealings, how is it the journalists in Barbados can’t do so and who told them they are journalists, if they cannot do their jobs.

37. I read the comment from Maxine McClean and was so outraged…………I just could not find the time to come on to BU to vent my outrage.

Just think that she………..who not a fellow has voted for, occupies a plum job at our expense and flies all over the world at our expense……….could be so arrogant to tell a journalist that she has nothing to say to a newspaper???? Who the hell she thinks she is?

I can only pray for the day when the likes of her who think that they are so powerful would be reduced to just what they were prior to 2008.

Anyone who was familiar with Phony Marshall on Brasstacks would not expect anything more from him, he is just an arrogant SOB.

38. To think about Maxine McClean, no one can expect anything better from her. The woman is a nasty liar. She sat on Tell It Like It Is for years telling people that she was neither B or D yet all along she was deep in Thompson’s bosom, plotting and scheming.

I would never forget how she and Mr Know it all from St Lucy told Barbadians that there were 30,000 illegal Guyanese in Barbados. When David Ellis asked her for proof she could not produce any. It is alleged that she co authored the DLP pack of lies called a manifesto. When asked about the many promises she said that they could promise but when they got into power, they had to break the promises as they did not know what they would find.

Liar, the BLP left hefty foreign reserves and ’nuff money in the Consolidated Fund which they licked out like drunken sailors on shore leave.

39. @ Enuff January 19, 2016 at 5:55 PM
    ….missed yuh buddy… 🙂
    All the best for ’16

40. @ Simple Simon
    Have Bushie ever sold anything…?
    Yuh mean you don’t know the difference between ‘SELLING’ ..and “SELLING-OUT”?

If the bushman ‘had the rid of you’ …he would take a $20 bill fuh yuh tail. 🙂

41. @ Well Well & Consequences,

Now that I’m in BIM I have had the opportunity to read both The Advocate and The Nation. The water crisis has now impacted some state schools. This is what occurs when corruption is given free reign.

There was one outstanding contribution from a Mr T Marshall:

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/letters_to_editor/76831/bizzy-firestorm-mauby-glass

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Exclaimer January 19, 2016 at 9:50 PM
    “There was one outstanding contribution from a Mr T Marshall”

Outstanding contribution, my ass!

Why didn’t he, Mr. T. Marshall, (with a slave name himself) go on to the year 2016 and mention the names of the likes of Maloney and Bjerkham who still pull the puppet strings of the same DLP Cabinet of pro-Independence black monkeys?

Did black contractors build the many NHC units at the Grotto still occupied despite the long list of black people in need of housing solutions?
    Maybe Sharkmout Lashley has the solution in the form of concretizing the roads of Barbados with rock hard cement.

Who is the Minister responsible for Immigration and the issuing of works permits to Caucasians?
    Isn’t he the physiognomic epitome of a black straight from West Africa and brought up stupid not so much under the Union jack but more so under the blue yellow and black frayed buntings of St. Andrew?

Listen mate, tell the likes of Trevor Marshall it’s time to get the monkey off their backs and start seeing the forest from the trees. The piece of Bajan white people is history both numerically and economically. They belong to the past; not the future. Why not consider your own black impotence in light of the massively growing control of the economy not only by corporate foreign interests but also by the obvious presence of East Indian and Chinese control of the commercial distributive sector and channels of trade.

43. With the celebration of 50 years independence celebrated in January. Will there be a similar event in November when Barbados becomes REPUBLIC.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Exclaimer….that’s why I took issue with Bizzy because him and his ilk care nothing about the island and the ‘King Kongs’ residing on it outside of what they get in financial windfalls. You will see for yourself, just make the rounds of the island. Just a matter of time now.

When I saw schools affected by lack of water and Jones complaining about it, it’s as plain as day, that they screwed up and are not people you would want maki.ng decisions abou your future. I certainly would not want my life in their hands.

Miller…as usual you got right to the point.

45. Steupsss @ Miller
    “…. Why didn’t he, Mr. T. Marshall, (with a slave name himself) go on to the year 2016 and mention the names of the likes of Maloney and Bjerkham who still pull the puppet strings of the same DLP Cabinet of pro-Independence black monkeys?…”
    Why the hell don’t you put down your REAL name and do it….?
    …think Snuffy born yesterday?

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller…don’t know when last you been to Bim, but retaliation is alive and well on the island, those who are affected negatively by all the crap are the ones who will retaliate against ending it, don’t know if that makes any sense to you….. You may note that it’s people living outside of Barbados who are attempting to fight those monsters and beasts.

47. @ David,
    Look at two statements form the article” The media plays a critical role in any society as a purveyor of news – the purpose of journalism is thus to provide citizens with the information they need to make the best possible decisions about their lives, their communities, their societies, and their governments. If key players in the government trivialize the role of the media it means the citizenry will be the poorer for it. Could it be that our political leaders do not care about educating the people? Now perish that thought! (1)
    “We have no credible media to represent the people. What we have is a media easily manipulated by others. What we have is a government who is upset when it experiences difficulty manipulating players in the media fraternity a al The BarbadosAdvocate.” (2)

We have no real journalists (media). So why blame the politicians ????

48. After the Barbados Nation allowed discredited Peter Wickham to publish his distorted second so-called opinion poll the next day after he published his original one with the Dems expected to win the elections,I knew it was time for Nation News to be boycotted.
    I have indicated that I will boycott the The Nation and I have done that.The Nation Newspaper have not counted one red cent of Negroman’s money.
    When I read the Advocate Newspaper,I receive more information on the happennings in Barbados,the Caribbean & indeed the world more-so than that rag tag that is call Nation News.
    The polical bias of Nation News is so glaring that even the most intellectually challenged person in Barbados can recognize it.
    Barbadians are intelligent people and I have observed that on a daily basis large volumes of daily Nation News Newspapers are left on the shelves of Gas stations and Newspaper Vendors.I suspect Nation News sales have fallen dramatically.
    I hope this great government and the Black intelligent people boycott the damn Nations and in so doing also boycott Massy Stores.
    No domination of our country by Trinidadians should ever take place in Barbados.
    BOYCOTT NATION NEWS AND MASSY STORES

49. As if we need proof of the unacceptable performance of the DLP government,those who thought the water woes were a perfect example are now provided with the facts of the state of almost all the sporting facilities supposedly under the mandate of the short ass man Lashley who thinks he is god’s gift to culture and arts.Piss ass man wont let civil servants and statutory boards management do their work.He must be always on TV with his cliches of boredom.Tell bajans why the National Stadium is in such disarray and why all the pavilions around Barbados are in disarray,little clown!And the icing on the cake today was the embarrassment of Mara Thompson who stumbled and ah ah um um when David Ellis put some solid questions to her about her plans for St John.Guess what.Zilch.Nothing.Absolutely nothing.Nada.But St John people like it so,never mind Nobby move to St George and Mara to St Thomas,I hear……………