Submitted by Anthony Davis
Auditor General, Leigh Trotman's voice has been one in the wilderness.
Auditor General, Leigh Trotman’s voice has been one in the wilderness.

Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite today warned that Barbados was exposed now more than ever to threats of international terrorism, while stating that Government was prepared to meet local Muslims and Rastafarians halfway on the controversial requirement that female members remove their headdress when talking official photographs … So seriously is he taking the threat of terrorism, that Brathwaite that Barbados may very well have to divert some of its funding for social services, such as health and education, to national security – Barbados TODAY, dated January 4, 2016

This seems to be really silly season, because  statements coming from some members of this “people-centred Government” are becoming more and more preposterous daily.

Neither the Ministry of Health nor the Ministry of Education is receiving the funding it is supposed to get, now you come with the bright idea of “diverting” some of their funds to national security.

They are already stretched to their limits, with the QEH, and the clinics always being short of something, and schools asking former students to help where they can with the provision of some kind of assistance for students, with the upkeep of the plant, and the refurbishment of desks.

My take on that is that you and your colleagues should give up some more of what the taxpayers are paying you, seeing that you give away the taxes they give you.

You seem to think that those who depend on the QEH, and the various clinics, and those who are seeking a better education for their scions than they had, are the ones to be milked every time you need money. You should have put the $700 million you gave to Cahill Energy to better use!

We are not paying taxes only so that you can fritter them away and then come to fleece us for more. I would suggest that you go to page 3 of Barbados TODAY dated January 5, 2016, and read the report under the headline “Audit reveals worrying results at Psychiatric”. Read it carefully, and then come back and tell us that the health sector has enough funds for some to be diverted to national security!

In education, you have deprived the scions of the poor, the needy and the vulnerable of a UWI education, and also of a BCC education by hiking the fees so that they cannot pay them. What more do you think you can cut from the funds for health and education? You should know what funding they are getting, because you are a member of Cabinet, and sit in on all of the decisions being made. I don’t know where the funding should come from, but it should surely not come from any of the social services or education.

55 responses to “Silly Season!”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Nitwit Brathwaite needs to fight the terrorists in his own back yard, the ones, so inclined, sitting on the supreme court benches, along with their partners in crimes, destroying lives on a daily basis, with their deliberate and malicious greed, taking bribes and negatively impacting personal injury claimants and others’ lives so as to cement the corrupt, criminal hold some insurance companies and their owners have on the island.

It would not cost Brathwaite a taxpayer’s dime to fight his own terrorists whom he rubs shoulders with as colleagues. Nitwit is not equipped to fight any international terrorism, neither physically nor intellectually.and what does he have that an international terrorist would want anyway.

It’s sickening that as Attorney General Brathwaite in charge of the supreme court does not see the urgency of setting boundaries in the supreme court that would prevent and completely stop judges so inclined and lawyers, so inclined, from taking bribes from insurance companies and others while destroying the integrity of the judiciary. Nitwit cares nothing about that but all eager to take on international terrorists, which is not part of his job description…..but his taxpayer funded job, he does not want to do……who is he looking for a pat on the head from, who is he trying to impress in the international community, are they paying his salary, he is one who loves to run up to NY spilling his guts, while keeping se rets from local taxpayer, what a nitwit.

Get rid of the dirty judges and dirty lawyers, that would be a public service and part of Brathwaite’s job description.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Should read:

“are they paying his salary, he is one who loves to run up to NY spilling his guts, while keeping secrets from local taxpayers, what a nitwit.”

3. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Why not divert the funds being used on the “all year” 50th Anniversary celebrations to areas most needed.

This Government continues to treat Barbadians like asses. Please go away!!

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….scientists have come up with a new procedure called brain fingerprinting now successfully used on convicted criminals who lie about their criminal acts. It will be, if not started already, used on terrorists to find out all their wicked secrets, to avert terrorist acts…..so….what does anyone need Adriel Brathwaite taking scarce taxpayers dollars to fight international terrorism for….the international community certainly does not need him and would know of any conceived attack, real or imagined, in the Caribbean before he does, because am sure he does not know of these machine existence, some security expert he is……steupss.

What he needs to do is ask the pioneers of these same brain fingerprinting machines, to donate 2 to the government in Barbados so the same brilliant pioneers can use them on the criminals parading around the island as professionals and destroying everything including the judiciary, that is what he would do if he cared, even a little bit, for the people, get rid of the professional terroists and criminals blighting the island.

There is no reason for Brathwaite to waste taxpayer’s dollars, he is being wicked and dishonest…the usual nasty politician trait.

5. @Well well. For once I am going to take serious issue with you, for your own protection. What you have written, all without showing verifiable proof, is highly defamatory. Not just that, but criminally defamatory. While I completely agree that Nitwit Adriel is indeed a nitwit, nincompoop and totally incompetent (and just think, he is actually a member of the Inner Bar) your accusations of corruption and accepting bribes against members of the Bench is not only criminal defamation, but also totally untrue. There are many areas on which you can criticise the judges: breaching the constitution by delaying justice; incompetent decisions when FINALLY rendered; etc. And these are almost universal in the case of members of the Barbados Bench and you would be well advised to stick to those, because they are not only true, but provable. As for your general accusation against attorneys, I, of course, am not able to speak to that in relation to all attorneys, only the ones I know well, of whom there are quite a few – and I can tell you categorically that, in those cases, it is most certainly not true.

On some of the matters discussed by Mr Anthony Davis, I have to point out:

• Terrorism is a global matter and highly important to Barbados. We rely on tourism for the bulk of our money. That means that our infrastructure and national security has got to offer protection not only to our own citizens and residents, but also those same tourists without whose money, we are financially screwed and who, because of their nationality, might be at risk. If we do not put the adequate security in place, then nations, airlines, travel agents and governments will issue an advisory to tourists wishing to visit Barbados that it is a high terrorist risk area. In case you do not follow these things in the international press, take a look at what happened to tourism in Jakarta, Paris, Tunisia, Turkey, Egypt, Belgium etc.

• There are many countries where it is not permitted to wear face covering in public. For Adriel’s information, here is a partial list: Australia, Syria, France (which includes the French West Indies) Belgium, Turkey, Tunisia, Spain, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Russia, the Netherlands (which would include the Dutch West Indies) Chad, Malaysia, Cameroon, Congo-Brazzaville, Gabon, Canada (in special circumstances). In the UK, while there is no ban as such, schools are allowed by law to ban face coverings if they wish and courts will not allow visitors or litigants wearing face coverings. In the case of France, a legal challenge to the Court of Human Rights upheld France in the matter of the ban. So what Adriel needs to do is to shut the hell up and leave it to the PM acting on the advice of our national security people to formulate a system that works for Barbados and also for the international community, instead of trying to cash in politically on recent terrorist attacks and try to persuade the electorate what they know for a fact is NOT the case, namely that Nitwit is on the ball. And if it is decided that face coverings should be banned and those who wish to wear them object, then they are at liberty to relocate.

I simply do not understand the fuss at all from a country where camouflage-style clothing, even when worn by infants, is against the law. Since, therefore, Barbados has by law established itself as an arbiter of fashion, why all this fuss from Nitwit now?

6. Well Well has been warned several times to curb her obvious vendetta against the legal system. It is not not enough to write glibly without considering the implication for others involved.

7. So when the Atty Gen says he is going to meet the members of these two communities “halfway”, does he mean that members will only be able to cover their faces “halfway”?

BTW what happened to PUDRYR? Last he wrote that he was living under the thumb of a foreign dictator (read with a SIL in the USA) hope someone can arrange a prisoner swap:-)

8. Thanks David

I just saw it as I was catching up on the blog.

My bad for thinking he was AWOL, another example of leaping before looking.

9. I have said it before and I will say it again. LITTLE BARBADOS has independence from Great Britain, without any interference from the Queen of England who will step in, if have to,
    to protect BARBADOS, if needed , just like she ordered when Argentina invade the Falkland islands back in 1982 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1982_invasion_of_the_Falkland_Islands
    Should we (BARBADOS) break away from Great Britain and become a REPUBLIC just to remove the Queen or King and put a local NEGRO OR WHITE OR MIXTURE OF THE TWO COLOURS, SO AS TO CREATE HISTORY.what will Barbados protect itself with? An army of a few hundred members, a NAVY with about 4 or 5 boats AND A FEW SAILORS, an air force of ?????? PLANES, your guess is as good as mind (I cannot get pass 0) . Therefore I would say we are at our BEST THE VERY BEST staying as we are, INDEPENDENT with the QUEEN as the HEAD , and try and find a way to select 2 MUTUAL HEADS OF STATE that is or were successful business persons over 25 years and turning over $100,000,000 per year , with a panel that is selected by the people of the 11 parishes with the winning party running the day to day running of the country and all final financial and major decisioning to be made by the two (2) MUTUAL HEADS OF STATE . Off course this can be fine tune .
    The present persons responsible for the close door signing of the CAHILL WTE PLANT AND PLASMA GASIFICATION FACTORY SHOULD HAVE BEEN SUSPENDED, UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY AND THEN DEALT WITH ACCORDINGLY. DISQUALIFIED FROM THE GOVERNMENT AND NEVER BE ALLOWED TO TAKE PART EVER AGAIN.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Amused..I tend to agree with you on most everything, but this one, I will stay my course. Exactly how do you know, those judges, so inclined and I quoted myself again, so inclined, do not take bribes, how do you know lawyers, so inclined, have not over the years victimized the trusts of their cients hwen they have ben so many people rying out over the years. I believe you made an error with that paragraph…I hope it des nt return to embarassyou sinceyou are oe ofthe few I believe genuine. Are you willing to bet your integrity on this?

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

No vendatta David and I do consider implications for you.

Amused….do you realy feel these large countries allow their people to leave as tourists and don’t have systems in place to track and monitor flights and the people on board, air marshals, cruiseliners and have the latest technology available on these carriers, technology Brathwaite would not have access to to keep track of everyone, don’t you think the islands are already monitored with the latest surveillence, given the sizes, it’s a cakewalk.

If Brathwaite cannot take control of the supreme court that is on the island, how will he secure the island and control international terrorists, how will he stop them…just throwing m8ney at what he believes is good security will laughable.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Re face and head coverings for muslims and people with dreads, if they can reach some agreement, fine, as long as it’s the same as applies to everyone else. Not too concerned about that because no one can be bothered with the confusion, not even the muslims. Takes too much energy in the Caribbean.

I am dealing strictly with Brathwaite believing he can take on the world at taxpayers expense, but can do nothing about what is happening at the supreme court, the corruption that those affected have been crying about for decades. Nitwit would be better off leaving international terrorism to the real professionals in security, ask for their help, if it becomes necessary, they never say no, since the US is usually the main country targeted and focus his attention on showing that he is ridding the court of every bit of corruption by doing his job..

13. @ Well Well you should be content that BU has a section at the top of the opening page called Lawyers in the News.

You do not have to write what you think or what you know if you may suffer “Consequences”.

The Freun is silent most of the time and he ent suffering no “consequences”. He is still the PM.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hants…there are people who are very patient, maybe people in Barbados are easily frightened because they have to live there all the time, but these crooks travel too, they do not stay in Barbados all the time, they love to roam around. I have seen them and know who they are…..

In saying that, these ‘professionals’ use the same laws to cover up what they do to others and been covering up their crimes with threats…not everyone is easily frightened, there are people with patience to spare. I happen to be one of them.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hants…besides, they have fair warning. If I see certain people treated unfairly in 2016 at the supreme court, I will use the information I have. Not your typical Bajan afraid of their own shadow, but not afraid to tear into each other.. I am not only giving warning but lots of time. 2016 just started. If they want a fight fine, but mine can be dirtier than what they are accustomed, so let them bring it on.

It’s not hard to treat people fairly, brutes are just pure evil. And I may be pleasantly surprised, who knows, if I am, will be sure to let social media know. Then Amused will have something to be proud about.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dr. Larry Farwell conducts a Brain Fingerprinting test
    on serial killer

Farwell and President George Bush 3 

Dr. Larry Farwell discusses Brain Fingerprinting with President George W. Bush
    Senator Charles Grassley
    “If we are interested in making sure that the innocent go free, and that the guilty are punished, any technological instrument that can help us make a determination of guilt or innocence, we ought to know about it.” — Senator Charles Grassley

Farwell Brain Fingerprinting: An Overview

A critical task of the criminal justice system is to distinguish criminals and terrorists from innocent suspects. Terrorists and criminals know who they are, and they know what they have done. They have that information stored in their brains. The key difference between a guilty party and an innocent suspect is that the criminal or terrorist has a record of his criminal and terrorist activities stored in his brain, and the innocent suspect does not.
    Until Dr. Farwell invented Brain Fingerprinting testing, there was no scientifically valid way to detect this fundamental difference. Brain Fingerprinting scientifically, accurately, and humanely detects concealed information, such as the details of criminal or terrorist activities, stored in the brains of the perpetrators. It can also show definitively that innocent suspects lack this record of the crime stored in their brains.

Brain Fingerprinting has been tested and proven at the FBI, the CIA, and the US Navy. It has been applied in criminal cases to provide critical evidence — both to help identify perpetrators and to exonerate innocent suspects.

Dr. Farwell and his colleagues have published Brain Fingerprinting research in the leading peer-reviewed scientific journals.

Brain Fingerprinting, and Dr. Farwell’s expert witness testimony on this new science, have been admitted as scientific evidence in court.

Brain Fingerprinting detects concealed information stored in the brain. Brain Fingerprinting can detect three fundamental types of information.

Brain Fingerprinting can detect the record of a specific crime stored in the brain of the perpetrator. For example, Brain Fingerprinting detected the record of the murder of Julie Helton stored in the brain of serial killer JB Grinder. It proved that innocent convict Terry Harrington did not have the record of the murder of which he had been convicted stored in his brain.
    Brain Fingerprinting can detect information stored in the brain that is known only to people with inside knowledge of a terrorist or criminal organization, such as Al-Qaeda-trained terrorists. For example, Brain Fingerprinting proved over 99% accurate in detecting FBI-relevant information known to FBI agents but not to the public in a test at the FBI Academy on FBI agents.
    Brain Fingerprinting can detect information known only to people trained in a particular field, such as bomb makers (IED / EOD experts). For example, Brain Fingerprinting proved over 99% accurate in detecting knowledge unique to bomb makers.

Brain Fingerprinting, like all sciences, must be practiced according to specific scientific standards. The Brain Fingerprinting Scientific Standards have been published in the peer-reviewed scientific literature. Scientific studies have definitively shown that meeting the Brain Fingerprinting standards is necessary not only for admissibility as scientific evidence in court, but also for accuracy, reliability, and validity of the science.

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Merry Xmas gone and a happy new year come. The SSS is back from the land of many troubles and angry silent bajans. Gosh! Xmas was good. Never eat so much. Now in the gym to drop the 2 kilos I gained. So what did I miss? Oh yeah, when I heard the attorney general lament about this the first thing that came to mind is: Barbados want to feel that it is so important that terrorist has their eyes set on carrying out a France and US hate attack. After all, Barbados is a superpower with a strong military presence who have shown middle east terrorist our might and money. Then I thought to myself that the proposed diversion of funds towards security must be opportunistic since this administration is in the habit of waste and spend, with the convenience to justify their reasons with a hold lot of bold face superfluity. Well, let us just say toilet talk. I turn a new leaf no more cussing. I mean you know you need to beef up security and you know you need money to do it. But, the big year long show must go on because the Stuart has spoken meeyaaahhhh. Not every day you get to celebrate 50 years of Dependence after winning your right to be independent for 12 months now do you? So there is no money, but money is set aside for 12 months of jubilee. The country is all up in arms over its garbage problem, health care, water woes, the rate of inflation and price gouging, yet the show must go on. So I can only assume that the AG is seizing the moment to capitalize on the terror wave to bring that wave to Barbados to justify his need for more money…oops I meant money for his security… DARN WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME: I meant money for Barbados security. There is no other logical explanation to determine how this AG arrived at his hypothesis that we are faced with a significant threat of terrorism.

18. Seems St.Lucia have the same concerns about the ISIL threat.

http://stluciatimes.com/2016/01/15/isis-threat-concern-saint-lucia

19. @ David

I have no sympathy for Gaston Browne or his son to the extent that, in Bajan parlance, “I glad.”

From the time Browne became PM of Antigua he has been feeding the Antiguan public with negative comments about and pushing some sort of vendetta against Barbados. It seems as though he has a certain amount of hate for this island (or jealousy).

20. @David, a US General had raised the issue of a potential ISIS attack in the Caribbean as well. http://www.looptt.com/content/us-general-warns-possible-isis-attacks-caribbean

I am only speculating but this may be the reason for the heightened rhetoric here in Barbados about fortifying our security apparatus. It is an important issue but I share the sentiments already articulated here that funds should not be diverted from social services for this purpose, especially health and education which are already underfunded. There are other areas where we spend money unnecessarily that could be looked at.

Just a question, what’s the position with the Regional Security System? If I recall correctly, we used to receive technical assistance and funding from the US, didn’t we?

21. The issue Alicia is whether our politicians should spare us the rhetoric and do what they have to do as far a policymaking and resource allocation is concerned.

On 17 January 2016 at 13:03, Barbados Underground wrote:

22. @David, no arguments from me there. I am curious to know what’s the position with the RSS though. I look forward to any light anyone could shed on this.

23. Alicia the RSS is a creature of member governments, what are you hoping that they say?

Why would St. Lucia be worried about ISIS when they have a whole Saudi billionaire as their roving Ambassador to protect them…they really take the electorate for idiots.

How is it Mia cannot release any documents on the current government. Guyana’ s opposition did, now Antigua. Why can’t the opposition, if only to bring some integrity to the party.

25. @David, I know what it is but I have not heard mention of it in recent times. Let’s face it, terrorism is a transborder issue and it makes more sense to tackle it at a regional level and not simply at a national level. We already have a regional security mechanism in place by treaty. Is the RSS still receiving the training and funding we used to get from the US and Canada? Is this training and funding sufficient to assist us with monitoring? Is there interface between the RSS and IMPACs?

26. @David, in other words, like you said, we are hearing rhetoric but what I want to know is what are we doing at both the national and regional levels to monitor and prevent any potential terrorist threats.

27. We are probably on the same page, whether RSS or respective governments outline a strategy i all the same. A scan of the RSS website throws out many empty links. Not great to inspire public confidence at all.

http://www.rss.org.bb/

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

All they ever need do is contact the US, who have all the available intelligence, technology, funding to fight any threats. What will Brathwaite do, tickle international terrorists to death, bore them to death, these well trained international terrorists think 10 times faster than any politician in Barbados ever could.

29. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

So you are saying, that the UK will first make a nice calculation as to whom it should render assistance militarily, based on whether the Queen is or is not the executive authority in that State? So Guyana, Dominica and T&T in trouble. What if we were invaded by Bermuda?

Then I guess we should appoint the US President….the US has a much more potent army and is much closer!

30. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

I wonder if well, well is referring to a story on saw on the departure blog, i must too say well, well about the stories related to that individual, funny thing is there seem to be some credence in those stories because i was hearing the same things a long time ago. Well i guess we will have to wait and see, if they merit any form of investigation.

31. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

should be i saw…….

32. Well Well & Consequences January 17, 2016 at 10:24 AM #
    We cant even control our own Highway Terrorists, boys on bicycles, and the young men on motor cycles,both of whom have no regard for law and order,or for those who are supposed to administer it.
    A breeding ground for anarchy and advanced terrorism.

33. Better seeing people in camouflage clothing not knowing if they’re truly in the service. Then seeing them in a burka’s, or niqab’s not knowing who their hiding, or what their hiding.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

LT Caine….one day someone will pop up with evidence and scare the hell out of all of them because it will not be in the form they are expecting. They know no investigation will be done in Barbados because too many of them are dirty with too much political involvement. Yes, that judge has a reputation and so does his wife, an attorney, with Trinis who know her very well.

They have managed to scare Bajans into silence for decades now, but, this is a different ballgame.

Colonel…the motorcyclists makes it particularly scary on those roads.

35. “How is it Mia cannot release any documents on the current government. Guyana’ s opposition did, now Antigua. Why can’t the opposition, if only to bring some integrity to the party.”

Because I assume Well Well she is waiting on the DLP a chance to release the ones they promised to release in the 2008 election campaign first.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Mia is worried that the DLP might release the documents they already have on her and members of her party. After all, these two parties must follow their carefully studied scripts to a T and reveal only that much and no more. Mia Mottley is a firm position to make a difference for Barbados if she just thread on the side of integrity and come clean slated. But, she is dipped in dirt and piles of dodo that could easily show up all of her hidden stinks.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Is that not a shame..Balance and SS….the same can be said for most of them. It would be much easier and make perfect sense for them to reverse all the corruption in every taxpayer owned and funded entity, before things really get totally out of control, but as many are pointing out, they may be all …in too deep and it all has to come out in the wash.

38. I received some very interesting news via a “Loop News” message, which stated 4 Trinidadian terrorists were captured in Turkey.

http://www.looptt.com/content/4-trinidadian-terrorists-captured-turkey

39. Let us hope these 4 are not extradited to the Caribbean.

40. caribbeantradelaw January 17, 2016 at 9:28 AM #

“@David, in other words, like you said, we are hearing rhetoric but what I want to know is what are we doing at both the national and regional levels to monitor and prevent any potential terrorist threats.”

Although I agree with your perspective relative to the RSS’s involvement in “to monitoring and preventing any potential terrorist threats,” we must also look at the duties of the Financial Intelligence Unit and the Anti-Money Laundering Authority (AMLA).

“The Anti-Money Laundering Authority (AMLA) is the body established under Section 8 of the Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (Prevention and Control) Act, 2011-23 to supervise financial institutions in an effort to prevent money laundering and terrorist financing. The Anti-Money Laundering Authority (AMLA) maintains oversight of the national Anti-Money Laundering/Counter-Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) framework.”

“The Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (Prevention and Control) Act, 2011-23 ascribes to AMLA the responsibility of supervising financial institutions, making it the principal supervisory entity in the fight against money laundering in Barbados. The Financial Intelligence Unit on behalf of the Authority receives reports of suspicious or unusual transactions from financial institutions. The reports are then analysed and information disseminated to the relevant competent authorities.”

41. “Neither the Ministry of Health nor the Ministry of Education is receiving the funding it is supposed to get, now you come with the bright idea of “diverting” some of their funds to national security.”

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>><<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

The reality is Barbados and the entire Caribbean region has to put the necessary measures in place to combat terrorism. I read an article in which USA army General John Kelly, commander of the Miami based US Southern Command, expressed concern that “a small number of motivated Islamic State fighters could commit acts of terror in Caribbean nations.”

Kelly told reporters at the Pentagon that about 150 Islamic extremists left the Caribbean region to join Islamic state fighters in the Middle East last year, about 50 more than in the previous year. The biggest threat may be the extremist who prefer to remain in the region. Kelly said the Islamic extremist groups seem to have a new message for potential jihadist, which is rather than coming to Syria, they could stay at home and commit acts of terror similar to those perpetrated in France and USA.

The General is of the opinion that a few of these extremists are capable of causing “an awful lot of trouble down in the Caribbean,” because we do not have sophisticated law enforcement agencies such as the FBI and many islands have small armies or no military at all.

Interestingly, the approved estimates for financial year 2014-2015 for the ANTI-MONEY LAUNDERING PROGRAM, was recorded at $706,463 and this sum was subsequently revised to $696,498.

The budget estimates for 2015-2016 were $1,480,692 and the forward estimates for the financial year 2016-2017 were $902,558.

What we have to ask the Attorney General, under whose portfolio AMLA falls, is whether or not the program is being adequately funded to execute its functions as mandated by the FIU Act.

42. @Agreed, Artaxerxes. Thanks for sharing the article about the four Trinidadians which were captured. I had missed that. You raise a good point about the AML/CTF. From what I understand, our AML legislation in Barbados is quite robust. As you say, however, the question is whether the AMLA/FIU have enough funding to carry out the duties with which they are charged. Another question is whether there is constant communication and information sharing between the various AML agencies across the Caribbean. As an aside,I heard the 2nd Caribbean AML conference is coming up in Miami in March. One of the sessions is on Terrorism and its Impact on the Caribbean. Definitely worth keeping an ear out on.

43. With all the AML/FIU framework in place since when??? have we used the legislation to date to charge anybody?

44. David January 18, 2016 at 7:19 PM #

Charge somebody for what……last I heard we are still a democracy,with freedom of expression.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art….as I understand it, an office was opened in Florida as recent as Nov 2015 to deal with the money laundering in the region. Re terrorists returning to the Caribbean or those being funded while living in the Caribbean, they will all have to be handed over to the countries who have the resources to deal with them.

They would all be already familiar with the weaknesses in each individual island and would move swiftly to exploit…imagine trying to put 4 or more of those terrorists in Dodds, or even trying to detain them in the BDF compound, this is no joke and these people should be contained as far away from the islands as possible.

46. @ David

The FIU was established in 2002 under Section 6B of the Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism Act.

As you can conclude from the following preamble, the Anti-terrorism act was passed on May 30, 2002.

CHAPTER 158: ANTI-TERRORISM

An Act (Anti-Terrorism Act) to implement the United Nations Convention respecting the Suppression of the Financing of Terrorism and the United Nations Security Council Resolution 1373 on terrorism; generally to make provision for preventing and combatting terrorism; and to amend the Constitution to the extent necessary to give effect to the provision respecting capital punishment. [30th May, 2002]

The Act goes on to give the definition of terrorism, financing of terrorist activities, investigatory provisions, freezing or forfeiting of funds and extradition procedures, to name a few.

The Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism Act (Prevention and Control) Act, 2011 – 23, was passed in July 2011.

There are also specific guidelines as follows:

1) Anti-Money Laundering/Combating Terrorist Financing Guideline for Financial Institutions Licensed under the Financial Institutions Act, Cap. 324A and the International Financial Services Act, Cap. 325.

2) AML/CFT Guidance Note for Credit Unions issued by the ANTI-MONEY LAUNDERING AUTHORITY in September 2006.

3) AML/CFL Guideline for the Insurance Industry.

Unfortunately, I am not aware of anyone being arrested and charged under the Act, since the functions of the FIU are somewhat SECRETIVE (perhaps for obvious reasons).
    What I am aware of is that the FIU’s director is a female attorney-at-law and in 2009 its chairman was a well known attorney-at-law.
    When last I checked, the Unit did not have a forensic accountant in its employ, and I found this rather strange, since FAs are trained to investigate money laundering and financing of terrorism.

It is interesting to note that, in December 2013, when the deadline was approaching for Guyana to comply with the recommendations set out by the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF), Financial Analyst, Christopher Ram, suggested that the nation scrap its existing legislation and adopt the one existing in Barbados, because our 2011 legislation fully complies with all the recommendations of the CFATF.

47. Well Well & Consequences January 18, 2016 at 10:28 PM #
    …….. and these people should be contained as far away from the islands as possible.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Preferably in something made of pine.