Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC

As the excesses of the Christmas Day just past recede in the national consciousness, we prepare this week to welcome in 2016. At the close of this year, there seems to be a popular consensus that the local economy is on the up, although this assertion remains unsupported on most occasions by any evidence, persuasive or at all.

I suppose a healthy optimism is in itself a Very Good Thing, although the more cautious among us would wish for more authoritative empirical proof of this most fortunate event.

In this, the final column for 2015, I propose to touch on some matters across the region, fully cognizant of the risk that I may be accused by some of the citizens of those states of interference in their national affairs. That is, of course, provided they disagree with my views, as the Ambassador of the European Union would have discovered recently when he dared to offer an opinion on corporal punishment that differed radically from the antediluvian views of some locals who will not be swayed one jot or tittle from their simplistic and fundamentalist literalism that the โ€œrodโ€ in Proverbs 13:34 sounds too much like the โ€œtambrinโ€ (tamarind) rod, a favoured instrument for the parental infliction of pain in my youth, to mean anything else.

Clearly, the Ambassadorโ€™s opinion would be considered interference only because it conflicts with theirs; readers will recall that there was no such allegation against former UN Secretary General Kofi Annan when he cryptically, but supposedly flatteringly, claimed that Barbados punched above its weight in international fora.

It might have ever been thus. Chafed at criticism of the policy of racial segregation operative in Alabama some years ago, the then Governor George Wallace is reported to have said, โ€œWe shall continue to maintain segregation in Alabama completely and absolutely without violence or ill-willโ€ฆWe ask for patience and tolerance and make an earnest request that we be allowed to handle state and local affairs without outside interferenceโ€ฆโ€ The patent distinction here, of course, is that the Governor was far more gracious in his disagreement than the locals.

In any event, the accusation of external interference leveled at Mr. seems particularly misplaced given the context in which His Excellency spoke. As I have been urging for some time, the issue of state sovereignty should scarcely arise in a circumstance where the critical issue is compliance with the provisions of a voluntarily ratified international treaty, unless the accusers are prepared to argue that we possess the geopolitical clout to be international floutlaws of sacred global pacts. I am almost certain that this is not what Mr. Annan meant by โ€œpunching above our weightโ€.

When is a year nine months only?

I was intrigued by a report in the Barbados Advocate on Tuesday last week that Justice Errol Thomas of the Dominica High Court had called on prison authorities to stop what he called โ€œthe unlawful practice of reducing prison sentences without the authority of the courtโ€. It may be widely known that the prison year is commonly thought of as a period of nine, instead of the calendar twelve, months.

In response to the assertion of the Superintendent of Prisons that โ€œon arrival at the prison, the convicted person is given a one-third reduction to the sentence that is re-imposed only for misbehaviour during his time thereโ€, the learned judge posited, โ€œThe only person authorized to reduce a sentence is the judge. No prison judge or officer has the right to reduce any sentence as soon as a prisoner enters the prisonโ€ฆitโ€™s unlawfulโ€ฆthat cannot be right…You are undermining the judgment of the courtโ€ฆโ€ The Superintendentโ€™s appeal to custom and practice โ€“โ€œitโ€™s been happening for 31 years โ€ฆif itโ€™s a bad practice, it [has been] bad long timeโ€ฆโ€ availed nothing. Thomas J reiterated his point about its unlawfulness.

I am not aware whether the matter has as yet been satisfactorily resolved in Dominica, but it is a nice point. I also do not know whether the identical position obtains there, but in Barbados the Prison Rules 1974, made under the Prisons Act, Cap 168, provides for the lawfulness of this procedure. According to rule 41, where relevant, โ€œโ€ฆarrangements shall be made by which a prisoner who is serving a sentence of imprisonment whether by one sentence or by consecutive sentences, for a period exceeding one monthโ€ฆ may by good conduct and industry become eligible for discharge when a portion of his sentence not exceeding one-fourth of the whole sentence has yet to runโ€ฆโ€

There would thus seem to be some lacunae in the popular thought. First, the sentence does not appear to be commuted, as the Dominican prison official claimed, โ€œupon arrival at the prisonsโ€, but rather it appears that a decision has to be made, at the time when at least three-quarters of the sentence has been served, as to whether the remaining period should be commuted or not. This is dependent upon โ€œgood conduct and industryโ€ having been exhibited by the prisoner during his sojourn there.

Further, contrary to the view of the learned judge that it undermines the judgment of the court, it seems rather to be a matter of constitutional jurisdiction. While the court sentences the convicted person to a period on imprisonment; the prison authorities are empowered to determine the precise extent of that period. The current arrangement would appear to contemplate an inbuilt remission of sentence, although this is conditional on the prisonerโ€™s good behaviour and industry.

Where a similar statute applies, and the sentencing court feels strongly enough about the issue, the necessary mathematical calculation will have to be effected by the judicial officer. Since one prison year may eventually be nine (9) months, then, in order to ensure a convicted person actually serves a total of five (5) years, the formally imposed sentence should be at least seven (7) years. Interesting!

Who is entitled to the Myrie benefits?

Recent reports about the substantial fiscal benefits realized by those regional jurisdictions that grant citizenship to foreign nationals (and their immediate families) who are prepared to invest handsome sums into their economies have caused me to wonder whether the decision to do so should not have been a collective CARICOM decision, given the legal implications for the other jurisdictions in that regional grouping that do not offer this entitlement on similar terms.

My musing is based on the fact that the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, at Article 32 (5), provides that โ€œa person shall be regarded as a national of a Member State if such person (i) is a citizen of that Stateโ€ฆโ€

And in its judgment in 2013 in the case brought by Shanique Myrie against Barbados, the Caribbean Court of Justice asserted that both the rights of establishment and of the provision of services โ€œpresume of necessity the right of movement of Community nationals without being obstructed by unreasonable restrictionsโ€ and that โ€œan essential element of the right of free movement is the entry and stay of a Community national in another Member State hassle free, that is to say, without harassment or the imposition of impedimentsโ€ฆโ€ (My emphasis)

Since the economic citizen and his family would become citizens under the Revised Treaty, they should logically be entitled to those rights aforementioned on entry into any other Member State.

I note that Article 32 also provides that โ€œthe competent Organ shall establish basic criteria for Member States in order to safeguard against manipulation or abuse of such rights so as to gain an unfair advantage against other Member Statesโ€ฆin the area of nationality criteriaโ€ฆโ€ However, I have serious doubts as to whether this adequately covers the point that I am making here.

It would appear that by permitting or suffering certain states to create citizens through other than the ordinarily accepted means, the other CARICOM members may have unwittingly enlarged their treaty responsibilities in terms of entry of persons into their countries. Intriguing!

To you dear reader, a blessed, thoughtful, healthful and prosperous 2016.

317 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Yuletide Musings”

1. Exclaimer, whoever he or she is, has had a bee in his or her bonnet with the presence of my articles on BU since they first appeared about a month or more ago. Note that I said “presence”, since he or she never comments on the substance of them, but merely drops snide remarks about having to consult a dictionary…which I doubt that he or she does on any frequent basis anyway.

I am inclined to say that I really do not need this and I am tempted to advise David to cease the publication of them.

Perhaps, Sir or Madame, you should continue reading those only whom you easily understand and see what your can “gleam” from them. I wish you good day!

2. @Jeff

Please resist the understandable temptation to overreact. The hits support that yours is one of the more popular postings to BU. A pity of some are so easily distracted by the minutiae.

3. `Walter Blackman December 27, 2015 at 11:08 PM “The issues you have raised do not fall under the aegis of corporal punishment. They must be categorized as crimes against children, and ought to be prosecuted as such.”

Agreed.

But these crimes which are always committed in secret are rarely successfully prosecuted. How many children are able to stand in a law court and testify against their own parent or step parent?

Think about it.

And even if the parent is successfully prosecuted are we providing the years of psychotherapy that these children will need? And if not why not?

And what if when the children act out our solution is more licks?

Have you even know an elementary aged child who went silent (stopped talking) in the face of abuse? Absolute silent? I have. The psychiatrists can call t elective mutism. But is it elective?

And how many years of therapy will that child need to free her to speak again?

4. Walter your answer does not confront the under lying issues attributed to corporal punishment which are social physical and physiological damage to the individual and society as well .Not to mention the burden some economic pressures .
    The fact being those contributing factors are sufficient proof detailing why corporal punishment has failed leaving a long trail of negatives like child abuse and domestic violence even childhood attention defecit has been a cause and effect related

5. Some of you in the more licks brigade have no idea what some children have to deal with.

In the days of slavery the slaves were beaten by the masters. The slaves were called everything bad, lazy, theiving.

But the slaves knew then and we know now that they were not bad, lazy or theiving.

Would you work hard and willingly without wages? Would not not take food if you were hungry?

We know that it was the masters who were lazy (would not do their own farming) and theiving (stole other people’s labour everyday.

We know now that it was the masters who should have been getting licks instead of sharing licks.

What if it is adult Bajan men who should be getting the licks for abusing their children and step children?

What if we are unfairing the children because they are small and easy to beat?

Think about it.

6. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences2

So many variables…the solution lies in education. Educate the males to be more responsible for their offsprings, educate the females to not tolerate abuse to themselves and their children. Educating males and females that children are not sex toys.

Societal stresses and pressures are contributing factors, too much pressure placed on mothers.

Everyone can take some blame for the deteriorating state of the society and not knowing how to proceed going forward re disciplining children, too much can result in injury or death if physically applied, too little can result in children with no boundaries growing into adults with no boundaries, a problem we are now witnessing in the adult population of professionals.

Not enough skilled people available to assess children’s behavior and occurring changes, which can be shaped from young.

7. Simple Simon

The Bible tells us that the rod ought to be administered when and where it is deemed necessary as far as children are concerned, but is seems as though in my generation and generations before, parents as well as teachers, took pleasure in physically brutalizing innocent children. Children who may have had various types of cognitive and intellectual insufficiencies, which may have been beyond the comprehension of the parents and teachers in the above mentioned generations because of their lack of knowledge and understand at the time.

8. “Oil prices have plunged from a five-year high of $125 a barrel in March 2012 to just $37.18 now.”
    And in all of this, fuel at the pump in Barbados remains unrealistically high with not a whimper from us, the consumer. No wonder massa preferred to purchase us over the other slaves.
    No water for Christmas as a gift from the BWA and only a grumble here or there, yet we are spending thousands soon to be hundreds of thousands on advertising 50 years of Independence to occur a year from now. What we should really and truly be celebrating is 43 years of Independence and 7 years (with more to come) of dependence.

Honestly, how many of you feel independent at this time?

9. Dear Jeff,
    There is an expression โ€œNobody kicks a dead dogโ€. Take the numerous comments generated by your submissions as proof that you are bringing topics of relevance and discussion to BU (there is yet life in the dog). It may be frustrating when others refuse to โ€œplay de ballโ€™ and instead attempt to โ€˜play de manโ€™, but in an open forum such as this one and clothed in a cloak of anonymity a few errant punches may be thrown.

I know that you are fully aware that you cannot please everyone, by why deprive the majority of the readership of BU of your contributions because of the opinions of a few.

Looking forward to continuing to read your column on BU.

Kind regards
    The Gazer

PS: As a guy who was not spared the rod Tank (at least three times), I believe that this punishment did nothing to contribute to the man I am today. In fact, I sometimes wonder if there were other โ€œdynamicsโ€ at work. And sometimes wonder, if my circumstances were different, if the rod would have been spared on at least two occasions.

10. To me, it is not immediately obvious what is a purist and not having provided a rebuttal or an opinion it is difficult to determine what is your stance with regards to sparing the rod.

It should be safe to assume that it is you intention not to spoil the child. Is it also safe to assume that a ‘purist’ would believe that punishment is administered equally and fairly and would ignore the role of class, color and money in Barbados society?

11. @Jeff C

I agree with David, resist the temptation to over react. โ€œExclaimerโ€ fails to understand that yours is an opinion piece based on current events and the law which is your specialty and they are free to agree/disagree or ignore.

As a reader I appreciate the careful nuance in your articles without seeming to bash the low hanging fruit that presents itself daily in the political/labour/social and cultural arena.
    About โ€œbig wordsโ€, I learn something new daily and when I come across an unfamiliar word or phrase, the Internet is at my fingertips as it is at everyone and failure to investigate the relatively simple unknown betrays a somewhat lackadaisical attitude.

12. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/12/28/update-st-lucy-man-accused-of-killing-mother-of-his-six-children/

Educate men that they do not own women and their children are their priorities, not the women.
    These 7 children are now the victim of a selfish and ueducated man, 6 of whom are his children.

They are now motherless and fatherless, left to become vulnerable victims to societies beasts and monsters. Men are too often the problem, leaving children to become societies victims.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch December 28, 2015 at 12:32 PM
    โ€œI am inclined to say that I really do not need this and I am tempted to advise David to cease the publication of them.

Perhaps, Sir or Madame, you should continue reading those only whom you easily understand and see what your can โ€œgleamโ€ from them. I wish you good day!โ€

Jeff C,
    You aren’t going any way soon, mate!
    Don’t let the after-birth pangs of a “newโ€ Sun in the Northern Hemisphere of our protected little blue orb ‘off-balanceโ€™ your intellectual sanguinity.

As you are quite aware (from both your training in law and your firm grounding in that โ€œUse of Englishโ€ course under โ€œProf.โ€ Richard Allsopp) the first and only line of defence of an extremely weak argument is to attack (play) the man instead of the message (ball). That is the technique the likes of Zoe employs to โ€˜dudโ€™ effect.

Let that dead red-herring just drift slowly by into the stagnant backwater of intellectual filth. We are sure, like Zoe, our man of excited exclamation will be a real giant big enough to apologise, albeit in a cowardly convoluted circuitous circumstantial collection of circumlocution, while quietly removing his fishing rod from the pool of dead herrings.

Take note of what โ€œThe Gazer had to say @December 28, 2015 at 1:56 PM:
    โ€œDear Jeff,
    There is an expression โ€œNobody kicks a dead dogโ€. Take the numerous comments generated by your submissions as proof that you are bringing topics of relevance and discussion to BU (there is yet life in the dog). It may be frustrating when others refuse to โ€œplay de ballโ€™ and instead attempt to โ€˜play de manโ€™, but in an open forum such as this one and clothed in a cloak of anonymity a few errant punches may be thrown.
    I know that you are fully aware that you cannot please everyone, by why deprive the majority of the readership of BU of your contributions because of the opinions of a few.
    Looking forward to continuing to read your column on BU.โ€

14. who the dog like he lick lol
    and wunnah know the rest
    bare sport in de rum shop
    but i can understand Jeff position
    i know how it feels when morons come on here talking BS about your contribution
    i too have stopped trying to make serious contributions in my fields of exprtise

15. David December 28, 2015 at 11:46 AM #

It never amazes the BU household why some would attack others for venting their opinions in the style they chose. It strikes at a philosophy BU swears to uphold. On the front page of BU any day many different offerings can be found scribed by authors from different backgrounds. Jeff brings a value based on his training that adds value to discussions. Instead of foregoing the nitpicking we should leverage what we have to build.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

David how can you make such a comment with a straight face i am recoiled by your response by the many times others have been slimmed stomped and kick on or in some instance spit on for their differing opinions EXHIBIT A (myself) and except for a few exemptions who are being attacked you would see it necessary to throw a red flag
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Nevertheless i agree with those who have applied positive sentiments to JC valuable contributions .However if he so chooses not to participate or withdraw any further contributions i respect his decision to do so
    All is not lost as his usual weekly commentary i is available for all to read via the Advocate

16. AC
    THEY HAVE BEEN ATTACKING ZOE FOR YEARS
    I HAVE BEEN CALLED THIN SKINNED FOR SAYING I WILL QUIT
    BUT …………………………………..?

17. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Hey Jeff…if you want to be prime minister or a leader of any significance anywhere, you need to grow a thicker skin. I take my abuses and criticisms like a man, just let it roll off you, no harm, no foul.

18. But to be truthful yuh got to have a cast iron stomach and a heart the size of a boulder to travel up and down the halls of BU .

19. @GP

Your puerile mission that you have obviously accepted will fail. When the doors to the BU rumshop closes it will be on the terms of the BU household and NOT you.

Seasons Greetings to you and your family and my you live long and prosper.

20. LOL @ Jeff
    Skippa, that was just a little pressure test from Exclaimer…. Wuh even if he REALLY meant what he said, he is fully entitled to think, …and to say so… Just like you are ..to think and say that Bushie sounds ‘stupidly shrill’ and like a national ‘laughing stock’… ๐Ÿ™‚
    It is how rum shops work.
    …so now we know that you really can’t stand the heat of the Bajan political kitchen…. no big deal, very few can….. it is why Caswell is special.

By the way ….for the record, Bushie uses a “pseudo-nyn” precisely to encourage everyone to feel free to be brutally honest with all of the bushman’s ideas and comments…rather than being distracted by the rather lengthy credentials, accolades and accreditations…. Being a laughing stock is the least of Bushie’s worries…

Bushie is rather disappointed in your below:
    “So Bush Tea, your children are so gifted, so talented that they did not need the corporal punishment that you are advocating for the children of others, although โ€œNOTHING should be ruled outโ€, as you so vaguely put it.. it may be a good thing that you use a pseudo-nym. You would be the laughing stock of the nation. Given your penal tastes, I need not tell you what to do with thieving lawyersโ€ฆcut their tails, flog them, beat themโ€ฆand then hang them and draw and quarter them. Problem solved! Ent?

Re the thievng ways of some lawyers, why is the responsibility that of the Law Faculty where they spent a mere three years (six semesters) and not that of their nurseries, primary schools, secondary schools, churches orโ€ฆhomes?”
    90% of the children in Barbados are ‘so gifted and talented’ that they do not need – even the consideration of corporal punishment. No real surprise statistically then, that Bushie’s children fall within that segment.

There is nothing ‘vague’ about saying that ‘nothing should be ruled out’. How, pray tell, is it even possible to be more specific…?

You know nothing about Bushie’s penal taste because it has not been discussed. You are presuming (illogically) that anyone who disagrees with your fetish to limit disciplinary options ..has to be some kind of animal.

As an example, Bushie’s preferred solution to the ‘problem of thieving lawyers’ may well be to address the source at which these societal parasites are created. What are you saying to the Bushman? …. that nurseries, primary schools, secondary schools and churches hand out LLB documentation.

It does not take a lot of thinking to understand that an entrant to your faculty who turns out to be a national disgrace of “house-speakership proportions” may have been a perfectly successful sanitary engineer, soldier or ZR operator – even though he would have come through the same primary/secondary/church system. How would they have failed then?

Bottom line …. YOU create lawyers….. not the church, school or even society…
    Shiite man…!!, and don’t blame Law School either …. cause some like Mia did not go there….

21. David December 28, 2015 at 6:28 PM #

Your puerile mission that you have obviously accepted will fail. When the doors to the BU rumshop closes it will be on the terms of the BU household and NOT you.

Seasons Greetings to you and your family and my you live long and prosper.

WHAT IS MY MISSION?
    DO I CARE IF THE BU RUM SHOP CLOSES OR NOT AND ON WHOSE TERMS?
    WHEN I AM BORED I COME HERE TO SEE WHAT IS GOING ON

YOUR ANOINTED SAYS HE DOES NOT NEED BEING CUSSED
    I SAID ZOE HAS BEEN CUSSED FOR YEARS
    MY ACCURATE MEDICINE WAS SAID TO BE AVAILABLE ON WICIKEPEDIA
    WHEN I TALK BOUT THE WORD IT WAS SCOFFED AT
    GREEK WAS DECLARED ANATHAMA
    IF I SAID ANYTHING IN RSPONSE TO HARSH AND IGNORANT CRITICISM I WAS SAID TO BE THIN SKINNEDTHIN SKINNED
    IT SEEMS THAT WHAT IS GOOD FOR THE GOOSE IS NOT GOOD FOR THE GANDER

I HAVE WRITTEN AND SAID WHAT I HAVE WRITTEN AND SAID
    I HAVE A MIND OF MY OWN

22. David December 28, 2015 at 11:46 AM #
    It never amazes the BU household why some would attack others for venting their opinions in the style they chose. It strikes at a philosophy BU swears to uphold. On the front page of BU any day many different offerings can be found scribed by authors from different backgrounds. Jeff brings a value based on his training that adds value to discussions. Instead of foregoing the nitpicking we should leverage what we have to build.

DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU WRITE?
    SO ONLY JEFF brings a value based on his training that adds value to discussions
    is he the only one that does this?
    zoe does the same with Bible. You join others here to mock him

I used to post here on Medicin –Biochemistry Pharmacology Pathology and I was mockd and called thin skinned

Jeff Cumberbatch December 28, 2015 at 12:32 PM #
    said
    Exclaimer, whoever he or she is, has had a bee in his or her bonnet with the presence of my articles on BU since they first appeared about a month or more ago. Note that I said โ€œpresenceโ€, since he or she never comments on the substance of them, but merely drops snide remarks about having to consult a dictionaryโ€ฆwhich I doubt that he or she does on any frequent basis anyway.

I am inclined to say that I really do not need this and I am tempted to advise David to cease the publication of them.

Perhaps, Sir or Madame, you should continue reading those only whom you easily understand and see what your can โ€œgleamโ€ from them. I wish you good day!

AND I SAID THAT I AGREED WITH WHAT HE SAID because i can understand Jeff’s position since i know how it feels when morons come on here talking BS about your contribution
    i too have stopped trying to make serious contributions in my fields of expertise
    WHAT IS PUERILE AND A MISSION BOUT THAT

ARE YOU SPEAKING BOUT ONE O DEM LIKKLE WOODEN CHURCHES LONG SIDE DE ROAD THAT W USED TO CALL A MISSION IN THE 50’s & 60:s

I THOUGHT UNDER FREE SPEECH THAT EXCLAIMER AND JEFF AND I WERE ALL FREE TO SAY WHAT WE WANTED

jeff should do like I have done
    limit his comments to likkle snipets and let the idiots with their moronioc mouthings prevail

23. @Jeff, many have already spoken my spiel of ‘stay the course’ so I will be brief and say ‘ you gotta be meking real mock sport’. As Walter and TheGazer and Sarge said outright or alluded to . ‘how in the name of good common-sense (they got bad one too, ya know) can you even bat an eyelid over a blogger who attacks you on style.

Good Lord, bro that’s like decrying the lawyer for his swagger and presentation because you can’t touch the legal finesse that is cutting ya backside in court.

Have you EVER backed down in those circumstances…yea I didn’t think so.

You mekking sport, as I said. Write yah stuff till the good Lord call you, please. We will not always agree but ya does write real sweet.

Look we are all JAs at some point on this blog – some more than others, of course- but if you want David to stop posting your essay den offer up a proper excuse: it could be the additional work from your chairmanship or tell the guys and gals that you getting a promotion and also starting a new legal-aid foundation and will not have the time to respond and incite debate…something real, real you know what I mean.

But don’t come wid de lame excuse that an Exclaimer running you…respect we good commonsense, fah real!

I mean I realize that this week you fire some licks that I never see from yah before so something mus-e get under de bonnet.

BTW, it look like you step pon @Artax toes too, yah. Did you give the man his only non-grade A during his Cave Hill sojourn or what!

Cause for a fella who also writes some of the most engaging, real-world and carefully researched pieces here it was interesting to see that he too was wrapped up in your ‘style’ and not the substance.

And good night to all.

@Dr GP, you left de blog cause you wanted to…for every JAs who critiqued your medical essays four or five others welcomed them with joy….maybe you should do one on the texture and strength of skin in truth as a reentry to the professional BU ranks. LOLL.

Both you and Zoe should go back and reread some of what YOU have written in response to others. Clearly neither of you believe in that christian mantra to turn the other cheek. Good gracious! There is absolutely no comparison whatever to either of you and your religious posts and what Jeff or a Walter or a Caswell posits.

24. @Dr GP, I dooze get fraid to tangle wid you – as you know- but when the hypocrisy of YOU steam-rolls itself along YOUR anointed path of ‘righteousness ‘I dooze can’t help myself.

Forthwith you should never post on BU again on anything related to the word of God…cause you are a charlatan, defined in one source as: a person falsely claiming to have a special knowledge or skill; a fraud.

And why would I say such a thing of a person I admire on BU for his obvious scholarship/intelligence…well because you profess to be a man who propagates and proselytize the lovely Word of God far and wide and yet can come here in your alter-ego mode and say with all hubris that: “Jeff should do like I have done.
    limit his comments to likkle snipets and let the idiots with their moronioc mouthings prevail”

I am no type of bible person so surely you can cite passages to validate your demeanor but I thought the Lord expected those of his talented lot to go forth and USE those talents for the betterment of others; and particularly in the face of meaningless criticism and defilement to never hide them.

How absolutely ‘charlatarian’ are your remarks, don’t you think. Mr. multi-degreed bible scholar!!! Cuss me softy, please..befitting your biblical persona.

25. diw
    you express your ignorance again of the Word and its right division. I have never heard the BS that the BU BIble illiterates post here anywhere else.
    We dont come here to turn any cheeks w come to RIGHTLY DIVIDE THE WORD OF TRUTH
    i do not need to reenter ” the professional BU ranks” what ever dat is

What the hell is ” the professional BU ranks”?
    Grenville come and wunnah run he
    Commissiong come and wunnah run he
    Dictionary was run off about 6 years now
    Now wunnah want to run Cumberbatch too……….when he cites his displeasure he is called thin skinned, and wunnah begging he to stay

wunnah mek my—– laff!

26. @ DIW
    Wait Skippa…
    You don’t want to see the new year…?
    …you shall now be condemned to hell….
    Do NOT pass GO
    Do NOT collect $100
    haaaa ha ha

27. How easily we get distracted.

Exclaimer posted a comment to which Artax agreed and GP gets on his unsurprising soap box. Two commenters from the several who posted to this submission are cited to support a position. We are on the WWW and people will criticize whether constructively or destructively.

Here is what is laughable some will suggest hypocritical – those who criticize are usually logged on 24/7. Go figure!

28. I REPEAT WITHOUT APOLOGY Jeff should do like I have done.
    limit his comments to likkle snipets and let the idiots with their moronioc mouthings prevailโ€

THAT IS WHAT HE SHOULD DO IN MY OPINION
    WHY SHOULD HE SUBJECT HIMSELF TO THE SCOFFING OF THE MANGY MONGRELS ON BU?
    HE HAS A GOOD JOB AND A GOOD POSITION. HIS STUDENTS ARE PROBABLY EAGER TO HEAR AND HEED WHAT HE SAYS

HE DOES NOT NEED BU

RE I am no type of bible person YOU HAVE THAT RIGHT ………for a change

Re but I thought WHAT WITH??

the Lord expected those of his talented lot to go forth and USE those talents for the betterment of others; WHERE DO YOU READ THAT

IN FACT TO THE CONTRARY HE INSTRUCTED HIS FOLLOWERS TO SHAKE THE DUST OF THEIR FEET WHERE THY WERE NOT ACCEPTED and particularly in the face of meaningless criticism and defilement to never hide them.

Re Mr. multi-degreed bible scholar!!! I WONT APOLOGIZE FOR THAT I EARNED THEM!

29. @ David December 28, 2015 at 10:18 AM re ” There was a time when Barbadian emigrants โ€˜packedโ€™ … because they had confidence in how we raised our children and managed our affairs.”—— On the stark evidence of the last 25 years is that statement not now exposed for the fallacy that we made it?

Can it not also be said that many parents sent their children back home because:
    – They were living in high-rise apt buildings that dd not offer a safe and solid way of life for the children
    – Their work situations were difficult and they did not have the extended fam structure there nor did they want to place their kids into the local day-care facilities
    – The US legal structures firmly circumscribed the parental discipline of which Jeff speaks in another context; a discipline some of those parents thought was necessary and thus grandparents were stuck with the burden
    -etc

In very simple terms David I do not believe that any Bajan or Caribbean child who grew up with parents in the suburbs of Greenberg NY, or Fort Lauderdale, Florida or Peachtree Estates in a suburb in Georgia are WORST off now academically or otherwise than any kid who was sent back to Barbados…if both set of family situations were nurturing and positive in well organized middle-class areas.

So we can agree that many “…of the โ€˜guiding principlesโ€™ of yore that we employed as the foundation of our success are being dismantled” but from what I have actually seen and experienced I believe sending back children had more to do with circumstances of the parents (mother mostly) than the supposed better upbringing back home.

Our youth generally or specifically to key schools or groups as a whole have not shown any marked superiority to their counterparts from US or to those Bajans who lived in US so I don’t think we can continue to accept that reasoning you offered.

Just saying.

30. The ghost of DEN is in Barbados today editorial

31. @ Dr. GP, re “Re Mr. multi-degreed bible scholar!!! I WONT APOLOGIZE FOR THAT I EARNED THEM!” Very interesting that you would interpret that I am questioning your right to speak of your scholarship…although I very clearly said I respect that aspect of your persona.

My reference to the degree was related to your ability to so defile the Word of which you speak from that great position of knowledge.

You know the Word well but live it piss poorly! Thus that harsh behaviour from both you and Zoe never ceases to amaze me.

To paraphrase David: hypocrisy knows no bounds. But of course how can an ignoramus speak to such learned giants of their spectacularly hypocritical behaviour.

So be it.

Run from the imbecilic morons on BU. Or come on to scoff at our ignorance and mek sport in the rum shop. I gone.

32. @Jeff
    Perish the thought.Continue allowing David to publish your articles and just be Jeff Cumberbatch….a teacher,a friend.Lead, kindly light.

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch

I will be prolix

“Last Carnival, all we having a wonderful time Archie brek dem up, Archieeeee….”

Doe ole amn cant sing no mo’, de voice gone but I sant dat with its revised words earlier not as a comedy but as a genuine indication of the fact that it is indeed an interesting thing to skim, (for the ole man cannot truly understand the depth of your readings)

De Blogmaster will tell you de amount of times dat I have begged he tuh ban AC and Domps. I jes does ignore Zoe when he paste he droppings and may read him when he write original material (which is very rare) and for the most part does ignore his sidekick, de ole disgruntled man with the Caduceus bent up his rectum.

Grenville and Danny Gill and others have come here, my man David Come Sing a Song, espoused a sweet tune and when menses like Artaxerxes, Bush Tea, Miller the Annunaki, Gabriel, Colonel Buggy, and de rest uh dem who de ole man cyan remember dem name, tek to dem donkey, dem does run for the hills.

You gave your name.

And then you proceeded to give of yourself to the nation of BU, without reservation, jumping in here and there and clarifying a legal point where there was misunderstanding.

Do not mind the pussies like the medical doctor who because he get call out some moons ago as a medical fraud who run way from Barbados and gone Canada where no one ent notice he, and now he getting ready tuh dead like me, he coming hean and trying tuh cuss De Blogmaster.

Let me tell you what your currency is and why you can be assured that after only posting here for one month, you got a following greater dan Caswell.

In case you may not know it you have been amazingly granted a “free pass”!!

YOU does wuk at the Fear Trading Commission and nobody does give you any personal gripe bout dat den of iniquity and how dem tekking Galaxy S6 phones and selling out de Bajans to SLIME and WOLF.

Justin Robinson doan get dat treatment,

And fellahs like Caswell get attack bout dem outside chilrun (are is reading well Wejonesing) and BU dun wid dat

Walter had dat incident with me and Artax and he come heah and as man explain whu happen and de bredren get dat offa dem chest de only pussy dat still in dat vindictive mode as hell hath no fury like a woman scorned (forgive me Grandaughter Lovely) is the Doctress who writes with capitals PUSS.Y DAT HE IS!!

We are living in a cuntry wid alot of scoundrels and tieves Jeff and one of the few ways to find out if you fuh real is to cuss yuh ass, and tell you bout tings dem and see how you respond.

You is a man with a big pair of Balls Jeff, and you bright too, so if you barely stop posting dem 100 articles dat you dun got write, de ole man gine get one uh me granchilrun tuh drom me up to Green Hill (FTC) or Cave Hill (Faculty of Law) and throw 10 hard tomatoes at you scvunt fuh de disservice dat you doing tuh we nation

34. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Re: parents sending their children back to Barbados from US etc. There were many different reasons for this…. in a close family member’s case, it was because the grandson at the then age of 14, as long as there was trouble brewing in NY, he would go looking for it and find it, he needed a break from the city, introduction to a different environment.

The grandmother, having returned to Barbados from NY was no pushover so for a few years the grandson more than met his match. Dude returned home to NY and re assimilated very nicely into the society at age 19, he has now become a stable young man. That does not mean that the same challenges did not exist in Barbados, it just meant that the grandmother stayed ahead of them, plus the dude was deathly afraid of her.

However, that is only one success story, if the truth be told, Barbados has become a very hostile environment for women, children and young people and for varied reasons. Even though still laid back and slower than the metropolises, the societal problems have escalated to a level and such a degree, that is not safe for these mentioned vulnerable groups, again, the males are lacking in the education to reverse this dangerous, destructive and deadly trend.

Before anyone takes issue with that statement, may I remind them that while females are nurturers, know their role and most accept and perform accordingly, the males in every other group know that they are the protectors of their females, the vulnerable children and young people, they accept their role and act accordingly, that trait is sadly lacking in black males and is unfairly left to the females. The fathers need to manup and explain to their sons their true roles in protecting their race, going forward.

I am glad to be able to, but also pissed that as a female, I am the one who has to highlight and point it out to an island filled with males.

35. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

“that trait is sadly lacking in black males and is unfairly left to the females. The fathers need to manup and explain to their sons their true roles in protecting their race, going forward.”

To reiterate my statement and position…..the fathers need to manup and explain to their sons that their true roles lay in PROTECTING, NOT OWNING, any member of their race, going forward.

36. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/nyc-crime/brooklyn-man-charged-hate-crimes-called-victim-slave-article-1.2479237

Barbados and other islands in the Caribbean should never be allowed to deteriorate to this very low level that is now America’s course.

37. wuh i “find’ that if any comment would have been a( turned off) is bush shite posting Bush Tea December 27, 2015 at 8:41 AM #

that was the most class A disrespectful offensive posting wrapped tightly is pseudo scholarly language directed at Jeff Cumberbatch intellect with brassbowl trinkets like “shit” article and definitions directly to attack Mr Cumberbatch scholastic grading as ignorance
    When i first read that posting i somewhat cringe

38. @Dee Word

Like many debates we have to operate on anecdotal. Yes many children were packed back to Barbados because of economic consideration, yes some were returned because many WI parents were more comfortable raising their children in a Barbadian (WI) setting. The debate continues.

39. @Mr Cumberbatch, I enjoy reading your articles. They remind me of your lectures; substantive but delivered in your unique style. Remember it is easy for others to criticise your work especially when one factors in keyboard courage. It is harder to do what you and other contributers do I.e. consider an issue, formulate an opinion and supporting evidence and then convey it in written word to others. I look forward to reading more of your contributions.

40. @Art, While I appreciate and understand the ‘context’ of Surah 9:5ff from the Quran, this does not apply to many other text in the Quran,

The Key to Islam

Western people have such a difficult time comprehending Islam, because they fail to understand that it IS* a form of cultural imperialism, in which the religion and culture of 7th century Arabia are raised to the status of divine law.

Islam cannot be simply viewed as one’s private and personal religious preference. It is not just something you believe and then go on living as you please. There is NO secular realm in Islamic countries.

Seventh Century Arabia.

Islam is actually the “deification” of 7th century Arabian culture. In a very profound sense, Islam is more cultural than it is religious.

This is why all the textbooks and the encyclopedias of Islam begin with the historical context of Muhammad and the importance of 7th century Arabian culture. (ISLAM UNVEILED, The True Desert Storm, p.19)

I call it the โ€œIslamophilia Syndrome.โ€

While fear and apprehension of Islam would be natural, given the fact that, according to polls, between 15 and 30 percent of Muslims worldwide embrace such terrorist acts as suicide car bombings to advance Islamโ€™s cause, fuzzy feelings of warmth and tenderness would be irrational.

At its core, Islam has tendencies toward totalitarianism, misogyny, genocide, unspeakable brutality, anti-Semitism and extremes of religious persecution.

Read more at http://www.wnd.com/2015/12/islamophobia-or-islamophilia/#ihUw3lSZXkuum0zo.99

41. @ Jeff Cumberbatch you is a boy ilike but I doan care if you post on BU or not. I does read de Advocate. onstan me ?

Now If I was you an you was me I would continue to post on BU an wen somebody write shiite I would defen myself an discombobulate dem with didacticism ( de editor use dat word an didactic in Barbados Today so I copy it ).

Buh I is me an you is you so do wha you like an I gine continue to write read you column/post as part of my continuing education program.

Happy an prosperous new year.

42. @ Miller, From the time you encountered me here on BU, you tried relentlessly to corner me with your NAKI-NAKI un-historical, un-empirical, illogical paganistic worldview nonsense.

I repeatedly, again and again, REFUTED you soundly, historically, coherently, logically, and you were/are at a lost to offer any intellectually honest counter, because there are NONE, Miller, NONE!!

You then complimented me, by saying, “…you are one in a billion…you got me feeling like a Python that swallowed a Jackass…will take a year to digest it…” Obvious reference to the content of my REFUTATION(S) for which you had/have NO ANSWER!

And you now come here with more of your sterile intellectualism, and paralyzed orthodoxy, blatantly using turnaround accusation,

“… the first and only line of defence of an extremely weak argument is to attack (play) the man instead of the message (ball). That is the technique the likes of Zoe employs to โ€˜dudโ€™ effect.”

What a liar you are, a stranger to the truth…as I ONLY resorted to calling you names, NAKI-NAKI-Chimpanzee!) you justly deserve, AFTER I had thoroughly REFUTED all the nonsense you presented as an untenable worldview, It was YOU, Miller, who attacked (play) the man , with nasty, unrighteous, names of the ONE True and Living God, whose historic RECORD, of accuracy and empirical validity, simply CANNOT be refuted by you and those of your ilk!

As you are quite aware (from both your training in law and your firm grounding in that โ€œUse of Englishโ€ course under โ€œProf.โ€ Richard Allsopp) the first and only line of defence of an extremely weak argument is to attack (play) the man instead of the message (ball). That is the technique the likes of Zoe employs to โ€˜dudโ€™ effect.

No, Miller, your turnaround accusation, won’t work, ‘DUD’ effect, Miller-Naki-Naki!!!

43. Letโ€™s assume there are 300 individuals (give and take for those who post under multiple names) who contribute to BU. Two out of those 300 contributors, namely Exclaimer and I, were critical of this PARTICULAR Jeff Cumberbatch article.

My reason is that there are many more issues that need urgent attention other than corporal punishment. This topic was being discussed for years and was pushed by Peter Wickham, as his main agenda on Brass Tacks or in his Sunday Sun columns.

Over time, the topic of corporal punishment has ONLY generated TWO types of RESPONSES from the SAME INDIVIDUALS:

1) Those who support it and would quote the Bible as justification or that they were beaten when younger, which, in their opinion, made them a better adult.

2) Those who are against and would refer to psychological or emotional manifestations that are characteristic or symptomatic as a result of this type of punishment.

Rather than the OTHER 298 CONTRIBUTORS who are in agreement with Cumberbatchโ€™s topic CONTINUE to base their contributions on the topic, they are concentrating on TWO individuals who have a different opinion, while conferring accolades and songs of praise on Cumberbatch and begging him to continue posting to BU.

What is more amusing is that, based on TWO individuals who are of a different view, he has threatened to discontinue his contributions to BU.

I have to agree with Georgie Porgie, in this instance……… โ€œitโ€™s bare sport in the BU rum shop.โ€

Donโ€™t many of you think you have exhausted this disagreement and itโ€™s time to move on?

Shiite, wunnuh getting on childish, yuh.

44. Children, children! Do grow up, please! And that includes you too, Jeff. And especially Georgie Porgie who certainly hasn’t yet graduated from an emotional nursery.

45. Exclaimer,

I share your impatience but we can’t always be so earnest. Sometimes we just have to lighten up for a while. Otherwise we will all go stark raving mad.

46. On the topic of corporal punishment, one of its proponents, Mathew Farley has been arguing that it should not be taken out of schools.

I wonder if during his tenure as principal of the Garrison Secondary School, Farley (or any other school principal) ever took the time to enquire as to what other methods of punishment schools such as Ursuline Convent, St. Winifredโ€™s, St. Gabrielโ€™s, The Codrington School, Al Falah Muslim School, The Rock Christian School, Peopleโ€™s Cathedral Primary School or Providence use for disciplinary reasons.

Ironically, the Convent, Rock Christian School and Peopleโ€™s Cathedral Primary School may be described as CHRISTIAN schools.

Yet, it seems that they do NOT prescribe to the much touted Proverbs 13:24, (which Christians always allude to as God’s method of discipline) by administering corporal punishment to their pupils.

47. Everyone is FREE to post wtf they like until banned by David.

48. Hants December 29, 2015 at 11:03 AM #

โ€œEveryone is FREE to post wtf they like until banned by David.โ€

AGREED!!!

So you APPRECIATE (and not ONLY when it is convenient to you) that โ€œEveryone is FREE to post wtf they like until banned by David,โ€ EVEN IF IT IS AGREEMENT WITH JEFF CUMBERBATCH OR NOT.

49. Bushie,

Brlliant point, Bushie! It is only a minority of children determined to be bad no matter what. For the vast majority it is all in the handling. This I have learnt from actual interaction with them at different levels and in various capacities. What is happening today is the fault of the igrunt adults who fail to recognize the true value of children. I love children and I love identifying their various talents which are evident from early if one takes the time to look. But we are too busy with trivial pursuit.