Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC

As the excesses of the Christmas Day just past recede in the national consciousness, we prepare this week to welcome in 2016. At the close of this year, there seems to be a popular consensus that the local economy is on the up, although this assertion remains unsupported on most occasions by any evidence, persuasive or at all.

I suppose a healthy optimism is in itself a Very Good Thing, although the more cautious among us would wish for more authoritative empirical proof of this most fortunate event.

In this, the final column for 2015, I propose to touch on some matters across the region, fully cognizant of the risk that I may be accused by some of the citizens of those states of interference in their national affairs. That is, of course, provided they disagree with my views, as the Ambassador of the European Union would have discovered recently when he dared to offer an opinion on corporal punishment that differed radically from the antediluvian views of some locals who will not be swayed one jot or tittle from their simplistic and fundamentalist literalism that the โ€œrodโ€ in Proverbs 13:34 sounds too much like the โ€œtambrinโ€ (tamarind) rod, a favoured instrument for the parental infliction of pain in my youth, to mean anything else.

Clearly, the Ambassadorโ€™s opinion would be considered interference only because it conflicts with theirs; readers will recall that there was no such allegation against former UN Secretary General Kofi Annan when he cryptically, but supposedly flatteringly, claimed that Barbados punched above its weight in international fora.

It might have ever been thus. Chafed at criticism of the policy of racial segregation operative in Alabama some years ago, the then Governor George Wallace is reported to have said, โ€œWe shall continue to maintain segregation in Alabama completely and absolutely without violence or ill-willโ€ฆWe ask for patience and tolerance and make an earnest request that we be allowed to handle state and local affairs without outside interferenceโ€ฆโ€ The patent distinction here, of course, is that the Governor was far more gracious in his disagreement than the locals.

In any event, the accusation of external interference leveled at Mr. seems particularly misplaced given the context in which His Excellency spoke. As I have been urging for some time, the issue of state sovereignty should scarcely arise in a circumstance where the critical issue is compliance with the provisions of a voluntarily ratified international treaty, unless the accusers are prepared to argue that we possess the geopolitical clout to be international floutlaws of sacred global pacts. I am almost certain that this is not what Mr. Annan meant by โ€œpunching above our weightโ€.

When is a year nine months only?

I was intrigued by a report in the Barbados Advocate on Tuesday last week that Justice Errol Thomas of the Dominica High Court had called on prison authorities to stop what he called โ€œthe unlawful practice of reducing prison sentences without the authority of the courtโ€. It may be widely known that the prison year is commonly thought of as a period of nine, instead of the calendar twelve, months.

In response to the assertion of the Superintendent of Prisons that โ€œon arrival at the prison, the convicted person is given a one-third reduction to the sentence that is re-imposed only for misbehaviour during his time thereโ€, the learned judge posited, โ€œThe only person authorized to reduce a sentence is the judge. No prison judge or officer has the right to reduce any sentence as soon as a prisoner enters the prisonโ€ฆitโ€™s unlawfulโ€ฆthat cannot be right…You are undermining the judgment of the courtโ€ฆโ€ The Superintendentโ€™s appeal to custom and practice โ€“โ€œitโ€™s been happening for 31 years โ€ฆif itโ€™s a bad practice, it [has been] bad long timeโ€ฆโ€ availed nothing. Thomas J reiterated his point about its unlawfulness.

I am not aware whether the matter has as yet been satisfactorily resolved in Dominica, but it is a nice point. I also do not know whether the identical position obtains there, but in Barbados the Prison Rules 1974, made under the Prisons Act, Cap 168, provides for the lawfulness of this procedure. According to rule 41, where relevant, โ€œโ€ฆarrangements shall be made by which a prisoner who is serving a sentence of imprisonment whether by one sentence or by consecutive sentences, for a period exceeding one monthโ€ฆ may by good conduct and industry become eligible for discharge when a portion of his sentence not exceeding one-fourth of the whole sentence has yet to runโ€ฆโ€

There would thus seem to be some lacunae in the popular thought. First, the sentence does not appear to be commuted, as the Dominican prison official claimed, โ€œupon arrival at the prisonsโ€, but rather it appears that a decision has to be made, at the time when at least three-quarters of the sentence has been served, as to whether the remaining period should be commuted or not. This is dependent upon โ€œgood conduct and industryโ€ having been exhibited by the prisoner during his sojourn there.

Further, contrary to the view of the learned judge that it undermines the judgment of the court, it seems rather to be a matter of constitutional jurisdiction. While the court sentences the convicted person to a period on imprisonment; the prison authorities are empowered to determine the precise extent of that period. The current arrangement would appear to contemplate an inbuilt remission of sentence, although this is conditional on the prisonerโ€™s good behaviour and industry.

Where a similar statute applies, and the sentencing court feels strongly enough about the issue, the necessary mathematical calculation will have to be effected by the judicial officer. Since one prison year may eventually be nine (9) months, then, in order to ensure a convicted person actually serves a total of five (5) years, the formally imposed sentence should be at least seven (7) years. Interesting!

Who is entitled to the Myrie benefits?

Recent reports about the substantial fiscal benefits realized by those regional jurisdictions that grant citizenship to foreign nationals (and their immediate families) who are prepared to invest handsome sums into their economies have caused me to wonder whether the decision to do so should not have been a collective CARICOM decision, given the legal implications for the other jurisdictions in that regional grouping that do not offer this entitlement on similar terms.

My musing is based on the fact that the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, at Article 32 (5), provides that โ€œa person shall be regarded as a national of a Member State if such person (i) is a citizen of that Stateโ€ฆโ€

And in its judgment in 2013 in the case brought by Shanique Myrie against Barbados, the Caribbean Court of Justice asserted that both the rights of establishment and of the provision of services โ€œpresume of necessity the right of movement of Community nationals without being obstructed by unreasonable restrictionsโ€ and that โ€œan essential element of the right of free movement is the entry and stay of a Community national in another Member State hassle free, that is to say, without harassment or the imposition of impedimentsโ€ฆโ€ (My emphasis)

Since the economic citizen and his family would become citizens under the Revised Treaty, they should logically be entitled to those rights aforementioned on entry into any other Member State.

I note that Article 32 also provides that โ€œthe competent Organ shall establish basic criteria for Member States in order to safeguard against manipulation or abuse of such rights so as to gain an unfair advantage against other Member Statesโ€ฆin the area of nationality criteriaโ€ฆโ€ However, I have serious doubts as to whether this adequately covers the point that I am making here.

It would appear that by permitting or suffering certain states to create citizens through other than the ordinarily accepted means, the other CARICOM members may have unwittingly enlarged their treaty responsibilities in terms of entry of persons into their countries. Intriguing!

To you dear reader, a blessed, thoughtful, healthful and prosperous 2016.

317 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Yuletide Musings”

1. David December 27, 2015 at 3:24 PM #
    @Zoe

Then we have a problem because the Pope is globally regarded as the spokesman of the Christian Church.

Yes David, massive dis-information, BIG TIME!

Hear God’s proleptic vision given to John on the Isle of Patmos;(Circa 95 AD) bear in mind Catholicism had NOT as yet come into existence, (Circa 325 AD).

“The woman was arrayed in purple and scarlet (the official colours of the Papal curia), and adorned with gold and precious stones and pearls (The Vatican, Popes, Cardinals, etc,) having a in her hand a golden cup, (the Chalice), FULL of abominations and filthiness of her fornication, and on her forehead a name was written:

MYSTERY BABYLON THE GREAT, THE MOTHER OF HARLOTS AND THE ABOMINATION OF THE EARTH.

I saw the woman DRUNK with the BLOOD of the saints and with the BLOOD of the martyrs (Spanish Inquisition) of Jesus. And when I saw her, I marveled with great amazement.” (Rev. 17: 4-6) Emphasis added.

The most wicked, evil, religious/political institution, EVER, to exist on planet earth; MASQUERADING as the head of Christendom!

The MAJORITY of the human race, ARE in diabolical DECEPTION, spiritually, politically, economically, culturally, and, it KNOWS NO COLOUR!

The End Time, is drawing very near; exactly as foretold in God’s Word, the Bible! Which has NEVER proved to wrong in ANY of its prophetic proclamations, NEVER!!!

2. de Ingrunt Word December 27, 2015 at 1:33 PM #
    “just saying that corporal punishment as abuse cannot be condoned. As a โ€˜mildโ€™ corrective spanking itโ€™s discretionary power is proper in my view but still generates too much debate centered on the abuse angle.”

de Ingrunt Word,
    I agree with your statement for the most part.

When it comes to the issue of corporal punishment (meted out at home and school), there are two extreme cases:
    No corporal punishment at all
    Corporal punishment that is senseless, frequent, and abusive

Both of these situations can produce an undesirable social backlash.

Human beings are extremely complex social animals, and as a result, capital punishment, maiming (cutting off the hands of thieves), flogging, and imprisonment are some of the strategies that countries the world over have adopted to deal with perceived social misfits and criminals.

Presumably, corporal punishment is the sociological tool that is used to make young minds painfully aware of the need to understand and heed laws and regulations, and to recognize that there is a heavy price to be paid if these laws are broken. The “licks” an individual receives whilst going through this extremely important period of socialization are supposed to keep him on “the straight and narrow” so as to avoid the more horrible punishments that the state has in store for adult lawbreakers. So the theory goes.

I would guess that the majority of children in Barbados could be raised and developed into well-adjusted citizens in an environment where there is no corporal punishment at all. Note that I said “the majority”. I did not say all.

There are some children who seem hell-bent on giving trouble from the moment they are born. No amount of talking, reasoning, or counseling seems to work. In an environment with no corporal punishment, some of these children quickly morph into obstinate, ignorant, noisy, disrespectful louts. It is for this reason that parents and headteachers should always reserve the “discretionary power” to inflict “corrective spanking” in an attempt, a la Bushie, to “bend these trees” whilst they are still young.

It might surprise you, but some of these children do make needed adjustments to their behavior as a result of “licks” or threats of “licks”. They get rescued.

It might also surprise you that some of these children do not respond to advice, discussion, or even “licks”. Despite the best efforts of parents, schools, family, and friends they proceed on their risky path until they get into trouble with the law, or suffer a premature violent death. I view these cases as victims of self abuse. That’s the worst abuse of all.

3. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

So Bush Tea, your children are so gifted, so talented that they did not need the corporal punishment that you are advocating for the children of others, although “NOTHING should be ruled out”, as you so vaguely put it.. it may be a good thing that you use a pseudo-nym. You would be the laughing stock of the nation. Given your penal tastes, I need not tell you what to do with thieving lawyers…cut their tails, flog them, beat them…and then hang them and draw and quarter them. Problem solved! Ent?

Re the thievng ways of some lawyers, why is the responsibility that of the Law Faculty where they spent a mere three years (six semesters) and not that of their nurseries, primary schools, secondary schools, churches or…homes?

@ Caswell, so your point is that the Ambassador was not tactful? It has been said that the essence of diplomacy is the ability to tell someone to go to hell in such a way that they actually look forward to the trip! Clearly Barfod is cut from more plain-speaking cloth. Do you take my point that other external entities are granted the power to comment on our compliance with ratified treaty? Just he other day you yourself were bewailing the local lack of compliance with an ILO Convention.

@ DIW, Thanks for your kind sentiments as usual!

4. ow listen to this bull shite bush tea style and this guy floats on a cloud of academia

Bush Tea December 27, 2015 at 2:41 PM #

Actually Bushieโ€™s only REAL point is that one has to be living in some kinda foolโ€™s paradise to be so relentlessly seeking to TOTALLY ban ANY kind of disciplinary option โ€“ no matter how archaic or cruel it is. In the overall scheme of things, it is tantamount to a country passing a law that says it will not use atomic weapons in a war.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

How can any one in their Right Mind conjure up such madness REALLY to even believe that corporal punishment should stay an option EVEN if the methods are archaic or cruel IS MADNESS and rises to the level of an insane and corrupt mind with unchecked morals and disrespect for law and order reeked with an uncanny fashion for undisciplined and unchallenged leadership

5. @Jeff

Let us factor the alter argument. We have the US swamped in gun crime but its leadership is steadfast the accessibility/proliferation of handguns is NOT a problem. Do you believe ready access to guns is a problem and dos equal or greater harm to some societies? If yes why has UNESCO and other global bodies not intervened with strident lobby?

6. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Walter,

“There are some children who seem hell-bent on giving trouble from the moment they are born. No amount of talking, reasoning, or counseling seems to work. In an environment with no corporal punishment, some of these children quickly morph into obstinate, ignorant, noisy, disrespectful louts. It is for this reason that parents and head teachers should always reserve the โ€œdiscretionary powerโ€ to inflict โ€œcorrective spankingโ€ in an attempt, a la Bushie, to โ€œbend these treesโ€ whilst they are still young”.

I am surprised at, and disappointed with, your argument above.

Could it be that the child is hungry, tired, ill, bored out of his or her skull and otherwise unable to articulate the problem? Could its failure to be swayed by reasoning or counseling be owed to an inability on its part to understand that reasoning or counseling? Or, more likely, the incapacity or incompetence of the reasoner or counsellor to do so.

We had similar upbringings as youths, Walter. We were able to accept reasoning …and licks. Do you think that we might have turned out differently without the licks? How capable were our parents at reasoning? How capable are we? Do [or did] you have to beat your children? Don’t you think that there is another way? Or one only?

7. @Zoe

And this is the point BU rehashes, how does the real voice of the Church win the narrative from the popular view. Maybe true Christians are losing the narrative to the relativist view?

8. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@David@4:14pm

The US bases the right of the citizen to own a gun on a Constitutional guarantee as interpreted by its Supreme Court. Moreover t has not signed any treaty that limits this right. I do not agree with the ruling and I think that allowing any idiot to own a gun is madness. But, as with our corporal punishment of children, the majority disagrees with me that it is A Very Useless Thing…in spite of the cogent evidence to the contrary. Re UNESCO, the US is a big fish…with a capital B. The Trinis have a saying, “Monkey know which tree to climb…”

Later!

9. @Jeff

When the dust settles the US is the biggest arms dealer in the world. Don’t get tie up!

http://fortune.com/2015/12/26/us-arms-sales-export/

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

I take your point that other external agencies are granted the power to comment on compliance with ratified treaties. My point though is that Ambassador Barfod is not so placed. Basically, he forgot his place and should have been told so by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

When those other external agencies comment on specific issues, they do so in compliance with the obligations that this government has committed the country. Barfod flew past his nest. Additionally, he has done something that I did not think possible, he has me agreeing with Mathew Farley.

11. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences2

And don’t for one minute doubt the illegal firearms are not being distributed to states, inner cities and islands by the very same suppliers and manufacturers, it’s all about billion dollar greed, with no regard for the victims.

12. @ Bush Tea at 2:41 PM …As I have said before your crafting of the written word is superior to all here..Jeff included and I rate him quite high. You say things that are Goebbelesquely interesting in the absolute illogic!

Let me take your “… AG (JA) started his sojourn with the announcement that he will not be hanging a fellow”. I offer another AG who either started his sojourn or at some key point along the path said words to the effect (maybe Caswell, can correct me): ‘I will get one’. That being a hanging.

In my mind that was absolutely ridiculous. For the chief legal officer to pander to the public like that was bad. Mind you this subsequent jurist grew up as the son of a superintendent at the former Dodds and thus he should have known better than most the issues that placed many an unfortunate lad there.

His remarks can be considered as terrible as those you quoted because all the licks administered previously did NOT “deter the .001 % of the deranged idiots in the population” and certainly did not keep folks off ‘death row’.

I can agree with you and disagree with Jeff that parental spanking is acceptable, but I concede on his broader point to curtail corporal punishment. It has not been shown to produce any better results.

@Walter, my old man was part of the educational system so I am not surprised in the least…this debate resonates clearly.

I understand your point of course re “No amount of talking, reasoning, or counseling seems to work… It is for this reason…” but in this modern era political correctness (certainly in US) is placing that discretion in the hands of police and removing it away from school administrators and even parents.

Because in part the evidence shows that Jeff is more right on the point that many other factors contribute to that and that no amount of counseling or licks alone will solve the matter.

But let me be open and I say that I have spanked (just an open hand lash) once but talk/advise a helluva lot more ..( obviously right)… Oh lawd. So I am certainly not as good as Bushie nor as balanced as Jeff or others. Let me also say that I do not see spanking as a first resort or in most cases even a necessary path to follow but it certainly should not be outlawed as a parental option.

That is the ultimate big-brother intrusion to parental control; particularly when authorities (US) are then manhandling our children so aggressively.

Let me be the one to show my children the rough and soft , the carrots and sticks of life. There is a big difference between a spanking given with complete love (by an angry father) and a beating administered by a harsh school officer. A BIG difference.

13. Jeff Cumberbatch December 27, 2015 at 3:41 PM #

In truth and FACT, Iโ€™ve openly stated here on BU, time and again, that I steadfastly maintain, that ANYONE who condones suicide bombing, the beheading of innocents and the wanton murder of civilians could NOT be true Islamists, but, were masquerading under the banner of Islam!

@ Zoe, you need not thank me for the editing!

Really, Jeff, you don’t know what the Koran teaches? Do you!?

What does the Koran say about nonbelievers?
    September 6, 2013 Acharya S/D.M. Murdock

Ah, the peace, love and tolerance! Here are some delightful sentiments that we should encourage spreading around the world! Why, oh why, are there violent religious fanatics attacking nonbelievers all over the globe?? [/sarc]

โ€œAbout sixty-one percent of the contents of the Koran are found to speak ill of the unbelievers or call for their violent conquest; at best only 2.6 percent of the verses of the Koran are noted to show goodwill toward humanity. About seventy-five percent of Muhammadโ€™s biography (Sira) consists of jihad waged on unbelievers.โ€

โ€“Dr. Moorthy Muthuswamy

Quotes from the Quran/Koran
    โ€œThis Book is not to be doubtedโ€ฆ. As for the unbelievers, it is the same whether or not you forewarn them; they will not have faith. God has set a seal upon their hearts and ears; their sight is dimmed and grievous punishment awaits them.โ€ Quran 2:1/2:6-2:10

โ€œGodโ€™s curse be upon the infidels! Evil is that for which they have bartered away their souls. To deny Godโ€™s own revelation, grudging that He should reveal His bounty to whom He chooses from among His servants! They have incurred Godโ€™s most inexorable wrath. An ignominious punishment awaits the unbelievers.โ€ Quran 2:89-2:90

โ€œLordโ€ฆGive us victory over the unbelievers.โ€ Quran 2:286

โ€œLordโ€ฆgive us victory over the unbelievers.โ€ Quran 3:147

โ€œI shall cast terror into the hearts of the infidels. Strike off their heads, strike off the very tips of their fingers.โ€ Quran 8:12

โ€œLet not the unbelievers think they will ever get away. They have not the power so to do. Muster against them all the men and cavalry at your command, so that you may strike terror into the enemy of Allah and your enemyโ€ฆโ€ Quran 8:59-60

โ€œWhen the sacred months are over slay the idolaters wherever you find them. Arrest them, besiege them, and lie in ambush everywhere for them.โ€ Quran 9:5

โ€œProphet, make war on the unbelievers and the hypocrites and deal rigorously with them. Hell shall be their home: an evil fate.โ€ Quran 9:73

โ€œBelievers, make war on the infidels who dwell around you. Deal firmly with them. Know that God is with the righteous.โ€ Quran 9:123

โ€œBelievers, take neither the Jews nor the Christians for your friends. They are friends with one anotherโ€ฆโ€ Quran 5:51

โ€œHe that chooses a religion over Islam, it will not be accepted from him and in the world to come he will be one of the lost.โ€ Quran 3:85

โ€œLet not believers make friends with infidels in preference to the faithful โ€“ he that does this has nothing to hope for from Good โ€“ except in self-defense. God admonishes you to fear Him: for to God shall all return.โ€ Quran 3:28

โ€œGarments of fire have been prepared for the unbelievers. Scalding water shall be poured upon their heads, melting their skins and that which is in their bellies. They shall be lashed with rods of iron.

โ€œWhenever, in their anguish, they try to escape from Hell, back they shall be dragged, and will be told: โ€˜Taste the torment of the Conflagration!’โ€ Quran 22:19-20

โ€œMuhammad is Godโ€™s apostle. Those who follow him are ruthless to the unbelievers but merciful to one another.โ€ Quran 48:29

โ€œThose that deny Our revelations We will burn in fire. No sooner will their skins be consumed than We shall give them other skins, so that they may truly taste the scourge. God is mighty and wise.โ€ Quran 4:56

โ€œBelievers, know that the idolaters [non-Muslims] are unclean. Let them not approach the Sacred Mosque after this year is ended.โ€ Quran 9:28

โ€œThe unbelievers among the People of the Book [Bible] and the pagans shall burn for ever in the fire of Hell. They are the vilest of all creatures.โ€ Quran 98:6

For the Dawood translation with the side-by-side Arabic, follow the links here:

Quotes from the Koran/Quran
    http://truthbeknown.com/islamquotes.htm

What is a โ€˜kaffir?โ€™
    Kaffir is an Arabic term for a nonbeliever or โ€œinfidel.โ€ Kuffar is the plural, โ€œinfidelsโ€:

Also spelled โ€˜kafirโ€™ or โ€˜kaffirโ€™, Kuffar is a highly derogatory Arabic term used to refer to non-Muslims, though it is usually directed less against โ€œPeople of the Bookโ€ (Christians and Jews) and more against others (Hindus, Buddhists, Shintoists, etc).

Separate laws govern Muslims and kuffars in an Islamic state with kuffars being viciously suppressed. For example: the blood payment to the family of a murdered Muslim man in Saudi Arabia is 1,000,000 Riyals; the payment to the family of a murdered Hindu woman is 3,333 Riyals.

โ€œAgainst kuffars make ready your strength to the utmost of your power, including steeds of war to strike terror into the (hearts of) the Enemy of Allah and your enemy, and others beside, whom you may not know, but whom Allah does know. Whatever you shall spend in the Cause of Allah, shall be repaid to you, and you shall not be treated unjustly.โ€ (Qurโ€™an: 8:60) http://www.freethoughtnation.com

14. In Western civilization, Europe, the USA; the Muslims are only biding their time, UNTIL, they can take over, with Sharia Law as the rule of law.

Jeff, et al, you obviously do NOT really understand Islam, and what its so-called holy book, the Koran teaches…and, interestingly, the majority of it!

โ€œLordโ€ฆGive us victory over the unbelievers.โ€ Quran 2:286

โ€œLordโ€ฆgive us victory over the unbelievers.โ€ Quran 3:147

โ€œI shall cast terror into the hearts of the infidels. Strike off their HEADS, strike off the very tips of their fingers.โ€ Quran 8:12

15. What You Need to Know About Muslims

Everything you read here is true. What you don’t know about Muslims will harm you!

You will never see a Muslim child playing along with non-Muslim children. Muslims consider all non-Muslims as “infidels” worthy of death. That is precisely what their Qur’an (Koran) teaches all Muslims. You need to read the Qur’an… I boiled it down to one page “Islam – The Terrible Religion of War” click here. Read the Qur’an for yourself.

“Muslims use the threat of terror to silence the media and the citizens with fear and intimidation and it works, then the Muslims go to work to destroy the nation and take it over for Islam. Silence is a weapon of mass destruction in the Muslims’ hand.”

Muslims despise dogs. You will not see a Muslim family even pet a neighbor’s dog. The Muslim considers the dog to be a filthy animal like pigs and not to be touched or it will defile them. So the Muslim next door will not pet your dog for they will despise it just as they will despise you for being an infidel non-Muslim. Keep your dog on a leash!

“The word Islam means submission!”

Muslims will not integrate into society when they immigrate into a non-Muslim country. They will always form micro-communities full of Muslims with their own criminal element with cruel Muslim Sharia and Muslim Blasphemy laws with Honor Killings.
    Muslims will build a mosque and will teach their Qur’an to the Muslim children and any new converts. Will these converts be radicalized? If you read the Qur’an you will discover there is no such thing as a non-radicalized Muslim. They will be taught to hate Jews, Christians and everyone who is not a Muslim and they will be encouraged to enslave, tax and kill them. Now you know why Muslim children are not permitted to be friends with your children.

“I read the Qur’an and I was shocked at what this so-called religion teaches hatred, war, slavery, submission, death and misery to all who are not Muslims. The Qur’an teaches the Muslim to take over the world for Allah and to kill the infidels to do so. This is not a peaceful religion it is a war machine. You need to read the Qur’an and tell others what is really going on.”

The Muslim Qur’an teaches that a Muslim can not be a friend of any non-Muslims. Now you know why you don’t see Muslims hanging out with you or other non-Muslims in society. Islam is a religion of hatred toward all non-Muslims (the Qur’an says so!). It never says to love non-Muslims.
    There are illegal alien Muslims in every country in the world.

The Mohammadans (Muslims) move in to plant Islamic communities within a nation with a specific goal to eventually take over that nation (yes, it is in the Qur’an). You are seeing this “take-over” in Sweden, Europe and the United Kingdom and in Africa and now in the USA. It all begins with one Muslim moving into a neighborhood and soon the neighborhood residents are selling and moving out. Don’t believe it? Just watch it happen before your very eyes when the Muslims arrive in your town! Suddenly a huge Islamic presence is in town expanding and growing rapidly. They will not assimilate, they will want their own Islamic laws to be enacted, then the demonstrations and terror begins.
    http://www.jamesrussellpublishing.blz

16. David December 27, 2015 at 4:19 PM #
    @Zoe

And this is the point BU rehashes, how does the real voice of the Church win the narrative from the popular view. Maybe true Christians are losing the narrative to the relativist view?

No David, God NEVER leaves Himself without a WITNESS. The True Gospel of Christ, is been preached throughout the world, like never before, as a WITNESS to all men.

Multiplied MILLIONS are coming to Jesus Christ, finding True Peace, Purpose, and the Gift of Eternal Life; though many are martyred for their uncompromising FAITH, in Jesus, as they KNOW…that they KNOW…He is the Only Saviour and Lord, they have EXPERIENCED HIM…not DEAD religious ritualism and formalism, as is found in Catholicism and other religions, cults, and occultic nonsense!

17. @Jeff Cumberbatch December 27, 2015 at 4:16 PM “Could it be that the child is hungry, tired, ill, bored out of his or her skull and otherwise unable to articulate the problem?”

A Simple Observation: Or it could be that the child was brain damaged even before birth by its parents alcohol damaged sperm and egg.

In Barbados we pride ourselves on our heavy drinking, and yet we do not admit to having any alcohol damaged children. Whom do we think we are fooling when we pretend that alcohol soaked sperm and eggs are the ideal incubator for a healthy infant?

And then we beat that child, and when the child cannot comply we beat them some more and then we boast about how could it is to share licks.

Maybe we should start beating the rum manufacturers.

18. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Well said, SS. Part of the Barbadian problem is a reluctance to accept that the fault may be in us…and not in the stars or elsewhere!

19. @Zoe December 27, 2015 at 7:43 PM #

Chuckle …..real voice of the church????………you and I know that is rubbish…….no one knows/has the answer,said simply without the gobblygook.

20. “Where will he be prepared to stop? I see that they have already framed messing around in faeces as a human right and have been pushing that agenda. I would seem that the success of that initiative has embolden these clowns from overseas.”
    Can the above relate to the contemptuous manner in which the local users of utility services are treated particularly by Lime/Flow.

21. But in Barbados NOBODY beats rich white men.

If I lie tell me so.

22. Simple Simon

I suspect that you have medical and or social work training. The problem of alcohol affected fetuses is well documented and the subsequent behavioral and learning problems of the children born from those fetuses. What I do not know is if there is similar problem with marijuana. I have read anecdotal assertions of similar problems with children of heavy marijuana users but I have not yet come across any reputable scientific work confirming this. Do you have any information on the effect on the fetus from parents who indulge in heavy marijuana use?

23. Jeff Cumberbatch December 27, 2015 at 4:16 PM #
    “Walter,
    I am surprised at, and disappointed with, your argument above.

Could it be that the child is hungry, tired, ill, bored out of his or her skull and otherwise unable to articulate the problem? Could its failure to be swayed by reasoning or counseling be owed to an inability on its part to understand that reasoning or counseling?

We had similar upbringings as youths, Walter. We were able to accept reasoning โ€ฆand licks. Do you think that we might have turned out differently without the licks? How capable were our parents at reasoning? How capable are we? Do [or did] you have to beat your children? Donโ€™t you think that there is another way? Or one only?”

Jeff,
    In my simplified analysis, I broke down the juvenile population into 3 main groups:
    Those who required no corporal punishment (the majority)
    Those who required corporal punishment occasionally, and benefited from it
    Those who are wicked, “forced-ripe”, “hard ears”, and “own way” and operate beyond the reaches of good advice and the corrective influence of licks

The third group (the most difficult one to handle) exists in the real world, but doesn’t seem to get deep enough scrutiny from you. The children in this group are not necessarily hungry, tired, bored, or ill. Stop manufacturing excuses for them. Some of them are simply ignorant, violent, and downright wicked. In some extreme cases, after trying a multiplicity of tactics and beating the living daylights out of them, their parents are forced to give up in frustration and dump them on the doorsteps of Dodds and Summervale. For this group especially, I unashamedly hold the view that all disciplinary options (not abuse) should remain on the table.

You are correct in asserting that, as youths,”we were able to accept reasoning โ€ฆand licks.” Somewhere along the line, licks and reasoning began to reinforce each other. We abruptly stopped doing some things because our childish minds quickly worked out that they only brought us pain and tears. Of course, there were times when we knew we were being physically abused. On the other hand, there were also times when we knew, deep down inside, that the “cut-tail” we just received was fully justified. At this stage of our lives, it is really difficult to determine how all of us would have turned out in a world without licks.

Finally, I will never argue that the use of corporal punishment is the only way we can train and discipline our children. Similarly, I will never argue that the use of licks is a total waste of time in all situations, on all children. The situation in real life is far too complicated for us to latch onto such extreme positions.

24. And what Walter if you understood that a significant number of the children whom you described as “forced-ripe” have indeed been forced but forced into sexual relations by their parents, stepparents, and their parents “friends”

What if I told you that just this year a “hard ears forced ripe girl” who was “behaving badly” in school was required to have sex with her father most mornings before she came to school.

If you Walter had to have sex with your mother most mornings before going to work would you be the good productive citizen that you are now?

25. Think about it.

What if we are not making excuses for these children. What if these children are being grossly violated?

What then?

More licks?

26. Simple Simon December 27, 2015 at 10:41 PM #
    “And what Walter if you understood that a significant number of the children whom you described as โ€œforced-ripeโ€ have indeed been forced but forced into sexual relations by their parents, stepparents, and their parents โ€œfriendsโ€”

Simple Simon December 27, 2015 at 10:42 PM #

“What if we are not making excuses for these children. What if these children are being grossly violated?

What then?

More licks?”

Simple Simon,
    The issues you have raised do not fall under the aegis of corporal punishment. They must be categorized as crimes against children, and ought to be prosecuted as such.

27. Walter, Do not some grown women (and men) fall into your third category? Should their partners not then logically administer corporal punishment too? And if not, why not?

Incidentally, I note that you created that category in order to justify your thesis. No problem in your begging the question, but is the incidence of these delinquents so great as to justify the corporal punishment of children generally? And do all those in this category end up in prison? Are there any White or East Indian children in that category? Many? A few?

I guess therefore that the corporal punishment does not work for the people in that group. Why impose it then? Would not a civilisation founded on intellect ( and not superstition) try to ascertain the reasons for the claimed existence of this category rather than carrying on with patently ineffective remedies for old times sake?

28. The current problem(s) with our children, are dramatically different, socially, culturally, economically, from those of us who went to school during the late 1950’s and the 60’s for a variety of very complex reasons.

The stimuli that’s attacking the brains of our present day school children, not withstanding other social issues at home, etc, etc., are so intense, I marvel that so many can even concentrate at school, to even gain a passing grade, as some do.

Their minds are constantly been bombarded with all kinds of distractions, social media, sexual distractions from co-education; the secular materialism of our culture, and the list goes on and on, compared with those of us, from an earlier era.

I would hate to be a teenager in today’s world; the vices and devices available to them are so distractive, no wonder so many of them end up as dysfunctional adults!

29. Zoe December 27, 2015 at 2:53 PM #

โ€œNO, I did not ASSUME (and erroneously so)โ€ฆ any reference to โ€œโ€ฆanyone beating their slaves,,,since the slave is their property.โ€ Would logically and by implied inference be the Transatlantic Slave Trade, it is YOU who is committing intellectual gymnastics!!!โ€

You are being disingenuous in trying to justify your contribution as a valid response to my questions.

You need to stop responding to contributions in a manner that suits your agenda. How can you state, and emphatically so, that I was referring to โ€œthe Transatlantic Slave Trade?โ€ On this basis I can conclude โ€œby implied inferenceโ€ that you are a mind reader.

Your response is indicative of someone who is struggling to answer the issues I raised.

Anyhow, forget it.

30. @Zoe, And what does that difference signify for our means of discipline? Same old…same old?

31. Jeff Cumberbatch December 27, 2015 at 11:16 PM #
    “Walter, Do not some grown women (and men) fall into your third category? Should their partners not then logically administer corporal punishment too? And if not, why not?

Incidentally, I note that you created that category in order to justify your thesis…… And do all those in this category end up in prison? Are there any White or East Indian children in that category? Many? A few?

I guess therefore that the corporal punishment does not work for the people in that group. Why impose it then? ”

Jeff,
    I thought this discussion on corporal punishment revolved around children. Indiscretions, transgressions, and criminal acts committed by grown men and women should be dealt with by the law. I cannot conjure up a scenario or sequence of events that can be used to justify one adult administering corporal punishment to another.

The last time I checked, about 93% of the Barbadian population was black. I have no idea of what disciplinary techniques are used in white or East Indian households. However, I would not be surprised if some children from these “minority” households get their backsides cut occasionally.

With respect to my “manufactured” third category, you would only discover that corporal punishment has failed on this group after you have tried it! But try it you should. Everyone in this category will not end up prison, in very much the same way that all mad people in Barbados do not end up in Jenkins. However, for a long time, they can be viewed as latent social risks.

Why still bother to impose corporal punishment on this group? Because, we do not know, from the outset, that our use of corporal punishment will fail.
    By virtue of your profession, you are acutely aware of the high rates of recidivism exhibited by some criminals. If you know that a prisoner stands an extremely high probability of returning to jail shortly, why bother to release him? If the prison experience is not forcing him to become contrite or to reflect upon his deviant and errant ways, why lock him up in the first place?
    The answer is that we often try to do our best with what we have and hope that everything works out fine. When dealing with human beings, nothing is guaranteed. Neither success nor failure.

32. @Jeff C
    Is the time on remand taken into consideration as part of the time served? If someone has been on remand for two years prior to conviction and received a ten year sentence does the time on remand count as time served? It counts in Canada, donโ€™t know whether it is applied the same way in Barbados or the English speaking Caribbean.

Many countries have โ€œinvestorโ€ class immigration so any similar regulation in some small island cash strapped states in the Caribbean is not new, the only difference is we canโ€™t see what is being invested and the investment may be headed to the politiciansโ€™ personal portfolio. (you may not write that but I can certainly think it)

The more you pursue the subject of Corporal punishment in your columns the more you will observe that Bajans attitude towards this topic is bred in the bone, I suspect this mindset persists throughout the wider Caribbean which leads me to conclude that one of the major methods that the slave masters used to modify behavior on our forefathers has found fertile ground within us.

33. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

This being the age of enlightenment, it is also the age of reasoning. Our foreparents did not have that pleasure, those born in the 50s, 60s, and 70s did not have the skills. Parenting is and will always be trial and error, where situations have to be matched with personalities….no handbook can prepare a parent for personalities that are formed way earlier than previously thought. There are many variables in raising children particularly when they are exposed to many abuses at too young an age by adults, most of those abuses being of a sexual nature, in small island societies like Barbados, which radically changes children’s personalities, more often than not it’s after those experiences you find children ‘acting out’ or becoming ‘hard ears’. That is how monsters are created.

Then there are the many other really bad influences to distract them and lead them away from a safe path. In a school filled with children of any age you will find the most disruptive kids are the leaders. Then there are those children born with mental illness, brain damage and a host of disorders not recognized or understood in the Caribbean, the first reaction is to beat them…….because…….

In 2015, with all the available resources most educated parents should have mastered the art of reasoning but that is also trial and error. Many serial killers came from the best homes, were never beaten, had the best education, but also a lust and passion for killing and eating people or a huge appetite for mass murder….a la the creeps in the US walking into schools with assualt rifles and letting loose on fellow students. At the end of the day all parents pray for the best, but prepare for the worst.

34. โ€œWhen the sacred months are over slay the idolaters wherever you find them. Arrest them, besiege them, and lie in ambush everywhere for them.โ€ Quran 9:5

Whenever critics bring verses of the Quran to demonstrate that Islam is violent, that it sanctions Muslims to kill non-Muslims (as assumed by them), they do a cut and paste of a verse and try hide context of the passage. They donโ€™t show the previous and the verses after, what it actually says. And you readily believed.

The verse is provided in its context as follows:

โ€œ9:5-6 But when the forbidden months are past, then fight and slay the Pagans wherever ye find them, an seize them, beleaguer them, and lie in wait for them in every stratagem (of war); but if they repent, and establish regular prayers and practise regular charity, then open the way for them: for Allah is Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful. If one amongst the Pagans ask thee for asylum, grant it to him, so that he may hear the word of Allah, and then escort him to where he can be secure. That is because they are men without knowledge.โ€

Having presented the verse in context, we can analyze it properly. Dr. Maher Hathout gives an explanation on the historical context of the verse:

This verse was revealed towards the end of the revelation period and relates to a limited context. Hostilities were frozen for a three-month period during which the Arabs pledged not to wage war. Prophet Muhammad was inspired to use this period to encourage the combatants to join the Muslim ranks or, if they chose, to leave the area that was under Muslims rule; however, if they were to resume hostilities, then the Muslims would fight back until victorious. One is inspired to note that even in this context of war, the verse concludes by emphasizing the divine attributes of mercy and forgiveness. To minimize hostilities, the Qurโ€™an ordered Muslims to grant asylum to anyone, even an enemy, who sought refuge. Asylum would be granted according to the customs of chivalry; the person would be told the message of the Qurโ€™an but not coerced into accepting that message. Thereafter, he or she would be escorted to safety regardless of his or her religion. (9:6). (Hathout, Jihad vs. Terrorism; US Multimedia Vera International, 2002, pp.52-53, emphasis added)

Therefore, this verse once again refers to those pagans who would continue to fight after the period of peace. It clearly commands the Muslims to protect those who seek peace and are non-combatants. It is a specific verse with a specific ruling and can in no way be applied to general situations. The command of the verse was only to be applied in the event of a battle.

Because the Quran lacks internal contextual references we need non-quranic, but related and authoritative references, to understand its meaning accurately. Some people create theological positions based upon a “Quran only” type of reasoning and they make the Quran dance: it says what they want it to say when they want it said. That doesnโ€™t cut it. We must have more than opinion and conjecture. We must use the Quran and contextual references to build a logical, rational, and substantial basis for understanding 9:5. If each person is allowed to “interpret” the Quran as he sees fit, while ignoring the historical and theological references, we would have a meaningless pile of opinions built upon a foundation of cute, but trite, imaginations.

Sources:

http://theamericanmuslim.org/tam.php/features/articles/quran_95_commentary

http://discover-the-truth.com/2014/03/04/quran-95-sword-verse/

http://www.answering-islam.org/Silas/swordverse.htm

35. Walter

The answer is that we often try to do our best with what we have and hope that everything works out fine. When dealing with human beings, nothing is guaranteed. Neither success nor failure.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

No Walter the answer is we have tried for many years to do the best with our methods of disciplines and have failed . It is high time we as a society collectively tried new formulas that are morally right and grounded (firstly) in humane corrective methods

36. And Walter when the State locks up an individual the state becomes guardian of that persons and now takes on full responsibility for the well being of that individual
    It is not just a simple case of punishment meted out (the end of story) but a duty which the state now has to performed on an equal ! justifiable with humane methods ,
    Where the state failures mostly lie is in its inability of having proper and corrective methods of reform that goes beyond punishment rather than solely relying on the method of punishment as sufficient treatment expecting the individual to have learned a lesson
    The fact being that so many of those who had been incarcerated returns to the prison systems is a glaring clue that even though the punishment method meets the requirement of the crime committed it is not enough of a persuasive punishment of deterrent
    The object therefore must be geared towards methods that are extraordinary in their application those than can fulfill the needs of the society including those processes whereby on the release of the inmate their is a psychological as well as a spiritual transformation that persuades the inmate to be a positive contributor to society

37. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Sarge@1:54am

Thanks for your insightful remarks especially the one on corporal punishment. I am aware that these lessons have been ingrained over the centuries and change does not come easily to the Barbadian. Anent your point about the discount of the final sentence for time spent on remand, see the following report and the decision of the CCJ in a Barbadian case.

http://www.nationnews.com/print_article/nationnews/news/29611/ccj-ruling-implications-barbados?print=true

http://www.worldcourts.com/ccj/eng/decisions/2011.04.15_Romeo_Da_Costa_Hall_v_Queen.pdf

38. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@PUDRYR

My sincere apologies for not thanking your grandson for his creativity yesterday at 9:59am. I played it only just now. Please convey my very best wishes and compliments of the season to him and his grandparents !

39. The writer of this article (Jeff) is well respected. His style of writing may please some of the purists who exist on this blog. However, I find the writerโ€™s style a distraction. Barbados is at a precipice; yet the writer dilutes his message without any sense of urgency. This is a betrayal of the state of affairs in Barbados.

The BU campaigning style will decline if it continues to go down this path. We need to be directing our message towards the masses. This group (the masses) has the muscles and the numeric advantage to bring โ€œreal, crushing and irreversibleโ€ changes to Barbados. They do not want to wade through a dictionary in order to acquire a meaning of sense. Neither do they want to walk through a Byzantine maze in order to understand the message from the author.

@ Piece,

I wish you a Happy New Year.

I had no idea that you were a Sun reader! Journalists and editors in the UK are pretty fearless unlike their neutered counterparts in Barbados! If I can get an old-timer (no offence) like you to delve into the UK scene than my work is near complete.

@ Well, Well and Consequences,

I too wish you and everyone on BU a Happy New Year. I hope that you all had a wonderful Christmas.

You remain remarkably incisive. You made a comment in another blog whereby certain bloggers may ask another blogger: โ€œWhat school did you go to?โ€ I find this question irritating, divisive and plain stupid. The worse culprit is Money Brain. With the dilution of the BU brand your voice has become essential.

The article below is what I would consider to be first class journalism. A rarity in a country such as Barbados:

โ€œBarbados rocked by crimeโ€

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/12/25/barbados-rocked-by-crime/

40. ac December 28, 2015 at 5:41 AM #
    “No Walter the answer is we have tried for many years to do the best with our methods of disciplines and have failed . It is high time we as a society collectively tried new formulas that are morally right and grounded (firstly) in humane corrective methods”

ac,
    Corporal punishment, as a method of discipline, has been with us since the dawn of human civilization. It was used extensively (some might say “abused excessively”) to guide the largest demographic group our country has ever seen (The Barbadian Baby Boomers) through its childhood years.

From a sociological perspective, I cannot honestly look at the members of this group and conclude that we have failed in our national attempt to raise them into well-adjusted citizens. By no means is Barbados a perfect society, but in the grand scheme of things, the Baby Boomers have evolved into responsible adults, parents and grand parents. They have laid down roots in almost every corner of the globe and have distinguished themselves for their industry, education, and respect for the rule of law.

Of course, our society must be prepared to try new formulas as new challenges and ideas emerge. However, these new formulas need not be viewed strictly as replacements for the older methods. They can be viewed as additional weapons, in an expanding arsenal, which have the ability to be successful with some human beings, in some situations, some of the time.

41. @Exclaimer

BU continues to give voice to opinions and information from all corners of the society. Bear this in mind. Your concern about protecting promulgating the BU brand is noted.

42. There was a time when Barbadian emigrants ‘packed’ their children back to Barbados because they had confidence in how we raised our children and managed our affairs. In fact Barbados was considered a model small island state. Note how BU resisted the temptation to describe Barbados as a predominant Black govern country.

All of the ‘guiding principles’ of yore that we employed as the foundation of our success are being dismantled.

43. David December 28, 2015 at 10:18 AM #
    “There was a time when Barbadian emigrants โ€˜packedโ€™ their children back to Barbados because they had confidence in how we raised our children and managed our affairs. In fact Barbados was considered a model small island state. ….

All of the โ€˜guiding principlesโ€™ of yore that we employed as the foundation of our success are being dismantled.”

I can make Barbados great again.

44. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Exclaimer. ..there is a sense of urgency to rid Barbados of itโ€™s current threats, I agree. Unless the leaders, who represents the culprits, do something or in a greater instance the people, make their voices heard and displeasure known at these threats to the island’s safety and security, people like you and I will have to be even more blunt in voicing our concerns.

The attitude of the majority is one of “we caan do nutten”, jnstead of speaking out and exposing the dirty secrets that keeps the negative energy on the island flowing. Their energy is reserved for fighting down those who fight for basic human rights. They still carry the mindset of the conditioned slave, now conditioned to accept every wrongdoing from the political and abusive business classes.

It’s counterproductive to have the commissioner of police trying to fight crime while the director of public prosecutions has a known relationship with and takes bribes from the business people accused of bringing the drugs and guns into the island, launder the most money on the island and also in Harris’ case, responsible with others for undermining and systematically destroying the only judicial system that exists which is responsible for maintaining the integrity of the country.

When lawyers, doctors, police, immigration, office of the DPP have been compromised through bribery and blackmail and everyone keeping their secrets, the battle has to be relentless to break down those barriers. It’s a minority keeping 270K people in line and at bay because of the weakness of their leaders….the weakest link.

Being in the majority one would think the leaders would know they hold the powers in their hands to bring down the likes of Harris, but they are so weakened by corruption, that they would much rather be brought down WITH Harris, Parris and all the other destructive forces on the island.

45. Exclaimer December 28, 2015 at 10:03 AM #

โ€œThe writer of this article (Jeff) is well respected. His style of writing may please some of the purists who exist on this blog. However, I find the writerโ€™s style a distraction. Barbados is at a precipice; yet the writer dilutes his message without any sense of urgency. This is a betrayal of the state of affairs in Barbados.โ€

I will certainly draw the wrath of the “BU purists,” but I agree with your opinion. The blog master will be quick to defend, perhaps because of the position he is perceived to hold in society. That’s the norm.

There are issues in this society that his expertise could be better utilized by suggesting appropriate solutions.

46. @ Artaxerxes & Well Well & Consequences2,

The story below explains why Barbados faces such difficulties. Those who govern us are not masters of their fate; rather they are living in fear. Our economy is being financed by the narcotics industry.

“The man who exposed the lie of the war on drugs
    Roberto Saviano already lives under armed guard after writing about the Neapolitan mafia. Now he is determined to uncover capitalismโ€™s complicity with the narco-lords of South America”

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2015/dec/26/man-who-exposed-lie-war-on-drugs-roberto-saviano-ed-vulliamy

47. Exclaimer December 28, 2015 at 10:03 AM #
    “The writer of this article (Jeff) is well respected. His style of writing may please some of the purists who exist on this blog. However, I find the writerโ€™s style a distraction.”

Exclaimer,
    You have pronounced on Jeff’s reputation, and you have denounced his style of writing. You haven’t said anything about the content of the article.

Is there any part of Jeff’s article which you understood? Did he introduce any ideas you hadn’t thought of before? Looking through your eyes, are there any contentious issues, for Barbados and the wider Caribbean, that have been generated by the article? If so, what is your stance on these issues?

48. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Exclaimer…it all boils down to understanding. Capitalism was founded on criminality, therefore there is only an invisible line separating the two……laws.

Many banks/corporations set aside funds for when the FDIC or SEC hits them with heavy fines for blurring the invisible line….breaking the laws, they know they are going to break those laws, the survival of the corporate world depends on blurring those lines, so when they pay 1/2 billion in fines, that was for the pleasure of making 10 billion dollars.

As long as you understand the dynamics the rest is easy, but the world just don’t think it’s matured enough to handle the truth. As the article is dealing with the drugs trade, the same can be said for the arms trade.

49. It never amazes the BU household why some would attack others for venting their opinions in the style they chose. It strikes at a philosophy BU swears to uphold. On the front page of BU any day many different offerings can be found scribed by authors from different backgrounds. Jeff brings a value based on his training that adds value to discussions. Instead of foregoing the nitpicking we should leverage what we have to build.

50. @Walter

The tagline appears to be working well for Trump, as Bushie is constantly coercing, why not you!