Submitted by Heather Cole (The Barbados Lobby)
Heather Cole

Barbadians are patriotic to the bone. Not even in the USA is Independence celebrated for a whole month as is done in Barbados. It is pride and industry and those colours of blue, gold and black that holds the threads that bind us all together.

[…]

Independence is the time for cultural activity and to reminisce of the past, eat our national dishes and watch the armed and unarmed Units parade in all their pomp and pageantry at the Garrison Savannah.

However, time and time again history has revealed that every great empire or civilization after rising to its zenith then underwent a phase of decadence that ultimately led to its demise. It has happened to the Assyrians, the Egyptians, the Greeks, the Romans and the British. Although Barbados is not a great Empire, there is an analogy.

It is usually said that times have changed but on reflection, time never changes. It is a cycle that repeats itself. There are good times and there are bad times. The Barbados of 1966 was not the same Barbados of the year 2000, nor is the Barbados of 2015 the same as any of these two time periods. In its colonial days Barbados became renowned as the gem of the Caribbean. In recent times it was known as a leader in education, healthcare and social services as well as having a stable economic system.

Barbados is classified as a small open economy. This basically means that whatever is happening in the rest of the world, primarily the USA affects its economy. When the US economy is doing great, so is Barbados; when it is underperforming that is also reflected in Barbadian economy. In essence the theory states that the island is too small to influence its own economic activity. From independence, the country has been on a seemingly steady path of economic growth until 2008. Early in 2008 the government changed and a worldwide recession started shortly thereafter. It lasted 18 months but somehow, Barbados remained stuck in its grasp while the rest of the world moved on. This has effectively shattered the theory of the small open economy.

One may ask what caused the theory to shatter. The answer lies in the fact that after the worldwide recession ended, the recession that continued in Barbados was man made, created by poor management and unsound economic policies of the government. This recession has not only affected Barbados economically but socially as well. To date the country’s credit rating is at zero, businessmen in Bridgetown are crying out for foreign exchange, there is labour unrest. Thirty five new taxes have been introduced burdening the population. There is a controversy surrounding the building of a gasification plant which is to bring even more taxation. Health and social services are on the decline and the only things that are growing are the government’s debt, unemployment, poverty, vagrants in Bridgetown and crime. There is not even a safe haven for tourism because the US, Canada and Great Britain have all issued travel advisories warning their citizens of the island’s escalating crime rate. Added to this, the threat of Cuba as a unique tourist destination is looming on the horizon.

In this season of independence, are we just celebrating what happened on November 30th 1966? Are we celebrating the significance of that proclamation that placed us on a path to control our destiny? Or are we celebrating a timeline of events that were started on that day? These may appear to be strange questions to ask but with the introduction of portable standpipes and the reduction in “free” tertiary education at the university, the lack of transparency and the deafening silence of leaders who do not communicate with the citizens who elected them, the country seems to be moving not forward but backwards to colonial times.

In this season of independence before you consider indulging in conkies and souse, attending the parade at the Garrison Savannah or even lustily singing “God Bless Bim on Independence Day”, ask yourselves what are we really celebrating? Will the answer be patriotism? Will the answer be the demise of a once illustrious gem?

116 responses to “What Are We Celebrating?”

1. Alvin Cummins November 21, 2015 at 12:06 PM #

@Miller,
    Sugar did not become doomed beginning in 2008.
    …………………………………………………………………………………

You are oh so correct…..chuckle……..now tell us who put the final nail in the coffin.

2. Baba Elombe

1 hr ·

To continue, Notice the half door with a full sized door behind it and a small window. To the right of the photo, there are other house with a more professional shingle roof aqnd loved windows. We are beginning to see the evolution of the modern chattel house.

Baba Elombe's photo.

This is another urban tenantry, I believe this was behind St Michaels scoop in Bridgetown.

Baba Elombe's photo.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant November 21, 2015 at 12:24 PM

Well put, Sarge!

I doubt very much those pushing for republic status are aware those titles of Sir and QC will have to be dropped.
    Not only those titles but also all the symbols and paraphernalia of a British monarchical system would have to go like the trooping of the Queen’s colours, and the wearing of the crown by army and police officers. The Constitution would also have to be redrafted and approved by a 2/3rd majority in Parliament.
    This rebranding exercise is really going to be a massive and expensive undertaking, something the country could least afford with so much forex scarcity around.

4. Baba Elombe

1 hr ·

This photo shows an urban tenantry. A tenatry usually develops when the owner of a piece of land would rent spots to various persons who would then construct their hose on that spot. Usually the tenant would pay the land lord by the week. These were very small lots that can vary from 500 t0 3000sq Ft. In some case a tenant with a larger lot ie 3000 sq Ft, would rent part of this and have his own tenants. In country tenantries (and some urban tenantries) these larger lots…

See More

Baba Elombe's photo.

5. Baba Elombe

1 hr ·

Shared from Photos app – 1 photoThis photo shows the juxtaposition of a modern building in the background while the foreground shows a what looks like a self constructed chattel house with a hip roof. In all these photos not the number of adults and children that seemly live in that house. Overall note the large number of persons associated with these homes.

Baba Elombe's photo.

Note this house is completely shingled on the sides doubled windowboth hanging from the horizontal. You can see how different owners were experimenting with different aspects of the design. Also not how the house was lifted off the ground not with a ground sill but with probably parts of a tree.

Baba Elombe's photo.

6. Baba Elombe

42 mins ·

This photo is somewhere in St Peter or St Lucy and is often refered to as slave houses. I have never in all of my reading ever came across houses being provided for slaves of this type. Compared with the chattel house these were expensive houses. Maybe there some people who have the answer but understanding the history not slavery, it is unlikely that these were built for slaves. These seemed to have been built by for a specific purpose. I am open to suggestions.

Baba Elombe's photo.

This a truly urban tenantry -Chapman Lane or Emerson. This was the state of many urban tenantries. It was not until the development of the sage plant that Government gave some residences the option of moving which aGabby and many others took advantage of and moved to Clapham.

Baba Elombe's photo.

7. Baba Elombe

1 hr ·

In this photo, we see the elements that begin to define the chattel house. Note the loved windows, the top attached horizontally and the bottom divided in two halvesand attached vertically. Note the window is not centred I the side. The shingled roof is again installed by a carpenter.

Baba Elombe's photo.

Baba Elombe

40 mins ·

Mother and children in a tenantry. This could have been anytime between 1950 and 1980 because of the uniform of the little girl.

Baba Elombe's photo.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yes and yes Miller…..clear to see the politicians don’t give a damn what wrong the greedy minorities do to their own people, in this case Bjerkham was rewarded with a position at the central bank, to do what, at taxpayers expense, of course to further destroy the country and it’s people.

They did not really think through the republic thing, now they know they will have to give up the pretentious fraud titles, giving away useless titles for favors. They will no longer be able to blame England for their own incompetence and mismanagement by playing the slavery card…….they will have all their tools that enable them to commit fraud, including those destructive archaic laws they hide behind to commit crimes, let’s see if they have the balls.

9. Some things to be proud of on our 49th Anniversary:

Garbage pick up once a week if you are lucky
    A dirty, outdated Government Hospital
    A dysfunctional Public Transport system.
    A country where only criminals have easy access to guns and amo.
    A country where Government Ministers can sign off on multimillion dollar projects without any debate in Parliament or consultation with the population.
    A country where 80% of the food we eat is imported, and is sold to the public at up to 3 times the price found in US retail stores.
    A system of justice where people are in jail for years before being brought to trial. (Human rights abuse)
    Lawyers who steal money from clients are allowed to repay the money without being charged with a crime.
    Litter everywhere and no anti littering laws in place.
    Every Government minister has a new BMW or Mercedes.
    Every major international financial organization has downgraded our economy to Junk or near junk status.
    A collapsing raw sewage system on South Coast, no system installed on West Coast.
    A country where traditional media is silent on important issues for fear of Government retribution.
    State controlled monopoly Television Station(only one)Again, control of Media.

There are more, but these are the ones that come readily to mind.

10. I could not help but shake my head in dismay to hear the goat for PM Stuart gloat about more Chinese loans at concessional terms. Nearly 95cents of every dollar of GDP is not used for debt servicing. Can someone tell the goat for PM Stuart that!

11. The DLP has fucked up de country beyond repair and Mia will sink it with her with her Mottley ethos

12. @Yatinkiteasy
    You left off a few:

Our political landscape is polarised into two “tribes”. Some tribesmen are so blindly loyal that they will always vote for their chiefs in the hope of getting a l’il pick, even if said chiefs, burn crops, rape wives, and steal livestock. Bim is now a yard-fowl heaven ( or haven).
    We no longer have any so-called leaders who even vaguely resemble statesmen or nation-builders; and this applies in both public and private sectors.
    We have running this country perhaps the largest collection of unprincipled, conscienceless egotists and sociopaths in our history.
    In the private sector, we have a handful of moguls, magnates and captains of industry who treat Barbados as their Monopoly Board. They fight over the country’s assets and resources like hyenas snarling over an antelope’s carcass.
    No one to trust; no man’s handshake or word is worth anything.

13. @ Colonel Buggy,

“Last July tens of thousands of our children left school , certified or not, without any prospect of earning an honest living. The same happened the year before, and the same will happen next year.”

Let’s hope that our esteemed politicians and our equally highly regarded local business leaders can resolve our domestic difficulties within the next two years.

Should they fail our men and women could well be tempted to work as domestic servants working within the Middle East regions. A number of developing countries have recently imposed bans on their citizens working within this region. This may well be a temporarily solution for our chronically underemployed citizens.

http://www.economist.com/node/16953469

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As I said, I am not enamored of Arabs, they act like beasts and have the demeanor of savages when interacting with people black like themselves, why would anyone want to work for them, given their rotten history of kidnapping and enslaving. The wealthier they are, the more savage and beastly.

15. thought provoking pictures which shows a community of people with broughtsupsy most likely polite and proud of their environment /interesting to note that back in the era the availability of garbage could have been all to non existent on a regular daily collection or even weekly yet the streets look pristine in comparison to modern barbados when society takes everything for granted and their idea of taking care of the environment is littering and hoarding garbage

16. @ Well Well & Consequences November 21, 2015 at 5:56 PM,

Many of our citizens will soon no longer have the choice as to where they work. They will be forced to take on jobs which will compromise their physical and psychological welfare.
    We have a government that is fully determined to run Barbados into the ground.

This problem is indicative of a so called small open economy.

The current administration and the one that it preceded were in such a rush to liberate the Barbados economy that both parties became immune and unconcerned as to the likely effect that their negligence would have on their own citizens.

Both parties were well aware that their policies could have brought insurrection on the streets. The masses lacked insight and showed no concern with the future direction of their country. Their intransigence acted as a green light for both administrations to make a financial killing. Corruption and the culture of the brown envelope became the norm.

The career choices available to the Afro-Bajan have become limited. I predict that in the near future we will see a huge growth in prostitution, drug couriers and dealers, domestic servants, aux-pairs, gardeners, security guards, et al.

So there you have it. There is no way back for the Afro-Caribbean residing within the Caribbean. We have squandered our inheritance. Not only have we disgraced our ancestors but we have blighted the future of our youth and the next generation.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Well said Exclaimer, understood, the ones who did the damage should be the ones to reverse the destruction, unfortunately they are all very self-absorbed, hence the position in which they have sunk their own people.

They may want to avoid at all costs, their people having no choice but to be brutalized and treated like slaves, no, I mean, enslaved in the middle east, because their leaders are too incompetent to create opportunities for them and they then have to be exposed to the likes of Arabs half way around the world.

18. Exclaimer November 21, 2015 at 9:54 PM #
    The career choices available to the Afro-Bajan have become limited. I predict that in the near future we will see a huge growth in prostitution, drug couriers and dealers, domestic servants, aux-pairs, gardeners, security guards, et al.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    No prediction. This is what currently prevails. A few weeks ago , I overheard a man telling a friend,’ This government has forced many of us tradesmen, to become security guards.”
    And actually, Afro-Guyanese is the preferred person for domestic work in Barbados , or someone who will require a work permit,as ” no suitable Bajan applicant can be found”

19. Sargeant November 21, 2015 at 12:24 PM #

Can I get a few Bajans to their preface their children’s name with “Sir” and confuse the hell out of everybody? It would work like this “Serjohn Cumberbatch’ not “Sir John Cumberbatch” ,
    ……………………………………………………………..
    And not forgetting Sirgeant

20. We are celebrating Owen Arthur’s departure from the wicked BLP of Mia ‘s rule!
    A BLP that has ‘ lost it’s soul’

21. Let’s be honest, most bajans don’t like hard work or appreciate the sweat, tears or spill of the brow for that matter.

WTF I duz be hearing doh?
    Yuh mean wunna still wid dis shite?

As Judge Judy would say; RIDICULOUS!!!

22. Actually there is nothing more satisfying than the exhaustion that comes after an intense and productive day. I know several people who agree. I have heard several people in government departments who complain that their position gives them little to do. I have heard these people ask to be assigned work and be frustrated when it is not forthcoming.

23. 49 years

The first couple of times I saw the ad on TV I had a WTF moment, but I have to ask since when is CBC allowing charlatans to advertise on TV? I am speaking of one Pandit Shiva who promises to do provide “100% guaranteed” results for whatever ails you.
    I have a few tricks up my sleeve and they tell me that one of the great aunt’s husband was an Obeah which means I can delve into ancient family history and hang out my shingle to relieve Bajans of some of their money.

Look for an ad on TV soon, Sargeant the Obeah man here for three weeks, limited time offer, yuh snooze yuh lose. De outside woman or man will cease to be a problem, your aches and pains will disappear, yuh aint earning enough money? De boss will give you a raise! Yuh lost yuh pick? No problem I will fix you up with X firm ( can’t give away ma secrets).Dat woman or man who won’t give you the time of day? She/He will be putty in your hands.

Limited time offer! First ten clients free consultation, remember this is only available once a year, testimonials to my professionalism and results available on request.

Call 246-xxx-xxxx for appointment.

24. @ Sargeant
    Meanwhile, trained professionals who pay exorbitant license fees annually CANNOT advertise…

Just be thankful that you only have three weeks per year to suffer the idiocy called CBC…
    It is the most juvenile and pedestrian TV service that Bushie has seen anywhere…

Wuh you probably missed the PRIME TIME advertising by a well known one door business in Bridgetown – a WHOLE shiite program with a list is cheap looking items advertised in 1970’s style…

For independence, they are doing a SUPER special by visiting local places with funny names and speculating on the origin of the names…. LOL sounds like an idea from Kellman

Meanwhile, a young fella from Al Jazeera came here recently for a short visit and produced a documentary on a variety of Bajan items. Bushie’s guess is that it cost chicken feed – but has outdone ANYTHING ever done by CBC in 40 years….

25. @Bush Tea

It appears you watched Sodom last week 🙂

26. Bush T
    You forget the Internet? I can tune into CBC daily.

I don’t think it’s a bad idea to go with place names if presented correctly with a knowledgeable historian, some names are obvious like Graveyard in CH CH where there was an actual Graveyard and where those two brothers drowned a few years ago.

Are they going to Gemswick? Someone told me that the name was changed at the behest of the old DLP Rep Reynold Weeks as he didn’t like to list his home address as Penny Hole.

I once hiked through Swampy Town in St. Lucy (didn’t see any swamps), how about Pico Tenerife? That is an area/ name that I think not familiar to many Bajans.

27. LOL @ Sargeant
    Skippa, if you can tune into the internet, and choose between three hundred thousand TV channels…. and you choose to watch CBC …..it can ONLY mean one thing….

..you like fat women….
    You devil you!!…. yuh is a TRUE bajan fuh trute… 🙂

28. As as soon as we hit the status of a republic,at least officially, out goes the following place names?
    Queen Elizabeth Hospital
    Princess Margaret School
    King George Park
    Prince William Street
    George Street
    Combermere
    King Edward Road
    President Kennedy Drive.
    Wellington Street
    Nelson Street, Nelson Statue , Nelson Gate.
    Fort Willoughby
    Queen Street
    Queens Park
    Harrison Point, College
    Worthing
    Hasting
    Sutherland Hill

29. Whether you become a republic or not politicians will still sit around stimulating their own packages

30. What we are really celebrating is 350 + 49 years of an almost continuous Conservative Government , the last 49 years albeit an unelected Conservative Government, operating not from Palmetto Street or Bay Street, but from Cattlewash and other Pretoria enclaves of Barbados. The Plantocracy, and their “come ya” associates like Blerkham, call the shots and ,those who we have elected, jump to it.

This Sandie Shaw hit says it all

31. Colonel Buggy

Great post.

This song, ironically written in 1966, should be adopted as Barbados’ official 50th Independence anniversary song; with a bit of fine tuning.

To paraphrase –

China says that it cares. It loves Barbados madly.

Barbados may win on the roundabout.

But, with all the “preferential” loans Barbados has borrowed or is eagerly anticipating from China for Garfield Sobers Sports Complex. Sam Lord’s, the reconstruction and expansion of the Grantley Adams International Airport and Pier-head Marina project in Bridgetown, Barbados is all tied up and where’s it leading to?

There is never a doubt that it is China who’s pulling the strings.

Friend to all, satellite to none?

Going forward it will be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the People’s Republic of China to Barbados Wang Ke and his bosses who will be pulling Barbados’ string.

Welcome to Chinados.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Sounds good on paper, but it’s pure crap.

33. I wonder if any Govt. of Bim would have the guts to do this?

http://bbc.in/1MzAoC3

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent…..if you are referring to this article, don’t hold ya breath, just be glad there is no cholera, ebola etc in B’dos.

Tanzania’s Magufuli scraps independence day celebration
    Posted at 10:06
    Tanzania’s newly elected President John Magufuli has cancelled independence day celebrations, due in a fortnight, and has ordered a clean-up campaign instead.

“It is so shameful that we are spending huge amounts of money to celebrate 54 years of independence when our people are dying of cholera,” he was quoted on state television as saying.

Magufuli
    Reuters
    President John Magufuli was sworn in on 5 November
    Cholera has killed about 60 people in Tanzania in the last three months.

Correspondents say many people have welcomed Mr Magufuli’s announcement, as it shows his commitment to ending lavish spending and tackling the cholera outbreak which has caused widespread concern.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Africa has made such an about turn……according to one of my daughters re Rawanda, as long as you get rid of all the douche bags, there is immediate change for the better. If I remember correctly, the international community had to step in and arrest that war criminal back then.

36. @Well Well & Consequences November 24, 2015 at 11:54 AM #

Take a drive around this country of ours preferably in a tank to deal with the potholes,look at our fields,look at the state of our houses and their yards…..

We like it so…..we enjoy the waste of time party squabbles….the foolishness that assails our ears daily from those who should know better….the monies spent on entertainment and changing vehicles all the time,possibly from pot hole damage.

Good to see one of the ancestral links being sensible by cancelling independence when you cannot afford it due to other pressing matters.

37. Vincent,

What is it about the yards that concerns you? I really want to know.

38. @ Vincent
    Good to see one of the ancestral links being sensible by cancelling independence when you cannot afford it due to other pressing matters.
    But even if we COULD afford it Vincy, how long EXACTLY will we go on with this shiite about ‘independence’?
    How often does one celebrate a 21st birthday?
    …Ya mean YEAR after YEAR afte rYEAR the same shiite parade, and the same shiite songs, and the same shiite awards -to all the big crooks and yardfowls?

Will we be seeing the eminent, non-leper, SIR Leroy P Earl of CLICO named this year…?

WHEN DOES IT STOP…???

Is it not about time we stop talking shiite about independence ..and start being GROWN-UP?
    …its not even like we fought some war, or made any damn sacrifice – the damn white people had extracted every shiite that they could …and wanted the RID of our donkeys…..

Independence shiite….

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent…..that is called being practical, the African leaders havè finally growñ up after decades of displaying criminality, corruption, immatuŕity, status addiction and idiocy. Guess those leaders in Barbados hàve à long wày to go.

40. Bushie,

The shiite is about to hit the fan.

41. Maybe there is hope for Africa after all! Hooray!

42. Well Well,

For actors the show must always go on.

43. @ Donna
    Looks so…..

44. Last week we brought in a ship load of cement from one of the former Soviet satellites.
    Daily we have ship loads of food coming in from Trinidad and Tobago to restock their supermarkets here.
    And now to cap it all, there is a ship load of “cooking gas” on its way from some undeclared destination.
    Whats next ? ….a ship load of lettuce and other vegetables from Australia?
    or a ship load of Mediterranean sea water for Sam Lords Hotel swimming pool.
    With the world on the edge of turmoil, if anything happens to disrupt shipping to these parts, our goose is cooked. Food security my eye.

45. Bush Tea November 24, 2015 at 3:09 PM #

…Ya mean YEAR after YEAR afte rYEAR the same shiite parade, and the same shiite songs, and the same shiite awards -to all the big crooks and yardfowls?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

The Royal Tournament was the world’s largest military tattoo and pageant, held by the British Armed Forces annually between 1880 and 1999. The venue was originally the Royal Agricultural Hall and latterly the Earls Court Exhibition Centre.
    ”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””
    Man the British ran this show for 119 years, until it became almost as you described above. Following in the footsteps of Big England , we in Lil England still have another 70 years to go.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Donna..but they are in for such a big surprise, since they still see all this as some self-enriching, status aquiring game.

47. The independence promotion on CBC Radio, taken from ” The A to Zee ” of Barbadian Heritage. Should that not be American Heritage? The letter “Z” in heritage Barbadian is pronounced as we all describe those ZR route taxis.