Submitted by Heather Cole (The Barbados Lobby)
Heather Cole

Barbadians are patriotic to the bone. Not even in the USA is Independence celebrated for a whole month as is done in Barbados. It is pride and industry and those colours of blue, gold and black that holds the threads that bind us all together.

[…]

Independence is the time for cultural activity and to reminisce of the past, eat our national dishes and watch the armed and unarmed Units parade in all their pomp and pageantry at the Garrison Savannah.

However, time and time again history has revealed that every great empire or civilization after rising to its zenith then underwent a phase of decadence that ultimately led to its demise. It has happened to the Assyrians, the Egyptians, the Greeks, the Romans and the British. Although Barbados is not a great Empire, there is an analogy.

It is usually said that times have changed but on reflection, time never changes. It is a cycle that repeats itself. There are good times and there are bad times. The Barbados of 1966 was not the same Barbados of the year 2000, nor is the Barbados of 2015 the same as any of these two time periods. In its colonial days Barbados became renowned as the gem of the Caribbean. In recent times it was known as a leader in education, healthcare and social services as well as having a stable economic system.

Barbados is classified as a small open economy. This basically means that whatever is happening in the rest of the world, primarily the USA affects its economy. When the US economy is doing great, so is Barbados; when it is underperforming that is also reflected in Barbadian economy. In essence the theory states that the island is too small to influence its own economic activity. From independence, the country has been on a seemingly steady path of economic growth until 2008. Early in 2008 the government changed and a worldwide recession started shortly thereafter. It lasted 18 months but somehow, Barbados remained stuck in its grasp while the rest of the world moved on. This has effectively shattered the theory of the small open economy.

One may ask what caused the theory to shatter. The answer lies in the fact that after the worldwide recession ended, the recession that continued in Barbados was man made, created by poor management and unsound economic policies of the government. This recession has not only affected Barbados economically but socially as well. To date the country’s credit rating is at zero, businessmen in Bridgetown are crying out for foreign exchange, there is labour unrest. Thirty five new taxes have been introduced burdening the population. There is a controversy surrounding the building of a gasification plant which is to bring even more taxation. Health and social services are on the decline and the only things that are growing are the government’s debt, unemployment, poverty, vagrants in Bridgetown and crime. There is not even a safe haven for tourism because the US, Canada and Great Britain have all issued travel advisories warning their citizens of the island’s escalating crime rate. Added to this, the threat of Cuba as a unique tourist destination is looming on the horizon.

In this season of independence, are we just celebrating what happened on November 30th 1966? Are we celebrating the significance of that proclamation that placed us on a path to control our destiny? Or are we celebrating a timeline of events that were started on that day? These may appear to be strange questions to ask but with the introduction of portable standpipes and the reduction in “free” tertiary education at the university, the lack of transparency and the deafening silence of leaders who do not communicate with the citizens who elected them, the country seems to be moving not forward but backwards to colonial times.

In this season of independence before you consider indulging in conkies and souse, attending the parade at the Garrison Savannah or even lustily singing “God Bless Bim on Independence Day”, ask yourselves what are we really celebrating? Will the answer be patriotism? Will the answer be the demise of a once illustrious gem?

116 responses to “What Are We Celebrating?”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They will be celebrating the politicians action of “when you sow the wind, you reap the whirlwind”. Right…Piece.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Barbados has become a nation of spineless people, maybe that is what we are celebrating.

3. What I have found about Barbados over the years is that nothing is foolproof to a talented fool.

4. To add insult to injury the first item on CBC news this morning was a crow doing what else but crowing that “umm we are not doing badly at all”….only a liar who barefacedly said the WTE Cahill thing is untrue,when he signed a letter almost 2 years ago,giving away every conceivable check and balance without due process.The bloody liar.Impostor!

5. Will the answer be the demise of a once illustrious gem?

Sadly,the answer is yes and I say sadly because on that day we were imbued with a sense that the world was our oyster,that we could achieve whatever we wanted,the sky was the limit.

Today,49 years hence,we have no industry nor do we have pride in our country if one was travel the highways and byeways of our once fair land and see the neglected fields overgrown with cow itch,bush and potholes competing to damage your vehicle not to mention the lack of water and/or brown water in some areas.

We did not get here overnight he list of woes by succesive administrations is too long for this aged relic to highlight.

6. Question?

Why is it that all subject matters on any given topic on BU generate negative responses
    Could it be that the problems which have occurred lies solely at the feet of an aged generation to whom the baton was passed(on) but is more occupied by their own self interest than the best interst of the country
    One can argue that the elder stateman/women of a generation past were the builders of this nation
    Not the socalled intellectual wordsmith who sits idllyon their tecnological gadgets throwing pot shots and starting fires of controversy steeped in political jobby
    Maybe just maybe all need to revisit the history pages of the older and wiser generation for written in those pages lies the recipe of patriotism upon which this country was formed

7. It was interesting to listen to the PM news report. He admitted we have lost a few Bajan values, he lamented the behaviour by some youth etc, negative. Then she wrapped it up nicely that Barbadians, the family et al need to work to pull it back. One way the government can work with other Barbadians to pull it back is to lead by example. FIRE MICHAEL CARRINGTON FROM THE SPEAKER’s CHAIR TO ASSUME ANY MORAL AUTHORITY!!!

8. ……. And send the irrefutable false invoice and subsequent payment evidence to the DPP and haul Parris ass before the courts. Let’s see evidence that there is not one law for the Medes and another for the Persians. That alone erodes respect for so called authority.

9. One way the government can work with other Barbadians to pull it back is to lead by example. FIRE MICHAEL CARRINGTON FROM THE SPEAKER’s CHAIR TO ASSUME ANY MORAL AUTHORITY!!

———————>

How you mean fire the Speaker?
    Dah is wuh wrong wid Buhbaydus, we settle for to many half measures.

Getting rid of the Speaker is at the bottom of the TODO list. Correcting the mistakes of the past seven years is the number one priority and that means getting rid of ALL OF THEM!

Leh we start fresh. Yes?

10. @ All the Negative Nabobs, and Heather Cole in particular.

The following is a partial list of the things we have worth celebrating. You look to be younger than 50 years so I will tell you what we older people find worth celebrating, since we would have lived before and after gaining our Independence.

1.The first thing worth celebrating is that you live in the country of BARBADOS!!
    2. The next thing is that you can have the FREEDOMS you have and should be enjoying!
    (a) the freedom to think on your own without someone watching you to see if you think differently from the dictates of others. LIKE THE FREEDOM TO OPPOSE; E.G. THIS BLOG.
    (b) The freedom to bathe wherever you like; on any beach around the island (Once we could not swim or bathe on the Aquatic beach; where the jetty projects into the sea. NOW THE RADISSON.)
    (c) tThe freedom to travel in your vehicle free from the fear of arbitrary stop and search. (Stop and search, without reason is unconstitutional.
    (d) The freedom to be served in any public establishment in the island. (There were once certain places we could not go and be served Eg. the Royal Barbados Yacht Coub. The “Royal” was removed after independence.
    3. The ability to purchase things for Government from anywhere Govt. wanted to. Previously they had to be purchased through the Crown Agents.
    4. Civil servants can negotiate salary increases on their own. Previously they had to wait for the Colonial Secretary to visit the island every four years to determine salary increases, and you had to accept what he determined you would get. No arguments.
    5 The country has the freedom to trade with any country it pleases without interference from any other country. CompARE WITH CUBA WHICH IS STILL UNDER THE YOKE OF A FIFTY YEAR PLUS TRADE EMBARGO
    6. “Maybe just maybe all need to revisit the history pages of the older and wiser generation for written in those pages lies the recipe of patriotism upon which this country was formed.”

PATRIOTISM SHOULD HAVE BEEN UNDERSTOOD BY THE YOUNGER GENERATION, BECAUSE THEY WERE BORN INTO A FREE COUNTRY. I GUESS THAT SINCE ALMOST EVERYTHING THEY HAVE BECOME ACCUSTOMED TO IS “FREE” THE HAVE NO UNDERSTANDING OF WHERE PATRIOTISM SPRINGS FROM. BECAUSE THE YOUNGER GENERATION DOES NOT KNOW WHAT IT IS TO LONG FOR HIGHER EDUCATION, AND REALIZE IT IS BEYOND YOU BECAUSE YOU EITHER DO NOT HAVE THE MEANS TO GO OVERSEAS AND ATTAIN IT, OR YOU HAVE TO DO WITHOUT, THEY EXPECT IT TO BE HANDED TO THEM ON A PLATTER. TO THOSE WHO WULD ARGUE OTHERWISE; HAVING TO PAY “PART” OF ONE’S TUITION FEES;AT UNIVERSITY, IS STILL AN ADVANTAGE OVER LARGER AND MORE PROSPEROUS COUNTRIES, BECAUSE THEIR STUDENTS HAVE TO PAY ALL OF THEIR TUITION FEES. We the older generations know what it IS to do without; food, clothing, education, shoes, etc, etc. We the older generations knew what it meant to go to the toilet,-OUT IN THE YARD- at night when it was raining. Becoming Independent meant that we could make the social changes that would remedy these shortcomings, and cast wider safety netS, on our own. Even the Director of the Royal Barbados Police Band was brought down from England, even though we had qualified Bajans capable of doing the job.

@Vincent Haynes,
    You wrote:
    “we have no industry nor do we have pride in our country if one was travel the highways and byeways of our once fair land and see the neglected fields overgrown with cow itch,bush and potholes competing to damage your vehicle not to mention the lack of water and/or brown water in some areas.”
    We HAD no industries-apart from the sugar industry” before Independence. Its demise had nothing to do with government. It has to do with the plantocracy and the plantation mentality of people who think like you. We have many industries, we have persons of International repute (Check
    Dr. CardinaL WARDE RECENTLY RETIRED FROM MIT; CHECK OUT SCIENTISTS , INDUSTRIALISTS, EVEN GEORGIE PORGIE, AND EVEN RIHANNA, WHO HAVE ALL been Post Independence products, and I could go on and on. Note what you said; “damage to our vehicles”, Pre Independence, very few Black people had vehicles.The sky is still attainable, but never through negativity.
    I’ll wait and see what others have to say. Bushy is not the only one with a weed whacker. Mine does not have nylon cord, it is one of those with the metal weed trimmer. I am sure I will have to use it, and if Bushie comes across I will have to use it on him too.

THESE AND MORE ARE WHAT WE HAVE TO CELEBRATE, AND BE GIVING THANKS FOR.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BARBADOS!! IN THE IMMORTAL WORDS OF THE MERRY MEN: “GOD BLESS BIM ON INDEPENDENCE DAY.”

11. The Truth of the matter is that WE have a lot to be thankful for. Many of us, at present are enjoying feast of a life time, just like The Last Supper.
    But what a pity ,that without the industries,and other avenues we once had, as Vincent so rightly pointed out, that when the feast is finally over there will be very little crumbs left for our grandchildren. Last July tens of thousands of our children left school , certified or not, without any prospect of earning an honest living. The same happened the year before, and the same will happen next year. And we are asking these disillusioned school leavers and the many retrenched workers, who have yet to receive their benefits for the NIS to jump up and wave the Broken Trident and sing God Bless Bim?

12. Yes bajan society have lost many of its “natural” values those that inspired a society to be independent and not waiting for govt hand out, Invariably not only the poor or disadvantage seeking :freeness” but the affluent and well to do who believes they have an ordained advantage with an indiscipline fortitude stating claim by way of tax benefits.
    The Barbadsos of an era gone by was not cynical but took pride in their heritage willing to give back to the country with gratitude sharpened and instinctively tied to patriotism
    In today’s Society those values have been quickly diminished with a taste for self gratitude and self defeating rewards ,

13. De more de monkey clime, de more it are obyous dat he a emigrant. Cudear and wuloss. Cheese on my bread. More pestle in the mortar tnan time,which are longer than so-called twine in olden daze … elders … foreparents … village …. slavery caused my diabtese … LOL … facebook … Calll-in … dickhoad … Goats … Slavery …

14. @ Alvin Cummins (Singing for Your Supper)

I will comment on part of your faeces

1.The first thing worth celebrating is that you live in the country of BARBADOS!! Why?
    2. The next thing is that you can have the FREEDOMS you have…LIKE THE FREEDOM TO OPPOSE; E.G. THIS BLOG where 95% of us blog under pseudonyms BECAUSE of persecution
    (b) The freedom to bathe wherever you like…like Mullings and Sandy Lane and the other hunkies only beaches
    (c) The freedom to travel in your vehicle free from the fear of arbitrary stop … other than by the criminals who now rule under the Demonaic Lying Party
    (d) The freedom to be served in any public establishment in the island…with non existent $$ cause 30% of the population is unemployed
    3. The ability to purchase things for Government from anywhere Govt. wanted to…that is sanctioned by the proxy crown agents of COW Willliams and Tempro, Bjerkam and Maloney aided and abetted by your DLP and the other BLP lackeys
    4. Civil servants can negotiate salary increases on their own…No arguments what salary increases you talking bout with a Union in bed with the politicians?
    5 The country has the freedom to trade with any country it pleases without interference from any other country…freedom to trade requires a simple ingredient Foreign Exchange…which Barbados does not have too much of
    6. “Maybe just maybe all need to revisit the history pages of the older and wiser generation for …blah blah blah..

The last time the ole man checked patriotism does not spend in the supermarket and without any job prospects the current generation seems to be doomed

But you go ahead singing Alvin, (some would call it pimping but I going respect your grey hairs) because, in these golden years, it is obvious that you anticipate some “ambassadorial appointment” while in Eglinton Drive, ensuing from your activities i.e. running interference for the DLP on the Cahill matter.

Doan tink dat dat dun by the way..

15. Perhaps we need to answer the Prime Minister’s questions which appeared in the Nation today.
    What are those features of Barbadian life that we have lost and that we need to reclaim?

What are those features of Barbadian life that we have not lost,but need to discard?

What are those features of Barbadian life that we have to try at all cost to retain?

The Prime Minister who will be away on 30th November , is not at all happy about the developing “small pockets” of crime.

16. @Piece.,,..
    there are none so blind as those who would not see If I remember correctly, I was one of those who protested when there was an attempt at Mulins to build a wall to keep out of the locals. If I remember correctly, because of those protests the wall was never constructed. If I remember correctly it was around 2000-2001. If I remember correctly the Government of the day intervened when the people from Sandy Lane tried to prevent the ladies selling lunch outside their gates.They tried, but they failed. Today 2015 the ladies are still selling the same place. These are the types of freedoms I am talking about. You know NOTHING about trying to find a job when there are NONE. Unemployment statistics were not even taken at that time because it did not make sense…very few jobs were available, unless you were going to work in the fields oe as cabin boy on a Harrison boat. I lived in those days. Do you know anything about people in JJorian’s Lane selling Hard Coals/ What were they used for?

YOU need to go through some of those hard times to bring you to a christian understanding of what it is like to suffer. Then you will understand what suffering is like. You have it easy. Did we only have criminals after 2008? Why did the criminals riot and burn down Glendairy? Who was Prime Minister at the time? Who was Attorney General at the time? Did they spend all that money building a new jail, in anticipation of an increase in criminals in the years to come? Did the government of the day anticipate that the DLP would win the next election, and there would be a consequent increase in the number of young criminals? Government can’t make people criminals, it is their own worthless minds that cause that; and it was the DLP government that stopped the random searches, of vehicles. Fr that I fault them.
    Besides I don’t live on Eglinton Drive. Tell your handlers to get the address correct. Note, I always use my full name. I have nothing to fear.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Which patriotic government of the day signed over it’s very soul and those of Bajans to Cahill/Cow-an Canada. Obviously, THEY really don’t think this generation of people have suffered enough and need to know what suffering is while all politicians ‘patriotic-ally’, LINE THEIR POCKETS.

The youths are not blind and are learning all the negatives and criminality from present day leaders, just like their parents did from the leaders of their day.

And the political pimping continues.

18. Well thought and written article, well done.

19. @Alvin Cummins November 20, 2015 at 6:16 PM #

What utter drivel…..what do you know about me or how I think?

Kindly refute the facts that I have presented.

20. Let us examine hypocrisy : we have been told the Prime Minister has to attend two important conferences in his capacity as Chairman of Caricom. Does anyone believe if Barbados was celebrating 50 years of Independence he would have made the same decision? It is a numbers game.

21. When I first went to Barbados people seemed eager to pick your brain..now they seem more intent on picking your pocket

22. The lawlessness in a the society is a reflection of the behavior of the likes of esteemed Leroy Parris and Parliamentarians including the PM.

23. Too many crooks in high places and only the mother who steals a pack of pads or coo laid goes to Dodds. Sadly, only a new breed of Bajan can change Barbados

24. Denis and Michael the two main bribe takers driving $250,000 thanks to over invoicing to the SSA and Transport Board by Transtech. Wunna, think de PM blind who brags he has had no new friends since he became PM and keeping his old ones.

25. And I suppose that the people who are broke should be celebrating that they will not be the victims of thieves.

It’s all about perspective – Alvin’s or the sensible one.

26. We are celebrating Dr. Agard’s departure from the stinking crutches of Mia Mottley.

Let’s drink to that!

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David November 21, 2015 at 6:45 AM
    “Does anyone believe if Barbados was celebrating 50 years of Independence he would have made the same decision? It is a numbers game.”

We will see if the P M is that stubborn as to go against the advice of former P M Sir Lloyd to drop the Republic status lark, at least for the time being.
    He, Sir Lloyd, has warned against engaging in any expensive window dressing and change of the country’s Constitutional curtains while the economy continues to flounder on the seas of political mismanagement.

We shall see if that stubborn fool dismisses this timely advice as he has done with similar advice given by the same “sage” on the management of the economy. “How did we get here, again” should be prophetic words of wisdom and not to be dismissed by an arrogant fool whose only concern is to have his political ego massaged and, just like Nero, leaving his mark on local history page as the joker fiddling with political tiddlywinks while allowing the country’s economy to go up in economic smoke.

28. Fractured BLP is a one-trick pony!

29. Miller

Why you do not go and drown your ass in the Careenage?

The country would another wonderful event to celebrate.
    Every doom and gloom prediction you have made have failed to materialise.

Why you did not predict Owen Arthur and Maria Agard licking our the stuffings of Mia Mottley ??

Yuh crack – pot!

30. Miller doesn’t the blp supporters have any other issues other than to nit pick on every word made publicly by past or present govt ministers
    Really after six years of kicking the same ole rusty can up and down the road at least some intellectual guru amongst the blp lot would have the common sense to realise that the message in the can is outdated and no longer relevant to happenings and occurrences in the world.
    Maybe it is time to fire all the messengers as well as buy a new can

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Just like outdated Arthur….eh Miller?..lol

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP November 21, 2015 at 10:07 AM

I predicted also the downgrading of the Bajan economy to junk bond status.
    Has that failed to materialize too?
    What you want me to predict next? That the Pierhead marina, the Cruise Ship Sugar Point terminal and Four Seasons will all start in 2016 to mark the coming of the republic de Barbade?

How about a bumper sugar crop for 2016 along with a brand new sugar factory generating 25,000 watts of electricity throughout the year to supplement the Cahill contribution?

“Major Agriculture Reform:
    In the area of agriculture our principal focus in the next eighteen months, Sir, will be the initiation of the major restructuring of the local sugar cane industry. As is well known, this industry has been on a steady and sure decline for many years now, having suffered not only from a dismantling of the preferential arrangements with Europe but also because of serious internal challenges relating to financing and excess cost over the ability to earn.
    And in the face of a failure by the authorities to do a serious restructuring of the industry it has now come to a juncture at which an ignominious collapse was awaiting. This administration has however designed, and successfully sought financing to advance, a major restructuring of the industry over the next three years, starting next year, in what is the Barbados Cane Industry Project.
    Funding for this exercise (which will see the re-engineering of an existing sugar factory so as to allow it to engage multiple applications, including the production of bio-mass for the co-generation of electricity) has been agreed with the Japanese Bank of International Corporation and Japanese commercial banks for up to US270 million dollars.

Negotiations with all stakeholders including the workers’ representatives have already begun and the Ministry of Agriculture will be making a fuller pronouncement of the details of the project in the coming weeks.
    It is expected that this project will begin implementation in the first quarter of next year and run for three full years. It will radically reform sugar agriculture while having very positive spin-off effects on non-sugar crop production.”

Now that, Fractured, is what you would call a bold prediction that has come to pass à la Miller!
    Don’t you think its time you sue the Japanese banks for this blatant breach of contract or was just a figment of Stinkliar’s imagination?

嘘つき / うそつき (usotuki)!!!!

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 21, 2015 at 10:09 AM
    “Miller doesn’t the blp supporters have any other issues other than to nit pick on every word made publicly by past or present govt ministers”

Is this the same member of the ac consortium who for 7 long years cussed OSA and his failed policies of economic management and misrule?

For 7 long years the Rt. Honourable O S Arthur warned you guys about your doomed policies in managing the vulnerable economy. So where are you now other than praising the same paro economist and begging for his help. Is that how you treat your elders?

Don’t be a mule-headed jackass and make the same mistake in dismissing Sir Lloyd’s warning. It will come back to haunt you.
    “The stone the builders rejected has become the cornerstone.”

34. @Miller

You have brought agriculture to the conversation. It is obvious both governments are not fully committed to expanding this sector. It explains why Estwick has been dumped in this ministry. It brings forward the issue of Bjerkham, Tim Walsh and what has occurred post CCJ decision. What is the deal here.

On 21 November 2015 at 14:53, Barbados Underground wrote:

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://nakeddeparturecom.files.wordpress.com/2015/11/tim_walsh.jpg?w=568&h=275&crop=1

Glad this was brought up and just by this picture explains fully the conspiracy by those minorities on the who have been fighting for decades to mak csure the majority on the island, never achieve food security. This man Walsh was systematically destroyed through spite and malice. Local farmers have been complaining for years about the conspiracy to derail any type of food security, here is the proof. Government cannot say they are not involved, Bjerkham is clearly their master.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

A caucasian Australian by the name of Timothy Walsh was doing some agriculture here in Barbados. He, unlike most people, was growing many varieties of lettuce, small tomatoes, rearing Crayfish, producing thousands of eggs, broccoli, cauliflower as well as hundreds of other types of vegetables. Because of this man, Barbados had commenced towards achieving food security.

Nature’s Garden by Tim Walsh
    Nature’s Produce by Tim Walsh
    Tim Walsh is a great person, a cool man, a nice man, a family man and he was leasing land from Stephen Ward and made an agreement to purchase the land from Ward after placing a deposit in Ward’s hand. Shortly afterwards, Walsh was told by Ward to pack his belongings an assets and leave the 135 acre farm due to the fact that he was offered a larger sum of money by a man called Bjorn Bjerkhamn. A court case that lasted until 2005 in the high court ended in Tim Walsh’s favour. The Barbados economy then took a blow from the criminal minds and frauds (leaders), and made it hard for the average man, woman and all to succeed or to find work, as well as to support a family; especially after expelling and deporting the Guyanese who came to help Barbados when times got rough financially. In those times you could still eat because the Guyanese were growing food everywhere. These wicked leaders allowed a man and his family and his love for an island to be crushed by malice, greed and envy, unaware of what domino affects would follow. Around 2005, Tim Walsh was summoned by the CCJ. He hardly had bajans working on the farm and the only one I knew was the driver of the van. Let’s be honest, most bajans don’t like hard work or appreciate the sweat, tears or spill of the brow for that matter.

Walsh then had many drug raids, immigration raids, crops sprayed with herbicide, many incidents, electricity cuts, etc. Although Walsh dropped the food bill in Barbados of eggs, Tilapia and most crops, such as the cost of lettuce of the romain variety from $14 BDS to $3 -6 BDS, as well as he had clients such as Massy Stores, Sandals, One Sandy Lane Hotel, Port Ferdinand, and lots more because Walsh owned the largest hydroponics producing farm in Barbados and was making monthly lump sums as well as paying his taxes.

bjorn bjerkhamn
    He was a victim of greed, malice and envy. Bjorn Bjerkhamn and Stephen Ward toook Tim Walsh to the CCJ and sadly the ruling given was that to the opposite end of the spectrum. Walsh was forced to pack his things and vacate the premises. He, his workers and his family. It wrecked his family. He took a personal blow and the sad part is his rights as a human were exploited. Tim Walsh has gone back to Australia. To make matters worse, Bjerkhamn doesn’t want the farm for development land anymore after 17 years of legal battle and after ruining a wonderful person, father and agricultural hero of this island. This shit cannot go unpunished.

Stephen Ward and Bjorn Bjerkhamn ruined that man over greed. “

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Just imagine what the black farmers have been enduring these many decades because of weak, greedy, corrupt leaders.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David November 21, 2015 at 11:16 AM

Agriculture is doomed in Barbados. Sugar is dead and King Grass is a figment of Lowe’s imagination created to bilk the taxpayers through high-cost consultants’ reports and fairy-tale project analyses.

Do you really feel Massy and Ansa McAl are interested in retailing locally-produced food?
    Check any supermarket floor space and you would see that at least 90% is devoted to imported food items processed and packaged in a box or can.

Bjerkham project was just a real estate deal that went wrong. The intention of turning that place into upscale housing went through the eddoes with the onset of the international financial crisis just like Four Seasons.

39. The government needs to do the honorable thing and fire Bjerkjam from the board of the central bank. This Tim Walsh thing will serve to create a pox on the backsides of the asses of future generation.

JAs

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller…..I believe you have the answer to this, the real estate bubble burst in the mid 2000s. Bjerkham knew he could not continue his project then, why not give up the case then, get back his deposit from Ward and leave Walsh to continue supplying the island as he so competently did for a long time. Why destroy the man and any chances Barbados had to start a food security and not a concrete project.

41. One wonders who were the Lawyers representing Bjerkham both in the local courts, and at the CCJ.

42. @Miller,
    Sugar did not become doomed beginning in 2008.

43. For those who have not read it, DD suggests all read the story Bajan Yen in BT at: http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/11/21/bajan-yen/

…………Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the People’s Republic of China to Barbados Wang Ke said the St Philip project was the “very first of its kind” large scale infrastructure project in Barbados for which China was offering funding under preferential terms.

“This makes China the only country that offers large scale preferential loan to finance infrastructure projects in Barbados, which not only shows that China remains confident in Barbados’ tourism industry and its national economy, but also write a new chapter in China-Barbados partnership of neutral benefit and win-win corporation,” said the Chinese diplomat. “I would like to mention that besides Sam Lord’s Castle hotel, China and Barbados are negotiating several other projects to be funded by China preferential loans such as the reconstruction and expansion of the Grantley Adams International Airport and Pier-head Marina project in Bridgetown.”…….

…….Pointing out other areas of “Chinese participation” in the development of Barbados, including the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart said today’s signing marked another phase of the relationship between the two countries.

And he expressed confidence that the redevelopment of the Sam Lord’s Castle and the construction of the Wyndham hotel would benefit the island’s tourism product tremendously. “May we hope this is the first of a series of new developmental initiatives to further define and enrich the relationship between Barbados and the People’s Republic of China,” said Stuart……….

Also, view the video of Orville Schell – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orville_Schell at:

According to Schell – “They (Chinese) will now be reckoned with on their own terms – not ours (USA)” and Barbados’

DD suggests Celebrate Barbados “Independence” while they can,

Say goodbye to Little England – Say hello to Chinados.

44. @Miller,
    I forget to remind you above, Massey bought BS&T (including SBI Distribution, the importing and distributing arm of BS&T). Who was the chairman of BS&T? Sir Allan Fields!!. Where was BU during this time? Silent! Not a word of condemnation.
    High wind really know where old house is.

45. David November 21, 2015 at 6:45 AM #
    Let us examine hypocrisy : we have been told the Prime Minister has to attend two important conferences in his capacity as Chairman of Caricom. Does anyone believe if Barbados was celebrating 50 years of Independence he would have made the same decision? It is a numbers .
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    50 years of Independence, or the beginning of a republic ? Dictators of thrust upon Republics, have to be circumspect about their travel itinerary,outside of the country.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences November 21, 2015 at 11:48 AM

Yes. It’s called being cursed with a massively inflated ego of absolute power to control the economic destiny of Barbados. Just like Fumble’s quest to leave a dark stain on the country’s history page.
    Don’t be surprised if the same Bjerkham is knighted just like Sir COW.

47. @Alvin Cummins (ac)

You are a political yardfowl and jackass.

Check the following BU search string.

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/?s=alan+fields&submit=Search

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins November 21, 2015 at 12:06 PM #
    “Sugar did not become doomed beginning in 2008.”

So why make promises you have no intention of keeping?

But I forgot we are dealing with brass bowls called Bajans including the CLICO policyholders.

49. The Republic option would get my vote if it would mean getting rid of those stupid honorific titles and designations e.g. “Sir” and “QC”. Yuh can’t go to a cock fight and not rub elbows with someone who is not a “Sir” or “QC” the only “Sir” missing is “Sir Don”. Check out any photo in de Nation and yuh could see groups of three or more “Sirs” in conversation with the requisite drink in their clutches. Barbados has more “Sirs” per capita than the Mother country where the titles originated. The ”Sirs” are outnumbered only by the “QCs” and many of them have both designations. Let’s face it if anyone asked the average Bajan what any of those people did to earn those titles they would be scratching their heads to come up with a meaningful answer except maybe in the case of Sir Gary. The most important stipulation for these titles is long time allegiance to a political Party, sometimes a well healed businessman is thrown in the mix to placate that section of society.

Independence is around the corner and we will soon see some more newly minted “Sirs” and my instinct tells me that even if Barbados went the Republic route the lubricious politicians would come up with a way to keep those things around, they always find a way to have their cake and eat it.

Can I get a few Bajans to their preface their children’s name with “Sir” and confuse the hell out of everybody? It would work like this “Serjohn Cumberbatch’ not “Sir John Cumberbatch” , if you separate the “Sir” from the Christian name the Gov’t will find some way not to register the name. Give it a few years and they will be many “Sers” around to confuse the hell out of everyone and make “Sir” irrelevant. Only bugbear is that some future Gov’t might petition London to have “Lords” but that would be fine, if we hear someone is “Lord” dis or dat then we could say “he mussee a kaisoman”.

As for QC’s one would think that with all these QC’s around there would be a functional Bar Association with power to discipline lawyers or strike them from the rolls, lawyers are unaccountable which is no surprise given that the majority of parliamentarians are lawyers who are interested in protecting their turf so why rock the boat? Your lawyer completes a real estate transaction on your behalf and owes you money? Better get in line, every Bajan has a lawyer story and they are not positive. Britain will get a King (Charles or William) sometime in the future thus QC’s will revert to KC’s but does a 21st century Caribbean require a KC to argue cases before its CCJ? Ooops sorry I have the wrong century.