The CEO revealed that work had already started on the controversial multi-million dollar project, with waste studies and sampling completed, and a front-end engineering design contract negotiated – You’re Safe (Barbados Today)
On October 27, 2015, Minister of Finance, Chris Sinckler,stated in Parliament: […] “The Opposition did not wait for the process to unfold.” – meaning that the Opposition didn’t give them time to seek Town & Country Planning approval.
Pray tell me, Mr. Minister of Finance, if the Opposition didn’t wait for the process to unfold before running to the public re your application to Town & Country Planning for building the Cahill waste-to-energy plant, who gave Cahill Energy the permission to start on building the plant? It was certainly not the Opposition, because you said they ran around saying that no approval had been given by T & CP.
In the article posted above, Clare Cowan, said unequivocally that work had started on the project in July. The question here is: Who is fibbing? Someone has to be fibbing because either permission was given to Cahill Energy or not. They would not start work unless they were given the go ahead so to do! You cannot state one thing whereas something else entirely different is taking place. If Cahill Energy started work surreptitiously on the plant, would they be dealt with like Mr. Cherry who wanted to start a recycling plant, or is there here once again one law for the Medes and another for the Persians?
The Opposition spoke of Vaucluse and surrounding areas being affected by any problems that arise from running the plant – especially the toxins associated with such a plant – but they didn’t think about the people who traverse those areas on their way to work, school, the doctor, etc., or the tourists who will be driving around the island. Their health is just as much in danger as those who live in the areas that would be affected.
Granted, that will not have such an effect on the transients!
They decided to locate the plant where they got the sweetest sweetheart deal. Imagine having free water – which is so scarce that we have gone back to the days of the standpipe in the 21st Century – for 30 years. Some people would love to see water on a daily basis in this country. There are people leaving home and going to work to get a bath before starting work, and you have the audacity to give away water!
We are perhaps the most heavily taxed people in this region, yet there is a “low cash flow” when it comes to things that are important in this country. People cannot get their money months after handing their sick certificates. The scions of the poor, the needy, the vulnerable, and the so-called middle class, cannot get a tertiary education because you stopped paying their UWI fees, and to add insult to injury, you hike the fees for the BCC, leaving them only one alternative – go and find a job.
We have a Psychiatric Hospital which was so dilapidated that the patients had to sleep on the beds on the floor and the roof left much to be desired in the sense of repairs. The QEH still has problems with some things. Funding has been cut to the Welfare Department leaving a few to deal with many which affects mainly our children and those who are dependent on the pittances they now get because that money has also been cut.
But we have millions of dollars to give to foreign entities.
The argument about the building of the highway and the prison does not hold water because the only polluted air coming from the highway is from the vehicles, and as far as I know there is no more pollution at the prison than anywhere else in Barbados. As for the Greenland landfill idea, that was mooted years ago, and we are looking forward not backward. It is time to spend some of our taxes on the populace of this country!
Beware of gift-bringing Greeks, Mr. Minister of Finance!
greenmule, the policy framework needs to seamlessly support the migration to renewable energy. Like Bush Tea stated, the process is too bureaucratic and frankly a turnoff for the average Joe and Jane.
Loading…
greenmule
BL&P can’t stop the alternative energy revolution . Solar panel prices will keep falling, battery & inverter technology will become cheaper & cheaper . Roof top solar has caused the shut down of coal powered generators in Germany & Australia.
Loading…
Bush Tea
@ greenmule
Bushie has invested in a whacker…
…and in an energy plan that goes well beyond anything that you can imagine.
You are right about the price of solar panels, batteries etc.
ALL energy comes from the sun, any technology that extracts that energy at source (like solar panels) rather than after many complex steps CLEARLY presents as the way forward.
What you will find however, is that VESTED INTERESTS run things in Barbados.
Add that to bribery ..and brass bowl politicians, and many ‘logical’ steps can be ignored…
Loading…
How could solar energy be intermittent when the sun shines directly over Barbados and for the days that are cloudy, of which there are never many, the energy is stored in the damn batteries or whatever they use, only a politician would fall for a stupid story like that, will these politicians ever learn.
They are too corrupt.
Loading…
Bush Tea
@ Well Well
What they mean by ‘intermittent’ is that the actual amount of energy extracted varies depending on cloud cover, rain etc. The stability of the system then becomes more complex – and the system frequency may not be as stable as with directly controllable generators.
That is just a lotta shiite however ….designed to discourage ideas of moving away from the use of their old fossil plant. Even apart from batteries, modern hybrid synergy systems are available to allow fossil or other controllable generation systems to synchronise with Solar systems and maintain excellent stability.
Obviously every Kwatt of AE that is incorporated into the system means fuel savings, environmental benefits, and financial plusses for the COUNTRY …. unfortunately, SOMEONE has to pay for the old dirty, inefficient generating plant …and to ensure that EMERA continues to reap 14+% profits….
Loading…
The Bushman….understood. what the politicians fail to elucidate is that Emera will soon morph into another country, another company owning BL&P very shortly, those dudes sell utilities to each other sharing the wealth.
Loading…
Analyzer
Unless this government can tell us that they are not going ahead with this gasification plant, here is a plan….. We should refuse to pay our land tax, income tax,VAT, everything! They can’t put us all in jail. Let them pay to run everything to run the country with all the money they tiefed. Barbarians stand up in lines for HOURS to pay their Land Tax to get a little discount. I did it too, I was at Oistins for at least 3 hours! Loyal Barbadians standing up for hours, doing their civic duty and doing the right thing and this is how we get treated! It really makes me want to cry when I think about it? We have to stand up to this crap one way or another!
Loading…
Analyzer
Barbadians (auto correct)
Loading…
Analyzer
ALSO, let them use their own money to make Barbados a Republic, they won’t have our money next year to do it in the year of the Lord 2016, Barbados’ 50th Anniversary of Independence. We have nothing to celebrate with this lot. Let them use their own money to celebrate that they are ruining the country!
I know Alvin and AC with their ulterior motives, being just retainers, would not want to see thisbut you cannot have waste incineration without Dioxins, poisons.
Loading…
Hants
Bush Tea wrote,”Self-contained home power systems with battery backup.”
That is the obvious logical course of action for many middle income Bajans.
Storage batteries like the Tesla power wall are becoming more reliable and cheaper.
I think some home owners could forget about selling to BL&P.
Imagine the savings if you also owned an electric car.
Loading…
Analyzer
While they are at it, they can also use their own money to build another huge jail for all the criminals they are creating!
Loading…
Analyzer
We are in jail already when you think about it, living among the criminals including the teifing Speaker of the House!
All of you people, conveniently or inadvertently, forget the purpose of the Waste to Energy project. You seem to get the idea, or at least are projecting it to the readers of BU, that the purpose is to supply electricity to the BL&P, through the incineration of garbage. The Plasma Gasification is NOT incineration. The production of electricity is one of the side benefits of the process. There is no intention to use the Plasma Gasification process PRIMARILY to produce electricity
The Plasma Gasification Plant is intended to reduce municipal waste, (Sanitation Services waste,) that would go to the landfill, to extremely low volume, by breaking apart compounds and converts inorganic solids into other substances that can be used and marketed for use in the construction industry. It converts organic materials into syngas that can be converted to electricity and liquid fuels. The entire conversion process occurs in containment so NO EMiSSIONS ARE RELEASED (thus Well Well, no dioxins come into the atmosphere to affect humans). Where are the Huge Tractors, great numbers of car tyres, truck bodies and engines, automobiles, refrigerators, washing machines, etc. etc. to be disposed of? Where are you going to put them?
If I may humbly quote from an article written by Bryan Simms; STAFF WRITER for BIOMASS Magazine: “Proving OUT PLASMA GASIFICATION”…”In addition to InEn Tec, there are two other projects being developed in the United States. The first plasma based waste disposal system in the county is scheduled to be operational in St. Lucie county Fls. Developed by Geoplasma Inc. The plant is expected to vaporize 200 to 400 tons of waste per day and is scheduled to come on line in October 2009. The city of Tallahassee Fla., has signed the largest plasma arc waste -to-energy contract to date with Jacksonville based Green Power Systems LLC to process 1000 tons MSW per day using plasma torches designed by Westinghouse Plasma. The Harris Group is serving as the architect and engineer for the project.
According to Richard Basford, vice president of project development for GPS completion of the project is scheduled for October 2010. GPS will also deliver
35net megawatts of electricity to the city of Tallahassee’s electricity provider as part of a 30-year purchase agreement.
“We’re very positive about the plasma process,”Basford says. “I think as soon as several of these get on line and operating, and people gain some confidence, you’ll see them widespread. However somebody has to be the first so that others can use that as a blueprint for success going forward.
@Well Well,
We net each other (here) over a year ago. Based on my writings; and my books; if you took the time and money to purchase any of them (They can still be obtained from Amazon)
should know me by now. so you should not write what you do. You should also have been able to obtain my bone fides from Cyril…saw him recently when I went back home…and thus should be able to judge me.
What retainers? From whom? For what purposes? What ulterior motives? Come on now!!
The Government has been committed to the introduction of the use of Solar energy for households, and have led the way in using Solar power for their offices (Solar panels on the roof of the Ministry of Transport in the Pine) advertising for tenders to supply polar energy to various schools, and have provided funding for people to get financial assistance in installing solar panels on their homes. The have even elected to use solar panels to power some strew lights in Tudor street.
Re the last sentence of my previous post above it should be” Barbados can be the first in the Caribbean
You have not addressed any of the challenges BU has with the Cahill deal. The governance process not followed. The lack of an environmental framework to monitor the plant and environs. Why build a plant of this capacity. The clandestine way certain documents were signed off by 4 ministers etc. If waste management is a way of doing thing why no parallel strategy to separate garbage, zero waste etc? Why build a plant to burn every shiiite in sight?
Alvin is a DLP support like a few others who in their zeal to support party makes things worse.
Loading…
Hants
@David I am also a DLP supporter…….but sometimes it is wise to be silent. lol
Loading…
Alvin..I hope you noted the synopsis and outlined timeline the St. Lucie County officials provided for the taxpayers to peruse regarding their actions. For several reasons the gassification plant is not viable. Those States in the US produce mountains of garbage and that County only ageed to a 15 year agreement before changing their minds, your guv is ready to give away the island for something others are shunning….why Alvin.
Dioxins are not safe, what electricity what. That plant would operate for one year and then just sit there as a constant reminder of government’s stupity. If the gassification plant was of any use New York City would gladly build one, you think mount stinkeroo is something, NYC’s then mayor Bloomberg was planning to export their garbage to the Caribbean back in early 2000, that is how bad their garbage problem is, New Jersey could no longer accommodate them.
Your arguments are not flying because you cannot guarantee the safety of the citizens and there is no transparecy by government in this scheme. Tell you guv to stick with the sun and solar panels for electricity, everyone else is, at this time.
@Hants.
The post and google refer to a decision that was taken 2012,three years ago. A lot has changed in the last three years especially with regard to the technology, costs (downward) and plant construction. The first building Edison lighted was a warehouse. Today the whole world enjoys the benefits and are lighted by electricity.
@David,
You are just being tiresome, purposely.. Why build a plant to burn everything insight? So that there would be no need for a landfill. SBRC was built and receives funds to SEPERATE waste. They also make money from the waste; such as coconut shells, that they compost, bag and sell.
What “clandestine” way did they sign. I am an idiot so you will have to clarify., in words I can understand. Who is going to separate the tractor tyres, or the truck bodies, the car tyres…remember when the car tyres caught fire earlier in the year, how long did it take to extinguish?. Stop keeping your head in the sand. Time marches on and whether you or any of the other negative nabobs want to accept it or not, whether it comes to Barbados now or later it will come. Tell me truthfully, where do you suggest the next land fill should be, and what about the next? Or are you people going to waite until we have two Mt. Stinkeroos?
Loading…
From what I see Alvin, re the gassification plants operating in Canada, the small plants are not viable, they become too expensive to operate and those use air. That is two downsides already.
@Well Well,
Solar panelling is already in operation. The WTE plant is to get rid of the trash.
Plasma gasification DESTROYS dioxins.It has been proven.
If the plant would only operate for one year the investors NOT THE GOVERNMENT OR PEOPLE OF BARBADOS) are the ones who would lose, because the persons who are contracted to BUILD AND OPERATE the plant are the people (INVESTORS) who would be putting up the money to design build and operate. That is why it is a BOLT arrangement.
New York pushes its garbage by barge to New Jersey. Pelican island is buried in the Deep Water Harbour. Culpepper is owned bu the owner of the
Crane, Mr. Doyle, so we have nowhere to ship ours to. Where do you propose we ship it to?
Tell me where you see us with Garbage; construction material, old chassis, old engine blocks, old cars, etc. There must be more because we are bringing more of these things into the island every day. Where will we put it in 19 years, oe do you expect the island to sink from sight before that time?
Where did this transparency talk come from now? The government was elected in 2008. This matter came up as early as 2010, it is now 2015. Why were questions about it not raised as an election issue before the last election?
Anything, all straws to soothe the sting of the last election defeat and to prepare for the next one. Tch! Tch! Or as Bushie is won’t to say…Brass Bowlery!!
Will post this slowly. The issue for BU is one of poor governance around Cahill. There is enough in the public domain for the government to retreat and it has. Do you recall the BLP had to do same when it awarded VECO the contract to build the boardwalk and other project in the Bridgetown Redevelopment? What was your position on VECO?
On the matter of Plasma Gasification please point to any gasification plant in the world that is commercial viable i.e. making money. If you cant shut the hell up.
On 31 October 2015 at 23:53, Barbados Underground wrote:
Loading…
Hants
“”One of the things we’ve chosen to do is to keep our technology at a scale that meets the needs of local communities,” he says. “The nice thing about keeping it on a smaller scale, say 250 to 500 tons per day, is that you’re dealing with just locally generated material. What has historically been the real issue in getting any of these large waste processing facilities permitted wherever you choose to build it, is that you’re bringing in waste from 20 miles away to fill up that plant and the host community doesn’t particularly like having everyone else’s waste dumped on them.”
On the matter of Plasma Gasification please point to any gasification plant in the world that is commercial viable i.e. making money. If you cant shut the hell up.
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// What kind of loaded question is that and where are your statistics to verify the question asked, please provide
Loading…
Analyzer
This government cannot even manage it’s sanitation service such as picking up households and commercial buildings garbage once a week far less twice a week. They publish Notices in the newspaper to dispose of your ofal etc. the evening before garbage collection but we don’t know when that is anymore. In our area they are supposed to collect on Monday mornings. This week they came in the wee hours of Saturday morning which means our scraps and ofal were sitting out for 5 days! I have to feel sorry for the garbage collectors with the smells and drippings they must have to endure! The excuse is always that the garbage trucks are broken down but this has been the excuse for decades and that they don’t have parts. Will they ever get their act together? What excuse will they give us when the gasification plant breaks down or blows up? It sounds like a potential nightmare!
City of Lebanon Waste-To-Energy Gasification Plant
PHG Energy of Nashville signed a contract with the City of Lebanon in February of 2015 for the construction of a waste-to-energy gasification plant. The project was designed to convert wood waste, discarded tires and sewer sludge to electricity to offset energy use by the city’s waste water treatment plant. Construction begins in 2015 and the plant is slated to become fully operational in early 2016. The plant will be adjacent to the city’s wastewater treatment plant on Hartmann Drive.
ok so barbados is a small island ,so doesn.t \the environmental standards that apply to other countries not apply to Barbados
i really do not understand this pis pot parade of doom and gloom which continuously forces me back to point out that no matter the size of the country large medium or shoe box size
All must meet and adhere to International requirements in order to proceed with the building of even a gas station further less a WTE project
this type of mutterings is almost like taking the cart to drive the donkey which indeed is impossible
That is why i believe that the sounds of doom emitting fro a small minority is a tell tale sign of a desperate self interest,
@David,
Hants and ac have given you some of the material. Hants has given you the website of the paper from which I quoted above. I won’t refer you to the pANTS IN JAPAN THAT ARE OPERATING.Whether or not the are operating at a profit is not my concern, and it should not be yours either. It is the business of the investors who will finance and oversee the operation of the plant. I will empathize again, the people of Barbados will not be financing the buildIng of the plant.As a loyal Barbadian (I presume) you should be encouraging the truth from ALL SIDES. I REST MY CASE. BUT AS BUSHIE CONTINUES to point out. I am an idiot.
On the matter of VECCO I was not in Barbados when the contract, if there was one, was up for awarding, but I knew about VECCO because of the stink raised in the US congress about the company’s carrying on. It was unsavoury. When I got back home the project was already well underway.
You really need to hush. Why shouldn’t Barbadians be concerned if they have to pay to guarantee the ROI based on signoffs?
Loading…
jayzee
Message to Alvin Cummins
You stupid hypocrit. You try to come across as a great supporter of Barbados and the DLP. If that is true then why are you living in Canada, the great white north? Perhaps you are not as popular as you lead us to believe and they have kicked your sorry ass out of the country. But that wouldn’t expand why you are their big supporter now would it. There has to be another reason why. What could it be? Hmmmmmmmmmmm?
okay, let me ask you a question .
How was your lunch on Friday at D Bar at the Four Seasons with Clare cowan? Did you notice me two tables away or were you too cosy in your whispered conversations with the bitch? And what pray tell where all those notes you were taking all about? Is she paying you off to be her ghost writer on BU? I hope you are being paid upfront in cash because she’s dead broke. And you are such a gentleman letter her sign for the lunch and bill it to her house account. Just another bill that probably will never get paid. And what pray tell was that little envelope exchange between you two all about? Care too share with us Alvin? I doubt it. Maybe you can tell us why we should believe a word that comes out of your lying mouth when you have been caught red handed?
You gotta be careful in everything you do Alvin because big brother is always watching and when you play with fire, eventually you will get burned.
Hope you enjoyed your lunch. She was already Drunk when she got there and then seemed even more Drunk by the end of the lunch. I don’t know how you could stomach listening to her BS. Hope she’s paying you lots of cash to be her bitch. Or maybe she’s paying you in something other than cash hmmm? Care to comment or explain this one Alvin?
Loading…
RastaR
I was wondering how ALvin all of a sudden became the in-house expert on gasification . you have to admit Alvi she does come across as knowledgeable when first you meet her (in between the slurring and the telltale twitching of the mouth and the twirling of the hair)
I’m surprised a man of you’re proported intelligence buys the sales BUMPH that spills out of her mouth .
All the gasification plants you reference are a quarter of the scale or less of this ” first” 1000 tpd alterNRG plasma gasification plant .
There is nothing on this planet the size of this beast in operation .
In you’re lunch time indoctrination I bet she steered well away from Air Products and the mess going on on that fiasco ???
Air Products have spent in excess of $US 600 million on phase 1 which was supposed to be fully functional in September 2014 and is still to commissioned.
The alterNRG video while a good tutorial on plasma gasification was shot using the “mini” test gasifer at their Canadian facility which is actually a small warehouse in an industrial estate.
They have no experience in syngas cleaning or conditioning and as evidenced by the TV1 fiasco above are simply a supplier of the plasma gas torches which the buy in from a third party and a massive pressure vessle ( gasifier) which is built in malasia and nothing else.
We keep forgetting about of the thousands of tons of coke needed to make the NRG process work which will have to be imported and offloaded by the cruise liners and transported to the site. (@no cost to the tax payer lol)
Where are we going to get the natural gas to trim the syn gas burning turbines .???.
It’s all pie in the sky that was signed up to by 4 non technical idiot ministers sold by a slick snake oil saleswoman who is now courting poor old Alvin in her last ditch attempts to salvage her money train .
Loading…
Alvin….it’s very worrying that your track record is now 2 for 2 against the continued wellbeing of the citizens of the island and the island itself. First it was the criminals out of Australia and New Zealand trying to push their poisonous HPV vaccine, which they bought in the US, after FDA pulled the vaccine because of it’s destructive properties. You, AC, John Boyce, Elizabeth Ferdinand, other doctors and all the politicians were ready to destroy many lives on the island trying to help foreign criminals get wealthy at the expense of young people, your people. I remember very vividly, what you are saying to me now, you also said back then. Now that a Canadian university has released it’s findings on how dangerous a scam the HPV vaccine is, you say nothing.
You and the other culprits are now vibrating with negative energy to destroy the small environment that is Barbados with this gassification scam, you are taking the destruction of Barbados too far. If what Jayzee says is accurate, am sorry he/she did not take a photo, you are really too close to the situation and that is a little more than troubling, how could you Alvin.
i am amused yet dumbfounded at the rationale and reasoning being called “preventive measures” (at work) against the WTE when not one of these “opposer” have seen the blue prints or the plans put forward for the building of the plant in barbados
What is being put forward is a text book sample of The blind leading the blind .
With out those plan all are clueless ,
Presentations or examples of other countries projects are simply not enough to extrapolate findings as evidence for barbados WTE project .
There seems to be a lot of hot air blowing across the halls of BU which is wasted energy
Loading…
Here are more videos on plasma gasification the only thing these ones are not like the one making it sound so simple and sweet.
Loading…
Loading…
THer are plenty vidoes on this technolog where the informaton is not all that convincing. Painting one picture of a technology where the information does not help us undertand the size of the one who are planning to built is absolutely deceiving.
First you met with Gleason; Clare’s lawyer now with Clare in person?
Defend yourself man!
Loading…
Anyone can throw a set of videos out there that sound so sweet and nice. After all the company has to sell their project since there are large sums of money to be gained. What Barbadians want is to see the MOU and Power Purchase Agreements to validate this projects substance or to determine if it is a swindle.
Loading…
That is what’s so troubling, it’s time for the government to either s*it or get off the pot, they cannot just decide they allowing this woman to pop up on the island, from whetever without any money, as some are saying and decide she wants and will build a gassification plant without the input of the citizens or without everyone of her/their motives being dissected and dismantled.
That is the makings of a dictatorship and with AC and Alvin as the sales persons, there is a total lack of confidence. I was right when I said they are both retainers.
Loading…
Bush Tea
Clearly that meeting at the Court and the handing over of his card was Alvin’s marketing thrust…
Yuh can’t kill the fella … he saw an opportunity and grabbed it.
….besides the book thing ain’t working… and Alvin gotta eat….