Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Submitted by Beresford
Embattled Leroy Parris flanked by Chis Sinckler, minister of finance and Hal Gollop QC, Parris' lawyer on the campaign trail in 2013
Embattled Leroy Parris flanked by Chis Sinckler, minister of finance and Hal Gollop QC, Parris’ lawyer on the campaign trail in 2013

The warnings of the institutional breakdown, social dislocation and impact at a very personal level of the DLP disastrous economic failures are becoming more vivid and citizens more frustrated and desperate.

Further, the laziness of thought and lack of action that is the standard […]of the DLP is permeating too many Government agencies, to the extent of almost total breakdown in the functioning of these arms in the delivery of necessary services to the people.

Mia Mottley recently spoke of a lawless Government breeding a lawless society. In wide Bajan terms, there is lawlessness all around that no amount of taxes will solve.

In fact, Barbadians are paying through their teeth and getting precious little in return.

In a simple matter of water supply, Barbados is now a backwater country. Daily for thousands across St. John, St. Andrew, St. Joseph, St. James, St. Peter and St. Lucy constant long breaks in water supply is daily life, one of constant pain.

The aggravation is made worst by a Water Authority, which like the DLP engages in a lot of fancy PR, but which seems to treat people who live in the country as if they are less than other citizens.

Just like the DLP has outrageous favourites in the allocation of contracts, in its fantastic gifts to Sandals while others must grovel, the BWA follows suit and does not even deem to put out a notice that there will be no water in the several districts. And fail to send around water trucks to boot.

There is great absurdity in having a brand new multi-million dollar BWA headquarters when thousands everyday cannot get something as basic as water.

This is having an impact on school attendance, work productivity as well as the several small business that depend on regular supplies of water in a significant agricultural belt.

Once more following the foolishness of Freundel and the DLP the BWA waxes in illogic about which the only response can be, what exactly is going on in Barbados?

The DLP can’t tell you what it is doing now to fight crime, what is the current situation with Cahill – you name it they can’t say – and the BWA comes and tells you look out, there will be a drought…but nothing on what they are putting in place to deal with a situation that has been indicated for some time.

In a country in which rain falls almost daily. Flooding regularly. This is the kind of thinking that is infecting Barbados at every level and killing the spirit and hope of Barbadians. So we will have new pipes, which are needed, and much PR is centered around this programme. But we will have no water to pipe.

Transport for the thousands across Barbados – another daily grind. Michael Lashley indulges in more spinning and, wow, smart cards for paying bus fares are coming!

What about getting a bus – not on time, but a bus? Where is the Ministry in the plan to rationalise transport for improvements so that people who live in the country do not have to wait four hours for a bus to get to work or school and the same amount of time to return home? Why has it taken seven years to discover it is cheaper to have buses built here when the evidence was there all along?

Meanwhile, a literal daily grind is the lot of those with vehicles. If you live in certain areas, and cannot help but use certain roads, there is just no point trying to avoid the gaping holes that are now our roadways.

The patching programme is a victim of the DLP’s broken economy and the much publicised road repair projects spoken of in the Budget are like so much of the effusions of Chris Sinckler – putrid imaginings that cannot see the light of day.

The poor people of White Hill, St. Andrew have neither road nor water.

Wish not to have to visit the Accident and Emergency at the QEH or a polyclinic. The horror stories keep coming and coming.

The stance of DLP spokespersons and the management of the QEH is that people should make use of the polyclinics. Well, the A & E remains as dysfunctional as ever and only a morally detached and non-functioning Minister would not be sickened at the pictures and stories of people seeking services at the Maurice Byer and other polyclinics.

The growing harsh reality for Barbadians is a visit to health centres for long waits, in too many cases poor treatment, not being seen at all and the non-availability of needed medicines.

By comparison, the incomprehensible experiences at the A&E and policlinics are a breeze compared with the conditions at the Psychiatric Hospital. The barbaric conditions there are a terrible reflection and indicative of a Minister of Health completely out of his depth.

Like those at the Psychi, thousands of Barbadians, including the most vulnerable, are becoming the ignored, the forgotten, left to live in unhealthy and difficult circumstances …and many, from students to homeowners, are simply giving up.

How can any reasonable Barbadian not regard the crisis in child abuse and the dilly-dallying at the Child Care Board and by the Minister as anything other than responses by people on another planet?

A stunning 3 500 cases reported and despite bungling, not a man fired, the chairman and board remains. And from the head of Government a lot of froth, followed by a Minister speaking of a change of law when under the existing law the Board previously executed its mandate and saved lives.

Even in such matters of life and death the Government elevates mediocrity and failure as success and finds it impossible to remove any of its cronies that are the proverbial square pegs in round holes.

Nothing less is needed now than sensible thinking and action to literally save lives. Barbadians are at breaking point by a Government which stands idly by in every single instance, whether acting to put a pause to people’s houses being sold simply because as a result of DLP policies their earnings are so curtailed they cannot meet their obligations; whether claiming small business is vital to economic fortunes but not putting the necessary measures in place to facilitate business; whether bringing down the price of gas such that Barbadians are not paying more now oil prices are less than $50 a barrel than when they were over $100 a barrel; whether intervening and assuring the delivery of services that are required for basic daily living.

Thinking and inaction have not changed in seven years. We now exist in a country where the very basics are missing. A change of the guard is the only option to ease Barbadians from the daily grind.

65 responses to “Daily Grind Under Dems”

1. I do wholeheartedly feel that changes MUST BE MADE for the people of Barbados to start living a better quality of life. First allow me to make this very clear. I do not live in Barbados, but it’s my place of birth. I have a few family members that are still there. And I get my information through Barbados Underground, and The Barbados Today. All that I have read over the years regarding change, and changes, are still WORDS. Change has to come through the elected officials that are working for the people UNDERSTAND CLEARLY THAT THE COUNTRY ISN’T THEIRS TO SLICE UP INTO PARCELS AND DELIVER TO THE HIGHEST BIDDERS. The people should have a voice in the choices that are made that can help, or disrupt their quality of life. All spending, and nothing to truly show coming in.. IS WRONG,WRONG,WRONG. People cannot live off of promises.

You can downsize many jobs that the common man NEEDS to feed his family. But the political staff stays the same, and continue to live in the same lifestyle that they have claimed off the TAXPAYERS BLOOD SWEAT AND TEARS.
    It’s not about this party or that party. But about HONEST HUMAN BEINGS WHO CARES ABOUT THE PEOPLE WHO MADE THEIR JOBS POSSIBLE, AND KEEP THEIR BEST INTEREST AT HEART AT ALL TIMES. I couldn’t care less about the DLP or the BLP or any others you might come up with. POLICIES MUST CHANGE. THE ELECTED OFFICIALS SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR ACTIONS, AND NOT WALKING AROUND AS IF THEIR ARE ABOVE THE LAW. If these changes aren’t made. YOU ARE RIGHT BACK WHERE YOU STARTED FROM. (Too many chiefs, and no indians) Is it really necessary to have such a large body of people to represent 166 square miles? then do they need so many different department heads who mostly does very little for the paychecks they take home? Jobs should be given to QUALIFIED PEOPLE. NOT MADE UP TO REPAY THOSE THAT THE PERSON,OR PERSONS HELPED TO BE ELECTED.

So PLEASE think long, hard and be careful this time around. And elect people that are QUALIFIED, AND ABOVE BOARD FOR THE POSITIONS;
    When you’re renovating, you clean out everything. So clean out ALL of the OLD FASHIONED LAWS, AND BUSINESS AS USUAL MENTALITY IF YOU WANT TO SEE ANY DIFFERENCE.
    BARBADOS WAS WHERE MY EDUCATION STARTED. AND WAS BROUGHT UP TO BE DEPENDENT ON SELF. I WILL ALWAYS HAVE LOVE IN MY HEART FOR BARBADOS. AND IT HURTS ME TO SEE THE WAY BARBADOS IS LOSING ITS STRENGTH AND POWER AS A PLACE THAT OTHERS WANTED TO FOLLOW.

If these new elected officials don’t have to be TRANSPARENT before even running for office. You’re right back to business as usual. They should be made to show documentation of their worth. It doesn’t have to be public knowledge. But records should be kept of the documents . This is how it’s done here in the US..

2. Thanks Mr C … I have argue that the elective official in Barbados should be tested on the Moral and Intellectual level, before he or she assumes office as we do here in the states.

But investigative media must do its part in exposing the character of these individuals, in order for the ill-informed electorate to make a valid choice of candidate as we do here in the states.

3. This article more than adequately sets out the mess that the DLP administration has created since its election in 2008. And what is the Barbados Labour Party’s response to this crisis in governance – they attack and set about to unseat Dr. Maria Agard, one of their very own.

Barbados is in a very serious state of decline, which is made worse by an incompetent Government and an equally incompetent and dysfunctional Opposition. Beresford, clean out the cesspit that is the BLP before you attempt to wrestle the government away from the DLP.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Agreed mr Franklyn, agreed

And while the opposition and future government (and winner of every single seat) are at it they should be declaring their assets all like now and official tax filings

My belief is if wunna can’t run wunna financial affairs and mek money wunna ent qualified tuh run de financial affairs and business of governing de cuntry’s

5. Sure signs of recovery

Barbados will have to do without the “heady days” of major economic growth for now, but senior banker Ian De Souza says the signs of recovery are clear.
    The Republic Bank (Barbados) Limited chief executive officer and managing director also said that despite the difficult climate his organisation was doing “pretty good”.
    Speaking to the media afterwards, he said there were signs that Barbados economic recovery was continuing, although growth was unlikely to reach pre-crisis levels in the near future.
    “In my view, it is not going to be anything like the heady, heady days of [2005, 2006, or 2007], we are living in what is the new normal for Barbados, very measured growth, but I think you are going to see the growth, there are some good measures that have been taken,” he said.
    “The Central Bank’s removal of the minimum savings rate…what that has done is that it has caused the banks to adjust the rates on savings to reflect the demand for credit. –
    “The demand for credit is still relatively slack, so that we have reduced the rates on deposits, but as you reduce the rates on deposits that will have a drag on lending rates, as lending rates come down things become more affordable and people will then make investment decisions.”
    De Souza added: “So you add that to the mix [and] it can only, from my experience, translate into recovery and economic development, not at four, five, six or seven per cent, obviously, but certainly in the one [to] two per cent in the near term and we keep going at that rate. That is what I am seeing and that is what I think will happen.”

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Why happen wid you?

You hear the sound of a coming general election and you jump up from you bed?

Looks how you backpedalling though?

No longer on the WTF bandwagon but now given a new DeSouza Led mandate “the economy is on the rebound” chant

Ian De Souza, Managing Director/C.E.O. Republic Bank (Barbados) Ltd smartly inserting the Republic Bank as the banking institution of choice at a time when other even more savvy banks have started to close shop in Bulbados.

You ever see white peeple run from all this economic rebound that De Souza is seeing?

That does not happen AC, Dem hunkies likes money too bad and does not run from blenzers or green backs

Sing for your supper and we will give wunna control over one or two financial facilities to run on our behalf while levying say a 17% Ian?

All you gots to is every three months or so sat someting good bout de economy.

So like de ole man Death got you up hiding? But unlike de ole man it ent de “first death” that got you disobeying you husband instructions tuh doan use he cuntputer no mo, but your fear of de imminent death of the DLP

Doan worry ACie. Boat uh Dem coming as sure as day followeth night

7. ole man who should ac listen to , you ole man who have nothing to offer the economy than a shit load of criticism or those whose lives are connected to the economic pluse of the country.
    You and all the critics still hoping for a return of the days of selfishness ! decadence! and out of control spending which left the country stuck high on a precipice leaning close to the edge sadly and ready to topple over.
    What Mr, depezia said gave a reality not shrouded in magical turnarounds and sold as the best of times or the worst of time
    However you and other sore losers have used a malicious objective to depressed rather than offer any sort of solution in helping the country,
    Your inclination to out shout the good news happening on this island expose your partisan views as self serving and cockeyed bile

8. There is a reality this government has been unable to infuse confidence in the people of Barbados. We are a country stuck in neutral. We must find a different approach, for the sake of our children at least.

9. Come on David stop trying to infuse and misdirect, If one takes an honest analysis of this country ( beginning with this govt coming to power )while taking a conservative and realist view of all that happen taking into consideration the major financial drag on the economy with a global meltdown and its impact on our major growth market//// one cannot say with honesty that with all being said the worst is yet behind and the country has survived the silver bullet,
    ac is not saying every thing is glorious but reality dictates that moving forward (maybe not at a faster rate some expects) however looking back the horrors of having to look at an empty breadbasket compared to what little is being resourced puts this country on the right path for further and better economic survival,
    Looking for magic is not the answer but an economy grounded on long term stability is the better alternative ac belives that this is the govt goal one which is not easy
    However the events /causes/ of this country economic stabilization can not be discounted as trivia but must be a lesson grounded in economic losses and must not be repeated at any cost no matter who holds the reigns of govt.

10. Another shooting yesterday which has resulted in a White businessman shot dead.

11. The Government predicted that there would have been an increase in crime when they were meeting to plan the lay-offs in 2013. Even with that expectation, they put nothing in place, except football, to protect the people of this country.

12. Many of the yardfowls measure performance based on economic indicators only, and these are not good anyway. The economy has contracted 5% from 2006. We have a long way to go. The health of a nation must be determined by checking the social indicators,these are not encouraging.

13. And of course you Beresford are going to PROMISE us that these issues will be resolved under the BLP. A promise is a comfort for a fool. Many of these situations were around when the BLP was running things. With the BLP and the DLP it is a case of choosing your poison.

Steupse!

14. David

You’re probably right Barbados might well be stuck in neutral, but as someone who is concerned about my country and the family and many friends I still have living there, I only hope that my country regains its momentum and become that shining symbol of hope which once beckoned those without a hope to our shores.

Now just to touch on a few point on the article above, which I found rather onesided because there seems to be a deliberate attempt to tiptoe around some of true causes of the country’s state of affairs.

Now the question was asked: ” Why has it taken several years to discover that it is cheaper to have buses built here when the evidence was there all along?” And my only answer to that question is this: why hadn’t the Arthur administration discovered the revealing piece of information after being in power for more than a decade and a haft?

The article also referrenced the gaping hole throughout the island and I am quite sure this is a bothersome concerned for many Barbadians. But gaping hole is also a pressing concerned for many here in the states as well,you should see the number of pot holes throughout my states and throughout the many communities round and about where I live, so Barbados does not stand alone regarding the problem of gaping holes.

I should concluded on the long hours one has to wait for treatment at the QEH.The long hours of wait at the QEH isn’t a happenstance, this has been the case before I was born during the Arthur administration, and when I migrated to the states and when I returned on vacation to Barbados, so blame should be spread across the board.

15. Donna

The nature of politics these days is such that one has to choose between the better of two evils; between the hamcutter which offers little meat or hamcutter which offers none all at.

Moreover, what some here have failed to come to grip with is the fact that lame duck administrations are part and parcel of the political affairs whether we wish or choose to accept it or not.

Critics have argued that the Carter as well as the Obama administrations are modern models of this growing trend in politics today, and whether we wish to accept their version or not it is a matter for some of us to decide.

Nevertheles, some here ought to be circumspect with respect to how their malign and besmear the Stuard Administration, devoid of all of the necessary facts when arrive at certain judgments regarding his administration because I do believe that the pages of this history books will one day vindicated this administration, as does the Obama Administration, when some are still here and others are long gone.

16. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

As I’ve stated many times before on BU, we cannot sustain the Westminster system of gov’t on this little rock. Numbers are against us, there are simply too few honourable and credible candidates to fill 30 parliamentary seats. This situation will only get worse as popular politics continues to disgust the best and brightest among us and generally discourage participation. Until we change our system the situation will only get worse as the scum continues to rise to the top.

17. @frustrated business

Could not have framed it better. Many of the working committees of the House do not work based on the Whitehall system, these committees are rubber stamps. All in favour say aye (government side), those not in favour ( de ayes have it.

18. Cyanide of arsenic? Both deadly.

19. That’s “cyanide OR arsenic”.

20. Another person has lost his life to the rampant gun violence which has now taken over this country.

To quote the Prime Minister. THE GOVERNMENT CANNOT AFFORD TO BE A HELPLESS SPECTATOR.

Hohestly.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Earlier this morning ** from the church came for the ole man (late) and carried me to the supermarket.

There I heard the opinion of a poor man, a “middle class” man ant the “man of privilege” at that venue about the robbery and killing of the 63 year old man.

One of the points that was discussed went like this

” But wunna know dat in a day like dis nuhbody should be driving round wid all dat money in cash??

He shudda had all he employees wid checking accounts!!”

“He did jes tempting all uh dem robbers en tieves who out dey watching peoples en ting”

The point was endorsed by the other two wholeheartedly and for a while de ole man got the impression that the 63 year old man was wrong to have been on the road with his $$ since he was enticing the criminals.

My condolences to the family that he has left in this untimely fashion but we have become an uncaring society when you are wronged for travelling with what is yours

22. The below link describes the opposition to SLU Beverages Ltd.’s acquisition of its initial equity interest in Banks Holdings Limited at $4 per share in 2010, the same price being offered in 2015 in an attempt to takeover BHL. But this issue has a wider reach. Sagicor Financial Corporation owns around 6+% in BHL. While a minority shareholder, SFC has the ability to be heard on this matter and the responsibility to defend its investments on behalf of its many shareholders.

http://www.broadstreetjournalbarbados.com/business-briefs/2011-02-15/shareholders-protest-actions-of-bhl-board

23. Now, who should we believe, De Souza, a bank manager, who made his comments last year, or an economist whose observations and analysis of the Barbados economy, which was as recent as 3 weeks ago?

Economist: it’s not so:

A regional economist who monitors Barbados has poured cold water on Government’s forecasts for economic growth and fiscal improvement.

And Marla Dukharn, RBS Financial (Caribbean) Limited’s GROUP ECONOMIST, is also urging Barbados to implement a domestic debt restructuring programme or risk passing more “pain” on to domestic lenders.

Dukharan gave her advice Thursday evening during Royal Fidelity’s annual investor forum at Hilton Barbados.

She questioned the Central Bank’s projection that the Barbados economy will grow by between 2 and 2.5 per cent “for the next two to three years,” and said she agreed with the International Monetary Fund that “growth is not going to reach 2% in Barbados until 2020.”

But the economist pointed out that even if Barbados reached the target, the performance would be misleading considering that the size of the Barbados economy had shrunk by 5.4% since 2008.

“The real size of the economy has fallen from a peak of about $9.2 billion in 2008 all the way down to $8.7 million in 2014. So this is an overall contraction of 5.4% that the economy has contracted, so even though we might see 1% or we might see 2% we still have ways to go to before we recover the 5.4% overall contraction that we have seen post-crisis,” she noted.

She also doubted that Government would reach the 4% of GDP fiscal target it projected for this fiscal year, especially when debt from previous years, including VAT and income tax refunds were included. [Saturday Sun, September 5, 2015]

24. Also, we should examine’s Standard & Poor’s recent assessment of the Barbados economy.

Standard & Poor’s Rating Services

14-Sep-2015 17:28 EDT

BARBADOS ‘B/B’ RATINGS AFFIRMED; OUTLOOK REMAINS NEGATIVE

OVERVIEW
    • Barbados’ fiscal deficits remain high, and its debt burden continues to rise, with limited financing options.
    • We expect GDP growth of about 1% this year and 2% in 2016, still lower than that of peers at a similar stage of economic development.
    • We are affirming our ‘B/B’ sovereign credit ratings on Barbados.
    • The negative outlook reflects the potential for a downgrade pending additional signs of success in gradually stabilizing the debt burden, if tourism investment projects fail to support a turnaround in growth, or if external pressures mount.

RATING ACTION
    On Sept. 14, 2015, Standard & Poor’s Ratings Services affirmed its ‘B’ long-term sovereign credit ratings on Barbados. The outlook remains negative. We also affirmed our ‘B’ short-term sovereign credit ratings. The transfer and convertibility (T&C) assessment is unchanged at ‘B’.

RATIONALE
    Large fiscal deficits, a high debt burden that continues to rise, and narrower financing options constrain Standard & Poor’s ratings on Barbados. Financing the government deficit continues to rely on official and central bank funding given a reduced appetite in both local and external capital markets. The government did, however, issue a small amount of savings bonds in the local market in June 2015. The National Insurance Scheme (NIS) is less able to finance the government than in the past because of its declining surpluses. Financing from local banks is increasingly based on shorter tenors and higher interest rates. The last government issuance in global capital markets was in 2013.

25. Artaxerxes,

I could have said that without all the analysis. What really has government done to change anything? Severe government workers and raise taxes? That can’t be all it takes, I know!

26. That’s “sever”.

27. Donna

Artax doesn’t know or he has been taught how to reach people at their educational level. His analysis is analogous to Albert Einstein come on BU and trying to explain the cosmos through the process of Quantum Mechanics to an unscientific audience.

28. Dompey,

I’m afraid you have missed the point by a mile, as usual!

29. Again you miss the mark Artexeres !Nobody is disputing that there is a lot of work yet to be done in strengthening the barbados economy. However given all that you have posted during the initial stages of the weakening of the barbados economy when all had given up hope for a chance of any survival ,the difference being that what was predicted as an economy taken out to sea by a tsnumia of economic failures have not happen even with the S&P downgrades barbados has still managed against all odds to maintain and sustain a social and economic environment one of the highest among its carribbean counterparts.
    Also one cannot disparagingly disregard that an economy with limited resources and only having one main source of income if or when deprived would have a negative impact on the sustainability of the economy,
    There is no trick or magic to surviving such a devastating loss expect to put measures in place some of which might take away from other sectors in order to provide a foundation for those areas which are weak and vulnerable and most likely to succumb at a faster rate under economic pressures,
    WE all sit here and pout and decry , But how many here can come up with a different plan having one nest egg to feed so many bellies when the nest is empty.
    I like the way the critics use numbers and figures to admonish but reality and numbers can collide sending one in a direction one least expected to survived,
    The govt did reach such a cross road and did implement measure to survive, many have baulked but not many have said or made alternative solutions and there is where the rubber meets the road,
    Engaging each other to find solutions is the way forward criticism can be used as a tactic to inflate and inflamed or a constructive tool for to up lift,
    However i dare say that in the past years i have heard nothing of the later
    Case and point your hurried rush to remind all of the negative losses but slow to respond to the positive gains of the economy.
    then you intentionally wants all to believe your political allegiance is muted, i dare say that is a lie of biblical proportions, Check yourself brother you are in dire need of a bush bathe,

30. @ AC

Rather than your usual method of using unsubstantiated generalized statements, perhaps you can remind the BU household of “the positive gains of the economy.”

You are being quite deceitful (but I don’t expect anything different from you, being the YES people you are) when you talk about “positive gains.” Especially coming from an administration that has been manipulating the economic data to claim gains in economic growth. The IMF found discrepancies in the recording of economic data and questioned the validity of the economic reports.

Your response is typical DLP rhetoric, calling for people to bring “alternative solutions” and talking about “magic wand.”

Solutions were offered to this administration by economists, ICAB, Barbados Economic Society, Small Business Association, Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the Opposition, Barbados Hotel Association, business community and ordinary Barbadians, to which the DLP replied with a resounding “NO THANK YOU!”

What disturbs you most is the fact that many of us on BU are able to highlight the failures and “lies of biblical proportions” of this administration.

You are the ones who are “missing the mark.” So far, government’s economic policies have been counterproductive. You have also implied that government is responsible for “survival” of the Barbados economy, which is not true. Government’s role is to create an economic environment to facilitate infrastructural development and growth. However, credit must be given to the private sector and Barbadians for being able to maintain business operations under the prevailing economic environment, as well as jobs. Unfortunately, the economy is essentially being “run on credit terms,” people, businesses and by extension, the government, are borrowing to finance their endeavors.

It was not me who “hurried rush to remind” Barbadians that the much touted Medium Term Fiscal and Medium Term Development Strategies that Sinckler said were “on target,” had failed to achieve the desired objectives. It was the Governor of the Central Bank, Dr. Delisle Worrell.

It was not me who “hurried rush to remind” Barbadians that the DLP’s were responsible for Barbados’ dire economic position. It was none other than your own Minister of Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and Water Resources, Dr. David Estwick.
    What became of his ALTERNATIVE ECONOMIC PLAN?

Don’t worry about my “political leanings,” Unlike you, I refuse to bury my head in the sand simply because you support the DLP. And if by “calling a spade, a spade” you label me a BLP, that’s your business, I do not care.

And yes, perhaps I’m “in dire need of a bush bath.” However, my wait at the bush bath venue will be very long, especially when I take into consideration that you and the DLP clowns you defend will be ahead of me.

Stuart needs a “mouth bath” to wash his tongue of the pejorative language he uses to insult other Barbadians.

Sinckler needs a “mouth bath” to wash his tongue of the “lies of biblical proportions” he tells on the economy.

Irene, Esther, Jeptar, Harry Husbands, Patrick Todd and Haynesley Benn already had their “bush baths” because they have been rewarded with free money from the tax payers of this island.

Shameless Michael Carrington lucky that he ain’t get locked up fuh “carring” way he client money and is still able to maintain the position as Speaker of the House after that shameless act. Only a “bush bath” could bring yuh that type of luck.

Steve Blackett needs a “bush bath” because it took the death of three children and multiple abuses of others before he could get off his pompous backside to comment about these issues.

We have to set aside an entire day for Dennis Kellman to receive his “bush bath.”

31. @Frustrated Businessman September 26, 2015 at 11:02 AM “As I’ve stated many times before on BU, we cannot sustain the Westminster system on this little rock… Until we change our system the situation will only get worse as the scum continues to rise to the top.”

So what do you suggest instead?

32. We have to set aside an entire day for Dennis Kellman to receive his “bush bath.”

Arta I think you are very unkind to Mr Denis the menace Lowe. Doesn’t he deserve some kind of a bath too?

33. @artexeres See what i mean every time you open your mouth a BLP rag flies out, Boy watch our language and manner of words.

34. It is generally accepted now that the DLP is more often now seen as a party of barefoot hoes.With the demise of OSA the BLP is now seen as a party of bullahs and wickahs.The new party of patriotic bajans might just be able to attract the support of that elusive 39% who voted with their feet,which when added to those not included in the aforementioned DLP/BLP diehards,might throw their support behind the Patriotic Party of Barbados.

35. @ Artaxerxes September 27, 2015 at 10:05 AM

Excellent post…..keep up the good work!

36. yes ! and look who are artexeres supporters ,, convince yet that you carry some heavy buckets of water for the BLP or simply a full blown yardfowl.

37. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

I have one problem with the BLP it’s current leader too aggressive, to Bombastic and the list can go on and on.

38. Artax

I was read an article this afternoon and I came across a quote from one of greatest scientific minds in human history with summons up your piece above and it is as follows: ” If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough.” Albert Einstein
    If you wish to persuade others to see things as you do, you ought to be able to reach them all at their academic level.
    Remember you’re speaking to an audience from an array of academic disciplines and some of them aren’t as business orientated as you are.
    Nonetheless, I cognizant of the fact that within certain academic disciplines and professions there are certain technical terminologies one cannot avoid,
    when one endeavours to elucidate in a persuasive fashion, but one ought to avoid as much as possible such confind jargon.
    DONT SAH DAT DOMPEY DUN TELL YAH SAH BECAUSING HE DID YAH HARE. BUSHIE BOY YAH SHOULD BE HEADING BACK TAH DE ZOO RIGHT BOUT NOW, YAH TRUSTEE PRIVILEGES GINE RUN OUT, IT GETIN DARK.

39. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Simple, I suggest a plan to evolve ourselves away from Westminster.

I suggest retaining our elective system as it currently stands as a first round of voting.

I suggest 7 days after the first vote all 30 elected should stand a second round of voting to elect a single president.

If people understand that independents have a chance of winning the presidency in the second round they will no longer be considered a ‘wasted vote’ as in the past and may encourage non-party-yardfowls to stand.

If the elected understands that he/she doesn’t owe the party-loyal a ministerial seat but can hire a cabinet from the best and brightest among us, we might have a chance of turning around the governance of this country.

In UK 600 stand for 300 seats from which 35 are elected to cabinet (round numbers). Here 60 stand for 30 seats from which 25 ministers must be selected? Utter foolishness.

40. @Frustrated Business

First thing we have to do is teach civics in our schools.

The other issue worthy of discussion is the subsidizing of the QEH through the CESS on fuel. How does one measure the impact on the economy by not directedly passing through savings based on drop in oil price versus giving it to the QEH. The question is framed from a resource allocation perspective.

41. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

David, it doesn’t matter how QEH is funded, the fundamental problem we have is that gov’t is involved in business competing against its own tax-paying citizens. This will always have an adverse effect on the Consolidated Fund resources at both income and expenditure ends.

The only responsibilities of a socialist state’s governance should be Security, Health and Education.

This DLP gov’t has not only destroyed our economy but it has destroyed the way we perceive the economy and function in our economy. The social conscience that Bajans had with regard to personal and corporate tax is gone, replaced by simple survival necessities.

Even if we (citizens and businesses, not cabinet leaches) turn the economy around, the taxes netted will never again be what they were in 2007. The only tax income that future gov’ts will be able to rely on are VAT and Property Tax which are mostly unavoidable and un-evadable. Expect to see both continue to increase unless we can shed most of the gov’t’s tax spending burden.

The bureaucrats, technocrats and their current masters have no concept of what keeps this country in business.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Frustrated Businessman

You are definitively a real real business man for only a practitioner could say “…the fundamental problem we have is that gov’t is involved in business competing against its own tax-paying citizens…”

This is precisely the point!!!

We have a few “wannabee businessmen” cum politicians who “head get big” when dem see the government coffers and arrive at a conclusion in dere empty brain boxes dat “de money is dem own private commercial bank grant funding, an oxymoron to be sure – commercial and grant.

But the oxymoron takes form when the IMF and World Bank comes a-calling for the government to pay back the money that they borrowed and which the interim Parliamentary Representative spent during his 5? year sojourn

This is why we get back to the need for one to declare one’s assets BEFORE taking office, verified by Tax returns for 10 years and the creation of a WATCHDOG entity to keep watch on these MPs during and for 5 years during the effluxion clause that will be appended to their contracts of service.

If you is a tief and we catch wunna tiefing guvment $$, we can come back fuh we money, up to 5 years after wunna demit office, or longer

43. @Frustrated Businessman, I can agree with you that there are too many Cabinet Ministers because I expect that there is absolutely no need for a Ministry beyond those stipulated in the constitution and then based on logistics ( a practical good thing) and largess (a bad thing) as determined by the PM.

I would also agree that the Westminster system could be tweaked or even changed completely for another model but based on the personal operational deficiencies perpetuated by those elected over the years I am unclear how a system change would go to the root of the problem.

Specifically it seems counter intuitive and counter productive to vest the election of the President in the hands of a group of elected Parliamentarians.

Apart from the obvious fact that that would create a cesspool of ‘vote’ buying the question would have to be asked: what powers would this president have, ceremonial or executive?

If executive, then why should 30 people be the ones to determine that man or women rather than all citizens?

Currently at least everyone knows who the leader will be (like them or not) and moreover if a majority of the elected officials believe that leader is ineffectual they can move to elect a new leader by tabling a vote of no-confidence.

Incidentally are your ’round’ numbers trending to accuracy or was your intent exaggeration re ” Here 60 stand for 30 seats from which 25 ministers must be selected?”.

Do we have or ever had 25 ministers?

44. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Igrunt, you misunderstood my post. My point was that the 30 elected from the first round of voting would go back to a national ballot a week later for US to elect the one president from those 30 with Executive powers. In my hybrid system the law-makers would remain in the lower house but cabinet would NOT be selected from them. In fact, on reflection it would be better if election to Parliament disqualified a person from serving in the cabinet.

45. @Frustrated Business

Rowley proposed a similar plan on the campaign trail. Let us see if he subscribes to the view that a promise is comfort for a fool.

46. @Frustrated, with respect it seems that you are ‘fleshing out’ your system as you go to wit “In fact, on reflection it would be better if …” so with that in mind I will step back and avoid further misunderstanding.

I would never have presumed that was your intent after the 7 day interlude.

National elections are expensive and intrusive so why have to rounds of the same thing to first elect 30 from 60+ and then one from 30?

Is that not extra expense compared to electing 30 from whom one is chosen?

And then what particular benefit would the 2nd round effect considering that the same people were available in the first round and could be elected directly from the first round of candidates.

I am sure there is more depth to what you are saying but the initial statements are not well defined and lack practicality.

Anyhow that’s it from me until much later.

47. David

I do believe that time has long gone where there is a pressing need to embark upon a curriculum which includes or focuses on civics. How about Science and Technology, which engines the global economy in its modern context David?

India and China arguably, were the two poorest country in the world some forty years ago, but their have figured out the importance of Science and Technology and today the Chinese as well as the East Indian worker with the High-tech skills are in great demand in North America today.

Now are you aware of the fact that the average American has to call India to pay a bill in America today? Well, that why President Obama continues to emphasized need for the American worker be trained in these high-tech jobs that the East Indians are taking from the American workers.

And furthemore, if you look around the American landscape far and wide today, you’re going to see Magnet Schools from the East Coast to the West Coast that are focusing on Science and Technology, and you’re suggesting that we start teaching civics in the Barbados in this day and age?

Listen! I knew little of the American system of governance when I first arrived in this country, but is wasn’t until I took one course in college called American Government that I got a better understanding of the system here.
    so yes civics can be taught at the tertiary level if the student desire to take it as far as I am concerned.

48. UCAL have been asking the Transport Board, and by extension the government of Barbados, to pay the over $20M owed to that establishment, since they have been experiencing problems paying their staff, creditors and statutory requirements, which includes approximately $3M owed to the NIS.

However, rather than pay UCAL what is due, the government, through the NIS, issued a directive to the Transport Board for all future payments to UCAL, should be paid to the NIS instead.
    I’m sure that there are many other business establishments in Barbados that are not awaiting funds from the government, but owe NIS in excess of $3M and no such action have been taken against them.

This action could result in the closure of UCAL and their employees joining the long list of unemployed Barbadians.

49. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

@ Art. UCAL was a fraud from the beginning. When UCAL was formed the BTB was employing one mechanic per bus in service and the parts dept. teefing was at a mammoth scale. The maintenance of the fleet was put out to tender by the board to cease the financial haemorrhage, Trotman got nervous about the unemployables and threatened Arthur. The tender was withdrawn against the board’s wishes, the workshop privatised under the same terms and conditions that previously existed under the UCAL name and BDS got on with ‘bad business as usual’. UCAL is a farce that has caused this country tens of millions of dollars; it is ridiculous they should have existed this long.

50. Artaxerxes,

How much do you really know about this UCAL thing? You really need to talk to some workers of the Transport Board. I am not yet ready to fault the government on this move.