Submitted by Anthony Davis

UWI,Cave HillMinister of Education Ronald Jones has maintained that Government’s tertiary education tuition fee policy was necessary or the number of students would have had to be restricted because […] the Freundel Stuart administration simply could not continue to heavily subsidize education while supporting other services – Barbados Today

In his column “Fighting Goliath” on page 16 of the same issue David Comissiong states: “The latest ‘political crime’ of the current DLP Government has been the imposition of tuition fees on students of the Barbados Community College (BCC).”

First of all, Mr. Minister of Education: What is a “definitive fact”?

If the reason for not allowing the scions of the poor, the needy, the vulnerable – and more and more the so-called middle class – a free education is the economy, why don’t you and your colleagues, especially the Minister of Finance, use the taxes which we are paying for funding the education, health, and welfare services of our country instead of giving them to entities such as Sandals and Cahill Energy?

You can give such entities millions of tax rebates, but you say that there is a “low cash flow” when it has anything to do with the necessities of the populace of this country. Home drums should always beat first. The Minister of Finance has not only our taxes to give away, but our land and water also! How many of the taxpayers of this country cannot even get one of the Government houses or apartments, far less a plot of land?

There was the case where people had paid Government for plots of land, and Government confiscated their land to give it to someone else.

We have the poor, the needy and the vulnerable – not forgetting those in St. Andrew and St. Joseph who do not see water very often, but still receive horrendous bills for water – whose water is cut off as soon as they go into arrears, but the Minister of Finance and the other magnificent three have the gall to give away not only our water to some Johnny-come-lately company, along with the rights to drill for water on the free land which it is receiving, whenever it likes, but our land as if it is his!

Thirty years of water FREE!

We have a weak economy, and instead of putting our taxes to proper use, the magnificent four can give away our taxes as they like, whereas the scions of the said taxpayers who are being fleeced must now pay not only to go to UWI, but to BCC!

Pray tell me, Messieurs Ministers, what else will you demolish or leave in disrepair, while the Minister of Finance complains of a “cash flow”?

There may be a low cash flow, but in the wrong direction!

It is being given to companies like Cahill Energy and Sandals!

No wonder Cahill Energy chose Barbados!

Who would turn down the sweetest sweetheart deal of which he/she has ever heard?

Does our Psychiatric Hospital look like somewhere to put people into?

What about the QEH? Is that still functioning as it should after its funding has been drastically reduced?

How about the equipment for it?

Is it still lacking?

Are the nurses working proper hours?

Education needs money.

Welfare needs money.

The Health Department needs money.

The Child Care Board needs money.

The Minister of Finance says he has none for these important planks of our society, but he has hundreds of millions of our tax dollars for foreign entities.

What deal did you give the Pure Hotel and Spa which is now putting nine six-storey buildings on the promontory overlooking Foul Bay and which will destroy the beautiful view not only for the residents, but those passing through?

This shows utter contempt for the populace of this country!

This also means that another popular beach will be no longer be available to residents and those tourists who drive around the island – whether by bus, hired car or taxi.

Nothing is being left intact for our progeny and their progeny.

Yet, this is a “people-centred Government”.

This burden must be borne by those who are not born yet, and do not even know about the inheritance they will receive.

It seems that your favourite slogan: “Our children are our future” no longer obtains!

My motto is: “Beware of gift-bringing Greeks!”

77 responses to “Tertiary Education Ladder Kicked Down”

1. Davis

No Barbadian in his right mind can honestly say that he/she thought that the DLP administration that was elected in 2008 showed an inkling of competence. Yet still, they were re-elected in 2013. So whose fault is it that the country is mired in incompetence and unable to extricate itself? I daresay that the people of this country have put us in this mess and they must now stew in our juices for making the choices that we did.

Everybody with a modicum of common sense knew that the DLP was lying through its teeth on the platforms but voted for them anyway. I have heard it said that a country deserves the Government that it gets. If that is the case, this country is well and truly cursed.

2. These morons are ungrateful bastards…………all of them received free tertiary education and have now kicked down the ladder so that poor people children cannot receive a tertiary education. And to think that they did this after the bastards took away the jobs of many people.

One thing the morons can never boast about ever again……….”Barrow gave we free education”.

Had not for this “free” education which is paid for by our tax dollars, they would not be on power to destroy this country as not many of them would be able to go the UWI especially the PM.

He likes to project how poor he was, his mother was a maid. Had these wild boys after they mysteriously won re-election in 2013……….and after bragging that the economy was stable and on the road to recovery, had they done what they should…….. that is managing the economy, they would never have had to impose fees at UWI. If they had to because they have been mis-managing the economy since 2008, a means test should have be the way to go. Let those who could pay, pay.

Bloody liars, they are who have been lying to this country from day one and should never have been entrusted with this country’s finances. The dead king handed the economy over to that Darcy Boyce, he started the destruction and then Fruendel gave it back to a man who had no right to be near public finances…………he is not qualified for this.

We now have more than ample proof that the Stinkliar is out of his depths.

3. I am glad that you said that they received free tertiary education and not that they benefited from free tertiary education because their performance show no evidence that they benefited from even primary education.

4. You are so right, Caswell!

5. @Prodigal Son September 12, 2015 at 10:11 PM “a means test should have be the way to go. Let those who could pay, pay.”

I don’t believe in means testing.

Means testing requires a huge bureaucracy.

Even so people tell lies and the tax funded goodies tend to go to those who can tell lies the best.

With means testing every middle-aged politician’s 19 year old girlfriend/boyfriend with no income of her/his own (but living very well thank you) will pass the means test.

The middle class and upper class tend to be excluded from tax funded goodies when means testing is introduced, and yet those same people are expected to work hard and pay more and more and more taxes.

We all hear the stories about people living in government units who regularly fly to New York and Miami and Toronto to shop.

With means testing a drug lord who has no visible income and who has never filed a tax return in his life and who has never paid a single cent in income tax [after all what is he going to put on his income tax form when they ask for Occupation? Drug Lord. He however will get a tax funded education for his kid, but poor honest Jane the hard working public health sister will have to pay for her kid’s education.

I don’t know what is the answer but means testing probably ain’ it.

6. However what I would like to see is all UWI graduates paying tax at a higher rate that the ress ‘o we who only went to the pipe.

UWI knows all her alumni. Make UWI alumni pay a certain percentage more in income tax. The sweet thing about this is that immediately ALL current politicians would have to pay more, and continue pay more for the rest of their lives. And for those who went to UWI and spent nuff, nuff years and came out with nothing make then pay an even higher percentage more for having wasted the tax payers money and their teacher’s time.

7. In his column ” Fighting Goliath on page 16 of the same issue David Comissiong stated” The lastest political crime of the current DLP Government has been the imposition of tuition fees on students of the Barbados Community College BCC”

Now I would agree with Comissiong to some extent that the implimentation of tuition fees across the board for all BCC students ought to be reexamine.

And the reason I sided with Comissiong has much to do with family income of some of the poorer students who probably cannot afford bus-fare to make it to class on time, furthemore afford to pay these tuition fees.

Now, what government ought have done in my estimation was to determine familial income all of the students schedule to attend the community college initially, and upon on assessing the familial income level of these students, exempt those students who are living below the poverty level from pay tuition fees, and institute the tuition fees for those students that are more than able to afford them.

Moreover, I don’t know how any forward thinking government expect the very poor amongst us to uplift themselves through the corridor of education, if their are unable to pay the tuition fees which their obviously cannot afford.

8. It would be of interest to all if an application of common sense was literally applied to this issue of free education instead picking at low hanging fruit as a political means to an end. The typical early morning barrage of political commentary by BLP yard fowls typifies a desperation effort to resort to the ridiculous reasonings on complex issues whereby govt has chosen to enact laws to preserve and maintain a semblance of economic stability for the country

9. Shiite, you does can’t wait to get up pun a mornings just to log on pun BU to post a bunch a shiite ALL the bloody time.

Yuh mean you must come in EVERY DAY on EVERY TOPIC with the same shiite?

You know that you is de onliest body dat does have a comment fuh EVERY TOPIC pun BU?

Shiite, yuh mean dat wunnuh is an authority pun EVERY shiite?

EVERYBODY does tek a little break from BU and does come back wid somet’ing fresh. Well dat is everybody, EXCEPT wunnuh.

Wunnuh so NARROW MINDED dat everybody dat criticize de DLP is “BLP yard fowls?

Shiite, consortium, gih we a lil break, nuh!!!!!!

10. Move on! bahhhhh!

11. “No Barbadian in his right mind can honestly say that he/she thought that the DLP administration that was elected in 2008 showed an inkling of competence. Yet still, they were re-elected in 2013. So whose fault is it that the country is mired in incompetence and unable to extricate itself? I daresay that the people of this country have put us in this mess and they must now stew in our juices for making the choices that we did.”

Caswell I hope you included yourself, BushTea, Donna, AC etc. I remembered Amused telling me that he will hold his nose and vote for the DLP in fact you said something like that too.

Wunna hypocrites who said that the DLP is a better bunch to trust than the BLP then who de rass is proving wunna wrong now???? The problem is that many Barbadians prefer to be lied to so they will go with the biggest of liars. “Tertiary Education will be Free” was the mantra for the DLP and they had no plans of making students pay. So the foolish electorate reelected them. Now we all getting buggered without the Vaseline.

12. “I also understand the DLP government position in regards to the implementation of the tuition fees”

We have better make no bones about the fact that the government coffer is empty, and it was therefore incumbented upon to government to determined that the days of Freeloading has come to a squelching halt. And that men and women of every strata of society must troop their way through the turbulent of this economic crisis without piggybacking off of the resources of government.

The DLP position in my judgment is no more different than that of the GOP position during the initial stage of the economic meltdown because one can sight important similarities in its approached to addressed the economic situation in Barbados.

The proponents of the republican agenda have argued that given the national-deficit which ballooned into the trillions at the time, that government ought to have moved aggressively to eliminate many of the social-programs designed to alleviated the suffering of the poor and to aid the middleclass in some small measure.

13. And one must remember not everyone has a right(righteousness) mind but most are guided and dictated by a a mind that operates on selfishness and greed .A mind that cancels out reality and put in place a position of “it is all about me”

14. @ islandgal
    You gotta good point.

But the only thing worse than the direction in which we were being taken by the BLP back then, was what actually happened with the DLP under thieving Thompson and now JA Froon.
    Do you think that ANYBODY …(including Bushie 🙂 ) could have predicted such thievery and idiocy?
    Blame YOUR BLP for starting the process… and giving us Hobson’s choice.

In any case…. our asses are CURSED!!!
    Whether you like um or not.

UNLESS we repent and sort out the lotta shiite bout here…
    no matter who we elect – our ass is grass….
    Cause no matter who we vote in there
    we stuck with the ACs, Dompeys and other Bajan Brass

15. Islandgal

I don’t know why some Barbadians think that it is their inherited right to piggyback off the economic resources of government?

All I have every asked of government is to provide me the opportunity to lift myself up by my own boot straps.

And the government had in the past afforded me that opportunity when I left secondary school in 1983 and entered the Skills Training Programs sponsored in part by the Barbados Polytechnical School in St. Peter.

16. AC, I agree and endorse your comments 1000%; you are most certainly correct.

1) When this DLP administration was about to retrench over 4,000 civil servants, the press asked Donville Inniss if he was in favor of a reduction in parliamentarians’ salaries. He responded by saying he was NOT in favor of such because he has bills to pay and children to send to the university.

Surely you must agree that Donville “mind cancelled out reality and put in place a position of “IT IS ALL ABOUT ME”….”

2) Richard Byer charging $766,855.24 as legal fees to give an opinion on a loan, when on a previous occasion another attorney charged $17,000 for rendering a similar service.

Is this not an example of a man who was “guided and dictated by a mind that operates on SELFISHNESS and GREED?”

3) Michael Lashley’s attempting to employ his relative at the Transport Board “through the back door.”

These are 3 perfect examples that “most are guided and dictated by a mind that operates on selfishness and greed. A mind that cancels out reality and put in place a position of “it is all about me”….”

17. Bush Tea

Are you certain that the problem regarding our insufficiency resides with the likes of the ACs and Dompeys? Brother, I am still here trying to figure out how a country as infinitesimal as Barbados could layoff three-thousand people from its governmental sector and still function at all.

18. There the blp operatives (go) again trying to leverage their opinions with inate comments . When the topic of reduce salaries was raised the leadership of the blp was also not receptive to such an idea.blp yardfowls should not dillude self and conclude that the words of minister Inniss is enough of a political wedge that indicates the philosophical moorings of the Dlp party

19. Bush Tea

Do you think that this question might quite possibly be a little about your intellectual prowes, and that perhaps, I should have addressed it to Mr. Artax who has in the past proclaimed his acuity in the area of investigative auditing?

20. Artax

“Micheal Lashley’s attemping to employ his relative at the Transport Board through the back-door”

Big deal Michael Lashley attempted to employ his relative at the Transport Board through the back-door.

Man please, you ought to get over it because in case you haven’t realized, as of yet, this is the way in which our world oscillates. You could tell that this cat is young or perhaps he is unsophisticated with respect to world affairs.

When hasn’t there been a time when nepotism, cronyism and favoritism not been part and parcel of the employment world?

Perhaps Artax has never heard the saying that: ” It is not what you know but who you know?” And I am quite certain my good friend Piece could teach the youngster something about the Old-Boy- Network?

21. As long as govt put suitable provisions in place to help the least vulnerable. Those who have already gained free access to education withthe advantages acquired to uplifting one self from the grips of poverty. For those there is an obligation generated with a moral persuasion to help those who are still behind without ever so often having a quarrelsome attitude to avert or discourage govt policies formed out of formula of correctness
    Yes the role of govt is not to stand against social issues . However the conscience of a society is totally to stand up to those challenges not only by the support of govt but with an incumbent duty by those who have forged forward successfully to lend support or helping hand along the way

22. @ Dompey
    …want to know what Bushie finds strange…?
    How you can have THREE sons …. and a neighbour had to drag you from that fire?
    skippa…
    You got a BIG insurance policy? ..or are those boys just as tired of your donkey as we are here on BU…? 🙂

23. The Education Minister needs to go back to school… He’s an idiot…! …and we more the idiot for tolerating his policies…!

24. Anthony Davis

I share your views about give-aways, concessions etc to the Sandals/Cahills of the world.

But I do think the following suggests you are out of touch with the Foul Bay “PURE” project.

“What deal did you give the Pure Hotel and Spa which is now putting nine six-storey buildings on the promontory overlooking Foul Bay and which will destroy the beautiful view not only for the residents, but those passing through?”

The PURE Beach Resort and Spa project has been kicking around since at least 2009.

I must have missed something, but thought nothing has been done at the Foul Bay site since the mid 2012 groundbreaking ceremony, when the Hon. Adriel Brathwaite was a featured speaker and ribbon cutter. See Youtube video below

See also the April 24, 2013, update letter to the PURE Beach Founding Members (aka investors/purchasers), whose money has no doubt gone up in smoke, at the following link.

http://mmins.ca/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/April-2013-Pure-Beach-update.pdf

As nothing can be found from PURE since the April 2013 letter, I think you can rest your concern about the PURE Beach Resort and Spa destroying beautiful view of Foul Bay.

Like Cowan/Cahill, the PURE people had no money and apparently could not find investors/lenders to fund the Foul Bay dream.

So whatever deal was given(concessions/incentives/advances etc) has absolutely no payback.

25. Minister Ronald Jones is a loud mouth lout who has done little to inspire confidence how we will battle the social cost of uninformed decisions made under his ‘stewardship’. Here are two examples – 1. no cellphones to be taken to school, the directive was ignored. 2. The AX report sat on his desk for one years until strike action by BSTU forced action.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes and Bush Tea

…..And I am quite certain my good friend Piece….

Unna done know whu going on right and dat de ole man ent know nuffin bout dis right??

Recently de ole man been posting a lot uh cuss words en ting (de madam soon come back so I gine hafta stop dat soon) and one uh two uh wunna concerned dat de ole man “sinning he soul”

But wunna gots to pause a minute and see dat when uh body use dat language to certain peeple it does cause some uh dem tuh unnerstan whu does be giving dem problems en ting.

De two uh de Dynamic duo of Dumb and Dumber (both of whom is vying to attain de superlative status of dumbest which would leave the positive category without an occupant, OR WOULD IT?)

Let de ole man brek it down fuh you.

At 8.49 am when you supposed was to be tekking de medication you said dat you can unnerstand how 3,000 people get fire.

Hold dat “taught”

At de same time dat de said guvment declare dat 3,000 ingrunt Bajans gine get fire a minister of dat same Guvment, dat is Michael Lashley, not only hire a body, in the face of that economic austerity measures, BUT DE BODY WAS, NOT ONLY HE FAMILY BUT, and herein is the most grievous cut of all, DEM WAS NOT QUALIFY FUH DE JOB HEE HAW…

IN SHORT ASINUS, DEM WAS MORE INGRUNT DAN YOU!!!

In udder words Domps IF DEM WAS IN DE HOUSE WHEN DE NEIGHBOURHOOD VIGILANTE GROUP DECIDE DAT “DE ONE (YOU) HAS WAS TO GET DEM HOUSE BUN DOWN SO THAT THE MANY (YOU NEIGHBOURS) CUD PRESERVE DEM SANITY, dat body so ingrunt dat, unlike how you lef de house when de heat start licking at you pajamers, dat body wudda fight to stan’ in de bed”

I hope dat you unnerstan’ de full “taught” (dat pronounce like thought but it different) Domps. Effing you ent unnerstan it, axe de Minister uh Eddykashun Ronald we Jonesing tuh explain it tuh you den.

Summary – 3,000 fired, one hired, hired body is minister family, metal capacity less than yours etc

And try not to call me “you friend” cause de next ting Irene gine call me she friend and de fellow who trying out to be part uh de triumvirate of “Dumb, Dumber and Dumbest gine start mentioning me as one uh he drinking buddies en ting…

27. Bush Tea

I marvel at your want of empathy or lack thereof of compassion, in your failing efforts to reiterate an event of unspeakable evil to capture a few browie points on your quontum antagonist.

Man it would appear as though you were congenitally and genetically conceived devoid of feelings , or perhaps you have ice-water flowing through your veins for blood? Are you that cold Bushie?

28. Dompey September 13, 2015 at 9:54 AM #

“Big deal Michael Lashley attempted to employ his relative at the Transport Board through the back-door.”

Perhaps you should avail yourself of the information relative to my comments before you attempt to respond. And I know that your obnoxious and pompous characteristics will not prevent you from responding to my comments in your usual condescending manner, while using pejorative terms to describe me.

But please note, I will not engage in a “tit for tat” with you, nor will I join you in averting the focus away from the topic.

However, on May 6, 2015 Transport Board employees staged protest action against what was described by BWU president of the Transport Board Division, Neville Kirton, as unfair hiring practices of the Board.
    Kirton “complained that new workers were being brought in, even though discussions were continuing at the level of the Labour Department on recent redundancies made by the Board.”

In other words, Mr. Dompey, the protest action came as a result of the hiring of a female, said to be related to Lashley, to fill the post of “Clerical Officer.”

BWU President, Toni Moore explained that the TB employees were angry because the “TB had FAILED to HONOUR an AGREEMENT made last year during the retrenchment exercise that if any vacancies arose, those retrenched workers would be given first option.”

Now, Dompey, you claimed to be a member of a “major labour union” in “A-merca.”

Therefore, surely you HAVE TO AGREE that Michael Lashley’s action of hiring his relative “through the back door,” did not only breached an agreement between the TB and the Union and is an insult to the industrial relations process, but can be considered as being SELFISH ACT as well.

29. Piece

I have chosen deliberately to ignore your excremental exhibition of verbal exuberance sir. In other words: I have chosen to purposefully disregard the load shit you transcribes here daily.

30. Here we go again… it took Piece to summons the will of Artax for he to elicit some kind of a half-baked response.

31. @ Dompey …10:59 AM
    Are you that cold Bushie?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    It is not a matter of temperature skippa…
    …but dey got some ingrunt bushes sometimes,
    …dat does mek yuh use the oversized string in the whacker…

Did it hurt…? 🙂

32. ac September 13, 2015 at 9:56 AM #
    “As long as govt put suitable provisions in place to help the least vulnerable.”

ac, are we to take this an official statement of DLP policy?

33. “Do you think that ANYBODY …(including Bushie 🙂 ) could have predicted such thievery and idiocy?”

Bushie how come your BBE didn’t warn you ? Errol Barrow stated we are a nation of Thieves and Caswell pointed out how true that is. Now these thieving SOBS promised Integrity legislation and we will NEVER see that happen. The BLP dropped the baton when the didn’t pick that up and insisted that they will do that if elected.

A NATION OF THIEVES!

34. @ Islandgal
    Another good piece of analysis…

You making a lotta sense ever since we brek up yuh…!!!
    Um look like you just could not handle the Bush whacker… 🙂

BBE probably warned Bushie as you said, but to tell the truth …the poor bushman probably could not ‘tek in’ all the lotta information at the time… certain other things were probably too distracting … besides who the hell could have imagined that 30 people could be so doltish?

…and who the hell else could we have elected…? …PDC?

35. Bushie

If we had elected PDC at the very least our feet would be warm now. LOL o shirt!

36. Bush Tea

I bet the intellectual-savants who rallies behind name the Barbados Labour Party can’t even put together an effective message which would inspire hope and trigger a small measure optimism the next general election.

These verbal acrobatics articulates a game of make-believe , but when it comes to formulating an effective strategy which would rally some measure hope and arouse some kind of awareness in the masses, their are unable to bear much fruit.

Bushie, how did the party of Grantley Adams allow the illiterate-irritants of Barrow’s DLP to outfox you all twice consecutively? What was it that did you all end; the pot-boiler appealed to popular taste? lol

37. The DLP was birth from a philosophical bent of inclusiveness meaning govt and a people togetherness .Not one of unrealistic magical goals and formulas workable for a few and only laying a minute

38. @ Caswell
    LOL…
    you laughing…. But at least he HAS operated a business and um like um still licking… who else apart from Pornville can say the same…?
    Think Adamson would have signed that CAHILL shiite contract without checking…?
    …try getting a pair of silks from him without coughing up the $$$ and see…

@ Dompey
    !!! …wait …you still smelling bout the place….?
    You better check and see if you have that big insurance policy hear…?
    …cause letmuhtellya skippa…. the alternative is scary ….

39. @ Artaxerxes September 13, 2015 at 7:35 AM #

I cannot help but to agree with your post but do not let the trolls get you angry, they have an agenda.

Look what happen at the Central Bank on Friday……….workers finally came out and let Barbados know what we have all been hearing for the longest while. They bring on an intern and then when the internship is over, the same intern is hired at a salary higher than those who have been there for a long time. The governor uses his driver so much beyond what would be considered as normal that the driver makes six figures.

This matter of the hire of the intern must have been the proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back.

We will wait and see!

40. ac and dompey should read the hardship story in today’s Sun of a young man whose dream of going to UWI has been destroyed by the policy of this government whom ac has the unmitigated gall to say………………. “The DLP was birth from a philosophical bent of inclusiveness meaning govt and a people togetherness”……………….

You are bold and brazen to make such a statement after the decimation of life as we know it in Barbados by the DLP since January 2008.

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Mr. Davis

The style of submission reminds me of a BLP Blogger who was previously “silenced” but, that said, de ole man was just wondering the following.

You have pointed the finger at We Jonesing and his band of Dufuses, of a magnitude befitting of being the retarded relative of our resident Asinus Domesticus.

It is true that they have their burden to pay to the nation, and citizens born and unborn, for the recent decimation of the University population etc BUT answer de ole man dis

How much money does the Ministry of Education pump into the Education sector every year?

And prior to this “Education in Barbados” will always be free about turn by the worst political party this cuntry has ever and will ever see, how much money was being plugged into the UWI mausoleum of African Stools?

For how many years did the UWI continue to leach off the respective administrations without producing anything meaningful?

While you are doing this I want you to review the amount of the expenditure of the UWI Cave Hill portfolio, in fact the UWI West Indies pension portfolios.

Then take a look at the revenues that each of the respective campuses particularly what they generate from the actual work that they do, not from government contributions, or donor grants, from their respective revenue generation activities.

Then see if you are correct in pointing your fingers solely at the DLP DOLTS

42. The tragedy of it all still remains the fact that the blp faithful lives in a real world of dellusion distancing themselves from a reality which for the most part has ecliape and explains fourteen years of blp policies to all that is happening within the economy

43. Prodigal Son

Tell that you man for me that he does not have to piggyback off of government to achieve his educational goals. He can achieve those educational goals through hardwork, sacrifice, self-effacacy and a persistent perserverance.

Listen! As a young man grow up in Barbados, I held down a full time and a part time job- while attending evening classes at Roebuck Boys Primary School paid for by my own earnings.

The only help I had gotten from the government was the bribed money former BLP Minister of Tourism Aaron Truss gave to myself and the residents throughout the town localities back in the early 80’s, coupled with the Skills Training Program I attended after graduating secondary school in 1983.

44. David can’t you find a more manly photo of the MOE? Every time I look at the photo I see a drag queen.

45. @ Prodigal

Dompey is an idiot who, by using a lot of “big fancy words,” (inappropriately) is desperately trying to prove to the BU audience that he is an intellectual.

Prodigal, have you realize that, for example, Walter is able to apply his actuarial knowledge and skills to inform BU about insurance and financial issues; Caswell, as an experienced trade unionist, provides an informed perspective on issues relating industrial relations; and Georgie Porgie is always willing to extend his medical experience to give BU an insight on health issues.

However, Dompey, who claims he was a member of America’s armed forces and a labour union, has never, ever once demonstrated a willingness to use his so called “military experience” so as to present an informed perspective on issues relating to discipline, law and order or suggestions on how operations of the Barbados Defense Force could be improved and better utilized.

Nor has he been as articulate as Caswell on matters pertaining to industrial relations.

He is however consistent in trying to divert contributors from focusing their attention on the topic presented for “discussion”, to focus on him.

Therefore, one can conclude that Dompey is a fraud who continually comes to BU trying to impress upon us that he is some sort of “intellectual guru”, when, so far, he has only been able to demonstrate that he is just another pretentious jackass.

46. Artax

Someone ought to tell this young man that he is way too young to be hitting the bottle because he is beginning to talk a lot more like Bush Tea now. I don’t know who told this young man that alcohol is the solution to all of life’s problems, but I am here to look him square in the face and categorically declare to him that alcohol is the cause of all of life problems brother.

Now Piece, you ought to inform this young man that the theory beholding to others which he peddles here ought, must and should be coupled with practical life experiences in order for it to convey any manner of influence.

And as far as my academic stance is goes, you need not concern yourself with that because it is the theory beholding to others that you spews, parrots and peddles here on BU, you ought to concern yourself with.

Now let me say this lastly to you and you ought not take it as an affront to your intellectual stance, but I am not moved one iota by the way in which articulates here on BU, Bush Tea does a better and more effective job.

What impresses me the most are those unique class of individuals who brings or have brought a paradigmatic shift to world of academics and commerce, and Gates, Jobs, Plato, Kant are just a few of these unique personalities. Now you have a great day brother.

47. It continues to amaze how anonymous commenters on a blog for the most part feel compelled to waste time degrading every blog with ‘personalizations’. Why not exercise ones knowledge by attacking the issues, or raising issues. It has become so boring and only serves to demotivate the BU household. Some of you would be surprised if you knew who were engaging.

48. 12 out of 47 contributions

49. @ David

Point taken, David.

But this Dompey character has never demonstrated the ability to present anything meaningful to any “discussion” on BU. All he ever brings to BU is a barrage of insults and pejorative remarks, while attempting to make this forum about him.

Are you not concerned about this, David?

50. @Artax

BU is concerned when anybody post shit on the blog but we have to accept it is a forum where we need to welcome the intelligent and the dullards. It is the definition of free.