Hon Dr Esther Byer, Minister of Labour

At a time when our little country which has been slow to recover from the global recession of 2008 should be marshalling all of its resources to the benefit of all, Barbadians and the world have awakened to the news the country remains gripped in industrial action. As if the manmade problems were not enough sargassum seaweed continues to obliterate our coastline and in the process suffocate our tourism product.

The old people have a saying, โ€œwhat you sow, you does reapโ€, the political tinkering, corruption and downright wickedness in high and low places has eroded all trust and integrity from our society. Our inability, although educated at great expense, to resolve our problems with minimum dislocation is an indictment of us all, we should remove the description โ€˜an educated peopleโ€™ from our lexicon.

Barbadians knew last evening minister Esther Byer would not have been able to resolve the issue. However, custom and protocol required we have the meeting when commonsense dictated given the serious of the impasse between the unions led by the NUPW and government, a joint meeting with the Prime Minister and Minister of Labour should have been called.

We have become a nation of JAs!

BU leaves you with the following comment posted by BU commenter St. Georgeโ€™s Dragon:

The common theme in these labour disputes seems to be the employer seeking to lay off staff without declaring the real reason. We all know, not least because the BIDC told us, that they need to make savings, so staff have to go. Others more knowledgeable than me will be able to say what the legal position is but common sense says that in this situation, BIDC should be able to make people redundant and pay them what they are entitled to receive in accordance with the law. Why dress it up as early enforced retirement? If the post no longer exists because there is no money to pay for it, sadly, people have to be sent home.

108 responses to “Industrial Action Escalates in Barbados”

1. We are a nation of laws .laws cannot be adjusted or change to accomodate every grievience.Adults engage!not throw out the baby with the bathe tub to find solutions. The Union haphazard decision as suspicious as it might be also shows an immaturity at the top level via its reckless and knee jerk strategy a strategy which target and punish innocent lives.
    A country like Barbados with limited resources can least afford maddening decisions the type which would leave destruction and the most vulnerable in society to suffer.further more the financial resources that it takes to rebuild and recover can take years/ some of which would be handed over to the next generstion .Does that make sense? when simple dialogue to correct and reform could have been the better way forward towards long term resolution

2. When any two sides refuse to budge/compromise the result will always be chaos. Escalation is an understatement for what will come after other unions move to regain their relevance.

Don’t know why the MoL was sent though. Her track record is horrible in situations like these.

Just observing

3. @Observing

The private sector unions have not even flexed their muscles. It is evident we are at the point where both sides may feel it is too late to retreat from positions taken. In fact, the cry on both sides has been ‘no retreat, no surrender’.

JAs

4. @ac – “The Union’s haphazard decision as suspicious as it might be also shows an immaturity at the top level via its reckless and knee jerk strategy a strategy which target and punish innocent lives”.

What a load of claptrap! The union, to the best of my knowledge, is a collective where the executive discusses and arrives at a decision as if to strike or not to strike. Are you suggesting that the entire executive is lacking in experience, knowledge, age and is endowed only with immaturity? Maybe the old guard that sat idly by while thousands were being disadvantage by this government needed to move on and let younger clearer minds steer a new course. Immaturity makes itself evident at all ages. Case in point? “I won’t inject myself into this matter until invited”! Was that a mature statement in your opinion? Please somebody, give him a needle!!!

5. It’s unfortunate for the country as a whole but I guess everyone has to do what they must. Toss in the fact that NONE of the unions are “friendly” with government (anymore) and you can see we’re in for quite a royal rumble. A solution is rather simple though.

BIDC admits that it erred with the process
    NUPW agrees to seek a legal settlement
    the workers who are happy to go can go
    the workers who want to remain should be allowed until a legal decision is reached, or retain the right to be rehired afterwards
    the “partnership” quickly devises new mechanisms for consultation given the emergence of the ERA.
    the unions continue to flex muscles sensibly

Bear in mind though that EVERY union who marched or is supporting the NUPW have their own agendas and desire for stronger future negotiating positions. The 13 are incidental in the grander scheme of things.

Just observing

6. Who will be most affected by the garbage strike ?

7. The immediate problem we cannot ignore is what now.

The BIDC has advised it will go to court next week, whither phase 3?

8. @David,

Agreed but there is the immediate problem of rotten stinking garbage,rats and vermin and spreading of disease.

9. @Hants, the only difference between then and now is “then”, you didn’t know if they were coming to collect garbage or not. “Now” you know they aren’t! Same rot, same stinking, same rats.

10. “experience”without a navigation tool to guide and direct treacherous water mean nothing but heading for disaster. Yesterday,s debacle which ended with strikers confrontation with police was one such glaring example of lack of immaturity coming from the Top brass of the. NUPW Union whose responsibility was first to the safety of the strikers and should have armed them with all the necessary procedures and safety guidlines that pertains to strikers within the law.Instead of having these strikers react in an unlawful manners in defiance of law.which could have ended with deadly consequences.This is an observation which bloster where the lack of maturity and law can become deadly.

11. That is just a lot of shiite political diatribe and the DLPโ€™s way of trying to attack McDowallโ€™s creditability.

There are instances, on record, where the police were called, as a matter of safety, during strike action organized by the MATURE Sir Roy Trotman of the BWU, and the MATURE Dennis Clarke of the NUPW.

The Transport Board, SSA, Drainage Unit, NHC, NCC, Beautify Barbados, CBC, Psychiatric Hospital and NAB are some of the government organizations that staged industrial action sanctioned by the NUPW, under MATURE Clarke, where police had to be called at some point in time.

So, essentially you are implying that both these esteem mature individuals did not adhere to their responsibility for โ€œthe safety of the strikersโ€ and did not โ€œarm them with all the necessary procedures and safety guidelines that pertain to strikers within the lawโ€ as well.

There is a certain amount of hypocrisy attached to Barbadian politics and exhibited by both political parties. I recall David Thompson saying Owen Arthurโ€™s โ€œhad gone pass his sell by date,โ€ implying he was too old for the job, and this was endorsed by DLP yard-fowls.

Another case is the appointment of Kerri-Ann Ifill and the corn-row hair styled YOUNG DEMOCRAT, Damien Griffith, as DLP senators. The DEMS stoutly defended their appointments, saying the youth needed to be included in leadership roles.

This is what Matthew Farley in an article he wrote on February 14, 2008:

โ€œWhile following the coverage in the Press, my attention was readily drawn to the YOUNGEST SENATOR Damien Griffith. I learned that he is the president of the Young Democrats and Prime Minister David Thompson must be commended for having the foresight to include this young man who I am sure will have a rich future in politics, if this is indeed his choice.โ€

โ€œTHIS COUNTRY HAS NEED OF YOUNG BRIGHT, ENERGETIC AND VISIONARY LEADERS WHOSE CHARGE IT WILL BE TO TAKE THIS COUNTRY INTO THE FUTURE. Let me also say that Senator Kerry-Ann Ifill is also very deserving of her appointment to the legislature.โ€

Essentially, youth or maturity is good or bad, depending on how advantageous or disadvantageous these age groups affect the Democratic Labour Party.

12. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Why is it that time after time, the workers at the SSA are used as cannon fodder,in any dispute in the public sector?

13. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Colonel Buggy July 10, 2015 at 2:18 PM #
    “Why is it that time after time, the workers at the SSA are used as cannon fodder,in any dispute in the public sector?”

Colonel Buggy,
    It is the result of attitude and mental conditioning. When I was a young boy growing up, we were mentally conditioned to view these workers as the lowest of the low. They were not even called workers; they were disdainfully referred to as “scavengers”. Many of them had to endure daily insults, and many suffered injuries and lacerations inflicted as a consequence of handling some of the refuse “put out” by uncaring Barbadians.
    Half a century later, we continue to treat these decent hard-working individuals with contempt, whilst we heap honours and adulation upon handpicked thieves and scumbags.

14. There will be disturbances .However given the response by the strikers whereby they had to seek or gather further information from the Union after the debacle is a ” tell”as to how well they were detailed before they took upon themselves to engage with disruptive actions on the govt property ..disturbances outside and within regulation are known to have taken place during strike action .however the Fact that these strikers broke regulations which governs strike action for safety and the protection of govt property speaks loud an clear towards the immaturity at the NUPW top level which triggered a miscalculation of strike action and a heightened security at the BIDC

15. @ac July 10, 2015 at 8:37 AM The Union haphazard decision…shows an IMMATURITY AT THE TOP LEVEL.

Welcome Toni, welcome Akani. We are proud of you.

There is nothing immature about the leaders of the Barbados Worker’s Union or the National Union of Public Workers. We should be thankful that Barbados has raised up these bright and committed young people who are defending the rights of the working people just like the following young people have in their time defended the rights of the working people

Frank Leslie Walcott, born 16 September 1916 became an active unionist in his mid-twenties.
    Grantley Herbert Adams, born 28 April 1898 was president of the Barbados Workers’ Union when he was 42
    Sarah Ann Gill was 24 when she made the political decision to donate 10 pounds for the building of the first Methodist Church in Barbados.
    Samuel Jackman Prescod, born 1806, began his political work in 1929 when he was 23 or 24.
    Charles Duncan O’Neal began his political work when he was 44.
    Clement Payne was born in 1904 and began his political work when he was 23. In 1937 when Payne was politically active/organizing protests he was 33.
    When Errol Barrow made the political decision to enlist in the Royal Air Force during World War 2, he was 20 years old. He was in his 20’s when he served as Chairman of the League of Colonial Students. He was 31 when first elected to Parliament. Erroll Barrow was 35 when he founded the DLP.
    Hugh Springer was 28 when he became the first General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union
    Bussa. We don’t know how old Bussa was, but very likely he was in his 20’s when he organized a revolt of enslaved people in Barbados.
    Garry Sobers was 17 when he began playing for the West Indies cricket team.

16. Just ask the persons that voted for the “wild boys” if they happy with their choice!
    Can’t be easy being the laughing stock of the Caribbean , but my gut tells me these ignoramuses don’t give a Shite. Shameless Neanderthals the lot of them.
    The Dinosaur running the Central Bank best before date long gone but they renewed the over 70 poser’s contract. These pompous self important degenerates are being laughed at up and down the Caribbean. Nuff said.

17. I recall EWB telling GHA in the House”sit down old man,sit down”.I think that was in the late 60’s

18. Ready to Vote Avatar

This strike has been long overdue. It is a culmination of unfair hiring practices and decisions in the public sector and the country generally.

People have been overlooked for promotions and others have been appointed to positions which they do not deserve and cannot manage. They do not have a clue – they are square pegs in round holes.

-   How could the government, without any explanation, send home persons with 15 years experience at NCC and retain the services of DLP supporters with 2 years experience?

-   How could the Minister of Finance grant lavish tax breaks to millionaire companies like Sandals, Cahill, Preconco and then deny poor Barbadians the tax relief on their registered retirement pension plans, their mortgage interest and Vat-free basket of essentials? 

-   How could a single government minister overload his ministry with over 300 additional employees at a cost of approximately $9,000,000 per year.  Yes 9 million!!!

-   How can a government send home scores of people from the transport board and then employ the minister's relative?

-   How can a government minister say with glee, I am off to Columbia guys, see you when I get back?

-   How can the Prime Minister of a country see a national strike looming and not show some leadership in averting same, even if it meant "injecting" himself into the fray?  

-   How can the Prime Minister be so seemingly unaware of the details of the impasse and why, pray tell me why, is the Minister of Labour not keeping her Prime Minister informed?  

-   I could go on and on.

WHERE THERE IS NO VISION THE PEOPLE PERISH!!! 
              WELL. THEY SUFFER FIRST AND THEN PERISH!!

19. A related observation, has the prime minister of Antigua called PM Stuart a liar regarding the caricom nominees for Commonwealth head?

20. A picture is worth a thousand words ,,Hint the picture of PM Stuart which graces the pages of the local newspaper among his caricom members in true diplomatic style , compared to a Picture of Mia Mottley also in a local newspaper mixed amongst a crowd of disharmonious and misinformed people, Yes a picture is truly worth a thousand years, PM Stuart the Diplomatic,
    MIA Mottley the Antagonist rabble rouser hoisting the banner of mayhem and division….smile or HA! HA!! HA!,

21. ac

He who laughs?

22. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Bajans have “invested ” $70 Millions into buying Government bonds. $40 Millions , we are hearing was taken out of the kitty to pay government bills, ie Tax refunds, Vat refunds, etc. Will the government continue to dip into this lucky dip, decimating severely the amounts left to invest , in assuring bond holders of its promised more lucrative than the commercial banks interest . Are we looking at another National Insurance Service Fund spur road.

23. LOL @ AC
    Imagine Antigua PM Gaston Browne publicly calls Froon a lier and a fraud …IN WRITING hear??!!
    …and he ain’t even bother to wake up…?

Wait…he is some kind of family to you right…?
    Ha ha ha

24. Yesterday actions by the strikers smacked of unbridled “mob rulE against a backdrop of mpnday’s march which attracted reasonable response if one factors in the membership of all Unions combined ;
    The reality of it all shows that the large majority of barbadians would not enter the theater of confusion and uncertainty led by a immature ‘pied piper” with over zealous and blinded ambitions / but bajans would rather take a stance for common sense and allow to be guided by the rule of law to take precedent rather than to take uncertain risks at the expense of self and country.

25. is this the same loud mout guy from antigua who can’t take care of the the little bird in the sky known as Liat .a known disaster under His watch and who is always seeking mouth to mouth resuscitation from barbados taxpayers and govt.to keep the damn thing flying well please well i’ll be dam..some people never learn,,never learn…… not to bite the hand that feeds them .
    in any case people read and know what this tirade is all about…beep beep.

26. ac
    what did you make of the paid advert of the GOCB eating his own words? The Minister of Finance could be an idiot for listen to an idiot.

27. Two clowns in Bay Street and another in the Central Bank,………………..Barbados has really become a circus. A poor one at that!!

28. @ AC
    “is this the same loud mout guy from antigua who canโ€™t take care of the the little bird in the sky known as Liat .a known disaster under His watch…”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Ha ha ha LOL …oh shiite…
    Woman… when your family Froon wakes up to pee or something…see if you can get across to him that HE is the one controlling majority shares in LIAT and therefore under whose ‘watch’ it falls…and that hence the one responsible for its LACK of care….

On second thoughts…it may be best that he don’t INJECT himself into it…judging from the results of previous ‘injections’…

shiite woman….the only word that adequately describes you and your kin is ‘DAFT’….

29. first of all the governor if any one followed his speeches or read his books the governor have said on many occasion that the focus on foreign reserves although necessary for the nations financial security and creditability was not the cure all for tackling the debt and that make sense if the economy is strong enough to stand on its own and has built a foundation for growth as a financial reservoir to supplement and maintain a high level of equity .
    Really i do not know what the bro ha is all about i guess just another story to be spin and turn into a political foot ball by the blp misfits to keep the path of division well oiled. steupse.

30. Deputy Dawg now fuh sure i know u are crazyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy. have you read Caricom law

31. @ac July 10, 2015 at 5:42 PM #

is this the same loud mout guy from antigua who canโ€™t take care of the the little bird in the sky known as Liat .a known disaster under His watch and who is always seeking mouth to mouth resuscitation from barbados taxpayers and govt.to keep the damn thing flying
    ………………………………………………………

If this post from you does not show everyone how stupid you are, I dont know what else would.

Dont you realise that Barbados is the majority shareholder and should be leading from up front?

Look how stupid you and the dems look……………………..the most incompetent tourism minister declares…………we are moving LIAT’s headquarters to Barbados, Antigua says no………..Barbados goes silent…………..now Antigua again says…………..LIAT aint moving. Have we heard a squeak from the PM or the minister?

We were a country well respected and a beacon in the Caribbean, the dems have not only allowed our economy to be downgraded to junk status but for the rest of the region to be laughing at us!

Go ac, go!

32. One thing fuh sure u BLP misfit are real arsonist when it comes to the rule of law u guys would whip up all kinds of uniformed ” put in left out” hop across!! undo redo jobby! to form conclusion and the funny thing it all sounds real only when one gaze underneath the language it all smells the same like sh,iit. look go find that clown mcddodle dandy and play wordsmith with him ain;t got time fuh dat

33. We have a Prime Minister – our so-called “leader” – who refuses to speak or to act proactively, even in the harshest of times.

We have a government which is literally BANKRUPT. I understand that 70% of tax revenue goes to repaying loans, and they have just borrowed ANOTHER US$200 million from the IADB. Loans upon loans, and interest upon interest. Soon Barbados will be in defailt, just like Greece – exceot that we do not have partners with those vast financial reserves to bail us out.

We have a government which has literally ROBBED the NIS Fund – which is composed ot DEDUCTIONS, not taxes, intended for social security such as pensions and benefits – and now has no idea where the money is or how it will be repaid. THIS is why retirement age has been staggered all the way out to 68 years of age (because there is NO MONEY). And you may lay money on it that not a soul will ever be held responsible for the Grand Theft, nor will all that money ever be repaid.

We have a government which has somehow accumulated more than 50% of LIAT and along with the REFUSAL to turn the airline around is now threatening and harassing other governments to pour their money down the gaping cash hole.

We have a government which is effectively BROKE and is firing the lowest paid workers in order to save a large amount of money (without the higher paid “executives” or politicians taking a pay cut).

So, in my opinion, when people are suffering and nobody is listening, then it is time for some coordination and we should shut the island down. Let the yard fowls cry out in pain, that is what they are voluntarily there for – the political benefits and rewards in exchange for a little loyalty to the right politician or party.

Shut it down, we will see which Minister’s garbage gets collected by the scavengers. Shut it down, we will see which Minister’s water is put back on if there is a water mains burst. Shut it down, we will see which Minister’s potholes get fixed.

The politicians play high and mighty when they are in power – BOTH parties – and with those highs must come some lows.

So shut the island down and instigate an election. Let us examine the new party being formed and perhaps offer THEM the opportunity to sweep all of this political garbage and dishonesty away to the dump, to allow a breath of fresh air into the halls of power.

SHUT IT DOWN!!!

It is time our sheeple become people, kick these liars and looters OUT, reach again for our national dignity and the respect which Barbados once had.

34. Colonel Buggy Avatar

ac July 10, 2015 at 5:42 PM.
    Yes, the same ‘loud mouth ” guy who after the CHOG conference has stated that LIAT is staying put in Antigua, injected (he must be a Doctor of nurse ) some $1/2 Million dollars into LIAT, and has called in the Chinese to build the most modern state- of- the- art airport in the Caribbean ,in Antigua.
    And we ain’t hear a word from the biggest shareholder.

35. Put aside politics and recognize that The Prime Minister of Antigua has a problem with Barbados on the whole. The Barbados government is not supporting their nominee full stop, neither is he supporting ours. Can’t be vex with him if he feels that the three PMs on the subcommittee will not suggest his. He admitted that they discuss it but did not send it to the sub committee. They knew he would keep noise anyhow. The point is his nominee will not be nominated. The Antiguan PM had to admit under pressure from the opposition about the wealth he has accumulated. He will not be around too long

36. Regarding the NIS monies borrowed by THIS government – does anyone here remember government borrowing money and ever repaying it to a local fund? If the people of Barbados expect government to repay the extractions from the NIS fund then I know that they also believe in the tooth fairy. Just for conversation sake, has anyone come across any agreement, no matter how loose, of how or when government intends to repay these loans? That should give you an idea of what to expect.

37. strike action took hold on monday by the NUPW ,this action is caused by what many are still asking and the union is undecided or unable to state with reasonable clarity .The mirage of reasons are mind boggling especially when the sound bite chorus states it is not about the ten workers to one of the best i have heard so far “it is about disrespect for Unions world wide” ! Really ! smfh,! well would some body say what it is about? again this kind of flip flopping all over the place point to a flaw in the NUPW leadership style a style that comes across as not having a specific game plan in mind but throws in the kitchen sink for good measure with a lock down on emotion. if the leadership plans or lack of are so misconstrue how can one objectively say that the Union top brasshas a true grasp and understanding of employees /employers act and its application to statutory law which in my opinion would be on the same level as the Union plan of action one of flaws and errors. it is unfortunate that the largest leading Union BWU was so duped to engage or entertain a brash and immature pied piper whom so far has shown by his leadership style to be caustic! uniformed! belligerent (all for the wrong reasons) and lacks the ability to present a “real” plan of action.is this the best Barbados can offer for the future a clueless and uniformed leader without a specific plan of action but one who knows how to break down but have no clue of the danger he has presented for self and country,

38. @ac, maybe he presented his “real plan of action” on the same piece of paper that your anointed presented his/their plan for integrity legislation. Or maybe three members of the union signed off on the strike action in secret without the remainder of executive being aware of what the three chosen had committed them to, ya’ thunk?

39. wow i guess one came out of jenkins yesterday when the hospital was hit by the strike ,one madman calling on the people to Shut DOWN
    SHUTDOWN and why because LIAT . has financial problems, can;t get any worse than this ROFLMAO well OK.

40. @ fear play whatever the NUPW top brass did it sure left the island smelling stink…How is that for a plan of action. first kill the citizens

41. jim lynch i suggest that barbados Shut YOU OUT a,hole one disgruntle Neanderthal who came up with a game plan to save Liat a game plan associated with snake oil salesmen,now ole geezer you already had your so called fifteen minutes of fame and your predictions about liat closing in a year which you said about five years ago would happen have not,,my advice to you ole gezzer is to take your snake oil else where along with your stupid whining and SHUT YOURSELF OUT OF BARBADOS. just do yourself that favour,

42. ac,

The garbage was not being collected before the strike……and you know that.

By the way, who brought up LIAT? Was it not you in your quest to try to tear down the Antigua PM so that you could big up your PM?

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David July 10, 2015 at 4:32 PM
    โ€œA related observation, has the prime minister of Antigua called PM Stuart a liar regarding the caricom nominees for Commonwealth head?โ€

The P M of Antigua & Barbuda is just confirming what has been demonstrated since 2011 by that inept clown posing as a leader. That man has been a total waste of space and has been effectively instrumental in turning Barbados from a beacon of hope for black people and a model of aspiration for developing countries into a wasteland of despair and disappointment.
    Now this is a man who sees himself as the man for the job in leading Barbados into the light of Republicanism but still sees it fit to hold onto the coattail of a system that represents everything monarchical. King Joker of the Land of Hypocrisy he is and will always be.

There is no other classic example of a paradox of a dishonest man who anointed himself the Prince of Integrity.
    Both Prodigal Son and I were warning you guys for some time now about the incompetence and hypocritical arrogance of the joker running things in your country.
    Just show one act of that puny incompetent that could dispute the assertion that Fumble is a big blasted liar of the highest order. He is just a withering blight and a black curse on your once โ€˜fairโ€™ land.
    Get rid of him and you would see how things could just change.

44. prodigal you idiot and a big mout bearer of false truth NO imbecile i did not mention LIAT first just go flush ur self and leave ac alone

45. there is a saying image is everything , well i hope some of the blp yardfowls dispatch this message with quickness to mia mottley in lieu of the Fact she did not have the present of mind to stay away from matters that pertain to the dismantling and upheaval of the country, sure not Mia would not want history to present her image as one of a “sister soldier ” moment clinched fist and ready to do harm against the very system that gave her special privilege to the legal bar, surely she would preffered to see an image of a person who speaks to truth by way of definition and not be one prone to casting lies and dispensing deceit in yhe name of

46. Artax

I think that it is crystal clear that Barbados is in want of the kind of leader who stands aloof of stereotypical-orthodoxy. This fact is well known and therefore needs no further magnification as you seem to concluded. How many times have we heard this fact echoed, spewed and parroted from the perennial-lips of the utopian-ideologues, whose facile demagoguery doesn’t take root with the majority?

47. @Hants

This is what happens when a society becomes politically polarized:

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/07/10/an-eye-sore/

This is what happens when a high level of distrust exist between key stakeholders in civil society. There is no cohesion in Barbados, it seems every week there is an issue to resolve. And the political directorate is always so garrulous. A 24/7 fractious government.

48. @David,

There is a problem with leadership. A strong leader has to step up in difficult situations.

The only reason to “shut down Barbados” is if the intent is to remove the government.

A garbage strike during crop over is lunacy.

49. @Hants

It is many things and that too. Even at this stage of national crisis to read some of the comments here and elsewhere is unbelievable. We are giving good reason to being called third world.

50. Clearly the circus is in town

The BIDC sends home persons, then says they will go to court to find out if they acted correctly.

The NUPW says that the courts will have to decide, then says that they are not backing down and moving onto phase three despite being willing to wait on a legal opinion.

A Minister of Labour spends 2 days and 12 hours with these people only to realise that the germane issue was what we always knew it was from day one. Duh.

Both sides trump the Social Partnership and shout about protocols, yet behave like bulls in a plywood china shop.

A clause in a law that is as clear as day has led to trained, educated big hard back senior civil servants acting worse than my three grandchildren fighting to lick the cake mix bowl.

Lord, come fa ya world.

Recent Scorecard

BSTU and SBAs/Broome/CXC -> Fail

BUT and appointments/Broomes/Alma Parris -> Fail

NUPW and the 3,000 / “the list” / NCC / Last In First Out -> Fail

BWU and the 3,000 / Lime apology/ Light and Power -> Fail

Trade Unions in Barbados generally -> Epic fail

These actions have absolutely nothing to do with the 13. Hants is correct. A shut down now would serve only one purpose.

Just observing