Stephen Lashley, Minister of Culture

Two significant positions on gay rights and marriage have been restated by Barbadosโ€™ Minister Stephen Lashley and Republican 2016 presidential hopeful Ben Carson. In todayโ€™s environment it requires โ€˜ballsโ€™ to offer an anti gay position.

Lashley expressed the view he does not embrace [โ€ฆ] gay marriage and he wonders why Barbadians have allowed themselves to become soft on the issue because of international discussions and court rulings.  Whether one agrees with the minister, it is refreshing to have the view of a member of the Stuart government on record regarding any issue, especially one so contentious.

Away from home Republican candidate Ben Carson has stirred the hornetโ€™s nest by indicating during a Fox News interview that any comparison of the civil rights movement to the gay rights movement left him โ€œa little bit irritatedโ€. It is evident Ben Carson by making such a declaration – probably influenced by his static poll numbers โ€“ has surrendered any ambition to be president of the United States.

It is an open secret the BU household has relentlessly pursued the issue of homosexuality. It is one discussed behind closed doors unlike what obtains in developed countries. Some like to suggest Barbadians are homophobic, therefore when we observe the issue of homosexuality and gay rights making the rounds in the developed world, it exposes the criticism for what it is.

117 responses to “Anti-Gay Rights View Held by Prominent Persons”

1. I think we all can agree that Ben Carson’s position on gay marriage is nonetheless influenced in some respect by the Republican Party core principles. But what a lot people do not know about Ben Carson is the fact that he is a devout Seventh Day Adventist, and his position on gay marriage is no doubt influenced in some large measure by his religious convictions.

2. ha! HA! smart move by Stephen lashley ,What does he have to lose in an environment and society well know for anti gay sentiments,

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Let’s not fool ourselves the anti-gay marriage stance taken by the DLP is a ploy to play on the well known Barbadian abhorrence to homosexuality. In so doing, they believe that they would be victorious at the next elections. They believe rightly or wrongly that as unpopular as they are that Barbadians would return them to office because the vast majority of the electorate would not want someone who is perceived to be gay to become the next prime minister.

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2015 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS,DLP AND BLP MUST GO VOTE CUP Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2015 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS,DLP AND BLP MUST GO VOTE CUP

We already have a Gay Prime Minister,Mia Will not be the next Gay Prime Minister

5. The minister can voice his opposition to same-sex-marriage all he wishes, but his position and the position of a backward thinking of a nation still doesn’t change the fact that the world is steadily moving progessively towards the acceptance of same-sex-marriage. I wonder what the minister thinks about the Pope’s position or rather comments regarding same-sex-marriage? I am not a big fan of same-sex-marriage, but that doesn’t go without saying that I do believe that two consenting adults ought able to live their lives as their see fit. And no church or governmental institution ought be able to enforce their moral values upon such union.

6. @Caswell

Therefore you agree it will be a good political and strategic ploy? We know the politician in Barbados is about stoking popularity and little or nothing to do with standing for principle,

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I agree. Mind you, Lashley and Lowe started, the rest will follow as it gets closer to elections then we will hear of biting and beatings as well. Mark my words.

8. @Caswell

You are a man on the streets of Barbados who rub shoulders and have conversations – how do you anticipate the average Bajan voter will respond?

9. The unanimous referendum vote on Same-Sex-Union in Ireland quite recently has forced the Church as one member of the leading Church of Ireland has put: to reconsider its position on gay and lesbian marriage. Because the of changing attitude amongst the young people in a country that was once thought of as very religious. The majority of the young people in America and I am quite sure elsewhere in the developed world, shares the same sentiments on Same-Sex-marriage, as the young people in Ireland have shown quite recently.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If we start seeing green shoots in the economy and the unemployment rate starts to fall, the BLP will be in opposition once again because of this perception of being too gay friendly, which will be seen as corrupting.

11. Thanks Caswell, the is our view as well. Again the issues will not be about the economy, or governance, or a vision of the future, it will be about lifestyles. Does anyone believe this is why Arthur has been very aggressive on the issue of MAM leading the party?

12. Ha HA! another masterful power play If the Dem choose to use the anti gay agenda,Love it ! one that would force th BLP to unbite their tongues on the gay rights issues ,, Ha HA! licks like peas, It would be interesting listening to Wickham using his radio program to convince his BLP following to change their anti gay stance,
    But why am i laughing?

13. I do not as Caswell has hypothesized believe that: the majority of the Barbadian electorate wouldn’t want/wish someone who is perceived to be gay to become prime minister. What Caswell has failed to take into his analytical account of the electorate attitude towards gay marriage in Barbados, is the changing attitude amongst the younger voters in Barbados regarding this lifestyle. Who I would assume accounts for the majority of the electorate there. I live in one of most conservative states in the States, and yet we have been able elected an openly gay mayor who is actually married to a man; in a major city of this country. Now, bearing in mind that the middle-age and older electorate do not support gay unions in this state, so tell me who has elected this man? Has Caswell conducted a random-survey amongst the Barbadian youth to ascertain their position on Same-Sex-Unions?

14. @Caswell

The elephant in the room will be two: the extent to which a marginalized middleclass feel threatened AND the buying of votes.

15. Dompey no need for a survey amongst the barbadian youth about same sex unions….there must be some reason they keep doing things so they can go back to jail.

16. It seems as though we have a regular on spin-doctor on BU these days, who is spinning his irrational-fears and ill-concieved hypotheses, as though we are not capable of concluding for ourselves? Mark his words as though he has transcending-clairvoyance.

17. Caswell, who was instrumental in President Obama’s election and reelection bids? Certainly, not the middle age Americans? It was the younger Americans papa; and it will be the younger Barbadians who will ultimately decide the issue of Same-sex-Marriage in Barbados.

18. @ Caswell
    Boss…. people are so fed up with AC and her assortment of Froons and demons that if Lawson ran for Parliament now he would get elected…
    …better the devil you know than some retarded idiot that promised much and turns out to be an ass….

Having said that, if Mia is the best that the BLP can put forward …then Barbados DESERVES the Hobson’s choice options that we have…

@ Exclaimer
    Your pronouncements earlier on another blog are accurate to a T.
    Our problem lies in the endemic wickedness fuelled by greed that permeates the whole society…
    It is BECAUSE of this underlying wickedness that the minds of so many are ‘given over’ to the unnatural nastiness that is called ‘gay’.
    If we choose to piss and shiite all over our house …how can we now complain about being unable to find a clean sheet on which to sleep comfortably….?

19. And here is my final point for the morning, as it relates to the issue of gay marriage: I know that it is difficult for some of our old fogies to come to terms with this reality, but the young people of today are much more tolerant and open to change, unlike or generation and former generations. I have four young individuals at home, who continually, reminds as well as redirects me to this changing attitude. And as a conscientious parent: I have be receptive to what their are trying to convey to me, unlike our parents generation who would have viewed such actions as disrespectful.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

One wonders what the same closet homosexual ministers, both prime and the one responsible for family affairs are going to say when a few British gays and lesbians choose Barbados as an ideal location to consummate their love for ‘each other’ and the British High Commissioner is requested to officiate at the paid ceremony at the official residence as recently took place in the Seychelles.

Would the hotel staff and service providers around the Island refuse to serve these openly gay legally married couples? Or would these Christian fundamentalist black Bajans worshipping a white god that have them as his slaves take their foreign money and snigger behind the backs of โ€˜demโ€™ British bullers and wickers?

Would hypocritical Bajans object to these ‘marriages’? Imagine a country where the majority of babies are born out of ‘wedlock’ the residents have the hypocritical guts to object to two adults being together in the name of love by way of a civil marriage.

For over 200 years black people in Barbados were not allowed to marry but yet children were conceived.
    Why are these modern descendants of those victimized illegitimate children so much against granting to 10% of the population the right to live and let live?
    No wonder some people believe blacks are inherently intellectually backward and ought to be kept in their cocoon of stupidity for the good of themselves as genetically determined slaves.

21. Let’s hope Dr. Ben Carson runs for president.

Yeah, Barbados land of hypocrisy where most of the males are closet gays and a great deal of the females are lesbians and those are the ones who are most vocal about people who are free-minded enough to say, yes, I am gay…….it must be real hard not to be able to openly express your sexuality, no wonder stress levels are so high.

The Bushman said:

Bush Tea June 13, 2015 at 8:29 AM #
    “@ Caswell
    Bossโ€ฆ. people are so fed up with AC and her assortment of Froons and demons that if Lawson ran for Parliament now he would get electedโ€ฆ
    โ€ฆbetter the devil you know than some retarded idiot that promised much and turns out to be an assโ€ฆ.”

lol, lol…….

22. What caused the Minister to express his views on the subject? Was he asked a direct question or did he blurt out his view apropos of nothing? Is the Minister against gays in general or is the Minister against gay marriage? Is there a clamour for gay marriage in Barbados? Why should his views on gay lifestyle matter? Aha! He is the Minister of Culture and when he speaks in a public forum his views and his position should be is viewed as compatible with the Cabinet and Govโ€™t of Barbados so we can view his announcement as Govโ€™t policy. That has consequences for the people and Govโ€™t of Barbados, when other more powerful Govโ€™ts decide that they will limit their business with Barbados because of Govโ€™t policy towards the homosexual community it will force the Govโ€™t of Barbados to eat crow and publicly retreat from the mouthings of a Minister as the Barbados Govโ€™t is not nor will it be in any position of strength now or in the foreseeable future. He may also find that his interactions with his peers from other countries may be brief or non -existent as they have their own constituencies to consider and they may be loath to do business with someone who is perceived to be a homophobe.

All this from a country that has tourism as its lifeblood but what do I know, I just read that some company is exploring for offshore oil (again)so the Minister may know something that I donโ€™t perhaps Oil will be replacing tourism in the near future so potential visitors with same sex partners can take a hike.

23. Bushie wrote ” if Lawson ran for Parliament now he would get elected”

So wha bout me Bushie? Yuh mean If I come back an run I could get elected?

Yuh just gih me a idea. I would mek you campaign manager, hire Miller an Onions consultants an split de “profits” equally. lol

Was going to include Caswell but he too damn honest. lol

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant June 13, 2015 at 9:54 AM

Totally agree with you, Sarge.
    What a bunch of politically myopic buffoons! Really can’t understand how nincompoops like the same Minister of Culture & Family can consider himself an university graduate interacting internationally with educated and enlightened people.
    He will soon be made to eat humble pie.

As for the oil off Barbados you can forget about that pie-in-the-sky proposal.
    Guyana has discovered millions of high quality crude oil reserves.
    Now which one would the market be interested in? A few barrels of โ€˜difficult-to-drillโ€™ heavy crude off a coral atoll only good for heavy fuels and bitumen or millions of light sweet crude of the known โ€˜Venezuelanโ€™ variety?

25. @ Hants
    …a red man like you..and from HC too besides…?
    Skippa, if you had run instead of Owen you would still be PM all like now so…
    …especially with your ability to fish,talk shiite and delegate work…. ๐Ÿ™‚

@ Dompey
    Yuh damn LIAR….!!!

26. @Sargeant,

Your comment has merit. Canada is an example that does not tolerate “anti-gay”

The Premier of Ontario is overtly lesbian and married to a woman.

27. The Canadians keep coming. BU will have lots to discuss. Cahill, Ridley and more

“Ridley Energy Group Inc. (REGI) is a Canadian company incorporated in January 2011 to pursue the construction and operation of a full scale production waste-to-energy (WTE) facility in Barbados, W. I. and other island nations within the Caribbean Basin.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants June 13, 2015 at 10:39 AM

Hants, does that imply Barbados could soon have two WTE plants in the making? LOL!!

Where would all this garbage to burn come from? The sargassum seaweed or an additional crematorium in the making?

Bunch of jokers in the Cabinet, I say!

29. dompey the reason that the young people today are more tolerant and open to change is after the present govt shoving things up their ass and down their throats for the last bunch of years they are probably are just used to it. BT do you have to be a citizen or melanin rich to run for office, or can a cloven hoofed white dogan have a chance of election

30. The Christian Community do not hate the person or persons who are gay, Jesus died for all sinners, which I am chief sinner, but if we confess our sins He is Faithful & Just to forgive us and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. We are totally against this life style becoming law in Barbados & The Caribbean, and forcing the Church to marry them. They want to live like that we have never stopped them, but marriage is between a man & a woman God”s law. Read your BIBLE people and see how people are destroyed for these types of action. Peace & Love with you all.

31. Forgive me if I am wrong, but I was under the impression that the number of homosexuals in Barbados was higher than elsewhere, if we lump homosexuals, bisexuals, and tran-sexuals together. Where do we get such statistics???

32. @millertheanunnaki,

They will only be processing Organic waste. Seems like a great concept. Just don’t understand why Rich Bajans can’t do what these Canucks are doing.

http://www.ridleyenergygroupinc.ca/

33. Ottawa just cancelled its new plaxico garbage plant …why

34. look the govt does not have to dig dirt in reference to any one lifestyle but a perception in the minds of bajans is as good as a Fact giving the accuser no other choice but to correct.

Bush shite u tired of ac…love it like rubbing salt in yuh eye.ole fart.

35. Miller/Hants

from Ridley website

About

Ridley Energy Group Inc. (REGI) is a Start Up Canadian Company with its head office located in St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada. It is a family owned company with the major shareholders being David Ridley (50%) and Kevin Ridley (25%). The remaining shareholders are two other family members; Christopher Ridley (brother) and Matthew Ridley (Davidโ€™s son) who together own 15% and two family friends who own the remaining 10% of the company.

Our Assets

REGIโ€™s assets are our people and our relationships with our technology provider BCS and our builder of the WTE facilities State Group Inc.. David and Kevin Ridley have developed relationships with various Consultants and Agents in Canada and Barbados that have connections to various waste providers and Governments within the Caribbean Basin. REGI has the support of the Government of Barbados which is very much in favor of REGI treating the organic waste on the island to create โ€œGreen Electricityโ€ and fertilizer.

REGI has established a formal relationship with The State Group Inc. (State) of Mississauga, Ontario, Canada to construct and operate the WTE facility in Barbados and other installations throughout the Caribbean, an area in which they have acquired significant construction experience. Please visit them at The State Group for further information on this company.

A Start Up Company whose assets are its people and relationships.

Sounds like they have about as much substance as Cahill.

And they are going to build a $100 million WTE plant!!!!

36. @Due Diligence, ” our people and our relationships”

Nothing wrong with these Canadians using their intelligence to create a company to provide an “opportunity” for their “Investors.”

Barbados is a land of opportunity. Ask Bushie ?

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ due Diligence

You and the group of you divisive people who gots enough sense to do a google search of the Internet and find out the bonfires of these charlatans MUST GET BANNED FROM Barbados Underground

You mean to tell me that the Minister is such a scvnt that he and in grunt Sinkliar remove one Cahill Scam Artist and replace them with a group whose recursive technology endorsement on their website is an endorsement BY THE SAME IGRUNT BEATCHES THAT THEY ARE GOING TO WORK FOR?

No say it ent so!!!

Bajans CANT BE SO FVC$ing Stupid

You got to be lying and you gotta get ban!!!

38. @pieceuhderockyeahright,

The Cahill wte plan and the ridley plan are different.

They are both viable and would work in Trinidad or Jamaica.

39. Just Asking

I do believe that the advocates in the gay and lesbian community are asking for the same rights regarding marriage as the heterosexual couples. Those rights which are protected by the state such as: end of life decisions, rights concerning estate, and power of attorney rights etc. And that stamped given by the state would obviously ensure such rights, if not gay and lesbian couples are left powerless as far as making the critical decisions for their partners goes. Just Asking, this you ought know: there is a high WALL between CHURCH and STATE, and it seems as though you’re endeavouring to apply religious morality to secular government here? Now here in America as you probably well know, the only reason most if not all of the religious institutions are complying with the federal government mandate to wed gay couples, is because their do not want to lose their TAX-EXEMPT. Listen! No peice if federal or state legislation can implore or compel religious institutions here in the America to wed gay couples. Religious institutions here are afraid to lose their TAX-EMEMPT, of which the federal government has already threatened to do if religious institutions do not comply.

40. @ Pieceuhderock
    “….Bajans CANT BE SO FVC$ing Stupid”
    LOL ….you play that you ent know…!!
    …even by brass bowl standards…boss.

AC running things ’bout here.

41. So this does not go without saying that most if not all of the religious institutions here in the States, are compromising their religious convictions for the ALMIGHTY-DOLLAR.

42. Do not and will not support ex-neurosurgeon Benjamin Carson NOW 2016 United States presidential hopeful. Think he, Carson is just a republican party puppet as was Herman Cain. Think he will do as did Herman Cain, shut up and get out of the race. He, Carson will move on out of Hilary Clintonโ€™s way. I think so and surely hope so.

Now about gay rights/civil rights matter, they are not equally the same. Civil Rights in the 1960โ€™s was a movement fighting to saturate itself. Gay rights has already saturated itself and without putting up a fight. At moment 37 states and the district of Columbia allow gay marriage. The gay/lesbian group carried out a march on Washington (April 1993) as did Civil Right leaders (August 1963). We will forever and always remember the 09/1963 march on Washington and that famous speech โ€œI have a Dreamโ€ delivered by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. What, what do we remember about the 04/1993 gay/lesbian march on Washington or do we care. Dr. Carson does not accept gay/lesbians, so what neither do I.

President Obama you may recall did not attend the 2014 winter Olympics in Russia but sent two openly gay United States atheletics to represent the country, one was tennis great, Billie Jean King and the other hockey player, Caitlin Cahow. Obama was well aware of the Russian gay law signed by Putin (June 2013) but knew what he was doing. He sent to Russia two openly gay individuals and a message to Putin. Both Obama and Clinton could better handle Putin than Carson.

43. Correction, the 1963 March on Washington was during the month of August not September

44. PODRYR

Don’t be such a doubter

Here is some more from Ridley website

Our Mission

REGI’s mission is to help clean up the Caribbean islands by treating organic waste in Anaerobic digesters to create “Green Electricity” and fertilizer throughout the Caribbean. Many of the island nations have landfills that are at capacity and organic waste is disposed of in environmentally unsound fashion and on some of the islands the disposal methods are very harmful to the environment. REGI has the technology and the means to deal with this situation and will build its first WTE facilty on the island of Barbados.

So there you have it.

Two guys from Canada are going to help clean up, not just Barbados, but the Caribbean islands by treating organic waste in Anaerobic digesters to create “Green Electricity” and fertilizer throughout the Caribbean.

Surely, they must have the investors lined up for the $100 million.

45. This government is more comically embarassing than two dogs fooping in the road “dat get stick”.Mister Lashley should worry about why this year’s Crop Over seem rather low keyed and possibly headed for colossal failure.

46. Detailed historic research, over all ancient societies, NOT by Christians, but by sociologist, anthropologist, economists, etc, show emphatically that whenever any civilization deviated from the God-ordained monogamous unions of man/woman marriages, it was only a matter of a few generations before every aspect of a healthy, vibrant society disintegrated piece by piece!

“Over the past three years, Americans have been witness to vicious media assaults on any group or business that goes against the politically-correct position on same sex-marriage and the gay agenda. Chick- Fil-A and Duck Dynastyโ€™s Phil Robertson immediately come to mind; however, there have been other instances of state intervention against private businesses refusing to sell wedding cakes to same-sex couples as well.”

“To put it simply, there is an obvious effort on the part of the left to demonize anyone who disagrees with the homosexual agenda and the argument being used is that disagreement with their ideals equates to hatred and bigotry. (I have written other articles describing the tactics employed by the radical homosexual lobby, โ€œChild Sexual Abuse and the Repeal of Age of Consent Lawsโ€ and โ€œSexualizing your Children through Values Clarification Educationโ€ which can be viewed here http://radicalconservativerisso.blogspot.com/2013/12/sexualizing-your-children-with-value.html and here http://radicalconservativerisso.blogspot.com/2013/12/child-sexual-abuse-and-repealing-of-age.html

“These are essentially the same type of civil rights tactics employed in the 1960โ€™s, and looking at how much progress has been made in gaining acceptance of homosexuality, it can be argued they are very successful strategies.”

“As the battle against political correctness and the gay agenda continues, it should be noted that this is a fight that is occurring on a global scale as well. The New American is reporting on a story from Italy where the media has been exposed as forcing journalists to report on the gay lifestyle in a positive light or perhaps face consequences as harsh as jail time.” ”

“What is most significant about this development is the fact that these mandates are coming from the superior European Union governing structure; they are being forced onto Italyโ€™s government from a U.N. type global governing body. The Italian government is not taking this lightly and in fact, like many people in America, the parliament are calling the homosexual agenda out for what it is, a fascistic, dictatorial type movement where any disagreement or opposition must be eliminated. That would all be done in the name of fairness, of course. The article can be read here.”

http://thenewamerican.com/world-news/europe/item/17299-citing-eu-italy-orders-journalists-to-promote-homosexual-agenda

Read more at http://patriotupdate.com/articles/exposing-global-efforts-behind-homosexual-agenda/

47. The ultimate and most all-encompassing goal of the gay agenda is to force our society to fully accept their lifestyle as morally, socially, and religiously equivalent to the heterosexual lifestyle. This goal is for not only acceptance, but also affirmation and celebration of homosexual behavior as normal, natural, healthy and desirable (11, 13, 14). This is what the homosexual movement is really all about. The traditional civic virtue of tolerance is being replaced with a new ethic requiring approval and endorsement of homosexuality (11).

The following action points of the gay agenda are not โ€œstraw menโ€ trumped up by anti-gay evangelical Christians. Rather, they are taken from published statements by homosexual apologists themselves and are abundantly evident in news reports, both past and contemporary (see 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13):

Government encouragement, support and even requirement of sex education courses, prepared and taught by homosexual women and men, presenting homosexuality โ€” and homosexual sex acts โ€” as a valid, healthy preference and lifestyle and a viable alternative to heterosexuality (for a recent summary of the queering of sex education in America, click HERE, and for a blatant admission that gay activists want to indoctrinate your kids, click HERE). This is where your children are taught details about homosexual sex acts and forced to commit them. (See 12, 20 and 21);
    http://www.ipost.christianpost.com

48. I suppose it can be argued with much conviction that the international debate regarding Same-Sex-Marriage, pivots on two polar planes. The first argument in support of Same-Sex-Marriage rest upon irreligious grounds. While the second argument in opposition to Same-Sex-Marriage is predicated on religious grounds.

Now, we can argue with much sustainability and comprehensiveness that those of us who have been westernized under the indoctrination of the Judeo- Christian-Ethics, would find it less difficult to be affronted by two males, or two females cohabiting intimately in any given society. Because of course, it goes against all that we have been taught to believe regarding a relationship between a male and female or/and two females or two males.

But if we consider Papua New Guinea, where several tribes have cohabiting in homosexual-relationships for centuries, we would argue that these people are still enveloped in superstition and primitive ritualism because their have yet been enlightened by the teachings of the Judeo-Christian-Religion. A corpus of religious belief which frowns upon the homosexual practice because such practice is deemed sinful and morally- reprehensive by this system of belief.

And finally, here is my take as follow: if there is a high fence erected between Church and State, and the fundamental responsibility of the state is to address the needs and concerns of citizenry, within reasonable boundaries of course. Then why is the state pussyfooting when it comes granting its gay and lesbian citizenry what it desires? Providing of course that the citizens desires do not harm and endanger others, and then let God do all of the judging and punishing. Since man has been allotted Free-Will between his desires of Good and Evil, with Grace to fall back on at the realization of his sin.

49. There are valid reasons why gay and lesbian people are asking for the state recognition regardig same-sex-marriage. And state has yet to demonstrate in clear and convicting terms, why two consenting individuals of sound mind cannot wed. Since that high wall of separation between church and state does exist; state ought not apply a divine standard of judgment in its final determination on the issue on gay and lesbian marriage. The issue of same-sex-marriage has little to do with my religious convictions, and more to do with the personal autonomy of two consenting individuals who are asking the state to recognition a relationship which can leave some gay and lesbian people powerless because of the preexisting laws on the books.