Jameca Falconer, PhD Receives Fulbright Award to Train at UWI,Cave Hill

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Jameca Falconer, PhD

Date: Telephone: 314-800-4215
Jameca Falconer, PhD Director for Counseling and Psychological Services at Logan University

Jameca Falconer, PhD Director for Counseling and Psychological Services at Logan University in St. Louis Missouri has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant in Public/Global Health to lecture and train at University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus in Barbados during the 2015 academic year. The United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board recently made the announcement. Dr. Falconer will be in Wanstead from June 15th thru July 17th. Falconer will conduct training for faculty, students, community members and community health workers in Barbados to meet the behavioral health and primary care needs of the community. The Mental Health Commission of Barbados indicates that their mission is to heighten public awareness and increase sensitivity to the various issues affecting persons suffering from mental health issues. Thus, this project is appropriate and necessary in order to provide additional training and education in Barbados.

Dr. Jameca W. Falconer is an accomplished Counseling psychologist, educator, entrepreneur, and civic leader. As an expert in family dynamics and transformation, Dr. Falconer is the author of “Baby Daddy Disorder: Solutions for Change.” In the wake of the racial conflict that has emerged in this post racial era, it is important to examine factors that can be strengthened within Black families. In Baby Daddy Disorder, Falconer taps into her years of clinical experience to outline elements that contribute to a lack of parental involvement for Black fathers. Falconer also highlights strategies to repair this dilemma.

Falconer is a dynamic speaker with a unique perspective on the topic of race, diversity and community intervention. As a psychologist, scholar, author, and activist for social justice, Falconer has been involved in breakthrough conversations about race, diversity and women’s issues and has been a leader in the efforts to bring healing to the city of Ferguson Missouri. Dr. Falconer has delivered keynote addresses, conducted workshops, and delivered papers at more than 100 conferences. She was recently a keynote speaker at the 2015 National Multicultural Conference and Summit.

Dr. Falconer engages with audiences through teaching and speaking at colleges and corporate campuses, blogging, social media, contributing to magazines, newspapers and academic journals, and appearing on news and radio programs. Her vision: To educate, empower, and inspire a generation of leaders to advocate for inclusion and fairness for people of all backgrounds.

The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, a division of the Institute of International Education. Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and many other fields. Fifty-three Fulbright alumni from 12 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 78 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes.

For further information about scheduling an interview or meeting with Dr. Falconer (from June 15th thru July 17th) , please call 314-800-4215 or email at dr.jameca@gmail.com.

Check out my blog
Keep away from those who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you believe that you too can become great.
—Mark Twain

photo
Jameca Falconer
Licensed Psychologist, Emergence Psychological Services

314-502-9256 || 314-800-4215 || dr.jameca@gmail.com || http://emergencepsychologicalservices.com/

56 thoughts on “Jameca Falconer, PhD Receives Fulbright Award to Train at UWI,Cave Hill

1. An outsider with new ideas, zest and observational skills. Good luck to her. She will need it in a country that coined the phrase “hard ears”.

2. Well, her findings should include post-slavery syndrome. And that will be validated by the mouthings of Hilary Beckles. Mouthings which seek to connect slavery to current HBP/Diabetes/heart ailments and so on.

As a psychologist she will certainly know about the work of Dr. Welsing. Welsing found that the mental state of White people represents the corollary/causation of what suffers Blacks.

In her review of the literature, she may want to read the UN study about crypto-racism in Barbados and connect such to mental health.

Above all, respondents will provide fertile ground for representative samples. Samples which, however selective, will look like the Bajan population. Denialism and the containerization of people with perceived mental illnesses to Black Rock will be difficult to defeat.

Above all, if Dr. Falconer could break new ground in Barbados and come up with a methodology to prove the existence of ANY mental illness, meaning repeatable tests, she would put our fair land on the global map of psychiatry/psychology. For nothing, no diagnosis, in field can be proved by testing!

We hope that as a psychologist and a member of the American Psychological Association (APA) she is not a supporter of the TORTURE procedures employed at Guantanamo Bay on detainees by its members. That work harkens back to Dr. Mengele, of the Third Reich, and continues apace currently.

We hope the assholes at the UWI understand these critical issues and have taken measure to make sure they will not unduly expose Bajans to harm from people who have betrayed the American people generally and in particular are the agents for drug companies as they prescribe all types of psychotropic substance to people, including children, for many made-up diseases. Diseases which now find themselves in the PDR. For example, ‘disruptive behaviour’ is now seen as a mental illness, ADHD, and other unprovable conditions, all to help drug companies make money, And a wicked government to further control a population.

At the end we will all see that madness is gladness! LOL

Maybe, this is too much to ask for, we’ve never gotten the impression that the Brass Bowls at Cave Hill are punctilious in these matters. They will be too happy for the PR value of this charade.

May Pachamama help Barbados!

3. I am of the opinion that in my lifetime there are some Barbadian patriots who stand tall as worthy examples of outstanding leadership skills and among that number I include Hilary Beckles.

4. @ Gabriel

A real angel will know that it is always mistaken to lionize anybody. But still this Gabriel , who is no Archangel, could not be dissuaded from seeking out people as leaders, heroes, heroines, is useless. It is sickness our folks have, always want some leader when the real Leader is inside of all of us, Hopi is right. That mindset is destined to deliver only disappointment.

5. Interesting development!

On the other hand, anyone else heard or saw the advertisement a couple days ago about our National Development Scholarships in which it was explicitly stated that UWI programmes were excluded and that only overseas programmes were eligible.

Looks like this Fulbright scholarship, a very prestigious one, btw, emphasizes the flaws in that policy by our Government.

6. All of this just compounds why scholars from Barbados know to shun Barbados, give them a wide birth.

I wish this young lady all the luck in the world and may she leave the island just as sane as she entered it with all her enthusiasm intact.

7. Well Well

You ought not be a stick in the mud regarding Dr. Falconer’s unflinching pursuit to throw clear light on the topic of mental-illness which is of paramount-importance to the people of Barbados at this juncture. Now I am cognizant of the fact that you meant no harm by the expression of your untimely comment, and I therefore, hope that you aren’t piqued neither affronted by my observation? Let’s face it though: Dr. Falconer obviously believes in the efficacy of her efforts, for even considering this momentus task, and for that reason we ought to extend to her our supportive-presence.

8. @are-we-there-yet June 9, 2015 at 9:49 AM “Interesting development! On the other hand, anyone else heard or saw the advertisement a couple days ago about our National Development Scholarships in which it was explicitly stated that UWI programmes were excluded and that only overseas programmes were eligible. Looks like this Fulbright scholarship, a very prestigious one, btw, emphasizes the flaws in that policy by our Government.”

The Fulbright schlarships are 2 way exchanges and have been administered for more than 60 years. Barbados and UWI has long sent Fulbright scholars to the U.S, and has received U.S. Fulbright scholars. If the Barbados government has excluded UWI feom National Development scholarships it has nothing to do with the quality of education at UWI, but rather the Barbados government wants to promote and participate in international exchanges.

International exchanges are good. No man is an island. And actually no island is an island either if you understand what I mean.

LOL!!!!!!!!

Welcome Dr. Falconer. We wish you well.

9. @David “This report makes the link between mental illness and creativity.”

I have a “problem”. lol

10. @Well Well June 9, 2015 at 11:18 AM “All of this just compounds why scholars from Barbados know to shun Barbados.”

No need to shun UWI and or Barbadian scholars.

The best Barbadian scholars/the best of UWI’s scholars can hold their own with the world’s best.

Of course in any class of 100 people there will be some people at the top of the class and some at the bottom, and of course we understand that those at the top are better at “X” than those a the bottom, and this is the same regardless of where the university is located.

And I say this even though I am not a UWI alum.

Sometimes we spend too much time putting down our own institutions. We should al ask ourselves. Would we be better off with UWI or without UWI?

11. are-we… at 9:49 AM re National Development Scholarships, your interpretation is a bit askew good sir. Simple Simone’s interpretation is more along the accurate path.

Barbados is very small and it is crucial that our graduate studies students, the future wonts, analysts and leaders incorporate different perspectives to what is found on island.

Banning UWI as a choice is not an indictment on their quality but rather a frank acceptance that studying externally is an awesome opportunity to expand horizons tremendously.

This is a good thing. We should applaud this foresight.

12. Hear, hear Simple Simon, “Sometimes we spend too much time putting down our own institutions”

As a non UWI grad also but with several friends and fam members who attended I know the quality is first rate. If you get 1st class there you can compare to any Summa Cum Laude at US universities.

Similarly a Summa grad at Rutgers in New Jersey or Texas A &M or other less prestigious colleges in US will feel no less worthy of his scholarship as a Summa grad at Harvard or Standford.

They like a UWI grad will have a far lower student loan debt though.

And of course the Harvard grad will likely be offered the higher salary when they all initiate their employment journey. But five years after there is every reason to believe that any one those honours graduates would all on par on their career ascendency.

As you said, if you good, yah good…regardless of where you start out.

13. Simple Simon and Ingrunt Word;

With all due respect, I have nothing against Barbados’ National Development Scholarships being designed to allow Scholars to develop their skills at Overseas Universities and other Institutions if their chosen field of study is not offered at the required level of expertise at UWI. What I am pointing out is the explicit proscription that seems to ensure that UWI CANNOT be the seat of study for a Scholar who wins a Barbados National Development scholarship whatever subject he is interested in.

Such a policy says to me that the Government is overtly seeding in the minds of its citizens that UWI is a second class institution that is unworthy of teaching our students in any of the areas identified by Government as important in national development and therefore subliminally fortifies the other explicit policies of Government that seeks to downgrade the University at this time.

Taken to its logical conclusion, that policy justifies and supports the recent drastic reduction in funding of the University and relegates it to churning out sub standard mass degrees in various subjects that are NOT deemed to be of importance to national development.

My point is WHY would they have to make the explicit point that UWI is ineligible to host our National Development Scholars? There would be no harm done to the policy you seem to support by just excluding that proscription.

My point also is that Jameca Falconer is coming here to train at UWI-Cave Hill on a very prestigious Fulbright Scholarship while very much lower level Scholars here are subliminally told their university just doesn’t cut it by the purblind policy of our Government policy makers in the Ministry of Education, possibly following an edict of the current Minister or past ministers.

We talking ’bout National Development and we really can’ appear to exclude UWI from participating in such. There must be areas of some excellence at UWI that are related to National Development.

14. @are-we-there-yet June 9, 2015 at 6:59 PM “the explicit proscription that seems to ensure that UWI CANNOT be the seat of study for a Scholar who wins a Barbados National Development scholarship whatever subject he is interested in…Such a policy says to me that the Government is overtly seeding in the minds of its citizens that UWI is a second class institution that is unworthy of teaching our students in any of the areas identified by Government as important in national development.

I hear your argument…please note that this discussion started with the Fulbright Scholarship and please note also that American Fulbright Scholars cannot study at any of America’s excellent universities, but must study abroad. This is no way implies that America’s universities are second class or unworthy. Foreign Fulbright scholars study at American universities, and it does not mean that their home universities are second class or unworthy.

It is called academic exchange.

15. Steupsss
    “Would we be better off with UWI or without UWI?”
    Simple Simon what kind of simplistic question is that?
    Those are the choices? …how about an EFFECTIVE UWI?

Just because Sir Cave ‘rings your bell’ does not mean that we are lucky to have Cave Hill in its present state…
    As it is now, it is arguable that we would be better off without the darn thing….
    For example one can argue that had we NOT spent six billion dollars on funding UWI over the past sixty years …and had instead sent our scholars to overseas established colleges, we would not only have saved significantly, but the damn graduates may actually have turned out to be PRODUCTIVE leaders and innovators – like Barrow, Tom and other overseas trained scholars were…
    …and like the current MANAGERS and OWNERS of Bajan businesses mostly are….

All UWI does effectively is turn out hoards of vain, useless, brass bowls with impressive papers and a lotta shiite talk …. but no action….
    Froon drones….

It would be worth every damn cent if we could find 30 impressive graduates to serve the people of Barbados in Parliament….
    It would be worth every cent if when outsiders came here they did not so EASILY outperform the previous local ‘graduates’ who ran things before being ousted…. BNB -Republic Bank for example…

What UWI (CHILL) what?
    waste of time and money…. any bets that AC is a grad???
    The proof of the pudding is in the eating…..not the damn icing…

16. Simple Simon;

What do you think is the strategic purpose of a Barbados National Development Scholarship? Is it the same as a Fulbright Scholarship or a Rhodes Scholarship? Weren’t the latter scholarships set up for purposes other than “national development”?

If Government determines that it wants to produce well trained and proactive leaders in the fields of, say, Music as a major foreign exchange earner, Photo voltaic energy development, Governance, Mass psychology, Forensic Science, Fishing, Ethics, Comparative Religions, Energy from non-traditional sources, etc. does it need to prescribe that successful scholars will not be allowed to take up the scholarship at UWI or should it point out that Scholars will be funded to attend global centers of excellence, wherever they are sited but within existing financial constraints?

Re. your point “Foreign Fulbright scholars study at American universities, and it does not mean that their home universities are second class or unworthy.”. That is not in any way congruent with my point. Their Governments did not identify these scholarships as National development Ones and determine that their home Universities could not participate.

Anyhow, I dun wid dis. I apologize for the unwonted distraction from the main menu.

17. are-we, I am again batting after Simple Simon and although she has effectively answered you I would still offer a few strokes and hopefully the total runs can close this out.

Your position sounds reasonable and is one way of viewing this.

Yet you continue to disregard as SS defines that some academic programs are exclusively external in nature and intended for the stated reason to give the students that foreign exposure.

Consider this is Graduate work. Further consider that the fields of study are (according to BGIS): Architectural Conservation; Clinical Microbiology; Diabetic Neuropathy; Innovation Policy Creation; Renewable Energy Technology; Entrepreneurship – New Ventures Creation; Forensic Pathology and Waste Management.

Please accept that other than Waste Management (lotta wasted minds in Bdos) the foreign universities offer significantly more experienced practitioners and businesses from which knowledge will be gained.

Stand up on Google maps and look at Barbados and tell me if you really believe that this little rock can develop and sustain the level of continued academic enquiry required.

I appreciate that you believe that our Development Scholars should be challenging the best and brightest at UWI but on such a small place we need to explore new and different perspectives and get our thinkers out of their comfort zone and get them challenged in mind and body and life in general.

Demanding that they attend an external university does not ‘downgrade’ our UWI rather it demands that we embrace what thinkers outside Barbados are saying and doing and is force-feeding us to adapt, borrow and steal the best ideas to make our country greater.

Hope you are convinced! LOL.

18. Bush Tea June 9, 2015 at 9:33 PM #

“What UWI (CHILL) what? waste of time and money…. any bets that AC is a grad???
    The proof of the pudding is in the eating…..not the damn icing…”

Bushie, you are one of my favourite contributors, but you have a penchant for always attacking UWI, which is within your right to do so. However, as a graduate of UWI Cave Hill and UWI Mona, I have to, at this time, make strong objection to your criticism of our illustrious institutions.

For you to suggest that AC is an UWI graduate is not only a wicked and malicious act, but it also shows you have little or no regard for our university and its graduates. As such, your comments have caused my soul to writhe forever in immeasurable torment.

Therefore, I am calling on all those UWI graduates who contribute to BU, to join me in my protest and ask the facilitator of this blog, Mr. David, to ban you from this forum for making such outrageous and unfounded statements.

Shiite, Bushie, just the mere thought of AC being a graduate, harrows me with fear and wonder.

19. are-we-there-yet June 9, 2015 at 9:49 AM #

“Looks like this Fulbright scholarship, a very prestigious one, btw, emphasizes the flaws in that policy by our Government.”

Simple Simon and De Word adequately addressed the flaws in your way of thinking.

We must be also cognizant of the fact that UWI does not have access to the type of funding to offer programs that are offered by international universities.

For example, you may have university X in England offering a post graduate qualification in “Oil & Gas Management.” University X may solicit funding from past alumni and several oil and gas companies that may also offer internships to students.

20. Ingrunt Word, Simple Simon and Artax;

Looks like its a comprehension problem. I have never implied or meant to imply that the Barbados National Development Scholarships should be confined to studies at UWI. Indeed I have stated that they should be at centres of Excellence which for practically all the subjects identified by Ingrunt Word would exclude UWI. The windmill I was tilting at was, for me, the gratuitous spelling out of a proviso that studies at UWI would not be permissible. I did’nt, and still do not, think that this was necessary since it was pellucidly clear that UWI was unlikely to have the resources, experience or standing to offer such studies at the present time in those areas.

I’m somewhat surprised that Artax did not see this and appears to be arguing on both sides of the question in two consecutive posts.

But perhaps, its merely my incipient dementia getting worse.

21. are-we-there-yet June 9, 2015 at 11:09 PM #

“I’m somewhat surprised that Artax did not see this and appears to be arguing on both sides of the question in two consecutive posts.”

Not at all, AWTY. I was just having a bit of fun with Bushie in my previous post, when he jokingly asked (I hope) if AC was an UWI graduate.

22. @ Gabriel

Though my heart may be left center, I still can say without much ambiguity and equivocation that I know almost nothing of Hilary Beckles. But this does not go without say that I haven’t heard the name mentioned in previous conversations of a scholastic nature here on BU. Nevertheless, when one attributes such a magnitude of veneration to one individual, it leads one to conclude that such an individual must have more or less, set Barbados on a paradigmatically trajectory upward and onward? So my question then becomes: what has Hilary Beckle done whether it be on the moral or intellectual plane, that he might be held in such high regard ?

23. Oh my, the petty political posturing never ceases. Here is a simple academic exercise that is prevalent throughout the world, being politicised. There are hundreds of Caribbean scholars in the Diaspora, engaged in similar academia.

24. @ Artax
    “……I am calling on all those UWI graduates who contribute to BU, to join me in my protest and ask the facilitator of this blog, Mr. David, to ban you from this forum for making such outrageous and unfounded statements.”
    Bushie wishes to apologise profusely for insinuating that AC could possibly have been a UWI graduate.
    Admittedly, on reflection that was a misguided and unwarranted slur that is indeed way below the bushman’s (gutter?) standards which normally only descend to the level of ‘brass bowl’, and ‘shiite’. That comment REALLY went too low and for that the Bushman apologises and withdraws the comment.
    NO WAY AC can be a graduate of UWI.

Cuh dear David …. don’t ban the bushman yet….
    …not til Bushie and Simple Simon have out this Cave Hill/ Sir Cave Hilary bassa bassa once and for all…

On topic…
    Everything is good about an international scholar choosing to complete research at CHILL.
    Bushie believes that this is an ongoing exercise and that in fact at least one other female USA-based scholar is currently attached there…

But back the the point about Bushie always bashing UWI….
    UM IS TRUE…!!!
    UM want bashing.

Strategically, it can be argued that the decision to establish UWI – and to invest so much resources into it was a fundamental ERROR in the first place.
    A national focus on education should have been translated into a strategic focus on accessing the VERY BEST AVAILABLE QUALITY of education…that is available ANYWHERE.

Education for competitiveness is not about ‘a graduate in every household’, IT IS ABOUT CUTTING EDGE INNOVATION, TOP RATED BRAIN POWER, and probably most critically, about INTERNATIONAL RESPECTABILITY.
    It would have made MUCH more sense therefore to partner with Harvard, Oxford, Nigeria University, University of Science & Technology China, MaGill etc and seek to produce INTERNATIONALLY ACCREDITED graduates, than to waste billions of dollars establishing a completely new institution….

…besides, there are some things that should NOT be parochial in a global world….Education is such a commodity.
    CXC is the same shiite….
    It would have made MUCH more sense to develop links with GCE Oxford /Cambridge, African, North American, Chinese and other examining bodies …than spend vast sums of money building empires for jokers to rule…

In Sum….
    One does not sell off the family kitchen, living room, farm and vehicle to foreigners and then use the money to build an elaborate home-school for the children….send their asses to public school and let them learn how to succeed in the world environment.

But what have we done…..?

Internationalized our kitchen to MASSEY
    Internationalized our Energy to EMERA
    Internationalized our living room to Cable & Wireless
    Internationalized our Tourism to the Paradise Pisser
    Internationalized our Sugar Industry to whosoever will
    …..and spent BILLIONS of dollars on UWI to produce clerks and AC-types
    …..and millions on CXC to exploit teachers

Dat mek sense?

Man ban Bushie do!!!

25. Someone writes: this does not in fact imply that American universities are unworthy. Man yah off yah rocker because who wouldn’t wish to have: Yale, Harvard, Stanford, Brown and Princeton, behind their name or names as an almamater? These Ivy League schools are internationally acclaimed with a worldwide accreditation. I really challenge the soundness of such a statement because if in fact American universities are in fact unworthy as someone seems to suggest. Why would countries from all part of the world commission they people to attend the FBI Academy, to be taught the latest techniques in Forensics, and many other Investigatory Skills- which are actually being taught by the same people who have attended these so call unworthy American universities?

26. Dompey June 10, 2015 at 7:01 AM #

“Someone writes: this does not in fact imply that American universities are unworthy.”

“I really challenge the soundness of such a statement because if in fact American universities are in fact unworthy as someone seems to suggest.”

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The fundamentals of comprehension require individuals to be able to read and understand what they read.

Mr. Dompey, can you please explain to BU how the statement “this DOES NOT in fact imply that American universities are unworthy”, indicates the writer is suggesting “American universities are in fact unworthy,” especially with the “words DOES NOT” in the statement?

In this regard, I must challenge the soundness of your comprehension skills.

27. LOL @ Artax…
    Shiite man…That is your fault….
    ..expecting Dompey to understand double negatives…?

come on man….!!

28. A William Skinner said……………..

”’Oh my, the petty political posturing never ceases. Here is a simple academic exercise that is prevalent throughout the world, being politicised. There are hundreds of Caribbean scholars in the Diaspora, engaged in similar academia.””

That judgment seems a bit rich, wouldn’t you say!

Because there are some petty dictators operating websites elsewhere where there can be no interaction with readers at all. NONE! Only the dictator is to have a judgment. Nobody other than that dictator is allowed to read comments or even make a public posting. It represents a perverse and dictatorial type of masturbation. It defies modern concepts of reader participation, and so on.

If this low level of civic engagement cannot be tolerated could you imagine what that mindset will do if allowed to get anywhere near real power. These are the ways of Bernays and Lippmann the marketing tyrants whose central desire was to make all publics inert. These sons of bitches want to tell us how we are to think, if at all. We are merely to buy their shiite!

That David would allows ALL and sundry and is even willing, at times, to tolerate an evolution in language which may stand at odds with the cultural norms of Barbados, is much to his credit. Whereas other present as progressive but still not one swear word could be used in their house, blog! David is a better democrat than most.

• @William

All we see is a robust debate raging, nothing wrong with that would you say?

On 10 June 2015 at 12:44, Barbados Underground wrote:

• @William

One of the big issues we have and have had for a long time is the opportunity to discuss issues. You and others should be on the side of fora which encourage free exchange/discussion. When we get the culture right then the secondary issue to parse the exchanges can will follow. We have to look for a new way.

• @William

This is the Internet. We have many with agendas who contribute. What you and others must do is to make your point and allow the intelligent who read the blog to draw conclusions.

29. @ David

There is nothing apolitical about anything that happens, or not, in academia. There is nothing apolitical about what happens, or not, anywhere else.

But to have a member of the APA come to Barbados to conduct academic studies should not escape the basis arguments we raised. Certainly, we will bet that few in the Caribbean or even within the UWI, itself, are aware of the problems we sighted within the physiological profession in the USA. We will bet there has been no discussions about the issues which are tearing the APA apart. There has been no known discussions at the UWI about the involvement American psychologists in torture at Guantanamo Bay and elsewhere. So unlike Skinner’s attempt to slide a simplistic comment under the door using the rubric of party politics is a wilful evasion of the concrete points made by this writer.

Certainly, Skinner knows enough about the BLP/DLP duopoly to skim over the expected rhetoric from the usual suspects and look beneath.

30. People take the source of funds for granted because somebody gets a Fullbright Scholarship or a Rhodes Scholarship or a Nobel Prize or something, it’s all good, to them. These are the same people who would lock up Jack Warner for stealing a few dollars. LOL

And respectable people in the Caribbean have taken academic largesse from these people in the past without even stopping to think how or where they got their money.

We remember well when Kathleen Drayton’s son got a Rhodes Scholarship a few decades ago, that gave cause for a woman, may she rest in peace, who was otherwise a very progressive person, to celebrate and have pictures taken for media etc.

This happens all the time and nobody asks where Cecil Rhodes got his stinking money. Where Alfred Nobel got his blood-soaked money, from. Where Fulbright got his money, but anybody who has accumulated such intergenerational money could always be assumed to have engaged in tainted activities, unless proven otherwise.

Now you have a raassoul like William Skinner doing the same thing. We dun wid these so-and-so people. These people can’t be reformed, they are worthy of death.

31. Cecil Rhodes, had gotten wealthy by profiting off the South African ignorance, superstitution and the lack of the prerequite knowledge to distinguish between the value and worth of the precious melts buried beneath his feet. The primitive- African South African bt all accounts, put a lot more value and worth in canin teeth of the wild boar pig ( which he wore around his neck religiously) than the precious melts which were buried beneath his feet. It is obvious that Cecil had gotten the jumped on bewitched and bewildered African- who was more or less concerned and preoccupied with his basic necessities. The Ghanian from West Africa on the other hand, understood the value of the precious melt gold from the get go, but somehow there was an obvious disconnected as far as the South African was concern.

32. Cecil Rhodes, left England at the age of 17 for Africa on a mission to get rich. He arrived in Africa with few dollars in his pocket, and somehow managed persuaded the iron brains African to sell him the land -which he knew quite well was loaded with tons of gold and diamonds. And by the way: Cecil fulfilled his dream of becoming one of the richest men in Africa, if not in the world at the time. He was also one of the architects of the racial- apatheid- ideology in South Africa -where he started out and then Zimbabwe formally Rhodesia which was named after Rhodes.

33. @Pachamama June 10, 2015 at 12:39 PM “People take the source of funds for granted because somebody gets a Fullbright Scholarship…Where Fulbright got his money, but anybody who has accumulated such intergenerational money could always be assumed to have engaged in tainted activities, unless proven otherwise.”

Actually none of the Fulbright money came from Fulbright. The scholarship is simply named after him. The money comes from the American taxpayers.

So if you have a Bajan cousin who is a baby sitter in Manhattan or a neurosurgeon in Texas, or a school teacher in Boston…yup the money comes out of their pockets every year.

So the Fulbright money is clean money.

34. In spite of the facts that can’t be denied re: Pachamama’s views, I still maintain that there is absolutely no need to drag petty local politics into a very simple arrangement in academia. Our country is being destroyed by those who only see it through the eyes of the two monstrosities,BLPand DLP that after 50 years of independence cannot : get garbage disposal right; public transportation right; the roads right; the QEH right etc etc.
    It is high time that responsible citizens try to educate such folks of the dire straits that our nation is in because of these two parties. Public discourse via the internet, blogs or traditional media, should be encouraged and I see nothing wrong in reminding the apologists for the BLP and DLP, that they can no longer hide behind their parties because they are equally good and equally bad. My limited eloquence and extremely limited vocabulary do not allow me to engage in flights of intellectual fantasy. I have never been and have no desire to be of the intellectual/academic class.
    I do not fully comprehend the reparation approach but if a man robs you and you then have an opportunity to exploit what was really yours in the first place, you should not be villified since morally and ethically , you are actually using your own wealth.
    In other words a Black woman on a Rhodes Scholarship or a Black man on a Fulbright similar academic pursuits, according to arguments put forward in this discussion, is actually receiving “back” the very money that their forefathers earned. And should therefore be not crucified for enjoying what is really theirs. That is only my humble opinion.

35. William Skinner is the quintessential Bajan. To him it doesn’t matter that people with tainted assets could be given eternal opportunities to, in death, redeem themselves. He is a bread and fish politician.

Since thieving during one’s lifetime is OK. Why can’t he not thief America and then give back a little bit to the people who got it now? Or why have any moral underpinnings at all? Why excuse people only because they got money, by any means. Is that the society you seek? Is money or the lack thereof not the root of all evil?

These staid and old-fashioned criticisms of that so-called intellectual class and desires for such reeks of ignorance. When it comes to money anybody could be excused how it is achieved. When it comes to what you like to call ‘the intellectual class’ the man in the street approach is to be superior. You will never be able to defeat anybody so deemed because you have not the foggiest idea about the standard thought processes which are employed. In other words, you are destined to always arrive at a gun battle with a stick in hand and no body armour.

Ordinarily, we would like to suggest that a right mentality imbued with an understanding of how literature is scientifically constructed as the prerequisite for understanding. Our point of departure should be the etymon! You will never understand anything until you understand that, as basic.

If people are to be educated on blogs etc why is it that on your blog there will never be an opportunity for such exchanges? Does this not reeks of a perverse and dictatorial regime as practised by you, a tin pot dictator? Is this not an attempt to separate the so-called smart people from those your own classism deems the BLP/DLP dullards? Why can’t these underclass people, you described, not educate themselves? We imagine that since you are the archetypal anti-academic, should they strive to be like you? What model are you presenting?

The point is that there are substantial arguments against everything Pachamama says here but we have never found that you possess the goods to mount any of these.

Truly your arguments lack the maturity of an adult, a so-called progressive!

36. @ Simple Simon

We trust that your name would not mean that you are the eternal simpleton.

Bushie has been bringing you along, but there is much left to be done.

You cannot tell us anything about Senator Fulbright. The question you should seek to answer is why they would want a legacy for him. That is the critical information.

Like William Skinner, your analysis, as it is, lacks a much higher level of sophistication.

The USA gives military scholarship too. You then have to ask yourself why? You will find that most of those trained officers go back home and overthrow governments, become CIA agents, form a global network that empire could call on, etc.

To the neophyte that may appear to co-incidental but when you look at the wider society you’ll also find that the system does give not a penny unless it is in the interests of empire.

37. @ David, I assure you that there is no beef between Pachamama and me. I think he is perhaps one of the sharpest minds that I have ever been fortunate to engage. We just have a difference of opinion on this issue. There are no fires to be stroked here as far as I am concerned.
    As for the blog in which I have an interest anybody can contribute and that information is there . And we take advice and suggestions very seriously. It is true that we do not have a chat room or open forum such as BU. Now that Pachamama has raised the issue, we would perhaps set up such a format.
    For the record, I did not refer to any group as “dullards”. I merely stated that the hardliners apologising for the Bs and Ds should be educated about the deception of these two parties. If the word educate offends, others more erudite than I, I now humbly replace it with, told.
    Keep up the good work and the robust debates.

38. @William Skinner

Sir, I hardly think that it would call for a ton aa load of brains for one to discover that most if not all politicians are concern primarily and merely with the self-interest over the collective-interest. Now with that thought in mind do you seriously expect one to remain apolitical? certainly not because one has to choose between the lesser of two evils, between the hamcutta with the most meat or that with little. That is the called instinctual principle of self-survival; at least within the framework /context of politics.

39. And remember this Skinner: change always and often arises/emerges from the bottom and not top as we are led to believe.

40. @Pachamama June 11, 2015 at 6:47 AM “Simple Simon, We trust that your name would not mean that you are the eternal simpleton.”

Dear Madam Pachamamma: Not at all. I simply ask simple questions…and leave it up to the big brains such as yourself to provide complex answers.

41. Shanique Myrie, wants to run for public office in her homeland. For real , she has all the trappings of a politician.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.