Submitted by Bentley
Avocado
Avocado

Here’s an article with a comparison with olive oil. With all this abandoned agricultural land we have we could be growing these crops (using the permaculture method – see BU blog Support the Caribbean Permaculture Institute of Barbados) and initiating new agro-industries. A suggestion is for government to allow the use of some of its unused land for farming by small farmers on an equity basis and provide support services. Something similar to this was tried at Springhall Land Lease in St.Lucy and Land for the Landless in St.Andrew, both with limited success but neither thought through properly or personnel selected with sufficient scrutiny.  Such schemes can be successful if conceived and executed properly and with the right incentives.

Related Link: Olive Oil Versus Avocado Oil for Healthy Cooking

35 responses to “Use CLICO Wasteland to Drive New Agro-industries”

1. This is generally a brilliant idea. But we must go a bit further. These days the evolution in agriculture is moving indoors, greenhouses, old buildings, aquaponics, roof tops, into city centres, methods which give more control over the weather, pest, organics, bringing food near to the consumers, away from industrialized monocrops etc.

What should happen to all land in Barbados is a land reform to more properly spread wealth. And of course, government must seek to unwind all the international obligations which make Barbados agriculture uncompetitive, even in Bim! This will be near impossible.

2. @Pacha

Given the historical influence there is a attitudinal change which needs to be managed as well by individuals, financial, government…

3. Many of our issues always point to lack of political leadership. What will be Estwick’s legacy besides the BWA headquarters perched on the hill?

4. @ David

About land reform, we will start with the people who steal farm produce……..give them land and start them off………now if they go back thiefing again………then will be the time to cut off their hands………in a public place……..take back the land!

5. @Pacha

Surely that is not an intelligent approach because we can anticipate the outcome. Why not be proactive and have land and management reform, together?

6. @ David

See land reform in a holistic sense, leading to the closing down, of even, Dodds!

7. What is not intelligent about Pacha’s approach David?

8. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

Government dont own any land , land taken and not paid for, there is no waste land in Barbados, all land is good land even in the gully,

Violet Beckles land that was put on hold to keep after she died ,

So stop the bull, better learn your History and stop supporting this fraud government ,

9. @ Bushie

Unlike David we have travelled to countries where there is no petty thiefing. If you loss something the ‘finder’ seeks you out to return it, as a matter of a national culture.

Everybody knows what thiefing means. There is no doubt!

Separately, we could never understand why such a small country has to have such a big prison. We contend that a lot of crime could be eliminated through land reform, land justice in the case of Violet Beckles and her ‘agent’ John Hanson.

In any case, if food is bountifully produced everywhere in Barbados and is within the reach of everybody there will be no market for ‘theifing’ farmers’ produce. This should be a national ethic.

10. @ John Hanson

Though we are largely in agreement with your main issue, we cannot be so defined by history so that the way forward cannot be chartered. Land thief in Barbados did not begin or end with Violet Beckles.

Should you want to take that argument to its proper conclusion we will have to return all lands in Barbados to the Amerindians or the Africans who came before them, as rightful owners. So land ownership cannot to defined exclusively by English Common law!

As a nation, and to go forward with a workable solution, all claims must contend!

11. Bushie said…………

”What is not intelligent about Pacha’s approach David?”

We say………….LOL

12. @Bush Tea

There is the esoteric positions then the practical. We have

13. @ Bushie

If you got people so gifted that they can ‘reap’ produce which did not plant, recidivists, they must be truly gifted, with their hands. OK then!

The only punishment yuh can give these people is land and tell them to produce 50 metric tonnes a year, or whatever, for the country, sell it to whoever they want.

Failure so to do would also mean that their hands, which failed to work for their nation, a nation which had a prior claim on them, should be physically claimed by that nation.

14. As long as Bajans can find the forex and credit to import food Agriculture will not be a priority.

The good news is that (quoted from a Cuban ) the golf courses can become farms if needed.

15. David

Is the the precursor to private sector getting their greasy hands on the prime agricultural lands of CLICO? If you take a good look at the board of the NEWCO for CLICO, into which the assets will be parked (temporarily), then you should realise that the Parris, Bjerkhamn, Tempro and Maloney are waiting in the wings like vultures for their appearance as modern day farmers of Barbados.

The real tragedy that is CLICO has not yet happen, the last chapter will be a SHOCKER.

16. @Steal Ring

Many are observing with interest. But we like it so.

17. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Hants June 4, 2015 at 9:58 AM #

The good news is that (quoted from a Cuban ) the golf courses can become farms if needed.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    But will they? The change in the land use policy, from agriculture to golf course , will if needed , see a further change from Golf Course to upscale housing development. In fact ,some golf courses now incorporate multi-million dollar mansions.
    The Government’s state -of- the- art, $800Million (USD or BDS) Dodds Prisons is unable to get permission to reverse the land use policy of an adjacent field, which for over 300 years was in agriculture, and is now probably earmarked for housing.
    Agriculture in Barbados is D-E-A-D. We do not even hear a word from the Minister of Agriculture these days.
    Imagine the sugar yield this crop season,with a bit of luck should reach the 10,000 tonne mark.

18. @Colonel Buggy,

I admire your optimism.

If Agriculture in Barbados is “D E A D” how are you going to feed the 280,000 when the forex dries up?

19. Minister David Estwick had a lot to say at the Savannah Hotel a couple years ago when Sinckler cut the Agriculture budget. He is also quick to periodically list his achievements in the mass media. The next time he is forced to publicize his record via third parties will he state how closer have we moved to narrowing the gap to food security under his watch?

20. David there is very little room for value added pricing in local Agriculture.

The big money ( including commissions ) is in imports. get my drift?

For the last 50 years Barbados has had the potential to be food secure.

We have had Agriculturalist, farmers and the expertise but we have had no vision and leadership.

Bajans believe in the words of Gabby when it comes to the possibility of economic collapse. “dah khan hppen hey in dis cuntry”

Just wish an de tourisses will keep bringing in de forex.

21. @Hants

When last have you had a good yellow mead breadfruit coucou and salt fish?

22. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Hants June 4, 2015 at 6:56 PM #
    Perhaps that is the whole object of the exercise. Starve out the Bajans and turn the lands over to the future Barbadians Citizens ,by purchase or Investments.
    Barbados at present is experiencing a serious prolonged drought, but it has very little effect on our local food chain,as we have very little of that . But what is beginning to disrupt our regular main food supply out of Port of Spain , is the work -to-rule /go-slow now being carried out at the Bridgetown Port by the Custom Officers,
    @ David, you asked about Yellow Meat Breadfruit . Those parts of the island that are traditionally known to be the main providers of Breadfruit in general, are suffering from a shortage,as much of them are falling off in the very young stages. Pretty soon from now, this traditional popular food ,will have to be imported from ,where else but Trinidad. Even nature is beginning to rebel in this sorry land.

23. The point Colonel Buggy there was a time eating breadfruit, yam, potato was a everyday thing.

24. @David and Colonel Buggy,

Breadfruit, yam, potato, cassava, plantain are available in Toronto almost all year in the big supermarkets and Walmart.

I cook coucou and salmon up to last week (no salt fish because of health reasons ).

25. Soon the words “Yes we have no bananas” will have a degree of finality about them.

http://www.thestar.com/business/2015/06/04/banana-killer-a-potential-big-nightmare-that-threatens-global-harvests.html

26. It was heartening news that Central Bank’s $10 million savings bonds sold out in quick time. I made sure I got my share for my children’s future. This positive news was given the thumbs down by the usual suspects Ryan Straughan and Stephens two so called economists who boggle the mind with unrelenting negativity. Only Charlie Skeete the go to self appointed economic guru in New York for Tony Best comes close to the moaning and depressing outlook of those two. For them everything is hopeless and will remain so forever. They offer no solutions only complaints opposing for opposing sake . Their puerile criticism of the successful bond issue is a classic example. Their more learned counterpart Dr.Justin Robinson greeted the sold out bonds with optimism and posited that citizens should buy more for not only safe investment in the rock but to soak up some of the liquidity in the banking system. The other point the successful bond issue proves is that contrary to the yard fowls view Dr. Worrell is one of the more believable public figures in Barbados. He tells it as it is and doesn’t hide whether the economic news is good or bad.

27. Hants June 4, 2015 at 9:58 AM stated so long as Bajans can find the forex and credit to import food Agriculture will not be a priority.

This statement frightens me especially when we are not aware of how this food is produced.

“Maggi withdraws all noodles in India after state bans and lead scare”

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/jun/05/maggi-withdraws-all-noodles-in-india-after-state-bans-and-lead-scare

28. the blp yard fowls would never give the gvt credit although word on the ground states that a sleuth of them bought the savings bonds in multiples. HA! HA! what a truck load of confidence the barbadian public handed to the govt yesterday,Thank u barbadians the govt knows your love for the rock and your desire to stand firmly behind proper governance in helping to pull the country forward. yesterday sell out of govt bonds was explicitly a demonstration of goodwill and confidence in the govt.

29. ac

The Government savings bonds, a mere $10M is a well orchestrated PR stunt. One commercial bank virtually all the bonds, as was pre-arranged. The guy at the central bank knows he cannot earn the confidence of investors based on the economics of Barbados so they decide to launch a PR stunt in hopes that they can ignite confidence.

Total bullshit.

30. @ AC
    LOL …$10M???
    Wuh any three of your thieving ministers could fund that issue just from the kickbacks that we know about…
    After the Warner/FIFA ‘basa basa’ they must be anxious for some safe avenues to put their hot funds..
    .. cause they frighten to carry money to the USA or Geneva in suitcases
    .. they frighten to put it in their mothers bank account
    .. they frighten to take the kickback as SUVs and real estate
    .. they frighten the local banks kick them out…
    .. they are not capable of running any business successfully

shiite woman!!… their only recourse is the central bank …or Antigua

This bond issue was probably designed to ensure that the esteemed gentleman got 5% on his deposit….

If wunna want to instil confidence that the economy is stabilising – pay the people their damn income tax refunds from 2013……

31. Didn’t you bye some of the Bonds AC? It’s your Government. If I had money I certainly would buy some, Maybe some of your MP’s invested in some, and as long as any Barbadians have the money to do so they should. I am not, the word is not, a DLP supporter and if I had that kind of money to spare I would have bought some; so support your government and buy some, they are going to bring out some more soon.

32. @ just asking what do you mean by “support the govt and buy some” my loyal and whole hearted support id for country first and foremost and if any govt has initiated plans or policies that is beneficial to the totality of the country, there is no doubt that is where my allegiance would be, in other words “put country first” when all these politicians time of this earth is past the country still remains

wuh bush sh,te i have conclusive evedience that u bought plenty of the bonds, You are and always will be a bold faced hypocrite, steupse guh long do

33. @ ac…
    LOL…what bought what plenty bonds what??!!
    …duh only allowed the bushman $100,000 worth…
    steupsss…!!

What you want bushie to do with the whacking money? …put um in the mattress? 🙂

btw …bushie likes the pet name ‘Bush shotter” that you can’t help using to express your unending love, but do you have to let out our little secret so…?
    ..suppose Islandgal was to see that now….? 🙁

34. Mainstream Media Blackout: Another Country Bans Monsanto’s Roundup Herbicide

Why is it that in North America, we rarely see mainstream media discussing the fact that a number of countries are banning the use of Roundup herbicide?…