Baltimore is listed as the largest city in the State of Maryland, the largest independent city and the 26th most populous city in the USA. Of note is that greater than 60% of the population is Black followed by about 29% White. In the wake of Freddie Gray’s funeral – yet another Black man to die in police custody under questionable circumstances – rioting and other violent behaviour has placed the city under siege. The question onlookers are asking – is this a bunch of stupid Black people inappropriately expressing themselves? Is this a bunch of Black people with just concerns about race relations in America today? Is it ignorance and just concerns commingling?
Baltimore Under Siege in the Wake of Freddie Gray’s Funeral

714 responses to “Baltimore Under Siege in the Wake of Freddie Gray’s Funeral”
-
Easy you are clever, you appreciate that the WATER is too DEEEEEEP for you so you stand on the beach!
-
He was a Urologist or a Proctologist? lol -
A pathologist was just interviewed and she agrees with your position Gray may have had partial injuries caused by the take down made worse in the rough ride. Bottom line we need to wait until the ME report is made public. Bear in mind the States Attorney had sight of the report.
-
White
It has been said before that you are a Cunt
I will speak to my Revolutionary Friends -
Easy
U dont like C—????? U is a Buller?? -
And must, we assume intelligent people, go to the gutter? Then again BU is only the mirror.
-
Lawson, I am a field nigga but that is besides the point because one does not decide an issue because of the color of skin or position of work but on the merits of the issue.
There is really no herd mentality or no one jumping to conclusion but the Blacks here have a clear and better defined awareness of that ‘staqus quo’ mentioned earlier.
Although you seem to recognize that there is a status quo you completely dismiss it’s impact in these types of cases. I can’t figure that out.
I have asked this before but…if Nelson Mandela and his cohorts had decided South Africa’s future based on the color of his skin and the repression that Blacks suffered rather than the merits of the situation there, where would we be today. Deep, deep doo-doo.
Particularly in US because a number of the whites would have sought refuge (and received it) and their anger would have created its own subculture to add to the already fiery cauldron of race issues.
So I don’t care whether people call me names because of a position on an issue. If the position is just and based on merits and they are challenging based on other subjective issues then who cares.
Scholarship does not give a superior edge to determine facts. And it certainly doesn’t help if someone is simply being overly subjective. Look at the work of Supreme Court of the US or any group of judges for example.
So its not the herd you are speaking against; its your ingrained biases. Just as I speak with mine.
-
In order to communicate one needs to speak Gutterlingo occasionally. -
Police Brutality in USA will keep emerging
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cases_of_police_brutality_in_the_United_States -
LOL Grunt one does not decide an issue because of color of skin???? what….on its merits ????what …not to many on here let the truth get in the way of a good story. On CNN yesterday they interviewed a fella about why he was protesting … he said it beats going to work
-
MoneyBrain May 2, 2015 at 11:50 AM #
He was a Urologist or a Proctologist? lolA UROLOGIST, MAN Like
David May 2, 2015 at 11:52 AM #
@GPA pathologist was just interviewed and she agrees with your position Gray may have had partial injuries caused by the take down made worse in the rough ride. Bottom line we need to wait until the ME report is made public. Bear in mind the States Attorney had sight of the report.
THANKS DAVID
I AM SURE THAT YOU ARE NOT SURPRISED
I AM SURE ALSO THAT YOU CAN UNDERSTAND THAT THAT MAKS MORE SENSE THAN THE NONSENSE THE UROLOGIST WAS SHOOTING IN PUBLICI ALWAYS TAUGHT MY MED STUDENTS THAT WHEN THEY PRACTICE, THEY MIGHT BE CALLED THE GIVE EVIDENCE IN COURT, AND THAT THEY MUST ALWAYS BE CAREFUL TO RECORD THEIR FINDINGS ACCURATELY AND NOT GET CARRIED AWAY BY WHAT THEY ARE TOLD .
WE HAD NO TEACHING IN FORENSICS IN MY DAY.
I STARTED BY INTERNSHIP IN SURGERY
IN BOTH OF THE TWO FIRST TWO NIGHTS I WAS ON CALL I ENDED UP IN COURT QUITE UNEXPECTEDLY— THROWN IN AT THE DEEP END.
I QUICKLY EARNED A REPUTATION THAT “YOU DONT ASK DR GP FOOLISH QUESTIONS” BECAUSE I WAS ROUGH AND HARSH AND DIDNT SUFFER FOOLS GLAD
BECAUSE I WAS CORRECT AND KNEW IT, I WAS ARROGANT AND DISMISSIVE TO DEFENCE LAWYERS WALKING ALL OVER THEM WITH THE JARGON
I HAD GREAT FUN
-
How far they fall, so now you are an old toothless lion serenading the cubs on BU of all the mighty gazelles you have eaten lol have a rum for me
-
ingrunt on
rE Scholarship does not give a superior edge to determine facts. …..BECAUSE FACTS ARE FACTS
but scholarship determines WHEN THE ILLITERATTI IS TALKING SHITE ON MATTERS WHERE THEIR KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERIENCE CAN VERY EASILY DETERMINE THAT THE ILLITERATI DOES NOT KNOW THAT THEY ARE TALKING SHITE.
I SPENT 20 years DESTROYING LAWYERS IN COURTS TRYING TO TRIP ME
HOW EASY IT IS TO DISMISS A MORON WHO IS IGRUNT OF THE MEDICAL FACTS
ITS LIKE BEATING BAD BOWLING LIKE RICHARDS USED TO DO
DID NOT THE PATHOLOGIST CONFIRM THE PATHOPHYSIOLOGY THAT I ADVANCED USING MY “SCHOLARSHIP”…yuh IGNORANT jack ass !
-
MB , your take away from my post is interesting in its shift to one side but no need for a back and forth really as you said it well with: “In Bim there are plenty Racists on both sides of the spectrum, although I would readily state that in my day the proportion among Whites was much higher.”
In Barbados we all know that we play ‘integration’. You limed wid your village peeps and they wid you on cricket field, but if I may extrapolate your words re not ‘being easy’ I suspect the socialization was a tad more difficult in other areas. So back to my original thought, is that how we end up so far apart?
Your assertion that I cast all white and higher class folks as one is WTF! you know well enough that such a statement has no merit. Yet you positioned that as the key point. Amazing.
So if I may use that to segue to the facetious point you and GP are laughing about: the urologist who gave a newspaper opinion.
When intelligent people do as you guys are doing one can only smile and shake one’s head. Every day editorial writers give opinions on all subjects in and out of their field of expertise yet here both of you berate an opinion that clearly represented itself as such and NEVER attempted to be a definitive report of the situation. Although he is a doctor like both of you apparently he has no ethics or appreciation of the medical standards so will make a willy-nilly adjudication without seeing the patient. In a national newspaper no less.
And then both of you talk about jumping to conclusions and a stupid herd mentality. In GP’s case re the article it’s clearly his ego in play but why he thinks he needs to flex it here is beyond me.
And to repeat: No one is jumping to conclusions here. I have read various posts and Anthony, Sargeant, Hants and others seemed very even handed and balanced to me.
Here is the rub, those who jumped to conclusions/expected positions are the same people who do so every time on these issues: You and Lawson on the one hand and Easy and a few others on the other. Amazing !
-
when I went to court I had the attitude that this lawyer is a medical illiterate
he is out of order to question my evidence
if he dares i will crush him
I use to change my position on the witness stand to look at the judge and address my words to the judge
the body language was saying “judge I am talking to you, cause this moron wont understand what I am saying”THE IGNORANT IGRUNT ONE IS JUST AN ASS TRYING TO TRY TO REFUTE MY APPROACH AND THE ACCURACY OF MY PRONOUNCEMENTS
-
Looks like a carnival in Baltimore, Blacks, Whites and yellow all having a good time. Let us hope Baltimore serves as a catyst for real change.
-
GP here is a very small fact. I do not have a psy degree but ‘way back when’ I was still able to see that you are an arrogant educated man who can’t see pass his nose when his eyes get red and inflamed with the passion of his ego.
You are so inflamed that you are validating all that now. And telling us all sorts of things that have nothing to do with the moot here. Close your eyes for a bit and open again slowly as you adjust to the dim light of my ignorance.
There is no court of law here. The comments did not question your science. The article never attempted to give a definitive response to Gray’s death.
I know it’s difficult but try to speak without cussing and calling names. Is that what your mother and father instilled in you years ago? Shame, shame. And All that scholarship.
I remember on other post months back you cussed Viv and his attitude so it’s amusing to see you associate yourself with him here.
So more amateur psy: you loved his arrogance like yours but detested his disgusting behavior…just like yours. Did he diss you too!
My ignorance is bliss, you know! I really can’t hold a candle to your Lion’s roar, so let me go in peace, nah.
-
the ignorant one says
Every day editorial writers give opinions on all subjects in and out of their field of expertise
AND THAT MAKES THEM RIGHT? THERE IS NO SENSE OF BEING ACCURATE AND GIVING PROPER INFORMATION TO THE ILLITERATI OUT THERE?re yet here both of you berate an opinion that clearly represented itself as such and NEVER attempted to be a definitive report of the situation.
IT WAS AN INCORRECT OPINION THAT WAS IN THE CONTEXT POTENTIALLY INFLAMATORY
HUH YOU YOUR SELF SAID THAT THE MANS OPINION WAS MORE DEFINTIVE THAN MIND, ya jak ass now ya contradicting yourselfWHEN YOU ARE AKED TO GIVE AN OPINION AS A DR ON PUBLIC TV YOU NEED TO BE ACCURATE! nOT talk shite YOU NEED TO BE GUARDED IN A SITUATION LIKE THIS. ah lie?
PROFESSING YOUR SELF TO BE WISE YOU DEMONSTRATE THAT YOU ARE A BIG FOOL
Re Although he is a doctor like both of you apparently he has no ethics or appreciation of the medical standards so will make a willy-nilly adjudication without seeing the patient. In a national newspaper no less.
YOU ARE CORRECT FOR ONCE DUMMY! HE DISPLAYED POOR MEDICAL ETHICAL STANDARDS AND HE ACTUALLY GAVE “ a willy-nilly adjudication without seeing the patient. In a national newspaper no less.”
IN CONTRAST I GAVE A VERY GUARDED DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS tell ma ah lie?RE And then both of you talk about jumping to conclusions and a stupid herd mentality. THAT’S WHAT MOST OF YOU HAVE BEEN DOING INCLUDING YOU
I HAVE BEEN PROVEN CORRECT ABOUT THE MAN’s RIDICULOUS PONTIFICATION ah lie? tell ma ah lie?
DID THE PATHOLOGIST CORROBORATE THE SHITE HE SPOKE. ? HUH?
IN MEDICINE YOU ARE EXPECTED TO SEE THE PATIENT OK DUMMY?
re In GP’s case re the article it’s clearly his ego in play but why he thinks he needs to flex it here is beyond me.
I HAVING FUN SHOWING THAT YOU ARE AN ASS LIKE THOSE LAWYERS IN COURT WHO TRIED TO CONTRADICT ME
RE And to repeat: No one is jumping to conclusions here. ARE YOU A TOTAL IDIOT? OR IS IT THAT YOU CANT UNDERSTAND WHAT IS WRITTEN
I have read various posts and Anthony, Sargeant, Hants and others seemed very even handed and balanced to me.I WANT TO BE ACCURATE SIR!
IN MEDICINE YOU HAVE TO BE ACCURATE DUMMY —– ACCURATE! -
D Ingrunt Word
Some of the time I am anticipating AC, Easy et al being totally one sided so I take the opposite view for the fun, seeing what they will say, how they will expose themselves.
-
ignorant one
all your bull shitting psychology wont help you or stop me
i here not enjoying the cricket but TOTALLY ENJOYING MASHING UP THE SHIT YOU TALKINGYOU ARE A MEDICAL ILLITERATE AND YOU ERRED IN TRYING TO CONTRADICT ME WHEN I WAS 100% CORRECT
now GO AND SIT IN THE CORNER LOL
ON BU I DONT HAVE TO BE NICE LIKKLE BOY
NO ONE KNOW ME HERE OR NO BOUT ME LOL
-
I am not saying anything about whether the Police in this case are Guilty or Not
I am saying USA, Media and Police are Guilty for repeated similar cases occurring at least once or twice a month every month, with growing evidence by filming and posting
It’s not an issue if rioting is right or wrong, it is an issue of people passing snapping point and smashing things up. The reasons they riot need acknowledging instead of point-counterpoint
Police Harassment has got everyone scared of Police, they are an Army fighting the people, and kids in ghettos are fighting back, throwing rocks like Palestine
-
@Word
We all understand the point you are making but the bottom line is that we don’t know what happened before the camera rolled. All we know based on eyewitness reports is that Gray appeared to be healthy until his engagement with the police and the paddy wagon. There any commentary from medical personnel or not cannot be scientific in conclusion.
-
MoneyBrain May 2, 2015 at 1:31 PM #
D Ingrunt WordSome of the time I am anticipating AC, Easy et al being totally one sided so I take the opposite view for the fun, seeing what they will say, how they will expose themselves.
THATS IT MB
GET THE HERD GOING AND GET A GOOD BELLY LAFF AND FRACTURE YA PHARYNXTHERE IS A CLASS OF JACKASS IN BARBADOS THAT THINK THEY KNOW MORE ABOUT EVATING THAN THOSE WHO REALLY KNOW
wHEN i HEARD ON TV THAT IT WAS SAID THAT THE MAN HAD INJURED HIMSELF IN THE VAN, I ANTICIPATED THAT THE HERD WOULD BE TALKING SHITE
one man sarcastically opined that “THESE BLACK FELLAS NEED TO STOP COMMITTING SUICIDE BY DAMAGING THEMSELVES IN POLICE VANS”
I had my view of the possible pathophysiology involved but I gave instead
1 the causes of injuries to the pharynx
2 the causes of spinal injuriesA total jackass comes in BU harping on a statement a UROLOGIST made, and would not give up this erroneous view but EXPECTED ME TO GIVE UP MY 100 % ACCURATE POSITION.
i am getting a GOOD BELLY LAFF cause the cricket lousy
-
Freddie Gray is Schrödinger’s cat
Half dead beaten up and placed in van,
driven around unrestrained deliberately thrown around van hitting side
denied medical treatment for an hourIs he dead or alive or dead and alive
no one knows until they open doorsa cat imagined as being enclosed in a box with a radioactive source and a poison that will be released when the source (unpredictably) emits radiation, the cat being considered (according to quantum mechanics) to be simultaneously both dead and alive until the box is opened and the cat observed. -
David May 2, 2015 at 1:40 PM #
@WordWe all understand the point you are making but the bottom line is that we don’t know what happened before the camera rolled. All we know based on eyewitness reports is that Gray appeared to be healthy until his engagement with the police and the paddy wagon. There any commentary from medical personnel or not cannot be scientific in conclusion.
YES DAVID BANDAGE HIS BRUISES SUH
YOU MUST NEVER AS A DR MAKE MORONIC MOUTHINGS AS THE UROLOGIST DID WITHOUT SEEING THE PATIENT—–ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU ARE INACCURATE
YOU HAVE TO UNDERSTAND HOW US PHYSICIANS ARE TRAINED
THEY STUDY ALL THE BASIC SCIENCES——APPARENTLY ON THIER OWN IN MOST CASES-
ONCE YOU CRAM AND PASS THE USMLE EXAM YOU GO TO CLINICALS FOR TWO YEARSTHEN YOU GO TO BE A RESIDENT TO BE A SPECIALIST.
YOU MIGHT BE GOOD AT THAT BUT BY THEM YOU HAVE FORGOTTEN LOTS OF THINGS THAT YOU NEVER MASTERED IN THE FIRST PLACE
WONDER HOW I KNOW THESE THINGS?
BUT YOU HAVE “BALANCED” FOLK COMING HERE TALKING ABOUT UWI REGURGITATORS WHEN THE SAME US CANADIAN AND UK SPECIALISTS LAUD OUR UNDERGRADUATES WHEN THEY SEE THEM PERFORM IN CLINICAL EXAMS
I RARELY POST ON BU EXCEPT IN MY SPHERE OF EXPERTISE
I COME WITH ACCURACY
CONTRADICT OR PROBE AND YOU WILL BE STOMPED ON — NO APOLOGIES -
Police autopsies are often botched in Police favour
Philip Panell Teaneck NJ was shot around corner from me April 10, 1990 in the back arms upBergen Country Coroner failed to state facts
http://www.northstarnews.com/columns/walter_l_fields_jr/article/4754
-
WHAT DOES THAT HAVE TO DO WITH ME?
NOT INTERESTED.
WHY DIDNT THE POLICE SHOOT YOU TOO IS WHAT I WANT TO KNOW. -
Doctor Demon
What has the Freddie Gray case got to do with you
Big Head doctor commenting on his career like cricket
We are not interested in all your stories either
Psychology
No understanding of the state of affairs unless in the bible -
Is it ok to speculate here on the cause EVEN WITHOUT THE BENEFIT OF THE ME’s report?
Sometimes people, young and ole, will start a sentence with the words “I feel”
I feel sort of drunk, I feel “peckish” I feel like a fool or simply I feel that when they took down Gray, someone knelt in his throat.
One does not have to be a doctor or lawyer to express one’s feeling in fact when my grans come to me and say “I feel that daddy and mummy are too strict because I have to be in bed by 7.30 on a week day and 9 on weekends” even in the face of not having any other evidence than life’s experience, I am inclined to feel that the little children are wrong to feel that their parents and “too strict”
I fell that my children are too lax with my grans because the grans have every contraption known to man, woman and beast, at too early an age but that may be grudge coming our because I dont know how to hook up, or play the WII game after all these years.
The point I am making is that while evidence will bring light upon the Gray matter, we all have feelings we we should choose to agree are medically sound like GP’s multiple posits but are not the complete spectrum of ways in which the deceased might have met his death.
I feel that while the indictments have served the purpose to assuage the emotions of many in Baltimore at this time, the true test will be in the evidence and I fell that if the outcome of that case is not contra the accused, more riots are going to come.
I feel that a (white) Lieutenant ordered junior officers the driver being black, to attack, sorry apprehend a black man who was running from the police. I feel that junior officers deferred to rank and by so doing now find themselves party to a series of charges.
I feel that as Lawson has said that this incident which is part of a litany of lynchings by whites and executions by police, whether black or white, needs to be “leveraged” and to address a bigger issue of injustice in the American policing system and Social Inequality.
I feel that as the two white men here have proposed that WE need to engage with each other IN A SERIOUS WAY instead of using these moments to speak eloquently about what I feel and you feel, to a more permanent place where we all feel empowered.
I feel that ““the statement by the Zulu King Goodwill Zwelithini amounts to a harmful form of expression which incites or otherwise promotes hatred, discrimination, violence and intolerance.” are equally as important as the state of affairs perpetrated against us black people in the USA, Russia, or Africa.
I also feel that while “these things Gray” speak to grave injustices against my race, I feel that what Fumble and his cohorts are doing here in Bulbados is an injustice of even more import to de ole man dan whu going on in Baltimore.
I feel that when 525 impassioned comments and counters can be elicited from the 300,000 Bajans of whom only 40,000 really form the core of Bajan economic activity, about what can be done to drive our economy out of the clutches of devaluation and the economic hardship that we are all enduring, then I can truly feel that we are doing something.
Until then I feel that I am right to say “piece uh de rock, yeah rightII”
-
“piece uh de rock,
I FEEL THAT YOU ARE 100% CORRECT SIR
ABSOLUTELY CORRECT SIR
ESPECIALLY ABOUT”I feel that what Fumble and his cohorts are doing here in Bulbados is an injustice of even more import to de ole man dan whu going on in Baltimore.I feel that when 525 impassioned comments and counters can be elicited from the 300,000 Bajans of whom only 40,000 really form the core of Bajan economic activity, about what can be done to drive our economy out of the clutches of devaluation and the economic hardship that we are all enduring, then I can truly feel that we are doing something.”
-
Is there tension between the Baltimore Senator, Mayor and Governor?
We should all watch the video of the man who captured the video of Gray being taken down by the police.
-
wHERE CAN WE SEE THIS VIDEO DAVID?
DID YOU SEE EITHER OF THE INTERVIEWS WITH THE TWO POLICEMEN CONCERNING IN INSIDE STORY FROM THE POLICEMEN INVOLVED IN THE GREY FIASCO? QUITE INTERESTING
-
-
Now the ole man ent no Medical Examiner but the ole man is a little familiar with how death is “inflicted”
As more of the videos emerge, one gets to speculate given where the various “encounters” with Freddie occurred.
Barring evidence to prove this, they seem to have tackled Freddie close to the rails, where, given the height of those bars, Gray might have sustained the back injury.
Then they dragged him to the second spot where the more extensive video recordings were made
Judging from the seeming “non-responsiveness of the lower part of his body” in both of the two later videos, it seems that Gray sustained the spinal injury, PRIOR to being placed in the vehicle.
-
PIECES
re Judging from the seeming “non-responsiveness of the lower part of his body” in both of the two later videos, it seems that Gray sustained the spinal injury, PRIOR to being placed in the vehicle.THIS IS A SOUND AND REASONABLE SUPPOSITION
re given the height of those bars, Gray might have sustained the back injury. THIS IS A SOUND AND REASONABLE SUPPOSITION WITH RESPECT TO THE BACK. HOWEVER, THIS IS UNLIKELY TO GIVE FRACTURES OF THE CERVICAL SPINE.
DAVID
Am I correct in the belief that the deceased had the spinal injuries in his neck?
-
Those policemen are going down…there is no doubt about it, they will do some time in jail Those videos even to the layman eyes are startling and captures the essence of why the State attorney had no other choice but to press formal charges against those officers,
This is the opening of justice which all sane people have been waiting for ….a call for correctness, no more long drawn out talk with no solutions, it is a dam shame that it has taken anarchy and blood spilling in cities of america for the power.s that aligned themselves to racial injustices to wake up and observe that until changes within the system is made cities ,town and all would suffer deadly consequences -
Here is the video, the guy seems sincere.
On 2 May 2015 at 22:29, Barbados Underground wrote:
-
Is there tension between the Baltimore Senator, Mayor and Governor?
+++++++++
Of course there is tension, the Governor (Republican) won the Election in a surprise given that Maryland is one of the solid Democratic States in the North East and he succeeded a Democratic Governor (O’Malley). To your question, the Governor was ready to call out the National Guard on the first day but the Mayor didn’t want a repeat of Ferguson with a militarized force facing protesting citizens and the Governor couldn’t go over the Mayor’s head. The Mayor is touted as one of the rising stars in Maryland politics and O’Malley parlayed the mayor’s job into the Governor’s office ( now he is making noise about taking on Hilary for the Democratic nomination). The Governor then toured the area with his own entourage but never invited the Mayor nor the local council rep to join him on his walkabout. This is still politics at its core as the Mayor and most of City Council (including prosecutor Mosby’s husband) are all Democrats and the Republican Governor is not going to do them any favours. -
Sargeant May 2, 2015 at 7:28 PM #
DO YOU THINK THAT THE MAYOR NOT CALLING OUT THE NATIONAL GUARD AND ALLOWING THE NIGGA THUGS TO RIOT AND LOOT WAS A WISE ONE?DO YOU THINK THAT THE GOVERNOR SHOULD HAVE DONE THE CORRECT THING INSTEAD OF ALLOWING THE MAYOR TO EFFECTIVELY PLAY THE ASS?
THANKS DAVID
-
After Eric Garner died in Staten Island there were demonstrations all over NYC, they even shut down the Brooklyn bridge but the National Guard was not called to restore order. Cuomo wasn’t in Di Blasio’s ear out itching at the bit. Order was restored by the Police, sometimes a great show of force only serves to escalate matters. -
@GP and Pieces
Yes prior! But the case seems to be about driving the van around and stopping and ting! Driver is enemy #1 ! The other fella in the van,( Afro) said that he actually heard very little noise from Gray’s side but he can not see through metal, his opinion is that the injury was before getting in the van. He said that the ride was comfortable no twisting, speeding/ stopping etc.
If this is indeed correct the Prosecutor will lose, if they go down the wrong road! forgive the pun!
-
mb
IF “if they go down the wrong road” THEY WILL LOSE INDEED BECAUSE IT DEFINITELY SEEMS THE INJURY OCCURRED BEFORE THE VAN RIDE……AND THE REST HAS TO DO WITH THE COMPLICATIONS THEREOF (those this is not in keeping with the stupid opinion of a certain UROLOGIST) lol -
To piggy back on what you are saying MB the driver may have been told to go here and there radio transmissions will play into it , his medical training, his knowledge of the new seatbelt SOP he may have been off when it was enacted. No slam dunk by any means
-
if the officers close ranks and stick together they should not get convicted
-
The most senior officer charged on Friday was Lt. Brian Rice, 41, a 17-year-veteran of the force. Lieutenant Rice, who is white, was the subject in 2013 of a temporary restraining order in Carroll County, Md. A final order in the case was denied.
According to prosecutors, Lieutenant Rice was the officer who initially made eye contact with Mr. Gray while on a bicycle patrol in one of Baltimore’s most distressed neighborhoods, chasing him on foot when he fled. Officers Garrett E. Miller, 26, and Edward M. Nero, 29 — both of whom are white and joined the force in 2012 — caught Mr. Gray as he fled through the Sandtown-Winchester neighborhood, handcuffing him with his arms behind his back, Ms. Mosby said.
Along with Lieutenant Rice, they “failed to establish probable cause” for arresting Mr. Gray, Ms. Mosby said.
The three men then loaded Mr. Gray into a police van but failed to belt him in, as called for by police regulations, Ms. Mosby added.
Officer Caesar R. Goodson Jr., 45, a 16-year veteran of the force who is black, was the driver of the van. Officer Goodson, Ms. Mosby said, also failed to buckle Mr. Gray with a seatbelt. It was because Mr. Gray was handcuffed and shackled by his feet but not belted in that he suffered a “critical neck injury,” Ms. Mosby said.
Officer William G. Porter, 25, also joined the force in 2012. He met up with the van after Officer Goodson called dispatchers and asked for an officer to come check on Mr. Gray. Ms. Mosby said that Officer Porter, who is black, neglected, along with Officer Goodson, to respond to Mr. Gray’s plea for medical assistance.
The van was eventually met by Sgt. Alicia White, 30, a black officer who joined the force in 2010. Ms. Mosby said Sergeant White spoke to Mr. Gray, but “did nothing further” when he did not respond, even though she knew he had requested a medic.
The allegations of inattention stood in stark contrast to the description of Sergeant White provided on Friday by her friend Dana Neal, a nondenominational minister. -
BTW this thread is getting heavy and the pages are getting harder to turn… just my opinion.
-
Dr. GP this is my last tangle wid you on this topic. So let me see if I can raise your level of discourse to deal with the facts only. This is no legal court here but as you prefer that arena let’s establish some basics.
Ex.1 You said. In summary —
–How Do Spinal Cord Injuries Usually Occur? Spinal cord injuries are often the result of unpredictable accidents and/or violent events.
–The following can all result in damage to the spinal cord:
A violent attack …, Diving into water that is too shallow and hitting the bottom,
Trauma during a car accident…, Falling from a significant height,
Head injuries during sporting events,
Electrical accidents, Severe twisting of the middle portion of the torso.Ex. 2 – The other doctor said. In more detail (but edited for sake of brevity) —
–How does a spinal cord injury happen? …
–This type of injury is most often caused by..
a traumatic blow of the kind that would be sustained in a car accident, severe fall or an act of violence.
–There must be a sudden, traumatic blow to the spine that fractures… the vertebrae, or when a gun shot or knife penetrates the spinal cord….
–The higher in the back or neck … occurs, the more dysfunction .. that occurs from a blow to the neck, a person usually loses function in the arms and legs.
–As seen in a video … it seems as though he was unable to walk.
…If Gray was showing signs …before being put in the van, how could the injury have taken place in the van?
–There are a number of signs and symptoms that can occur very shortly after a person suffers a spinal injury. These include … as well as difficulty with balance and walking, impaired breathing after injury and oddly positioned or twisted neck or back.
–As seen on the video, Gray was clearly in pain, screaming that he was hurt, and could not walk. He was also having trouble breathing because he kept asking for his inhaler.
– Now, let’s talk about the crushed larynx. … a crushed larynx is pretty rare in adults, …
–This is usually caused by a car accident when the passenger does not have a seatbelt on…
–Is it possible that Gray’s larynx was crushed first, causing the spinal cord injury?
… there would have to have been a direct blow to the front of his neck, which is unlikely to have been a self-imposed injury in the back of the van.
…It is unclear which injury happened first, or whether one caused the other, but it seems clear that there was nearly no way he caused the fatal injuries himself.So clearly you were 100% accurate with your analysis and he the “speculating urologist was spilling pee” and making an unsubstantiated adjudication on Gray’s death to incite a crowd. The fact that he covered all the bases before giving his views is so minor and irrelevant ; and I was the moron who dared speak of this.
I done wid that.. But stomp away of course.
Infallible you are…doctors bury their mistakes; it’s the best form of never being wrong!
Be careful with the thing called truth and reality though, it has this bad habit of getting in the way of arrogance!
Enjoy church tomorrow if you go. Pray for the herd. The good Lord will embrace your arrogant soul warmly as he does every day.
-
Steupsss
lawson, Money brain and GP seem to be having a shiite fest among themselves…to the extent that they are making AC into the voice of wisdom in the damn conversation.All that the people of Baltimore have done is stand up to ongoing systemic injustice perpetrated by the police department, …and called for JUSTICE to prevail in this case; and for systemic changes to ensure fair treatment for all citizens in future.
The Brass Bowls of Barbados would do well to note how the CHURCH, community leaders, even damn GANGS came together to stand AGAINST the injustices….
Not just Grays’ but the systemic problem……while we sit at home mumbling and whining and suffering…From the video, the emphasis does NOT seem to be about black versus white, but rather blacks versus POLICE DISCRIMINATION. They called for the arrest of ALL SIX officers involved…..not the whites…
Whether the driver is exonerated; or some others found guilty only of misdemeanours, is besides the point……which is, that the existing system of justice be applied to EVERYONE…including policemen.
A CLEAR CASE OF A COMMUNITY STANDING AGAINST INSTITUTIONALISED SHIITE..
who in their right minds argues against such a stand for justice…?
…especially one mounted spontaneously by the entire community? -
CNN is reporting that a NYPD Officer is in critical condition after being shot in the head. Don’t know the circumstances but undoubtedly the focus shifts 10,9,8,7,6,5………
-
MB wasn’t the other prisoner picked up just before the final stop ..#5 of 6?
They had already driving all around and about. At that point the damage literally and figuratively would have already been done.
AC…”BTW this thread is getting heavy and the pages are getting harder to turn… ” Well take the hint then.
Incidentally you made a comment on the ‘Registry thread’ which was a bit alarming …well to me anyhow.
You suggested the reason for a dress code was to enable the guards to be better able to remember what was worn.
you said exactly, “the point being that is easier for security to recognize or give details of a garment that is in code than several different pieces of style and detail in case of an emergency.”
So essentially the guard is better able to describe similar looking clothing but cannot properly describe a short dress with a split or a long dress down to the ankles with a split to the knee.
That it makes it easier for the guard to better identify them to police or other when they are dressed to code but harder when they are not. And this is one of the reasons for the dress code!
Were you lucid and fully awake before that post?