112 responses to “The Movie:Open Conversations About Race in Barbados”

1. Best of Barbados Avatar
    Best of Barbados

The chairman of a local construction company is stepping forward to assist a family in dire need, and whose plight was highlighted in yesterday’s edition of Barbados TODAY.

This morning Anthony DaSilva, of Innotech, visited Harriett Hackett, a mother of eight, who had appealed to the public for help with feeding, clothing and providing a better shelter for her children, after reading of her circumstance.

With him he took $2,500 worth in vouchers redeemable at any Massy Store so that Hackett and family could access food and other basic necessities. He also pledged his company would contact the Barbados Water Authority about paying off any outstanding bills for the My Lord’s Hill, St Michael property, and prepaying on Hackett account so it would not be a worry for the family in the immediate future.

Innotech chairman Anthony DaSilva chatting with the needy Harriett Hackett at her My Lord’s Hill home this morning.

“As far as I am concerned, water and food are two primary basis necessities,” DaSilva said.

“And if you have children in this house, it is not acceptable that they don’t have water or they don’t have food,” he told Barbados TODAY after meeting with the mother, who smiled when she received the vouchers and expressed her gratitude.

“The real issue here is the children; and it bothers me to think that eight children are living in such a cramped and difficult situation or scenario.

“The thing for me is what is the most urgent need, and I saw the fact that these children are probably suffering from not being properly fed, and I can’t imagine what it would be like to have children in a house without being able to feed them,” he added.

DaSilva also said that while he was aware that the house was in need of repairs, as the article indicated, he intended to address its state privately with the mother at a later date.

“I am in the business of construction and therefore it would not take a lot from us to change her life and to change the life of the children as it relates to the condition of this house and we intend to address it. And that’s not something I would want to have any publicity for.”

And as his Innotech spreads its wings to help the family, Da Silva is appealing to other companies to also offer a helping hand, especially as Government struggles to meet its overall objectives and social responsibilities.

He said this was not a unique situation and indicated that he was quite aware that there were a number of families in Barbados living under certain circumstances, explaining that his company had received daily requests to help people.

“I would challenge or encourage any company or anybody in Barbados who is able to help, to help those who are less fortunate, especially those at the very bottom where children are not being fed properly, getting basic nutrition, getting proper accommodation or the basic requirements of life.”

And for any critics who may have views on Hackett’s circumstances, DaSilva defended that it did not matter how she got there, but rather what could be done to change the lives of her offspring.

Meanwhile, other Barbadians have been calling Barbados TODAY’S Warrens offices stating their willingness to help the family in different ways.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I am really pleasantly surprised by this movie and even moreso by the conversation that precedes it.

I am impressed by the attempt to at least bring the subject matter to the fore.

The thing that is really interesting about it is the fact that someone(s) thought that Racism in Barbados was indeed a serious enough issue to have developed a movie and a real life discussion about it.

Congratulations go out to its authors for a serious issue well tackled.

I will go and see the movie when it comes out and will carry the grans

3. @Piece

An issue White people in Barbados hate to discuss.

4. And thereby David you make your first racial remark. You people just can’t help yourselves can you?

5. What is racist about the comment? It is no secret the White minority feels uncomfortable doing so.

JA

6. David the dumb head racist twirp..which I say SOLELY because you’ve already started the invective name-calling ……..you see in this place – BU – you cannot talk about race dispassionately, without spleen. There are too many preconceptions – and your fatuous remark is the first. By contrast, with PieceJunior there is hope. Ditto Best Of of course. But not with you who, qua the junior, should know better, but, as ever demonstrating your littleness.

7. I truly feel sorry for bajan blacks and poor whites who fall for this bullshit tirade in colourism.Never will address the real issues.Wealth distribution, wealth redistribution,racism,classism,skin tone prejudices , post traumatic slave syndrome in maintaining a rubbish social order.

Like the fake walk apology for slavery.

http://www.thenewblackmagazine.com/view.aspx?index=209

8. It is amazing how the people who injected racism into human culture, despite being told several times that there is no such thing called reversed racism, would continually attempt to caricature Black people as ‘racist’, merely to avoid the instinctive racism as deeply embedded within the DNA of White people.

We have said several times previously that ‘racism’ has a particular meaning. Further, that no Black people anywhere in the world have the ability to be racist. For it is alright to hold hands with Black people to sign cumbeyah when they want to use civil rights to legitimize bulling. Or when they, by their daily enactments, sustain a society of crypto-racism in Barbados, as defined and reported on by the UN, together with the majority of misguided Blacks who support that institution. These are the nature of racism as a social construction.

9. Ross calm down stop being so sensitive….David was just stating a fact. There are very racist people in Barbados both white and black. The reason it has come so far is that NO ONE EVER thought that someone one day will talk about it openly. Racism from the white Bajans has been covert. Racism from the black Bajans is becoming overt. It is time we openly discuss it! The poor black man is torn between loving a White God and having to deal with the rejection from this white God’s people. So the black person put on remy hair, bleach dem skin and straighten dem hair to become more acceptable by the white man. And still that ent wukking so de black man decide to become vocal about it. The black man today does not need the white man to move ahead. But some have it in their head that they do because dem God is a white man. Look at the photos on FB with de white baby Jesus and the white Jesus dem asking people to like and say amen to. They keep thanking Jesus for their daily existence and asking him to deliver them. Deliver them from WHAT?

10. @ Pacha
    why do you bother?
    …mean you can’t see that Ross is challenged intellectually? …give the guy a break nuh…!! All anyone need to do is mention “white”, ‘bulling”, or thieving lawyers and his feathers stick out…..
    BTW David, Ross did not accuse you of being “racist”, but of being “racial”….. Guess he must now be buying into John’s nonsense that there is only one race…and you dare to mention black and white….

@ Pacha
    Black people CAN be racist too….. but only in cases where they have to power to establish biased laws, rules and regulations.
    Prime examples are BARBADOS, South Africa etc…

You will note that in these jurisdictions, if anything, any bias CONTINUES to be TOWARDS whites and against majority (politically empowered) blacks.

What does THAT tell you….?

@ Islandgal
    Wait bozie…you very quiet nowadays… lost the 2X4 or wuh?
    What white Jesus what?
    If you go on facebook looking for shiite that white people post you deserve whatever you find….
    Jesus was born in Africa to poor-ass parents and he looked just like all the other people around him…. what does that tell you?

Be careful that you are not exposing YOUR OWN inferiority complex by defaulting to what white people tell you….

Don’t you read the shiite that John, Ross etc have to say here on BU?
    ha ha ha LOL
    White Jesus shiite….

11. Bushie

That’s the nature of racism! Even when you think you have eliminated it through getting the rid of Apartheid, in Barbados or South African, we will get a set of Blacks who come and enforce the same social policy, by stealth.

The UN calls it crypto-racism!

12. Bushie

Again, that is racism. Jesus must have been White! As though White people have any history for the ultimate, selfless, sacrifice.

13. @ Pacha
    steupsss
    Crypto racism…? All the UN is good for, apart from parroting what the USA says, is declaring “Bullers month”, “Children’s Day” or some such meaningless shiite…

Because blacks have undergone 400 years of indoctrination that “white is right”, it is only natural that even when empowered to make the rules, they will continue to be influenced by that perceived basic tenant… Thus Islandgal’s fixation with some mythological “white Jesus”, and YOUR own obsession with what these same people conceptualize as their “God”… which you then rebel against….

Why would you even want to rely on these people’s perception of any God – given their history?
    Why are you not using your obvious intellectual talents to conceptualize the REAL Beings/ Forces/ Realities that HAD to have designed and facilitated this earth?

WHY…?
    ….because YOU TOO are unconsciously impacted by the white lie…

Wuh It took YEARS of effort by BBE’s spirit to clear Bushie’s feeble mind….
    LOL ha ha ha

14. @ Bushie

You are nailing us to the cross!! LOL

15. We get knotted in labels etc. Racism, classism call it what you will, unless we discuss our feelings on the issues of RACE we are doom to revisit these issues 50 years from today. To quote Caucasion Rev Gerry Seale, if we have to shout first at each other before we demonstrate a capacity to be dispassionate, so be it.

On Thursday, 19 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

16. And shouting at Ross you are yet to disapprove you are a JA.

17. @David

Using the name of Gerry Seale you are no better than ‘that bulling boy’.

Gerry Seale is part of the racist construction in Barbados. White people have been for centuries throwing up people like Seale to soften the central determination that racism will inform all things, and we fall for it. If you think, if they think, what Seale is saying has merit who has it never been at the centre of social discourses?

Seale’s comment is merely another head fake!

18. @Pacha

Relax!

And deal with his perspective.

Some of you like to play man and not the ball.

What he says on the issue agrees with BU, we have to discuss with and not at.

19. Let me get this right. In order for us to discuss race in Barbados we have to make a film which highlights the use of the gun and promotes thug behaviour.

Barbados is not Compton; we do not need another generic “Boys in the hood” type film to promote black stereotypes on the silver screen.

20. Islandgal

But you said it yourself….and I entirely agree and would not dream of taking exception…you said to the effect ‘There is racism on both sides in Barbados and it is good that in this film people can talk about it openly’. With that I entirely agree.

David, on the other hand, refuses to see a two-way problem and begins with the slur that white people don’t talk about race. Nonsense. EG – The white folk on here try to and David and the rest of the “Davids” rubbish them mercilessly. Mpreover, for some, and I have Pacha in mind, racism is a one-way stretch – the reductionist fallacy. As for David, for him the world is full of “no secrets” which effectively means ‘Don’t dare to scrutinize any claim that I make and which I expect you to accept without criticism’ – which is the question begging fallacy.

Your thing about religion, though I don’t entirely accept it, is one of your ‘things’ which I respect as something in which you deeply believe. But I don’t think it has any bearing upon the film.

21. David

You’re the failed attorney. You know very well that he who avers must prove. No, sorry, you’re the failed attorney….so I’m telling you.

22. Are black Barbadians disadvantaged because of racism?

How can we peacefully change a situation where white Barbadians started out with the advantage of wealth and control of the economy ?

Can the wealth and power in Barbados be redistributed to the betterment of black Barbadians?

23. David

We were supposedly in that discussion before 1838 and the leaders of the White supremacists in the world, the USA, just invaded Iraq and killed a million people of colour, based on a lie.

Africa, as a continent, is still not much better than 100 years ago.

Racist police throughout the world are killing Black people with impunity.

In Barbados, the economy is as consolidated as it ever was.

Less than 3 percent White, of which Seale is a member, still controls, directly or indirectly, all the major arteries of the culture.

What makes Seale so prophetic? Why are his words so important? Have we not had/have Black people, the victims of Seale’s racist construction, not talking about these issues all the time?

That is another problem with Black people and our role in the continuation of White supremacist think, when White people say something it has more credence that all the Blacks who were, and still are, suffering because of their perennial racist policy.

24. I’ve watched the film once only and it will surely repay re-watching. It occurs to me that the film is positive in allowing all sections to tell their stories without interruption besides encouraging noises. It then becomes necessary for us to scrutinize for ourselves – and quite possibly take ourselves into a cul-de-sac.

As I remember….

It’s not good enough for two (?) people to say ‘Hey there’s racism against blacks in Barbados’ without more. That’s no more than me saying ‘Hey Pacha is a self-hating closet gay’.

The fella who said white people clutch their purses as he goes by is missing the point that if you look like a ruffian ALL people will clutch their purses.

The calypso commentators are balanced and really made the point that ‘art knows no colour’. Spot on.

The white girl who said she felt different and ‘looked at’ walking in Broad St (?) is a bit odd.

The white girl who said she felt odd in exclusively white company properly records a natural response.

The schoolgirl who said she’s her own girl is to be applauded. It would be interesting to know the school she attends. For there to be any comment of this kind, I guess it would have to be St Winifred’s or St Gabriel’s. Children tend to sit together if friends. Friends become cliques.

The girl dancer who said she’s met race as a dancer has a serious problem. The one thing that comes out of places like Dance Strides and Woodvine is that neither the kids nor the instructors (who are both black and white) know or ‘practice’ colour. Again, art knows no colour.

I think I’m right that the same girl said she’d met colour in Paris. At this point I know she has a serious problem. It’s the same Paris which is the home of beloved Josephine.

She then goes to London and says that on a train she sat where she shouldn’t. That can only mean she sat with the driver or the guard, hid in the loo, or tried it on in a first class carriage (which are clearly marked). I know nothing of peremptory “fines”. I guess she was made to pay for her first class seat and the others in the carriage had the right tickets.

The minor troubles of white joggers are not, I think, here or there. Fat joggers doubtless get remarks too….as also geriatric joggers, pretty girl joggers, politician joggers…..

25. @ Pacha
    Did David not start by stating that white people do not like to talk about racism?
    There are no shortages of black people who expound on the topic – quite naturally…

THEREFORE, that we have a white person willing to discuss the matter publicly at this time is to be commended – NO MATTER WHAT HIS VIEWS.
    Your extreme position towards such persons is therefore not helpful if David’s assessment that we need more white perspectives is valid.

Can you PLEASE therefore ease up on Ross, Seale et al and let us listen to their perspectives – which are likely to be just as influenced by what THEY have been taught over the last centuries as us blacks have been otherwise influenced.

Honest, open discussion is the ONLY approach that can help BOTH sides to understand each others’ perspectives; to empathize with each others’ position; and to move to a more enlightened place.

26. Oh and David….I see you don’t have your first class ticket either…great stuff….’He agrees with BU so don’t play the man play the ball’. My hero. Gulp.

27. The truth is that your approach is identical to Pacha’s…. aggressive and offensive.
    No wonder the two o’ wunna can’t get along….
    If you want to give…learn to take….

28. Bush Tea

You are talking to ME? Jesus I’ve been taking your bullshit, and David’s bullshit, and Pacha’s bullshit and and and’s bullshit ever since. Look BT go and whack something serious or get down on your knees and contemplate the God you worship mumbling “Lord. I am not like other men…..”

29. Thanks Bushie, could not have scribed it better.

30. robert ross wrote “if you look like a ruffian ALL people will clutch their purses.”

What does a ruffian look like ?

31. BT to Island

“Don’t you read the shite that Ross, John post on BU” (laughs at own joke). And YOU criticize ME you wanker?

32. David to BT

“Thanks baby…could not have scribed it better”. Oh dear David…you have to rely on BT?

33. Hants

Work it out smart ass.

34. Bushie
    You are in danger of selling out Black people again.

The global problem of White supremacy will never be solved by anything that may or may not happen in Bulbados.

We’ve long past the point where anything people like Seale could have to say would interests us. We are too wedded to the philosophy of our master/teacher John Henry Clarke. Clarke taught us that Black people have no friends, never had any.

That you have not learnt that, and like a native is willing to give a read of a book, a book that will be exchanged for your land, tells us that you have not really learnt your history.

If Seale has something to say let him get his people, exogenously, to stop White supremacy. He may start, for example, by telling them to get rid of nuclear weapons.

Seale, by virtue of being White, has no right to tell Black people about the crimes of White people. He should instead await the eternal judgement of our ancestors. A judgement which cannot be assuaged.

White people have done nothing the the last 500 years to indicate their commitment to racism is any less. In fact the reverse is true.

How can Seale as a representative of the very religion which was instrumental in White supremacist thinking now use that same wickedness to pretend he now wants to correct damage done to Black people.

We say say people like Seale should be shot! And are surprised that people like Bushie and David do not have more sense. Because somebody wants to talk it does not mean they have something to say.

35. @Pacha

Stop trivializing the discussion with such puerile interventions.

36. But Hants I’ll help you. Think of your worst nightmare. It won’t be mine. Get it? The issue is subjective. But the simple point is that the responses of blacks and whites is the same in face of perceived ruffian-ness.

37. @ Bushie

‘Aggressive and offensive’

Well, thanks for your determination.

That you have determined that we are so, maybe it is because ours is anathema to that expected by your masters. The same White people so loved by the dutiful slave!

In truth, we don’t give a *uck about White people. And we don’t look over our shoulder, like the quintessential Bajan slave is known to do, before an opinion could be mouthed.

A sensible interpretation is that the other person, who is so deemed, is adamant on keeping White supremacy going, whereas we are adamant that it must end. Unfortunately, you both are into appeasement, big time!

38. @ david

What is childish?

39. The issue here is about encouraging debate in a constructive way. Whether the request comes from a Bajan White or Black is irrelevant. Whites must be part of the solution.

40. Pacha

Sorry fella…you are one very sick wacko.

41. “Bush Tea March 19, 2015 at 9:26 AM #
    @ Pacha
    why do you bother?
    …mean you can’t see that Ross is challenged intellectually? …give the guy a break nuh…!! All anyone need to do is mention “white”, ‘bulling”, or thieving lawyers and his feathers stick out…..”

Ross…………you are in the hot seat…..lol

When I am in New York or Toronto and I see any whites, hispanics or asians walking too close to me, I hold my purse tighter, I don’t care what they look like, to me they are all potential thieves, they been thieving for centuries….Ross, I bet you don’t have the balls to call me racist for protecting my personal space and valuables.

Hants…..black people, the majority in Barbados are 98% responsible for their own problems, with the politicians/lawyers and leaders being the main culprits. They continue to act like whites are not just people too, that’s all they are and will ever be, no more or less, except in skin texture that tends to be perpetually cancerous and hair texture that’s weak and falls out while they are still young, otherwise they are just like anyone else.

That delusion of superiority has long since disappeared, the only people believing it and still trying to keep it alive are the dumb as ass blacks who refuse to let go of the systems created specifically to damage their race, hell, whites died trying to free blacks from slavery, because that was their comfort zone and too many of the blacks did not want freedom, they felt they could not survive without their massa. That mentality still exists in Barbados today among big hard back, hard head black men and women, then they pass on that same stagnant mentality to generations of their own progeny, so when will it end?

Look at the situation with the Harris woman, her husband beat her ass, she runs away and the dumb ass cops and everyone else mobilized resources belonging to the taxpayers to look for her, half-assed whites were running around harassing black people and assaulting them unnecessarily. None of these same authorities or leaders have the balls to now go to her house and question her, but had it been one of their own, she would probably in jail for wasting everyone’s time.

The dumb authorities found a drone that no one new they had to look for one woman who decided she was not going home because of domestic issues. I have never heard of them looking for their own people at that high level nor would anyone except them know their was a drone available to look for their own people who go missing regularly.

As I said, black people in Barbados create their own problems with their dumb mentality of massa mindedness or slave mindedness.

42. “White must be part of the solution”…yes, and listening, and evaluating, and self-analysis, and open-heartedness, and loving kindess and much more.

I find it odd that it’s only RR who has actually talked about the film in some detail.

43. @Pachamama,

White people have done nothing in the last 500 years to indicate their commitment to racism is any less. In fact the reverse is true.”

Two very powerful sentences which accurately encapsulates white racism dating back 500 years to present times.

Meanwhile in the good ole USA police brutalities towards blacks remains:

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/university-of-virginia-bloodied-black-student-accuses-police-of-racism-as-he-is-arrested-10118249.html

44. @ David

You behave like Columbus.

This ‘debate’ has been going on for 500 years. And today, nothing has changed!

White people are by nature racist and they cannot help. So what do you want to debate, how much longer it will continue?

45. @Well

Do you think your last comment is constructive? Stop making the discussion about narrow and myopic contructs.

46. Well Well

‘RR in the hot seat.’ Is that anything new? You know very Well Well he couldn’t give a monkey’s and is straightforwardly OT on BU.

47. @Eclaimer

In a predominant Black Country why can’t we show leadership? Let us force th Whites to the table kicking and screaming in a dispassionate manner.

48. David said..’.let us be dispassionate and force whites to the table kicking and screaming’

I think that qualifies for a seat at the table of the Dalai Lama.