Submitted by Tony ‘Kite’ Gibbs

The recent proposals by the President of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce (BCCI) to recover road taxes through fuel tariffs at the pump may seem administratively elegant at first glance, but to the non-economist like myself, is riddled with shortcomings, economic and otherwise, which do not appear self-evident to many in the Barbados Economic Society.

Road taxes are fixed charges levied by the government on vehicles for the right to use the roads in this country. Collecting road taxes at the pump through volumetric rates will always result in revenue adequacy problems. There will be over-collection of taxes when the economy is good or when oil prices are low and under-collection when economic circumstances force motorists to drive less. Road taxes collected in this manner will eventually be biased towards over-collection since there can be no conceivable way for Government to true-up and reconcile collected taxes on a month-to-month basis, in a revenue neutral manner, similar to what occurs with BL&P and the fuel clause adjustments.

For efficiency purposes, regulated prices such as fuel prices should reflect marginal costs. The common view is that consumer welfare is maximized as long as the value placed on a good is at least equal to the additional resources that must be committed to produce that good. When fuel prices are further burdened by duties and now road taxes they serve to distort prices in a manner that raises problems for allocative efficiency and create unintended outcomes. To avoid paying higher taxes, some motorist may look for substitutes such as electric vehicles, LPG conversions or may even turn to smaller fuel efficient means of transport. Diesel may also be a consideration because of its fuel efficiency. These actions not only distort the market but may result in less tax revenues and a greater tax burden on those motorists who are unwilling or unable to make the switch.

By far the biggest concern one sees with this proposal is the equitable distribution of this tax burden. The BCCI President is reported to be of the view that this tax will be ‘more equitable’ relative to road usage. Meaning that the more miles you travel each day, the greater the tax burden should be. She is also of the view that non-commercial road users should bear a smaller burden than commercial road users. The Barbados Economic Society seems to have found favour with most if not all of these ideas calling them ‘novel’.

Notions of equity are always very tricky issues since they are generally influenced depending on where you sit. The most common understanding of tax equity is that equally situated citizens should bear the same tax burden. Also, there is a notion of equity that suggests that those who make more should pay more. Now my question to the BCCI President is how equitable is it for a St Lucy resident to pay higher road taxes simply because he/she has to travel in traffic to Bridgetown to work each day while a person who lives and works closer to town pays less? What about taxi drivers, mini bus operators, freighters, fishermen etc who make a living from transportation? Will they not suffer a significant increase in their operating costs and be forced where possible to pass it on to customers? The issue of commercial users paying more is really a non-issue. They already do that, so that will not change. What will change is how much more they have to pay for the same level of road usage.

Finally, we come to ease-of-administration, whereby government is now asked to delegate to others the collection of taxes. The feeling here is that it has worked well for VAT so why not try it for road taxes. Well, to that suggestion I say` good luck! And to kill two birds with one stone, why not make gas stations check for insurance as well. The simple truth is this seemingly benign, elegant and novel form of tax collection is really a Trojan horse cloaked in the gown of administrative efficiency. Yes, productivity maybe low in the Pine and other Government offices, but is that reason to further swell our unemployment numbers?

121 responses to “Should Road Taxes Be Collected At The Pump?”

1. Has anyone ever provided the amount of road tax revenue collected for each of the last five years? Has anyone ever provided the number of licensed vehicles subject to road tax in each of the last five years? Has anyone ever provided the amount of delinquency for road tax in each of the last five years? Having this information can lead you to more informed decision. Either you have to cleanup the present collection system, or administer it as the post suggests.

Included in this suggestion you would also have to look at the cost savings. On one hand you could maintain, or create jobs, or on the other you could cut out unproductive jobs.

Just based on observation, I would recommend enforcing the present system and making those whose jobs are to enforce the laws much more productive. Develop better strategies to catch the those violators. When you read on BU about certain ministers having expired stickers, one has to wonder where the justice is when ordinary citizens are held to stricter standards.

2. Collecting road tax at the pump is as farfetched as buying a ticket to go to the moon. Will the road tax be standardized? If so why should I with a small car pay the same as a person with a SUV? Will I have to pay road tax on the petrol I buy for my lawnmower? What about the person who brings a five gallon container and no car to the pump, then transfer that petrol to a car, what road tax will he/she pay? If with the collection method now drivers can do as they like, this system will be worse. Will I pay less road taxes than the fellow who use the road much more than me?

3. Are we not complicating this issue? The government has access to the level of revenue derived from taxes over the years. Apply a tax at the wholesale to recoup and make the same adjustment to the margin allowed by petrol distributors. The tax/spread can be reviews semi annually based on volumes sold.

4. With the amount of uninsured vehicles on the road, which indicates that road taxes have not been paid, i would prefer the current system where the police can randomly do traffic checks and catch some of these culprits, who can cause law abiding citizens grief or even more serious problems in case of an accident. In terms of proper accountability i prefer road tax being paid in it’s current form.

5. And what is the cost benefit of allocating scare police and other resources?

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“Finally, we come to ease-of-administration, whereby government is now asked to delegate to others the collection of taxes. The feeling here is that it has worked well for VAT so why not try it for road taxes. Well, to that suggestion I say` good luck! And to kill two birds with one stone, why not make gas stations check for insurance as well.”

Now that insurance bit is something the so-called novel BCCI proposal has failed to highlight. This method of collecting road tax is not a new idea but one that has been proposed over the years but only to run up against the old bugbear of ‘policing’ the mandatory third party insurance regime.

Since there will no longer be the need of policing motorists to see if their road tax status is in order would the police and road inspectors from the much reduced Licensing Authority be still be required stop motorists to confirm their third party insurance status?
    What would act as a trigger to the Authorities that there are too many uninsured motorists on the makeover cart roads?

The Road Traffic Act would have to be amended to make the Insurance companies totally responsible (and liable for any damages arising from their negligence or failures) for ensuring the Police are immediately (within 2 days) informed of any lapse of motor insurance policies or cancellations which have not been duly arranged with the vehicle owners.
    Unless the vehicle has been sold or otherwise properly disposed of then the Insurance company is duty bound to inform the relevant Authorities if a motorist fails to renew the motor insurance contract by the agreed renewal date.

The question is what would the Authorities do to ensure those ‘lapsed’ motor insurance policyholders comply with the law.

The ICT framework can be made easily available to effectively manage such identification of ‘unapproved’ policy lapses and their immediate reporting to the police.
    This could be another source of revenue collection to help defer the cost of policing since the ‘violating’ car owners would be responsible for bearing the full cost of any exercise to regularise his or her road status.

7. old onion bags Avatar

David: March 6th @6.56 am

And what is the cost benefit of allocating scare police and other resources??

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

SPOT ON !…….. Consider the cost effectiveness of the old method.vs. at the pump.

Objective function: Maximimise Road Tax Revenue

Constraints: Scarce Police manpower and Administration clerical cost

Proposal: Calculations based on PM Fruendel’s figure of 115,000 vehicles on the road and an average collect of (400+850)\2 …..the estm. collections on road tax equates $71,875,000.

Knowns: $100 Million+ collected revenue by BARNOC via dodgy means thru their latest lethargic responses to falling crude prices as far back as June.

Most definitely…… collections at the pump will BE MORE COST EFFECTIVE than the present method at MTW……and most importantly, is assured in 12 months.

8. TAXATION is THEFT; THEFT is EVIL; TAXATION is EVIL.

TAXATION must go in this country!!

The vast majority of adult people of this country must help put an ABSOLUTE TOTAL stop to the government of Barbados stealing robbing them of what are rightfully portions of their own remuneration properties.

In wickedly evilly TAXING portions of the remuneration properties of the relevant TAX victims whenever, the government of Barbados is cruelly violating and continues to viciously violate the constitutional and legal rights of those people and their own entities to own, acquire and dispose of their remunerations as they see fit, and to the protection of such remuneration properties, against theft robbery etc, under the law.

A certain future coalitional regime of Barbados and of which the PDC will be part shall ABOLISH ALL TAXATION in this country and shall at the same time as that make it a felonious crime and a crime against humanity too, and ones extremely compulsorily punishable also, upon reasonable conviction by a jury in a local criminal court of law presided over by a competent Judge – by a long period of imprisonment, for any person or persons in authority in government in Barbados to attempt to or otherwise craft or devise any policy program or regime; or to attempt to do so or to otherwise craft or devise any policy, program or regime, with the assistance of any person or persons from anywhere outside of Barbados, with the intention of commiting himself/herself/themselves and specified others to TAX, and/or to actually TAX any portion or any amount of the remuneration of any person, business or any other entity in this country.

The Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP must go or be forced to go in the foreseeable future in this country.

9. Changing the method of collecting taxes is not enough. Game is over for Bim.
    Greece just started to borrow money from Greece NIS, also non-payment of temporary teachers. Expected to default next month without emergency loan. Sounds familiar?

The structural overhead is just too big and the taxes and customs too high that economy will ever recover. Bim has 19 ministries for less than 300,000 citizens, that is 1 minister for 14,000 citizens. In comparison: China 25 (1 for 52 million), USA 15 (1 for 21 million), Switzerland 8 (1 for 1 million). Conclusion: The smaller the government, the richer the country.

More politicians, pastors, senators, QCs, knights, managers, counselors won´t help. There need to be people to WORK(!), not to come to the office at 9 am and leave 4 pm.

10. @Octopus

You would accept the analogy to LIAT? A handful of ATRs and hundreds of employees?

11. old onion bags Avatar

Sorry Anthony,

For digressing but what the HELL this Govt expect? How can they expect lower and middle class people to EASILY find a $400 for a saloon and $800 for SUV after GIVEN NO INCREASE IN INCOME yet subjected to a barrrage or TAX INCREASES???…Bajans have always been paying their taxes before, but a time comes when enough is enough. In case this schizophrenic Govt forgets, here is what these berridden Taxpayers were recently subject to..

Increase in Vat from 15% to 17.5% on almost ALL purchases.
    Layoffs for some mpeople or reduced workloads.
    Increased water raes by 50%.
    Introd. Consolidation taxes on incomes
    Solid Waste tax on all households..garbage tax
    Increase in Land taxes.
    Increases in foodstuffs and other durable goods as a result of the above taxation.

Where does Fruendel Stuart administration feel Bajans will find all these monies from…..I have need seen MONEY TREES growing in Barbados, have you?

12. Barbados is still paying more for petrol than the other regional nations, now if I had just paid my road tax and the pump starts collecting it, not only am I now paying more for petrol or I’m paying someone else’s taxes or paying excess money to government for road taxes that has already been paid. How will you decide the $400 payer from the $2500 payer? If the taxes are equally divided then more drivers will go for the bigger vehicle which would mean more petrol, more foreign exchange to buy the petrol. I’m not saying the new system can’t work but it is a far way from being realistic.

13. Don’t bring me problems; Bring me solutions

If the issue here is people not paying their vehicle road tax and the unwillingness to change the current method of collection of this road tax then why not use easily seen color coded license plate tags to verify that the road tax on that vehicle is current instead of a small piece of paper attached to the windshield. This would only need to be displayed on the rear license plate so that it is easily identifiable by anyone following that vehicle (including police).

This system has been used by many countries throughout the world (including Canada and US) for many years and it has proven very successful.

14. old onion bags Avatar

Loyal Bajan

How will you decide the $400 payer from the $2500 payer? If the taxes are equally divided then more drivers will go for the bigger vehicle which would mean more petrol, more foreign exchange to buy the petrol. I’m not saying the new system can’t work but it is a far way from being realistic
    //////////////////////////

You confusing a fixed cost and a variable cost. If the tax is on how much gasoline is used, it matters not what you drive but how much you use…BIGGer vehicles use MORE gasoline hence HIGGER TAX..not true?….so why would ‘they opt for bigger vehicles’?…..

TAX at the PUMP is definitely MORE EQUITABLE…..you drive more, you pay more.. by all means introduce it!!!

15. old onion bags Avatar

corr; HIGHER TAXES

16. There are two efficiencies suggested in the shuffler proposal that are obvious. 1. Greater fuel efficiency in non work related motoring. 2. Efficiency in revenue collection. The continued over dependence on the government/administration to provide unproductive civil service jobs is a under adjustment even as we speak, so to fight to hold on to the current inefficient method is a losing proposition. A commitment to using the revenues from this source only for road improvement/development related projects would be most welcome.

17. St George's Dragon Avatar

I think it’s a great idea.
    It would:
    – Promote the use of fuel efficient cars
    – Give an incentive for people to try and drive less so save gas, lower import bills, reduce wear and tear on roads
    – Save people’s time queuing at the Pine to renew their road tax
    – Mean road tax is allocated more fairly according to gas consumption
    – Save public expenditure on tax collectors at the Pine (or reduce queues for the remaining payers)
    – Mean there is no need to find a once a year lump sum payment
    – Mean that all those who don’t pay tax at the moment will have to contribute their fair share

18. old onion bags
    Get serious!!!!! Both driver (A) and driver (B) are coming from the same district St Lucy, (a) driving a 5 series BMW, driver (b) driving a Kia picante both going to the same destination 5 days a week, not using either vehicles on weekends, are you telling me (b) use the same about of petrol as (a)? This system will again benefit the lower middle and below drivers to the benefit of the higher bracket; Robin Hood in reverse. Until or unless the poorer bajan stop being so partisan and speak out then will continue to be disadvantaged. Open your eyes people, look how long it took government to lower the petrol prices and when the talk started they only took off 5 cents. It is only after the prices of petrol within the region were made known that our prices really came down; ironically we are STILL among the highest in the region, but government need the money and most of the petrol money comes from average and below bajans, collectively they purchase most of the petrol on a daily basis, therefore this new method is a way of getting back that money they they lose by dropping the price of petrol. Get REAL

19. Why is government reluctant in introducing electric powered vehicles in Barbados? For one, there will lose that revenue they now make from the sale of petrol. Bajans should be encouraged to purchase these vehicles and the import duties should be eased but it seems government is tardy in okaying this. Maybe they need to let us know why.

20. old onion bags Avatar

Loyal Bajan

REAL : Who tell driver (a) buy a BMW ?…….

How many poor Bajans got BMW’s?…..gimme a break here. If U got it PAY UP !

21. @St.Georges Dragon

Your comment has merit because such an approach would complement the government ‘s alternative energy thrust.

22. The police traffic unit is just that the officers assigned to that area work primarily with traffic matters, it is their responsibility and there is not a manpower shortage per say, road checks are necessary so as to detect those who run afoul of the RTR, a lot of persons would have had the horrible experience of their vehicles being seriously damaged by uninsured, no road tax, and no drivers license culprits who once their cars can still be driven flee the scene, then there is the problem of fictitious number plates, when these persons vehicles are damaged to the point where they can be moved they often flee the scene on foot, leaving the vehicle which more than likely has a different chassis number and engine number and the said fictitious number plates, which are all problems that police road checks play an important role in eliminating. The only other method i support is that of John Everatt, i do not support taxes of this nature at the pump, it will not address seriously those who intend to flout the road traffic regulations.

23. Should be damaged to the point where they cannot be moved………..correction to the above.

24. old onion bags Avatar

Villager

If you think Govt will lose out on this opportunity to COLLECT revenue endless.. without a fixed accountability…think again….Trinidad was the tip of the spear

25. So Onions ….people with electric vehicles get a free pass? no road taxes for then?
    Why are we looking to ease road taxes – when we just added a new SHIITE tax…on HOMES….?

Steupss
    A storm in a tea cup.
    there are already too any damn cars in this little place, if anything there need to be more RESTRICTIONS – especially on big-ass luxury cars…not more ease for vehicle ownership.

Foreigners own the whole damn place and THAT is the best ‘initiative’ that the Chamber of commerce can come up with…? steupssss
    shiite man…. they seem to be ALL Froons….

26. @Bush Tea

Your man Jeremy Stephens agree with collecting at the pump.

27. old onion bags Avatar

BIG ASS cars that guzzle gasoline will meet the EQUALIZER…..Some new method of taxing electric cars will have to be found. Simple. The old method just aint working given the shortage of cash flows of taxpayers…..and Govt knows this.

28. @ Onions
    Boss, try using a little common sense nuh….what meet what equalizer what…? you believe that crap?
    How could it be a problem for Bushie or Bizzy to have to pay the same price for gas as poor boys like you and Caswell? steupss!!
    …besides – you ain’t see that Bizzy and all the rich boys have ELECTRIC cars?

Them fellows does buss their tails laughing at wunna – hear….!!
    This is just a master stroke to make the lotta brass bowl poor people who already brek with the shiite tax…. now stand the cost of road taxes via gasoline prices…… while the rich boys move to electric….

…of course Bizzy and Bushie will still keep two Benzes / Beemers for special occasions – probably buy gas every other month….

LOL…it is SO EASY to rob a brassbowl…..

All that is needed is for 6 policemen to be dedicated full time to checking registration and insurance, with confiscation of the vehicle and enormous fines for its recovery….and triple the road tax for anything above 1800cc…
    MATTER FIXED.

Bajans can NEVER fix simple problems – always some ridiculous, complex, expensive shiite…

While you are at it, Onions, see if you can find out why there are still no parking meters in Bridgetown…. A SIMPLE matter that would address the problem of indiscriminate parking; encourage more business in town; improve the use of mass transport; and just plain make sense….
    LOL…
    if you don’t know or won’t say….Ask David (BU)…. he knows….

29. If ever my vehicle is struck by a uninsured one and my insurance tells me there is nothing they can do, I will sue the uninsured driver. I will also bring a class case against the government for negligence for allowing that vehicle to be on the road.

30. @ David
    ……Bushie’s man Jeremy Stephens?

……no comment!

31. @ loyal bajan
    “…..I will sue the uninsured driver. I will also bring a class case against the government for negligence for allowing that vehicle to be on the road.”
    …in a Barbados court…?

What do you think your grandson will do with the compensation?
    …put flowers on your grave..?

32. old onion bags Avatar

Where the hell this fruendel stuart administration think we the taxpayers gine find all this MONEY for TAXES? We got to pay for

Increase in Vat from 15% to 17.5%
    Layoffs 6,000 plus workers.
    Increased water rates by 50%.
    Introd. Consolidation taxes on incomes
    Solid Waste tax on all households..garbage tax
    Increase in Land and Property taxes.
    Increases prices on foodstuffs as a result of above taxation.
    Increase cess on fuel imports
    Increase tax on barrels leaving the port
    A newly introduced tipping fee at the dump.

MURRRDEERR!!!!!!

No wonder motorist falling thru D net .

33. old onion bags Avatar

@ Bush man

You keep your Benz and BMW…..my lil Cornwall still gine get me to town and back and the BEST part is I not like some complaining. Mauby money wid mauby tongue here Bredds….If D sea din bad tonight I would be out hooking Brims too.

34. @ Onions
    …so you have nothing to say about the parking meters… ??
    🙂

35. old onion bags Avatar

Parking meters?…..Wait Fruendel din say that we brekk as S…..so how we gine buy Parking meters? Right now all these can afford to do is COLLECT the shortest ways possible, hence the suggested pump alternative….No money to buy one shoite…

36. As far as I can remember a shipment of parking meters arrived in Barbados some years ago,and we were told that they would shortly be installed in Bridgetown. Then again we Bajans have short memories.

37. @ Colonel Buggy
    Boss, you should have been a General….
    But David knows why they have not been installed….yet… 🙂

38. loyal bajan March 6, 2015 at 8:33 PM #

If ever my vehicle is struck by a uninsured one and my insurance tells me there is nothing they can do, I will sue the uninsured driver. I will also bring a class case against the government for negligence for allowing that vehicle to be on the road.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Is there still such a thing as Law by Custom?
    Cause if like the bicyclist and the motorcyclists who ride the streets of Barbados by night with out any lighting,seen and are not cautioned or reported by the police, then those drivers who run about without insurance and/or road tax and go about unchecked by the authorities. Then they to have the right to do so under the Law of Custom.

39. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I think that a road tax at the pump is an excellent idea.

It is in accord with a sensible energy policy as it will eventually force people to use more fuel efficient vehicles for work and there should be significant savings in amount of gas used eventually, once reasonable rates are worked out.

Once a reasonable rate is worked out by actuaries it will be a tax that is easier to manage by most people as it will not be a lump sum payment but an expected small percentage of the cost of the gas.

The timing of implementation would be a bit tricky since people now pay their road tax at different times and the tax would have to be introduced for everybody at the same time to be equitable or there would have to be some system of refunds worked out to compensate people who have already paid some old road tax at the time of introduction. This might be a big hurdle for a money grabbing government.

Government will still have to maintain its workers in the licensing department to service vehicle licenses, Driving tests, etc.

The police will still have to check on registrations etc.

On the whole the proposed system should be better than the current one in almost all regards.

40. Bush Tea March 6, 2015 at 7:00 PM #

So Onions ….people with electric vehicles get a free pass? no road taxes for then?
    Why are we looking to ease road taxes – when we just added a new SHIITE tax…on HOMES….?
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    Are we here again. Back in 1981 , the big truck operators in Barbados ie COW, Edghill ,Black Bess Quarry et al, convinced Tom Adams that trucks with a single rear axle should be paying more road tax than one with a double or more rear axles. And Tom went along. Some single axle trucks, today ,are still paying up to $2500, while those big great double axle trucks pay $1600.
    In Britain , US and Canada, this would be acceptable, as the multi- rear axle truck exerts less pressure on the road surface,which means less damage , than the single axle job. But in little Barbados where there is a corner every few yards this is not so. And we have seen what damages that these double axle trucks have done to the roadway ,especially in tight corners. Then government had to spend millions of dollars,to resurface and concrete many of our roundabouts. Ironically , many of those same operators, whose trucks were mashing up the road, benefited immensely, as contractors repairing the same roads.

41. Scrap the Road Tax and charge a toll for using the ABC Highway.
    But what are we really getting for our monies worth of Road Taxes?

Badly lit junctions on the ABC Highway, ie like the one by Deighton Griffith school.
    Whole stretches of the same ABC Highway without lighting for months.
    Endless potholed roads , all over the island.
    Not enough short term parking spaces in Bridgetown,
    Wayside vendors in some Bridgetown streets given priority ,over motorists parking (Marhill Street)
    Damage to vehicle, tyres, suspension,steering as a result of utilities, mainly BWA, not reinstating the road way in a timely fashion ,after pipe line repairs.
    Utility man hole covers all over the island , especially LIME’s, well below the level of the road surface, creating uncomfortable industrial potholes.

42. @are we there yet, in terms of implementation, rather than refunds which may not appear, why not pro-rated bills to the date of implementation?

43. The Weekend Nation newspaper of Friday, March 6, 2015, reports the current Minister of Finance, Mr Chris Sinckler, as having said at the Nation’s Editorial Forum recently, that the Barbados Revenue Authority was mandated to go after tax dodgers.

Now let’s us make it abundantly clear on this BU network, that a certain future coalitional government of Barbados and of which the PDC shall have – as a very crucially important part of its political managerial agenda – the ABSOLUTE TOTAL ABOLITION of this so-called Barbados Revenue Authority – which – in actual fact – is a criminal theiving robbing TAX department – nothing more, nothing less.

Those persons – who – at the time of the ushering in of such a coalitional regime – would be workers of this outrageous dastard department, would not only become partners of a wholly new broader state management entity whose primary mission would be to as properly and efficiently as possible manage the affairs of government of this country, but such then to be former workers would also become part of the great revolutionary thrust, if they wish to do so, of such a political regime to bring about and put in place commercial and financial strategies and policies geared towards helping make the government sector a very strong and viable enterprising and entrepreneurial one out of the local and international social political material financial market dynamic prevailing then.

As well, we will urge all decent honourable Barbadians who have been reportedly labelled so derogatorily as tax dodgers by this present Minister of Finance, who happens – out of all Ministers of Finance in the post-independence history of this country, to be the most obtuse stupid political figure to have ever held that office, to tremendously increase – over time – their political electoral support for the PDC and its political partners, so that one of these good days in this country there will be the said coalitional regime properly presiding over the social political material financial affairs of this country, and that will definitely be greatly assist in the necessary removal of this oppressive dehumanizing yoke of TAXATION from off the backs – so to speak – of all the relevant people in this country.

Both these intellectually and politically bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP disorganizations must go or be forced to go in the forseeable future in this country.

44. St George's Dragon Avatar

If they scrap road tax, please can they scrap dog and bicycle licenses as well?
    It must cost far more to administer them than they achieve in income and they appear to have no benefit.

45. old onion bags Avatar

.Bush Tea March 6, 2015 at 10:30 PM #
    @ Colonel Buggy
    Boss, you should have been a General….
    But David knows why they have not been installed….yet…

And where may I ask..are we going to put these meters…Broad St.,Cavans Lane, Swan St.??? Where? In D car parks then?..Besides we got walkin parking meters already… who when they catch you ..it is $50 a pop…what Parking meters, what…..stupidness

46. fuh bush tea parking meters in bridgetown would not put a dent in his pocket book, cause fuh sure his entrance into bridgetown might be about once a year .

47. David

Any ideas why the fuel adjustment figure has gone up for March…..a bit quick?

48. @ are-we-there-yet
    Surely you realize that the interest of the business people in scrapping this tax is in reducing costs by way of staff etc
    Presumably these people with fleets of vehicles employ and pay staff to monitor, determine and pay these taxes. Government pay people to monitor and receive these taxes…. police are employed in part to monitor compliance.

So what great benefits are you seeing in making these people redundant?

We have those among us who seem to think that the world revolves around the bottom line, but while it is important, there are other considerations to be made in the management of a society.
    The painful truth is that, if we are to use this line of argument, almost everyone around here should be made redundant, and really efficient and low cost Chinese, Indian, Guyanese and other alternatives utilized to replace us.

Take the same woman who started this shiite talk…. what the hell EXACTLY does she do? Do you know that we can replace her for a fraction of what it cost to pay her?
    Do you know that the same goes for you?

The objective of living is to BUILD UP a society by collectively making wise decisions to IMPROVE efficiency, BUILD capacity and BUILD good relationships…. NOT TO EAT THE WEAKER ONES IN SOCIETY.
    ..else….your ass will soon be on the block too.

49. The Weekend Nation newspaper of Friday, March 6, 2015, reports the current Minister of Finance, Mr Chris Sinckler, as having said, at the Nation’s Editorial Forum very recently, that the Barbados Revenue Authority was mandated to go after tax dodgers.

Now, let us – the PDC – make it abundantly clear on this BU network, that a certain future coalitional government of Barbados and of which the PDC will be part shall have – as a very crucially important part of its political managerial agenda – the ABSOLUTE TOTAL ABOLITION of this so-called Barbados Revenue Authority, which – in actual fact – is a criminal theiving robbing TAX department, nothing more, nothing less.

Indeed, those persons – who at the time of the ushering in of such a coalitional regime, would be workers of this outrageous dastard department, would, if they so wish, not only become partners of a then newly installed broader state management entity whose primary mission would be to as properly and as efficiently as possible manage the affairs of the government of this country, but would also become part of the great revolitionary thrust of such a political regime to bring about and put in place commercial and financial policies geared towards helping make the government sector a very viable enterprising and entrepteneurial one out of the local, regional and international social political material and financial market dynamics prevailing then.

As well, we will urge all decent honourable people in Barbados who have been reported derogatorily labelled as tax dodgers by this Minister of Finance, who happens – out of all Ministers of Finance in the post-independence history of this country, to be the most obtuse and stupid political figure to have ever held that office, to tremendously increase – over time – their political electoral support for the PDC and its political electoral partners, so that – one of these good days in this country, there will be the said coalitional regime presiding over the social political material and financial affairs of this country and greatly assisting in the removal of this oppressive dehumanizing yoke of TAXATION from off the backs – so to speak – of all the relevant people in Barbados.

Both these intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and descredited DLP and BLP factions must go or be forced to go in the forseeable future in this country.

Our apologies to the readers of the above 6.28 am PDC post which was prematurely inadvertently sent to BU.