Submitted by Yardbroom

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

The actions of a leader speak louder than his words.  People are motivated when you give them credit, rather than take it yourself.  Ego and aggression are neither necessary nor constructive“.

Should I believe that there cannot be quiet effective leaders.  We were told that there would be continuous disarray in the DLP Party at this juncture.  Names were mentioned, who were not satisfied with their particular positions or portfolios.  The expected squabbles have not materialised, ministers are doing the people’s business, the ship is steady, the shoots of recovery have started in the economy.  Properly watered and tended they will bear fruit in the long term.

Has all the above happened by accident, was there not a leader in charge?

No Government gets everything right, it is impossible to do but the populace must ask, over a range of issues have they been successful, and is there a sense of direction. On most projects in Barbados, from the small board and shingle house to others costing hundreds of millions, when government expenditure is involved, some will seek impropriety.  In some cases it might be true but we run the risk of negating any views we express, if there is a “constant” of looking for crookedness in those we oppose politically. It does not lead to mature debate, to constantly seek to undermine others for no other reason but to make it a spectator sport.

Of course there are those who will “crucify” anyone who dares to have an opposing view or advances the other side of the argument……but that leads to a sterile environment.  For when all else fails personal attacks are used but that they can only use such a retort dilutes anything relevant they might have to say.

I say show me the achievement, and I will know the measure of the man.  This as good today as it was yesterday and it does not matter if it is in Barbados or elsewhere.  True leadership is about what is being done, rather than what has been or is being said.

For those who think Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart does not speak enough and admittedly there are a few who do, there is a counter argument.

“May I remind you that: The quiet leader is not a modern invention and Lao Tzn, who in the classic Taoist text Tao Te Ching, was discussing the same characteristic around 500 BC.

The very highest is barely known by men,
Then comes that which they know and love,
Then that which is feared,
Then that which is despised
He who dares not trust enough will not be trusted.
When actions are performed
Without unnecessary speech.
People say “we did it”.

Here again, the highest level of leadership is virtually invisible.”

It is possible when the time is right, that the people will say, the DLP did it, not Freundel Stuart, but the DLP, that is true leadership; there would be no effort to supplant true leadership with “”ego”.

1. OLD SCHOOL !
    Go back to school yuh old ‘thing’
    stop trying to play on the sentiment of race . it did not save Sandi, it sure will not save Freundel. From what I am hearing the people have made up their minds about who they will vote for in the next election. There is enough to go on and the decisions have already been made. Remember the DLP as the governing party is under more scrutiny and more prone to make the mistakes that will negatively affect them.

As opposition , the BLP just has to wait and come with reasonable workable alternatives.

After the early 1990s, the DLP was not expected to be return to power in a million years and they got back.
    The BLP people just need to pace their efforts and take power from the DLP whenever the election comes.

Stuart is not going to call elections

News just in is that Stuart may have second thoughts about running because he is going to lose his seat.

2. My problem with Starcom and the Nation is that their coverage lacks balance. I focus on them because no one reads the Advocate, CBC has always been CBC, we look to the Nation and VOB for some unbiased, good journalism.

Comment removed to a separate blog.

3. Tina Roach wrote “After the early 1990s, the DLP was not expected to be return to power in a million years.”
    It is a Dictatorship wunna want ? Wunna tink de BLP has a divine right to rule Barbados but no political party does.

Wanna gine come again with SyllyRumble’s mantra “Father of First world Barbados and Prime Minister for Life Owen Seymore Arthur.”
    Maybe it will me Mother of ….
    MIA aint done yet.

4. Old School,

If I were you, I would take the Consumer report done by Justin Robinson with a dose of salts. Just remember that he comes with a DLP bias, he supports the party and is a chairman or deputy of a board. Or is this fair and balanced for you?

By the way, I would like to know what benefits are being derived from the establishment of constituency councils. I live in Ch Ch South and the priest at Ch Ch is its chairman and knowing him to be a lazy incompetent person, I have not seen a ping or pang done in this constituency, only lunches for the elderly.

5. The society is in a daze , don’t know where to turn, as it cries out for effective direction from its leader .

Modern leadership can’t be weak and silent on the injustices inflicted on the poor, and still begging the haves for funding for their parties .

The old balance game between the people and those who control the commanding heights in this old order now demands news skills so those of the old school has to bring the relevant capabilities to please both forces.

Modern leadership can not be grounded in the tradition of the family, out dated rhetoric, or charismatic appearance .These times demand a visionary who will reform our structures of governance.

Speaking stilted standard English is not a replacement for substance, after listening to it we are still in a state of despair and without hope. It is imperative that Mr Stuart place a body of alternatives that is worthy of consideration on the table.

Mr Stuart has to change the social and economic order at a time when modern day capital in undermining the gains of our post World war 11 political struggles, and at a time when our political parties are begging feverishly for funds to meet modern day electoral demands.

6. The Hon Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart to speak at 8.02 tomorrow night.

7. Wonder which project he will announce smi won again.

8. “The actions of a leader speak louder than his words. People are motivated when you give them credit, rather than take it yourself. Ego and aggression are neither necessary nor constructive“.

Should I believe that there cannot be quiet effective leaders. We were told that there would be continuous disarray in the DLP Party at this juncture. Names were mentioned, who were not satisfied with their particular positions or portfolios. The expected squabbles have not materialised, ministers are doing the people’s business, the ship is steady, the shoots of recovery have started in the economy. Properly watered and tended they will bear fruit in the long term.

Has all the above happened by accident, was there not a leader in charge?
    The question was posed by Yardbroom way back in April 2011…can anybody NOW HAVE THE SLIGHTEST DOUBT?

IT IS REALLY WORSE THAN WE ALL THINK….

9. WHAT WILL IT TAKE TO SEE THE OBVIOUS…..ALEXANDRA’S, NIS FUNDS RUPTURE, DUMP SWAP DIBBLE, DELOITTE LOST DOCUMENT CLICO GREAT TRAIN ROBBERY, QEH IN FLIGHT, PSEUDO DRUGS , FOUR SEASONS CONCRETE JUNGLE, JUNK BOND STATUS MELE…and now this elections foil up?.STOP MAKING EXCUSES MAN!… WE DRIFTING AIMLESSLY…TIME FOR CHANGE IS NOW !