Sir Dennis Byron, President of the CCJ

One of the most controversial court decisions handed down by the United States of America Supreme Court is Roe v.Wade in 1973. To this day the decision continues to stoke public debate about the license humans should be given to determine when to abort the life of an unborn child. It is also interesting to note one of the highest courts in the United Kingdom – still the final court of appeal for the majority of former British colonies – allows Dissenting Opinions by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council.

In 2001 the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) was established. It is the original original jurisdiction to translate and arbitrate matters arising from the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramus. Many suggest it is unfortunate only Barbados, Belize and Guyana so far, are the countries to recognize the CCJ in its appellate jurisdiction.

Three interesting events occurred in House debate this week which placed the CCJ firmly in the crosshairs. We listened to Minister of Housing Denis Kellman taking a swipe at the CCJ.  In his aggressive invective, he is quoted:  “It is not fair that we are paying our dues and then getting a kick. We were the first to agree to the CCJ. But what have we received from the CCJ? A judgment that people in Barbados have questioned, and when we put people up to be judges we are told we are not good enough to have people on the CCJ. When it comes to paying money, though, we must be the first to pay the money. If our money is good enough for the CCJ, our workers got to be good enough for the CCJ too. And it is time that somebody tell them where to get off!”.  It is hard to imagine Kellman would have offered his rant without a license from the Sheriff.

Kellman’s rant followed Minister Donville Inniss’ own view which addressed similar concerns. Inniss was quoted as not advocating for Barbados to withdraw support for the CCJ but admitted he was ‘deeply troubled’ about the failure of Barbadian applicants to secure jobs recently at the Port of Spain based CCJ. “I think this is a matter we have to be very frank about in this country. There are those who will always talk about, ‘Oh, you’re being nationalist and you ain’t committed to regional integration’ and all of that. When it suits them fine, they say that, once they [are] getting all the largesse and all the top picks. But, I am satisfied that we have bright Barbadians, competent Barbadians, who have served on benches across the region, who today could be serving on the Caribbean Court of Justice. But, for whatever reason, we cannot find it fit to get one there. I am not bashing the excellent judges who are serving on that court. Far from it. However, what I am saying is what the majority of Barbadians are thinking and saying, but are reluctant to come out and say so publicly; and, that is somewhat strange, especially when we were very instrumental in setting up the CCJ“.

Finally,  Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite sealed it by challenging immigration officers appear – in his opinion –  to be intimidated by the controversial CCJ Shanique Myrie decision.   It is obvious what Braithwaite wanted to convey during debate to amend the Immigration Bill.  He is quoted: ”notwithstanding, what is said in the judgment, no one in Trinidad [or outside this country] can determine what our national security considerations [are]. We have a responsibility as the elected members of Parliament and part of our responsibility is to secure our borders and, therefore, we should not water down what we do because we are afraid of what people might say outside the region, in the region about being sued.”

The other segment to the CCJ drama unfolding was the criticism levelled by the CCJ at two prominent senior lawyers Vernon Smith and Hal Gallop, QCs by CCJ president Justice Sir Dennis Byron in delivering on the case Systems Sales Ltd. The criticism was quickly dismissed by Smith as ‘diatribe’ .

The CCJ debate in its current form is unfortunate. However, the CCJ if compared to  feedback meted to the US Supreme Court and British Privy Council by the public, cannot be placed on a pedestal to escape criticism. BU’s view is, we have two issues: the quality of the decisions being handed down and the concern by the Barbados government echoed by its trio of Ministers, Inniss, Kellman and Brathwaite.  In the case of determining the quality of decisions handed down by the CCJ, these are public and can and will be critiqued for rigour by the legal fraternity near and far in the months to come.  This will be the true measure of the CCJ’s reputation which its bench will have to defend. The concerns expressed by the politicians can easily be resolved by the administrative arm of the CCJ and has nothing to do with Sir Byron and his team.

138 responses to “Barbados and CCJ in a Tiff”

1. DeeWord

In your remark about the region having the same legal system you rather overreach yourself. Yes, the islands do adopt the common law as the notional kick off point even where their law is encapsulated in codes – but there are many local statutory variations in all areas. In others, if we regard the law of England as in some way representing the ‘common law’ then we see that here various jurisdictions, but not all, lag way behind. A good example is the concept of ‘marital rape’. If we speak of international obligations then, of course, custom may well prescribe minimum standards of approach and treatment though treaty obligations will obviously be contingent on signature and ratification.

2. @ GP
    Good reference, but only such divine long-suffering as outlined there can explain the phenomenon….

Sargeant
    Sometimes you cause Bushie to wonder….
    The CCJ is not about representing NATIONAL INTERESTS, it is about the administration of justice.
    ..think about that for a moment and reflect on your comparison with CSME…
    …don’t know how you even made corporal…

@ DeeWord
    Check your facts again about the commonality of legal standards in CCJ jurisdictions. Are the Dutch courts the same as the English…. is Haiti involved?

What Bajans need to feel is that when matters have been delayed, misplaced, corrupted and ignored by our local courts, there is recourse to COMPETENT, impartial final arbiters…..

Imagine DEEDS finally gets a hearing at the CCJ….and comes up against the same damn person who “lost’” the deeds in the first place …. or his drinking partner…

If persons competent to represent such a court exists at high levels in Barbados, PLEASE explain to Bushie why we are unable to see their IMPACT in our system?

…when a fella is faithful in small things, he should be moved up to bigger things.
    …charity and competence BEGINS AT HOME

@ Ross
    …Is your client account in order?

3. Bush Tea

Impeccably so.

4. “The other judges, the Bar Association, the Opposition and me all knew that he did not qualify. And who spoke out – me which earned me abuse, even here on BU.”

So judging from your comments Mr Franklyn, it does seem we are well on the way to “banana republic” status as some on BU suggests. It does beg the question and speaks not well for our system of governance when such blatant infelicities are allowed to be swept under the carpet purported esteemed persons in the society with the wherewithal to make wrong things right.

5. ‘robert ross February 22, 2015 at 11:48 AM #

Balance

Your remark about the appointment of the CJ is quite one of the most idiotic and misplaced I’ve seen on BU. Where have you been living?”

My grandmother always tell me it takes a thief to know a thief and a fool to know a fool and by extension an idiot to know an idiot you pompous educated jackass.

6. GP

O father Lord of heaven and earth thank you for hiding these things fromthose who think themselves wise and clever,and revealing them to the childlike

7. David February 22, 2015 at 9:20 AM #

“The bottomline is this: if the DLP and government have a problem with the CCJ why not take the matter to Caricom or the Admin of the CCJ for discussion, why must this government bray loudly across the Caribbean Sea about this but yet remain silent on CLICO, CAHILL etc”

Good question but obviously as usual prefer to play to their institutionalised gallery and to distract from issues like the dire state of our premier health institution and geriatric hospitals where Samaritan like staff constantly supplement the shortage of supplies at these institutions.

8. Balance

All the invective in the world does not make you either right or sane. Live with it.

9. “robert ross February 22, 2015 at 12:45 PM #

Balance

All the invective in the world does not make you either right or sane. Live with it.”

Neither does your derogatory response to my well meaning question make you the fountain of all wisdom either otherwise you would have answered the question soberly and in a manner befitting the gentleman you pretend to be.

you can live with that as well.

10. BushT

Your beverage of choice isn’t working better boil some of that sea weed from the beach and see if it jump starts your brain. When you bring up “Deeds” that’s when you and “Enuff” part company, do you believe that every judgement will be acceptable to everyone on the grounds that the folks who made the decisions are competent and impartial? The President of the behemoth in our region criticized his own Supreme Court to their faces back in 2010 over their decision in the Citizens United case, next time there is a case pitting island against island let me know how competence is rated.

Pls revive BushT’s comments re Myrie decision

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I refer to your comment at 9:33 a.m.

Everything in Barbados must now be polluted by partisan politics. The silly DEMS have come out swinging because their preferred candidate did not make it to the bench of the CCJ. The question that you should be asking is: Who was the Barbadian judge that did not make the grade to fill the recent vacancy on the court? The answer to that question would explain why Donville put his mouth in gear long before the brain got going. Maybe, he was trying to outdo Kellman or maybe, just maybe, he is part of the AC consortium. I didn’t see Donville making any noise when the imported Masons from Guyana to work in Barbados when it was easy to find a Bajan Mason.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant February 21, 2015 at 9:47 PM
    “I live in a country with a Supreme Court that draws its members from different regions and there are Quebec seat(s) and Ontario seat(s), BC seat etc. and if the Big three Jamaica,Trinidad and Guyana have had seats at the table why not Barbados?”

Why not Barbados indeed!
    Given what has been argued @ Bush Tea February 21, 2015 at 11:36 PM, it would be exceedingly difficult to justify an automatic seat for Bajan judges on the CCJ benches unless the local judiciary cleans up its act tout de suite.

How do you explain the persistent breaching of persons’ Constitutionally-enshrined right of “timely” access to justice when accused persons have to remain on remand for astronomically excessive periods of time, some going past 5 years? Or do you consider 5 years as ‘reasonable’ to hear a criminal matter?
    Why should people who tolerate such crap be allowed to sit in judgment on matters involving the interpretation of law when straightforward matters are allowed to languish in full breach of people’s rights?

If the local judicial system is shown scant respect by the ruling administration by refusing to obey the rulings of the courts do you really expect other regional governments would pay attention to any ruling by the CCJ involving the input of Bajan legal luminaries?
    If the ruling administration refuses to distance itself from two known crooks in the morally reprehensible forms of Leroy Parris and Speaker Carrion-it-on
    do you think the other regional members making up the selection committee for appointing judges to the CCJ would feel confident and comfortable in accepting and relying on references from the same Primus inter pares source that sees morality and ethics as reserved only for schoolboys playing a game of football or a round of pitching marbles under a tamarind tree but has no relevance in a sitting Parliament often referred to (mistakenly) as the highest court of the Bajan landscape?

Now here is a suggestion to help you with your concern why Barbados seems unable to land a place at the CCJ high table.
    Why not advise the current Barbados government to reduce or withhold financial support or subventions to that organization which seems to be not working in the interest of the Barbados justice system or for Bajans as you seem to imply.
    The same way the Barbados government has reduced or withheld financial contributions to a similar regional institution, the UWI, which seems not to be working in the Bajan social and economic interests, why not pull a similar stunt on the CCJ.

You can always blame Barbados’ serious economic difficulties and fiscal straightjacket to justify a pruning of costs in respect of the CCJ.
    Then that is what you would call getting value for money, agree Sarge?

13. @ Sargeant
    what has Bush Tea’s position on the Myrie decision got to do with the current moot? You are always bringing NCO-type arguments to the commission Mess.
    The decisions of these courts usually have everything to do with the quality of argument presented by the various counsel involved…..
    What case did Barbados present…?

….same with the Campbell case….

14. Bush T

The request for your comments about Myrie wasn’t a shot across the bow it was a direct hit as I am confident that you made negative remarks about the CCJ after the Myrie decision was handed down.

The moving finger writes and having writ moves on……..

15. Balance

Yes you do have a point. But you must know very well that the appointment of this CJ was a political appointment which had absolutely NOTHING to do with judicial quality. You’ve been around BU long enough to know that very well. I regard your remark, therefore, as disingenuous which warranted an expletive deleted.

But let me ask you this …and any others who think our judges are the pits.

What are the signs of judicial quality?

Is it learning? Look at the judgments of Crane Scott.

Is it courage and independence? Look at the judgment of Reifer in Garcia.

Is it wisdom? Look at the judgments of Alleyne.

Is it balance? Look at the judgments of Worrell.

Is it unfailing courtesy ? Look at the conduct of Chandler

And all share these qualities and none would be misplaced in any system you care to mention.

As I say, we have some very fine judges. I did NOT say all.

16. @Miller etc.

The issue of tardy justice used to be an issue in Ontario until some lawyer decided to take his client’s case to the SC on the grounds that the client was entitled to a trial within a certain period of time as per Charter of Rights. After the SC ruled in his client favour you should see how quickly the Province cleaned up its act as it had to dismiss cases against a number of defendants. What is wrong with some enterprising lawyer making that argument ?

The other issue about the State refusing to honor judgements against it is a different matter but this seems to be the modus operandi of successive Gov’ts

17. De old man must admit dat all these legal points about quality of luminaries arising from Bulbados being substandard and the puerile reasoning of some that “he who pays the piper calls the tune” so since Bulbados pays a large chunk of CCJ ‘s expenses, idjuts or not, we are entitled to enact the law of proportional representation, seems like crass stupidity to me.

What I was however wondering is in light of Donville Inniss’ remark “he was ‘deeply troubled’ about the failure of Barbadian applicants to secure jobs recently at the Port of Spain based CCJ” de ole man was just wondering if with all of the emotive banter et al, if anyone of you commenters knew the full staff compliment of the CCJ? And if so, whether the remarks have any merit if not a man/woman in the entire organization, including the watchman, ent got a pick at the CCJ

Wunna done know de ole man ent too bright in dese tings and if I showing my illiteracy I beg all wunna bright peeple forgiveness….

18. Caswell

Well, who was he?

19. @ Sargeant
    what shot across what bow what?!?
    Bushie makes negative comments about every shiite …so what is your point..?

Do you not grasp the point about a WHACKER…?
    shiite man, it is not a “patter”….

Bushie cuts the good grass ..and the weeds ..and the sticks ..and the stones. Cuts through the jobbie and the snails…….sometimes, a bit of salt is needed as with AC and Dompey
    …but you are charging at windmills Sarge… See if you can manage to stick with the current moot….and when you realize that you have NO CASE, just retire gracefully man… 🙂

what shot what?

The thing about wheat (good grass) is its ability to THRIVE and even improve after a sound whacking….. whereas the shiite weeds slink off and die….

You don’t think that Jesus used the example of the master sowing “tares among the wheat” just so ….do you?
    Skippa, that is a BOSS analogy if you want to understand this world….

…ah going and gas up and come back….

20. @ Ross
    Is it learning, courage, wisdom, balance, courtesy….
    YES! It is ALL of the above…

PLUS,
    ….BALLS
    ….INDEPENDENCE of thought
    ….HONESTY
    ….RESPECTED in the community
    ….TRANSPARENCY
    ….Patience with the weak

Call some names now…..

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Alleyne, Chandler, Worrell, Burgess, Moore and the CJ have balls. As far as I can recall all the others are female, ergo no balls.

22. @ Bushie and Ross, I readily appreciate that local jurisdictions will have legal variances and indeed non-legal local nuances that impact the perspective of the given case; but gentlemen that is exactly why these regional ‘Law Lords’ are there: to hear the arguments, examine the law, decipher its meaning and legislate the decision.

I am confounded that you seem to be suggesting that people who sat down next to us in class and displayed a solid sense of intelligence then;…most of them got A’s like some of you when most of us did not; …they went on to win a scholarship here or a scholarship there, again showing their abilities; … then gained their legal education and many often further legal and other education.

And after all that they practiced their craft or taught for year before ascending to the bench. But now they are all just a bunch of lackeys and insufferable sycophants who have discarded their scholarship to the point that they can’t decipher a local statue in Barbados’ law code or ” the concept of ‘marital rape’. If we speak of international obligations”.

Gentlemen. Seize and settle.

If these men and women who have studied law all their adult life can’t respond sensibly to these local matters UNLESS he/she comes from there then why are they called JUDGES ?

As the Bajan-Canadian said above, their judges quarrel. In US the Chief Judge in Alabama was just the other day trying to circumvent a ruling of the Supreme Court.

The point is that law is there to be examined, reviewed tested and argued about.

Sensible men and women will disagree but to impute lack of ability on base parochial grounds is not only to insult the judges but really guys we are insulting all our intelligence.

The job of any Appellate Judge is to adjudicate difference across local, state or country boundaries and thus they are expected to be learned enough to do their job.

Having local ‘talent’ can be a good thing but it definitely is not necessary.

23. If a Barbadian Judge applies for a. CCJ job what will they have on the Bio to recommend as it pertains to length of time to hand down decisions? What about the judicial system he/sheis a member? Is is a surprise a Bajan Judge will struggle to shine at recruitment time?

24. ….The job of any Appellate Judge is to adjudicate difference across local, state or country boundaries and thus they are expected to be learned enough to do their job….

AND I should have added:

…and have the research staff available to ensure their judgements are well researched and prepared.

25. @David

A cursory examination of the CV’s on the CCJ reveals that they have published papers on some aspect of the law. I don’t know if any Bajan judges can lay claim to that achievement.

@Deeword

I know I wandered off the reservation some moons ago but Bajan-Canadian seems kinda cold so you can use my nom de plume

26. @Sargeant

To your earlier questions, no Bajans cannot pars issues without a political blinkered view. It is why some lobby for a friendly dictatorship to run the place. Sadly all governance systems will come with weaknesses.

27. it seems like those who oppose would throw every roadblock to obstruct, hear some talking about our judicial system.however some of the present judges come from islands that their judicial system not up to impeccable standard however that does not stand in their way of placement

28. Bush Tea February 22, 2015 at 12:20 PM #

Imagine DEEDS finally gets a hearing at the CCJ….and comes up against the same damn person who “lost’” the deeds in the first place …. or his drinking partner…

”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””

now what kind of logic should be applied to the garbage submitted as sufficient reason for not having a barbadian on the CCJ

yes to think the some of the intellectual nincompoops would agree,, now that is the top of the line brassbowl hog wash that only a neanderthal would dream of ,

29. What is the benefit of a Barbadian judge on the panel?

30. All of the English Caribbean is based on Commonwealth law not so? If yes the argument to have a Bajan lawyer is NOT material.

31. look we live in a world that sees status as oportunities and would climb every nook and cranny to reach such a privileged height . the question therefore being what is the problem of having a barbadian on the panel, there is where the debate should start . we already know that nothing ventured nothing gain,and the myrie case exemplifies such a reality,

32. @Sargeant: Ah-ha good sir, you misinterpreted the moniker. No frigidity intended.

As far as I know Niagara Falls is frozen over for the most part so that tells me you are likely up to your chin in ice and cold.

That moniker was a gentle reminder of the warm side of your current status.

That was the only cold aspect of it. But I suspect I don’t really need to remind you of the sea and warm weather right now!!!

And, I am not sure when or where you wandered off the reservation but methinks the more we wander the more interesting it makes things…

33. @ David[BU]

Thanks for the link which provided the following additional information about the administrative staff requirements

• Finance and Administration Management, comprising Finance and Accounting, Facilities and Assets Management and Administrative Services;
    • Communication and Information Management, comprising Information Technology, Library Services, Protocol and Information and Public Education and Communication;
    • Security and Logistics Management.

There was no organigram nor breakdown of staff complement to detail nationalities further.

I again make the point that Donville’s comment might possibly be interpreted as an organization wide policy which does not see any representation by any Bajan in any post, irrespective of past applications and comparable qualifications

34. @ac February 22, 2015 at 3:34 … some of the present judges come from islands that their judicial system not up to impeccable standard ==============

Do you care to elaborate and then do a simple comparison with the ‘impeccable standards’ of the Barbados Legal system.

I am not beating up on any Bajan judge nor questioning anyone’s qualifications just trying to understand this continued drifting over the water falls.

According to other posters, Barbados has not shown impeccable jurisprudence with the appointment of the current CJ; many have questioned our ‘good legal judgement’ with the appointment of the former CJ and our cases are notoriously glacial to reach a final judgement.

Thus I am unclear on what basis your argument is built.

Can’t we accept that both Min Inniss and Kellman were indulging in regional brinksmanship and strategic posturing rather than making any real substantive point.

Of course, I want to get our people on the regional institutions too.

It’s excellent for the country’s image, enhances that person’s reputation; is a high salaried position so overall benefits the person, their family and relatives and the country. Definitely benefits ‘overseas’ nationals too.

But this attempt to minimize other islands’ abilities in order to acclaim our own is rather crass and unseemly, in my view.

35. where is the discrediting of any other nation ,nobody is asking to step over or above principle for gain sake, however there is a legitimacy with reasonableness in asking why for so many years have not a bajan be appointed to such high privilege, that’s all,
    take jamaica a good example of a judicial system that is in dire need of repair ,with all kinds of mischievous behavior attached i meaning there record is certainly not one of impeccable character,
    barbados system maybe full of chinks in part and not solely to be blame on any articular individual but a coalition of mitigating factors entwined, so that being so how can one part of the system that being judges be blamed for the in fractions of many and a cause to be shut out,
    i submit to you that if such a standard was used across the board cojointly for other nations they would not be one judge found that would fit the shoes of CCJ
    there had to be a relaxation method use in order for a justifiable standard to apply whereby all would be consider ,unfortunately as it see it in the case of barbados a different standard might be applied and a need to crticise rightfully or otherwise might produce the negative effect required stamping and shutting barbados as not worthy,

36. ””To that was added the historic St Kitts versus Nevis divide which has resulted in a level of insularity reflected in their different political parties. One can only hope that the unity message will now have an impact that is sufficient to reduce or eliminate their historic polarisation and insularity to the point that people from the two islands see themselves as one people with a common developmental”” objective. – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/63859/people-political-earthquake#sthash.FG1wl6iY.dpuf

””’There might now be a case to take a Hobbesian approach to law-making in the region and eliminate all areas of doubt, but there is a larger political issue which is born of the fact that the Douglas administration was at the helm for too long. As such, persons like elections supervisor Wingrove George might well have been hesitant to herald the end of this era for fear of being disloyal.”””’ – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/63859/people-political-earthquake#sthash.FG1wl6iY.dpuf

The above are quotes from a Peter Wickham article in the Sunday Sun. On the one hand, he suggest that changes in politics alone could be enough to eliminate/reduce historic formations. On the other he’s calling for a consolidation of vested interests, it seems.

We find the troubling, to say the least. To us a Hobbesian approach will further fortify archaic, undemocratic, Westminster, traditions. There will be no doubt now that elected oligarchic classes are to be further protected, given more power, if Wickham has his way.

37. DAVID

I don’t know what you mean by “commonwealth law”. It is not a discrete system. As I said above, our law is derived from the common law, as also, eg, Australian law filtered through the law of the various states. What that means in practice is that we have a much vaster pool of rules to draw upon than , eg, an English court which would resort to another common law jurisdiction only as a long stop. However, there are considerable differences, mostly statutory and distinct codes, between the municipal rules of the various CC States. Jamaica, eg, retains the old Larceny Act which we jettisoned in the ’90’s in favour of the English Theft Act with local modifications. So far as I’m aware, none of the CC jurisdictions have adopted (yet) the English concept of ‘matrimonial rape’ in the form to be found in the leading HL case. Note also St Lucia, which is a hybrid system of common and civil law. The operation of International Law, as in Myrie, obviously raises different considerations.

My point is that there is no ‘uniformity’ in the sense you suggest.

Now IF the question is rooted in confidence – and this is obviously something which those CC States who are NOT ‘signed on’ must be concerned about – then do as Sergeant suggests and select judges from different jurisdictions as a rule of the system OR, as I suggested above, appoint local judges ad hoc for cases arising from their jurisdiction to sit with the rest.

38. @Deeword

The beauty of the WWW is that we can comment from anywhere and I am onshore enjoying some salubrious weather. I have kept same under wraps for obvious reasons (named BT & BAFBFP) lest they seek to do me harm. Incidentally I just saw the PM on TV commenting about the leak of Court documents and the matriarch of the family observed that he has lost her support and she also said that come next Election none of the above will get her vote.

Niagara Falls has frozen over, well it’s not like Hell has frozen over but I am following Republic Bank’s advice to relax as I am in Barbados

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I read with surprise the Prime Minister’s comments about the leak of court documents and I was quite surprised by his position. I hope he was making sport. When a document is filed in the court it becomes a public document for all to see and what better way for everyone to see is to have them published in the newspapers.

40. Bush Tea

All your silly posturing basically amounts to no more than what I said. Tell me how our judges are not “transparent” please. As for public perceptions – if that means YOU I’m sure they’ll live without you and their decisions will be none the worse.

So yes….Crane Scott, Reifer, Worrel, Alleyne, Chandler.

On publications. Remember first that CCJ judges have more time on their hands than our day in day out High Court judges. Remember too, that CCJ judges are ‘on the circuit’ and will receive far more invitations to contribute at conferences and the like than our people. Adrian Saunders, who is very good, is an obvious case, as also Byron.Thirdly, remember that at least one was an academic anyway and so has an extensive publication record.

Of course, IF we wanted to name a very fine Bajan judge who writes extensively then I suggest you ask Caswell. I’m not sure whether Alleyne has written – but if time allowed he most certainly could. He has a research Degree.

DeeWord

You continue to overreach yourself. If you are simply saying there’s no reason why a Bajan judge should sit on the Court leave it at that without the ‘law froth’.

41. What!

JSC sacks magistrates

-accused of unfair process

FEBRUARY 21, 2015 · BY STAFF WRITER · 92 COMMENTS NEXT ARTICLE

Two magistrates, Geeta Chandan-Edmond and Chandra Sohan, were yesterday given their marching orders by the Judicial Service Commission (JSC), which they have both accused of denying them a fair process.

Chandan-Edmond, who was a serving city magistrate, was said to be discharged from duty due to absenteeism, but a statement from her attorney implied a link between her dismissal and her presiding over the trial of Samuel Hinds Jnr, son of the Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, who she was due to sentence yesterday after finding him guilty of assault.

Sohan was said to be fired over issues with records from matters he presided over.

Geeta Chandan-Edmond

Chandan-Edmond’s attorney, Nigel Hughes, in a statement issued after her dismissal, said the JSC was both complainant and the adjudicator in the proceedings against her and every single allegation was answered and refuted. The statement also indicated that she intends to pursue all legal remedies available to her up to the Caribbean Court of Justice.

According to a source familiar with the proceedings, the JSC, which comprises Chancellor Carl Singh, and retired Justice Prem Persaud and Justice Lennox Perry, sent out orders yesterday for the dismissal of both Chandan-Edmond and Sohan.

In the former’s case, the source said that her dismissal was “in the public interest” and noted that the reason cited was absenteeism, inclusive of leaving the country without permission.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2015/news/stories/02/21/jsc-sacks-magistrates/#disqus_thread

42. @Ross & PUDRYR

Bottomline is why have we allowed the politicians to bray abut an issue without informing the national debate? How many Bajans applied for jobs and why were they declined. This is the question we need answered.

43. David

I wouldn’t have expressed it in quite that way but I agree with the sentiment. Caswell suggests there was one. I wish he’d say whom and stop tantalizing. For me it’s simply political posturing which MIGHT raise a significant over-arching issue about the composition of the Court. But it’s clear, as DeeWord would have it, that it’s unnecessary to have a Bajan on the Court and especially so where the issue is rooted in International Law.

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Ross

Read my comment again. I have to be mysterious sometimes.

45. @Caswell

Understood your 1:08 comment, Ross is slow as per usual.

46. @ David

We comment on issues raised by politicians everyday I see no difference with this as Guyson Mayers wrote “what’s wrong with us?”

47. David

Then why do you ask ‘whom’?

Caswell…I’ll look at it again. But one thing I wanted to say. My remarks about judicial quality were intentionally confined to our High Court Judges. I agree entirely with your remarks about the CA judges. Burgess certainly has balls as big as light years.

48. This tiff between the politicos and the CCJ cannot be about one Justice who failed to make the grade.