Speaker Michael Carrington’s PRIVATE Life is No Example for Children to Emulate

Submitted by Anthony Davis
Speaker Michael Carrington

Speaker of the House Michael Carrington

I have not heard it said that the honourable member, in respect of whom that matter was referred, should be prevented from coming to the House, but I’m hearing a lot of fuss now because a newspaper report has said something about your honour in your honour’s private capacity, not in respect of any matter concerning any of the privileges of this House” – Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

Why does the PM insist on calling the Speaker honourable? Do honourable people do what he did?

Methinks that he is very dishonourable – especially for a man in his position. He should do the honourable thing and step down!

You talk about wanting to attain First World status, so that is what anyone who has such a position in a First World country would do? Comparing the case of Burton Hinds, who became Speaker of the House of Assembly under Tom Adams in 1976, with that of the present Speaker of the House of Assembly is like comparing apples with oranges. Mr. Hinds did not embezzle anyone’s money. I don’t see your point about if he were a doctor.

Some lawyers have been guests of Her Majesty at that hotel in St. Philip, and, as far as I recall, there is still one languishing there. Mr. Hinds was charged with contempt of court for an article which he wrote in the “Truth” paper which was well-known in the 50s and 60s.

Also, Mr. Prime Minister, what message are you – and above all the Speaker – sending to the people of our country, and especially the youth, when you both pretend that there is nothing wrong with what he has done just because he is the Speaker of the House of Assembly?

Are you telling the people of this country – and especially the tax payers who are paying him – that one is above the law when one holds certain positions? Do you really think that no damage will be done to the DLP, or is that some form of wishful thinking?

We need people to whom we can look up – and he is surely not role model material.

What do they say about power?

62 thoughts on “Speaker Michael Carrington’s PRIVATE Life is No Example for Children to Emulate

1. You people seem not to be getting it, these fellows will hold on to office, even if it cost people their lives, until they qualify for their pensions, like it or lump it. Once they serve eight years, they will get a pension for life from the time they reach 50 years of age. And if they die, their wives will get the pension till they die. Those elected in 2008 will qualify in January 2016. Until then the rest of us could suck salt for all they care.

2. Nice try Anthony Davis!

You know full well that PM Stuart was not referring to the Burton Hinds story.
    He was referring to the David Estwick story.
    PM Stuart was right….Mr. Estwick matter was referred to the Committee of Privileges just like Mr. Carrington own…and nobody was saying that Estwick should stay away till his matter was determined.
    Why were the BLP so inconsistent now?

BLP hypocrisy..of course! !!

• Does it matter what is the incident referred to by the PM?

The bottomline is that the Committee of Privilege will be used to bury the matter.

The bottomline is that Carrington is Speaker OF the House and there had been a court order delivered OUTSIDE the precinct of the House.

Instead of understanding the concerns if Bsrbadians you JAs are ready to engage in political gymnastics at every turn.

3. David January 27, 2015 at 5:18 AM #

The bottomline is that the Committee of Privilege will be used to bury the matter.

this story cannot be buried the court have intervened , stories of this magnitude does not simply vanished in an age of social and it will remain of interest in the public domain( pending appeals )until a final judgement is rendered

4. @David

A clown and a Senator were once traveling in a taxi to town. While nearing the clown’s destination, the Senator leggo a fart and had the air in the vehicle putrid. “Oh dear” said the senator…”that was a lil tiny one that got away…..hold ya nose driver, ac you accustomed”. Hear the driver…..”Cahblima nah two sick ass, cah wanna two stinkin brassbowls from round decent people do, wanna psychophants…..eva since wanna ship did come to town..eva one ah wanna did shiting unna self and mistaking it for a farting.”

True, true ask Fractured.

5. In the eyes of the Political Class the operative word in all of this is PRIVILEGE. To such they have become so accustomed that their sense of decency has long been divorced from the reality that Barbadians live everyday. Still we are subjected to all forms of defense of their worthlessness by the AC’s of both persuasions. The one that wrote the fifth response to this article, and then the others who now shine the spotlight of suspicion on Mark Maloney all the while chomping at the bitt to take his place in the cesspool of corruption that is Barbadian Politics.

6. Anthony Davis…you are being very busy.

Please substantiate your claim that Carrington is an “embezzler” and explain why the police have not intervened.

Isn’t it time – sinners that we all are – to stop talking about ‘role models’? I know of only one – and the Anthony Davis’ of this world crucified him.

7. AC

In reference to a comment made on another thread.

Can’t you realize that those of us who you see as your nemeses, that we are defeating your regimes all over the world.

That the Syriza victory in Greece is likely to lead to the end of the Euro. We are destroying all your political systems. Don’t you see!

The people in Syriza are political neophytes who bested entrenched elected dictators like Stuart and Mia.

Your regime in Barbados is under divine judgement, can’t you see. It is the divine judgement of your nemeses that got both the Bees and the Dees forever lost and can’t do anything right. LOL

8. David
    I am not sure if but I thought I saw among the lawyers on this blog,two names Ernest Jackman and Avondal Pile and that they had run afoul of the law while practising advocates.
    Both names were mentioned recently in the Sun as representing persons accused of unlawful acts,so it is safe to assume that they have be cleansed of all unrighteousness and are back on the straight and narrow.I assume also that they were retained by interested parties or are they being paid by taxpayers as court appointed advocates?If so why must taxpayers have to pay for these sinners’ acts of repentance and contrition.
    Btw I was searching ‘Recent Posts’ to confirm the names mentioned but I didn’t find the column under reference.Was it relocated?

9. I was flabbergasted after reading in today’s Daily Nation that Donville Inniss, while speaking at his St. James South constituency branch meeting, mentioned “The Opposition party in Barbados now has mastered the social media…….. and they are being heavily used to spew a lot of filth.”

David BU, these are the types of issues you need to articulate more and raise on the blog for comments. In my opinion, Inniss is essentially saying social media needs to be controlled in the same manner the Advocate, CBC, Government Information Service and, to a lesser extent, the OCM Network are influenced to report in favour of the DLP.

As usual, the DLP loves to blame others for their short comings. Inniss, don’t blame social media if Michael Carrington decided to keep his client’s property, or if your wife thinks she’s above the law, or Richard Byer charging $766,855.24 for services that were previously rendered for $17,000, or if you gave your wife’s brother, Steve, a lot of the refurbishing work at the QEH, for David Estwick’s constant outbursts or Dennis Kellman’s hobby of talking shiite in public. These are choices you all made, and if you are so adverse to criticism, then perhaps you should always strive to perform unquestionable acts.

Donville Inniss is progressively becoming arrogant, sanctimonious and obnoxious, and needs to understand that the same way he believes it is his right to speak his mind Barbadians have the right to express their feelings on issues that affect them as well. Inniss must respect that right and if he thinks we must give the DLP praise only, perhaps the ones he should have a conversation with are his colleagues and encourage them to do the correct things.

Donville, there are occasions when you should take example from Stuart and shut to f*** up.

10. @ Pacha
    Your regime in Barbados is under divine judgement, can’t you see. It is the divine judgement of your nemeses that got both the Bees and the Dees forever lost and can’t do anything right. LOL
    There are many truths said in jest….

This same sorta shiite happened some time ago when a bushman called Moses called on the then bossman to “let his people go”….

But Pharaoh play he stubborn …..that he could tek the plagues…playing that he ain’t care bout no frogs, nuh lice, nuh hail, nuh downgrades, nuh SAGICOR leaving…nutting so…..

Every now and then he would come to his senses and relent -deciding to let the people go (or to reshuffle the pack of JAs) ….but he wife/ close ‘pension seekers’ would change his mind……
    UNTIL….
    ….the first born / Speaker was touched……

Then um was bacchanal in de place….

11. @ Artax
    Donville Inniss is progressively becoming arrogant, sanctimonious and obnoxious
    …you probably mean that your eyes are being progressively opened to seeing this.

12. As if one speaker in Barbados insulting the electorate by withholding clients funds and both he and the prime fool think they are still thought Honourable but with which a majority of Barbadians at home and abroad strongly disagree,…as if that is not bad enough coming from a Speaker of Parliament,we now have the Speaker Wade Mark of the Trinidad Parliament caught misleading that Chamber to the effect that he had received correspondence from the High Court there that a matter which a member was speaking upon,a matter concerning another minister,was sub judice.The ruling resulted in the member withdrawing the motion.I think Wade Mark is in trouble because Trinidad is known for dealing harshly with parliamentarians who do nonsense,as opposed to the Honourable fools in Barbados.

13. @ Bush Tea January 27, 2015 at 9:43 AM #

“…you probably mean that your eyes are being progressively opened to seeing this.”

Hahahahaha…….. wuh loss…….. man, Bushie…… you right, yuh. Donville did arrogant and obnoxious fuh a long time now.

14. “The Opposition party in Barbados now has mastered the social media…….. and they are being heavily used to spew a lot of filth.”

To be critical of or express a view on unquestionable acts undertaken by DLP politicians, in Donville’s opinion, is spewing filth.

Wuh shiite, Donville, to Christians and those who don’t like it, pornography is spewing filth as well.

At the end of the day there is no big or small sin. Inniss needs to be reminded that he and none of the other 29 epitomizes the characteristics of a good politician.

15. Artaxerxes
    If my memory serves me well,I am sure Inniss’s wife is or was a director of that business dealing in pornography that Liz talk ’bout.I may be wrong but I think it did pun de social media too.So when I read that she was chastised for misbehaving by a police(that was how the AG referred to a policeman)it din no surprise to nuff ‘o we.Ya cyan mek silk,……like wuh carrionton get to wear…..outta a pig’s ear.All ‘o dem porcine broughtupsy does show when de heat pun dem.Bare heat in the Dems donkey so all ‘o dem talking filth!

16. @ANTHONY DAVIS

While i agree with everything you say , I would remind you of the old maxim , when you live in glass houses dont throw stones. who are you to take the speak out of someone eyes when your have a plank. please look in the mirror. Ask yourself why you are alone.

17. Artaxerxes January 27, 2015 at 9:29 AM #

I was flabbergasted after reading in today’s Daily Nation that Donville Inniss, while speaking at his St. James South constituency branch meeting, mentioned “The Opposition party in Barbados now has mastered the social media…….. and they are being heavily used to spew a lot of filth.”

Donville Inniss is progressively becoming arrogant, sanctimonious and obnoxious, and needs to understand that the same way he believes it is his right to speak his mind Barbadians have the right to express their feelings on issues that affect them as well. Inniss must respect that right and if he thinks we must give the DLP praise only, perhaps the ones he should have a conversation with are his colleagues and encourage them to do the correct things.

Donville, there are occasions when you should take example from Stuart and shut to f*** up……………………………..

Artaxerxes,

You said this much better than I could. I just finished reading this article and had to log on to vent my disgust with this Donville Inniss and was glad to see you expressed just what I was thinking.

I agree with you, Donville Inniss is an arrogant, obnoxious, sanctimonious know it all.

Hear him…….”you have an opposition party that seems to be in an almost desperate hurry to take over the reins of government”. Does he ever look at the DLP and the path it took from the time the dead king took over the DLP from Dr Clyde Mascoll?

My goodness, everyone in Barbados remembers the nasty politics the dead king and the likes of Donville Inniss practiced on Barbadians until they were elected in 2008.

Donville shut the hell up too.

You should be the last to complain about about anyone using social media, this is the very media they used to get elected in 2008. Remember how they used Barbados Free Press and Facebook?

He would go out there and misinform people that they are all about listening to other’s opinions yet he think that the peasants would not know that he got up on the house and told the BLP MP’s………….”we dont want to hear nothing from wunnah, any ideas wunnah got keep to wunnah self, wunnah had 14 years, now is we time, we gine do things we way”!

Shut to hell up, Donville too!

Donville, you now just a little better than the clown from St Lucy!

18. Donville ;..“The Opposition party in Barbados now has mastered the social media…….. and they are being heavily used to spew a lot of filth.”

I guess the accolades I paid to the Minister three weeks ago is “filth”.

These misfits are just finding excuses after excuses to justify their incompetences and maladministration….

Where does the PM Stuart draw the line on immorality?….Mr.Speaker you are a disgrace to the chair…..vacate now. Shame on you too Fruendel. Imagine people on the call in program daily, asking for the removal of this man and you all about pensions for DEM and their dirty selfishness….Shame on you !

19. @Gabriel January 27, 2015 at 11:03 AM “IYa cyan mek silk outta a pig’s ear”

Actually the saying is “You can’t make silk out of an OLD SOW’s ear”

LOL!!!!

20. Simple Simon January 27, 2015 at 1:06 PM #
    @Gabriel January 27, 2015 at 11:03 AM “IYa cyan mek silk outta a pig’s ear”

Actually the saying is “You can’t make silk purse out of an OLD SOW’s ear”

LOL!!!!

21. How come only some crooked lawyers are being exposed. Whatever happened to the likes of Laureen Waterman charged with stealing over $400,000 from the National Housing Corporation back in 2005. Was this money ever repaid?

• BU has posted we will update lawyers in the news and that the Page is a work in progress. If you have a link or update post the link or email us.

22. @ old onion bags January 27, 2015 at 12:13 PM #

“I guess the accolades I paid to the Minister three weeks ago is “filth”…..”

Onions, that’s why I told you via a previous post, you need to apologies about that Donville post.

And unfortunately, no comment from David BU, it seems as though he wants to succumb to the threats from both political parties. Their intension is to use BU when it is political expedient for them to do so.

• Former Prime Minister has the gumption to criticize the Opposition boycott when he hardly was present for debates and has branded the chamber porakey?

23. At least Donville Inniss has the balls to stand up and speak out on issues in this island. All of the lies and stupid personal attacks on him should not deter him.

It is the faceless and nameless cunts like Arteexerres and Prodigal Son who have no balls to identify themselves and speak the shite they do that does no good in this society.

I have never found Inniss to be arrogant. In this society anyone who challenges the status quo, stand up without fear or favour and seems fearless is labelled as being arrogant. some would say that he is confident and decisive.

Barbados can do with more politicians like Inniss.

Not with dickheads who spend their time telling lies about those who offer themselves to public life

24. Step Hen

It’s called the ‘mindless mob mentality’…little people just being little people mouthing at mirrors. And they have something more to offer? Gee, God help us.

25. AWTY,
    Do not pay the idiot no attention. The idiot would not understand how stupid he/she looks when he/she condemns a person using a moniker yet the idiot posts under a moniker. You want to talk with such an imbecile?

To quote Artaxerxes, Donville Inniss is arrogant, sanctimonious and obnoxious, and needs to understand that the same way he believes it is his right to speak his mind Barbadians have the right to express their feelings on issues that affect them as well.

If you dont like that Step hen, you can lump it!

26. David

Former Prime Minister has the gumption to criticize the Opposition boycott when he hardly was present for debates and has branded the chamber porakey?

I am all but totally convinced that man is going senile…..for sure he is ungrateful

27. Mia is not a diplomat,she would make a good leader for the blp yardfowl brigade which is why every move she makes can be construed as meaningless and without fore thought or common sense, mottley problem is with mottley because of her intent to walk into parliament with irritating yardfowl agendas,
    seems to most that her memos and agendas comes right off the pages of BU parliament,, LOL
    If one listen to her every word and phrasing the similarities in diatribe is equal to that of what is said in the BU parliament by the likes of pissy minister prodigal and the gopher minister Arexteres,

28. Step Hen is their real name it is Stephen *******

@ Anthony Davis

I was looking at the title of the submission and for a while de ole man paused in his thoughts euphemism for doting moment.

The word “emotive” flashed across my mind and I was led to reflect on the reference to “children” in the article’s title

Now don’t get me wrong I understand the psychology of juxtaposing Carrion’s behaviour against the sainted innocence of children.

If this article was something like “Carrington’s Fiduciary Indiscretions” it would not be getting many hits and would be like the DLP website – nobody gives a load of faeces.

But, at another level, the existing hiatus between Carrion and “the children” is something to be lamented.

I would hazard that if a poll were to be done in Bulbados 99.8% would not know the Name Carrington and even if they did would not know what he is embroiled in and more importantly, are so non connected that they DONT EMULATE HIM OR ANY OF THE REST OF THEM REALLY.

We used to know our headmasters and head mistresses our pastors and reverends, our policemen, our community leaders even the village drunkards and idiots.

Barring the last two of these, embodied in AC/Legion and Seethru, the disconnect exists because these persons are neither seen in their communities, since they are so busy tiefing that they can’t go into the gazas and ghettos their tievery creates and conversely the chilrun as my Minister of Eddy Kashun would say, can’t see anyone to emulate because of the $1000 smartphones and cuntputers that we have put in their hands.

“I have seen the enemy and the enemy is me…”

29. whey is Poncho? some body t old me that they saw mia horse back riding down broad street at brek neck speed fleeing the wrath of OSA

30. @ old onion bags January 27, 2015 at 8:00 PM
    “I am all but totally convinced that man is going senile…..for sure he is ungrateful.”

That is what diabetes, along with impotency, does to aging men.
    His sole purpose in politics is to ensure MAM does not become PM.

But he is fighting a battle he will not win after being defeated by the “jokiest” fool in Christendom, Lord Fumble of Mutley Land.
    Can someone promise Fumble another medal other than QC and Rt. Hon? Let’s say Sir Freundel of Molasses Hill so he can ride off into the sunset this year and let Barbados rise again.
    Maybe the Australian PM can do the honours or even that of St. Vincent or St. Kitts. But please Fumble, just go, whatever it takes.

31. “If one listen to her every word and phrasing the similarities in diatribe is equal to that of what is said in the BU parliament by the likes of pissy minister prodigal and the gopher minister Arexteres….”

“I pity the fool”……… Bobby Bland

“The Political Pimp”……… Cyrius

32. Miller cussing Owen Arthur?

Is this the same Owen …that Miller in February 2013 was telling all Barbadians was the best man to lead Barbados?
    Shame……always on you Miller

• No this is the same Owen the DLP wash off leading into the last general election for his porakey attendance in parliament.

33. How long will the opposition continue to walk out and in light of the dying court of public opinion, and what OSA said, is this strategy sustainable? Strong response to the public meeting notwithstanding, this may come back to haunt the opposition and they may force to eat humble pie,

34. Are the officials not paid by you the taxpayers? If you want him remove from the speakership, then demand and do it.

35. The two titans, Mottley and Arthur are going for broke in their all out war to bring down each other. The equation is simple, does Arthur have enough political capital to bring Mottley down?

One of them will have to strike the politically fatal blow.

36. The DLP planning to bring a motion of censure against the leader of the opposition and other BLP members using the affidavits in the Hinkson v Payne High Court matter.

This is going to get rather interesting shortly.

• @Norst

What is interesting is that Barbados is in a deep economic hole and our two major political parties feel comfortable with their Machiavellian politics. Where is the robust economic discussion to assuage the fears of ordinary Barbadians? Why are educated Bajans not demanding more from these JAs?

37. @ David [BU]

That is precisely the point

Economic mayhem and these inept bunglers fiddling around while Rome burns

But hold your guns a moment…

This incompetence sit squarely at the base of the election process when they come to the altar of national service and offer us offal as candidates

On another blog Kiki, in response to Baffy’s mentally incomprehensible babble about “doan vote en masse” as the solution to our cvntry’s political morass, suggested that independents offer themselves for service and we elect (competent) independents who thereafter form a coalition government.

The word competent and ensuing brackets are mine and it is a feasible proposal that in at least fifteen constituencies that independents can run where the DLP candidate/representative and the BLP candidate/representative are and have been of such poor quality that neither of them would survive the “CHANGE OR DIE” mindset that is firmly esconsed in the minds of an increasing number of Bajans

The season is ripe for a government of change

38. @ Fractured BLP January 28, 2015 at 12:27 AM #
    “Miller cussing Owen Arthur?
    I this the same Owen …that Miller in February 2013 was telling all Barbadians was the best man to lead Barbados?
    Shame……always on you Miller”

Fractured, stop telling lies on the miller. I was all for the return of the deceitful lying party for you guys to stew in your cauldron of lies of “No layoffs, No privatization”.

How could OSA ever have won the last elections after the DLP’s successful demonization of the man? Remember when you guys coined my term “Paro Economics” and used it to good political effect just like the old lady on the bus ad to bury OSA’s talk of privatization? Now which party has executed the mass layoffs plan? Which party is about to implement widespread ‘privatization’? Which party is practising “Paro Economics” and willing to sell your poor grandmother’s underwear to pay for hospital supplies or to meet the monthly salaries bill?

Can you imagine what OSA would have done to poor Mia if he had been re-elected as PM? It would have been worse than the moral undressing (denuding) he received from Fumble both in Parliament and at the meeting on Brittons Hill just before the February 2013 general elections.

The best ‘man’ to lead Barbados at this stage is a (wo)man.
    Ask the laid off workers especially those at the NCC or the thousands due tax refunds.

39. Remember when you guys coined my term “Paro Economics” and used it to good political effect just like the old lady on the bus ad to bury OSA’s talk of privatization? Now which party has executed the mass layoffs plan? Which party is about to implement widespread ‘privatization’?

_________________-

Why the whole of Barbados I am sure… would be glad for lil bit more of that “Paro Economics” than this “Ostrich Decadence” that mekkin we shoite…..

What D brassbowl these blighters doing wid all the money they collectin doa?…Sum shoite gotta be wrong man….fa real…they borrow more in the first 5years than the BLP did in their whole 14 year rein….whey D F-ing money gone?…any new buildings, roads, schools get build?..Shoite man Miller something gota be wrong….

40. Boy mottley has rolled a big political dice with her tacky and meaningless intervention in the carrington saga only she can defy the logic and the importance by ignorning the country,sbusiness and trying to score cheap political points with her infantile demonstration .

41. ac
    the DLP members are not going to let he stage her own come back into the House, they will make her come back on her knees.

42. Cussin’ and blind partisanship do not display a healthy intellect. Some people can’t seem to discuss issues in a somewhat fair and logical manner. According to some people, the MPs from the party which they support are blameless in all things, always have the right answers and generally can do no wrong. Away with all yardfowls and birdbrains of the B and the D variety!

43. Owen Arthur has been overwhelmingly voted as Barbados’ politician of the year 2014.
    His singular act in July 2014……when he fled from the mottley crew
    earned him top marks.
    Owen all rational thinking Barbadians congratulates you.
    A pity Prodigirl still bad mouthing you.

44. Fractured, if being petulant, bitter, vindictive, disruptive and bitter are admirable characteristics for politician of the year then I agree.

45. ‘Private Life’ is for example, say, Cameron Tudor’s private life, just as one example of a private individual, not chosen for any particular reason.

However, professional ethics, are NOT, repeat NOT, a private matter. Professional ethics are VERY public and directly related to the operation of the individuals profession and reputation in public life, to wit, in their positions both in their professional capacity and any official positions that they may hold.

Twist and turn it how you like, but that is so.

46. @T J January 29, 2015 at 10:01 AM “I do NOT want my children to emulate the private life of the current leader of the opposition.”

You do understand don’t you that if your children are to emulate the private life of the leader of the opposition there is not one damn thing you can do about it. Once your children become adults they do what they feel like. Frequently the fruit falls far from the tree.

47. It is really amazing when people do wrong as in the case of Carrion-ton , you say something about it or seek to do something about it and you yourself get ridiculed by people like the blog commenter above who talks about Mottley rolling a dice and other stupid talk. Carrion-ton is supposed to get away with his shit but Mottley is supposed to be vilified for taking a stance against the wrong that Carrion-ton has committed.

Freundoom , Dumbville, Sickliar , Carrion-ton and dem cant seem to understand the damage that they inflict on the psyche of wider society by their bad examples. So many people are fed up with this Goverment , it aint funny. Even hardcore supporters of the DLP are saying that the Government is unpopular with dem.

Carrion-ton needs to do the honourable thing -huh ! honourable thing ? -Me-thinks not. Bad example –Bad Bad by Carrion-ton. Bad Bad Bad -wust than that See what the people in Trinidad have said about the Attorney General and note that they talk about ‘ perception’ . Carrion-ton should be dumped. It stinks.

48. Gabriel January 27, 2015 at 9:50 AM #

“As if one speaker in Barbados insulting the electorate by withholding clients funds and both he and the prime fool think they are still thought Honourable but with which a majority of Barbadians at home and abroad strongly disagree,”

Now examine this court report scenario excerpt…

‘He was remanded until next Monday after pleading not guilty to the five charges.
    He was charged with dishonestly obtaining drinks worth $1543.33 from Willie’s Mart on May23, 2013, with the intention of permanently depriving Willie’s of drinks by deception’ –

Does the above not beg the question that the 14 year period in which Mr Carrington held the funds of his client is an indication that he intended to deprive Mr Griffiths of his funds by deception

Leave a comment, join the discussion.