The unprecedented decision by a minister of the crown to instigate legal action against Omar Watsonย  because he posted a Facebook status which caused him distress and anxietyย  continues to be a source of annoyance to the BU household. The more you think about it, sub judice or not, it is a frivolous action, and when viewed together with the dry talk from minister of drainage Denis Lowe – there appears an obvious attempt by members of the government of Barbados to intimidate Barbadians who operate in the social media universe. BU does not condone misuse of social media and parties who abuse it should be aware there are consequences.

The racial tension playing out in cities across the USA should serve as a reminder to local authorities what is possible when citizens believe they are being ignored.ย ย  Barbadians have always been regarded by our neighbours as a docile people, always willing to avoid conflict. Some regard it as a positive quality and others suggest it creates the opportunity to be manipulated by others.ย  In recent years more Barbadians have been driven to social media platforms to voice โ€˜realโ€™ concerns about matters affecting them. Authority figures should thread carefully before trying to enforce any attempt to quell citizen opinions posted to social media platforms. Instead, they should leverage social media to offer rebuttals and clarification statements to bring balance and truth to the public. How many political figures in Barbados maintain an active social media presence outside of an election period?

The bigger irony in the matter playing out is use of the Computer Misuse Act by Lashley which appears to be irrelevant to the times. We have a minister of the crown who sits on the front bench and is responsible for enacting relevant legislation would seek to use the current law to bully a Facebook poster merits careful review. Until Minister Michael Lashley brought this frivolous matter less than two or three thousand would have been privy to the status message. What was the status message anyway, was it that some alleged he received some blows at St. Catherine Sports Club and had to beat a hasty exit to his BMW SUV? Barbadians are known to spice an argument by adding the colloquialism, you doan know you want killing.ย  Many of us have used the reference at some time or the other.

BU is sure if the late Prime Minister David Thompson was alive DLP actors would be more comfortable handling criticism in the social media. What we are witnessing is the most unpopular government in our history reacting; lashing out wildly. What will we witness next, Minister Denis Lowe doing the same? Why doesnโ€™t Minister Lowe face the public to refute an alleged transaction of which he is aware. Something to do with an account, millions, family dispute, Financial Intelligence Unit etc., etc., etc. What about the Cahill-Energy deal and Bโ€™s Recycling? What are you not telling us Minister Lowe?

113 responses to “Our Eyes are on YOU Ministers Michael Lashley and Dennis Lowe”

1. Miss Mottley must never be allowed to become prime minister of the government of this country.

A growing multitude of Barbadians – many of whom are BLP supporters – are often telling us that in the national interest of this country they will not support Mottley as prime minister of any government of this country.

2. The People’s Democratic Congress | December 12, 2014 at 12:48 AM |
    Miss Mottley must never be allowed to become prime minister of the government of this country

Oh please. Scare tactic supreme. Likely the only one in the two sides who gives a darn (and the brightest of the lot) and we get this stupid scare tactic.

Morons.

3. @ Prodigal Son
    The candidates offered by the BLP were far more competent.
    Again you are exactly correct…….but
    …shiite man, they were probably taller too …and better looking..
    besides 16 monkeys would posed a serious challenge to this lot in the area of competence….
    HOWEVER you neglect to point out that your bunch were crooked, secretive, and wont to associate with international crooks like 3S and VECO….and with a host of local ones….
    Some acquired plantations ….and then got extra money for being asked how they managed that….
    Some built houses for themselves on compulsorily acquired lands – while suddenly being able to afford mercedes…
    ,,,and according to DEEDS, ALL like they got together and divide-up an old woman’s estates……

You gotta be a lawyer prodigal ๐Ÿ™‚
    ….but Bushie gotta whacker…

4. @ Anthony…..at the end of the so called 19 month adjustment period.I think that is around the ending of March next year ,we will be told that not even half of what was to be achieved has been achieved,and of course the REAL fireworks will start then.
    The 2014 budget will be presented around that same time too.

5. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Crusoe | December 12, 2014 at 3:12 AM |

MIA is a crook ,liar and scumbags and need to be in Jail for the murders at Britton’s Hill cave in , 5 dead, along with massive land fraud all in her pockets and others ,

Mia Will never be PM ,,,,

The CUP ,,,

6. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

It would be interesting if the public knew that the content of the columns of 3 current Nation newspaper weekly writers are pre read by the current opposition leader before the public ever sees them.
    I wish that the Sunday Sun editor could plead ignorance.
    It is impossible to separate the Nation newspaper and the BLP public relations department.

7. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Can anyone tell me why in the Eff I wuz section of the Saturday Nation which is published 52 weeks in a year, so far in 2014 there were less than 10 questions posed to the current Leader of the Opposition but every week the Saturday Nation editors focus their venom on one political side.

While the government and ministers should be the centre of the tough questions, a reasonable person could suggest that with all the lawsuits and accusations flying between BLP members and a former Prime Minister saying that the party has lost its soul under Mottley, how and why could the Nation newspaper avoid using the Eff I wuzz section to put some licks in the opposition leader.

The Nation newspaper ? Put licks in the Opposition Leader?
    Now, that’s a joke.

8. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

While we discuss intimidation, it would be interesting if the public knew the press bullying tactics of the current leader of the opposition with The Nation Newspaper as she DEMANDS on which pages stories should go, how the journalists should write them and which photos go with them and which stories should NOT be highlighted.

Freundel Stuart is no threat to media freedom in Barbados. If you want to know about intimidation and media bullying, look across the other side of the house or ask certain people at the Nation.
    You know what you have but trust me on this one- the ALTERNATIVE is frightening when it comes to media intimidation.
    You can hold a million press conferences and that does not mean that behind the scenes you are not attempting to intimidate and bully section of the press including using your friends in corporate Barbados to keep the media houses in check.

9. @NationBLPnewspaper

What about the economy?

10. Miss Mottley must never ever be allowed to become prime minister of the government of this country.

Miss Mottley has never demonstrated – for all the time that she has been a member of the House of Assembly – a clear, coherent, cogent, overarching and guiding blueprint, vision, cosmology for the further growth and development of this country.

Not one single blueprint, vision, cosmology she has ever developed for the further growth and development of this country, not withstanding her being a member of the House of Assembly for over 20 years.

Not one clue as to where she would like to see this country be at come next 20 to 25 years.

11. does any one expect the news media to go after the opposition well that is a HO! HO! HO! ,but then again except for their proverbial anticipated loud noises and marches , they have said nothing of great substance that should be classified as news worthy,
    right now on high burner with a scorched earth policy ammmm let me see ,,one . two, maybe topics rehashed and regrind, is a brought here to the BU table, CLICO and away we GO,

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

NationBLPnewspaper

I completely agree you that the alternative is frightening and I also agree with you that we know what we have, and that’s the problem; what we have is equally or more frightening.

13. @ David
    “What about the economy?”
    Our real problems have absolutely nothing to do with “the economy”. Indeed, the economic morass is a RESULT of our REAL problems.
    One does not start at the top to achieve a result unless one is digging a grave, so in order to understand and address “the economy” we need to get to the root of our real issues.
    All over the world, “the economy” is tenuous at best… Many countries, in addition to bad economic prospects, have major issues with weather, war, pollution, racial conflict, political chaos, crime, housing shortages, unemployment, …….
    We could be (and unless we address the ROOT problems, WILL BE) in a very much worse economic position in the very near future.
    The fact is that over the past 20 years (under Arthur and now Stuart,) we used OTHER people’s money to maintain a sham lifestyle which is WAY above our productive capabilities.

This happens to almost all prostitutes …..during their prime years, the cash flows in, then in mid-life (45 -50) the Johns begin to notice the wrinkles, the bloated belly and the missing teeth….
    The RESULT is “the economy” – as the Johns look for younger, more attractive idiots to exploit.
    …but the REAL problem is our lack of vision, lack of national moral strength, lack of leadership, LACK OF REAL MEN.
    ….just a bunch of effeminate brass bowls who are ever anxious to do whatever it takes to live the “pretend life of affluence”, but having no moral, spiritual, cultural or ontological substance whatsoever……

Do some research and see where practically ALL of the high-living, big-spending old prostitutes usually end up…. on some dead end street begging, or hidden away dying uselessly in some almshouse or such institution….cause…
    Where there is no vision, brass bowls become topsies….

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You can make sense when you are ready. We need that level of insight in Government.

15. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

Bush Tea | December 13, 2014 at 9:07 AM |
    This happens to almost all prostitutes โ€ฆ..during their prime years, the cash flows in, then in mid-life (45 -50) the Johns begin to notice the wrinkles, the bloated belly and the missing teethโ€ฆ@@@

sounds like a lot of the women after Bill Cosby.

One thing you leave out in your Roots section is the land, remove the land and watch see where they all will be without free land and the peoples money to build housing and rent it,
    Know there is a need for housing and use free land and free money to launder into their own pockets tax and vat free with low cost labor from the rest of the CC,
    DLP /BLP got into the business of the Fraud UDC and the Fraud NHC . The Ministers have there won PVT business to conflict with their own Ministries,

16. Nation BLP
    You surely forget that the Nation has been owned by a Trinidadian company for many years now.So what bullying you talking about.You all
    think Harold Emeritus is still the Nation right?Well you must sing another tune.
    In respect of the Advocate, that is now the avowed mouthpiece of the people in Bay St,GCM in all.
    We miss the Beacon,Observer,Torch and Truth to expose the unknown whether B or D.The Democrat was as biased as the woman and the man at CBC bully pulpit talk show Garbage in,Garbage out.
    Dennis Johnson,Peter Wickham and Tricia dare to be different and long may they continue to be so.

17. Dear BU,

Donโ€™t pay any attention to the detractors. Prior to January 2008, โ€œBarbados Undergroundโ€ was the best thing since โ€œsliced breadโ€ for the DLP and its supporters. Back then, the BLP supporters bombarded BU with comments similar to those being presently expressed by the supporters of the DLP. These DLP year-fowls want BU to praise this bunch of misfits they call ministers and all will be well.

Keep โ€œrehashing and regrinding topics such as the CLICO debacle. Keep the CLICO the judicial report alive, since it informed us how Parris received money through payments made โ€œby CIL on behalf of CHBL to DIFFERENT ASSOCIATES and RELATED COMPANIES of Mr. Parris, such as DAVID THOMPSON, THOMPSON & ASSOCIATES, Branlee Consulting Services Inc. No wonder the DLP was in such a hurry to put in $10M in CLICO [coincidentally, Parris was due $10M in gratuity].
    How on earth can any right thinking Barbadian not sympathize with those policy holders who were duped by Leroy Parris.

Keep the fire burning under Denis Lowe and how as a minister with responsibility for Caves of Barbados Limited, refused to intervene in the matter of Richard Byer charging CBL $766.855.24 for giving a legal opinion on a loan, after being informed by the then chairman and subsequently by the former CEO that Byerโ€™s fee was too high and a similar service was rendered by another attorney for $17,000 + VAT.
    And how Lowe, while addressing the official launch of the new line of tinted concrete products by Rayside Construction on Wednesday April 2, 2014, gave the assurance that workers employed within his ministry who might be retrenched โ€œwill not be treated inhumanely under his watchโ€. Yet, 8 months after those former NCC were retrenched, they cannot receive a cent in severance payments, and the PM referring them to a non-existent Employee Rights Tribunal.
    Is this humane treatment??????

BU, never cease asking Michael Lashley why he ordered a reduction of routes serviced by the Transport Board, while authorizing the issue of ZR and mini bus permits to service these same routes. Lashley is employed by the crown and is therefore accountable to tax payers and those who voted for him. As such he is obligated to inform the public as to how many public service vehicle permits were issued since he became minister of transport. Whether they are Z. ZM, ZR, B, or BT.

To those who are critical of BU โ€ฆโ€ฆ [And the Culprits know who they are]โ€ฆโ€ฆ.. if you donโ€™t like wha’ gine on here, leff, nuh. Coming on to this blog is not compulsory. It may be A good thing if you keep of the blog, beCause nothing you contribute is โ€œof great substance thAt should be Classified as news worthyโ€โ€ฆโ€ฆ.

18. @ Gabriel | December 13, 2014 at 9:41 AM |

Talk about media intimidation and being biased? Check out CBC DLPtv โ€œTalk ya talkโ€. Maureen Holder and John Lovell are as biased as Michael Carrington being speaker of the house. All DLP callers to that program, and ably assisted by the spin doctors Holder and Lovell. I thought Maxine McClean was bad, but Maureen Holder is the pits.
    Donโ€™t be surprised if she [or Tricia Watson, for that matter] contests a seat in the next general elections under the DLP banner.

19. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

Artaxerxes | December 13, 2014 at 9:48 AM | @

You said a mouth full , it was good reading , only place where we can have Free-smart of the Word Press,

Other places have free-dumb,

20. @ PDC
    How long have you live in Barbados ? which part you want to play with the one x and shite writing for the next 25 yrs

21. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

Bush Tea | December 12, 2014 at 6:40 AM |
    Some acquired plantations โ€ฆ.and then got extra money for being asked how they managed thatโ€ฆ.
    Some built houses for themselves on compulsorily acquired lands โ€“ while suddenly being able to afford mercedesโ€ฆ
    ,,,and according to DEEDS, ALL like they got together and divide-up an old womanโ€™s estatesโ€ฆ
    โ€ฆDammm Bush Tea ,
    Seem like you were talking to Station Sgt Mark White of the Barbados Fraud Squad,, maybe you need to be the New COP , the one we have now is only acting,and not acting to good,
    The COP who is acting can get all of them ,but he seem to be kissing ass so he can keep the job full time. At this time he not acting like a Barbados Royal Police Man .
    The we can make Caswell DPP , he seem to know their Books Well,

22. Ho!Ho!Ho didn,t little miss Claus Mia promised the people that she would be a voice of those who lost their money in Clico .did she not tell the policyholders that the govt owes them that money knowing full well that the contracts were between clico and the policy holders. isn ,t that kind of information as fraudulent as those who “supposedly”stole money although the latter allegations are only a source of yardfowls perception and has never been subjected to or proven in a court of law..

23. AC
    “the latter allegations are only a source of yardfowls perception and has never been subjected to or proven in a court of law..

Woman …don’t be a xussy hole….if a car hit me and brekk my foot….

it can be stated ..only to be a source of my perception until it has been proven in court of law?

CHEESON ! So the Deloitte Report is just perceptions..so is Thompson’s death right? …C-Hxxx !

24. Look David

Add me to the list …..that petitions that ac be removed…. She gettin me tired now..Q.E.D

25. @Onions

Let BU be known hither and yon we are a forum where the intelligent and the dullard feel at home.

26. David did you change the format of BU?

27. @Hants

Yes, it is Xmas.

28. I have to adjust to reading on the left. not a problem. I have a touch screen so its easy to adjust.

29. onions why are u bothering to sweat the little stuf,, yours and all others perceptions are always proven to wrong. i have history on my side u don;t,, go check bu polls or wickman polls before the last general election.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,btw whose asinine and left handed myopic idea was to juggle the format around,,

30. the juggling of this format is annoying to eyes and head movement, it have removed the head and eye coordination that flows easily together , it can also do serious damage to both of these active and most used body functions as one try to reshuffle coordinate the eye and head movement from one side of the format to the other simultaneously

31. @ ac
    Your head and eyes are damage, giving the shite you write on BU

32. @ Watchman
    LOL HA HA HA
    waalassss…. muh belly!!! rotfl
    oh shiirt ED!!!
    …Bushie was just here saying the same thing…….

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

Acclimatised, habituate, acculturalized….

Today’s object lesson is embedded in that format change that the Blogmaster has introduced and which, if extrapolated to our lives in Bulbados, should give us all something, like old years’s resolutions, to incorporate in our way of thinking.

It is a very easy thing to fall into a pattern of party bashing for or against a particular administration.

I admit that I too have a pattern – one where I bash both DLP and BLP for their ineptness and stellar lack of vision.

I suppose that, had there never been years of plenty for our economy, punctuated by the constancy of squander at the hands of successive governments, much like us being aware of “a better time” (or in this case “a format where the comments were in the centre of the blog”) we might not even be here now belabouring the political incompetence that we are daily besieged by.

Some days I admit that I have “liked” both you and that fellow Donkey based on “submissions are in sync with the old man’s customs, habits, and the norms that I have grown accustomed to” but then again, the perspectives of a Colonel Buggy, a Hants, Kiki or the Annunaki which may bring that which is not the norm, causes one to pause and say “changing the furniture around in the cyberspace room brings a welcomed variety to the eyes…”

Of course, AC, for those with fixed habits and enshrined political perspectives, change, such as that WHICH WILL COME IN 2018, is perceived as anathema

34. @ watchman | December 14, 2014 at 12:52 PM |

Wuhloss, watchman……….that was the best analysis of the annoying ac ever, there are a lot of ac’s it seems. I here laughing my head off like Bush Tea.

You deserve a good Christmas gift for that. LOL

35. @ Watchman the yardog,,,,u got to be a a good analyst of all things shitty,, having wallowed in plenty of shite and kissing the a,ss holes for many of your political friends,,,a…ss licker

……………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    the format is loopsided and does nothing to improve or enchanced the quality, couldn;t give a rats a,sss who agrees or disagrees,
    As fuh you watchman the mangy yard dog. keep up the good work of smelling and reading shite,,. dic head,,

36. change what ! changing habits means that there is improvement ,,change for the sake of change is nonsensical.. and blinds us into a pattern of deception,/.

37. @ac
    ……….change for the sake of change is nonsensical.. and blinds us into a pattern of deception,/…………………………………

This is the first true thing you have ever written on BU…………..changing to the DLP was the most nonsensical thing Barbadian people ever did.

38. … glad u agree cause come 2018 i will remind u .yard bird,,,hav a nice day

39. @ AC
    I did like DLP, when EWB was PM for the years 1961 to 1972
    then the year 1986-87 when R ,Haynes was M of F, after that the DLP
    have gone in the sea with EWB body floating, only to be caught
    by a teacher who only learning, was to do back yard abortion
    on the Barbados economy, thank God for 1994 to 2008
    A thief got a set of person of like mind, ask to devil for help
    and rebranded the DLP of today, with yard ducks like you AC
    the saying is,water run of a yard duck back,which mean the more
    you AC are being call stupid, for the shite you write on BU
    you AC will still write MONKEY SHITE,so yes, AC the YARD DUCK

40. the clock keeps ticking,, yard dog watchman..time will suspend you back to your rightful place in history when once again you have to suffer the pangs of sitting another four years in the wilderness,, yard dog,,ac couldn;t but help writing a little more shite fuh you to sallow ,,lap dog ,,, i know you gonna eat it, ,

btw the loopsided format suck,,, the layout is despicable,, time for a change,,

41. The format has been changed to run you off BU, ac!

42. @David/BU
    BU layout/format look like the DLP to AC (he / she) say it time,
    for a change

43. Don’t get sidetracked with the minutiae concerning BU format. It is not uncommon for BU to change the format at end of year, it is not uncommon for BU to try unusual formats. It is our DNA, disruption and the unusual as PUDRYR is good to keep the focus. This is BU original format. We may yet change before year end.

44. It is also YOUR blog David and you can do as you like.

If it was my blog complainers would get banned. lol

45. freedom of speech,,remember,,,

format sucks ,the layout whacked,,

46. @Hants

It is tempting ๐Ÿ™‚

Don’t worry about it.

47. BLOCK AC…..do, give us a Christmas gift EARLY….blank the slum dog! LOL…she too deserves a lonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnng rest…..

48. Hants | December 14, 2014 at 11:23 PM | It is also YOUR blog David and you can do as you like. If it was my blog complainers would get banned. lol

Nah, that would be LIKE xxxxxxxxxxxx

Some of us actually LIKE freedom of speech and integrity…

๐Ÿ˜‰

49. truth and transparency matters remember blog master

The set up of the format needs to be adjusted , too much information on one side , which is not in correlated to subject matter , , the nitwits that are getting all bent out of shape with what i say are hypocrites and would never tell the truth,,for the blp cheerleaders that is their daily ammmo be it politics or anything to do with truthfulness ,

50. @ David
    Bushie likes the change…. ๐Ÿ™‚
    The format is interesting and brings a sense of newness to BU
    Keep up the good work….

…of course, the fact that it pisses AC off is an added and unexpected bonus…. Excellent work Blog Master (pun intended)