The unprecedented decision by a minister of the crown to instigate legal action against Omar Watson  because he posted a Facebook status which caused him distress and anxiety  continues to be a source of annoyance to the BU household. The more you think about it, sub judice or not, it is a frivolous action, and when viewed together with the dry talk from minister of drainage Denis Lowe – there appears an obvious attempt by members of the government of Barbados to intimidate Barbadians who operate in the social media universe. BU does not condone misuse of social media and parties who abuse it should be aware there are consequences.

The racial tension playing out in cities across the USA should serve as a reminder to local authorities what is possible when citizens believe they are being ignored.   Barbadians have always been regarded by our neighbours as a docile people, always willing to avoid conflict. Some regard it as a positive quality and others suggest it creates the opportunity to be manipulated by others.  In recent years more Barbadians have been driven to social media platforms to voice ‘real’ concerns about matters affecting them. Authority figures should thread carefully before trying to enforce any attempt to quell citizen opinions posted to social media platforms. Instead, they should leverage social media to offer rebuttals and clarification statements to bring balance and truth to the public. How many political figures in Barbados maintain an active social media presence outside of an election period?

The bigger irony in the matter playing out is use of the Computer Misuse Act by Lashley which appears to be irrelevant to the times. We have a minister of the crown who sits on the front bench and is responsible for enacting relevant legislation would seek to use the current law to bully a Facebook poster merits careful review. Until Minister Michael Lashley brought this frivolous matter less than two or three thousand would have been privy to the status message. What was the status message anyway, was it that some alleged he received some blows at St. Catherine Sports Club and had to beat a hasty exit to his BMW SUV? Barbadians are known to spice an argument by adding the colloquialism, you doan know you want killing.  Many of us have used the reference at some time or the other.

BU is sure if the late Prime Minister David Thompson was alive DLP actors would be more comfortable handling criticism in the social media. What we are witnessing is the most unpopular government in our history reacting; lashing out wildly. What will we witness next, Minister Denis Lowe doing the same? Why doesn’t Minister Lowe face the public to refute an alleged transaction of which he is aware. Something to do with an account, millions, family dispute, Financial Intelligence Unit etc., etc., etc. What about the Cahill-Energy deal and B’s Recycling? What are you not telling us Minister Lowe?

113 responses to “Our Eyes are on YOU Ministers Michael Lashley and Dennis Lowe”

1. you really believe these guys care two wuk-ups who watch them?

We as bajans can no longer blame the this bunch of misfits for their actions. WE ARE NOT THE ONES WHO MUST TAKE THE BLAME.

We are allowing them to do as they like that is the plain truth. Simple.

2. Have to agree with David (not BU)
    …we should be ashamed to have persons such as these representing us in parliament. What the hell have we come to….?

…and it is not that we voted for the wrong jackass, Bushie recalls well that MIA was among the first to arrogantly target social media….
    It was Hobson’s choice….
    We are at fault in that TRULY TALENTED, well-meaning, and HONEST Bajans have cowardly hidden themselves in the shadows, while allowing clear riff raft to have the run of our highest court…..
    We THEREFORE DESERVE WHAT WE HAVE GOT.

@ Caswell
    …YES! …you keep playing the ass…..

3. Any political party that lacks the will to govern, will seek to muddy society’s waters with relative insignificant matters. The fact that “Omar” stands ready to be crucified for expressing himself in a democratic way, speaks volumes to the democratic process under this current administration. The entire macro global political process is a mess, but Mr. Stuart who I believe inherited a fair amount of economic problems, does not seemingly command the respect of the Barbadian private sector. It is easy now to torturously inflict psychological harm on the citizenry, to alleviate the struggles of an ailing political party, which is on its last leg, and last stand. The pedestrian ministerial minions, who for now occupy a depleted parliamentary process huddle together, to await the final politcal reveille, that will end an all but abysmal attempt at governance. Barbadians should now be clear in their minds, who shall be carrying out the will of the people, and Mr Lashley should be comfortably able to visit, the ranks of the unemployed.

4. @ David of BU “Minister Denis Lowe doing the same? Why doesn’t Minister Lowe face the public to refute an alleged transaction of which he is aware. Something to do with an account, millions, family dispute, Financial Intelligence Unit etc., etc., etc. ”

Look David: All I got to tell you is that my mother was a real, real, hard working woman, And if she died and left me her millions, it is none of your bloody business.

(not) Minister Dennis Lowe

5. Man the 70s don’t look so bad now, when free rum corned beef and biscuits were the tools of the trade of the politicians, and yard fowls had something to live for. Today’s politicians can even score the masses some nice fun, for example the late “Lammy Craig” and Eric Sealy use to go back and forth on various political platform back in the day. I wonder how these politicians of today’s politics would have done back then, with Barrow, Talma, Graves, Sandiford, Adams, St John, Forde, Taitt, Tudor, Hinds and the vicious political debate of that era. No wonder , the parliamentary process is so terrible now, politicians don’t have the stomach to take a “A few licks.”

6. It’s interesting that the ministers with the most allegations and gossip of bribery of their stewardship would make these moves.

7. I Understand from an extremely reliable source that PM Stuart supports the Michael ” Lashes ” Lashley move against Omar Watson. The question begs , how estimable is Freundel Stuart

8. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Our Eyes are on YOU Ministers Michael Lashley and Dennis Lowe

We never took our eyes off them , We dont even blink ,

9. The name Omar Watson will figure more prominently in the history of the DLP than many who represented it. Let them try to intimidate. Greater men have tried to bury the truth. LONG LIVE SOCIAL MEDIA !

10. @David (not BU)

Should social media care they care or not?

11. @ Anthony

Forget Estwick do ……take my foolish advise

12. When do the 2nd term Ministers qualify for their pensions?

I believe when this happens Barbadians will see real fireworks

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Anthony

That is the point my man.

As soon as they qualify, rather as soon as specific persons qualify theirs will be the single sniper strategy of pulling the carpet from out of the rest, ten years to the day.

Until then “Suffer ya Brass Bowl….”

14. Would Minister Lowe care to have an audience with the many NCC workers who are waiting for their day at the Employment Rights Tribunal? It is reported he cried and offered his cell number in an emotional affair at Sherbourne Conference Centre.

15. @ David

Yeah RIGHT!!!……this is the same fella who sent home people wid 15 years so that those who marked X in his box …(even if less than 9 months); would stay?……watch me ..”OHHHH BOO WHO”

16. David | December 11, 2014 at 8:47 AM |

“Would Minister Lowe care to have an audience with the many NCC workers who are waiting for their day at the Employment Rights Tribunal? It is reported he cried and offered his cell number in an emotional affair at Sherbourne Conference Centre.”

Recently, on Wednesday November 19, 2014, some of those former NCC employees staged an impromptu protest action at NUPW during which they said Lowe should resign as minister. They also vented their frustration at the fact that while people with over 8 years service were retrenched, those individuals from his constituency who were employed just before the 2013 general elections remained employed.

They were also angry about the situation concerning the Employment Rights Tribunal as well. How can Stuart sleep so peacefully at night knowing he referred these people to a non-existent tribunal?

17. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

In a case before the Court of Appeal where an employee threatened violence against her supervisor and used an expletive, the court stated:
    “For as long as we can remember, Barbadians have been wont “to vent their spleen” with the indecorous effusions of angry minds, promising or threatening assault and battery but with no real intention to act upon those empty threats”.

And overturned the decision of the magistrate and ordered the employer to pay compensation for wrongful dismissal.

The court while not condoning the bad behaviour of the employee, in essence said, Bajans curse and make threats but don’t really mean anything by those outburst.

To my mind these charges would appear to be the product of underworked officials.

18. Shiite man Caswell…

Ya mean that you REALLY can’t see that you have a role to play in any meaningful change in this brass bowl infested place…?

Ya mean you can’t see that all the shiite you have gone through in your life has been EDUCATION – in preparation for a KEY role in turning this cursed place around?

What the hell will it take? …for some damn whale to swallow your ass like Jonah and spit you out on Brown’s beach opposite the damn esplanade?

Steupsss…..

19. I pray the likes of Lowe don’t see a cent of ministerial pension. A collapse before that 8yr mark would be just rewards.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

Like you, this ole man believes that Mr Franklin (i) has balls and (ii) would not, given the alternatives of tweedledeedee De DlP and twedledeedum de BLP form part of the new needed thrust to get new blood in.

But here is the thing though.

The Possibility of Failing.

We are frail beings imbued with a thing called ego that, even though your balls are big, is a bypass valve that can scuttle man a man’s ego, particularly in one’s golden years.

“Man he ent even get back he deposit” is a statement that many a fellow (e.g. David Commissingsong) has had to suffer through the ignominy of.

You gots to have BIG BALLS & A BIG EGO to suffer through that one.

Unfortunately the pyre of national sacrifice does do a man in relative to he ego, liken it to whu we men’s does feel aftah telling a girl dat we did running down fuh many years telling she whu en whu we gine do wid IT when we gets pun it and den Whaplax, we fizzle out in two wuk ups!!

Den multiply dat by 10 and add in de monies and de IPADS dat you gi’ way to de cuntstituents as bribes AND dere you may has it, DE REASON MR CASWELL ENT GINE RUN

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. Franklin

Sorry i meant to say WOULD FORM part of the new thrust …. not would not

22. Not a witch hunt.

“BARBADOS BUSINESS AUTHORITY confirmed that in exchange for information it wants on its citizens who have more than US$50 000 on “despository accounts” here, the United States (US) has agreed to share similar information it has on Barbadians.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/60413/-bank-info-exchange#sthash.b9PgHLcR.dpuf

23. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/60413/-bank-info-exchange

Let’s hope the above also applies to the corrupt politicians in Barbados who hide their ill-gotten gains, stolen from scamming the treasury and scams using their positions at the taxpayers expense, all over the world. Back to you Dumbville.

I sincerely hope that Lashley’s ass is still nicely puckered in fright from the last beat down in anticipation of the next deserved beat-down since he won’t call the police for his constituents who beat the crap out of him, but had the nerve to have the concerned citizen who exposed the drama locked up….still trying to wrap that one around my head…lol

24. No Bajan laundry technician would be stupid enough to hide money in the USA or Canada.

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Lash-ie and Lowe reeling in de dow,
    Don’t want, don’t want – no body to know.
    Lash-ie tinks he free to hide
    But social media will make him cry.
    Truth we will bare, proof you will read
    You will soon no more be reeling in the sweets.

26. “Several high-profile Canadian companies including Bombardier Inc. are among firms whose tax arrangements in Luxembourg have been leaked amid a growing climate of global concern over corporate tax strategies that critics say result in billions in foregone government revenues.”

27. The Blp misfits need to get their ball rolling instead of picking petty fights with Lowe and the udda guy.

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

The reason I will not seek political office, elected or selected, is simply that I am not interested. I am a trade unionist and that is what I want to do, especially now since trade unions have been on a suicide mission. I see my role as restoring some the reputation of trade unionism in Barbados. Everyone you speak with will tell you that trade unions have sold out the workers of this country, of which I’m in total agreement. My work is therefore cut out for me so I don’t have any time to be sidetracked with political nonsense.

You should recall that I was once very political but now that I am man I’ve put away my childish things.

29. In Barbados, countless business enterprises and households are right now at this Christmas time reeling from the long term manifold adverse disastrous effects of those political economic and financial policies programs and strategies which both these intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP governments have been putting in place over the years.

Too, we have been promulgating time and time again on here that to rid this country once and for all of DLP and BLP problems and transgressions, these horrendous horrible DLP and BLP groups must absolutely and permanently be removed from the political landscape of this country.

Well, it must be said that this time is the right time for the broad masses and middle classes of people Barbados to use whatever intellectual and political and material means at their disposal to carry out and achieve succesfully the utter and complete political destruction of both these contemptible and corrupt and disgraceful factional disorganizations.

Now is the time!!

They must be destroyed now and forever!!

30. Brekin news.

“Police investigating a shooting incident Christ Church.
    multiple people injured.

31. Just discovered this new website.

http://www.cbc.bb/index.php/en/

32. PDC makes me laugh daily.

33. LOL,LOL.. I remember an old saying:- “HE WHO HAS EYES, LET HIM SEE. HE WHO HAS EARS LET HIM HEAR.”:
    Now truth be told about this whole Government mess you are seeing, and hearing, but yet not doing anything about it but talking. And at this point the more you stick around talking and doing nothing. The more the same people who you’ve placed in Government are getting away will all THE BULLSHIT they continue to do each and everyday right before your very eyes.

I am NOT ENDORSING VIOLENCE. But I am all for Barbadians to start being RESPONSIBLE in doing the right things to IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF LIFE FOR ALL. The sorry elected officials that form the Government couldn’t care less about you. A BLIND MAN CAN SEE THIS. Time to STEP UP AND NOT ONLY BE HEARD, BUT TO SHOW THOSE WHO YOU’VE ELECTED THAT YOU ARE TIRED OF BEING SICK AND TIRED, AND MEAN BUSINESS. NO MORE BUSINESS AS-USUAL.

If you continue to doing nothing but talk. NOTHING is going to change in YOUR FAVOR.
    The Government are the same elected officials who you’ve placed to represent you, but chose to look out for THEMSELVES ALL AT YOUR EXPENSE. They know that you are just going to allow things to run its course without doing ANYTHING OF IMPORTANCE TO CHANGE IT.

CHANGE starts with you doing things differently. No longer waiting on the sorry Government to change, because its clear this ISN’T GOING TO HAPPEN.

SO STEP UP AND MAKE THAT DIFFERENCE NOT ONLY FOR YOU, BUT ALSO FOR YOUR CHILDREN TO SEE THAT YOU AREN’T SCARED TO STAND UP FOR WHAT YOU BELIEVE IN FOR A CHANGE.

34. @ Caswell
    So wait bozie…. Bushie here harassing you now for YEARS (even before you first came on BU) bout getting politically involved and you play you dissing the bush man…
    Pieceuhderock just issue a brief statement and you jumping up to answer the old man like how you used to run up to Pilly at Cawmere…??!!
    Wuh looka Bushie crosses nuh…. no kinda respeck for the whacker at all….LOL

But that is all cool… Piece is a knowledgeable old boy….although he wrong bout your reason for dodging…
    You are wrong too… Trade union shiite…. you can’t see that the days of trade unions are GONE? Trade unions are just like undertakers now … their only roles are related to disposing of dead bodies….arguing about severance, short-time, ‘supersession’ and unfair dismissals….. Lotta shiite.

If indeed you are REALLY interested is serving poor dispossessed workers, then the vehicle you want, and NEED is BUP and some national mechanism to enforce integrity, transparency and openness in public affairs.

What trade union what??!!
    …when Frank Walcott and Trotman refused to use the leverage of trade unions in the 1990’s to move worker’s influence into the BOARD ROOMS – they guaranteed eventual failure, which the current movement (including your ) now reflect.

The future role of the ‘trade union’ is in Parliament boss….. either that or you can join with Commissong and Adamson playing the ass round the place with petty issues….

35. Wha Bushie, both you and Caswell right!

36. Blame the dead king who put together these morons……………walked out of Parliament saying “call the damn election”. He hollowed loudly “time for change” and the stupid Barbadians believe the closet criminal and we are now left with this mess, made worst by a political loser called Fumble.

37. Steupsss
    Man Prodigal, you are totally correct.
    …But all that was only possible because your side is also a collection of piss poor miscreants who offer no inspiration, no leadership, and no vision.
    Wunna gave the people of Barbados Hobson’s choice….
    …so you could really hush….

Put together even a half-arsed pack of half wits with a little something to offer – and wunna gone clear….BUT..
    …Please LEAVE out the KNOWN CROOKS…

38. We need more of this below locakky:

Retired builder, 72, turns ‘pothole vigilante’ by mending craters

https://uk.news.yahoo.com/can-reg-fix-it—a-devon-pensioner-has-become-a–pothole-vigilante-151923086.html#tWz40gv

39. locally

40. The roads in Barbados have become an embarrassment to proud Bajans. On the South, East, West or North it doesn’t matter, the roads are a disgrace! Yet Minister Michael Lashley has time to waste the time of the Courts of Barbados.

Districts not too long ago were use to a twice a week garbage pickup, we are lucky if we get once a month. Another embarrassment yet Minister Denis Lowe has time to be spouting bullshit about social media. Get the SSA working and pick up the damn garbage!

41. @ David… Button and Alonzo driving for McClaren 2015

42. Looks good on paper, it is up to the reliability factor.

43. long live social media… GOT THAT RIGHT,, and Long live the right for a person ,,man! woman! boy or child to defend themselves from malicious and mischievous slander, with an intent to do harm , now that is call even handedness and falls with equality and directly inside the scales of justice.

44. Bush Tea,
    The people had a choice last year, they chose to sell their vote!

The candidates offered by the BLP were far more competent. How would you compare the low man to Wilfred Abraham or the ape to Indar Weir?

45. watching on in laughter Avatar
    watching on in laughter

One would think that he went to death door. And before he humble himself in the eyes of God and the public he has become the monster for all to see.. Forgetting life is fragile…. Even In his case there might be no second chances next time around.. Humble or be made to be humble… So says the good book

46. Let us pick a Government from among the present MPs.
    Mia Mottley, Donville Inniss, Kerrie Symmonds, Dale Marshall, Santia Bradshaw, Stephen Lashley, Cynthia Forde, Edmund Hinkson, Dwight Sutherland and Maria Agard.
    Done there.
    Let us call for a Government of national unity now.
    Make Freundel the GG

47. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

cool runnings | December 11, 2014 at 8:29 PM |
    We can see that you dont know nothing about Barbados , You just picked a bunch of supporting crooks , liars and scumbags , One Just one We might have hard to think about and then you have to think which one,

We know the rest of them as being no better than Our Eyes are on YOU Ministers Michael Lashley and Dennis Lowe , shite man they need to be cuffed and charged as far back as their Mothers for having them ,

Let it be know , Any poster on BU or David, We will be there to support the truth if we are informed of such ,

The Coalition Unified Parties Will be there to support free speech , If these bag of she-it tell the truth we will not have to find it our self .
    Even if they come after AC or DC we will be there , For we also have a right to be stupid to support and those who ever got drunk and voted or took money for votes. We will see the price of the cost paid for selling a Right,

Cruel and Unusual Punishment =CUP

48. @Fed Up Bajan December 11, 2014 at 6:29 AM “The question begs , how estimable is Freundel Stuart.”

He is estimable enough that he embraces Leroy Parris. In Stuart’s own words “the man [Leroy Parris] is not a leper, he is my friend”

When we were all in Infants B our teachers taught us “birds of a feather flock together”

At age 6 we understood that our teacher was not talking about sparrows, or black birds.