Submitted by Anthony Davis
Donville Inniss - Minister of Commerce, and International Business going with the FLOW
Donville Inniss – Minister of Commerce, and International Business going with the FLOW

Minister of Commerce Danville Inniss says he is not troubled by the proposed merger of Cable & Wireless Communications (CWC) and Columbus International Inc., which trade here as LIME and FLOW respectively. However, an issue which is of great importance and should be addressed, he said, was the lack of regulation of all services provided by telecommunications companiesBarbados Today

Minister Inniss, you need not be “distracted by the talk around the LIME and Columbus merger” because you already know how your bread is buttered. You must remember – which you in this Government seldom do – the poor, the needy and the vulnerable in our society.

Can you imagine LIME introducing per minute fees for our domestic telephone lines?

Just imagine, Mr. Minister, some old age pensioner in your constituency whose only contact with many of his/her is that telephone. Just imagine once again, one of them wanting desperately to hear another comforting voice and is standing in front of the phone wondering if he/she can afford it.

LIME had the nerve to move terminate the personnel of our Call Centre and make us call St. Lucia where people don’t even know where Oistins is and supposed to be able to give us other information.

Mr. Minister of Commerce, do you know that LIME is demanding that the populace of this country purchase a LIME mobile phone if they want to have LIME TV?

Do you think that CWC would dare make the same preconditions in Britain or in any of the EU countries?

I don’t think so, which leads me to believe that we are, in their minds, just some backward colonials still. Is this the company which you would like to see become a such a GARGANTUAN monopoly?

I wouldn’t!

That’s why I don’t want the FTC to give them the go ahead with this merger!

We don’t need such a JUGGERNAUT in such a small country as Barbados. Get the legislation in place before allowing any such takeover!

Shadow Minister for Industry and Commerce, Kerrie Symmonds, stated in an interview with Barbados TODAY: “But if LIME now has possession and domination of the market, then it follows logically that they are not likely to feel any pressure towards improving the after-sales service to the customer.”

That is also my opinion!

145 responses to “STOP LIME!”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

My son gave me this link for your reading pleasure if wunna is into dese fandangled tings http://www.columbiatribune.com/business/wi-fi-alternatives-threaten-cell-carriers/article_d944d73c-a2ff-11e3-8148-10604b9f6eda.html

It does tell wunna bout how de wifi peoples dem is giving de big names alot uh problems.

If my smart phone gine call SSS or islandgirl fuh free becausing WiFi FREE in Bulbados, man you can bet your last dollar dat I pun dat band wagon

@ CHRIS HALSALL

Is this technically possible?

De ole man is an illiterati at dese tings I does fall into the category of what AC#1 is to common Sense blogging,

Bro Bush Tea forgive me this indiscretion but I must say dat AC#2 does blog sensible tings dem, albeit partisan, so AC#2 gots to be de husband from Arizona

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 13, 2014 at 7:33 PM |
    “miller dah call privatization, ,uh think uh see something now , wait till they buy the ship and cargo,,,”

Who plan to sell the privatization ship and cargo?
    Sinkliar aided and abetted by the King of Porn Donville?
    Why are you shooting at the messenger miller instead of the DLP captains of privatization?

BTW, does your anti-privatization PM plan to throw fiery water on top the oily sale of the BNTLC to make the fourth quarter foreign reserves look good in the continuing saga of blind man bluff?

3. E-billing is inevitable until metering is introduced, it is only a matter of time. What LIME could have done is to incent those who have Internet with some kind of introductory offer say 60 days in a phase 1 implementation. The fact they want to do a big bang tells they are desperate for immediate revenue lift or they don’t care.

4. @BT
    BTW…when consumers have disputes what will they have in hand? …you ever got a bill for $2000.00 for a call to Timbuktu?
    The lack of a paper bill does not preclude one from disputing a charge, the company will also have access to the same information so there will be no need to wave a piece of paper to prove anything. It goes without saying that people should be vigilant and check their bills whether they are paperless or not.

For the record I am not disputing that the charge for delivering bill is not a money grab, they are just doing what their corporate brethren do in other places but as one who initially objected to electronic billing I have grown to appreciate it as I don’t have to worry about keeping or disposing of reams of paper.

Just recently I decided to check some financial statements and was able to go back to 2008 at the click of a mouse so it makes sense for me but you can continue to contribute to the landfills.

BTW yuh got some company up here

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/ottawa-urges-telecom-companies-to-axe-paper-bill-charge/article20260954/

5. @David
    And this, but lemme tell you something the CRTC was powerless to act and any bill will die on the order table prior to the next election. It isn’t a priority for this Gov’t.

http://www.piac.ca/telecom/application_asks_crtc_to_prohibit_paper_bill_fees_and_seek_refunds_for_regulated_phone_customers/

6. @ David
    Do you recall when Chris Halsall tried to make the point about BL&P’s pole plant?
    Agree with you that if statement cost is included in the base cost then there is a case for the FTC to get involved.
    Chris was right.
    ..so was Miles Rothwell (or some such named fellow)
    But Bajans always go with the white people who smile in our faces and then turn around and do the French Connection (UK) thingie to us….
    (…and do you see the smile that the C&W fellow does flash for the camera….?) …note that It wasn’t CH or Rothwell who became millionaires upon the sellout to EMERA.

LOL…. you say there is a case for the FTC to get involved…?
    ha ha ha … sometimes you does make real sport hear…?
    …you mean for another one to get a big job?…this time at LIME?

@ Artax
    Boss, no disrespect intended. But you normally spout sound doctrine. When therefore you seem so far off base – it got Bushie worried…. and vex…
    You! .. for a moment it was looking like ac stole your moniker and also your brain……even worse, Bushie contemplated that YOU may be “Mr. ac” and that you two got wunna computers mixed up in all the lotta percolation…. 🙂

@ Pieceuhderock
    Boss, you are on the ball again….despite all the show, LIME’s ass is in serious trouble.
    Right now, only brass bowls pay for ANY phone calls….everyone else have installed whatsapp, Skype, Viber, Facetime and numerous other FREE apps which allow FREE calls using wi-fi or 3G.
    LOL …Bushie almost dead with laugh the other day when LIME was advertising some “special” which gives 1000 minutes of calls per month to the USA or Canada or some such shiite…
    ….ha ha ha …wuh Bushie could talk FREE for 24 hours every day to Timbuktu ….with video….
    Same shiite with LIME TV….who would buy that instead of getting an Xbox? …why wunna think they are GIVING the “acid” TV free in a package?
    The land line is going the way of the phone booth so the only thing LIME has to sell is wifi, and VERY SOON, that too will be ancient history….
    So wunna see why they are panicking, and grabbing at straws? …and shaking down old widows?

Same shiite with BL&P.
    It is only a matter of time before ALL bajan brass bowls work out that it makes sense to buy some solar panels instead buying that expensive gas-guzzling Japanese car… Don’t mind Wily Coyote yuh, when the sun goes down, we can always go to bed. ….storage shiite. For centuries people went to bed at nights and were generally healthier and happier that we seem to be with all our science…. and fossil pollution.
    …think EMERA don’t know that…?

So both these foreign owned utilities seem to have decided to make as much profit now as they can and cut their losses….rather than seek to make the changes needed to meet the new realities that are upon them…
    …and ALL OF US will pay the price….

7. look the e billing is easier and faster ,however it does have it draw backs especially for those who are not technically savvy and have to fiddle and faddle and deal with all the necessary input in getting access to their account . now for lime to be imposing a penalty in the name of saving trees is downright nasty and unconscionable,,, ,the reasoning and rationale behind these charges does not add up, furthermore how much of this money which lime collects from every dollar of paper billing is contributed to the environment and if what they say is true govt should collect from lime a percentage of the paper billing monies towards the environment,

8. @ Corporal (formerly Sargeant)
    My man, why don’t you give it up nuh? Shiite man, you going mek Colonel Buggy reduce you all the way back to buck private?

You are saying that you think a poor little Bajan nobody could walk into LIME and announce that there is a problem with their bill, but someone will have to give him/her access to a computer at the office and provide the necessary passwords and security so that little Mr/Ms Nobody can bring to LIME’s attention, that there is an error in their bill to the tune of $45.87…..?

Is you first name Johnny?
    Do you know Barbados?
    Do you know LIME?
    Do you think this is Canada?
    The damn people in the office would probably fall down on the floor deading wid laugh….especially after they kick your butt out…

You are talking SHIITE.
    You do NOT know what you are talking about.
    PLEASE sit down….corporal.

9. i bet if govt threaten to impose a levy on that paper billing scam .lime do the ( about face) in a heart beat,

btw bt… unlike u the bold face hypocrite your only interest is self, when last you support anything that has to do with spending that is in the country best interest .all that sh,,it talk is nothing more than your cheap pockets only looking for freeness, if tomorrow lime came out and cancelled all fees u would be the first to sing from another hymn book, ,, fuh one ac never take anything u say at face value, cause with u it depends which side of the score card u reading from.

10. HA ! HA! corporal (formerly sergeant) u gonna sit back and let professor brass bowl BT give u a washpan full uh lick ,, well i be dam. first arterexes and now u, ac ROFLMAOF ,defend wunna self, wunna mek ac shame,, HA! HA! ..uh think the professor could talk sh,,t talk like dat to me and get away, no friggin way,,

11. @ ac
    Have a good night
    The Boss man David warned Bushie to leave you alone… otherwise the bushman would unleash the whacker in you old dribbly behind…

…but Bushie too old to tek a ban….you ain’t see that BAFFY is yet to get over his last ban…?

12. @BT
    You are right I don’t know how they do things down dey, but I was thinking about my experiences where I sat at home and download the info , called XYZ Company and said Houston we have a problem and they could simultaneously look at the same details and we could have a civilised discussion. I forgot that I should be confrontational to achieve best results.

I can only infer from your comments that today if Johnny Nobody walked into Lime and said “there is a problem with my bill but unfortunately I don’t have it since my dog (Bob Tail Bush) ate it”, then the Lime staff would unceremoniously escort Johnny N from the Office while falling over themselves with gales of laughter shouting “Looka Looka Johnny N aint got na bill and e expect we to tek e on.”

Now I gwine tek de advice that Chris Christie (who wants to be Pres of the USA) gave recently to a heckler “Sit down and shut up”.

13. @AC
    May I call you Ann? I don’t like to call women by their initials but I’ve been here long enough to know that Bush Tea is full of bluster but means no harm. I was told as a boy “never throw stones at a harmless dove” so I only send the occasional barb his way. He has to rail at every perceive issue and has never met a molehill that he couldn’t convert into a mountain.

He wants everyone to be a “yes man” in sync with his opinions, primarily because he is one himself but he gets to play a different role on BU. You should read his response again to see if you would come to the same conclusion about licks as he always avoids the point, in fact he couldn’t hit water if he fell out of a boat.

Let BT sleep yuh know tomorrow there will another windmill for him to tilt at.

14. sargeant ,u deserve a handshake fuh quick thinking and telling the ole goat to know he place, man srge that retort was a real insult fuh trut, a double whamme too, professor u understand wuh sarge just tell uh wid them punishing remarks,

professor good nit bozey,

15. thanks sarge for your flattering compliment in name ,, i have been called a lot of not so nice adjectives here on BU actually i am blushing ,ann is a cut above the rest,,ghee, something must be in the water,,,,,

16. Could it be a dose of virtual arsenic for AC#1 and some wine of comfort and condolences for AC#2 who has to put up with AC#1?

17. Now, per todays Nation News, FirstCaribbean is going to outsource ALL account, lending and client information overseas.

Jobs, cost cuts…. cut, cut…

We should NEVER have sold the National Bank. Never.

Never have sold BS&T.

Never have sold BL&P.

Quick bucks for a few, the rest suffer.

We are officially OUTSOURCED to cheap labour in India.

Stay home and watch Days of our Lives… OOPS, cant even do that now.

In the hand of overseas owners, things become all about the bottom line!!

Jobs, heck with it.

18. All of this outsourcing is devastating to a country. LIME started it with outsourcing to other islands, (is it still those islands or India?).

Government needs to implement an outsourcing tax, as a tax on percentage of outsourcing to revenue/ profits.

I am not joking. This is serious. Companies outsourcing to cheap labour in India and China and making profits here.

It has got to stop. And while they are at it, put a hefty tax on the crap furniture etc being imported from sweat shops.

Don’t give me that trade agreement crap, just slap on an excise tax.

19. ha! HA!..lime full uh jokes saying that a percentage of the paper billing charges will be donated to a(yet ) to be unnamed charity,,,,,then guess what at the end of the tax year lime collects a huge refund,,, Govt i hope yuh reading between the lines,,, ,,,,time to start cutting a chunck out of that paper billing as a source of revenue, ,,

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Sargeant

You could be right about Bushie. Somehow I always seem to get the impression that he is one of those guys who the wife beats.

21. Minister Donville Inniss minister responsible for Commerce and the FTC has come out to say he is going with the FLOW. Not one damn thing the government can do or will do to what LIME has proposed. They want the investment!

22. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Crusoe

These politicians never learn from their mistakes; they are now proposing to sell the oil company and proposing to give Harrison Cave to one of their friends.

23. pdyr AC #1 and AC #2 coexist peaceably ,it is only here on BU that this back and forth which stems from animosity and fear of ac, arising from the political divide rears its ugly head,, as a matter of interest, ,the two ac;s compliment each other in many ways one being the ability to be truthful and transparent to ( T) which offers a rear insight that others would prefer not to give of themselves

24. david i wid u on THAT! innis respond not good enough…

25. @ Caswell
    …perhaps it would be a good thing if Bushie’s wife used to beat his tail….bout time that someone could… 🙂 ..and who better?

You are also wrong about the politicians “never learning from their mistakes” … It is YOU who never seem to learn…
    These people are in politics to become wealthy. They have found, legalized, and perfected the art of bribery, which they all use to the max to enhance their own personal wealth…. (some their mother’s as well)

What mistakes are they not learning from? …ya Joke! …it is US brass bowls who are not learning from OUR mistakes – of allowing low grade crooks to take control of our treasury.

Take YOU…for example!
    You find yourself with more credibility than most; more balls than most; more mouth than even Bushie; and lots of time on your hands …..and what do you do?
    ….run around talking shiite bout Unity union.

Are you willing to give Bajans an alternative political reality? …NO
    Are you prepared to stand behind your mouth? ……NO

…but yet you joining with Corporal (formerly Sargeant) to put licks in Bushie…….BUT WAIT!!……you did get demote too ent it?
    ha ha ha LOL oh shiirt…. birds of a feather…

26. John Hanson 1781-1782 Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782

LIME = DLP and BLP , now you know they all in bed and they all sucking

27. Barbados and Barbadians were unprepared for the emergance of a globalisation
    The laid back and lackadasical approach to important issues which still remains active in way barbados carries on the order of doing business “across the board” needs to be put aside and replaced with a stealth of preparedness and conformity one that is in alignment with the new order of the world if not barbados and barbadians would always find self crawling from the bottom with urgency trying to catch up for lost time
    The rules have changed.it is time for a serious adjustment and attitude

28. If people are upset about the proposed fee for the paper statement wunnah should sit down and catch wunna breath cause wait for it…….. the Banks charge a fee for paper statements here and the Canadian Banks eventually implement these changes in Bim so if you get a monthly/quarterly statement at present don’t say you weren’t warned
    ++++++++++++
    If one goes back to an earlier post on this blog they will see where I wrote the above and I must have been a fly on the wall at CIBC/FCIB HQ as they are gearing up to make changes in the banking relationship between Bajans and other Caribbean countries and that Financial Institution.

Relax everybody……. This won’t hurt a bit….. HO HO HO Merry Xmas.

29. My mother is nearly eighty years old. She does not own a computer far less have internet access with email etc. She will now have to pay an extra $4.50/month to get her telephone bill or pay $72/month for broadband plus buy a computer! What does the damn FTC or the f@#^K&*g political class have to say about this?!

OK I know some smartass will say that that she can use my (her son’s) computer etc but the old lady likes to be independent.

30. LOL @ Ping Pong
    shiite man…. is that you….?

“the damn FTC or the f@#^K&*g political class”

Looks like Mr. Nice Guy himself has been driven past the point of restraint by the accelerating brass bowlery… 🙂
    LOL… yuh right to let go a couple pips…

Brass Bowls!!!

31. Check CBC TV8 the People Business: cbc.bb

Dr. Don Marshall Snr Fellow (not professor) Avi Persaud Guyson Mayers And a couple others

On 16 November 2014 23:55, Barbados Underground wrote:

32. Lets wait and see how disgusted that Barbadians really are with LIME,now that they are about to release the latest iPhone 6 and the iPhone 6 Plus in Barbados,available at all LIME outlets ‘just in time for the holiday season.”
    Many Bajans ,I suspect, will be marching with their feet , not as a form of protest, but in thronging the various outlets to pay top price for these gadgets.

33. Hi morning.
    I need your opinion on a matter.

Client A buys 10 litres of gas at the pump. He uses 5L over a week so he doesn’t return to the pump.

Client B buys 10L & uses 10L over a week so he returns to the pump.

C&W sell 200 min to customer A who uses 100 min in 30days. There are no extra charges but customer A is told the remaining unused100 min will expire after 30days.

Customer B buys 200mins but used 500min over 30days. The company charges the client for the extra 300min at a higher rate than the base rate.

What is your opinion?
    Do you think C&W is fair to its customers.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Xfiles

When i travel to see the grand children in Amurica at Thanksgiving I will sometimes go over to Englant to see some mates there.

When I is dere I will buy an Orange SIM chip and at Xmas if de daughter sen me and de madam a ticket when I gets back dey de chip still wukking for three month

Cable and Wufless unnerstan de mentality uh we niggers heah chief among whom is de waste foop niggas at de Fear Trading Commission

En Independence in pun de 30 th uh dis month!

Whu we celebrating again?

35. xfiles November 22, 2014 at 9:10 AM “Do you think C&W is fair to its customers.’

No.

In fact all reasonable people would aggree that they are jucking out the eyes of their customers.

36. We should demand rollover minutes.

On 22 November 2014 at 14:01, Barbados Underground wrote:

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Exactly like C&W is compelled to do in cosmopolitan cities of first world countries where the are real real Fair Trading Commissions and Better Business Bureaus that have a mandate and effect that mandate unlike our FTCs monkeys in Green Hill

A whole new brand of Growing up Stupid under the Union Jack

38. I would likely appreciate these negative comments if Barbadian investors were willing to invest in these industries, rather than just whine, and were being shut-out in favour of foreign investors.

39. @Hants November 12, 2014 at 8:37 PM “Given that schools have benefited from “EduTech” the poor people who don’t have Internet can give the money to the children and get them to ask the Principal or a teacher to use their credit card to pay the phone bill online.”

Dear Hants: Are you mad?

What happens when the child says that they have “lost” the money on their way to school?
    What happens when naughty little Johnny or Susie spends the money on something else?
    Why should our school teachers/administrators act as unpaid cashiers/bill collectors for LIME?
    What happens when a parent sends a check which purports to be good and it is not good?
    Who tell you that Bajan teachers can afford to have a credit card?
    You do know don’t you that the credit card companies in Barbados charge upwards of 24% interest?
    If you had a credit card which carried 24% interest on the unpaid balance would you use it to make a payment even for your mother?
    So the teachers will do this instead if teaching Science, Technology, Engineering and Math?
    Or will the teachers do this on their own family time?
    And if they do will the LIME shareholders reimburse the teachers for acting as collection agents for them?
    So many simple questions?
    You got your tongue wedged firmly in your cheek don’t you?

40. Is it fair for C&W to charge an extra fees for local calls to Tele Barbados/ Flow & Digicel?

41. @xfiles

Shouldn’t the FDC be responsible for the fees charged between networks? Surely it has access to best practices elsewhere? It can’t be rocket science the kind of laws needed to protect consumers?

42. @Simple Simon,

No I am not mad.

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

A lot of these issues about LIME and their takeover bids are classic red herring.

One of the reasons that I put no stock in the utility of (erstwhile) Shadow Ministers like Kerrie Simmons is because of the fact that, in the clear light of day, the real issues – theft and highway robberies conducted by LIME and BARTEL continue amongst we ingrunt black peeple as they are aided and abetted by the Fear Trading Commission

David [BU] in the same vein that the Lawyers in the News Corner has arisen, and will expand until you are going to have to create a site for this alone, I would state that if you put up a blog for the high handedness of LIME, it would have similar over subscriptions.

LIME/BARTEL is stealing money from every Bajan every single month and no one in Bulbados has the balls to come forward and say so.

The numerous court cases and instances of over billing that bespeckle the Barbados horizon are too many to mention.

But the fact is that there is no one/agency to whom a matter can be brought that has either the responsibility/mandate or intestinal fortitude to go after these vagabonds.

$1 per month tagged on via a software programme that Cable and Wireless UK has written and is in use across the Caribbean region is NOT an issue that our ingrunt scvnts at the various Commissions and Offfice of Public Prosecution or whatever limp doggie entities that you may mention, has the interest in, or capacity, to review.

And of course they, LIME/BARTEL, like the COW Williams’ of this island, take comfort in “the 9 day half life” of the interest of Bajans which WILL wane and let their teifing ways, fade into the night. (Few remember or care for Madame Hoagie’s dumping of garbage on a counter in a black woman’s store in St Peter.)

Please dont let LIME get away from these deeds with a free pass

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“LIME/BARTEL is stealing money from every Bajan every single month and no one in Bulbados has the balls to come forward and say so.”