Submitted by Just Thinking Economics
Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler

Who ever said that increased taxation will help Barbados out of its current mess needs to have their heads examine. We are already overly taxed and to inflict further pain…..”broadening the tax base”…. will do nothing more than to compound “the already poor” problems.

Just imagine asking small incomers (working under the $25,000 threshold) to contribute by way of income taxes. Madness I dare say.  It is inconceivable to ask a restaurant worker or a paltry shop assistant, barely scraping a meager wage, to fork out good monies to be further squandered by this Government….the likes of Four Seasons. $400 million good taxpayers dollars gone the way of Jacob’s horse nostril.

Even now Mr. Minister, Barbados is reeling under the effects of Laffer Curve theory. We have had increase taxation, as with  the Value Added Tax increase (by 2.5%) , but the nett effect was collecting even less tax.

According to the learned professor, increasing taxation will have a negative effect, slowing down an already ailing community, retarding the money multiplier, killing off what little growth, that there might be, in short being counter-productive… Sounds familiar? More taxes will do little to alleviate our problem. Consider more production, we need to produce solar panels and the like…. we need to provide employment for our school leavers…. we need to increase our foreign exchange.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

In economics, the Laffer curve is a representation of the relationship between possible rates of taxation and the resulting levels of government revenue. It illustrates the concept of taxable income elasticity—i.e., taxable income will change in response to changes in the rate of taxation. It postulates that no tax revenue will be raised at the extreme tax rates of 0% and 100% and that there must be at least one rate where tax revenue would be a non-zero maximum.

The Laffer curve is typically represented as a graph which starts at 0% tax with zero revenue, rises to a maximum rate of revenue at an intermediate rate of taxation, and then falls again to zero revenue at a 100% tax rate. The actual existence and shape of the curve is uncertain and disputed.[1]

One potential result of the Laffer curve is that increasing tax rates beyond a certain point will be counter-productive for raising further tax revenue. A hypothetical Laffer curve for any given economy can only be estimated and such estimates are controversial. The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics reports that estimates of revenue-maximizing tax rates have varied widely, with a mid-range of around 70%.[2]

Although economist Arthur Laffer does not claim to have invented the Laffer curve concept,[3] it was popularized in the west with policymakers following an afternoon meeting with Ford Administration officials Dick Cheney and Donald Rumsfeld in 1974 in which he reportedly sketched the curve on a napkin to illustrate his argument.[4] The term “Laffer curve” was coined by Jude Wanniski, who was also present at the meeting. The basic concept was not new; Laffer himself notes antecedents in the writings of the 14th century Arabic muslim social philosopher Ibn Khaldun .[5]

80 responses to “Increased Taxation Will NOT Work Mr. Sinckler. Have you ever heard of Laffer’s Curve…?”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Formerly Middle Class | November 12, 2014 at 12:25 AM | .
    “Replace all govt big rides with 1300cc engine vehicles.”

You have gone even further to the bone than what I was recommending; but it seems things have deteriorated so bad fiscally the government might soon be scraping the bone. .
    I would say 1600.cc max except in a few cases e.g. CJ.
    Of course, we are speaking about vehicles assigned to individuals as part of their remuneration package.

In any event why do Barbadians have to burn scarce foreign exchange to import vehicles with such large engines for domestic use that are totally unsuitable for the country’s makeover donkey cart roads cluttered with so many vehicles that even African snails could ‘outrun’? Is it a way of expressing the size of their egos which seem to be in inverse proportion to their intelligence?

But what can we expect from a government who would be bringing a budget nine months into its financial year to close an estimated ‘do-or-die’ fiscal deficit in excess of $170 million by March 31, 2015.

2. @David

“When Sinckler announces policy it has the backing of Cabinet.”

If this is indeed the case then the lunatics are definitely running the asylum!
    God help Barbados, latest applicant to the Banana Republic Club.

3. Formerly Middle Class Avatar
    Formerly Middle Class

@millertheanunnaki
    I would say 1600.cc max except in a few cases e.g. CJ.
    1300 cc for all uses except for senior officers (1600 cc max) or govt organisations where the additional power is needed (MTW, coastal zone etc.)

Here are ten more solutions for you… I still got more, you really sure that you want to talk solutions or you just want to talk

1. Seek to change out a minimum of 50% of govt vehicles to alternative energy either natural gas hybrid or electric.
    2. Slash the duty and other taxes on electric and hybrid vehicles to encourage ownership so that we can save some forex on oil imports,
      13.Increase the duty on gas burning vehicles over a certain engine size, if you want to have a 5000cc gasoline Range rover, I assume that you can afford the gas, but pay the luxury tax….I mean really where in Barbados can you actually really drive that vehicle. In addition stagger the tax rates and duty on vehicles, the more efficient the less tax and duty should be applied.
    3. Improve revenue collection: move towards allowing all payments to govt to be made online, get away from this nonsense of having to stand in line for half a day to pay license or road tax.
    4. Immediate ban on govt travel unless the value added of the trip can be shown, no conferences unless we marketing Barbados or wooing investment, everything else can be done by telephone, Skype or video conferencing.
      16.Soft launch projects and stop blowing hot air, do not tell me: “projects coming on stream soon” or “in the near future” or “very shortly” tell me when you all the talking is done and project is already started
    5. Define your areas of focus for the future: education, healthcare and security are essential to the future of this country and have to be treated with respect, try to make the delivery and management more efficient to save money rather than just cutting like a madman with a sword.
    6. How about exploring natural gas use for transport board and sanitation vehicles and actually having a concept of fleet management. Talk to the big distributors here if you do not have a clue (which govt does not). Do you hear of banks or massy distribution or wibisco not being able to deliver goods because trucks break down????
    7. Make an attempt to define SLA (service level agreements) how long should a particular process take to complete, define it and then refine it to make the process shorter that leads to efficiency which leads to cost savings. e.g. What is an efficient turn around time for say a passport renewal
    8. Retrofit all govt buildings with led lighting and solar panel, investigate solar powered ac units…..come on stop talking about alternative energy and actually do something.

4. @Middle class…all thoseinitiatives are good within an economy that is firing on all four cylinders and not a weak an anemic economy struggling to pay down high debt and has been exposed to a weakened job market which further help to exaggerate the problem with customers low appetite for spending

5. ac
    Do you accept that their a large cross section of public in Barbados resent the Government? Do you accept that the public rightfully believes that the DLP administration misled and lied to them in 2012 and 2013? Do you appreciate this is easily the most unpopular Government and PM in the history of Barbados post independence?

6. @Wallace Duncan

More unpopular than Sandiford’s administration?

7. david
    I would say easily more unpopular than Saniford and Sandiford’s administration. I think this administration is underestimating their unpopularity and the deep seated disappointment/anger people have for them in Barbados.

8. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

It seems anyone with the slightest of business sense agrees that tax revenue cannot be increased by increasing taxation but rather by increasing taxable business activity. That description clearly does not apply to anyone sitting in the Cabinet; they have had seven years to facilitate foreign and domestic business activity but thus far have only frustrated same. So now we play the waiting game; will the much-reduced financial reserves of local and foreign businessmen be able to outlast these DLP jackasses? Will the widely-forecast total collapse of our economy in Jan/Feb 2015 due to the loss of more civil service jobs, the end of Sandals construction project, the collapse of the sugar industry with the non-start of the 2015 harvest, the consequential loss of rotation food-crop agriculture and increase in imported food costs and the further loss of small business employment bring new elections and a start to the rebuild process? We can only hope the bottom is soon upon us so we can start to go up again.

9. @ Formerly Middle Class | November 12, 2014 at 9:46 AM |

Your suggestions are well thought out and would serve to save the government money and foreign exchange.

Implementation of cost cutting measures do require an economy “that is firing on all four cylinders and not a weak an anemic economy struggling to pay down high debt..….”, this is utter nonsense.

10. I now Charles Dickens Avatar
    I now Charles Dickens

This is just in case still doan GET IT……Curves for Dummies made EZ

11. Oh! ac forgot to add and non-productive economy..explain to ac how these cost cutting initiatives with a depressed labour force and and high debt can be accomplished …also the recommended initiative where govt vehicles should be replaced incurs serious debt with an additional problem of still having to pay of the cost of the older vehicles while incurring cost for the newer models.

12. ac
    The GOB should re-profile and restructure the national debt, both domestic and international. That’s what St.Kitts & Nevis did in 2010/11 and look where they are now in comparison to Barbados.
    They listen to the GOCB, a man the former PM called a lunatic and incompetent economist.

13. “I would say 1600.cc max except in a few cases e.g. CJ.
    1300 cc for all uses except for senior officers (1600 cc max) or govt organisations where the additional power is needed (MTW, coastal zone etc.)”

there is merit in the statement particularly since the island is flat and moat of the vehicles don’t carry load. Also I would go further and ask why a messenger needs an suv when a Suzuki type van ( not the new big one the traditional) can work. I have driven a 997 cc charade for 10 years and made it through the Scotland district regularly as have many people who live there. these vans are manufactured by most car companies.

electric cars sound good but remember we use fuel to generate the electricity and thus have to also import the fuel. however if they were solar charged then that would be another story, I saw on bbc that some are being developed with the panel on the roof.

14. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Wallace Duncan;

Somethings aren’t quite clear in your above post.

Are you suggesting that StKN are now doing better than us because they didn’t have to follow the advice of our GoCB? Are you saying that our Government is in the situation it is now in because they listen to the GoCB? Are you agreeing that the GoCB is a “lunatic and incompetent economist?

Or is it neither of the above?

Some clarity please?

15. also saw an interview on RT news with an economist commenting on the US economy. His main point was that we can measure the economy from all angles( gdp, gnp, national income, etc.) but what really makes the difference is employment and productivity. all else is secondary.

we must therefore look at import substitution strategies that are labour intensive. get bajans back to work.

16. @ ac | November 12, 2014 at 1:13 PM |

“Oh! ac forgot to add and non-productive economy..explain to ac how these cost cutting initiatives with a depressed labour force and and high debt can be accomplished …also the recommended initiative where govt vehicles should be replaced incurs serious debt with an additional problem of still having to pay of the cost of the older vehicles while incurring cost for the newer models.”

I made a promise not to respond to any of your contributions, but it can be clearly determined, by the above comments that you are clearly out of your depth when trying to comment on financial or economic matters.

Additionally, you are always the one who comes to BU advocating contributors should bring solutions, yet when persons seek to do so, you in typical DLP style shoot down every suggestion. And in doing so you can never give a thorough explanation as to why, in your opinion they cannot work. Instead, it seems as though the entire group of ACs would scramble some nonsense together without proper thought and post it.

17. @tedd

The Governor of the Central Bank is not a fan of import substitution.

18. tedd wrote “we must therefore look at import substitution strategies.”

I support that theory. especially in food production,furniture etc

I read that Barbados imported $27 million in furniture and exported $800,000 in furniture.

Think of how many young people could be employed designing and building furniture.

19. Formerly Middle Class Avatar
    Formerly Middle Class

…also the recommended initiative where govt vehicles should be replaced incurs serious debt with an additional problem of still having to pay of the cost of the older vehicles while incurring cost for the newer models.

You really serious ????? who you know that buys a new vehicle and still pays for a previous one??

I also said a minimum of 50% so you will not seek to change all at once. In addition if you establish a central messenger service you do not need to replace all the vehicles as less would be required.

1. Since you are buying in bulk you will negeotiate some form of discount.
      2.The older vehicles can be sold off to defray some of the cost of the newer ones. How many Suzuki swifts or vans can be bought from the sale proceeds of a 2 year old BMW??
    2. Some benefits will be reaped by lowering the cost of gas to the various govt agencies through the use of less gas.

And lastly did govt incur debt to travel to Samoa……I wonder how many vehicles that 250K could have bought or how many tax refunds that could have paid or maybe pay some of the sent home workers to debush the place or assist in cleaning up the rubbish heap that is now Barbados.

20. @ David
    The Governor of the Central Bank is not a fan of import substitution
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    Have you REALLY studied the GoCB’s take on our two-to-one currency peg to the US dollar? …no wonder he is not an import substitution fan..
    …clearly the GoCB is not in possession of all his marbles…..Bushie sadly suspects that OSA’s assessment is correct….

21. Formerly Middle Class Avatar
    Formerly Middle Class

@tedd

electric cars sound good but remember we use fuel to generate the electricity and thus have to also import the fuel. however if they were solar charged then that would be another story, I saw on bbc that some are being developed with the panel on the roof

Very good point, I saw somewhere that a local runs an electric vehicle for approx. $100 in electricity a month. I like the solar station and solar roof panel charging idea.

22. Has the government done a cost benefit analysis about extending the amortisation on certain vehicles to selected government units and improved maintenance program? For example there is no reason why the SUV/sports trucks type vehicle cannot have a life of about 10 years. The fact many are diesel powered is a plus compared to gas.

23. middle class @ ac..really serious ????? who you know that buys a new vehicle and still pays for a previous one??

………………………………………………………………………………………………………

wait if one trade in a car that is not” paid off” where do u think the balance go,,, now seriously,

24. @ Formerly ” i did not finish reading your comment,,but fuh god sake these are complex and complicated issues intertwined with global policies and attached to clauses and counter clauses and agreements and double treaties,, on the surface and outside the world of politics these initiatives “might: work,

25. ac
    You are a DLP sportier and apologist all wrapped up into one.

26. In his column piece entitled What Matters Most in today’s Daily Nation newspaper (13 November, 2014), Dr Clyde Mascoll tries to justify – but in vain – the existence of this so-called VAT system in Barbados – so-called VAT because there is really no such thing as a VAT system – rather it is the government stealing and robbing the relevant people, businesses and other entities of their rightful remunerations.

While he is reported as having begun the column by stating that ‘a recent study done to justify the introduction of a value added tax (VAT) in a developed regional economy, showed that Barbados has one of the best performing VAT systems in the world’, and later on goes on to state that ‘Barbados’ VAT revenue productivity (what rubbish) was the highest of all the countries used in the study’, he concludes the piece without even iterating that the so-called VAT system and the wider evil wicked TAXATION system in this country not only eventually greatly helps prevent successively higher and higher levels of production and distribution of most goods and services in the country, but also eventually greatly helps brings about successively lower and lower levels of the same in it.

27. Contrary to what the Central Bank of Barbados and Financial Services Commission have been falsely reporting to the Barbadian public, that there is a lot of liquidity within the core financial system of Barbados, we have been long arguing on here and in other places that there is either absolutely low liquidity levels in this core financial system, or that they are running low.

We are vindicated by our observing many of the negative financial policy and account changes, downsizings and restructurings that have been and that will continue to take place within this core financial system.

28. Mr. MOF a recommendation on collection of taxes……(1) introduce a penalty on all those who not paying in VAT to the tune 5% per month on amounts $1Million and above….4% on $750,000…3% on $500,000,…2% on $250,000….1% on all amount below……(2) Employ some Enforcers (private Co) on a commission basis of what they can collect….you would see an immediate reduction in VAT Receivable…..fah real!

29. OVER TAXATION MR,SINCKLER. WHY NOT TRY PUTTING MORE EMPHASIS ON PRODUCTION THRU RE-ENGAGING THE WORK FORCE?