Submitted by islandgal
Ambulance shortage - photo credit: Advocate newspaper
Ambulance shortage – photo credit: Advocate newspaper

I have been waiting to see if any of the BU posters will at least post something on this very serious problem we have with our health care system. But as usual no one has come forward as yet.

Recently I was at Sandy Crest where there were two patients who needed to get to the QEH asap. The staff were calling around for ambulances and not one could be found. Finally one was located and it took the first patient to the hospital. The next patient was going into cardiac arrest and every attempt to find another ambulance was in vain. I asked if the first ambulance could come back and take the patient to the QEH and was told that it was no longer available. You could hear the frantic calls by the doctors to the QEH about the patient was in a terrible state. He needed to get to ICU ASAP but no one could find an ambulance. I read in the papers recently about the death of a patient who couldn’t get an ambulance to take her to the hospital while her family watched her painful death.

I heard on a call in program about another incident where someone’s family was in ICU and the drip had run dry. The family member asked if another drip was needed. The reply was that they have the drip but not the medication to put into the drip. This was another ICU case. The family member frantically called around and found the medication at Sandy Crest, bought it and took it back to the QEH. This caller said she had tears in her eyes.

Our  health care has been compromised. The lack of ambulances are due to the lack of gurneys so the ambulance drivers report to work and play dominoes.  How can any government stand up and broadcast to the world that they are training for Ebola and yet there are no ambulances specially outfitted.

Barbadians are being asked to pay for their health care. What are they getting for their money? Death because of lack of ambulances and critical drugs?  This is very serious and many of you posters probably do not think that it may happen to you or a family member. Do not relax, this can happen to you at anytime. Unlike the politicians no doubt they will have access to ambulances including Air Ambulances. Yet we mortals must be sacrificed for the sake of budget cuts and lying politicians.

We have an epidemic of Chickungunya  and yet no one can test for it on the island. We hear from the PM down that Barbados has the  BEST of everything, Health care, Civil Service, Education and yet we cannot meet the needs of our population. Nothing functions as it should. One thing for sure is that we have the BEST BRASSBOWLS ( thank you Bushie) on the island in charge.  Where will we go from here? We brag about being first world and yet operating as a third world country. Let us hope that Ebola never reaches our shores because we have already signed our death certificate.  How much more can the population take?

With a very heavy heart,

220 responses to “Sick Healthcare”

1. special envoy,, karma is a bitch, just maybe one day u might need that polyclinic to wipe out some of the sh,ite out yuh backside , fool ,

as fuh money wasted,,if i were u i would avoid that subject ,money used to improve health care is not money wasted, but uh too igrunt to understand that. ,how about the millions that was used to build a dump that was never,,,,,ole boar go find something to do wid yuh time…nuh

2. ac
    I willing to bet that the St John(y) Polyclinic is never opened and if opened, never operated.
    So the intended purpose of something dictates whether money is or can be wasted? This is the bloody reason Barbados is so hopelessly screwed. Blind ignorance.

3. Can we lift the discussion. Jesus!

4. the statement barbados is more than economy ..it is a society, is a testament to a visionary having high expectations and confidence in the people
    countries that have excelled and become world powers have used that principle to encouraged and motivate their citizenry
    take china a clear example that its people have been the drivers behind all the wealth that china is now accomplishing… while other countries were obsessed and critical of china , china was educating and motivating their people to be a pivotal force eventually merging a society and economy as one,

5. When the St John Polyclinic is finally completed, it would have taken more time to construct than the Deep Water Harbour Project, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital , the ABC Highway and Dodds Prisons.
    This pic was taken a few weeks ago, in early October,
    http://i.imgur.com/HfHlAeI.jpg

6. ac
    Paper don’t fail to take ink so you can write what crap you want to try an justify a nonsense but in the end, its still a nonsense. Barbados is not the country it used to be and while some (just some) of that is as a result of external forces, in the main we are where because poor decisions and incompetent governance.

7. What I would really like to see is the St John Ambulance Brigade and the Barbados Red Cross, spreading its wings right across the length and breath of Barbados ,and have Cadres in every secondary school. At times what may be required is first aid treatment, but as it stands an ambulance may have to travel to North Point in St Lucy to administer first-aid. If some one faints in the street today, we have scores of onlookers, but hardly any person who is trained to render first aid.

8. look special envoy,,, those were the words of now deceased DT… a philosophical which has been tested and proven in super powers, now what u ought to do instead of harping about what u cannot disprove, take some of the ink put it to paper to uplift and not knock down and destroy,your country, that is also a philosophy which many leaders have used wisely to bring their country and people together ,and eventually out of the jaws of economic decline,

9. when the polyclinic is finished,some of the critics going to be the first ones sitting in line looking for free outpatient visit,,wunna not easy bozey,

10. Colonel Buggy | November 11, 2014 at 9:56 PM |
    First aid should be taught in all schools
    Practical issues like this should be part of the curriculum

11. ac was attacked ! laughed! and scorned (at) a few days ago on this blog for daring to suggest that that some of societies problems need to be tackle by citizens have a proactive approach using fundraising ,as a stepping stone to finding solutions , and boy did the poison pen and arrows became sharpened and dug deeply into the flesh of ac ,yes leaving sores and biles all over the skin…
    however in one of barbados most read periodicals (nation news) i am hearkened by the fact that a “call” for similar action is being asked of barbadians ,

12. ac
    Yup………they start fundraising now cause when Sinckler ‘broaden the tax base’ aka poor people making over $10K a year, them gine starve and dead.

13. ah… ac is ‘in her head’ vindicated…… , even though the healthcare system is continuing to be vitiated by gov’t inaction.

A lotta long talk. Just like ac. Bush Tea, find sumting fuh she tuh do….. nuh.

14. @Crusoe et al

BU’s position is that we must know when to leave a debate and agree to disagree. The consensus about philanthropy at the QEH is that it is currently happening BUT the issues to be wrestled to the ground are bigger than funding issues, there are management issues that need to be resolved as well. Philanthropy will only work well if the management of the QEH is efficient.

15. yup the swords and poison pen attacks,, a sore defense indeed, yup ! yup! anybody who can aligned themselves with and outdated ole boar like BT need special healing

16. well David (if) a citizen approach through organization funding has to step in to help the QEH. one would suspect .that a higher level of distribution to the areas that are in dire need of support would take precedent and that the need for those in management of the QEH would only be ascertained through various meetings from where there would be discussions as to what areas should be given the most help. i do not believe that any organization would simply handed over monies or supply without having their own form of rules regulations, or guidlines

17. @ Crusoe
    Bush Tea, find sumting fuh she tuh do….. nuh.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    Like what?
    what can you do with a dried-up old yardfowl?
    Um can’t thread….
    Um can’t lay….
    Um too hard to cook…

….probably best to let um stay on the fence crowing and cussing…
    …and as David says, try to ignore um… 🙂

18. some body need to awaken the conscienous of barbados society ,sooner rather than later. it has been hijacked and living in a clandestine stupor of greed selfishness and hypocrisy.

19. ac | November 11, 2014 at 10:27 PM |
    when the polyclinic is finished,some of the critics going to be the first ones sitting in line looking for free outpatient visit,,wunna not easy bozey
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    By that time some of us would have taken up residence next door,in St John Cemetery.

20. colonel …lol a very good point.,, somehow i never thought of that,,,but who is doing the counting any way, ,, looks like unemployment might be on the up and up.BTW i did saw a sign posted looking FOR BEAN COUNTERS,,