27 responses to “November is the Month of Independence”

1. Yes, I must agree…….. November is the month of Independence and I believe Barbadians must do more to promote what being independent really means.

As I travelled around the island yesterday I noticed two cars flying the Barbados flag and a few patriotic Barbadians wearing yellow, blue or white polo shirts displaying the broken trident. These sights, though far and in between, reminded me that independence was in the air.
    A common sight for me while growing up during the 1970s and early 1980s was seeing the Psychiatric Hospital decorated with yellow and blue lights, while the patients wore yellow and blue shirts with the broken trident on the pocket. We used to call them independence shirts. And as it came near Independence Day, the sound of “God Bless Bim on Independence Day”, sung by the Merry Men, could be heard playing regularly on Rediffusion.

Ironically, between June 12 and July 13, 2014 was FIFA World Cup “month”. During this time I saw many Barbadians proudly displaying the flags of Germany, Brazil, France, Argentina, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, England or the USA, on their cars, homes, or various business places, as a sign of being supportive and patriotic to the team of their choice. On July 8, 2014, I saw many people in the city wearing Brazil t-shirts, it was only later I realized Brazil was to play Germany in a semi-final match. Later, I saw many
    sad faces after Brazil was beaten 7 – 1.

It is still early in the month, but I wait to see if Barbadians will support Independence with as much eagerness, passion and patriotism as they did supporting Brazil during the world cup.

But, I’m sure someone will say “to each his own.”

2. I hate to defind the country’s Independence in this way, but it gives us a opportunity to see where we are at and where we have come from. And boy let me tell yaa: never would I want to go back to those days when de man with de donkey cart used come from de country and sell he pervisions on sataday morin. And when de transport board bus in had naa doors and many aa peeple fell to they death coming up station Hill. And when yaa had to push a car or crank it up for it to start. Boy we come aa long way boy. And when de police used taa shootup a house on the notion of a suspected criminal in side, not carrying whether innocent man, woman, or child was enter side. Boy we come a long way boy. When respect for one teacha was outa fear rather than honest respect and when de White man used shoot down de poor black kids for stealing their sugar cane up there by the stadium. Boy we come aa long way boy. And when Bushie and PG and myself used to shiting de topie becausing no body had indoor plumming in them days. Boy we come aa long way boy. And Alfred Pragna, Alga lusee, and Carmenta Frazer would get on radiafusan and try to give us aa littal enteratainment becausing TV was not yet invented. Alfred we he jokes, Algra waa she short stories and Carmenta waa de food that tek she life earlie. And lastly, when Bushie, PG and me used to run round Bubaydos bare foot becausing we were forbidden from wearing our good shoes that was fuh church and school; now Bushie and PG get on BUand think them poor great. Boy we come a long way boy.

3. Would appreciate if commenters can exercise independent thinking and stay focused on the topic.

4. Artax

I am going to wait and see if Barbadians will support independence day with as much zeal and fervent, as they did for Brazil in the World Cup. You don’t mine if I paraphrase, do you?

Well, I wonder why you give yourself that much authority sir? Who are you to stand in judgment of the people of Barbados Artax? And that statement ought to be reserved for after independence day sir.

Now,I am not trying to employ critical analysis this early in the morning, but I have noticed that you haven’t tell us what you’re planning to do for independence day this year? Even if it means holding a flag in your hand or sticking one on the side of some building.

5. Artax

Excuse David, but I have to adress this last and important point. Artax, patriotism doesn’t merely entails flying a country’s Flag, that’s part and parcel of it, but it has a far deeper meaning. Patriotism and the Flag means, that one fight to defend that Flag, one bleed to defend that Flag, and one dies if necessary in defense of that Flag. And in defending that Flag, you’re essence, defending your country’s values, ideals and way of life. That is the true meaning of what a country’s Flag ought to represent.

6. Dompey | November 4, 2014 at 6:52 AM |

You seem to have this weird notion Barbados Underground is about you……… IT IS NOT!!!

“True humility is not thinking less of yourself; it is thinking of yourself less.” C. S Lewis

7. Artax, where have you gotten that twisted notion? All I do here is to give my input on topics that I know something about.

8. Artax

And what has true humility to do with the expression of one’s honest opinion? If you took affront to my efforts to expand your awareness of the concepts of Patriotism and the Flag, then that your problem. I would have hope that an intelligent fellow like you, would have provided more information to the contrary, or applauded my efforts for informing your thinking, rather than to attacked me on the basis of my character because you were displeased with my view .

9. “Who are you to stand in judgment”

Because (a) I’m me; (b) I’m Bajan; and (c) it’s in the genes and I’m OT and can’t help myself.

In other words, life is about rewards and penalties. The rewards are for me. Sort the rest out.

10. The imagery portrayed in the video confirms the quantum leap in physical development from 66 to the present, what about our the psyche of our nation?

11. Thanks for posting the video David.

It reminded me of my poor but privileged childhood.

It was a time when family and community, caring and sharing had real meaning.

12. @ David,

We have given up independence to make the “quantum leap in physical development from 66”

We are now dependent on others for our survival. Our main Income generating industries are FDI,
    Financial services and Tourism. Our Banking system is owned by foreigners.

We did not build a Nation. We developed a ravenous greedy consumer driven society that is on the verge of collapse.

So maybe we can point the discussion to a way towards true National Independence.

13. David

What an excellent synopsis of our nation’s evolution. And Ross, you’re probably correct in pointing to need for the intellectual development. But one cannot help, but to think that our material –development is somehow interwoven with collective – exercised of the intellect and the imagination of our leaders in the past? And if am not mistaken: Sir Arthur Lewis, contributed significantly to the economic aspect of our development.

14. @Hants

Not only Barbados but other islands have surrendered and gone with the flow.

15. Hants

You need you go and hide yourself somewhere. Now, tell me how you’re going to take the human factor out of any system of human government? And can you name any system of human government that is without some form of corruption? It is evident in America, which has little corruption, as well as Nigeria, which is thought of as being the most corrupted system of government on the earth.

16. Hants

“It was time when family and community, caring and sharing had real meaning”

So what are you trying to saying Hants? And where have you been the last forty years? Brother, the progressive encroachment of liberalism upon the private and public affairs of life, has vitiated the universal standard of morality we were accustomed to as youngster growing up in Barbados. And those Christian values which Miller incessantly, repudiates and excoriates, fueled that sense of community and common-purpose back in the day.

17. Like many of among us who celebrate Christ and practice love and charity only at Christmas time, Barbados’s Independence should not only be celebrated during the 30 days of November, but for 365 days a year.We neglect and abuse our country for 11 months of the year, and then we join the bandwagon and become all patriotic in November, or what we deem to be patriotic. Flying the Broken Trident or wearing a Blue/Yellow/ Black T shirt,and singing God Bless Bim, are not all there is to being patriotic.
    Keeping Barbados clean and not littering all year round, for one is a giant step in patriotism,and especially being Guardians of our Heritage Sites. Ensuring that these Fields and Hills, are really ours, and not sold to the highest outside bidder is another.
    Ensuring that these Fields and Hill produce much of what we eat.
    Ensuring that these Fields and Hills, are not out of bounds to us, due to gates , walls and fences.Ensuring that those among us have labored to build this country are honoured and respected for their contributions. Ensuring that we do not drop things Barbadians for things foreign. Today, mention that you are going shopping at Super Centre or Manning , and Bajans will quickly correct you that ” It is MASSY.”
    True patriots of this ,and any other country, do not have to shout about it or join in the carnival type atmosphere, their actions and contributions, though some of us are too blind, prejudices or biased to recognise, speaks volumes.

18. I t gives me the greatest of pleasure to thank All who have participated in giving this llittle Rock a chance of survival for over a fifty year period of independance every hand be it B or D should be proud of the accomplishment amidst all the fighting and division it is abundantly clear the goal of getting “it right”was first and foremost in the hearts and minds of our leaders

19. Barbados is stuck in the post colonial era waiting for a Barrow like champion.Wasting time when the people are educated enough to articulate and represent national interest with less political interference.Until, just keep wucking up.

20. Suckabuddy

What makes the people of Barbados anymore different than the people of St.. lucia in terms of they progressive ideas.? And are the people of St. lucia in need of a Arthur Lewis to? In other words, what measuring -stick are you using to determining whether or not Barbados has achieved to kind of progress it ought to after independence? Do you have some set criteria in your head which has caused you to arrived at such conclusion?

21. @Hants
    We are now dependent on others for our survival. Our main Income generating industries are FDI,
    Financial services and Tourism. Our Banking system is owned by foreigners.
    …………………………………………………………………………………..
    Look what I found in Bridgetown yesterday. Remnants of the Barbados Savings Bank sign on the west wing of the Public Building. A reminder of how Barbados National Bank , now Republic Bank, started .
    (Ps. Photos seems to be taking a bit of time before they can be opened)
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/15083766653/

22. Barbados is independent, right?

Yet, can we not find one decent Marketing or Strategy Manager in Barbados?

Why do I ask? The ad for a work permit in todays paper, that a major company could not find a suitably qualified person for a Business Efficieny Manager or some such ‘title’.

Or is it…a manager willing to fire at will?

Damn cheek. A company that milks the profits, makes a boatload of cash from bajans and wont employ a Bajan manager?

And with the economy the way it is? Joke!
    Where are the unions NOWWWWWW??????????? Equal jokers.

Only got time to cuss Broomes but wont do what is right elsewhere.

23. why is it that the BLP house always in a uproar now listen to this

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/11/07/backlash-5/