Independence, 1966

When the government (National Insurance Scheme) sold a significant chunk of its shareholding in Barbados Light & Power (BL&P) BU disagreed. When Barbados National Bank (BNB) was sold to Republic Bank we disagreed. When Barbados Shipping & Trading (BS&T) was sold for 30 pieces of silver by the White elite seeking to secure their golden parachute, we disagreed.

BL&P (EMERA) is the sole electricity utility provider in Barbados, a strategic asset. One of the largest inputs in the cost of production in Barbados is electricity. The capacity to fund projects by creating financial products and vehicles in the national interest can only be done by an entity if the decision making is influenced by indigenous thought. ALL the commercial banks in Barbados are foreign owned.   Barbados has a significant food import bill and to compound the issue, food distribution and retail previously controlled by Barbados Shipping & Trading (BS&T) was ceded to Port of Spain based Massy.

Three main ‘arteries’ of the Barbados economy, power, food, financial are effectively controlled and choked by foreign interest.

When the government announced a few months ago it was in the process of preparing a prospectus for the sale of the Barbados National Terminal Company Limited (BNTCL), we disagreed.   We believe government must maintain a strategic interest in key areas of the economy. The feeble explanation given by Minister of Finance that, “the Terminal operations were previously only up to a few years ago operated by the private sector in that part of the energy sector. So this is not anything that is new… we will do it to invigorate private enterprise in Barbados”, must be disappointing to nationalistic Barbadians – a country heavily vested in educating its citizens. The fact that it is a contradiction of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) anti privatization campaign message in the last general election campaign will be the subject of another blog.

The BNTCL is a 100% subsidiary of Barbados National Oil Company Limited (BNOSL). According to the website BNTCL manages the importation and supply of gasoline, diesel and fuel oil. It also provides storage for the local crude oil to facilitate shipping to Trinidad. In an exclusive interview with the online newspaper Barbados Today minister of finance hinted that other national treasures (what are left) are on the radar for government divestment – see The way of the IMF, or not.

If government’s divestiture program was a coherent strategy to invigorate private enterprise government would have a good case. But the BNTCL is part of a profitable state enterprise. How come we are dumping an operation that is profitable and keeping those heavily subsidized by government? What is the point! And there is a good chance private ownership will not be by individual Barbadians and small businesses but the one big player who has the foreign dollars.   Some of us will not be fooled by a token allocation to ordinary Barbadians in the BNTCL prospectus.

The policy approach by government is heavily influenced by the reality it has no money. Yes sensible Barbadians agree we need to rationalize the running of state enterprises. But at the centre of what we do must be to nurture and protect what defines Barbados and Barbadians. Nationalism is about the mindset of a people which compels them to tirelessly defend their  interests and identity. What is currently unfolding in Barbados is a country rapidly ceding who we are as a people to others. The social implications will become more evident to the undiscerning in the years to come.

History is always a good teacher. Ordinary Barbadians must be made to understand that there will never be a good reason for those in control of power and influence to promote change. Both major political parties in Barbados are political animals dangling on the strings of  the Puppeteer – those with deep pockets and entrenched vested interest in maintaining the status quo. History is replete with examples of the rise of movements whose leadership was able to stoke national sentiment to reassert the right of the people, the ONLY owners of the state in times like now. We are Barbadians, we cannot allow a hapless group of politicians, and the mendicants who surround them, to destroy our nationhood.

We loyal sons and daughters all
Do hereby make it known
These fields and hills beyond recall
Are now our very own
We write our names on history’s page
With expectations great
Strict guardians of our heritage
Firm craftsmen of our fate

58 responses to “Barbados is for Barbadians FIRST”

1. @Hants & Hamilton

An ingredient into a worthy philosophy of life is to learn from what has transited to make better. The constant politicization of every issue exposes a level of ignorance that is frankly embarrassing.

2. @ David. ..point taken but re-education of a people will not take place overnight, especially given the level of sycophancy that exists on both sides of the devide.That along with the embedded selfish nature of Barbadians (once I get mine the hell with all others) open the door for the use of the political tool known as mendicancy.That is why we are where we are.

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Hamilton Hill

The last administration built Barbados economic foundation on a fault line. The few years of so called prosperity under them was as psuedo as this administrations so called attempt to concrete the fault with little disclosure of the ingredients they are using. You cannot build a proper economy on borrow and spend. Thus the slide from there to here just needed time before we ended up in the shite we are in.

Some times I want to feel sorry for the DLP that I loved but after listening to some of the nonsense and arrogance they spewed, I see know need too. Sensible spending and investment is what is needed. When Arthur sought to search for oil, regardless of the motive, I had no problem with that money being spent even if we did not find any oil. I saw as a step in a direction that could help Barbados tremendously if we found oil. But sometimes I wonder if there ever was a real real oil exploration of Barbados coast. I just feel that he and other cohorts benefited from millions – after all he is nasty piece of work. But at least he dared to dabble in a path Barbados ‘accepted’ as different. With this current lot, if they got enough sense to get adventurous and take risks to find a resource, develop a resource or invest Barbados dollars wisely profit making ventures. Like one writer said on here already, Barbados measures economic development and prosperity on the number of new fancy buildings up in the air.

4. @SSS… Can’t disagree with you here. As I said earlier we are true craftsmen of our fate

5. Here is part 2 of the MoF interview:

Today, we bring Part two of his interview with our Editor-In-Chief Kaymar Jordan.

Mr Sinckler give us an update on the Municipal Solid Waste Tax? That would have been the main topic of discussion back in June, but now that the controversy has died down, are Barbadians actually making payments?

Sinckler: I can’t give you current figures because I haven’t checked the current figures recently, but what I can say is that up to the end of July when we had the first cut off point, before we had extended it, it was trending exactly as we had expected.

The money that had come in was precisely what we anticipated. So now that the time has stretched [until December 31st], payments would obviously have slowed because people have a longer time to make those payments . . ., but based on the figure that I would have seen up to August, it basically would have been where we expected. In fact, all of the tax measures that we put in place from last August in relation to our [ 19-month adjustment] programme have actually performed precisely as we had anticipated.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/10/09/stay-calm/

6. BULLSHIT!
    Barbados doesen,t “suffer” from anything.
    “White Elite” ?? Elite among who??
    Maybe in Barbados Land of the Blind. You can say Elite.
    Any place but here, just normal people.
    BUT as usual we have to Troll out all the racist rubbish.
    Just excuses
    Barbados “ENDURES”,
    Shite Government,
    Corruption on a Grand Scale
    Illegal actions by the Judiciary.
    A twisted corrupt DPP
    A dual party system that when elected changes nothing and revels in the corruption.
    No party BUILT ANYTHING.
    BOTH PARTIES just took advantage of the “roll” Barbados was on.

Now its on a “slide” we have Bugger all people even slightly qualified to run the country or run anything come to that.
    ANYONE can thieve from a FULL POT.
    “Built on a Fault Line” LOL
    Sounds good.
    In reality, just a “roll” and those who were in were LUCKY.
    The “roll” finished and so did the LUCK.
    Now we suck salt and deserve it.

Options for Barbados Politician:
    You are in the Right place at the Right time!
    OR
    You are in the Right Place at the WRONG time
    OR
    You are in the Wrong Place at the Right time
    Or
    You are in the Wrong place at the WRONG time.!

In other words, blown by the whim of fate.
    These people draw massive salaries. grow fat on our labour and “EXCRETE” in our faces.

“The trending was exactly as we expected it!! LOL. bus muh guts!!
    Translate please.
    Translation ”
    We ent nah clue where we gine,cept down!
    SITUATION NORMAL : SNAFU
    WHEN are you’al going to wake up to the fact we as a country are being RUN(into the ground) by political and common sense illiterates.
    Grown up, BIG UP, childish CHILDREN.
    Monkies cought with the hand in the cookie jar unable to escape cos too greedy and TOO STUPID to let go of the handful of cookies.
    Tumbling and grumbling and falling down the slippery slope of corrupt incompetence. Hand stuck tight in the cookie jar. Cant even let go to save themselves.
    Slick suits, driving fancy wheels, fingers raised in the wagging mode of “Superiors” chiding the STUPID,.
    THATS YOU in case it hasn’t yet sunk in.
    THEY CHIDING YOU.
    DUMBHEAD!
    Suck on you salt.
    Theres plenty more where that came from.

FOR GODS SAKE
    STOP WRITING
    Start ACTING.

7. I have just been on the excellent Democracy Now website. I am sure that you guys will be able to relate to the subject below:
    Black Prophetic Fire: Cornel West on the Revolutionary Legacy of Leading African-American Voices
    http://www.democracynow.org/2014/10/6/black_prophetic_fire_cornel_west_on?autostart=true&get_clicky_key=suggested_related

8. If Trinidad & Tobago could put forward figures that over 7,000 Barbadians are living illegally in Trinidad, how come Barbados cannot put forward the number of illegal Trinidadians living in Barbados.?
    I believe if Trinidad identified the amount of illegals, then I believe Barbados and all the other Caribbean Countries should do likewise.If should be tit for tat.
    I suspect near to 10,000 Trinidadians are living illegally in Barbados.